DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ATLANTIS: Action Deck
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2014 21:24:16
Another optional yet deluxe play aid, the Action Deck allows for a new layer of mechanical play to add more variety in play and also provide inspiration for genre appropriate actions and plot developments. The cards are less cluttered than their Hellas equivalents making them more manageable.

Though usable in any Atlantis game, these cards will really spice up demo and con play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: Action Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: Hero's Guide
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2014 21:19:10
This is a completely optional yet deluxe play aid. It gives all the information a player needs for PC creation except for life paths, which should be done as a group exercise in any case.

There is also some additional mechanics such as Talents, Professions and Magic Items. It's also a great NPC 'on the fly' resource for a GM.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: Hero's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2014 18:08:39
Atlantis: The Second Age is the be all and end of all of Sword and Sorcery RPGs.

It has a great balance between setting and rules, both being flavoursome and detailed, whilst not being overbearing or cumbersome. The presentation is absolutely superb portraying the vibe of the RPG with clarity and focus.

PCs created with the system through the life path system feel a part of the setting with their own stories filled with hooks for the GM to write compelling stories for with ease. The magic and religion is flexible yet intriguing; powerful yet dangerous.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: Geographica
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2014 18:01:49
This is an amazing supplement to the Atlantis: The Second Age rulebook. It feels like a full colour double sized World of Greyhawk for AD&D or Scavenger Sons for Exalted. It is filled with inspiration and plot hooks whilst preserving open spaces to be filled during play.

Between having a vague long term plot idea as GM, the PCs created by my players via the life paths and the relevant sections in Gegraphica, creating sessions of adventures is an absolutely breeze.

This book also contains the Atlantis chapter from the rulebook, so the setting presentation is complete and can be used with another rules system if preferred.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: Geographica
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Darren K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2014 14:04:43
I had encountered this setting before- or so I thought- in the form of the previous editions. I'd given them a look, intrigued by the ideas behind the setting, but been less than impressed. It was nothing more than a mass of D&D cliches that utterly the great potential of the setting.

Khepera have changed all that. Giving both the rules mechanics and the background a major overhaul, they've left both recognisable compared to earlier editions, but made it a vastly superior game. The setting is now the pulp fantasy Swords & Sorcery epic that I'd always wanted from this world, and the rules now support this style of play at every level.

Character creation is based around making heroes from the start, not lowly neophytes who might become heroes one day. The lifepath system creates a very inspiring background for each player character, and the dramatic rules make combat and other adventurous pursuits feel suitably cinematic. Not only does the game have a Drama Point mechanic, but in order to refresh their Drama Points PCs have to engage in various activities, from making offerings to the gods to wenching and carousing in taverns. Magic is always dark and dangerous in some way, with practioners becoming more bizarre and otherworldly as their power grows.

The game also manages to improve on the Glory system seen in Pendragon, adding extra elements to make the characters feel like heroes of legend. In addition to the basic Renown score for glorious deeds, characters achieve Great Works (rescue the princess, avenge your brother, overthrow the tyrant) and Fate Points (the dark fate awaiting the hero). Many heroes of legend come to tragic ends, and the Fate Points show how close this is coming- players must keep their Glorious Deeds tally higher to escape this ignoble fate.

Finally, the action is driven by the PCs. Players decide on the goals, both their great destiny (Become King of Atlantis and the like are possible) and the short term ones (find the treasure of the lost city, drive the pirate queen from the seas). The GM then arranges the stories around these. There are many games with similar themes, but these are rules-lite indie rules, wheras Atlantis: The Second Age is most certainly a full RPG with stats, weapons lists and the like. Having some of the good points from drama-oriented indie games transplanted into a more traditional RPG ruleset is a very good combination for me.

This game is well worth a look. As far as I'm concerned, the only flaws are the lack of a printer-friendly version and the price tag given that a print version should be out soon. Have a look, and you won't be disappointed!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: The Second Age World Map
by Channon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2014 08:42:37
High-quality scan, enough information to give you a starting-point, and the art is excellent. Can be used in any genre and with any system. Much better than I expected for a free product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: The Second Age World Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: The Second Age World Map
by Kel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 14:50:25
Really beautiful work. Neat concept for a world based on fantasy Earth in a mythical age. The write-up that describes each of these lands is a great source of adventure seeds!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: The Second Age World Map
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 12:51:29
Not only do you get some nice maps, but also get small descriptions of the people who live in the different areas. Definitely a good start for a new GM.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: The Second Age World Map
by Jeffery S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 12:12:15
I love this map. I have always wanted a color version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by William P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 00:12:22
I am really enjoying this game. Your character's start out more competent than is usual for a RPG, but the game is still balanced and a challenge for players. I have mainly used the beta version which does have some grammar errors, but a very fun product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 12:28:27
Pleasantly surprised. I was not expecting some of the changes to the Atlantean material but was very impressed with them. I love the flow of the book and the reference to pages making it easier to navigate for content. I look forward to updating my campaign and for the new challenges my gamers will experience.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2013 21:26:18
I have been a long time fan of the setting if not the rules system itself and have picked up each edition I could find. Previous updates seemed really just a repackaging of the original material but this version goes further with deeper changes to the rules system and expansion of the setting. It seems the authors may have taken a good look at the evolution of D20 and Fuzion and applied some of the lessons learned there without getting too rules heavy. The lifepath and religion sections in particular remind me of Artesia- Adventures in the Known World (not a bad thing) while being much more accessible to those lacking a masters degree in comparative religion and mythology :p The font and layout are at times reminiscent of Mongoose's Conan RPG (again, not a bad thing) which combined with the art really gives the 'proper' S&S feel, even fey in this setting are more reminiscent of Poul Andersen's Broken Sword than Tolkien. The art itself preserves many of the best B&W pieces from earlier editions while there are a wealth of new colour pieces which are internally consistent and evoke the setting well. The world maps in this edition are much cleaner and more comprehensible than older versions, they also have that 'Mongoose Conan' look. What makes this particular S&S setting nice is that magic, swordplay and roguery are nicely balanced with none getting more 'screen time' than others, so you could play a game anywhere on the spectrum from Conan to Elric to Gray Mouser as suits your tastes. In short, if you are a fan of the genre, even if you won't use the rules, at this price the setting is well worth picking up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Mike R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2013 23:47:52
I bought this on a Lark, having played the original versions "back in the Day". I was not expecting much, and honestly with some of the simple grammar and spelling errors my hopes went lower. Then I read the intro fiction, can't say its the best ever but it definitely did a great job getting me interested in reading more, learning more about this world. The colors and artwork in the beta were great and examples of character creation were great. Honestly making a character looks like a lot of fun. It's lengthy but really helps set the flavor for playing a person in this world. Overall a very pleasant surprise and I definitely look forward to seeing the non beta product. Great Job everyone, a real gem.

mike

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2013 20:14:50
Jerry D Grayson's version of Atlantis: the Second Age takes the Morrigan Press version and brings it more in line with recent additions and innovations to the omini system. The art is great, and the addition of randomized life path generation to character creation, as well as a clear cut process for choosing race, culture and profession, stand out strongly. I do have a couple of qualms, keeping in mind though that this is a beta version: one, there's no martial artist profession, even though the setting can encompass antideluvian "Far East"; two, brief descriptions of the cultures need to be given in the area of the book designated for choosing cultures; and finally, and this is just my preference, some of the terminology used is definitely relic of the d20 era. But, this is pretty good for a beta. I too am anticipating the final version.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
ATLANTIS: the Second Age
by Angus S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2013 19:11:54
Just got this on a whim (the low price and realization I used to own the original Bard Games edition helped).

Only had time to read through it once but so far its been great. Clean system, nice setting that feels Hyborean and/or Moorcockian without the emphasis on swords over spells that many similar books have. Definitely worth picking up for the flavor suggestions alone. Simple things like magic corrupting the user at higher skill levels is the sort of thing I've been sticking in my games for years now.

Go buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates