DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fate Accelerated Edition
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2014 06:02:28
FATE Accelerated is fantastic! I have yet to play a game of it, but that will be remedied in November. I have never read a game or a system that allows so many possibilities for players and GM's. Literally any kind of setting can be played in using this system, not just the published settings. Whatever the imagination can conceive can be accommodated by this system. Character creation is likely the most open and quick that I have ever come across in over 30 years of gaming. The only limits the players have is their imagination. All in all, FATE is a well-designed and extremely user-friendly game. I recommend it to anyone who favors lots of options, lots of role-playing, and very little crunch. :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2014 05:13:26
Just to be clear, I don't even own Fate core, but this product just caught my eyes in my email and I had to see what it was all about. This was the first time I'd ever seen a concept such as this where players are cats in a game. While this isn't going to make me run out to buy Fate core, I love the material enough to convert it to another system to run. It might take a little work but well worth the effort. This adventure is fun, imaginative, and intriguing. Whether you own Fate Core or not, this is a product worth checking out. My curiosity was well rewarded and yours will be too. An excellent product to introduce children to role playing games as well. If you're looking for a way to get kids into a game, this a great way of doing it. It has a very disney-esque style of art and feel to it. Great for anyone looking for something a little different than the standard RPG material out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Just a reminder, Fate Core and FAE are available free/pay-what-you-like to the public right now, so you needn\'t run out and buy Fate Core — just pick it up at whatever price you want, including free, here on DriveThru. :)
Atomic Robo RPG
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/10/2014 05:13:24
Ein Rollenspiel-Regelwerk zu lesen, kann anstrengend sein. Manches Mal verliert man sich in den Regeltexten und kämpft sich durch Querverweise, Sonder- und Optionalregeln. Viele Erklärungen muss man dutzende Male lesen und kommt erst wirklich dahinter, wie sie gemeint waren, wenn man sie tatsächlich anwendet.

Wenn man dagegen einen Comic liest, kann man auch die verwirrenden Tiefen einer komplizierten Zeitreise-Geschichte sehr einfach nachvollziehen. Zwischen Bild und Text herrschen Synergien, die zu begeistern verstehen, wie in keinem anderen Medium. Als bestes Beispiel kann ich hier mein Studium heranziehen. Ich hatte eine trockene und langweilige Statistik-Klausur vor mir, doch der Stoff flog mir nur so zu.

Mein Lehrbuch für diese Zeit hieß Mathe-Manga-Statistik und die kleinen Bildchen trugen mich durch das langweiligste Fach, das man sich nur vorstellen kann. Dementsprechend gut funktionierte für mich Atomic Robo, welches verschiedenste Situationen mit einem passenden Comicstrip deutlich macht. Fate Core ist zwar nicht mit komplizierten Rechnereien beschwert, hat aber seine ganz eigenen Schwierigkeiten. Es ist nicht einfach zu verstehen, wie die leichten Regeln verwendet werden können, wenn man bereits ein erfahrener Rollenspieler ist, dessen Erfahrungsschatz vor allem eher von traditionelleren Systemen gefüllt wurde.

Atomic Robo kann hier für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene einige Brücken schlagen. Hätte ich nicht gute Freunde gehabt, die mir FATE nahegebracht haben, so hätte ich mir gewünscht, Atomic Robo wäre meine erste Begegnung mit dem System gewesen.

Kapitel 1: Robos World

Atomic Robo spielt in unserer Welt, allerdings mit einer etwas abgewandelten Vergangenheit und einer etwas schrägeren Gegenwart. So gut wie jeder kennt Nikola Tesla, den Erfinder des Dreh- und Wechselstroms. In der Geschichte der Spielwelt ist er außerdem der Erbauer von Atomic Robo, dem ersten atomgetriebenen menschenähnlichen Roboter. Er ist seine größte Erfindung und wird lange von ihm geheim gehalten.

Ihr gemeinsamer Kampf gegen die finsteren Pläne wahnsinniger Industrieller und ebenso wahnsinniger Wissenschaftler bleibt im Verborgenen. Die gesamte Geschichte beginnt zu Zeiten der Industrialisierung, und da es bei Atomic Robo meist um Wissenschaft geht, orientiert es sich an wahren wissenschaftlichen Begebenheiten.

Seien es Einsteins Entdeckungen, die Erfindung der Atombombe, oder Turings Krypto-Kampf gegen die Verschlüsselungsmethoden der Nazionalsozialisten. Da sich die Erzählungen um Atomic Robos Beteiligung meist in der näheren Vergangenheit abspielen, ist die Welt in sich schlüssig und sucht im Prinzip nur verborgene Erklärungen für so manche geheimnisvolle wissenschaftliche Entdeckung. Dass dies einen Riesenspaß macht, konnte ich an meiner eigenen Variante des Edison-Westinghouse-Kriegs um die Stromversorgung Amerikas feststellen. Dazu jedoch mehr in meinem Spielbericht, welcher demnächst als separater Artikel erscheinen wird.

Im Buch wird empfohlen, die Abenteuer in der Atomic Robo-Welt an besonderen Ereignissen der Geschichte festzumachen. Das ist natürlich kein Muss und jeder Spielleiter kann die Weltgeschichte auf eigene Art und Weise erzählen. Es geht schließlich um geheime Organisationen, Intrigen und Verrat. Die verschiedenen Organisationen und Aspekte der Welt werden kurz beleuchtet und oberflächlich beschrieben. Ab und zu sind ausgewählte Panels aus den Comics vorhanden und dienen als perfekte Untermalung für die kurzen, aber knackigen, Textabschnitte. Allerdings dienen sie mehr als Artwork und weniger als Hintergrundstory.

Der Großteil des ersten Kapitels beschäftigt sich mit den geheimen Gesellschaften und den größten Gegenspielern Robos. Außerdem wird gezeigt, wie es ist, bei einer Firma wie Tesladyne zu arbeiten. Wie man von einem Schreibtischtäter zu einem echten Action-Wissenschaftler aufsteigt und wo Tesladyne überhaupt seine Ressourcen her bezieht.

Das alles ist, wie bei vielen FATE-Settings üblich, nur wenig detailliert und dient als kreativer Anstoß für weitere Überlegungen seitens des Spielleiters. In diesem Fall ist es verständlich, warum man auf weitere Beschreibungen verzichten kann. Atomic Robo hat eine Comicreihe als Basis und wer in der Welt spielen möchte, sollte sich wenigstens die kostenlosen Hefte zu Gemüte führen. Diese kann man ganz einfach über Comixology.com lesen, oder mit Hilfe der Comixology-App herunterladen.

Trotzdem ist es für mich eher ein Minuspunkt, dass in dem doch recht umfangreichen Werk nicht mehr in die Story eingeführt wird. Es wäre eine gute Möglichkeit gewesen, die Geschichte aus den Comics zu vertiefen.

Man mag sich fragen, ob ein Team aus Action-Wissenschaftlern genügend Stoff bietet, um damit Kampagnen zu füllen, aber wem die Comics nicht genügen, der sei auf zahllose Staffeln von Stargate oder Star Trek verwiesen. Hier findet man ebenfalls eine Form von Action-Wissenschaftlern, die man nur selten beim Bücherlesen beobachten kann, sondern vielmehr im Kreuzfeuer von Aliens und seltsamen Phänomenen.

Die Regeln

Bei den Regeln handelt es sich um die normalen Fate Core-Regeln. Zumindest grundsätzlich sind es dieselben Mechaniken. Bei der Charaktererschaffung, den Stuntregeln und den besonderen Anwendungen ist jedoch einiges hinzugekommen, beziehungsweise geändert worden.

Beschreibungen der möglichen Aktionen und deren Anwendungen sind in Atomic Robo detailliert aufgeführt. Für nahezu jede Aktion hat man einen passenden Comicstrip herausgesucht und damit erklärt, welche Aktion der Spielleiter und die Spieler gerade auf welche Art und Weise anwenden. Was bei anderen FATE-Settings oder auch im Fate Core-Regelwerk teilweise wirklich recht schwer zu verstehen ist, ergibt dank der Illustrationen beinahe sofort einen Sinn. Auf Stunts, Megastunts und Fatepunkte gehe ich bei der Charaktererschaffung genauer ein.

So viel zu der genialen Umsetzung des Altbekannten. Die Neuerungen sollen dem Spielverlauf einen Atomic Robo-eigenen Flair verpassen und bergen doch erzählerisch einiges an Gefahrenpotential.

Kapitel 8: Let´s do some Science!

In diesem Kapitel werden zwei neue Arten der wissenschaftlichen Problemlösung behandelt. Der Brainstorm und die Erfindungen sind zwei Möglichkeiten, um der Action ein wissenschaftliches Gesicht zu verleihen. Es sind erzählerisch wunderbare Möglichkeiten, die Fäden an die Spieler abzugeben. Genau darin liegt aber die Gefahr begraben. Es kann den Verlauf einer Geschichte deutlich verändern und gänzlich von der eigenen Idee abweichen. Mit ein wenig Geschick kann man das allerdings auch für sich nutzen und dadurch ganz eigene Handlungsstränge entwickeln.

Der Brainstorm wird eingeleitet, sobald ein Charakter/Spieler sich eine Frage stellt. „Was hat hier nur ein solches Chaos angerichtet?“ Ab diesem Zeitpunkt wird jeder Charakter „gereizt“ und hat die Möglichkeit auf Grundlage eines seiner Aspekte in den Brainstorm einzusteigen. Jeder, der mitwirkt, erhält sofort einen Fatepunkt. Man versucht dann mit Hilfe eines passenden Skills einen Fakt zu erschaffen. Zum Beispiel wäre es passend, mit Wahrnehmung den Fakt: „Rausgerissene Kabel am Boden“ zu entdecken. Jeder teilnehmende Charakter versucht nun auch, einen Fakt zu erschaffen, und der Fakt mit dem höchsten Würfelergebnis wird zur Realität. Das Ganze macht man dann noch ein zweites Mal und muss danach auf den beiden Fakten eine Hypothese aufbauen. Weil die Charaktere natürlich die Besten der Besten sind, wird die Hypothese, die den vergleichenden Wurf gewinnt, tatsächlich zur Realität. In meiner ersten Atomic Robo-Runde hat mich das zunächst ganz schön aus dem Konzept gebracht und leider dazu geführt dass das schöne Brainstorming im Rückblick in unserer Runde eher eine Randerscheinung geblieben ist.

Die Erfindung ist ebenfalls ein elementarer Bestandteil einer wissenschaftlichen Lösung eines Storyproblems. Wie bei den Wissenschaftlern aus anderen Universen, werden innerhalb von wenigen Comicpanels gewaltige Maschinen oder kleine Gadgets herbeigezaubert, die meist einen sehr spezifischen Zweck haben (Zeitreise, Gegenmaßnahmen für unverwundbare Gegner etc.). Im Grunde genommen kann man bei der Aufgabe eine geniale Erfindung zu machen, als Action-Wissenschaftler gar nicht scheitern. Nur haben diese Erfindungen dann meist einen gewaltigen Haken wie beispielsweise zivile Opfer oder ein seltenes Material, das man erst einmal besorgen muss. Eine Erfindung zu machen, ist mechanisch gesehen sehr simpel:
•Man erklärt den Zweck des Gerätes anhand eines Funktions-Aspekts, quasi seiner Rolle in der Geschichte.
•Dann gibt man dem Gerät Möglichkeiten, die Funktion zu erfüllen und zwar in Form von Stunts bzw. Megastunts. Pro Stunt wird der Wurf, das Gerät zu erschaffen, entsprechend schwieriger.
•Am Ende muss jemand mit einer passenden Wissenschaft das Gerät dann bauen und den Fertigkeitswurf absolvieren.Wenn all das geschafft wurde, ist die Erfindung theoretisch bereit. Praktisch müssen die Spieler allerdings noch dafür bezahlen. Dies geschieht natürlich nicht in Form von Geld, sondern in Form von erzählerischen Hürden, die überwunden werden müssen, um ihr Ziel zu erreichen. Wahlweise kann auch einfach für jeden Stunt, den die Erfindung beherrscht, ein Fatepunkt in die Reserve des Spielleiters wandern oder eine Mischung aus beidem. Selbstverständlich sollte eine solche Erfindung von ausreichendem Technogebabbel begleitet werden und zahlreiche, wissenschaftliche Erklärungen beinhalten, für die sich jeder Physikprofessor sofort von einer Brücke stürzen würde. Sonst macht das Ganze doch nur halb so viel Spaß.
•Letztendlich hat jede große Erfindung natürlich auch einen oder mehrere Nachteile und diesen Aspekt zu wählen, bleibt allein dem Spielleiter vorbehalten. Er sollte so gewählt werden, dass er gut reizbar ist, wenn die Erfindung in den erzählerischen Mittelpunkt rückt.


Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung ist bei Atomic Robo in zwei verschiedene Formate gegliedert:
•E-Z-No-Math-Characters (leichte, mathefreie Variante)
•Weird Characters („seltsame“ Charaktererschaffung)

Die E-Z-No-Math-Erschaffung ist eine Sonderform der Skillpyramide, die zwar zunächst kompliziert anmutet, aber bei einem Blick auf die Charakterbögen sofort Sinn ergibt. Man wählt sich drei verschiedene Modi aus und bestimmt, welcher an erster, zweiter, oder dritter Stelle steht, um den Charakter zu definieren. Jeder Modus besteht aus einer Ansammlung von Fertigkeiten und die Standard-Modi beinhalten alle 13 Fertigkeiten, die es gibt. Die Standard-Modi sind Action, Science, Banter und Intrigue. Je nachdem, als wie wichtig man den Modus einstuft, beherrscht man die enthaltenen Fertigkeiten auf einem bestimmten Level. Gibt es noch andere Modi, in welchen dieselben Fertigkeiten vorkommen, wird die entsprechende Fertigkeit um ein bzw. zwei Level erhöht.

Zusätzlich darf man bei bestimmten Kombinationen von Modi noch einige Fertigkeiten separat um ein oder zwei Level verbessern, um sich sozusagen darauf zu spezialisieren.

Anders als bei der normalen Fate Core-Skillpyramide, ergeben sich hier recht hohe Skillwerte, die den Powerlevel der Charaktere spürbar hoch ansetzen. Zu jedem der gewählten Modi muss man sich einen passenden Aspekt aufschreiben, der die Eigenschaften des Charakters noch einmal unterstreicht. So könnte ein Charakter den Actionmodus haben, weil er: „Der letzte ehrenvolle Soldat“ ist und ein anderer, weil er „Von den Shaolin-Kampfmönchen ausgebildet“ wurde. Beide würden ihre Kampffertigkeit völlig unterschiedlich einsetzen und durch die Aspekte gänzlich andere Möglichkeiten erhalten, in Erscheinung zu treten. Weiterhin hat jeder Spieler natürlich einen Konzeptaspekt und einen sogenannten Omega-Aspekt. Einfach ein Aspekt, der den Charakter speziell macht, nicht wie im Standard-Fate Core ein Hindernis. Bei Atomic Robo ist ein Charakter eben eine Art Superheld, aber wer seine Figur gerne weniger makellos möchte, der kann natürlich auch einen Nachteil in den Omega-Aspekt einbauen. Gute Aspekte sind, wie wir wissen, ohnehin zweischneidig, allein schon, um den Fluss der Fatepunkte aufrechtzuerhalten.

Was Fatepunkte angeht, hat der Spieler so viele, wie er Aspekte auf seinem Blatt stehen hat. Das heißt also, wenn er das Spiel bereits mit einem fertigen Charakter beginnt, startet er auch mit fünf Fatepunkten.

Die Stunts machen den Spieler hier sogar noch mächtiger, denn bei Atomic Robo ist es tatsächlich egal, wie viele davon ein Charakter hat. Es gibt zwar die feste Vorgabe von fünf Stuntplätzen, allerdings gibt jeder Megastunt mehr als nur einen Stuntvorteil. Somit kann man also mehr als nur fünf Regelkniffe besitzen. Jedoch gibt jeder Vorteil über fünf dem Spielleiter einen weiteren Fatepunkt in seine Reserve und das für jeden Konflikt, an dem der Charakter teilnimmt. Die eigenen Stunts beeinflussen aber in keinster Weise den eigenen Pool an Fatepunkten. Dieser bleibt immer erhalten, egal wie viele Stunts man hat. Wie bei Fate Core startet der Spielleiter einen Konflikt mit einem Fatepunkt pro beteiligtem Spieler. Zusätzlich kann er aber aus einer Reserve Fatepunkte beziehen, die sich durch unterschiedliche Ereignisse füllt. Dieser Punkt wurde in der Vergangenheit von verschiedenen Fatespielern stark kritisiert. Apotheosis Drive X bedient sich einer ähnlichen Mechanik, die dem Spielleiter nur begrenzte Ressourcen zur Verfügung stellt.

Einige Leute sind aber der Meinung, ein Spielleiter müsse unbegrenzte Ressourcen haben, um das Spiel voranzutreiben. Aus eigener Erfahrung kann ich sagen, dass man sich mit begrenzten Ressourcen sehr viel mehr Gedanken darum macht, welche Szenenaspekte oder Fähigkeiten der Antagonisten zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt am meisten Sinn machen. Außerdem empfand ich es als befriedigender, den Spielern ihre Fatepunkte aus der Tasche zu ziehen, wenn sie danach meinen Antagonisten zur Verfügung stehen und nicht einfach in einem endlosen Pool verschwinden.

Als wenn die Charaktere noch nicht stark genug wären, gibt es natürlich auch noch die Weird Modes. Die „seltsame Charaktererschaffung“ ist nichts anderes, als ein Punktkauf-System, mit dessen Hilfe man eigene Fertigkeiten kreieren und ihnen eine Wertigkeit verleihen kann. Auf diese Art und Weise kommen dann geradezu magisch anmutende Fähigkeiten ins Spiel. Natürlich gibt es keine Magie, sondern nur Wissenschaft, aber das hält die Atomic Robo-Welt natürlich nicht davon ab, einen Psychokinese-, oder einen Geister-Modus zur Verfügung zu stellen. Mit dem Punktesystem und den Fertigkeiten einen Modus zu bauen, geht recht schnell, wenn man die Fate-Mechanik gut verstanden hat. Als Anfänger sind aber genügend Modi vorhanden, aus denen man wählen kann. Auch gibt es am Ende des Buches einige vorgefertigte Charaktere, die zum Teil aus den Comics stammen. Deren Bögen sind nicht komplett gefüllt, aber sie ergeben einen wunderbaren Startpunkt, von dem aus man schöne Modifikationen bilden kann.

Ein Weird Mode, ein „seltsamer Modus“, ist auch Voraussetzung für sogenannte Megastunts. Gigantische Kräfte wie „Unverwundbarkeit, außer bei Kryptonit“ oder andere übermenschliche Fähigkeiten werden dadurch ermöglicht. Jeder Megastunt nimmt nur einen Slot ein, kann aber mehrere Vorteile ermöglichen. Der Megastunt benötigt dazu allerdings eine „Erlaubnis“. Das heißt, man muss ihn mit einem Weird Mode erklären. Atomic Robo selbst wird hier als Beispiel angeführt. Einer seiner Megastunts heißt „nur Knarren?“ und verleiht ihm Unverwundbarkeit gegenüber normalen Schusswaffen sowie einen Rüstungswert gegen alles andere. Anhand einiger Beispiele und der vorgefertigten Weird Modes kann man ein gutes Gefühl für die Macht solcher Stunts entwickeln. Die Charaktererschaffung ist also bei Atomic Robo ziemlich einfach gehalten, auch wenn man sich vermutlich an die Modi erstmal gewöhnen muss. Die gute alte Fertigkeiten-Pyramide aus Fate Core erscheint für mich wahrscheinlich nur aus Gründen der Erfahrung einfacher.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht

Die Spielbarkeit als Spielleiter könnte einfacher nicht sein. Es gibt eine detaillierte Anleitung, wie man eine Story am besten aufbaut und worauf man sich konzentrieren sollte. Wie man Geschichten dramatisch hält und die Opposition ordentlich vorbereitet. Allem voran natürlich immer wieder die Frage: „Würdest du das in einem Comic lesen wollen?“. Wenn man dazu noch ein paar Grundsätze beachtet, die ich in meinem Weltenbau mit FATE-Artikel vertieft habe, kann eigentlich nichts schiefgehen. Es ist sogar, wie ich feststellen musste, stellenweise kontraproduktiv, wenn man sich vorher zu viel festlegt. Durch die Brainstormings entstehen mit Sicherheit andere Situationen, als die, welche man sich vorher überlegt hat. Sehr cool ist es allerdings, sich an das Atomic Robo-„Drehbuch“ zu halten und die vier Säulen für seine Geschichte zu verwenden:
1.Entdecke die Verschwörung
2.Verfolge die Verschwörung
3.Werde besiegt von der Verschwörung
4.Triumphiere über die Verschwörung

Im Prinzip genügen schon ein grobes Konzept, einige Gegenspieler und ein Startpunkt. Wenn man es geschickt anstellt, dann schreiben die Spieler die Geschichte wie von selbst.

Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

Kreative Spieler kommen voll auf ihre Kosten. Bei Atomic Robo werden dem Spieler nur wenige Grenzen gesetzt und im Rahmen seiner Rolle in der Geschichte kann ein Charakter einfach alles ermöglichen oder versauen. Die Spielbarkeit ist aus Spielersicht flüssig, interessant und fordernd. Man kann die Geschichte niemals einfach laufen lassen, sich darauf verlassen, dass die Spielleitung sich schon was ausgedacht hat und ab und zu mal würfeln. Natürlich darf man es mit den Fäden in der Hand nicht übertreiben, denn dann wird eine interessante Geschichte schnell zum langweiligen Lückenfüller.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Atomic Robo kostet zurzeit 15 USD und ist mit seinen 320 Seiten durchaus auch mehr wert. Selbst wenn es scheint, als ob die Story zu kurz käme, sind die liebevoll umgesetzten Erklärungen im Comic-Stil und das wahnsinnig witzige Setting den Preis wert.


Erscheinungsbild

Atomic RoboDas Layout der bekannten Fate Core-Publikationen wurde auch bei Atomic Robo beibehalten. Allerdings ist das ganze Buch durchsetzt von Comicpanels und einer Comic-Schriftart, in welcher die meisten Infoboxen geschrieben sind. Es wirkt dadurch um einiges lebendiger und wesentlich interessanter für das Auge. Die PDF-Qualität ist hervorragend und die Auflösung hoch genug, um auch auf einem etwas älteren 7-Zoll-Tablet noch problemlos lesbar zu sein.


Bonus/Downloadcontent

Uns ist kein weiterer Content bekannt.

Fazit

Atomic Robo bedient sich auf herrliche Art und Weise dem Fate Core-System. Es gibt kreative Ansätze und Neuerungen wie das Brainstorming, aber auch aus dem Toolkit bekannte Varianten wie die Skillsets, die hier Modi heißen.

Für meinen Geschmack ist diese Version von FATE schon fast ein wenig zu crunchig und auf Werte fixiert, allerdings ist das natürlich immer persönlicher Geschmack und kann sehr leicht anders empfunden werden. Die Story kommt in dem dicken Werk leider ein wenig zu kurz, doch die umfassende Anleitung, wie man selbst seine Geschichte in dem Setting erstellt, ist einfach gut. Selbst da ich keinen der Comics vorher gekannt habe, schaffte es das Buch, mich dafür zu begeistern. Wenn man noch nie zuvor Fate Core gespielt hat, ist es vermutlich das beste Werk, um es zu lernen. Die Comicbeispiele, um Regelmechaniken zu erklären, sollten ab sofort per Gesetz in jedem Rollenspielbuch der Welt verwendet werden!

Kurz gesagt: Goldmedaille mit Abzügen in der B-Note.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Atomic Robo RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jason H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2014 11:10:32
First disclaimer: The author, Richard Bellingham, was my GM for several campaigns when I was a student and I've kept in touch with him a little over the decade since as a friend. However, I wasn't aware that he was writing this book until I saw a message from Evil Hat Productions about it.

Second disclaimer: I haven't actually played any FATE games, but have bought pdf copies of Atomic Robo, then subsequently FATE Core and FATE Accelerated to read through.

With that in mind, I did very much enjoy reading this book and would like to play it one day. It's 57 or so pages, but doesn't feel that long. I mean that as a compliment. My main impression throughout the pdf was that the content was presented clearly and simply, without too much in the way of clutter or repetition. The layout and artwork are clean and clear, backing up the impression of it not being a long, weighty book. It also makes it very easy to read on a tablet.

There are a few areas that could benefit from more detail or expansion. The description of Silver Ford and its people and places is perhaps slightly too brief, and could do with a little more from the cat's perspective. The Complications and Threats being bundled together as partly but not entirely an addendum to the sample adventure seems a lost opportunity for a more detailed section (or sections) on the sorts of Complications and Threats that cats might face generally. Most of the writing on how to create characters and how to play cats are well written and stocked with enough examples to get anyone going, though.

I'm not sure how long a campaign you'd get out of playing cats, but there's enough here for more than just the odd one-shot session. All in all, I'd say it's a good read and likely very good value for money.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2014 12:22:10
I have been running Fate Core for a year now, and have done everything from steampunk to medieval fantasy. It is a very clear system that is INCREDIBLY easy to adjust to your liking (such as converting to 2d6 instead of fudge dice, adding magic as stunts, adapting it to an Attrubute-Skill type system, etc.). It truly is generic, but requires a little bit of work on the part of the GM to make it fit the genre or to simply redo the system but keep base mechanics. All-in-all, it is a great system.

Likes:
>Easy to adjust to liking from lethality, to skills, to using attributes, etc.
>Very character driven, which is a nice change of pace from more "numbers driven" generic systems like GURPS
>Can be minimized and maximized as a system, making it able to range from rules lite to rules heavy

Dislikes:
>Requires a bit of adjusting before playing, especially if you are not quite as fond of the dice mechanics as others

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 05:17:22
If you've owned a cat, you've wondered what the hell it is they do all day and night. Neil Gaiman has touched on the role cats play in defending our homes (The Price), now this game takes that idea and runs with it, screaming, into the night.

The quality of this product is outstanding. Art is excellent throughout, layout is clean and easy on the eye - as you'd expect from an Evil Hate FATE product. You've got the Parliament of Cats (an idea so wonderful it's worth the price of admission alone), feline sorcery (from which we learn just why it is we find those dead birds and mice around our houses). You've got a complete setting and starter scenario. And all in 48 pages. It really shows just how powerful and flexible the FATE system is that you can pack this much stuff into such a small package without compromising on, well, anything.

Oh and us humans? We're merely burdens.

Long and short, this is a 48-page gem. If you're supporting this on Patreon you've got a few pages of extra content that flesh a couple of things out: some sources of inspiration from literature, film, and TV; some random tables for generating everything from your cat itself through to the scenario you're going to play (and the fantastic "What stupid thing did my Burden do _now_?" table which includes entries like "Adopted a Stray Dog (that turned out to be evil)" and "Shared Personal Info Online"). Nice touch about the add-on? Page numbering continues straight from this product here.

Apparently, Evil Hat are working to bring this one to print and it might even get expanded further.

When my current 13th Age game comes to an end, I'm running this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
by Drew N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2014 09:25:05
Loads of good ideas for creating custom FATE mechanics and settings.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dresden Files RPG: Our World KINDLE/NOOK Editions
by Devon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2014 09:49:23
First off, I want to say that I'm thrilled that they decided to put out an epub version of the book. I love epub books. The format is very versatile and minimal, perfect for viewing on almost any device at the table. That said, I think a bit more care should have been put into creating this one.

This review is only for the epub version of the book. I have a NOOK HD+ and I loaded this epub onto it to use at the table while playing. I loaded the book on and started to scroll through the book to preview what was in it. The book seemed to have all the material I'd seen in my friend's physical book, but I was baffled why they didn't include any stats for the monsters in it. And then, I realized they did, but my NOOK was only showing about half the stat block.

I opened the book in Calibre and saw that all the stat blocks are included and showing up completely in Calibre, but for some reason, not on my NOOK. Wondering what was happening, I decided to open up the epub file and take a look at the files to figure out what was going on.

The tag soup I found is a mess, but seems to work so I don't think that's a reason to rate this product low. What is a reason is that there are TABLE tags used for the stat blocks. It's the TABLE tags that are preventing the text in the stat blocks to be visible on my NOOK since they prevent the reflowing of the text. I am in the process of replacing all the TABLE tags with DIV tags in the file in the hopes that will allow me to use this product as I want to use it. All the information I want seems to be there, but it's really inaccessible on my NOOK at this time.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dresden Files RPG: Our World KINDLE/NOOK Editions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for letting us know. I\'ve passed it along.
Our eBook specialist says he\'s going to just go ahead and re-do both books (we\'ll update them here so everyone who\'s previously purchased will get the updates) without tables. That\'s a lot of work, so it\'s a few months out, but wanted to let you know. Thanks again.
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Lolita V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2014 07:17:27
I grabbed my copy of The Secrets of Cats as soon as I saw it on Drive Thru RPG, the cover and title convinced me I had to read this before I even noticed it was an official Fate Core world by Evil Hat Productions. The Secrets of cats offers a fun and original setting for Fate Core and I am sure I’ll be testing this setting as it sounds like a fun setting for a Fate campaign.

This Fate world book has a different build-up and order of chapters then Venture City and it’s obvious it’s written by a different author, but that was part of the fun. Just like Venture City I would recommend reading the Fate Core book first to get a feel for the system, as this book doesn’t contain explanations of basic Fate concepts.

The Secrets of Cats is an original setting where instead of humans or humanoids the players play cats and most of the NPC’s are sentient animals as well. Humans play a very different role in this world, they are called Burdens and their cats protect them from all kind of magical and weird things that are out there. I thought it was such a fun an dgreat idea to have the players play cats and it add a very different dynamic to this setting and gives it a very original feel!

This book contains chapters that deal with character creation, an example setting and some example NPC’s. Beside that there is also a unique magic system that can be adapted to other settings as well and the magic is very different from what I’ve seen so far in fate, but I really liked it. I did think the magic system was a bit comlicated and would have liked a few more pages about it. Also the example story gives you enough materials to function as a one shot standalone campaign, but can also be sued as the start of a longer running campaign and there are even tips on how the expand the setting, complicate things a bit or to use it as start of a longer campaign. I thought this was a nice addition as I usually prefer running longer campaigns and this book gave enough building blocks to give you a sense of what dangers or story plots to throw in such a campaign.

I would’ve liked to see some more examples for possible compels or aspects as I am noticing I find that one of the more difficult parts of fate. On the other hand there where a lot of premade stunts, the stunts where very diverse and ordered by Skill and I think any player could have enough possible stunts to choose from if using this book only, but they also give a good idea of how to come up with your own stunts.

To conclude: I was hooked the first time I heard of this setting and I love the original idea of having the players play cats instead of humanoids. It adds a nice flavour to the game and combined with the example setting and an unique magic system this book provides a lot of material to get your started with your own campaign. All in all this sounds like a fun setting and I can’t wait to play a campaign in this world!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 13:50:50
Am I allowed to just say "Awesome"?

Ok,

The Good:
~A truly unique view of gaming, a simple streamlined rules system that ACTUALLY gets out of the way of play (unless you actually want it to). Absolute flexibility, utter and complete COOPERATIVE control over the entire game.
~Super-simple, Super-flexible rule system, that is VERY easy to learn and run.
~Very well presented, I noticed only a very few minor grammatical errors, and no major presentation flaws.

The Bad:
~Well.... I guess the "in-game" examples could have been pulled from multiple genres (throughout) to give a BIT more breadth of how the various systems work...

The Ugly:
~Jargon. People, seriously! There are (really) basically 3 main parts to the rules system, but to introduce the game to my group I had to type up a 3 PAGE crib sheet so they'd understand what the hell I was talking about... YEESH!! (and the sad part of that is that in *several* places they talk about having dropped a bit of jargon here or there because "maybe it was a bit much".... Oi!)
~I will also note this - if you have a group of "jerks" this game could be a real nightmare to run.... If party members really just like to jockey for attention and "play pranks" on fellow players, unfortunately this game would be an absolute gold mine... no diamond mine for them (so GM's beware)

The rest of the story:
~This system really lends itself to pretty much all manner of gaming (pick-up, casual, serious, and long-term). It also would be a fairly easy translation of any other system to this one... ignore stats, (if you want to) break skills down to types or "meta-groups", and the rest is just aspects, stunts, and extras.... very little work would need to be done, and you get to play a super-simple game designed for PLAYING!
~I didn't much care for the art... but I'm not really an art critic so maybe that's just me...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2014 18:33:41
I got a copy and immediately read through it. (Note: this is not something I do often - I still haven't read through all of the books I got when Core came out!) It looks like great fun for a lighthearted story, but I can also visualize a longer-term campaign dealing with serious and dark issues as well. I'm happy to be a supporter and I'm definitely going to get a print copy when it comes out. The setting has sparked my interest in running Fate for my friends and I look forward to seeing additional game supplements from Mr. Bellingham and Evil Hat.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/04/2014 08:18:48
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/09/04/tabletop-review-the-sec-
rets-of-cats-fate-core-system/

It’s been a good year for Evil Hat Productions and Cat based RPGs. Atomic Robo: The Roleplaying Game is one of the best new titles of 2014 and by far my favorite use of the Fate Core System so far. Meanwhile, 2014 has also been the year of RPG with cat based protagonists. Cathulhu for Chaosium’s Call of Cthulhu was remixed and released as a supplement. We’ve also seen Call of Catthulhu Deluxe get released (although I am still waiting on my physical box set of the game!) which is a more newcomer/family friendly game that Cathulhu. Heck, earlier this month Strays (which uses the Fate Accelerated Engine) was funded over at Kickstarter. So if you’re in the mood for taking on the role of an animal trying to stop nefarious types and creepy crawlies, you’re got a lot of options right now.

The Secrets of Cats was crowdfunded via Patreon which is crowdfunding along the lines of regular payments ala NPR or PBS rather than a single lump sum in the way one funds on Kickstarter or Indiegogo. Currently Evil Hat has 644 patreons, which means they’re bringing in a little over $2,500 per Patreon release if you just use the minimum suggest amount of four dollars. Now I bring this up only because if that is all Evil Hat raised for The Secrets of Cats I am SHOCKED, because the art alone is some of the best I’ve seen in a RPG this year and the writing is pretty top notch too. So although this is currently a “Pay What You Want” piece that you can get for free if you choose to be a skinflint, this fifty-two page supplement for Fate Core really does deserve to have a MSRP of at least twice the suggested rate because it’s that fantastic.

Let me get the praise for the art of the way right now. The wonderful cartoon designs of Crystal Frasier really made this piece come to life for me. It’s cartoony and yet dark at the same time. I felt the book gave off a modern, friendlier Ralph Bakshi meets Cartoon Network style and the art alone will make you want to throw money at Evil Hat for this supplement – even if you don’t own the core Fate Core System book. I normally try to avoid making any reference to the name of a specific creator or artist in a review because I’m critiquing the body of work rather than a specific person, but the art in The Secrets of Cats is some of the best and most original I’ve seen in a RPG all year and I will be shocked and horribly dismayed if this isn’t on our short list for the “Best Art” award come the end of the year. So yes, buy this thing just for the art and then go back and get the Fate Core System handbook. It’s that good.

So let’s talk about the meat of the supplement now. As this is a supplement, you will need the core rulebook for Fate. Make sure it is Fate Core and NOT Fate Accelerated as they are two slightly different systems ala AD&D 2e and Basic D&D. You can still make The Secrets of Cats work with Fate Accelerated but it does take some work on the part of the GM. The supplement does assume you already have Fate Core and are familiar with the both the rules and jargon of the game, so if you pick this up without it, you might find some (well, a lot) of the text in the character creation section to be gobblygook.

Part 1 is “The Duty of Cats” which serves an introduction to the supplement’s concepts and themes. In like most games with animal protagonists, the cats in The Secrets of Cats are actually protecting the world, and specifically humans, whom they call “burdens” from the secret evils that lurk in the shadows. Spirits, dark fae, boogeymen and other fiendish thingies are all real, but mankind (burdenkind?) are oblivious to. There is also the concept of sapient animals, which follows Descartian philosophy. It’s odd that the text states that sapient thought can vary wildly between species. Some (humans, cats, crows and raven) are almost all sapient but then dogs, squirrels and mice are mostly instinctual. I would have liked some insight as to why those species were chosen as examples of each, but I didn’t get it. The good thing is that is someone REALLY wants to play a chicken hawk or a gerbil, they pretty much can with this supplement. Examples of sapient owls, bats and rabbits are given in the text, but remember – the game is primarily about cats, even though I like the option of a rabbit protagonist. You also learn that cat based magic relies heavily on sacrificing other life forms. This might squick some people out and I’m sure the Jack Chick type people of the world will point at this aspect as proof that “RPGS AM SATAN WORSHIP,” but it makes sense in the context of the game and why cats sometimes kill things without eating them. Of course, there’s no correlation for how an herbivore would use magic, but this is The Secrets of Cats after all. Perhaps if this does well enough, we’ll get an additional supplement for other species.

Part 2 is “The Naming of Cats” and it is purely character creation. Again, newcomers might be a little lost here, especially if this is their first exposure to Fate, but people who have played any other version of the game will plow right through this as it is almost instinctual. Making a cat character is very similar to a regular Fate character except The Secrets of Cats> has its own magic system and some slight modifications. The section gives you some reminders on cats and how they are not human, so they see and hear things differently, can’t read and are easily distracted. You have to pick your High Concept (personality), your Trouble (character flaw) and your Burden (Human or humans you protect). You pick your skills, each with a rating of +4 to +0. If you are new to Fate each + in your skill is an automatic success. So if you have a +3 in Investigate and you need five successes for a specific action. You only need to get two more +s from your die roll. If you have a +0 in Investigate, well, you’re in for a harder time as you only get four dice to roll. It’s not impossible though!

You have four types of magic: Warding, Seeking, Naming and Shaping. They’re all pretty self-explanatory and you can learn more than one sphere of magic. However, you can only master a single sphere. Master of a sphere get some exclusives stunts and spells, so it’s worth doing at some point. You don’t HAVE to do it at character creation time. Stunts are essentially your special abilities and talents. You get three regular stunts relating to your non-magic skills and another three magic stunts. So your character is pretty well rounded from the start. There is no discussion on character advancement in this supplement so I have to assume it is the same as in regular Fate Core.

Part 3 is “Silver Ford” and it’s the campaign setting for this supplement. Silver Ford is a small tourist resort town in Maine which happens to have more than its fair share of ghosts. This section is really short, details some story seeds and primary locations for the town, but really, it’s just window dressing for Part 4.

Part 4 is “Black Silver” and it is both the adventure and the majority of this supplement’s page count. The adventure is about a vengeful old ghost who is awakened when some stupid kids go into its abandoned silver mine and steal nuggets from its corpse. The ghosts ends up taking control of the albino rat colony in the mine and…becomes something unpleasant. The cats of the town must discover what is behind the strange occurrences in Silver Ford and how to shut them down. It’s a pretty straight forward adventure. It’s somewhat linear and definitely comes across a bit hand-holding, but honestly, that’s how first adventures for a setting/system SHOULD be. It lets the PCs and GM alike learn the mechanics of the game without having to tax themselves too much. The cast and crew of “Black Silver” are a lot of fun and many of you might decide to set further adventures in this location instead of making it a one-shot. If that is the case you’ll be happy to know there are some extra story seeds and dangling threads at the end of the adventure to let you do just that. There are found in Part 5 – “Threats and Complications.”

Overall,The Secrets of Cats is fantastic and left me wanting more, even though I probably won’t get it. The concept is a fun one, even if we’re being hit with a deluge of cat oriented RPGs this year and the artwork really makes this supplement stand out. I do wish there was a little more substance here as there is a lot more than can be done with the ideas presented here. As a freebie, this is a no-brainer. However I do have to strongly suggest that you throw SOME money towards Evil Hat (and not just because they’re local to the Washington D.C. area as well) because it’s that well done. I’m looking forward to seeing what else comes from Evil Hat’s Patreon project because if the other releases are half as good as this one, they’ve got a winning formula other companies are going to start duplicating.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Duncan U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 19:53:28
I'm not usually one to buy a PDF role play game; especially on the back of an email notification for a game system that I have never played before, but...I love this supplement. The system is quick and simple and looks very playable; the abilities and descriptions of powers are both amusing and thought provoking. The artwork is fantastic, bringing to life the mysterious feel of magic wielding felines and the world of challenges that they face. The writing is slick and the characters introduced so far are compelling and I just want to meet them all for real. Please make more supplements and bring out a hard-back version because I am hooked (the cats demand nothing less).

=^•.•^=

On a more serious note, I will now not be able to look at my 15 year old ginger queen in quite the same way ever again (I am sorry that I am a burden to you Alderney and I am grateful for your protection).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Daniel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 13:36:09
Some 10 years ago I wrote a small rpg called "Meet the Katze" for the wedding of two gamer friends who love cats. You played sentient cats that fight for territory, protect their humans, and had many adventures. It used a ball of wool with knots instead of dice. ;-)

Anyways, here I can learn how to do this setting correctly, and with Fate!
I love the general idea, I love all the small little things that just are "so cat", I love the implementation of the rules, I love "The Secrets of Cats".

A wonderful little game that I'll definitely play with my kids ...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Venture City Stories • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Lolita V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 08:30:54
As soon as I came across Venture City, I knew I had to give it a try. After reading Fate Core and the Fate Toolkit I was interested in reading about some different settings, so I can learn the system better and learn more about the possibilities. Also while I love building my own setting, there are times when you just don't have the time or energy to make your own setting and this book is perfect for those instances.

For such a short book Venture City is full of information. Basically it's whole setting with a premade possible campaign, premade NPC's, organizations, aspects, superpowers and possible PC's. It gives you everything you need to start playing a campaign with almost no preparation except reading this book, but on the other hand also hands you the tools to make the setting your own. I liked the build-up of this book, first some general chapters about the setting and possible issues then factions, places and people followed by character creation and superpowers and it ends with some sample characters. Interwoven in each chapter there are pieces for the premade session.

It's a pretty short and easy read and still gives you a lot of materials to work with. I especially liked the part about superpowers and how they show a simple system for this by basically seeing superpowers as something build up from multiple stunts and then with a drawback and something extra. It gave a nice dynamic and the explanation is clear enough so you can easily start making your own superpowers.

I didn't expect much from the setting itself, I mean a city with multiple factions and superpowers for sale just didn't sound like my idea of a fun setting. But during reading I actually found myself liking the setting more than expected and I might actually use this setting for a possible campaign or one-shot or maybe use some elements from this book. I actually liked the idea of having a campaign take place in and around one major city. I also liked the urban fantasy feel this setting gave me and the feel reminded me a bit of some urban fantasy books I read.

One minpoint from this book is the fact that to me it seemed a bit short. There are some instances and corporations, but for a long running campaign it feels like you need more. I just couldn't see how you could use this setting for a long running campaign, but then again this seems to be a problem I have more often. I can think of begin settings, but always wonder if there's enough material for a long campaign, so maybe that's just me. Also I think that if you want to use this setting as a basis you just have to add a few of your own ideas and use this as a basis.

To conclude: this book is a great supplement to Fate. You do need to have read the Fate Core book before starting this as it doesn't explain the rules of the system. Venture City offers a nice setting, premade campaign and some premade NPC's and PC ideas. Or you can use this book as building blocks for your own campaign, think up your own story and add your own ideas. All in all a great book and I am looking forward to read the other settings these authors will come up with!

Review originally posted on Lola's Reviews: http://lolasreviews.com/review-venture-city-by-brian-engard--
and-tazio-bettin/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venture City Stories • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 174 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates