DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Valiant Universe RPG Quick Start Rules: Featuring Unity
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2014 11:02:14
Have you seen the new quick start rules for Valiant Universe RPG? I have. They made me reminisce on some of my early RPG days. In high school we role-played like it was our life. I can't tell you how much D&D we played. We also played Marvel Super Heroes, Rifts, and even a little bit of DC mingled its way in. We had countless night where we would sneak out of our respective houses and meet up to play in a tent. Yes, I said a tent. Which didn't do so well in the winter, but we managed to find a barn. There wasn't any heat at first but we made it work.

Valiant Universe RPG isn't storytelling, it's more like dating the story.

Read the full review here http://gamer-goggles.com/?p=8207

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valiant Universe RPG Quick Start Rules: Featuring Unity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Run & Gun
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/09/2014 16:21:57
Shadowrun: Run and Gun provides tools and tricks for the working shadowrunner. Do you need this book? Unless you are running a very combat oriented game, probably not, but it sure has a lot of fun toys and options in it. The rule options can be extremely detailed and are not going to be needed for most games and styles of play, but they are an interesting reference and provide interesting ideas and adventure seeds. As a GM, I would definitely put this book on the list of things to have to scare players with.

Shadowrun: Run and Gun, is the first major sourcebook for the 5th edition of Shadowrun providing more toys for the players (and GMs), not just guns but armor, explosives, tactics, martial arts and hazardous environments all get explored in this book. There should be something for just about everyone (but especially the GM).

The book begins with one of the ubiquitous fiction sections, then a (in game world) discussion on weapons followed by the weapons themselves, this section is call Arsenal naturally, everything from chainsaws to flamethrowers, crossbows to lasers, something for everyone. Additionally there are rules for customization of weapon and new things to customize them with. Overall, a good expansion of the available options for weaponry including more nonlethal choices.

Followed by a section on Armor & Protection, to keep you from being killed by all the new weapons . . . Much of it is armored fashion which provides some interesting insight into the Shadowrun world with some in game world discussion on how best to use armor and style to your best advantage. Also included are various forms of unusual environment protection (including space suits) and new options for armor. Again, a nice broadening of options.

Next, there is Tactics & Tools, which discussion the place of combat tactics with a basic overview of small unit tactics, how various groups apply them and some rules to give mechanical advantages to those groups that follow trained tactics. Additionally some gear to enhance tactical options, including tactical communications networks is provided. Killshots & More provides options to adjust the combat rules for greater or lesser lethality, expanding rules for called shots and combat actions and new qualities. Rule for martial art styles are provided which in turn allow access to additional types of combat actions and other coolness.

Staying Alive is all about environmental hazards and how to survive them (or not) from extreme heat to bone chilling cold, radiation to vacuum with appropriate new qualities to help runners do one or the other. Then, Blow Up Good provides advanced demolition rules for blowing up everything from people to building as well as rules for making your own explosives (don’t glitch!).

It ends as it began with another fiction piece and then tables, lots of them, covering everything from the earlier chapters and the core book as well. All of the weapons! And a handy cheat sheet for the new combat options.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Run & Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Run & Gun
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2014 06:30:19
Run and Gun contains many of the same ideas that Augmentation provided in the previous edition. Players always appreciate new gear to use, and the rules for explosives seem appropriate given the setting. I feel, however, that too much space is used on rare scenarios like extreme pollution or radiation poisoning. The book even expresses that these scenarios are rare, so why is it taking the time to explore them? Of course, more material is always better than less, but I think more time spent detailing the particulars of how small-unit tactics function and less on the damage of inhaling toxic smoke would be more appropriate.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
by Adrian J. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2014 08:38:13
As it had been a while, I took the opportunity to re-read Another Rainy Night (if you haven't done so, do it) first, to refresh my memory and set the stage for SASS. I think that SASS is an excellent continuation of the story and I'm quite looking forward to the next installment. I really enjoyed how the author has integrated the presence of magic with a sense of the unknown. Despite magic being a pervasive element with the Shadowrun universe, there is still a sense of unknown...something that is truly alien to most people. There were a couple of "logic leaps" that I felt could have been better detailed, but given the size constraints of the story, understood. Character development was solid (though not as strong as ANR) and the stage has been nicely set for the finale. Overall an excellent read and a great addition to the setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Missions: Critic's Choice (5A-02)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/05/2014 06:20:41
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/05/05/tabletop-review-shadowr-
un-missions-5a-02-critics-choice/

Feetal’s Gizz! Has it really been seven full months between Chasin’ the Wind and the next installment of this season’s Shadowrun Missions? It sure has, but worry not, for it has been worth the wait! As you might recall, this season of Shadowrun Missions is taking place in Chicago. Chi-Town. The Windy-City. BUG CITY. That’s right, you’re smack dab in one of the creepiest locations in the Sixth World for the long haul chummers, so get strapped in and let your paranoia run wild because, when it doubt, it’s probably being possessed, manipulated or controlled by Insect Spirits.

Shadowrun Missions are by far my favorite line of adventures currently being published, and Critic’s Choice is a perfect example of way. The adventures are designed to be played in one or two sessions (generally a four hour block, which is perfect for tournaments at conventions). The format these adventures are laid out in are organized in such a fashion that even a neophyte GM can run one of these with little to no problem. Everything you need, from enemy stats to specific die rolls needed, are listed in each scene. Veterans GMs will also find ways to tweak the difficulty and possibly save the runners if they get in over their heads. I should also mention each Mission is (usually) in full colour, and with a price tag of only $5.95, you’re getting an incredible deal. Why Shadowrun fans don’t pick up each and every one of these whenever they are released is beyond me. You can play each one as a one shot, or you can string the set together as one drawn out campaign. Of course, with the gaps of time between adventures, you should probably wait until the season is complete before going that route.

There’s so much to love about Critic’s Choice. It introduces a fun cast of characters for your players to interact with – many of which will no doubt be showing up in later adventures this season. You have a rat shaman gang leader, an up and coming fixer, an ugly elven pit fighter, a kind hearted street doc who might actually be as benevolent as he seems, and a collection of lunatics who live, breathe and cosplay the vidtrid Neil the Orc Barbarian in overzealous fashion. It’ll be interesting to see which of these turns out to working for the Bugs (ALL OF THEM! ALL OF THEM I TELL YOU!).

The adventure is a pretty unique one as far as Shadowrun affairs go. First, you’re actually clearly wearing the white hat with this run. Your mission is to extract some documents from a long abandoned building so a doctor can claim it as his. Once it is, he can turn it into a new clinic which is closer to the containment zone and can thus help a lot of people in need, especially those living next to a Ghoul warren. There’s also a scene where you can optionally take down a gang who accosts and murders people to feed to ghouls. Yes, lots of ghoul references in this one. Of course, the mission isn’t a cakewalk. Once you get to the building in question, you’ll find it is currently being squatted in by a group of people who mean no harm and, aside from being obviously insane, are just trying to get by in one of the most horrible places on Earth. Is there a way the squatters and the doc can both get what they want/need from this situation? Definitely – as long as your team isn’t the type to shoot first and second. I absolutely loved that you can get through Critic’s Choice without a single shot being fired or blade having to be pulled. Although it’s not likely, this adventure can be 100% combat free. I’ve been playing Shadowrun since the first edition FASA days, and I honestly think this is the first adventure that allows for this. That’s pretty cool. Of course, that doesn’t mean there aren’t planned combat scenes in Critic’s Choice – just that you can avoid them. Most of the combat is pretty straightforward though, and shouldn’t give the PCs much of a challenge. Don’t worry though, this is just the second adventure of the season after all. By the time the PCs are done, they and their players should feel good about themselves and the work they have done for Chicago. It’s rare you get a run that isn’t super murky ethics and morality-wise, but I’m sure down the road we’ll see that the clinic you helped will be implanted bug spirits or be a Technomancer abattoir or something. It’s the Sixth World after all.

Overall, I really loved Critic’s Choice. I thoroughly enjoyed that the setup and each of the eight scenes that comprised this adventure included a reference to a line or song title from the musical Chicago. I loved how unique this adventure was in terms of setup and follow through. I really felt this would make a wonderful first adventure for people to learn Shadowrun with, be they new to the system or gaming as a whole. The scenes are short, and each provides a good cut-off point if you can’t finish the piece in a single session. The dice roll needs are on the low end. Combat is short and sweet, and much of the adventure is talking rather than shooting. All of these things should really help a newcomer learn Shadowrun, Fifth Edition quite nicely. Shadowrun is a pretty mechanics heavy system in the first place, and some other adventures might overwhelm or intimidate a less experienced gamer. So out of everything available for 5e so far, Critic’s Choice is definitely the best option for getting your feet wet with the Sixth World. If you don’t have the core rulebook for 5e, that shouldn’t be a problem, as you can still learn the game via this, the free Quick Start Rules and many a person willing to teach you the ropes at your local brick and mortar store, via Skype or Google Hangouts.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Missions: Critic's Choice (5A-02)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Valiant Universe RPG Quick Start Rules: Featuring Unity
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/02/2014 08:03:17
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/05/02/tabletop-review-valiant-
-universe-rpg-quick-start-rules-featuring-unity/

Although a lot of gamers got their start with Dungeons & Dragons, my first tabletop RPG was actually a different TSR game – Marvel Super Heroes. The FASERIP system was a lot of fun, very easy to learn (even in single digits of age) and I loved the random character generation process. The game still remains one of my favorites to this day. Another classic Super Hero RPG was Mayfair’s DC Heroes Role Playing Game. It had one of the best super hero character building systems ever and the mechanics were solid. For over thirty years, these two games have been the measuring stick with what I judge other super hero games, be they Champions, Mutants and Masterminds, Heroes Unlimited, later terrible incarnations of Marvel games I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy, TMNT and other Strangeness, Villains and Vigilantes and more.

Now however, we have Valiant Universe RPG. I’ll be honest as much as I was DC and Marvel fans as a kid, the 90s brought me Valiant comics and it quickly became my favorite universe. Shadowman by Bob Hall and Steve Englehart. Rai by Bob Layton and David Michelinie. Harbinger by Jim Shooter. X-O Manowar, Ninjak, Quantum and Woody, and more! Valiant picked up the best writers and artists from comics and gave us the best cohesive universe I’d ever seen. Alas, it died off almost as quickly as it was born, for which I personally blame Acclaim Entertainment (Yes, the video game company. It’s a long story) and for more than a decade the characters of Valiant lay dormant save for those owned by Gold Key Studios. You can’t keep a good thing down though and about two years ago, Valiant came back with a vengeance – rebooting everything, but sticking to what made it work in the first place – collecting the best storytellers and artists in comics and delivering a universe full of continuity and characterization. I have pullbox subscriptions for every comic they put out and if you look at my list of comics I picked up in April you’d see it consist of 9 Valiant, 7 DC, 4 Marvel and 1 IDW. So as you can tell, I’ve been a Valiant fan since the dawn of its first incarnation, as well as a long time role-player, so Valiant Universe RPG was something I’ve been waiting a long time for.

Unlike most games, which only put out a single set of Quick Start Rules to entice buyers to pick up the real thing, Catalyst Game Labs is actually doing a set of SIX, which each one covering a different facet of the Valiant universe. This first QSR release covers a very simplified version of the rules and Unity. May through July will see a whopping FIVE QSR releases on the Harbinger Wars event that ran last year, each covering a different faction in that fight: Bloodshot, Generation Zero, The Harbinger Foundation, The Renegades and H.A.R.D. Corps. That’s a pretty interesting way to build hype for a brand new game and it will be interesting to see if it works or not. Besides this set of six PDFs, there will also be a physical Quick Start Rules set available at your local brick and mortar stores on Free RPG Day 2014. If that’s not enough the Core Rulebook for Valiant Universe RPG will be available digitally on July 5th and physically in August (probably later in real life because that’s how our industry rolls). I’m really impressed by CGL and Valiant’s game plan for this new RPG and I can’t deny out of all the new systems scheduled for 2014, this has been the one I’ve been most excited for (Sorry Pirates & Dragons).

Of course just because a game has a license with a large fandom behind it doesn’t mean the game is going to be a good one. For every Ghosts of Albion or Bram Stoker’s Dracula, there is a Know Your Role or Street Fighter RPG that is pretty terrible. So where does Valiant Universe RPG fall? Well, it’s impossible to tell from a twenty-six page set of Quick Start Rules. These are a simplified bare bones version of the real thing after all. I will say that the game looks exceedingly promising. At first glance, the Cue System (the mechanics for Valiant Universe RPG) seems to be a mix of Savage Worlds (Yay!) and Cortex (Boo!).

It’s very interesting that unlike most games which have a designated DM/GM/Keeper/Storyteller/what have you, every player takes a turn at being the Lead Narrator. This is an unusual choice as most gaming groups have one or two people that are good or like to run the game while the others just want to play as characters. The upside to this is everyone gets a chance to run things and at no time will there ever be the threat of “GMs vs Players” which ruins so many games. It also means that the game is unique in that adventures are a group creation where everyone contributes to the storytelling instead of just being along for the ride. There are downsides though, like when a person who sucks at GM’ing is up for the Lead Narrator role. As well, it means that due to the “telephone” like nature of Lead Narration the adventure may turn out totally differently from how it was originally intended. This isn’t a bad thing on its own, but it does mean you won’t see people spend time crafting and honing their own homebrew adventures. I can’t even begin to imagine how published adventures will work with this style of GM’ing. This doesn’t put me off though. If anything, it has me all the more curious for the final version. As well, the text clearly states you can run Valiant Universe RPG with a single Lead Narrator like any other game, so if the new idea doesn’t pan out, go back to basics!

There are no rules for character creation in this set of Quick Start Rules, which is fine. I am curious if there will be any, or if it will be more like the Cortex Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game where you only play as established canon characters. In this set of QSRs, you get four playable PCs, which are the original members of Unity. You have Toyo Harada, Gilad Anni-Padda – the Eternal Warrior, Ninjak (YES!) and Livewire. It makes sense to start with a team based group as a solo character like Shadowman would be a poor choice for a QSR, while an awesome choice for a solo adventure. Choosing Unity also made some of the biggest names in Valiant playable right off the bat, so this was a great choice overall, even if my favorite current Valiant Comic (Archer & Armstrong) won’t have its characters show up in any of the planned QSR sets.

The adventure for this Unity set follows this first story arc of Unity almost to the letter. The team is gathered to takedown X-O Manowar, who has recently taken over Romania and given it back to the Visigoths. Russia is planning a nuclear strike as nothing else seems has even made Aric of Dacia flinch, but Harada knows that will be disastrous for the entire world. As such, he has gathered a powerful group of heroes to save the day. Of course, if you have read the comics, you know that things don’t run smoothly. I won’t spoil the adventure, but I will say it is a lot of fun and that it is one of the best conversions from comic to tabletop I’ve ever seen. Of course, this does not mean you’re on rails to follow the comic storyline exactly. There are some examples in the text of how wildly divergent the adventure can stray from the comics up. This was very well done, but I do admit I hope to see some original adventures for characters down the road. Just following a comic arc makes sense for a QSR set as it is something Valiant fans will already be familiar with and can follow without having to strain their creative muscles too much. It would be dull if every adventure was based on a previously written comic book though.

So let’s talk playing the game. Again, these are not the final rules for the game, but simplified QSR mechanics. Each character has five core stats: Might (Strength and Stamina), Intellect, Charisma, Action (Fighting ability) and Luck. Luck is a solid non mutable number for each character. For example, Ninjak has 9 while Harada has 3. The other four stats are assigned a die. A stat will either have a D4, D6, D8, D10 or D12 attached to it, with the higher die representing more potential power. When a character has to make a roll. The player rolls the die corresponding to that trait and a d12. The two results are added together. The Lead Narrator then makes an opposing roll with a d20. Whoever gets the high result wins. Yes, resolving dice rolls are that easy/simple. So for example, if Ninjak wants to kick through a locked door (he doesn’t have time to pick the lock), he would roll his Might die (d8) and a d12 and add the result together. Then the Lead Narrator would roll that d20. If the player wins the roll, the action goes exactly as planned. If the Lead Narrator wins…it does not. Now a LN winning the roll doesn’t mean failure – it simply means they get to decide what happens. So for example, if Ninjack gets a 12 and the Lead Narrator gets a 19, the LN could say Ninjak does indeed kick through the door, but that it leg goes right through it as the door was brittle and old and he has to spend his next turn pulling his leg out of the hole he just made. If a player decides to use a power for an action, they get to roll the die associated with that power, the stat die and the d12. They don’t get to add all three results together though. Instead, they drop the lowest die and add the two remaining results together before the LN makes the opposing role. So let’s look at that scenario again. This time it’s the Eternal Warrior trying to break down the door with a sword. He would get to roll his Might die (d10), his power die of Weapon Mastery (d12) and the regular d12 die. So that’s two d12s and a d10 and then he would drop the lowest of the three. The LN would then roll its d20 and see who wins. Looking at it though, GIliad has a better chance of getting through the door than Ninjak, doesn’t he?

There is one exception to the above scenario and that is where luck comes in. If a player rolls his dice and one comes up with his luck number, it is an automatic success. So if any of Giliad’s three dice came up showing a 10, the LN doesn’t even need to roll – the action is a success. There can also be modifiers to die rolls just as in any game, chosen at the Lead Narrator’s discretion. Combat between two characters is a straight up Action Die vs Action Die with Modifiers. I should point out that ranged combat, at least in this QSR set has a pretty big advantage over melee. It’ll be interesting to see how much that holds up in the core rules once they are released, but for right now, distance is king.

There are a few other areas to cover. Health is similar to Shadowrun or World of Darkness games in that characters have a set amount and as it goes down, they receive penalties to die rolls. Each character also has an armor pool which is deleted before Health starts to go. Plot Points are similar to GM intrusions from Numenera mixed with the Doom Pool from the Marvel Cortex game. So on and so forth. It’ll be interesting to see how the rules change with each Quick Start release and what the final version eventually looks like.

So overall, Valiant Universe RPG is looking like it is off to a great start. It’s definitely looking like a game long time tabletop gamers and newcomers can sit down and have fun playing. The rules are very easy to learn and are pretty instinctual once you start. I have no idea where CGL is going to take this game and how supplements, published adventures and character creation will work, but I’m very eager to find out. Who knows – maybe we’ll see a line of Valiant Universe RPG miniatures down the road. I’d love a Vincent Van Goat. Anyway, this Quick Start Rules set is free, so if you’re remotely interested in Valiant or tabletop RPGs, you should download this right away. Again, this is the first of many free samples Catalyst Game Labs will be giving out online, so you’re going to want to pick up the whole set for a better look at how Valiant Universe RPG is shaping up. I’ll be taking a look at each of the releases as they are made available, so join me back here every few weeks to see what’s new!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valiant Universe RPG Quick Start Rules: Featuring Unity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2014 19:13:14
I will start out with the negatives.

First, there is the missing rules information for personalized grips. I understand why the information is missing; it still is something that can be a problem for some games. But, it can be easily resolved.

The greatest negative... the length. This is a very good story, but it has underpinnings that suggest that as good as it is, it would have been far better if Patrick Goodman had been allowed to write it as a full-length novel. That is not to say it is not a worthwhile read; even as a novella, this work of fiction is well worth the money. I would even suggest it, and its predecessor, for those who are not Shadowrun players and have no interest in playing.

Okay, I think I've spent most of my negatives section praising this work.

The positives are the fact it is so well-written, and the fact it allows you to actually get to know the characters. Even the heartbreaks and triumphs. And this takes characters who were previously a tiny bit flat (I suspect they wouldn't have had any flatness if the prior work had been allowed to be longer) and gives them depth that serves them well. And you may even be surprised at the decisions they make.

Well, anyway, I can't say more without spoiling the story. Read it for yourself.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Missions: Critic's Choice (5A-02)
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2014 10:57:09
A delightful ramble through the Chicago Containment Zone where there's always something to do even without the plethora of Johnsons seemingly lining up to hire the 'runners. There are places to visit and contacts to make, as well as nuyen to be made... and even the chance to be Good Samaritans along the way.

Most times, the 'runners get a job then others approach trying to hire them to do it differently. Not this time - they get one job and are then approached to do another job that'll work in tandem with the first. Not bad, one run, 2 paychecks!

There are plenty of contacts, useful contacts, to be made during this adventure: it's well worth keeping track of them (as player or referee). Some interesting locations that you might want to use again too.

Everything is very clearly laid out, making it very easy to run this adventure. It's broken down into discrete scenes and each scene has information to give to the 'runners, background for you, all the game mechanics needed to resolve likely situations and sections called 'Pushing the Envelope' (extra challenges if required) and 'Debugging' (for use when the 'runners do the unexpected). A 'Legwork' section at the end gives you loads of things that the characters can find out, should they take the trouble to do some research or go rumour-hunting. There is also full details on everyone they'll meet during the adventure to supplement the summary information in the body of the adventure.

There are no maps or plans, but the adventure doesn't really need them. There's plenty of descriptive material and if/when a brawl breaks out it is likely to be in close quarters and all you'll really need to know is how people are arrayed with respect to each other.

Overall, a fun adventure that gives the feel of poking around the CZ well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Missions: Critic's Choice (5A-02)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2014 22:32:16
Originally posted on www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Story- Sail Away, Sweet Sister
Author- Patrick Goodman
TL;DR- Great Shadowrun story, but not a great introduction to Shadowrun story. 83%

Basics- Thomas McCallister is back! This is a direct sequel to "Another Rainy Night". In this story, a picture of Lenore, Thomas' vampiric sister, is found as she is running across the fractured America of Shadowrun. Can Thomas save his sister before she falls to the monster that lives insider her? Who else is manipulating things behind the scenes....

Story-The story is pretty good. It's an ensemble cast with the story being told from the sister, Thomas, his friends, and several other's points of view. Each character has a different, well defined view of things, and, that variety makes the story come off the page. Some of the story elements are kind of brushed over, but in a short fiction, that is a necessary evil. 4/5

Characters- The characters are also well defined. Each one has their own goals and motivations, and that comes through in the story. I felt the characters were real, not one dimensional caricatures. You won't get all the pieces as this is part of a trilogy, but where there were gaps, I felt that was mysteries for later, not poor writing. 4.5/5

Setting-Here things are interesting. If you know Shadowrun, the story is an good story in the Shadowrun World. Lots of locations and idea live and breathe as you know they should. However, if you don't know Shadowrun, you will be completely lost. Terms are thrown around that your average read off the street won't know. A little bit of introduction to the more Shadowrun-esque element of the story would make things a bit better for all the readers out there. 4/5

Summary-This is a good short story. It's pretty long for the price you pay as it's over 30 pages. AND, you get some Shadowrun 5e/4a stats for your games. That right there is worth the price alone for how starved for Shadowrun content I and most of the community are. I haven't read "Another Rainy Night", but if the same writer wrote that one as well, I feel that I would be in good hands for that one. Also, as soon as the sequel to this story comes out, I plan to buy it. I like how this story turned out and I can't wait for more! 83%

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 03:55:37
I liked this continuation of the story, and it does leave me anxious to see a third installment. The character development is excellent, and the enhanced fiction part means that you get stats for the characters in both SR4A and SR5 formats, as well as having some weapons and equipment stated out. You do not need to have read Storm Front to really understand what's going on with the HMHVV, as it's fairly evident in the story. You will need to read Another Stormy Night first though, as the characters and plots continue from that.

My only complaint was that the customized grip weapon mod does not have a price on it; the author stated that he was expecting it to be listed in Run & Gun, which left out many items that its SR4A predecessor (Arsenal) had (such as the vibro blades, which happily are fully listed in this enhanced fiction). While perhaps not unique in vampire stories, I did enjoy the sister's brief inner swinging between her original self and her new existence (which she dubbed "The Monster"). Unlike the other review, I do not feel this is indicative of any swing towards a World of Darkness style morality, as the other vampires we have seen in the two stories so far have appeared to fully embrace their natures with no inner turmoil regarding an inner beast. Hopefully this remain true.

With the ending opening the way for another in the series, I look forward to the next in the series. I look forward to reading about the main characters again, and am even eager to see what the response will be from their primary adversaries.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
by Nick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 00:59:01
It's not bad, but way too much fluff for the actual content present. Nicely laid out, interesting and all, but it feels like they came up with an idea for a Jackpoint post and failed to really flesh out any rules to go with it.

Sure there's 5 new qualities and a rifle in the side bar, but that's pretty much it. Grab it if you enjoy reading the stories and can skip buying a coffee.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Nick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 00:50:05
A pretty good book and well worth the price, it is simply a collection of weapons for both 5th edition and 4th Anniversary edition.

From the 4th ed point of view its nice, it expands on the earlier Gun H(e)aven books with some modern (and some not so modern) inclusions.

From the 5th ed point of view, specifically the use of accuracy in weapons it has a couple of questionable stat lines. There are a few weapons that are oddly high or low in accuracy when compared to others in their category.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Run & Gun
by Nick E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 00:30:20
Combat chainsaws, laser weapons, armoured ball gowns, and military grade heavy armour; what more could you want to expand your runners armoury?

Run and Gun provides players and GM's with a great variety of weapons and armour, along with expanded rules covering martial arts, explosives, hazardous environments and enough called shots to make you cringe. Well worth the investment.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Run & Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Run & Gun
by Jack C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2014 12:46:52
I have always loved Shadowrun from the day I got my hands on first edition through the disappointment of fourth edition (deckers are hackers, but so are riggers??!!??). Through it all I have stuck with the game. Gave the rule changes a try. Some I loved (initiation) some not so much (still miss my combat pool). I have to say I think Shadowrun 5th edition is a great progression of the title. When SR5 was released I was thrilled, deckers were back, the matrix made more sense, limits are good things, but I missed some of my favorite weapons. I couldn't wait for this expansion to be released. I wanted my form fitting body armor and my concealable quick draw holster back. Run and Gun does not disappoint.

More than expanded combat gear (which is expansive) it is also rules that I felt the core were missing (the burst fire damage options for instance). It also expanded many of the skills with maneuvers and advanced rules. The martial arts section is exhaustive. The maneuvers make the game more cinematic and seem well balanced without destroying balance.

This is a MASSIVE book and I feel that my money was well spent. I am enjoying the fiction as well as the setting information. (Space combat... hmm-mm think I might have to get my poor players into orbit). At this point I am very excited to see what comes next, and if it is on par with what we have gotten so far in the core rules and this expansion, then I know it will be great.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/25/2014 06:21:38
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/04/25/book-review-sail-away-s-
weet-sister-shadowrun/

Sail Away, Sweet Sister is the latest piece of “enhanced fiction” for Shadowrun. Enhanced Fiction simply means that at the end of the short story you get stats for the characters you just read about and maybe a few brief bits of mechanics. Sail Away, Sweet Sister is actually a direct sequel to a previous piece of enhanced fiction, Another Rainy Night, which was released a little over two years ago. That’s a long stretch between stories that are only two dozen pages in length, so I did find I had to re-read Another Rainy Night to remind myself of everything that happened in the previous tale. It’s worth noting that Sail Away, Sweet Sister can be read as a standalone, but it works FAR better if you read them both back to back. Otherwise you’ll miss some details and nuances that only carry over if you are familiar with both tales. The story is written in such a way that assumes you are familiar with Another Rainy Night which may cause a little bit of confusion in those that pick this up first. You’ll see reference to previous events and players that aren’t explained at all here, but were in Another Rainy Night, so just a head’s up there. Unfortunately, Another Rainy Night still has the $4.99 price tag attached to it. I was happy to see that CGL read my review of Another Rainy Night, because I said the sweet spot for a short piece of fiction like this would be $1.99. Lo and behold, that’s the price tag on Sail Away, Sweet Sister. Now if only they could go back and reduce the price on Another Rainy Night, everything would be awesome.

Sail Away, Sweet Sister also plays off another long untouched Shadowrun plot thread, this time from Storm Front, which closed out Shadowrun, Fourth Edition in April of 2013. In this case, we finally get to hear more about how vampires, ghouls and other “undead” are becoming more photosensitive while also suffering from stronger urges and hunger pains. Like Another Rainy Night, I’m glad to see someone over at CGL finally doing something with these dangling plot threads left over from 4e, but unless you’ve read both Another Rainy Night and Storm Front, you probably had no idea about the changes in the HMHVV community, both physically and socially. So for people to Shadowrun Fifth Edition, you’re probably going to feel out of the loop with this story, especially since it happens smack dab during Fourth Edition dates-wise. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t read it, just that you’re getting a story that is a few years (in-game and real life) behind the current meta-plot currently featured in Shadowrun.

When we last left Dr. Thomas McAllister and Knight Errant copy Lydia Bowen, they had finally put an end to the Mealtime Killer, a notorious serial killer who had killed roughly two dozen people before it was finally put down. In Sail Away, Sweet Sister, we learn that much like Doink the Clown, there is more than one MTK, perhaps many more. While the first MTK was someone obsessed with Thomas McAllister, the revelation of who the second is hits far closer to home with our main character as it is his sister. We also learn more about the Fear the Dark organization, which appears to be either a vampiric terrorist organization or a group of vampire traditionalists who want a return to the pre-Twilight version of vampires who are the natural predators of meta-humanity, which fears and loathes them. Hey, maybe it’s both! We don’t really get enough details on Fear the Dark, which heavily implies this will be continues in either another short story, supplement or sourcebook. Let’s just hope it doesn’t take another two years to get the next part.

We get a lot of new characters with Sail Away, Sweet Sister. There is the enigmatic Minotaur, Jericho and the dwarven vampire Seamus, which really makes me think Patrick Goodman (author of the story) is a big wrestling fan as there seems to be a lot of subtle nods to it in his stories (hence the earlier Doink reference). I liked both characters, especially Seamus as he is a good reminder that not all Sixth World vampires are turning into second rate Vampire: The Masquerade wanna-bes. I also liked his fire elemental sidekick. I have a soft spot for friendly fire elementals as one of my own characters from back in the day had one. You’ll also meet Thomas’ ex-wife and of course, his sister Lenore. The cast is really well done in this book and even characters who only show up for a cup of coffee, like the two Lone Star agents, have very fleshed out personalities. There’s more character development in these twenty-four pages than you see in some gaming-licensed novels, which is impressive.

That’s not to say that the story is flawless. I felt it was a little too paint by numbers in that I’ve read several vampires stories with the same basic plot and resolution. The only difference here was that it involved a Shadowrun setting. I had déjà vu for much of the story, knowing exactly how it was going to go down long before I reached the actual pages confirming what I already suspected. The ending also really falls apart for me as it got really cheesy and flew in the face of the character development we’ve seen in not just this story but Another Rainy Night as well. It wasn’t hackneyed, but it was paint by numbers. I also really didn’t like that the story seems to be setting up Sixth World vampires for becoming VERY White Wolfish, complete with a Beast (or Monster as it is referred to here) that can control a vampire’s action when hurt or hungry. I’m really hoping this was a one-time case of schizophrenia (or some other mental derangement equivalent) brought on by being a vampire rather than have it turn out HMHVV is going to cause sufferers to have a more bestial second personality (or god forbid demon or extraplanar entity possession) as that’s not only stupid, but it takes away a lot of the uniqueness of Shadowrun “undead.” If I want angsty vampires fighting themselves over the eventual erosion of their humanity, I have V:TM or V:TR for that…not to mention that old Shadowrun/cyberware guide for V:TM that was published back in the mid 90s. So overall, I’d say I’m happy we got a continuation of Another Rainy Night but that Sail Away, Sweet Sister is nowhere as good or original a read. I’m hoping this was just ring rust after being away from the characters for so long and that the third installment in the series (if there is one) will be back up to the same level of quality we had in Another Rainy Night.

I should end this review by bringing up the “enhanced fiction” part. You get stat blocks for Thomas, Lydia, Lenore, Karla and Colonel Anne Ravenhurst. You’re also getting Fourth AND Fifth Edition stat blocks for each of the aforementioned characters. The 4e stats for Lydia and Thomas are ripped straight from Another Rainy Night, which is a good thing as it shows continuity. If the stats blocks were wildly different, I’d have to wonder what was up. I’m really glad to see stats for the two latest editions of Shadowrun as is helps ease edition wars and lets fans of each game use the characters without having to do any conversion. We also get two new SR5 positive Qualities, a few new weapons and a page of mechanics on drug called Renfield and how it affects those who take it. All in all, there is something for Shadowrun fans who like the fiction and/or the mechanics, so everyone who picks this up should find something to enjoy here.

So if you’re still with me, here’s what you need to know. Is Sail Away, Sweet Sister as good as Another Rainy Night? No. Should you still pick it up? Absolutely. While the story isn’t as good, it is still a fun read and even with the flaws I talked about earlier, you’ll end the tale wanting to know what happens next. That’s a good sign. It’s also a LOT cheaper than Another Rainy Night. The mechanics are well thought out and if that’s all you want from one of these releases, Sail Away, Sweet Sister is definitely the better choice, although Another Rainy Night DOES have some neat vampire hunting ammo. While not great literature by any means, Sail Away, Sweet Sister is entertaining and gives Sixth World fans the continuation of the story they have been waiting over two years for. The price point is perfect too, as even if you don’t like the story, it will only set you back two bucks. Again, let’s hope we don’t have to wait another two years for another installment of the continuing adventures of Thomas McAllister or a year for another slight update on the changes to HMHVV sufferers in the Sixth World.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sail Away, Sweet Sister (Enhanced Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 681 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates