DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Nobilis: the Game of Sovereign Powers (2002 Edition)
by Jay D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2014 04:58:22
Having just bought this long-awaited PDF, I was disappointed to find it lacked bookmarks. I also found it lacked the front and back cover of the original hardcover. Some of the internal artwork differs from the original hardcover. I read that happened because of licensing disputes, and the same might apply to the covers.

On the other hand, this PDF also lacks the unsightly watermarks common to many PDFs sold by One Book Shelf, and it has no Document Permission restrictions either. This means a customer can add their own bookmarks and marginalia, or entire pages for that matter. I certainly hope more publishers follow this example. It makes PDFs much more useful to customers.

It remains a steal at the sale price in late December 2014, and as a long-time fan of the game, I would have paid full price for it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: the Game of Sovereign Powers (2002 Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine RPG Halloween Special
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2014 07:57:07
Chuubo's can be a tough game to understand. The core book is jampacked with the rules, a bit of the setting, and all those arcs, and... and how do you put it all together?

This is the missing piece. Or one. Or really nothing was missing, but this is like the Cliff Notes to How You Could Play Chuubo's. Fairy Tale Style... as in horrible Grimm fairy tales. It's also an adventure revolving around how the Halloween world descends on a small "university" town.

There are 4+ character playbooks. The main 4 are fleshed out with Moran's signature writing style, and they bleed with the nature / demeanor of the characters. I think as a player it would be so easy to just glance at the playbook and understand how that character would act (like responding to a question about why you wear your blindfold with "your face"). They are all so well done that honestly I find it really hard to pick a favorite. I would want to play all 4 (well actually maybe 3, I'm still mad at Jasmine from the Fable of the Swan novel though it would be interesting to pull people's hearts out).

My favorite part of the book is the chapter breakdown because in such elegant simplicity it shows, instead of tells, how much railroad track the HG/GM should lay. For example, Chapter 3 is "The sky is different today. There are swirls of purple, orange, and darkness moving among the stars." The rest is largely up to the players wishes. Yes, there is this whole Halloween is coming and the world is about to become invaded by the mirror-world where a false Halloween King rules, but the HG/GM sets scenes and REACTS to the players.

Finally, the supplement wraps up with a detailed look at the Fairy Tale genre (genre in Chuubo's having mechanical parts to the RPG), and the book nicely wraps things up with handy handouts so that the table can easily remember things like actions and what not.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine RPG Halloween Special
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine RPG Halloween Special
by Robert V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2014 22:24:35
Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine is one of the coolest games I've ever played. The Halloween Special continues the greatness. it has everything you need to play through a creepy Halloween story, where mists close around the edge of town and strange monsters live behind mirrors and the sun hangs dead in the sky. There are four player characters pre-written, (along adaptations for characters in other books, albeit not all of them are published yet) and the nature of Chuubo's makes it very easy to just pick up the character sheet and dive into telling a story. A bitter principle with bleeding hands and a dark past, an elf-eared child from the Halloween world who talks to a boy in mirrors, a bishounen dog—what more could you ask for? There are excerpted rules hand-outs and reminders specifically for the campaign's Fairy Tale genre, which minimize the need to flip through the very big corebook. It also has an HG chapter that immensely helps to streamline running the game. There's a loose narrative schedule for tracking the progress of each player's quests, advice and inspiration directed at the particular parts of the character's quests that directly ask for your input, and in-depth focus on responding to the XP Actions and Issues in the Fairy Tale genre.

The second reason this book is great is that it's a primer on structuring your own stories using the very, very flexible game system and setting that underscore all this. All of the material in the HG chapter lends itself very well either to being used as a prototype or blueprint for designing your campaign, or providing useful ways of thinking about setting up a narrative. Even if you never ran the Halloween campaign, I think this book is still well worth your time just on that alone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine
by Holden S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2014 13:12:26
This is post-apocalyptic pastoral at its finest. Also, gothic, action-adventure, and several other genres.

The world has drowned in nothingness, but some scant few shreds of the old cosmos remain, largely having forgotten themselves. The gods and devils and Knights of Nothingness of old live on as schoolboys and shopkeepers and mad scientists, moving through mad miraculous tales in the stable remnants of the universe. Will you unravel the mystery of who slew the sun and plunged the universe into oblivion? Resurrect and re-start the world that was? Or just appreciate a slow, sunny day by the shores of Big Lake with your friends?

Chuubo is a game of many stories starring a roster of "pre-generated" characters, who are more like customizable character classes or archetypes than standard pre-gens. (Someone plays The Best Friend, for example, but there's enormous latitude to make that character concept your own, including modding name, gender, personality, etc-- only his 'mythic archetype' and associated powers are kind of fixed.) There's really nothing else on the market quite like it. Rules are diceless and very easy to use, and the art and layout are gorgeous and charming.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine
by Jason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2014 03:32:37
A unique RPG that rewards genre play over "winning." Characters can gain XP -- which is used to advance their personal and group story -- from evoking certain emotions, from working on side quests, and from doing things that fit the type of story being told. In a "Pastoral" game, you can gain XP from just sitting down next to someone and appreciating a sunset, while in an "Adventure Fantasy" game, you might gain it from getting into trouble over your head. Actions are diceless, resolved by skill level + how much Will you're willing to spend; essentially, the game uses the "mortal action" rules from Nobilis 3rd Edition, which are very clear and work well.

The end result is like if you mixed a dozen diverse animes with Adventure Time and My Little Pony. It's fun, it's immersive, and it excels at mixing characters. A player who wants a dramatic, serious PC can coexist just fine with one who wants a goofy, whimsical PC. The only challenge will be picking a genre that everyone can agree on (or blending the existing genres to come up with one of your own), but that's half the fun!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine - EOS7000 (ePub only)
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2014 07:42:01
This review is based on the ePub version (i.e., Kindle), which is currently available for $10 at DriveThruRPG. A PDF version with art and print layout will be out later this year. This review was originally posted at Kill Ten Rats MMO blog.

This is a roleplaying game. It is possibly the roleplaying game. It is genius. It is horrifying. It is a beautiful balance of everything that would drive a story forward. It is diceless. It is filled with meta-game moments. It is quite a task to understand. If you are on a path to better understanding how to grow as a gamemaster (GM) or as a player with a player character(PC) in tabletop RPG’s, I’d tell you to buy it. If you are on Pathfinder this RPG might as well be in ancient Martian.

This game was to play Studio Ghibli films. Perhaps not as adventurous as Princess Mononoke, which would easily fall under a standard RPG system. This system was designed to play Ponyo or Spirited Away. There’s one scene in Ponyo, where the boy takes Ponyo out in a boat to explore the submerged world. It’s such an interesting slice of adventure, but without much purpose. How would you create a game like that where the player is involved?

Chuubo’s started there, but it has grown. I’ve heard from the old guard of the game, having been fans since the Kickstarter, that it actually does miraculous gaming quite well. Want to be able to turn into a kaiju or have the powers of Sephiroth? No problem. Want to play a little boy, like one from Ponyo, that has a machine that lets him ask for wishes? Well, that’s why this game exists.

Whimsical. Anime. Storied. Those are all good words to describe the feeling that the author, Jenna Moran, is trying to convey.

Players as Mechanics

The critical element of Chuubo’s is quests. A conventional RPG has the GM creating an adventure or buying a module. The players are usually the reactors based on that poor bloke in the tavern that needs goblins dead. A good GM will take in to consideration as much PC history and motivation as possible, but the GM us usually the actor. With the exception of some indie games (yes, such as Chuubo’s), this is very conventional.

Chuubo’s broadly swings the actor dial back to the players big time by providing quests, usually of the player’s choosing. With these quests the player starts pushing towards ways to complete that quest within the framework of the world and story that is collaboratively created.

Look at the newest quest card example of “A New Hobby”. It could be any hobby. I’ll say fly-fishing. Immediately, it is apparent what story will be told in some sense. I would talk to an expert. I would hit up a fly-fishing store. Then I might create some hand-tied flies… at a farmer’s market, or the wharf. Whatever the case by my, the player’s, choosing of this quest I am sending my PC and the collaborative story. Now this might seem like a simple story, but imagine where players also have their own quests that would help color the story. Could the PC have a moment of daydreaming about fly-fishing during a kite show put on by another PC?

Game Mode

Going down the quest card, there is a bunch of symbols near quest flavor. These exemplify methods of moving forward on the quest within certain genres. They aren’t limiters, as much as enhancers. The GM chooses (with the group, of course) the genre the game is played in. For example if the genre is “pastoral” players can get XP for doing a Shared Action (“Reach out to them. Try to connect.”). This means a smart player trying to game the system will claim XP on a Shared Action and on the A New Hobby quest by “having a geeky discussion with a fellow hobbyist”.

The Pastoral genre is all about having these Shared Actions. Players constantly are seeking them so that they can gain XP. In the Adventure Fantasy genre players are going to try and (Be in) Trouble – where something really scary is happening and the player is overwhelmed or overmatched. Seek that out, and get XP!

Finally players define their PC’s personality a bit by fishing for Emotion XP. If you want your PC to be a tad neurotic take the “Offering You Comfort” Emotion XP. Every time another player (or the GM, I suppose) offers you/ your PC comfort you get XP! So how are you going to play that PC? Well in a way where they want and seek comfort.

It isn’t hard to foresee what scenes will result from my neurotic fly fisherman in the Pastoral genre. I am going to be lamenting all my failures as a fly fisherman while proclaiming the tragedy of being bitten by the bug. I just can’t quite fly fishing, the perfect art of war against trout!

A PhD in Chuubology

The worst part of it is putting it all together. Instead of doing whatever I feel like for my PC, based on some loose concept I have, I am now trying to chase down XP. It is possibly just as gamist as moving down a dungeon corridor block-by-block with a 10-ft bamboo pole held in front of me for traps. Notecards (or whole sheets of paper) are absolutely critical for bookkeeping what quests, genre actions, and even emotion XP is going on.

I would say this is the worst thing about the ePub. I am constantly flipping all over the place trying to find quests, quest examples, actions, rules, etc. It feels like someone trying to tell me how to bake a cake sometimes with the pouring of batter step before the breaking the eggs step. This is where it loses the star.

MMO-like

In a way Chuubo’s reminds me of an MMO. It reminds me specifically of how it feels after I’ve picked up a couple quests at a quest hub and I am now heading out in to the wilderness. Oh! Look a thing to mine. Now there’s a player in trouble. Now I can farm those 10 ratlings, but I only hit 6 before I have to wait for a respawn. MMO players try to be efficient and think of ways to hit all the quest-like buttons at once, but there is still a story to be told.

I am hoping that Chuubo’s starts something in RPG design that keeps growing. I would love as a GM to be the reactor. Let the players drive forward, and I just react with how the world is. Let the players path out where they want to go while the GM’s job is to marry all those paths in to one grand adventure. Or just about kite flying and fly fishing. Those would be good yarns.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chuubo's Marvelous Wish-Granting Engine - EOS7000 (ePub only)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legends of the Wulin - pre-sales edition
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2014 03:57:23
I previously posted a poor review as I erroneously believed that DriveThru was providing the old, un-errata'd version with incorrect information. I was very tired at the time and apparently I am a dummy head.

This RPG is great, and this is the correct version. It isn't ~70mb because it lacks bookmarks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legends of the Wulin - pre-sales edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nobilis: The Essentials, Volume 1
by william p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2013 17:17:32
I never read or played Nobilis 1st or 2nd editions, but Nobilis 3rd edition is excellent. It is not like most RPGs, in a number of ways, but I feel it gives more freedom than the average RPG as well. I have never felt more capable of designing a PC whose concept is whole and compelling than when I used the diceless systems in this book to create sample characters.

Others have said all of the big details better than I have, so I will leave it at this. Buy Nobilis, read it over a few times, give it a chance. You won't regret it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: The Essentials, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nobilis: Antithesis, Minibook 1i
by Angelo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 13:18:57
Is a great expansion to Nobilis 3Ed. Will blow your mind!

Angelo

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: Antithesis, Minibook 1i
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Story of Treasure
by Kirt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2013 15:00:04
It's a little idiosyncratically written, even more so than the other Nobilis work for this edition, but given that it's free, that's forgivable. If you are a player or GM for the new version of Nobilis, this book is a must-have. I didn't understand Treasure very well, and the insights from this book finally caused the light to go on in my head. In addition, there's some general information about the theory behind Nobilis, mechanics-wise, that's completely worth it.

I would have willingly paid money for this book. Given that it's free, it's almost literally a steal.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Story of Treasure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nobilis: the Essentials, Volume 1 - EOS6000 (ePub only)
by malcolm e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2013 12:40:40
I regret purchasing this in the ePub format. It is the most unfriendly, cumbersome, irritating format. I should have stuck with PDF. I will never buy anything in that format again. It has sucked the life out of trying to enjoy the material.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: the Essentials, Volume 1 - EOS6000 (ePub only)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nobilis: Antithesis, Minibook 1i
by Ted K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 20:24:00
This book was very helpful for getting a solid handle on Excrucians in general and Deceivers in particular. As is typical for a Nobilis product, it's excellently written and full of entertaining bits of short fiction. There's also some great art. The quality of the softcover book is also excellent; the pages are thick, quality paper and the background images and the other art is well-printed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: Antithesis, Minibook 1i
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nobilis: Antithesis, Minibook 1i
by Benjamin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2012 20:34:20
This book is incredibly helpful in running Deceivers, but also excrucian NPCs. It has rules for playing them, so I suppose you could have that Nobilis/Excrucian team-up game you've always wanted.

It also has another of the 24 finales!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: Antithesis, Minibook 1i
by Jason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2012 16:48:50
Not only did this book help me understand Deceivers, it helped me understand Excrucians in general -- how they break through into reality, how they can be formed from the core of a human being, why they do what they do, and so on. That alone was worth the price of the book. But of course the meat of this supplement is the Deceivers themselves, and we get a WEALTH of information about them, particularly rules for building them from the ground up (with a clear and complete example), starting with an avatar/lifepath and ending with the actual attributes, bonds, etc. In theory, you could use this to play a Deceiver PC (and there are rules for that!) but in practice, this will help me (as GM) flesh out my Deceivers (and, to some degree, other Excrucians) and make each one a fully-developed character.

A strong recommendation for GMs, entirely optional for players (who may appreciate the general insight into Persona and be inspired by some of the concepts, which could equally apply to Nobles).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: The Essentials, Volume 1
by Jason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2012 16:40:47
I think it's hilarious that the largest complaint about this book from existing Nobilis fans is "They changed the art!!!" Why? Because this (third) edition changes so many major things. Literally half of the attributes have been replaced (goodbye Realm and Spirit, hello Persona and Treasure). Bonds and restrictions have gone from a mild weakness to one of the most expanded and important systems in the game. Chancels and Imperators are designed more loosely now, with no point system to min-max. Everything works BETTER in so many ways!

And I guess that's why people whine about the art. Because it's the only possible thing to complain about. (Well, that and the organization. I think this core book can be a little schizophrenic or ADHD in how it presents sections, even if those sections themselves are very clearly written. But that's not enough to knock off more than half a star, at worst.)

Well, I'm here to say that the art is GREAT! The relaxed, anime-style approach is exactly what Nobilis needed -- it's a wonderful change from the Serious Art Pieces of the second edition. I think it will help to dispel this notion that Nobilis is some pretentious, serious, intimidating game. Seriously, there are a LOT of gamers who look at Nobilis and think, "I can't run that. I wouldn't even know where to start!" and a large part of that is presentation. When the truth is, at heart, Nobilis really boils down to, "OMG I'm a demigod now. I can do cool miracles and stuff! I'M GONNA GO DO COOL STUFF!!! :D"

Nobilis can be played seriously or lighthearted, but no matter what, it's supposed to be FUN, and this new edition really puts that in the foreground. So five stars from me for taking an RPG I already loved and making it better, clearer, and more accessible. Thanks, Jenna and everyone involved!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: The Essentials, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates