DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Scroll of Errata
by Jimmy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2012 10:03:28
The downloads aren't working, all I'm getting is a webpage with asian characters.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scroll of Errata
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Glimpses of the Unknown
by Quentin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2012 12:12:21
wow, i could have gotten a big mac meal and it would have been more enticing/filling than this book was. i was expecting a bit more than some plot seeds and perhaps a new merit or mechanic for each section. i would say you get what you pay for, but i think this book is overpriced in regards to what it actually contains versus the write up.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Glimpses of the Unknown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Falling Scales Chapter One
by Joseph S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2012 09:59:01
Fantastic, my only complaint is that the next chapter isn't out yet.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Falling Scales Chapter One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mage: The Sorcerers Crusade
by Peter F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2012 03:18:01
I don't know if the scan has been improved since the original reviews (given how long it's been, that does seem likely), but with the ability to search the book to some extent, the PDF has value of its own. Rules and writing, being Mage only more swashbuckling, are five stars easily. It's still not a perfect scan by any means, however. While most of the pages came out quite nicely, many of the charts are cockeyed and at different angles, and there are cases of pictures being poorly scanned and many sections of text not having been picked up by the automated system. Still, it's Sorcerers' Crusade. Few games this fantastic have ever been produced. Don't let a so-so scan stop you from checking out this mind-bending, reality-jamming ride.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Sorcerers Crusade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scroll of Errata
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2012 06:08:11
For anyone who have played Exalted, this book is crucial. Exalted had suffered from a poor execution of a great idea, and the system has always left players wanting.

This Scroll is not a fresh offering (entirely) from the publisher. It is, rather, a very intelligent analysis of a few years of complaints and insights from the actual players of the game, implemented in stages to bring the game closer to the vision of where it was intended to sit.

The Scroll changes the game significantly, and most players of Exalted will be delighted to see the changes. For those just picking up the game, be assured that the changes made in Scroll are vital to good play, and that implementing them is essential.

The book itself is easy to follow, with only a few organizaitonal complaints (the Wilderness Hearthstone is erratted in two different places in two different ways). It reads very well on an screen or ereader, and the price is right ;)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scroll of Errata
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 13:00:36
I liked it. I've been looking up Telyavelic Tremere and this gave me a ton of information on them. Also it gives lots of information on setting and how to incorporate them so I'd say it did its job well. :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Players Guide to the Low Clans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Sacrifice: The Thaumaturgy Companion
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 12:59:34
Eh, it's like any other supplement, it's useful if it's what you're looking for. :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sacrifice: The Thaumaturgy Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clan Novel 12: Tremere
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 12:58:53
Okay, so it's not THE BEST. In fact, sometimes it's really hard to read or understand if you don't know exactly what you're talking about. Also it seems like the author took a lot of liberties that I can't seem to find anywhere in the books such as the labeling of Secondus or Tertius. I feel like it's a decent representation of the Tremere clan through a novel, just that it's NOT a stand alone novel and not written as one. If you're not reading the rest of the series, the author seriously needed to give more information. It's quite possible to do stand alone novels as part of enriching a series which adding on, but this novel really didn't do that. So it's not great, but it's not horrible either.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 12: Tremere
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire Translation Guide
by Andrea C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2012 15:38:08
I mostly use it as the foundation of the ruleset I use when I run Masquerade using Requiem rules and in this regard I find it a solid product, although it does bother me that a few things were left out or given little love.

Specifically, the Giovanni clan weakness isn't discussed at all, which is a shame. Moreover, the author dismisses the idea of the Tremere as a clan, claiming that "the Tremere don't really work as a clan in Requiem", thus presenting as playable choices Tremere as a sect and Tremere as a bloodline. I feel that this really doesn't do them justice.

My biggest concern, however, is with the way the conversion from Generation to Blood Potency was handled - or, rather, should I say, handwaved. While the "Blood Potency system to represent Generation" idea might be reasonable for neonate characters, the system quickly breaks down for lower generation characters: as written in the Translation Guide, every 7th Generation vampire - including a fledgeling embraced two years ago - would suffer from the Methuselah's Thirst. This clearly makes for an unplayable rule in the sense that it would not give rise to a self-consistent world.

Some discipline resistance rolls (specifically Voice of Madness, Total Insanity, Eyes of the Serpent) ought to be errata'd, since related dice pools are formed by combining two attributes and supernatural tolerance, which is kind of an anomaly in the new World of Darkness ruleset.

Lastly, the writeup for Vicissitude Horrid Form is a little unclear, I believe. Masquerade's Horrid Form featured, among other things, becoming bigger (as in eight feet), while in the Translation Guide there is no mention of a Size increase. This is a little ambiguous, since it doesn't specify whether a "Requiem-ish" Horrid Form should actually including a stature increase or not.

Apart from what I just mentioned, however, this is a rather solid product and I am really happy with its purchase. Introductory remarks on tone, scope and metaplot capture both games quite well and suggestions about depiction of clans and covenants are usually well-written and compelling; references to third products are meaningful and useful. The writeup for some disciplines - especially as regards Necromancy, Obtenebration, Quietus and Thaumaturgy - is nothing short of fantastic.

I believe that this product truly deserves a 1.1 version, including errata and info to ensure compatibility with V20. Should any of the above stated concerns be addressed, I would not hesitate to change my opinion on what I now consider a masterpiece missed by a hair.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Translation Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inherit the Earth
by Grant L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2012 11:30:47
Some old favorite characters, and some standalone. Great stories. One story is copy/pasted from Predator+Prey: Werewolf. The pdf, as is starting to seem usual, has some pages out of order (230's), but I think they're all there somewhere.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inherit the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: Inferno
by Caroline H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2012 05:10:16
WoD: Inferno tries to avoid the centrism on western occult traditions and abrahamitic religion that was prevalent in the Old World of Darkness. In Inferno, demons are not necessarily fallen angels but vice-spirits with some additional special characteristics. They gain power from sins committed by others.

From the premise of creating a product that is not limited to western/christian ideas of demons, the authors did quite good. Unfortunately, the introductory chapter creates the feeling that the author(s) didn't really like the theme of demons. This feeling is less prevalent in the following chapters.

In taking a broader and more general view of demons, some mood and flavour is unfortunately lost compared to e.g. Demon: the Fallen. The demon of WoD: Inferno feel more impersonal - forces of nature rather than malicious individual minds and personalities. I still like the product and the ideas presented in it - such as the Possessed - but it is a very different product from the demon-related supplements to oWoD.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Inferno
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Intruders: Encounters With the Abyss
by Caroline H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2012 03:58:28
The best supplement for Mage: the Awakening that I've read so far. A lot of good ideas for investigative horror scenarios. The intruders/antagonists/challenges are creative, scary and presented in a way that make them feel easy to incorporate in one's own campaign. Every intruder has suggestions of how it is manifested, how it behaves, how it evolves and how it can be banished (seldom by violence). The book also contains a meaty section with general information about the Abyss.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Intruders: Encounters With the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New Wave Requiem
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2012 20:34:09
I wrote a review of this for Flames Rising, so I will keep this one brief.

Put on Hall and Oats "Maneater" and end the vampire's world of the 1980s.

I was not a fan of where White Wolf was going towards the end of its initial lines departure and the creation of the new lines. It all felt like a bad case of "been there/done that."

This particular book changed the way I viewed the World of Darkness. It's a great look at how Kindred would have viewed the Regan Era and used it to their advantage (along with every other creature during that era).

The artwork in this book is particularly great, which isn't always the case with White Wolf. It's full color and gorgeous.

All in all, I want my game books to call to me after I've read them and this one does that in spades. It offers idea after idea to the GM looking for a flashback story or a campaign set in a vaguely distant era.

So grab a New Coke, click on MTV (when they played videos), and give this book a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New Wave Requiem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
by Sven L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2012 12:12:30
Das System ist hervorragend, eins der besten. Aber die Qualität des Downloads ist schlecht, teilweise verschwommene Schrift, die Kontraste unscharf... schade.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Manual of Exalted Power: Dragon-Blooded
by Daniel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2012 18:18:27
I always loved the Dragon-Blooded the most. THEY are the coolest Exalts. Because they are relatively weak and have to budget their powers. Because they get their power from Gaia. Because their powers are related to the elements (which makes for cool special effects). And because they are team players.

Okay, now, this book. From a fluff perspective it is definitely great. It goes into depth about a piece of Creation you will hardly get around when playing Exalted: the Realm of the Terrestrial Exalted. Either you are a proud subject of the Scarlet Empress or one for her many enemies!
You also get a lot of context for Dragon-Blooded of the Realm, but also for Outcastes, "Lost Eggs", the Terrestrials of Lookshy with a great deal of extra information.

And of course you get al the rules you need to play one of the Dragon-Blooded, be it Dynasts of the Realm or Outcaste characters.

I have to say that I really love their charms, they are flavorful, powerful, but a little flawed compared to the ones of the other Exalts (that's on purpose, mind you).

Now, unfortunately the charms are not only flawed on purpose. There are also many inconsistencies, oversights and unclear descriptions in the list of charms. Luckily, these get remedied with the free supplement "Scroll of Errata", but actually a book shouldn't have that many rules issues.
Additionally - as Dragon-Blooded to written pretty much in parallel to the 2nd Edition core book, the writers didn't take most of the social combat rules into account when defining charms for the Terrestrial Exalted. This IS a weakness.

The Good: Comprehensive tome on my favorite Exalts. Great background and fluff. Great, flavorful elemental aspects and charms. Even if you don't want to play Dragon-Bloods yourselves, these are your most obvious enemies.
The Bad: The charms seem to be put together pretty hastily. You definitely need the Scroll of Errata. With that document, the DB are clearly playable (and a lot of fun at that).

Resolution: Despite its flaws I like this book the best of all Manuals of Exalted Power. If you're playing in Creation (an why would you play Exalted if you didn't want to) this book is a must-have for Storytellers as it describes the most numerous Exalts and the most powerful political entity in the whole of Creation: the Realm.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Manual of Exalted Power: Dragon-Blooded
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 271 to 285 (of 1572 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 19  20  21  22  23  24  25  26  27 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates