DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Margaret Weis Productions
Margaret Weis Productions
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (43)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Young Avengers / Runaways
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2012 18:13:16
Great book. A lot of cool Datefiles. Nice Event. Worth the price of admission.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Young Avengers / Runaways
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2012 12:20:53
First the good points, this is a well thought out and well writ tern game. If you get this it's because you are a marvel fan, but the character backgrounds are short but hold all the details you need to grasp the characters motives, history and personality.
This is a great system to run and play, had hours of fun running the game, the pregen senarios are fun and have a great feel, overall this is a great game
Now the bad point, just one there is an issue with the art, many of the pictures cover the text which is really irritating and poor presentation/editing.
I hope there is an update soon

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2012 11:40:05
This excellent roleplaying system is extremely easy to pick up and use, with extreme flexibility and user friendliness. My personal group has already adapted this system to two other roleplaying worlds and it works flawlessly. This book is a steal, and well worth the initial investment.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/01/2012 13:22:05
This supplement gives you a Howard the Duck datafile. 'nuff said.

Okay, so maybe there’s more to say than that. This supplement to the Civil War event book really gives you two things, in very unequal measure. First, it gives you about half a dozen short action scenes set in the aftermath of the Civil War—two scenes for each of three teams, the Initiative (well, sort of a network of teams), the Thunderbolts, and the Heroes for Hire. Second, and mostly, it gives you datafiles for a whole bunch of second- and third-string heroes from the Marvel Universe … yes, including Howard the Duck.

It’s basically a roster book, so a glance at the table of contents should pretty much tell you whether you want the book or not. For me, Howard really was pretty much the highlight of the book, but whether that tells you more about me or about the book is for you to decide. Personally, I’m not very interested in most of the heroes included. The Great Lakes Champions, Liberteens, the Shadow Initiative, the folks training at Camp Hammond, and even the Rangers (I’m a Texas native, though living elsewhere now) don’t interest me very much. I have no desire to play them or run an adventure featuring them. The Thunderbolts might be a different story, though I’d personally use them as antagonists, not as the heroes. That pretty much leaves the Heroes for Hire.

The distribution of the datafiles throughout the book can be a little bit annoying, even confusing. Some datafiles, about half a page long with red backgrounds, are presented along with the action scenes and the team descriptions. Thus Baron Zemo’s datafile appears on p. FS55, in the section of the book dedicated to the Thunderbolts (pp. FS50–FS63). Here’s where you’ll also find Eel, Mongoose, Porcupine, American Eagle, Jack Flag, Sepulchre, and Steel Spider, in connection with two action scenes featuring the Thunderbolts. But to find datafiles for Bullseye, Moonstone, Radioactive Man, Songbird, Swordsman, and Venom, you look in the back of the book, where each has a two-page spread with a blue background. I’m not sure why Swordsman rates a two-page spread and Zemo only gets half a page, but I am sure that it’s a bit of a pain tracking where each datafile is found. Consistently grouping the characters with their teams or consistently listing everybody at the end in alphabetical order would have made the book more convenient to use.

When the PDF of this book was first released, the image resolution was terrible, but MWP updated the product with a better-looking version. That’s good responsiveness and customer service … but it doesn’t really make the book any more useful for me. The book accomplishes its goal well. It’s just not a goal that really lights a spark in my GMing heart; the book does not inspire me to want to use these characters. GMs, er, Watchers who have an interest in these characters will love it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
by Ashley M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2012 14:56:19
This book is about the government sponsored pro-registration teams that were formed after the SHRA was passed. The book's in three chunks, one about the Initiative (a team in every state), another about the Thunderbolts (poachers turned gamekeepers) and the last one about Heroes for Hire (bounty hunters). There's also a shed load of data files.

The Initiative section is half good, half mystifying. The first chunk is about Camp Hammond. This is the place where newly registered and inexperienced heroes go to get trained. Trained so they don't make the sort of mistakes Spidey did trying to save Gwen Stacey. They're also taught enough about ethics so you don't end up like Wolverine. There are a couple of action scenes covering aspects of training and their first serious mission. There are enough data files in the back of the book to gather together a young team, chuck them in and see what happens. So far so good. Now the mystery begins...

The rest of the Initiative section is an outline of some of the Initiative teams. We have the Rangers and the Great Lakes Avengers/Champions amongst others. Each team gets a quick - page long - description, a guide to playing them and a set of Watcher character data files. Er, Watcher data files? Why? What are they for? Why not player data files? Is it so the Watcher gets to play Squirrel Girl (not a bad thing to be honest, after I finish writing this review she's being transcribed to a player data file ASAP)? There doesn't seem to be any explanation of what this section is actually for. Maybe these is an explanation somewhere but I haven't found it in a couple of readings. I suppose one use would be to give anti-registration heroes something to complicate their lives. Anyway, I found the reasoning a bit lacking - your experience may vary though!

The second section is about the Thunderbolts. They're villains given the choice of helping round up anti-registration heroes or rotting in the hell-hole of Project 42. It gives a quick overview of who and what they are at the time of Civil War and mentions that they eventually end up under the control of one Norman Osbourne. There's a couple of good action scenes and the playable data files for enough undesirables (Venom and Bullseye fans rejoice!) to give you a really strong springboard to start a Thunderbolts campaign. The data files also include a few nice milestones which help you visualise the internal conflicts and motivations of the characters. All in all well chuffed by this section.

The third section is about Heroes for Hire - a bunch of mercenary heroes hired to round up anti-registration heroes. Unlike the Thunderbolts this lot are in it for the money, not because they want to avoid prison and/or reform. Again there are a couple of cool action scenes and data files for the key members of the team. These data files also have good milestones and as a Watcher you can develop a decent amount of conflict between team members AND internal conflict for the team member. For example would Black Cat shop Spidey or let him go? Which way does her emotional compass point at this time? And yes, this means that you've got official data files now for a Black Cat/Spidey combo in games outside the Civil War. What's not to like?

The final section are data files. Some I'd heard of, others I hadn't. With 8,000 characters in the Marvel universe I'm not surprised. Most of them look fun to play and have evocative distinctions and milestones. For me Moonstone sticks out as someone interesting (and not just her picture which is in the best bottle-fed tradition of Super Hero art). She's sufficiently conflicted as to make anyone who thinks super heroes are one dimensional a reason to think again.

My final comment is that the book is a bit short for the price. I know, small doesn't necessarily mean low quality or lack of utility. I don't begrudge having paid the cash as there's still a lot to use but the Initiative teams just feel like filler.

So I'll drop a point for the size, drop another for the second half of the initiative section me add one back for Black Cat, Moonstone and Squirrel Girl.

PS: There's been an update recently which has addressed the fuzzy art issues and the lack of printer friendly data files. Hurrah, those really narked me so I'm glad they've been fixed.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Supernatural: The Hunt Begins
by Ron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2012 13:38:19
I have run this once with my group and scheduled to run in at the MACE gaming convention in Charlotte, NC. I am a huge fan of the show and love the RPG setting.

I have to tell you that Cortex is not my favorite system. Although I do not hate it, I keep wanting to revert to something like Savage Worlds so my dice can explode. It's a simple rules-light system with a few interesting aspects to it that obviously keeps the fan-base happy.

The adventure itself is well put-together and based on true legends. Obviously, to be Supernatural, it has to be based on some kind of folklore and that's what I liked most about it. For game falvor, I went out and did a internet search and printed out stuff about the legend. I recommend that you READ THAT MATERIAL as well because it gives you ideas for red herrings and other ways to spice up the adventure to make it creepy.

The adventure flows fairly well with a lot of investigation and a few normal encounters. The kick off to the adventure was the only thing that I was not crazy about but that’s not always an easy thing to do in this kind of setting.

One thing one should know is that it gives 4 pre-generated characters in the back. I would have preferred all original characters but unfortunately they were lazy and used Sam and Dean as two of the characters. I had a party of 6 and generated 4 characters on my own when I ran it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Supernatural: The Hunt Begins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Leverage: Hitters, Hackers, & Thieves
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/30/2012 20:48:38
‘Hitters, Hackers & Thieves’, like ‘Grifters & Masterminds’ is a splat book to round off the main roles in the Leverage RPG. It follows the same format for each of the roles, namely:

- an overview of the role and the history which has shaped it
- at least 20 new talents (all of which offer versatility for your character. The Talents offered in all three sections were excellent, with strong attention to the thematic elements of the role)
- a completely unnecessary grab bag of potential NPCs (36 pages of them)
- and a few elements unique to each role.

With the clear exception of the NPCs, this book wasted no opportunities to add something valuable to the play experience in Leverage. The writers were ‘spot on’ in their ability to channel the style to emulate the mannerisms of the TV characters (I could hear Hardison in the back of my head all the way through the Hackers chapter). This level of skill should be acknowledged and congratulated.

The additional elements I found most interesting included:

- [Hackers] new rules called ‘Exploits’ which provide an extended narrative for many of the hacker-related electronic activities. Having played games with this component before (Cyberpunk 2020 and Shadowrun in particular), I was glad to see that the writers acknowledged that sometimes playing a Hacker-style character can be dull and dice-heavy and have taken some steps to make it more interesting.
- [Hitters] the opening section to this chapter is excellent and should be required reading for all gamers. It explains very simply why gun-enabled violence is never a good idea, why murder should be off the table in almost every circumstance and why people who use guns are cowards. It fits perfectly with the mood of Leverage and backs up the section with rules to support a player being ‘one of the good guys’. The Talents in this section are a good mix of the Fighting Styles and RP elements.
- [Thief] this presents some new rules for designing neat locations and the security elements, backed up by two lists; ‘Cool places to break into’ and ‘Cool things to steal’. Both lists are well-developed and any GM should be able to grab the examples given and run a full Job with them. The variety here is pleasing (from faked DNA to expensive art to a special recipe for fried chicken) so there is something to please everyone.

The book is then rounded out with three differently-themed Tech Jobs and a section on Troubleshooting in Tech Jobs. The Toubleshooting section, whilst only one page, covers all the common-sense elements concisely and is good value.

Overall, this is a good book and well worth the investment to own. The writers for this supplement have shown a solid grasp of the concepts and have endeavoured to offer something unexpected for all roles. The layout and art (with the exception of the NPCs) is extremely pleasing, clear and easy to read. What is great to see is that at the moment, you only really need the core book to play – but these extra books have transcended ‘splat’ and offered something meaningful to make the game deeper rather than simply broader.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage: Hitters, Hackers, & Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
by cesar d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2012 12:47:18
Great book, simple and easy to use. Best if you already the Civil War supplement.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Leverage: The Quickstart Job
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2012 12:25:59
I was a late comer to the Leverage show and just started watching a few episodes recently. Being a gamer, I was intrigued by the RPG. I was surprised that there was a cost to what is usually a few product. But, it was only a few dollars and I wanted a sample before I bought the main game. It appears to give a good overview of the game mechanics and the way adventures would be run. It would probably be a fun game but I prefer my current system to the system used in this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage: The Quickstart Job
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/22/2012 21:15:23
WHAT WORKS: Baron f’n Zemo. Mechanical support for a Thunderbolts game. More datafiles are always a good thing.

WHAT DOESN’T WORK: The art is pretty pixilated, especially the cover. I assume this is to keep the file size down. Some notable omissions among the datafiles, like Beta Ray Bill and Norman Osborn (who became the leader of the T-Bolts during the time of the Fifty State Initiative). No Milestones or Unlockables for a “Heroes in Training/Camp Hammond” campaign.

CONCLUSION. I wanna run, or play, a Thunderbolts campaign, or anything as Zemo. Holy crap. The rest is good, too. But yeah, Zemo FTW. I have a feeling we’ll get a few Unlockables or Milestones in the X-Men book that’ll adapt to a “heroes in training” thing, but I could be wrong. I like it. Not as much as the Civil War book, and there are definitely areas where the book could have been beefed up, or perhaps done better with more focus (like some of the aforementioned Milestones and Unlockables), but still a great product, even if it’s not up to the standards of the first two releases.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2012/08/tommys-take-o-
n-civil-war-fifty-state.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by Ashley M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2012 08:34:21
I got to play this at a convention back in March and while it wasn't a life changing experience it was a lot of fun. When I got home I laid out for the PDF, was generally impressed and I've GMed about 20 hours of the game.

So first off let's deal with the bad bits. Or rather bad bit. Had it not been for the game I played at the con it would have taken me a lot longer to get the hang of the rules. The order they're presented in and the way you have to keep hunting all over the rulebook to find a particular facet of a rule is, for me, a nightmare. It's not the Necronomicon of RPGs but my sanity did feel a bit dented afterwards. "HULK SMASH!" and "PUNY AUTHOR" probably summarise my frustration.

However this is balanced out by the good bits. First the system...

Anyone that's played a so-called player controlled narrative game will get the hang of this real quick. At it's core it's a dice pool system. You assemble a pool from the descriptive traits of your character, narrating how each one helps you achieve your goal. If you've played and liked the systems in "Dogs in the Vineyard" (traits are attributes, traits and relationships), "HeroQuest" (traits are abilities) or perhaps "FATE" (traits are aspects, including scene aspects) you'll be at home here.

Then when you get your dice pool there's what looks like a load of mechanical crunch and options affecting how you interpret the dice rolled. However that's the rule book running you all over the shop to find what the options mean - see my one complaint for details. As a player though a quick explanation of the rules, your Hero's Data File (that's character sheet to you and me) and copy of the player's reference sheet is enough to get playing.

When you get the hang of it (give it an hour or two) play speeds up to the point where, with creative players who embrace the genre, you'll be turning out a panel's worth of story every minute or so. Yes, it's that fast.

Secondly thing is the way the game represents the power levels of the different characters. There's always been the problem in superhero games of representing the Hulk or Abomination at one end of the spectrum and The Black Widow at the other. Various solutions have been tried (logarithmic attributes is one dimly remembered nightmare from DC Heroes, exponentially increasing derived attributes another from Villains and Vigilantes) but none seemed to get it right for me. In this game traits aren't rated by some absolute measure but by how they effectively they can be applied in conflicts - just like "DiTV", "HeroQuest" and all those other subversive indie games out there. So Iron Man can lift more than Spider-man but both have the same strength rating in the game as they're equally effective applying strength in conflicts.

Not only that but as all traits are equivalent in game mechanical terms. If Spiderman lets off a few wisecracks he can counter Captain America's Enhanced Strength but Cap, being one of the top five fighters in the world (TM) can counter Spidey's Superhuman reflexes in return.

And you can handle things that aren't involved in conflicts using "narrative common sense"; by describing things in genre. Spidey, with his Superhuman Strength, can support one corner of a 10 story building on his shoulders for a couple of minutes to let the people inside escape while Thor with his Godlike Strength can hold any building in New York up as long as it takes to get the contractors in, brace it, lay new block work and re-plumb the toilets. If Cap tried it he'd a stain oozing out from under the rubble.

The third thing is the way players and the GM can influence the narrative. The players use things called plot points ("The Script is with me!") while the GM has a pool of dice (cue twirly moustache). Both turn over really fast (Heroes can gain a plot point every time they act) and can be used to aid various acts of Heroism and Villainy. They're similar to FATE points, Hero Points, Action Points, Fan Mail, ad nauseum in other games.

The fourth thing is the way experience works. XP in this game are generally used to buy ephemeral plot based things. So the first time the Fantastic Four faced down Galactus it could have been interpreted as Torch's player blowing 10XP on gaining access to the location of the Ultimate Nullifier. In the example adventure a couple of the unlockables are having the SHIELD Helicarrier arrive at an opportune moment or getting the Sentry to rip Carnage in half.

You gain XP by doing things in character or related to the story. Each action you gain XP for represents a choice your character has to make. The harder the choice the more XP. So Torch gets XP for whenever he has to choose between being a Hero or a dilettante at a party with his girlfriend. Choose the Hero and his girlfriend might leave him, choose the party and the rest of the Fantastic Four won't be too impressed. However making the choice nets him experience.

The final thing that really impressed me was character generation. The rules are basically "decide what you want your hero to be, write it down, play it." And I've found giving the players this freedom means they don't take the mickey that much - they followed Spidey's mantra of "With great power comes great responsibility." This makes it incredibly easy to come up with a character that works the way you want although I'd recommend playing the game as a vanilla canon character before unleashing Rat Man and Vole Boy onto the world so you get a handle on what's interesting and effective.

Anyway, the game gets a 5. Maybe I should have marked it down for the rubbish organisation but I don't want people to think that this is less than a superb game. While it may not say "Face it Tiger, you've just hit the jackpot" when it arrives on your front door it's well worth a play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Basic Game
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/17/2012 06:58:06
http://www.teilzeithelden.de
-----



Margaret Weis Productions hat sich vor einiger Zeit eine weitere große Lizenz gesichert: Marvel. Nach unter anderem Leverage, Smallville und Supernatural rollt also hier wieder eine neue Welle eines in meinen Augen ungewöhnlichen, wie zugleich visionären Rollenspiels heran.
Erscheinungsbild
Die mir vorliegenden pdf-Dokumente hauen mich um. Wirklich. Das Design der verschiedenen Unterlagen strotzt vor stylischem Marvel-Artwork. Auf fast jeder Seite sehe ich Spiderman, Iron Man, Captain America, Wolverine, Storm und viele andere.

Der Text ist extrem gut lesbar gesetzt, wichtige Sätze oder Stichworte sind farblich anders gedruckt, so dass sie sofort ins Auge stechen und auf dem Rand fast jeder Seite finde ich Verweise, auf welchen Seiten ich die passenden Regeln finde.

Die Augen finden immer etwas Besonderes zum kurzzeitigen Verweilen. Der Textwand-Eindruck vieler anderer Grundregelwerke kommt hier erst gar nicht auf. Das ist bildhübsch und macht Spaß zu lesen! Gut, natürlich nur, wenn man Comics mag… Die Grundfarben Blau und Grau werden gut eingesetzt, um optische Kontraste und Leserlichkeit zu erzielen.

Zum Umfang des pdf-Bundles gehört:
• Core Rules – Die Grundregeln
• Example of Play – Ein kurzer Kampf durchgewürfelt mit erklärenden Texten. Wertvoll!
• MHR Player Sheet – Kurzübersicht über die Würfeleien und Möglichkeiten als Spieler
• MHR Watcher Sheet – Kurzübersicht über die Würfeleien und Möglichkeiten als Spielleiter, hier Watcher genannt.
• MHR Data Files – 24 Marvel-Charaktere mit Spielwerten, Kurzhistorie, Persönlichkeit und Fähigkeiten
• MHR Random Data File Generator – Erschaffung eigener Charaktere über Zufallstabellen

Was mir in meiner Version fehlt, sind verlinkte Inhalte. Aus den vielen Schlagworten und Verweisen zu Regelstellen hätte man wunderbar klickbare Links machen können.

Die harten Fakten:
• Format: pdf
• Seiten: 234 (+ weitere durch Hilfsdokumente)
• Verlag: Margaret Weis Productions; Auflage: Brdgm (17. April 2012)
• Sprache: Englisch
• ISBN-10: 1936685167
• ISBN-13: 978-1936685165
• Preis: 9,99 USD (pdf) oder 18,99 EUR (Buch)
• Bezugsquelle: DriveThruRPG (pdf | Klick) oder Amazon (Buch | Klick)
Das Buch kommt mit nur 128 Seiten daher laut Amazon, ich weiß jedoch nicht, ob die Seiten anders formatiert sind oder ob Inhalte fehlen.
Die Spielwelt
Über die Spielwelt muss man nicht viele Worte verlieren. Es ist das Marvel-Universum in seiner ganzen Bandbreite. Ich meine mich zu entsinnen, dass es über 8000 Charaktere gibt, die man verkörpern oder als Antagonisten nutzen kann.

X-Men, S.H.I.E.L.D., Avengers, die Fantastischen Vier – alle sind hier und noch viel mehr, wie z.B. Daredevil.

Ich weiß gar nicht, wo ich anfangen sollte, diese Spielwelt zu beschreiben. Fakt ist aber, dass im Regelwerk keine Weltenbeschreibung beinhaltet ist. Man kann einiges ableiten aus den Hintergründen der verschiedenen Helden als auch des beinhalteten Mini-Events, aber ohne Lektüre der Comics, grafischer Novellen und auch vielleicht das Anschauen der Filme kommt man hier nicht weit.

Ich kann verstehen, dass das Universum von Marvel einfach zu umfangreich ist, um in einem Grundregelwerk abgebildet zu werden. In künftigen Event-Bänden wird jedoch mehr erklärt. Events sind Kampagnen.

Zurzeit liegt mir der Band für die Civil War Kampagne vor, den ich zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt beleuchten werde.
Die Regeln
Eins muss ich vorweg nehmen. In Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game spielt man eigentlich keine selbsterschaffenen Charaktere (auch wenn die Möglichkeit dazu da ist), man spielt fertige Superhelden aus dem Marveluniversum und hat die Möglichkeit, diese zu evolutionieren.

Die nun Folgend beschriebenen Regeln sind stark auf die erzählerische Komponente des Rollenspiels ausgelegt und können nur funktionieren, wenn offen am Tisch gewürfelt wird. Also, Spielleiter aller Herren Länder, kommt hinter Euren Schirmen hervor. Ihr raubt Euch und Euren Spielern sonst viel der Spannung, die wir in diesem Spiel haben. Ich beschreibe nicht alle Regeln, sondern nur einen Ausschnitt. Es wäre sonst zu viel.

Besser und Schlechter wird durch Würfeltypen klassifiziert. Ein D4 ist schlechter als ein D6 als ein D8 und so weiter. Der höchste Würfel ist der D12. Würfel können durch bestimmte Voraussetzungen verbessert oder verschlechtert werden. Das Regelwerk nennt dieses „step up“ oder „step down“. Ein D6, der geupstepped (man verzeihe mir diese Wortkreation) wird, wird zu einem D8. Gewürfelt wird nur, wenn das Ergebnis wirklich zweifelhaft ist, ein Charakter eine Show machen möchte oder es um einen Zusammenstoß mit anderen NSCs und Charakteren geht.

Wie so oft, sind die Regeln und Würfeleinlagen eng an die Werte des Charakters gekoppelt. Am Besten erkläre ich alles an einem Beispiel, weil alles sonst sehr abstrakt wird.

Primär dreht sich alles um Würfelpools. Schauen wir auf den Bogen, sehen wir 4 Poolrelevante Bereiche. Wir haben noch mehr Möglichkeiten, aber dazu weiter unten.

Wenn ein Spieler nun würfelt, baut er sich den Pool nach den Bereichen auf. Ist er alleine? Also affiliation „Solo“ – zack, ein D10 in den Pool. Manche Helden agieren besser alleine, manche besser im Team, manche gar besser zu zweit.

Dann kommt die distinction ins Spiel. Hierbei handelt es sich immer um drei Phrasen, die den Helden beschreiben. Passt eine der distinctions auf die Würfelsituation, kommt ein D8 in den Pool. Ein Spieler kann aber auch entscheiden, dass Ihn seine distinction behindert und nimmt dann einen D4 in den Pool. Das macht Ihn schlechter, bringt aber einen sogenannten Plot Point. Auch darauf komme ich später.

Mit den Power Sets kommen die Kräfte ins Spiel. Auch diese bringen einen Würfel mit, können über die SFX noch Zusatzeffekte mitbringen und haben auch ein Limit. Mit Limits werden Teilkräfte für eine ganze Zeit deaktiviert, dafür werden aber andere mächtiger.

Letztlich haben wir noch die specialties. Dieses sind Ausdrücke des Trainings und der Ausbildung des Helden und bringen auch noch einen Würfel hinzu.

Schaden oder Belastung wird in MHR durch stress ausgedrückt. Dieser Schaden kann physisch, mental oder emotional sein. Optional kann der Schaden auch eine Situation sein, die die Person im Spiel behindert, hier complication genannt. Anders ist hier, dass der Schaden sich nicht negativ auf die eigenen Würfelpols auswirkt, sondern Schaden oder Behinderung des Gegners positiv auf den eigenen Würfelpool. In anderen Worten wird es einem leichter gemacht, wenn der Gegner nicht mehr frei agieren kann.

Dieser stress oder complication Würfel kommt auch in den eigenen Pool.

Hilft einem ein anderer Charakter oder NSC (oder man sich selbst), dann kann dieses einen asset erzeugen. assets sind kurzzeitig wirkende Effekte, die auch Zusatzwürfel geben. Und was passiert mit dem? Auch in den Pool – zack.

Und als ob damit noch nicht der vielen Würfel genüge getan wäre, gibt es noch den stunt. Stunts generieren auch Würfel und sind besondere Anwendungen eigener Fähigkeiten, die nicht standardmäßig verwendet werden würden.

Ein Beispiel: Cyclops verwendet seinen Energiestrahl in geschwächter Variante, um alle Spiegel blind werden zu lassen. Der Strahl wird tausendfach reflektiert und schaltet so alle Spiegelbilder aus, so dass der echte Antagonist gefunden wird und vom letzten Strahl getroffen wird.

All diese Würfel werden nun gewürfelt. Einsen werden beiseitegelegt. Die üblicherweise beiden höchsten Würfel bilden das total. Ein dritter gewürfelter Würfel ist der effect dice. Der Spielleiter, hier watcher genannt, macht das gleiche in ähnlicher Art für seine Charaktere.

Beispiel: Wolverine ist alleine und kämpft gegen Deadpool. Solo – D8. I’m the best there at what i do – D8 Adamantium Claws – D10 Combat Master - D10. Deadpool ist unverletzt, also keine weiteren Würfel, ebenso gibt es keine Helfer und Wolverine hat auch gerade keine Lust auf ungewöhnliche Neuanwendung seiner Kräfte.

D8: 5, D8: 3, D10: 7, D10: 4. Wolverine nimmt die beiden höchsten als total, das sind also 7+5=12. Einen D10 nimmt er als Effektwürfel.

Für das Beispiel hat Deadpool den gleichen Würfelpool und würfelt D18: 4, D8: 4, D10: 6, D10:5. Er nimmt 6+5=11 als total, D8 als Effektwürfel.

Wolverine war bei 12, er bei 11. Wolverine hat also „gewonnen“. Der D10 Effektwürfel verursacht nun genannten stress oder eine complication. Alle künftigen Würfe haben für Wolverine einen D10 mehr im Pool.

stress wird durch weitere verlorene Proben verstärkt. Ist der nächste Effektwürfel vom Würfeltyp her kleiner oder gleich dem vorhandenen Stresswürfel, wird dieser um eine Stufe hochdreht. Aus einem D10 wird also ein D12. Ist er größer als der Stresswürfel, werden die Würfel getauscht. Hat man bereits einen D6 und der nächste ist ein D10, kriegt man den D10. Würde nach D12 nochmal hochgedreht werden, wird der Charakter schachmatt. Aus stress wird dann trauma, welches eine weitaus höhere Genesungszeit und –behandlung braucht.

Plotpoints braucht man u.a. um entweder Kräfte zu aktivieren, einen dritten total dice zu behalten oder einen zweiten effect dice zu wählen. Man bekommt sie, indem man entweder Einsen würfelt oder seine distinction mit einem D4 wählt. Auch andere Möglichkeiten existieren.

Einsen generieren aber auch Würfel in den sogenannten doompool des Watchers. Dieser kann die Würfel in dem Pool benutzen, um die Fähigkeiten seiner Gegenspieler zu aktivieren oder zu verbessern. Würfelt der watcher Einsen, können die Spieler diese als opportunity aktivieren und somit Vorteile für sich selbst schaffen.

Daher ist es so wichtig, offen und für alle einsichtig zu würfeln. Sterben kann man in MHR eher selten, wenn nicht gar nicht.

Das ist nun nur ein Ausschnitt der Regeln, der aber zeigt, worum es geht. Um den direkten Vergleich zweier Würfelpools, der Würfeltypen und die Interaktion zwischen SL und Spieler. Es geht fast immer um Aktion und Reaktion, das Vergleichen der Ergebnisse zweier Würfelpools.

Ich schrieb weiter oben, dass das System stark auf den erzählerischen Part ausgerichtet ist. Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, dass der Eindruck nun etwas geschmälert wurde durch den Exkurs in das Regelsystem, muss aber anmerken, dass so ziemlich jeder Spielbericht, den ich bislang las, davon spricht, dass die Regeln schnell und flüssig laufen, vor allem eben, weil man die ganze Zeit alle Werte vor Augen hat, sieht, wie groß der doompool ist, was der eigene und die anderen Charaktere können. Ein kleiner Selbsttest hat das bestätigt.

Ein Wort noch zur Initiative in Kämpfen. Sie wird nicht gewürfelt, die Spieler entscheiden, wer anfängt. Es gibt ein paar Hinweise, woran man es festmachen kann, aber das war es auch schon. Als SL kann ich jedoch entscheiden, die Spieler zu unterbrechen und selbst zu agieren, in dem ich Würfel aus dem doompool verwende.

Mich begeistert vor allem, dass hier zu einer sehr großen Lizenz Regeln gewählt wurden, die eher dem Indie-Sektor zuzuschreiben sind und wie nahtlos es ineinander greift. Auch wenn MHR zum Cortex+ Regelset gehört, muss man wissen, dass Margaret Weis Productions Ltd dieses Regelset auf jede der Publikationen anpasst, um das gewählte Setting optimal zu unterstützen. Eine Kenntnis der anderen Cortex+ Systeme hilft nicht bei MHR. Man muss sich ggf. neu einlesen.

Charaktererschaffung
Wie bereits geschrieben, existiert eine Charaktererschaffung nur im beschränkten Maß. In dem beiliegendem MHR Random Data File Generator wird der interessierte Leser durch eine Reihe von Tabellen geleitet, auf die es zu würfeln gilt. Aus den Ergebnissen resultieren dann obig beschriebene Kernwerte des Charakters.

Im Regelwerk selbst sind die verschiedenen Fähigkeiten sehr gut beschrieben, auch was mit Ihnen möglich ist und in welchem Umfang der Charakter mit der Spielwelt dadurch interagieren kann. Auf diesem mehrseitigen Passus erfährt der Leser wertvolle Informationen, welche Möglichkeiten der Charakter hat.

MHR ist eindeutig darauf ausgelegt, mit den bekannten Marvelhelden zu spielen und sie ins Abenteuer zu führen. Eine Charaktererschaffung ist möglich, birgt aber das Risiko in sich, das erwünschte Spielgefühl eintreten zu lassen.

Einer der Foki des Systems ist eindeutig das Ansprechen der großen Comicfan-Bewegung in den USA und das Animieren derselben, Rollenspiele auszutesten und zu spielen. Daher ist dieser Ansatz unter dem, was das Regelwerk möchte, vollkommen legitim.

Und mal ehrlich – welcher Comicfreund hat sich nicht schon mal gewünscht, so manches Ereignis hautnah mitzuerleben?
Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht
Wie ich bereits schrieb, sind die Regeln teils mehrfach gut beschrieben und das Regelwerk glänzt durch Querverweise, die die erste Arbeit des SL, das Einlesen, deutlich vereinfachen.

Die Methoden und Möglichkeiten, die einem als watcher gegeben werden, sind dramaturgisch gut durchdacht und bieten einige Chancen, das Spiel wirklich aufregend und intensiv zu halten. Ein Spielleiter hat zum Beispiel die Möglichkeit, ganze Szenen dramaturgisch enden zu lassen. Für einen solchen Abbruch jedoch werden Spieler mit Erfahrungspunkten entlohnt.

Die Offenheit, mit der ein SL hier agiert, dadurch, dass er unter anderem auch offen würfelt, sind Kernpunkte des Spiels.

Zur Arbeit des SL gehört natürlich auch das Ausarbeiten einer Kampagne, hier event genannt. Selbstverständlich empfiehlt es sich, diese events an Marvelereignissen zu orientieren. Und so ist auch im Grundregelwerk ein Mini-Event beinhaltet, der sich um einen Gefängnisausbruch aus dem Raft dreht und sich an die Handlung aus New Avengers 1-6 anlehnt.

events teilen sich in acts auf. Das sind quasi umfassende Szenen und Kapitel. Acts wiederum teilen sich in scenes auf, wobei unterschieden wird zwischen action scenes und transition scenes. Während erste aktionistisch getriebene Szenen sind (nicht unbedingt kampflastig), sind zweitere Interaktions- und Nachforschungszenen.

Noch feingliedriger ist das panel. Hierbei handelt es sich um genau einen Moment der umfassenden Szene. Der Begriff rührt daher, dass dieser Moment in einem Comicbild aufgefangen werden kann.

Die genannte inkludierte Minikampagne ist überraschend wenig linear und bietet viele Möglichkeiten zum Ende zu kommen. Das nötigste ist beschrieben und ist gut genug, um direkt mit nur wenig Vorarbeit übernommen zu werden.

Eine Besonderheit muss ich der Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht vorwegnehmen, denn sie bestimmt auch den Alltag des watcher. Charaktere haben milestones. Das sind quasi persönliche Entwicklungsziele, auf die Spieler selbstgewählt hinzu arbeiten können. Die Spieler teilen üblicherweise dem watcher mit, welche sie erreichen möchten und dieser kann entsprechende Situationen schaffen, so er möchte.

Parallel dazu gibt es auch milestones für Events. Nun kann man argumentieren, dass man den Spielern diese nicht mitteilen sollte, weil Ihnen sonst die Überraschung genommen wird, was alles passieren kann. Der Umkehrschluss ist der Fall. In der Tat muss der watcher den Spielern sogar diese milestones erklären und aufzeigen und die Spieler können selbst entscheiden, welchen Weg sie gehen. Das ähnelt einer Mischung der SL Technik des foreshadowing und dem Ansehen eines Kinotrailers.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht
Was gibt es hier viel mehr zu sagen, außer, dass es sich einfach gut anfühlt, einen Marvel-Charakter zu führen? Andererseits ist auch genau das ein Manko, denn wenn auch eigene Charaktere erschaffbar sind, tritt einfach nicht das erwünschte Spielgefühl ein.

Wobei – was unterscheidet es eigentlich vom Spielgefühl her, wenn man auf einem Con einen vorgenerierten Charakter spielt oder in MHR einen vorgenerierten Superhelden spielt? Ich finde eigentlich nicht viel. Außer, dass man durch Filme und Comics ein deutlich besseres Bild des eigenen Charakters bereits verinnerlicht hat.

Die Regeln wirken nur im ersten Moment komplex, verselbstständigen sich aber schnell. Beachtenswert ist die Spieler-(Erzähl)-Macht, die das Regelwerk ihnen gibt und damit für den einen oder anderen neu, weil so oftmals nicht in klassischen Systemen beinhaltet ist.

Durch die Kenntnis der milestones des Charakters wie auch des events ist der Spieler ein Stück weit der Immersion enthoben, ist aber gleichzeitig nah am Geschehen und kann als Spieler den Charakter entsprechend lenken zur Erfüllung der milestones.

Eine besondere Rolle spielen noch die unlockables. Hierbei handelt es sich um freizuspielende Inhalte im Rahmen des events. Das kann ein Charakter sein (auf den dann ein Spieler wechselt) oder z.B. eine Technologie, die dann wiederum als Eventressource dienen kann. Das erinnert mich etwas an Achievements aus einschlägigen MMORPGs, ist aber weitaus mehr, denn es ist nicht nur eine Medaille, was man tolles geschafft hat, sondern es erweitert die Möglichkeiten der Spieler ungemein.

Auch in diesen Bereich gehört die mögliche Charakterentwicklung. Natürlich, auch diese ist eingebaut und wird durch Erfahrungspunkte gesteuert. Wer gelesen hat, dass es sich um vorgenerierte Charaktere handelt, braucht keine Sorgen zu haben, dass die Werte sich nie ändern werden. Erfahrungspunkte gewinnt man durch das Erreichen der milestones.
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis
Ich kann mich hier nur auf das pdf-Bundle beziehen, welches mir vorliegt. Allein der Umfang (s.o.) aus vielen verschiedenen Dokumenten, alle liebevoll designed und vollgestopft mit gut verständlichen Inhalten recht fertigt den Preis mehr als nur gerade eben.

Artwork, Aufbereitung der Texte und Spielbarkeit des gesamten Systems ist subjektiv eingeschätzt unter den Spielen, die ich bislang lesen durfte, in den Top 5. Und das alles für unter 10 USD? Wer Superhelden mag, Rollenspiele mag und einem alternativen Ansatz nicht abgeneigt ist, kann hier einfach nichts falsch machen.
Fazit
Ich könnte noch viel mehr schreiben, würde aber dann vollständig den Umfang dieser Rezension sprengen.

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game hat mich selbst überrascht, da ich das Konzept, einen existenten Superhelden durch existente Marvel Geschichten zu führen, als äußerst linear, railroadig und langweilig erwartet habe.

Was ich aber nach zweifacher Lektüre nun vom System verstanden habe, offenbar ein actiongetriebenes und mitreißendes Rollenspiel der etwas anderen Art. Mit Cortex+ hatte ich bislang noch keine Erfahrungen und finde sehr gut, was im Fall von MHR daraus gemacht wurde.

Natürlich bewegt man sich entlang einer gewissen linearen Führung, wenn es darum geht, Marvelevents nach- oder auch mitzuerleben, aber auch nicht linearer als in anderen Rollenspielabenteuern. Eine Sandbox bekomme ich hier natürlich nicht, aber das will das Spiel auch nicht.
Ich finde durch die Bank gut, was ich hier auf dem Schirm habe und freue mich, den Eventband Civil War zu lesen. Vor kurzem nun erschien auch der nächste Band 50 States Initiative.

Ganz offen hoffe ich auch eine Spielrunde dazu im Freundeskreis und wenn ich es selbst leiten muss. Das ist einfach cool und genau auf Marvel Action zugeschnitten. Und auch wenn es schon tausendfach im Zusammenhang mit diesem Spiel gesagt wurde: Avengers Assemble!
Bonus/Downloadcontent

Unsere Bewertung

Erscheinungsbild 5v5
Todschick mit Unmengen von Marvel Artwork, gut aufbereitete Texte
Spielwelt 3v5
Keine Spielweltbeschreibung beinhaltet, man muss Marvel kennen. Lediglich Hinweise bei den Charakteren und dem Mini-Event geben Hinweise
Regeln 4v5
Auf den ersten Blick komplex und stark interaktiv, dann doch ziemlich flüssig
Charaktererschaffung Nicht gewertet
Auch wenn eine Charaktererschaffung beinhaltet ist, spielt man vorgenerierte Charaktere
Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht 4v5
Viele Möglichkeiten zum Aufbau von cineastischen Abenteuern, Marvelkenntnis jedoch nötig. Etliche dramaturgische Steuerungsmöglichkeiten
Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht 4v5
Sehr viel Erzählmacht beim Spieler, „In“ dem Charakter sein und Ihn doch gezielt auf vorher bekannte Ziele lenken
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis 5v5
Unter 10 USD für ein extrem gutes, wenn auch ungewöhnliches Regelwerk
Gesamt 4v5

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
by Phil H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2012 03:24:48
The Fifty State Initiative supplement expands on the Civil War sourcebook, and offers new characters who were mostly at the fringes of that comic book event. While solid enough, this is essentially a roster book of (often) lesser known characters and doesn't really do much to get under the skin of the organisation of its title.

Hero datafiles include some of the Camp Hammond instructors and students as well as many members of Heroes for Hire, Nextwave, and the Thunderbolts. Meanwhile Watcher datafiles make up the majority of the rest of the book covering the Initiative teams of the Great Lakes Champions, Psionex, and the Order. Watcher datafiles for most of Omega Flight and the remainder of Heroes for Hire also make it in. There are a few scenes included for good measure, but not a great deal.

There are a few notable omissions here. Beta Ray Bill has been missed from Omega Flight's write up, and Orka is not included from Heroes for Hire. Also, MWP really need to do something about the pixellation on a lot of the art. Its been noticeable before but is particularly egregious here as the front cover looks fuzzy and the text on the back cover is very unclear. It detracts from the obvious professionalism of the rest of the product.

Overall, this is a decent book and worth the money I paid but doesn't really go beyond surface level on its subject so I'm rating it as distinctly average.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Civil War Fifty State Initiative
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
by Gregory D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2012 13:12:46
So I found cortex on a youtube review, and I thought it sounded intriguing. I got it, and tried it, and was not happy. I hear that many people like it, but I just don't know why, it seems clunky, and unbalanced in all its forms. I does not focus on gameplay, or story, leaving me at a table wondering "What am I supposed to do with it then?" I decided not to try it, it is just a little too crunchy for me. But I worked on a campaign that I gave up on half way. It just wasn't worth it. But if you like very random rolls, realistic combat, and forced character development this can be a potentially good product for you.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Leverage: Grifters & Masterminds
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2012 22:04:18
‘Grifters & Masterminds’ is really a sourcebook which does what is says on the tin. In many ways, combining the two roles (a trend continued in ‘Hitters, Hackers & Thieves’) into one sourcebook keeps the material focused, rather than writing unnecessary content to spin out a splat book for each role.

The book is divided into three sections, as such:

‘Grifters’ covers all of the basics of what the role should achieve in any story and the basic emotional and psychological traits of those who are involved in this trade. It offers twelve new talents (with no dead wood – I can find a use for all of them), descriptions of long and short cons and a host of cover identities. Whilst everyone playing this role will find something useful, I think that those trying out the system for the first time will be especially pleased. The nature the Leverage RPG (from a mechanical and conceptual viewpoint) is quite divergent from how most mainstream RPG experiences work. Having some articulated tools and ideas to fall back on will be greatly appreciated by both players and Fixers alike.

‘Masterminds’ is a smaller chapter but no less useful. It gives an overview of the role again, and provides some very practical tools such as the ‘Plan Framework’, a section about when the job goes horribly wrong and a range of new talents (again no wasted space here). As with the ‘Grifters’ chapter, this is doubly useful for the Fixer and the player. The ‘Mastermind’ is – in my opinion – the hardest role to play in the game and this goes a long way to equipping players of all ability types to undertake the role.

‘Fixers’ is the tail-end chapter and ties everything together nicely. The authors tackle plot twists, designing long-running games (‘season by season’ as they name it) and even a quirky section on running Leverage in other settings (such as medieval England, in Victorian Steampunk or even a sci-fi setting). This was tucked away in the chapter and I feel a great little gem for the sourcebook. The alternative settings even went so far as to create concise alternate-Leverage crews to showcase each genre. It concludes with a section on Fixer-less games – which are actually achievable, though not for the faint-hearted.

The only criticism of the book was the sample NPCs. There are twelve per role, each taking a full page. I think that twenty-four pages (one quarter of the book) could have been used far better, and the photography chosen for these section clashes very badly with the aesthetic of the rest of the book. All was not lost in these sections, however, as you could mine them for the Assets described in each write-up and import those into your game.

Overall, I think that this book (NPCs aside) is an essential addition to the Leverage RPG and the wealth of practical advice it offers pitches the product to both the Fixer and players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage: Grifters & Masterminds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 252 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Margaret Weis Productions
Margaret Weis Productions
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (43)
 Hottest Titles

Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook

01.Firefly Role-Playing Game Corebook
02.Firefly Echoes of War: Freedom Flyer
03.Cortex Plus Hacker's Guide
04.Firefly Echoes of War: Friends in Low Places
05.Firefly Echoes of War: Serenity Crew
06.Firefly Echoes of War: Shooting Fish
07.Firefly RPG: Wedding Planners Cortex Classic Set
08.Leverage Roleplaying Game
09.Firefly Echoes of War: Wedding Planners Cortex Plus
10.Leverage Companion 08: Node-Based Capers
11.Leverage Companion 01: Too Many Chefs
12.Leverage Companion 02: Leverage Noir
13.Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
14.Leverage Companion 09: One-on-One Leverage
15.Leverage Companion 04: Hollywood Hacking vs. the Real World
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate