DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
by Sven L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 12:12:30
Das System ist hervorragend, eins der besten. Aber die Qualität des Downloads ist schlecht, teilweise verschwommene Schrift, die Kontraste unscharf... schade.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Manual of Exalted Power: Dragon-Blooded
by Daniel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2012 18:18:27
I always loved the Dragon-Blooded the most. THEY are the coolest Exalts. Because they are relatively weak and have to budget their powers. Because they get their power from Gaia. Because their powers are related to the elements (which makes for cool special effects). And because they are team players.

Okay, now, this book. From a fluff perspective it is definitely great. It goes into depth about a piece of Creation you will hardly get around when playing Exalted: the Realm of the Terrestrial Exalted. Either you are a proud subject of the Scarlet Empress or one for her many enemies!
You also get a lot of context for Dragon-Blooded of the Realm, but also for Outcastes, "Lost Eggs", the Terrestrials of Lookshy with a great deal of extra information.

And of course you get al the rules you need to play one of the Dragon-Blooded, be it Dynasts of the Realm or Outcaste characters.

I have to say that I really love their charms, they are flavorful, powerful, but a little flawed compared to the ones of the other Exalts (that's on purpose, mind you).

Now, unfortunately the charms are not only flawed on purpose. There are also many inconsistencies, oversights and unclear descriptions in the list of charms. Luckily, these get remedied with the free supplement "Scroll of Errata", but actually a book shouldn't have that many rules issues.
Additionally - as Dragon-Blooded to written pretty much in parallel to the 2nd Edition core book, the writers didn't take most of the social combat rules into account when defining charms for the Terrestrial Exalted. This IS a weakness.

The Good: Comprehensive tome on my favorite Exalts. Great background and fluff. Great, flavorful elemental aspects and charms. Even if you don't want to play Dragon-Bloods yourselves, these are your most obvious enemies.
The Bad: The charms seem to be put together pretty hastily. You definitely need the Scroll of Errata. With that document, the DB are clearly playable (and a lot of fun at that).

Resolution: Despite its flaws I like this book the best of all Manuals of Exalted Power. If you're playing in Creation (an why would you play Exalted if you didn't want to) this book is a must-have for Storytellers as it describes the most numerous Exalts and the most powerful political entity in the whole of Creation: the Realm.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Manual of Exalted Power: Dragon-Blooded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Falling Scales Chapter One
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/05/2012 03:01:55
„Falling Scales – Chapter One“ ist der erste Teil eines vier Kapitel umfassenden SAS-Abenteuers von White Wolf. Die Teile sollen aufeinander aufbauen, jedoch getrennt voneinander spielbar sein. Da bisher nur der erste Teil erschienen ist, kann ich zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt nicht einschätzen, wie gut das Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Kapitel oder deren Spiel ohne Bezug zu den jeweils anderen Kapiteln funktioniert.

Erscheinungsbild

Optisch entspricht dieses Abenteuer der sonstigen der SAS-Reihe: Zweispaltiges Querformat, hier mit 36 Seiten Umfang und eindeutige, gleich bleibende und wiedererkennbare Struktur, garniert mit einigen stimmungsvollen Schwarzweiß-Zeichnungen.

An dieser Stelle eine Erläuterung für diejenigen, die White Wolfs SAS-Reihe nicht kennen: Das Kürzel steht für „Storyteller Adventure System“ und beinhaltet jeweils ein Abenteuer für die unterschiedlichen Fraktionen der WoD. Vorangestellt sind jeweils Informationen zum groben Überblick, angedachtes Thema und Stimmung, gefolgt von der Hintergrundgeschichte zum Abenteuer und wichtigen Basisinformationen, beispielsweise solchen zur räumlichen Umgebung wie vorgegebenem Land oder vorgeschlagener Stadt. Die tragenden NSC werden danach ausführlich vorgestellt, und zwar jeweils nicht nur mit Werten, sondern vollständig mit typischen Zitaten, Auslegung von Tugend und Laster, persönlicher Hintergrundgeschichte sowie SL-Hinweisen zur Darstellung. Bei „Falling Scales – Chapter One“ fallen diese Beschreibungen besonders umfangreich aus, denn jeder NSC erhält eine volle Seite.

Bevor die einzelnen Szenen dargestellt werden, bieten die SAS-Abenteuer einen „Scene Flowchart“, anhand dessen man grafisch auf einen Blick sehen kann, welche Szene auf welcher aufbaut und welche unabhängig voneinander verlaufen. Die einzelnen Szenen schließlich geben nach der Überschrift einen Überblick darüber, ob sie schwerpunktmäßig auf mentale, soziale oder physische Fertigkeiten ausgelegt sind, dann einen Überblick über den Inhalt der Szene, im Anschluss über die Darstellung der Szene aus Sicht der SL-Ziele und aus Sicht der Charakter-Ziele. Gerade für nicht so geübte Spielleiter ist hierbei sicherlich hilfreich, dass notwendige Aktionen und entsprechende Fertigkeitsproben dabei immer enthalten sind. Ist es beispielsweise zentral in der Szene, jemandes Vertrauen zu erlangen, so wird die jeweilige Probe beschrieben, mögliche Boni und Mali verschaffende Hilfsmittel und Hindernisse, außerdem die Ereignisse je nachdem, wie gut oder schlecht die Probe gelungen ist.

Nach der Szenendarstellung, die das Herzstück eines jeden SAS-Abenteuers bildet und somit auch bei „Falling Scales – Chapter One“ mit gut 18 Seiten Umfang den Mittelpunkt darstellt, folgt am Ende das Nachspiel mit möglichen Ausblicken und Hinweisen zur Erfahrungspunktvergabe.

Die letzten zwei Seiten umfassen nochmals die einzelnen Szenen in Stichworten zum raschen Nachsehen. Vier Szenen teilen sich hierbei eine Seite, so dass man bei einem Ausdruck einen raschen Überblick über die einzelnen Szenen und deren Schwerpunkte in der Hand hält – im vorliegenden Abenteuer sind es insgesamt zehn Szenen.

Apropos Ausdruck: Die Abenteuer der SAS-Reihe sind allesamt ausschließlich im PDF-Format erhältlich. Der reguläre Preis beträgt $6,99. Wer mag, kann sich einen Ausdruck im Softcover mittels Print on Demand gönnen, dann liegt der Preis bei $9,99, bei regulär $16,98, wenn man beides haben möchte – in diesem Fall spart man also leider gar nichts.

Eine Besonderheit der SAS-Abenteuer sind die enthaltenen interaktiven Links, die Audiodateien und andere Dinge enthalten beziehungsweise zu solchen führen. Auch Handouts sind ausgearbeitet enthalten. Man muss sie nur noch ausdrucken und verteilen, wobei dies für deutschsprachige Runden natürlich beides nicht 1:1 nutzbar ist, denn selbstredend sind die Gimmicks der SAS-Reihe allesamt englischsprachig. Dennoch fällt ein Fehlen solcher Zusatzinhalte auf, so auch bei „Falling Scales – Chapter One“, das über keinerlei solcher Links oder Handouts verfügt, was ein bisschen schade ist. Puristen kommen allein mit den Szenenbeschreibungen zwar immer schon auf ihre Kosten, dennoch hätte ich mir ein wenig mehr Mühe und Flair an dieser Stelle gewünscht.

Inhalt

Flair ist für mich generell das größte Manko des Abenteuers. Ziemlich solide schickt es nicht-übernatürliche Menschen in eine Welt, in der sie das Übernatürliche kennen lernen. Natürlich kommt man ihnen dabei teils so nahe, wie man ihnen eigentlich nicht kommen wollte …

Die hauptsächliche Bedrohung in diesem Abenteuer liegt jedoch nicht im Kontakt zum Übernatürlichen an sich. Ohne an dieser Stelle zu viel zu verraten kann man immerhin sagen, dass sich das erste Kapitel gut für den Einstieg in eine WoD-Chronik eignet. Beinahe schon klassisch kann man Charaktere hierbei in Richtung einer „Hunter, the Vigil“-Runde bringen. Im Rahmen des ersten Kapitels von „Falling Scales“ sind die übernatürlichen Begegnungen ausreichend für eine Art Gruppenpräludium, an das man später wunderbar anknüpfen kann. Darüber hinaus mit „Normalos“ zu spielen, stelle ich mir allerdings ein bisschen langweilig vor. Wie die weiteren Kapitel das lösen, bleibt wie gesagt abzuwarten.

Als erster Teil einer Reihe kann dieses Kapitel problemlos alleinstehend gespielt werden. Die Inhalte sind abgeschlossen genug und es bedeutet kaum Aufwand, die letzten losen Fäden noch zu vernähen. Alternativ ist es ebenfalls kein Problem, sie schlicht unter den Tisch fallen zu lassen.

Es gibt allerdings Stellen, an denen dem Spielleiter zwar Hinweise auf mögliche Inhalte gegeben werden, deren Ausgestaltung jedoch offen bleibt. Diese selbst zu gestaltenden Inhalte sind etwas, wodurch das Abenteuer eine Menge gewinnen kann, lässt man diese jedoch weg, beispielsweise weil man sich eben nicht noch eigene Gedanken zu Inhalten machen will, verliert das Abenteuer ebenso, wie es umgekehrt an Spannung und Atmosphäre gewinnen kann.

Für Übernatürliche aus der WoD ist „Falling Scales – Chapter One“ ohne größere Modifikationen nicht gut spielbar. Das ist nicht schlimm, denn so ist es ja auch nicht gedacht. Was hingegen gut möglich ist: Die Charaktere entwickeln sich im Verlauf der Geschichte beziehungsweise an deren Ende zu übernatürlichen Wesen.

Es gibt allerdings einen bestimmten Inhalt in diesem Abenteuer, den man ebenfalls modifizieren oder weglassen müsste, um das Spiel in eine andere Richtung als die der vorgestellten und angedachten Chronik zu lenken. Es handelt sich hierbei um einen in die Geschichte integrierten und ausführlich vorgestellten Vorzug („Merit“), der seine Sinnhaftigkeit je nach Verlauf der Geschichte verlieren würde. So nett ich die Idee dieses Vorzuges an sich finde, muss ich doch sagen, dass für meinen Geschmack zu sehr auf genau diesen aufgebaut wird im Verlauf der Geschichte. Und das gibt er meiner Ansicht nach nicht so wirklich her, was das Ganze ein wenig langweilig macht.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Der erste Teil der Reihe ist gut spielbar und kann für sich allein stehen. Zusammen mit der guten Struktur, die die SAS-Reihe durchweg aufweist, lohnt sich der Kauf prinzipiell durchaus. Ob man allerdings für insgesamt 36 Seiten mindestens $6,99 ausgeben möchte, zumal dem PDF-Format Gimmicks wie die bereits erwähnten interaktiven Links fehlen?

Fazit

Insgesamt ist „Falling Scales – Chapter One“ ein solides Abenteuer für nicht-übernatürliche Wesen, also schlichte Menschen, in der Umgebung der World of Darkness. Der Kauf empfiehlt sich in erster Linie für Neueinsteiger und Umsteiger, die hiermit eine gute Basis für den Start einer neuen (ersten) Runde an die Hand bekommen. Für diese Zielgruppe kann ich das Abenteuer wirklich empfehlen. Allen anderen dürfte es ein wenig zu langweilig daher kommen und zumindest zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt, ohne Kenntnis der irgendwann noch zu veröffentlichenden drei Teile der Reihe, eher etwas für Fans und Sammler sein oder etwas für Leute, die gerne etwas weitgehend Ausgearbeitetes für einen schnellen One-Shot auf einer Con oder ähnliches in der Hand haben möchten.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Falling Scales Chapter One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Imperial Mysteries
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2012 21:58:06
Nice to finally get rules for archmages. Unfortunate that the book only provides a few pages of actual rules on high level/advanced Arcana and spells. This book is emblematic of the new direction that WW-CCP is giving the new WOD, fewer page count, disappointing recycled artwork and higher price count. The cover alone is reason to discourage new buyers, however, its nice to get at least a modicum of effort given to the Mage gameline.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Imperial Mysteries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Havens of the Damned
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2012 21:52:35
Useful resource for creating havens in either Masquerade or Requiem, however, would have preferred more crunch than fluff. The sample havens, while handy, could have allowed for a more tool box approach.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Havens of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
World of Darkness: Armory
by robert s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2012 18:16:44
I have been meaning to aquire this book for some time. When all the local physical copies slipped my grasp i waited patiently for this ebook. My wait was not in vain. This is not some rehashing of the Combat book from the Old World of Darkness but a very stable and well constructed suite of mahem and the varied means to cause it. Need blades? Got 'em in spades. Guns, explosives and artilery? Oh baby! I find that the extended fighting styles and merits are what keep me coming back though. Personaly the only thing better than the goods in this book is coupling it with the knowledge and grit in its sister book Armory: reloaded. So if you wanna outfit a Russian Jeep with all the nines and tripod mounted lead hailing deathness go for it! Personally im gonna go and customize another shotgun to arm some meth amped triad to send after my poor unsuspecting players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Armory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fountains of Bright Crimson
by John W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2012 07:22:39
I bought the Vampire: The Dark Ages book and indeed the companion some years ago but have never had a chance to play it. That in itself is not a big deal – like many people, lifestyle and personal preferences limit my ability to play with others but I can buy books occasionally and play an occasional solitaire adventure. However, I have never successfully got around to doing this with the Dark Ages and have not come across a podcast of actual play. Consequently, I am really not sure what kind of experience people expect when playing the game – is it all the slightly effete social wrangling that it has been described as or is it, in reality, a variant of D&D with more powerful characters? I have heard various games being played via the wonderful RPGMP3 website but never vampires. So, I looked for what was available and came across Fountains of Bright Crimson, among others, and thought I would give it a go. If it was inspiring, I could use it as the basis of a solitaire adventure and, if not, at least I would have a better idea of what the experience would be like – and since it was just 32 odd pages fro five dollars, what could possibly go wrong?

Well, let me begin with the form and presentation. This is a pdf of course when the original was intended for print so that does make a difference. Print formats require compression of all content within a specific publishing space and that is evident here with the somewhat squashed appearance of the text – quite a lot is placed on a single page, that is, when a not insignificant amount of that space is occupied by margin art and by illustrations. The publishers (White Wolf) have been terrifically successful within the context of what might be achieved in this sector and clearly the majority of customers prefer this style or else they would have changed: people, self excluded, like a lot of pictures and illustrations and they get a reasonable amount here. Their playing experience is further supported by the presentation of NPCs – each of the dozen individuals here has a description measuring the best part of a quarter of a page or more. NPC descriptions include not just basic stats but appearance and demeanour. The descriptions range in level of subtlety but presumably a GM and players can use these descriptions to the extent that they want interaction. I was initially a little skeptical about this approach but have changed my mind (which is one reason why I try not to do reviews straight away) – a principal part of the game session satisfaction is, it would seem, the interaction with other creatures which are of substance in their own right. The clan nature of the setting dictates that creatures are of moment even if they can be brushed aside and destroyed as the D&D player in me would suggest. Working out the best way of dealing with them is part of play, therefore.

On the other hand, I was a little surprised by the tone and content of the adventure. Fountains of Bright Crimson is set in Jerusalem in the wake of the First Crusade, which took place a century earlier (there is a brief summary for those who do not know the history). The player characters are to be involved in the bloody aftermath of events then and drawn into the deep and dark secrets that partially shaped events. This is all well and good – who can resist running around as a vampire in Dark Ages Jerusalem? I visited a number of years ago and was certainly struck by the oppressive nature of the territory and archaeology, which of course lies like a nightmare on the brains of the living.

Yet I was somewhat surprised by the repeated injunctions of author Ree Soesbee to keep the players on a vehicle that is suspiciously like a train. I personally do not object to being railroaded – players taking part in a game universe created by others for their enjoyment (whether or not on a commercial basis) has a duty of politeness to follow the plot more or less, in my opinion. Yet I had expected something different from a Vampire game. Perhaps players are expected to enjoy the shackles of the clan setting to the extent that they justify going along with the flow, especially since the logic dictates that the GM can conjure out of thin air enormously powerful forms of the Deus ex Machina when required? Well, those who do stick with the plot will find themselves well rewarded, in my opinion, with the revelations to be found deep in the dungeons beneath Jerusalem.

On the whole, this is great fun – the more I have thought about it and tackled it, the more I like it. I would certainly recommend it and would look out for more work by the Soesbee.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fountains of Bright Crimson
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Orpheus
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/03/2012 08:22:22
Orpheus - die griechische Antike hat diesen Helden hervorgebracht, der in die Unterwelt hinab stieg, um seine einzig wahre Liebe zu retten.

White Wolf entlieh den Namen des Helden Orpheus aus dem Drama Orpheus und Eurydike für ihr ein einzigartiges Experiment. Sie erschufen aus allem, was sie bis zum Ende ihrer damaligen World of Darkness gelernt hatten, ein eigenständiges, mit dem Rest der WoD nur marginal verknüpftes System. Marginal verknüpft deshalb, weil es nicht einmal die anderen erwähnt und weil die Welt, in der es angesiedelt ist, dennoch gewisse Ähnlichkeiten aufweist, mit jener die vor kurzem geendet hatte. Vor allem mit der von „Wraith The Oblivion“.

In diesem System spielte man einen Geist, der nicht in der Lage war, das Leben hinter sich zu lassen und somit gefangen ist in einer Art von Zwischendasein, einem Limbus, einer Welt neben der Welt. Diese war lediglich durch das sogenannte Leichentuch (engl. The Shroud) von uns getrennt und mächtige Geister konnten dieses durchdringen und die Lebenden heimsuchen. Im Laufe der Jahrtausende hatte sich im „Jenseits“ eine eigene Gesellschaft von Geistern entwickelt, mit eigenen Gesetzen, Regeln und Kasten.

Mit dem Ende der World of Darkness ging auch diese Welt im Jenseits unter.

Hier setzt „Orpheus“ an. Dieser Artikel ist Teil der Rubrik "Alte Schätze".

Erscheinungsbild

Das Grundregelwerk ist Grau mit schwarzen Flecken und lediglich dem Titel und dem weiß abgesetzten Satz „DON'T LOOK BACK“. Auf der Rückseite ist es dunkler gehalten, mit einigen surrealistischen Photoshop-Effekten und dem üblichen Inhaltsangabe-Text.

Es ist ein stabiles Hardcover und 312 Seiten stark, die mit hervorragenden Illustrationen versehen sind, welche alle in Grautönen gehalten sind, was aber der „Stimmung“ des Systems sehr zuträglich ist. Teilweise sind die Seiten wie Auszüge aus Zeitungen und fotokopierte Dokumente gehalten, auch handschriftliche Notizen und Dokumente finden sich hier. Die Texte sind sehr gut zu lesen, auch wenn sie sich in Form und Größe oft stark unterscheiden. Erschienen ist das Ganze im Jahre 2003 bei White Wolf.

Die Spielwelt

Wie Eingangs schon erwähnt, setzt Orpheus da ein wo die alte WoD endete. Dies wird jedoch nur eingefleischten Fans wirklich auffallen, da dies durchweg nur mittels geschickt eingewobener Insider-Hinweise und kleiner, subtiler Andeutungen verdeutlicht wird, die der Wissende als solcher aber bemerken wird.

Die Spielercharaktere sind zunächst einmal Menschen. Jedoch Menschen, die mehrere, oder eine besonders beeindruckende Nahtoderfahrung hinter sich haben. Dies befähigt sie in den Augen der Orpheus Corporation dazu, psychisch zu projizieren, was interessanterweise in den meisten Fällen sogar zutrifft. Somit tritt dieser Konzern an jene Menschen, die Charaktere, heran und macht ihnen ein Angebot, das sie nur schwer ablehnen können. Sehr gutes Geld, hervorragende Vergünstigungen, Versicherungen usw. Das volle „Übersuperduperklassemega Paket“, das man sich als vom Schicksal Gebeutelter so dringend wünscht.

Wer nun denkt, das wäre zu schön um wahr zu sein, liegt nur teilweise richtig. Denn die Orpheus Gruppe hält, was sie verspricht. Allerdings erwartet sie dafür auch eine Menge von ihren Mitarbeitern.

Diese werden dazu ausgebildet moderne „Geisterjäger“ zu sein. Denn Orpheus hat festgestellt, dass Geister der Realität entsprechen und dass sie tatsächlich Einfluss auf die Welt der Lebenden nehmen können. Und nicht immer zum Guten. Somit werden die neuen „Field Agents“ erst einmal damit konfrontiert, dass es Gespenster gibt, und dass sie sogar mit einigen von ihnen zusammen arbeiten könnten. Denn die andere Wahl, die Spieler hier haben, ist, dass sie einen bereits Verstorbenen spielen.

Jemanden, der noch etwas zu erledigen hat, der einfach nicht in der Lage ist oder keine Lust hat, „weiterzugehen“, oder zu viel Angst hat vor dem, was ihn „dort“ erwartet. Dies alles sind Fragen, die im Hintergrund eines Charakters geklärt werden können. Das System gibt zunächst 5 Klassen von Geistern/Projektoren vor:

Banshee – fähig mit ihrer Stimme Emotionen und ihre Umwelt zu beeinflussen und ebenso fähig die Zukunft zu sehen, wenn sie sich konzentrieren. „The Sixth Sense“ und „Darkness Falls“ sind nette Beispiele hierfür.

Haunters – Diese Geister sind in der Lage Häuser und andere unbelebte Gegenstände zu besetzen und ihnen ein unheimliches Leben einzuhauchen. Klassische Beispiele wären hier natürlich „Die Geistervilla“, „Amity Ville Horror“, „Shocker“ sowie Stephen Kings „Christine“ und „The Shining“.

Poltergeister – Mit der Fähigkeit ihre Umwelt zu manipulieren und Gegenstände zu bewegen, sowie sich selbst umzuformen. „Poltergeist“ ist natürlich das perfekte Beispiel hier. Aber auch „Ghost – Nachricht von Sam“ passt, wenn man bedenkt, wie dieser zuerst lernt Kontakt aufzunehmen, indem er den Nickel bewegt.

Skinriders – übernehmen Personen und nisten sich in ihren Köpfen ein, lassen sie Dinge tun, die sie nicht wollen, oder Dinge sagen die niemand hören sollte. „Der Exorzist“ ist ein Beispiel, „Jenseits des Horizonts“ ein anderes. Die wohl romantischste Anwendung dieser Fähigkeit findet sich darin, wie der verstorbene Ehemann versucht, seine Witwe schreiben zu lassen: „Ich bin noch hier.“

Wisps – Kurz für „Will-O-The-Wisp“ also das „Irrlicht“. Diese Geister sind mit der Fähigkeit betraut, Menschen und andere Lebewesen psychisch beeinflussen zu können.

Zusätzlich gibt es noch vier weitere Kategorien, „Laments“ genannt, die sich darin unterscheiden wie viel „Leben“ noch in einem Charakter steckt.

Skimmer – Sind fähig, willentlich den Körper zu verlassen und dorthin zurück zu kehren. Sei es mit Hilfe von Psychopharmaka oder Meditationstechniken.

Sleeper – Sind dazu nicht in der Lage. Sie müssen in ein künstliches Koma versetzt werden, damit sich ihr Geist vom Körper löst.

Spirits – Nunja, sind eben Geister. Jene die bereits keinen Körper mehr haben, aber dennoch für „Orpheus“ arbeiten wollen.

Hues – Sind nur noch Schatten ihrer selbst. Sie besitzen weniger Vitalität als Geister, aber noch genug puren Willen, der sich nicht hinüber treten lässt. Und noch etwas anderes, das hier nicht verraten wird.

Wie man sich bei einem White Wolf Produkt denken kann, ist nicht alles so „rosig“ wie es zunächst erscheinen mag. Dabei ist nicht einmal die „Orpheus Corp.“ das große Übel, wie man vielleicht denken könnte. Natürlich ist bei einer Firma, die angeblich das Jenseits als legitimen Markt für Expansion entdeckt hat auch nicht alles astrein, aber tatsächlich ist das noch das kleinere Übel.

Was viel mehr Ärger macht, sind die Geister der Verstorbenen selbst und was aus ihnen wird, wenn sie sich zu sehr den negativen Emotionen hingeben. Und die Konsequenzen für die Welt dort drüben und hier auf dieser Seite.

„X-Files“, „The Crow“, „Flatliners“, gemischt mit einer guten Priese „Beetlejuice“, „Supernatural“ und „Ghost Whisperer“ trifft „Cthulhu“ und „Aliens“. All dies findet sich in einer guten „Orpheus“ Story wieder. Und das Tolle daran ist - diesmal ist der „Metaplot“ wirklich sein Geld wert.

Der „Metaplot“, das Unwort der World of Darkness: Jeder kannte ihn, jeder hat ihn ab und an einfließen lassen, aber meist wurde er vollkommen ignoriert, da er einfach ZU abgehoben war von dem was man in einer Vampire, Werwolf, Mage, oder sonst einer Runde aus dieser Welt spielen wollte.

In Orpheus erstreckt er sich über das Hauptwerk und die folgenden 5 Supplements. Mehr nicht.

Jedes Zusatzbuch liefert mehr Möglichkeiten für das Spiel, mehr Ideen und mehr Informationen um den „Metaplot“ durchzuziehen. Ich höre viele Leser nun stöhnen und weiß, wie gesagt, warum.

Aber, glaubt mir, diesmal ergibt es Sinn und ist eine der tollsten, gruseligsten und grauenerregendsten Geschichten, die ihr je mit einer Truppe gespielt haben werdet. Definitiv ab 18 und absolut nichts für schwache Nerven, wenn der Spielleiter sie gut umsetzt und die Spieler bereit sind, sich darauf einzulassen. Es ist die sprichwörtliche Achterbahnfahrt der Gefühle und die Spieler werden zusammen mit ihren Charakteren an ihre psychischen Grenzen geführt. Zwar wird auch diese Story gen Ende sehr „episch“, aber das sollte eine gute Geschichte auch sein, denke ich.

Natürlich zwingt euch niemand dem Hauptplot zu folgen, aber ich möchte es euch raten. Tut euch den Gefallen.

Die Regeln

Storyteller System 2.0, einmal mehr. Wie immer bekommt der Spieler eine bestimmte Anzahl von von Würfeln, je nachdem wie hoch der Wert in den jeweiligen Charakteristika seines Charakters ist.

Wenn man z.B. schießen will werden Wahrnehmung (3) und der Skill Wert „Schießen“ (3) zusammengezählt. Was 6 Würfel ergibt, die man möglichst über den Grundwert von 7 werfen sollte.

Der Spielleiter hat natürlich wie immer die Möglichkeit den Grund-, oder Zielwert herab, oder herauf zu setzten um die Schwierigkeit des Treffens zu verändern.

Geworfene Nullen sind kritische Erfolge und dürfen noch einmal zusätzlich geworfen werden, um mehr Erfolge zu erreichen. Gewürfelte Einsen sind sog. Botches, also kritische Fehler, die den Charakter so richtig in den Dreck reißen können. Je mehr, desto größer das Problem das dabei heraus kommt. Gewürfelte Einsen löschen erwürfelte Erfolge, je auf 1:1 Basis.

Was hier jedoch anders ist, ist das Charaktere ihre Würfel, bzw. Erfolge untereinander austauschen können, bzw. sich mittels dieser Unterstützen können, wenn ihre jeweiligen supernaturellen Fähigkeiten untereinander kompatibel sind. Das bedeutet, z.B. das ein Haunter, der mittels seiner Fähigkeiten ein Auto besetzt, mit Unterstützung einer Banshee erfahren könnte, was in den letzten Stunden in diesem Auto so passiert ist. Die Kombinationsmöglichkeiten und vor allem Effekte, sind hier im Grunde nur von den Erfolgen und der Cleverness der Spieler begrenzt. Je länger ein „Crucible“, also eine Gruppe Orpheus Agenten zusammenarbeitet, desto leichter fällt ihnen dieses Zusammenspiel und mit der Zeit können sich dadurch komplett neue Effekte und Möglichkeiten entstehen. Somit entwickeln sich die Charaktere im laufe der Chronik immer weiter und wachsen immer mehr zusammen, was in der brutalen und extrem düsteren Welt von „Orpheus“ auch sehr, sehr nötig ist.

Charaktererschaffung

Auch hierbei handelt es sich um ein leicht angepasstes Storyteller 2.0 System. Wieder einmal gibt es eine Anzahl von Punkten auf Attribute und Fähigkeiten zu verteilen. Besondere Fähigkeiten der Geister, sogenannte „Horrors“ werden ebenfalls aus einem Punktepool bezahlt. Später erhält man wie immer im WoD System noch eine Anzahl von Freebe-Punkten, die man gegen gewisse Kosten dazu nutzen kann, den Charakter zu optimieren. Vor- und Nachteile sind ebenfalls einmal mehr mit von der Partie und werden gegeneinander aufgewogen.

Eine Besonderheit gibt es in diesem System noch, die es besonders hervorhebt und die den Spielern ungeahnte Möglichkeiten zum Teamplay gibt. Horrors verschiedener Geister-Aspekte können sich gegenseitig verstärken und beeinflussen. Die Charaktere formen mit der Zeit ein „Crucible“ (Schmelztiegel) genanntes psychisches Bündnis, das diese Vorteile ermöglicht. Mit der Zeit werden die Möglichkeiten immer größer und mächtiger.

Auch kann ein Projektor oder Geist einer anderen „Post Life Entity“ Vitalität spenden, oder auch gewaltsam entreißen, um Vorteile zu erhalten. Dies bietet ebenfalls viele clevere Einsatzmöglichkeiten und macht das System äußerst vielseitig.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht

Für Spielleiter halten die Bücher eine Menge brauchbares Material bereit. Von Zeitungsausschnitten, Radio- und Fernsehmeldungen, Aktenauszügen und allerlei anderen tollen Handouts, bis zu den obligatorischen Hintergrundinfos über Feinde, Freunde und Fähigkeiten. Ein kleiner Nachteil ist natürlich, dass man für deutschsprachige Spieler Erstgenannte zunächst übersetzen muss. Aber ich denke, mit genug Enthusiasmus bekommt man das schon hin. Das System ist einfach und schnell erlernt und das Würfeln geht gut von der Hand. Man sollte allerdings die Zusatzbücher nicht aus der Hand geben, da sie eben auch eine Menge Infos enthalten, die nicht für Spieler-Augen bestimmt sind.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

Wie für Spielleiter, so auch für Spieler, sind die vielen, tollen, gut durchdachten Handouts eine klasse Sache um damit zu „spielen“. Wenn man sich auf das dichte und wirklich zum Teil sehr düstere Horror Setting einlässt, dann macht das Spiel sehr viel Spaß und wem Gänsehaut- Atmosphäre gefällt, dem sei dieses Kleinod ans Herz gelegt. Denn hier sind die Charaktere keine Überwesen. Okay, sie sind „Geister“, bis zu einem gewissen Grad, aber auch Geister können vernichtet werden und sind nicht weniger verletzlich als Menschen. Vor allem wenn der eigene Körper die Spuren eines Kampfes in der Geisterwelt widerspiegelt und auch ein geisterhafter Körper „zerrissen“ werden kann.

Preis/Leistungsverhältnis

Ich für meinen Teil finde es großartig. Die gebundene Ausgabe ist bei DriveThruRPG für nur 29.99 Dollar erhältlich und das lohnt sich dank des ausgezeichneten Settings, der großartigen Handouts und der stimmigen Umsetzung des Themas auch.

Wie gesagt, bei DriveThruRPG kostet es derzeit im Hardcover 29.99 Dollar und als PDF mit Wasserzeichen nur 17,99 Dollar.

Fazit

Ich kann es nicht genug betonen. Wer wirklich mal eine gute, erwachsene Geistergeschichte spielen oder leiten will, der sollte sich „Orpheus“ zumindest seiner vielen, wertvollen Ideen und Tipps wegen anschauen. In diesen Büchern steht, wie man Horror „richtig macht“, ohne auf „persönlichen“, „wilden“, oder sonst einen Cliché-Gruselschocker auszuweichen. Orpheus gibt dem Spielleiter und den Spielern die Werkzeuge in die Hand um einen wunderbaren Abend und gruseliger Atmosphäre zu erleben. Mit der Zeit steigern sich Angst und Gefahr jedoch. Und schon bald finden sich die Charaktere in Situationen wieder, in denen es um die nackte Existenz geht - wenn sie mit Dingen konfrontiert werden, die jenseits der Vorstellungskraft, zumindest der ihrer Charaktere, liegen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Big Eyes, Small Mouth 3rd Edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/29/2012 23:04:08
I was eagerly anticipating the release of BESM (Big Eyes, Small Mouth) 3rd Edition. Of course by the time it was released Guardians of Order had gone belly up and the rules were now being released by Arthaus/White Wolf. My anticipation was tinged a little with stress. What had happened to the game I had just recently become very fond of and what was going to happen now? And of course would I be able to convert Willow and Tara to new version given how much fun I had with BESM 2nd Ed Revised?

Well many of fears were put to rest, only to be replaced by new ones (and a couple that just never seemed to go away). I'll detail those all below.

Briefly here are my comments on the system and the book.

The book is very attractive and one of the most colorful RPGs I have seen in a long time. It reminds me of Mutants and Masterminds in terms of color. It is a thick tome, and now sized to fit well on my shelf. The Niko Geyer artwork is great and really captures the feel of the game well. On the other hand I have seen all this artwork before, maybe not in color, but certainly in other editions of this book. Now I understand that money was very tight at GoO and the art is great, so I am willing to cut them some slack here.
The text though also has the same problems. There is text in here that I am now reading for the 5th or 6th time over (BESM 2.0, BESM d20, SAS, SASd20, Tri-Stat core). Some of this text still has the same problems as it always did (Dynamic Powers in particular).

I do like what is new. The analysis of anime, maps of Japan and Tokyo, and the overview of Shôjo anime. The section about the anime multiverse is also rather fun and full of ideas that can be used for any game. Especially as a way to run those pesky crossover sessions.

The new game mechanics are now a Roll-over; 2d6 vs. Target Number. Makes it very much in feel with Unisystem. No Success levels as such, but a very loose difficulty class system similar to many d20 based games. It was reading over these rules in fact that help re-tool my dice mechanic for Unisystem that I have come to call The Chicago Way .
But otherwise it is still mostly the same BESM. We still have our 3 Stats, Body, Mind and Soul. Still have attributes, defects and skills. There are different scalings for the game depending how you want to play it.
Like M&M the powers are all effects based. So if you wanted to make a Pyro Girl for example its not a matter of choosing levels in pyrokenesis, but choosing a particular power and have it act like it. This could be Elemental Control (Fire), Power Flux- Fire or something else.

That gets me to a big issue. Magic.

Magic has always been an issue in BESM. There are basically three magical powers. The first is the easiest. Pick a power and call it magical. No big deal really.

The second is Power Flux, which used to be called magic. The idea here is pay for this at 15 points per level and you get 4 points per level to buy any other power temporarily. For that loss of 11 points per level you gain flexibility. So every power in the book then becomes a spell that your magic using character can use. So lets take the power Invisibility as an example. The power says you become invisible, it does not say how or why. Since its results or effect based then the Invisibility power can come from magic, be a spell cast by Power Flux, or be a cloaking device of a super-science item. Power Flux does not just have to be magic, it can psi powers, super-science, or just about anything else. For people starting out in BESM I say go with Power Flux. This is what I usually do for starting games and my Teen Witch below uses Power Flux.

Then there is Dynamic Power. Dynamic Power used to be Dynamic Sorcery, but the name change didnt help clear anything up. It is bought like Power Flux (including some of the exact same text copied and pasted in). Now the idea here is to be able to replicate all those kewl powerz you see in anime that the characters just seem to think of and they get. The really weird stuff. The trouble is the power as written is ripe for abuse and it is not very clear. Turning to BESM d20 you can get an idea of what it can do there, but none of that is here. So there is no telling what a person with 3 levels in this can do say differently from what someone with 3 levels in Power Flux do.

The BESM d20 version has Dynamic Sorcery (its equivalent) casting D&D type spells with restrictions on how many, which ones and how often. But nothing like that here. IF I am going to use Dynamic Powers I am going to have to figure out a way to convert over the magic in BESM d20 Advanced Magic for some guidelines.

Though I should not *have* to do this I am going to take my cues on proper leveling from BESM d20 Advanced Magic. There Dynamic Sorcery goes to 10, to make life easier I am going to limit it to 5 levels in BESM 3.0 (level 6 is the realm of Gods). This will correspond to 1 BESM 3.0 level equaling 2 BESM d20 levels. Not perfect, but it is a guideline. Similarly Ill say 1 BESM 3.0 level of Dynamic Powers is roughly equal to having 2 levels of Magic/Sorcery. Its not perfect, but it works well enough.
Still though, I am unhappy with this power as written. Its a cool idea, but not as it is now. Ill revisit this when I do the BESM d20 conversions.

More Mechanics
The rest is very familiar. The main feature of the system is still the Tri-Stat, or Body, Mind and Soul. All skills, attributes and defects as well combat roles are made with these three in mind. They range up to 12, but cannot go over.

Attributes and Skills convert pretty much as is. BESM 3.0s new mechanic is such that the chances of success for a character is about the same as their Unisystem counter-part. Many of the Attributes are nearly the same as Unisystem with minor name differences; Tough vs. Hard to Kill for example.

BESM 3 Skills are now part of Attributes, but otherwise mostly unchanged. Skill Levels range 1 to 6, with 0 as unskilled or unable to use this skill and 5 representing the human maximum in most cases.

I like BESM. I wish more people did too. Despite it's flaws (and it still has them) it is a great little game. I like what it can offer other games too. The biggest tragedy of BESM 3.0 is it's wasted potential. ArtHaus/White Wolf go it on the death of GoO and promptly did nothing with it. I get it in a way. BESM is not their product, not their line and really not in the same genre of their games. But I think it would have been great if someone had picked it up and expanded it some. Mark and GoO had some great ideas for the future of BESM 3 and it is sad that these will never come to pass. The loss of GoO and BESM is more than the loss of one small company and their game in the industry; it was the lost of something very unique.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Eyes, Small Mouth 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Changeling the Dreaming 2nd Edition
by Casey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2012 11:34:52
Dreams can come true!

Pun totally, and absolutely intentional! Seriously though, this is one of my favorite "classic" WoD games, and as such, is a dream come true. That's saying a lot, as I'm a big fan of the system, art, and writing of all the 1st & 2nd editions of those games. Never the less, I had long ago given up on ever seeing any of these games published again.

Of course, White Wolf has now published Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition (which I also have purchased and loved). Even then, I never thought we would see a print version of lovely Changeling the Dreaming. There are two main reasons for this:

1) It was a full color book, and sort of relied on that for effect.
2) It was never (as I understand it) much of a success commercially.

I'm proud to say that the book is sitting next to me, brand new, in full color and hardback bound, and it looks wonderful! It's not 100% perfect (there are pages where the "full bleed" doesn't quite reach the edges), but it's even better than I expected. Appearance wise, it's well worth the price.

How is it besides appearance? Why wasn't Changeling so popular as the other Storyteller games? What did it not have that the other games did?

For starters, it's hard to compete with vampires, werewolves, and even wizards. Vampires appeal to romantics of all ages (especially in the Goth tinged 90's), werewolves appeal to those more interested in a martial/heroic themed game (and even the eco-minded in WtA), and wizards... they can do all sorts of stuff. Mage the Ascension was particularly robust, but specifics for that aren't important here (perhaps for MtA 20th Anniversary).

Another aspect of Changeling that might have lost some potential fans is that you could read the book and get the feeling that the Kithain (what Changelings call themselves) are all absolute loonies that see things that no one else does (even in the supernatural World of Darkness). There's very little in the book that gives you the sense that the Dreaming (Changeling's side reality), is of any actual substance at all. Thereby, one could get the feeling that the game is futile and limiting (not that futility was ever something shied away from in the old White Wolf games).

That being said, I don't feel that way. This is a game of dreams and glamour (fae magic). I always tweaked things ever so slightly so that the players felt like they were doing something more tangible and heroic, because I feel like that's the spirit of the game. This isn't to say that playing the game more in the style of C.S. Lewis is wrong. One could run a great chronicle in which a group of kids/teens go through a mirror or closet into an enchanted realm, never worrying about any of the "real world" at all! I will say that if nothing from the real world is ever thrown into the story, it could become hard to suspend disbelief, and it could become a game within a game. I say this only because it is an RPG. It's obviously worked well in a number of books and movies!

Aside from all that, everything you need to play this game is here! All the Kith (9 different types of changelings, mostly European), Merits/Flaws (good & bad things about your character), Cantrips (faerie magical styles), Chimera (faerie items/companions), Banality (the antithesis of faerie magic - aka reality), and of course all the systems for dealing with all these things. In the back of the book is a number of the other supernaturals (Werewolves, Vamps, Mages, Wraiths, & more specific faerie baddies).

To me, this is one of the most timeless of the WoD games. Specifically, it doesn't feel as much a generational thing as some of the others (some were very "90's"). This is a game for fans of Burton, Gaiman, Roald Dahl, C.S. Lewis, and more. I say check it out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling the Dreaming 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Victorian Age Vampire Book I of III: A Morbid Initiation
by Grant L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2012 20:33:54
Some pages out of order, but all of them are in there somewhere.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Victorian Age Vampire Book I of III: A Morbid Initiation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
World of Darkness Rulebook
by Geoffrey R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2012 14:45:29
Although I collected dozens of books from the 1st WOD, among all the game lines, and I loved the setting - the 'Real World,' but through a glass darkly, populated with all sorts of monsters - I much prefer the new WOD. I really like how there's 1 main rule book (this one), which all the other game lines start from. And especially how - using the main rule book - there's no duplication of rules in each core book, and the rules are all the same, making crossovers or mixed-race stories so much more possible (you don't have to mess with trying to make the rules from the various game lines mesh with each other). Also, the fact that you can start with mortal characters, whose eyes have been opened - at least somewhat - to the nWOD, to play games featuring ghosts or other 'lesser' monsters, especially with a new troupe of players, is a perfect way to introduce them to this type of role playing (Storytelling).

The other thing I've always been so impressed with White Wolf and it's Storytelling games is the obvious amount of research and detail they bring to their games, especially given the setting is in an altered version of our world. So, much of what is brought up in their game books are things we (may) already be familiar with.

Congratulations to White Wolf for reimagining what was already a great gaming system and set of game lines, and I look forward to what more they'll come up with!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mage: The Awakening
by Nathan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2012 17:32:00
The content of this PDF is perfect if you intend to read it from a laptop or desktop computer. If like me you were hoping to be able to utilize it from an Android device expect it to be very sluggish. I wish they would have presented the option to get a light copy of the PDF without all of the pretty graphics paper styling, that would have perfectly met my needs. The latest revision to the PDF is a big improvement, but it is still very sluggish when trying to rapidly change pages to jump to a specific section.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Awakening
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Danse Macabre
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/17/2012 14:03:33
The Danse Macabre opens a wide vista of options for Vampire and to a lesser extent other World of Darkness games. If you wish to expand your campaign in any of a variety of directions, this book is full of useful tools and inspiration to do so.

The Danse Macabre is a 266-page PDF (260-pages if you remove the covers and ads) for Vampire: the Requiem (and the World of Darkness in general) RPG written by Russell Bailey, Benjamin Baugh, David Brookshaw, Christopher Cowger, Bethany Culp, Matthew McFarland, Greg Stolze, and Chuck Wendig and published by White Wolf Publishing.

Danse Macabre has a mix of single and double column layout, depending on what is being conveyed and is easily readable. The art is full color cover with black and white interior pieces. It is nicely book-marked but lacks an index.

Danse Macabre begins with an introduction to this book which is designed to open up the possibilities of playing a Vampire/World of Darkness campaign and to provide the tools for doing so. Inter-spaced between the various resource filled chapters are fiction pieces (A Season of Secrets by Greg Stolze) which indirectly help with visualizing the ideas discussed.

As a framing way to look at things, it breaks the game down into three tiers of play: the bottom tier of newcomers and scut work, rarely played but the people that support the higher tiers. The middle tier, the usual level of Vampire play, where people have power, status and allies. And the top tier of elders and power players, where everyone wants to be. How each of the groups within the game look at the power structure and how to use (and abuse it) and various ways to play the masquerade and a wide set of example masks that can be used to do so.

The Bounds of Covenant looks at conspiracies of vampires, in twelve flavors, are presented for use as allies, enemies or rivals with complete and intriguing description. There is a smattering of new abilities, rules and merits here along with suggestions for making some of the conspiracies totally gonzo if that is your taste.

The Bloody Business chapter is full of new rules providing: detailed social combat rules with new tactics, use of talents and merits. Expanded mental combat rules and new ways to expand physical combat and make the scenes more interesting. Anchors and setting up social/emotional ties for characters. Rule for creating beings such as gargoyles and other toys that vampires can build for their use are provided.

The final chapter, Dead, Dread Chronicles give a set of campaign ideas such as the Dark metropolis (urban noir), When the World Ends (post apocalyptic), and Blood Mark (getting the band back together . . . after a century apart). Some fun and intriguing ideas here, a good source of inspiration for starting a new campaign or changing the direction of an existing one.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Danse Macabre
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mage: The Awakening
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2012 19:46:23
Mage:The Awakening (White Wolf) Pages: 404

Overview: A complete overview of the Mage and her role in the World of Darkness setting. It includes the history of magic, the traditions, mage politics, spells, and everything else you need to run a Mage campaign in the World of Darkness setting.

Note: Use of this book requires the 200-page main "World of Darkness" rulebook. The Mage rules rely on concepts that are only covered in the main rulebook.

Likes: The first chapter (about the origins of magic and the history of Atlantis) was truly inspired. The fact that it was stat-free was an added bonus.

Dislikes:
1) The first chapter doesn't start until after a 25-page work of fiction. Not interested--stick it in an appendix and get it out of my way.

2) This system has a steep learning curve, and the book layout doesn't encourage ease of use. Thank God for bookmarked PDF's!

3) While this book does provide an overview of the Mage universe, you'll have to buy additional splat books if you want the details. Each order has its own book, plus the equipment guide, and the antagonists have their own books, too. Want to add Vampires and Werewolves to the mix? That's another two lines of books to add.

4) Character creation is a bewildering array of paths, orders, and traditions. While this allows for widely diverse character types, it is a little intimidating for newcomers.

Other opnions: Stop whining about the bad artwork. If you want good artwork, go to a museum. I want information out of a book, not pretty pictures.

Bottom line: Unless you are a World of Darkness fanboy, this is not your game.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Awakening
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1559 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates