DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
by Alexander S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2014 06:03:49
As with the previous Forged in Fire field guide, the Paxton "army list" received a few changes post-testing during layout that were never reviewed for canon, balance, costing, or other errors.

Typos continue to abound, as the copy was never double-checked before being released even though the Pod people responsible for layout had the material right in front of them to cut+paste.

As per usual the Pod depended on the player-base to find necessary corrections, while at the same time continuing to promote further snap-decision changes that keep resulting in multiple re-releases to "fix" the subsequent problems.

* Lack of art for multiple new models, which will in all likelihood never be inserted, as the book has gone nearly eight months with that omission.

* Significant power creep and "mary sue" inclusions throughout the book, along with uncosted benefits no longer needed by the faction as updated.
* Issues continue to crop up with model and variant swaps, and the book is now due to receive a fourth re-release.

* Some, but not quite as many special rules as found in The Perfect Storm, Forged in Fire, or Lion's Wrath.
* Power armor for infantry, in a setting based on the one-pilot IFV known as Gears.

All in all, a rather typical product with which to end the Blitz!-era of Heavy Gear alongside Lion's Wrath.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Lion's Wrath - Northern Army List
by Alemayehu A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2014 01:14:12
Decent book, still reading through the details of the book.

It appears they have gotten the feel of each league right (from what I can read), they are a little more complicated (for a returning player).

An important not to a previous reviewer, they have NOT replaced the cheetah, it is still available but not in significant numbers as before (i.e. Recon). I think this is a well thought out book that closely ties with its the faction's back story.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Lion's Wrath - Northern Army List
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Lion's Wrath - Northern Army List
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2014 19:12:09
Lack of new Art does set this book back. However the Squads especially the Faction specific are really nice change. This book isn't perfect storm or Forged in Fire not even close but what its for an army list book so you can build your army it does what it is intended to do. The Hunter XMG finally sees the light of blitz and new addition of Lion and Scimatar gears as well as new variants for the Thunder Hammer and Klemm brings a very new look to the good ol' North. I need to get to work asap on my newest version of WFPA. I will indeed field all three faction specific armys together when ever possible.

As Previous comments stated the Cheetah has a new cousin well it makes sence that not every army can field those little boogers.

Generic North squads are very nice indeed. I'm happy very happy with the end results. Than again I am bias as I did contribute several hours in playtesting but overall this ebook will do what you require and that is build a more powerful Northern Army than previous without the overkill of MBZKs and AGMs ect. I admit I don't think its ballance with the South book but with constant change you can't expect every army to be balanced if thats the case play south vs south or north vs north if you want a true even match.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Lion's Wrath - Northern Army List
by Dimitri A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2014 10:32:37
For an ebook that's 5 months late, let's see the final result.
Virtually no new art, no editing (typoes aplently), datacards in picture format instead of text (forget ctrl+F to find a variant), poor layout from the company that used to be standard-setting. The less said about the quality of the writing, the better.

The above could be forgiven if the content itself was good, alas, the substance matches the style.
The army building system is as complex, counter-intuitive and unbalanced as it's ever been. The squad variants are bloated just to fill pages, while common configurations for squads and units (ATM/HGL Mammoths) vanished, the Cheetah got replaced by its brand new twin brother that looks just the same but with worse stats. I could go on and on...

After the Paxton book that was a gross power-creep, the Northern book is actually the opposite. I guess DP9 would rather sell Paxton minis than Northern ones.

TLDR : This "product" isn't worth the price as far as production value goes, and even if it was free, it breaks what didn't fixing, while ignoring the previous issues. It doesn't really get worse than that.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:48:15
At 258 pages, 252 are the content.
A pretty good scan, much better than Heavy Gear 3rd Player's Handbook.

A lot is covered in the PDF: Character & Mechanical Design, Advanced Rules, Open Gaming Rules Conversion, Appendixes, Game-mastering, etc.

Al looks pretty good., wish I had more time to look through section.
I like it.
All artwork is b&w (a fair bit of it from Heavy Gear - my favourite).

Not bad for £5.05.
Well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:28:59
I bought the Silhouette Core Deluxe edition some time ago, which wasn't too bad, scan wise.
This PDF, unfortunately, not so good.
The pages slant to the side, the scan quality is low.
Not a good scan at all.
I can see why they reduced the price.

Don't get me wrong, I like the Heavy Gear RPG & other products); I have the 1st & 2nd edition books with supplements, miniatures, etc; all good.
So this download (PDF) was a disappointment.

I'm hoping for an updated/improved version.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Jovian Chronicles Companion
by Boris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2014 13:24:42
The product itself is superb, but the conversion into a PDF file is mediocre at best. Pages have been scanned unaligned to the scanner in a pretty random way. The text is rather hard to read, it's not very sharp and zooming in doesn't help here at all. The price is low, too, but this is not what I expect when buying a digital version of a book. It's from 2004 not 1984, I did better scans in 2004 than that with my home equipment...

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Jovian Chronicles Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tribe 8 Player's Handbook 1st Edition
by Nathan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 17:59:16
If you don't know anything about Dream Pod 9 in general & Tribe 8 in particular, here's some details.

Dream Pod 9 first came to my attention in the mid to late nineties when they published a small unit, tactical Mech wargame called Heavy Gear. Heavy Gear was set on a world classically 'far, far, away'. It was pretty tight & met with enough fan approval that they went ahead & published an RPG to go along with it so all of us could play the operators of the 'Gears' as Mechs in that game were called. The mechanics of the RPG were largely based upon the mechanics of the Tactical game, but unlike other examples of that variety, they actually worked fairly well; thus spawning two more 'game worlds' using essentially the same core mechanics, which they came to call the 'Silhouette System'.
Why is this important? Because the 'Silhouette System' predates WotC's 'd20' system by a couple years & unfortunately has not seen much support since the turn of the Century. I say unfortunately because it really is a very nice, robust little system. Not to mention the imagination which went into developing the world of Tribe 8 itself. All of which combines to me really liking just about anything having to do with them. Which brings me to the T8PHB.
As is the case with all DriveThruRPG's Silhouette offerings, it is an example of a physical book scanned onto PDFs which qualitatively are going to be inferior to direct PDFs. This is not to say the scans are bad, just not as good as direct PDFs. That said, anything which keeps this game out where new players can discover it & hopefully enjoy and be inspired by it is a good thing in my mind. I can't really say enough good things about this book, it manages to take one of my biggest concerns with introducing new players to the game (how do I introduce ALL the nifty world info without risking the players finding out things they & their characters shouldn't know yet) and at the same time provide at least the basic info of Character Creation and action resolution & put it all into one book.
Sadly, it looks as though this & the Second Edition version of the T8PHB were the LAST materials that Dream Pod 9 published for the setting. I'm still not certain WHY they felt it was necessary to publish a Second Edition of this book, but until I pick up (or more likely download) a copy, I''m forced to suspect it had something to do with them publishing a 'Silhouette Core' system, which seems to have been similar to Steve Jackson Games' GURPS system in that it was intended to use the core rules for all the game worlds with 'World Specific' setting books, but again, until I have the opportunity to read them, this is pure speculation on my part.

In summary; if you are interested in an alternative to the 'd20' system variants out there & interested in a kind of 'mind's eye' view of what Canadian Gamers can come up with, you would do a lot worse than to give Tribe 8 a try & if you are giving Tribe 8 a try, you can do a lot worse than to start with this book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tribe 8 Player's Handbook 1st Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
by Petri W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2014 03:48:18
Nice (while we're waiting for the "proper" Peace River sourcebook. My only negative is the same complaint I have with many other Heavy Gear Blitz PDF packages: it's not clearly marked which is the latest version. In this case, the bundle contains three PDFS:

HeavyGearBlitz_BloodDebt_PeaceRiverArmyList_ebook.pdf
HeavyGearBlitz_BloodDebt_PeaceRiverArmyList_ebook_Update-
d_12_07_2013.pdf
HeavyGearBlitz_BloodDebt_PeaceRiverArmyList_ebook_Update-
d_12_23_2013.pdf

Which of these is the most up-to-date one? Your guess is as good as mine. It might be the "HeavyGearBlitz_BloodDebt_PeaceRiverArmyList_ebook.pdf". Or it might be the "HeavyGearBlitz_BloodDebt_PeaceRiverArmyList_ebook_Updated_1-
2_23_2013" file. The files themselves contain no version information in the text itself (that I could see).

This same problem applies to many other HGB book PDF bundles also, they contain various versions of various books with no clear indication of what is what version.

DP9, *please*

1) Clearly mark which file is the latest version, either by only including the latest (my preference) or by including some sort of README file explaining things. A running version number in the file name itself would also work.

2) Add version information into the book itself, so I can use a PDF reader to figure out which file (version) is which.

Preferably both of those. At the moment, it's all too easy to end up using an obsolete version of a HGB book by mistake, which is annoying.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
by Brandon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2013 04:53:17
For those who have been waiting for so long to hear from Peace River once again, this book delivers on army construction as well as providing a glimpse of the future models that will be released. The art is spartan, but very functional, and the designs themselves are very cool to see. The amount of optional loadouts alone are enough to boggle a person who is new to the Heavy Gear universe, so I hope that they won't cross their eyes trying to figure everything out. This third most recent update seems to have cleared up a few issues that the first issue had.

Dream Pod 9 continues to show that they listen to their fans in almost everything they do. Great job all around.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
by Mohamed Z. B. M. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2013 00:16:47
For a bare-bones army list, it does the job well. My mouth waters at the prospect of new models for the PRDF, and looking at the new designs in the book, I think the future is going to be a very prosperous one for Paxton Arms.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Blood Debt - Peace River Army List
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2013 11:44:00
Fantastic Army list book! Rating 4/5 only due to it not having all the great art and fluff of previous released books. It is also a bumber that Special Characters were left out. It is great for what its for and thats making a new awesome army for the Peace River.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gear Up Issue 3
by stephen a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2013 20:31:40
I am only really interested in the dp9 stuff as ell as shadow run . I thank dtrpg for providing things at such great prices . as for my review on the products themselves . I like the feel of the gear up magazine . I do wish it had more comics pages but the al together feel of the dp9 universe is totally there . can recommend to anyone . and def use the dtrpg site to acquire . I do wish dp9 would bring back the jovian chronicles as I am not much of a ground pounder . I prefer the hustle and bustle of space combat . they such great minis planned . as for this site I do wish you had more links to where one can aquire the minis for their games at reasonable prices as well . thank you I hope you like what I have shared .

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gear Up Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
by Omar B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2013 11:10:14
Operation: Drop Bears Dive! was my first time trying out a .pdf sourcebook for any game I play. No complaints so far! The file is bookmarked for ease of navigation, the download process was painless, and it has since been put to use with planning a unit for Heavy Gear.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation: Drop Bears Dive!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual - Core Rulebook Revised
by Reese L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2013 14:19:09
I picked up DP9's Heavy Gear Blitz Two Player Starter Kit this year at GenCon, which included a black & white, digest-sized copy of this book as well as the older "Locked and Loaded" rulebook. While handy at the table, my old eyes did have some issues with the tiny print in the reduced size prints.

Fortunately, DP9 - much to their credit - offers those same two rulebooks in full color (and full size!) as free PDF downloads here. I was very happy with both these products and recommend them as a must-have for anyone who's picked up the game elsewhere and only has the digest books. In full color, the reference diagrams and fluff artwork shines, and the L&L book also includes color painting guides for the minis!

My one gripe is that these PDFs are not optimized at all. For the page count and graphic content they are far larger in file size than they should be, especially compared to a full color layout, higher page count rulebook (a Pathfinder book from Paizo for example.)

Still, worth the price, and they ARE the full rules for HGB so you can learn to play for free, using these and some of the other free downloads at DP9's homepage, and some minis or tokens you already have on hand. A good idea before you invest in a lot of expensive minis.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Field Manual - Core Rulebook Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 142 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates