DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
QAGS Second Edition
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/19/2012 13:16:54
It is the acronym for Quick Ass Game System, and that is pretty accurate. What is QAGS or more to the point why is there a QAGS?

Well QAGS grew out of the same need that gave us Fudge, Fate and GURPS and even d20.

QAGS though is a little looser than GURPS, but not quite as loose and Fudge or FATE.
QAGS is nice because it works well as an entry to Role-playing that is not a kids game (by no means is this one for kids!) and it can be used by the old pros out there. Yums-Yums aside of course!

Chapter 1 then is all about Character Creation. What I like about QAGS are such things as the descriptors of your character. In fact they are not even called abilities but "Words". So there is much more of a author feel to this than say character creation. You describe your character in terms of these Words, such as Body, Brain, and Nerve as the base ones, and others like Job, Gimmick and Weakness. I also like the tacit nod to "Who Will Play the Character in the Movie" which is something everyone does anyway. I snarkily always say "Gary Oldman" cause he can play anything and anyone. Like with other games I have played, there is something to learn here. This chapter could help you define who your character is regardless of what game you play.

Chapter 2 is Doing Stuff or how to play. The system is pretty simple really. Words are given a value of 6 to 16 and skills can add up to 5 to these. These numbers then become the target numbers.
Chapter 3 expands on this with Combat.

Chapter 4 is the most entertaining, Yum-Yums. What are Yum-Yums? They are pieces of candy that are character rewards. They are points on your sheet, but they are also a pile of M&Ms or other candy in front of you. They are used like Drama or Hero points in other games, but if you eat them all well then your are literally out of luck.

Chapter 5 is a bit about role-playing your character. Making them more than a concept and stats on a page of paper.

After this we have the GM (Game Master's) section. Chapter 6 covers the basics of being a GM along with the rules and what you can do with your new found power over life and death. Chapter 8 goes into the Fine Art of GMing.

Chapter 7 deals with the story you are trying to create.

The Appendices are rather nice. The first one is a Big List of Words used to describe your character. Which seems to me would have utility in a Fate or Fudge game as well.

Appendix 2 is the quick start rules. 1/2 a page. They got the Quick part right. So quick in fact it is "Qik" start.
Appendix 3 is the section of Genres. Each one gets a page and covers the basics.
Appendix 4 is a collection of sample characters.
Appendix 5 is a list of creatures
Appendix 6 includes some equipment
Appendices 7 & 8 are sample adventures
Appendices 9 & 10 are dumb maps and dumb tables respectively
And 11 is a conversion from QAGS 1st Ed.
Finally ending with a character sheet. The first I have seen that lists Social Security Number.

QAGS is fun, but it might be too silly for groups. Or it might be perfect if the GM opts to play it straight.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QAGS Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Dumb Tables
by Berin K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/25/2012 09:14:40
Nominally a QAGS product, but actually very generic, most of these tables aren't that dumb. There are character concept tables, name tables, and a great character actor table (to figure who the character should be played by). There are fun tables, like a bad Silver Age superhero name generator and a lame superpower table. There's a high concept table, where you can generate a campaign idea like "It's Godzilla meets Caddyshack". Okay, there's also a Random Dave Table, and a Random Bruce Willis Movie table, but there's also a random adventure generator that doesn't stink. Fun for a pick-up game or a one-shot, I'd use it with Risus or Primetime Adventures.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Dumb Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fratboys Vs
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/19/2012 22:14:29
Another great beer-and-pretzels RPG setting book for QAGS, this time offering roleplayers the opportunity to play fratboys from Kappa Epsilon Gamma, who find themselves up against Nazis, robots, dinosaurs. zombies, succubi, and many other foes. Players make characters based on the typical college movie stereotypes, the GM chooses which nasty they're going to encounter today, and the fun begins.

Each of the opponents in Fratboys Vs. has its own set-up and plot to draw them into the story, which makes it possible for the more skilled and experienced GMs to run this supplement completely without preparation.

Like so many other QAGS supplements, this one is packed with laughs from start to finish. If you've ever wanted to play an RPG with Bluto and D-Day fighting ninjas and undead, stop wasting your time and click that "Add to Cart" button right now.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fratboys Vs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

All-Stars: A Game of Low-Budget Superheroics
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/09/2012 13:32:38
Goofy superheroics for the QAGS system! This QAGS supplement is highly influenced by comical superheroes akin to The Tick and Mystery Men. It includes gimmicks, flaws, weaknesses, super powers (and ways to get them), and a city stocked with a civilians to protect and serve. Don't miss the Superhero/Villian/Team Naming Table!

This would be a great diversion game to run when your group has grown tired of serious roleplaying and would like to lighten it up for a while. Due to some language and adult themes, I would recommend against letting children read this supplement (despite the very cartoony cover art).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
All-Stars: A Game of Low-Budget Superheroics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Edison Force
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/12/2011 12:21:37
A setting supplement for QAGS (Quick Ass Game System) set in the early 1900s, combining weird science with the real-world vision and inventions of that era. Henry Ford and Thomas Edison team up to create a mobile weapon that will defeat the forces of Marshovia from invading Florida, and eventually form a special force to hold back any future efforts against the United States - the Edison Force.

This short and sweet package for the QAGS RPG rules comes complete with player archetypes Ex-Soldier, Daredevil, Aviator, Junior Inventor, and more), weird science equipment from the 1900s (a lot of guns that shoot lightning, as you would guess), sample skills, gimmicks, and weaknesses, as well as a sample adventure - Edison Force Versus the Martians, in which the Force is called to investigate some strange walking machines in the Arizona Territory.

The GMs section includes historical characters from the era statted up for play, and there's a great section of inspirational books to get you into the proper mindset. The art and layout are very good, as I've come to expect from Hex Games. It's a small package (37 pages), but it would make a great one-shot campaign for any gaming group that is looking to try something different and unique.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edison Force
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Laser Ponies
by Steffan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2011 18:54:49
See my review at http://rpggeek.com/thread/668010/laser-ponies-a-semi-review

In brief: great setting, great art, the system is weak (not horrible, but not strong) - but it's easy to transfer the setting to a system you like better.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Laser Ponies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Laser Ponies
by Kurt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2011 22:02:49
Ok, first let me say that I am writing this review not from the point of view of a man that has been role-playing since the late 80's That would totally miss the point, I think. Instead I will look at this short little book as a father of three little girls that would like to learn to play with their dad someday. First of all, it's short and simple which is perfect for the ages that it is intended for. The art is childish and cute, again fitting the theme very well. However, what really sells me on this product is the fact the my kids haven't shut up about it since I showed it to them. Personally I think there should be more products like this so that our generation can share the joy of storytelling with our kids and families. Not only do I salute Hex Games for Laser Ponies, I give them my sincere thanks as a father!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Leopard Women of Venus
by Victor J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2011 07:45:09
Well-laid out, easy to read, and fun, this book is written by people who understand and appreciate the bizarrely earnest worlds created by Fletcher Hanks. That alone is reason enough to pick it up. Connor and Burnett are your Virgils on a tour you won't want to miss if you've ever enjoyed pulp, superheroes, or surrealism.

The art is fun, the setting by turns unsettling and amusing. The section on how to run the game really makes this book, showing how to create an atmosphere not quite like any other game I've seen--you'll be tempted to think of it as a comedy game, but it's not, not really. The world and the game itself are well suited to QAGS, and if you like the system odds are you'll like the book. Grab it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leopard Women of Venus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Dumb Tables
by Fernando G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2011 19:50:01
It is exactly what it promises. A book full of dumb tables. A great help for fast ideas and absolutely essential in any not-so-serious game, not only for QAGS system.
It includes useful guidelines (in the shape of tables) for that type of players that came just to spoil the story because they finished the last mission of Fallout the previous day.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Dumb Tables
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

American Artifacts 2
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/20/2011 10:22:59
A collection of contemporary magic items and their functions - items like Babe Ruth’s bat, Clint Eastwood’s Poncho, Mark Twain’s Cigar Box, Tesla’s Ray Gun, and sixteen others. Each is detailed with a little bit of real-world history, followed with its magical functions. The introduction to this supplement includes a little bit of advice on how to introduce these items into a game, and a list of groups that may have an interest in one or more of the items.

This supplement is for the QAGS system, but just flipping through it, I started to get ideas to put some of these items into Changeling, Mage, Over the Edge, Dark Matter, Pandemonium!, or any other urban fantasy and/or high weirdness RPG. Because of the freeform nature of QAGS, the stats for these items are easy to convert to any other system you choose. Or you can stick with QAGS, which is a good system in its own right.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
American Artifacts 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sindbad and the Demon Pumpkin
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2011 15:04:06
A good, fun, adventure into African mythology. This module can easily be adapted to any game system, for players and GMs who want something different from the usual elves/dwarves&orcs.

The adventure is story-driven; it helps to have players who recognize their character's expectations donot necessarily produce the best adventures.

The only weakness is that the storyline is quite linear, and resolving the story requires the players take certain actions at certain points.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sindbad and the Demon Pumpkin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spooky: The Definitive Guide To Horror Gaming
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2010 03:55:45
If you have ever harboured thoughts of running a horror campaign, read this book before you settle down to plan your adventures!

It begins by analysing horror itself. Horror as an emotion, to be instilled in characters and (judiciously and to a lesser extent) into the players as well. Horror as dread, shock and terror - defining each and looking at ways of creating the effect within the context of a table-top game.

From this grounding, the different sorts of character that might be played in a horror game are examined. Throughout, reference is made to Hex Game's QAGS (Quick Ass Games System), although it will not take much effort to adapt material for whichever game you prefer to play. With an eye to the cinematic, each character archetype is defined by 'Who might play this role in the movies' as well as by more familiar characteristics such as skills, aptitudes, attributes, likely job and typical reactions. From here, the composition of a party is discussed; and then the ways in which the players should approach playing in a horror game, be it one-off or campaign... and how to, when the time comes, die gracefully at the hands (claws, fangs) of whatever horrible monster gets you in the end!

This player-centred view is then set aside in favour of the wider canvas of the GM. From original planning to detailed plotting, how to generate an 'atmosphere' and cope with anything from wise-cracking players to interruptions from visiting neighbours, just about every aspect of running horror games is discussed.

The anatomy of a horror game is dissected out. Develop an overall setting and put a plot in, work out how the characters encounter, investigate and finally reach a position to challenge whatever your main 'horror' is... and even how to wrap everything up at the end. Several ideas are presented, and I'm already itching to try out the concept of a 'Horror Hollywood' where as if the movie business wasn't deadly enough the actors and film crew have to contend with their movie monsters being REAL...

Overall, this is a recommended read. Even if you are an experienced 'horror' GM, you'll find ideas here, and if you are contemplating your first game, it will help you make your first attempt a success.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spooky: The Definitive Guide To Horror Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Happilyeverafter
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2010 15:05:37
I got sucker punched, I got blind sided, & I fell for the old bait and switch. A great idea for a setting but that idea got left out of the book.

$0.99, how can anyone complain about a product this cheap? Well let me start!

The tiny 9 page PDF was 10.644kb to download. Say what!? That was unnecessary.

You get a good fairy tale noir feel with the cover, one page. The next three pages you can see on RPGnow.com’s preview, so half the book is free. The last page is a sort of adventure record sheet, nothing on it that needed to take up the whole last page. That leaves four pages that I paid under a buck for. So what is with the $0.99? Nothing you could not get from surfing the net or imagining yourself.

I was hoping for a nice detail of the city Happilyeverafter (what you get in the free preview is all you get). A section called “Cast of Thousands”? I got one, Rapunzel. Where is the other 999 or so cast members? There is this section called “Running a Fairy Tale/ Noir Adventure”. I was hoping to get some nice advice from it on running a noir fairy tale or at least noir and what it is (no luck there). It does have a sample adventure outline but leaves a lot for you to fill in. Then finally on the last page and a half is a tiny section on “Inspiration”, “SOME film noir rolls”, a nice list of fairy tale/nursery rhyme characters, the stats of Rapunzel, and only Satan knows why a list of actors called “Some Iconic WWPHITMs”. Not even one random generator of any kind (a plot generator would have been wonderful).

A big let down. But, why should I complain? I only spent a dollar. So heed my advice and save yourself time and your hard earned smaker, make it up yourself.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Happilyeverafter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sindbad and the Demon Pumpkin
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2010 01:05:58
Sort of, not really .. Provides both comedy and danger in a series of encounters with African mythical beings.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sindbad and the Demon Pumpkin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Waxman's Warriors
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/17/2010 17:56:41
Waxman's Warriors is set in the world of Chick comics, a series of religious tracts in comic book form produced by Chick Publications. (For more info, see www.chick.com).

In this adventure, a motley group of sinners in Hell find a way to escape to Heaven with the hopes of "renegotiating" their eternal arrangements. Two of the characters are semi-direct references to the Dark Dungeons comic, Chick's anti-roleplaying tract from 1984, and there are tons of nods to other comics from the Chick canon.

It is very irreverent, and will likely offend a few people - but the target here really seems to be the violent, paranoid fantasy world of Chick comics, and not the Christian faith. I would recommend this adventure to any group of players who enjoy satire and irreverent humor and are familiar with the works of Jack Chick, but not for those who may not have a sense of humor about religious fundamentalism.

(One word of warning - this product is most definitely NOT for young people.)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Waxman's Warriors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates