DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Catalyst Game Labs
Catalyst Game Labs
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (525)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
by Cory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
Very clean and beautiful book. My only criticism is the layout has a couple jump arounds in character creation, but mechanics and game balances are amazingly well done.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
'The Assassin's Primer' is a good document to have at the table for anyone wanting to take this Archetype. At only seventeen pages (including cover), you get
- an overview of the life of the assassin,
- and explanation of assassin stereotypes (from the Desperate, the Psycho, and the Idealist)
- 'Knowledge is Power' which describes the sorts of skills that are necessary and how to use them creatively
- a short section on gear and magic
- general advice and Qualities (and a Negative Quality).

All is told from the viewpoint of an assassin who realises that he has a very short time to live and wants to pass along his knowledge. Interestingly, this is the second SR product I've reviewed this week with a White Wolf connection (the other be 'The Vladivostok Gauntlet'). In this product, the handle of the assassin is Quietus (the signature Discipline of the vampire assassins in Vampire: the Masquerade). Interesting.

So, is it worth it?

The book reads like a long magazine article with some rules at the end, a format that should be fairly familiar to most gamers. It does offer some good advice and would be very handy reading for anyone considering running an assassin-type character in the Sixth World. I question the longevity of usefulness for the product; I can see players reading it once, building a character and then maybe referencing it once or twice again. The Creeds are a mixed bag, and mileage will really vary. However, you could wrap an entire character concept around them, so for that they are useful. The edges they provide are situational, but a clever player can engineer this to their advantage.

It was an enjoyable read, and I can see this document having a role at my table, but mostly during character creation.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Mission: 04-09: Assassin Nation
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/26/2013 08:24:00
SRM 04–09 Assassin Nation ist Teil der Shadowrun:Missions. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine von Catalyst Game Labs inszenierte Kampagne, die auf Conventions und vergleichbaren Treffen gespielt werden soll.

Nach jeder Mission erhalten Spieler ein Debriefing Log, welches sie zu ihrer nächsten Runde mit-nehmen können. So soll sichergestellt werden, dass verschiedene SpielerInnen aus verschiedenen Runden dennoch weiter an der gleichen Geschichte spielen können.

Die Inhalte können auch aus dem Internet via Download gekauft werden, um sie zuhause zu spielen.

Assassin Nation vertieft die Ereignisse aus dem orkischen Untergrund der vorherigen Missions und bringt erstmals die Politik ins Spiel. Mit etwas chaotischer Würze entsteht daraus ein charmanter Mix.

Inhalt

Der orkische Untergrund von Seattle soll durch einen Volkentscheid zu einem legalen Sektor/Stadtteil werden. Während der Stadtrat versucht, dieses Vorhaben um jeden Preis zu stoppen, engagieren sich pro(meta)menschliche Aktivistengruppen für die Umsetzung. Die Vorteile durch Sicherheit, medizinische Leistungen und bessere Anbindung an die Stadt sind nicht von der Hand zu weisen. Auf der anderen Seite ist dort die organisierte Kriminalität, die nicht möchte, dass ihre gut laufenden Geschäfte gestört werden.

Und dann, dann ist da noch das personifizierte Chaos, das in Form eines Technomancers sich in die Geschehnisse und Verwicklungen einmischt.

Der Run beginnt ganz einfach mit einem Einbruch. Auf dem Cyberdeck des Staatsanwaltes sind belastende Beweise und der Auftraggeber möchte, dass diese verschwinden. Doch leider finden die Runner neben dem Deck auch den Leichnam des Staatsanwaltes. Als dann Knight Errant auftaucht, bleibt nur Kampf oder Flucht.

Im orkischen Untergrund wurden gleichzeitig Niederlassungen der Aktivisten angegriffen und viele Tote sind zu beklagen. Aufgrund vorheriger Verwicklungen im Run werden die SC wiederum beschuldigt.

Als sich dann noch die Presse in Form von zwei Starjournalisten einschaltet und den SC die Hilfe anbietet, beginnt das Feuer nicht nur von allen Seiten zu kommen – nein, der Run nimmt nun richtig Fahrt auf. Vermutlich hängt das auch mit dem Kopfgeld in Höhe von 50.000 Nuyen auf die Runner zusammen…

Besonders gut gefällt mir, dass die Handlung viele verschiedene Facetten aufgreift: Betrug und Verrat, Einbrüche, Detektivarbeit, Gefechte, Bedrohungen, interessante NSC und brutalste Gewaltexzesse. Aufgrund der Verwicklungen und der Komplexität empfiehlt es sich jedoch mit einer Gruppe gespielt zu werden, die das Denken um die Ecke gewohnt ist. Das Abenteuer verbindet rollenspielerische Passagen mit hektischem Würfelwerfen und testet die Fähigkeit der Spieler, Zusammenhänge auf abstrakter Ebene zu erkennen.

Die Antagonisten haben mir gut gefallen. Auch wenn die Informationen über sie noch recht karg sind, hoffe ich, dass in kommenden Missions mehr über sie zu erfahren ist.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis
Für 18 Seiten Run und 23 Seiten Erklärungen, NSCs, Karten – das alles für 3,95 USD. Ein Preis, der den gefachten Preis die entsprechende eigene Vorbereitung einer gänzlich eigenen Idee um Welten unterschreitet.

Ich mag die Geschichte sehr und auch die mitgelieferten Handouts. Auch die Qualität weiß zu gefallen. Dementsprechend – Schnellstarter greifen, die Mission kaufen und Spaß mit den Freunden haben!

Erscheinungsbild
Die PDF ist ansprechend, aber zweckmäßig gestaltet. Hinter einem bunten Cover verbergen sich 40 weitere Seiten, die kurz beschreiben, wie die Shadowrun:Missions zu spielen sind und welche Mög-lichkeiten der zusammenhängenden Handlung gegeben sind. Danach schließt sich direkt der Run an, der in 10 Szenen aufgeteilt ist. Das wenige Artwork ist gut gelungen, unter anderem hat Andreas Schroth dazu beigetragen.

Die Schrift ist etwas zu klein geraten, der Hintergrund der Seiten ist mit einem zartblauen Hinter-grund unterlegt. Abgeschlossen wird die Mission durch eine Auflistung der Belohnungen, NSCs und Auswirkungen auf den Charakter. Als zusammenhängende Kampagne kann man hier NSCs als Kontakte bekommen (dafür gibt es hübsch anzusehende Kärtchen zum Ausschneiden).

Desweiteren kann positive oder negative Reputation bei Vereinigungen und Organisationen aufge-baut werden, auch dieses hat Auswirkungen auf nachfolgende Runs. Und, wie bereits geschrieben, findet sich hier das Mission Debriefing Log.

Und natürlich darf man nicht vergessen zu erwähnen, dass die Runde diese Mission auch ganz ohne Kampagne spielen kann. Angesichts der offenen Enden und Kreuzverbindungen zu vorherigen Mis-sionen erscheint mir das eher fad.

Die beigefügten Karten sind zweckmäßig, aber keinesfalls hübsch zu nennen. Für die Visualisierung reichen sie aber vollkommen. Sie sind nicht gerastert und auch nicht in zureichender Größe für eine Battlemap.

Bonus/Downloadcontent

Auf der offiziellen Shadowrun 4 Seite im Web finden sich etliche helfende Downloads, wie auch Links zu Bezugsquellen: http://www.shadowrun4.com/missions/

Fazit

Schade ist es schon, dass die derzeitige Staffel der Missions mit Assassin Nation endet. Die Geschichte des Orks MacAllister, der seine Tochter an einen Sadisten verlor – der Untergrund, der seine Unabhängigkeitsbemühungen durch einen Feuerteufel und Rassisten gefährdet sah - und nun endlich offiziell anerkannt wurde – all das endet nun.

Fast hat man die NSC und ihren Leidensweg lieben gelernt. Und gerade der Abschluss ist durch viel vielschichtig betonten Facetten des Rollenspiels in der Welt von Shadowrun gut gelungen. Preislich kann man eh nicht meckern.

Ich freue mich sehr auf die neue Staffel und bin gespannt, was nun thematisiert wird. Seattler Untergrund, ich werde Dich vermissen.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Mission: 04-09: Assassin Nation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/25/2013 23:47:05
Chicago is one name that has a particular resonance to Shadowrun, the infamous Bug City. When this season was announced, I was very excited to see what Catalyst would do with the place after it had been left relatively dormant for a couple of editions.
The introductory Mission for the season does feel very much like set-up. No, not a set-up, but rather building the foundation for the rest of the modules. There are really three separate jobs here. They are all very straightforward, with some suggestions for Pushing the Envelope, but I would imagine that the aim is to ease new players and GMs into SR (especially given the new edition). There are relatively few surprises for a solid module and it wouldn’t take too much to prep. On reflection, there are a number of possibilities from this module, and I’m hoping that the story threads are picked up in future modules and expanded.
The setting is briefly explained, with heavy stereotyping (the weather is windy and snowy, the meeting place is a Chicago pizza joint) in both the locations and the Johnsons. Again, there is the distinct feeling that this is meant for the new GM and player. The plot does require social, investigative and technical skills (with some Debugging advice if characters don’t have the requisite skills), and unless you Push the Envelope, combat is absent from this ‘run.

However, as an introductory module, it definitely succeeds in whetting one’s appetite for further adventures in the Windy City. The module can be easily completed in a couple of hours if run ‘as-is’.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Spell Cards, Series 1
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/25/2013 22:13:49
I’m a big fan of cards at the gaming table. As ready-reference items, they are also very transferable and require little book-keeping. I make extensive use of the Paizo magic item decks at my D&D table, and have been casting about for a similar solution for SR5. So, for USD5.99, what do you get?

The file contains fifty-four single-sided cards, colour-coded to the spell type (Combat, Manipulation, Illusion, etc). Each card has the information for the Spell Type, Range, Damage, Duration, and Drain, with a handy page number reference to look up the spell. There is also a very short flavour-text type description of each spell.

The only improvement I would suggest is to make the cards double-sided and include more rules information on the flipside. Many spells have nuanced information such as increasing effect by number of successes and this would be useful. To be honest, I’d want these cards to be a replacement for the Magic section of the core rulebook – becoming quickplay reference. At the moment they aren’t quite up to the job.

I’ve tried printing them out in both colour and black-and-white and they have rendered well in both formats (although I like the colour better). I would advise anyone purchasing this product to invest in either some decent cardstock for printing, or become friends with someone who owns a laminator. Either way, you want to extend the life of the printed cards, and the heavier cardstock/laminated options make them feel like better than flimsy paper.

They are a nice product, and I would like to check out further decks for equipment, drones and even vehicles, common NPCs, and paracritters. I could imagine that by investing a range of decks, a GM could easily construct ad hoc encounters by laying out some cards behind the screen. If the NPC and paracritter cards came with Damage Tracks, you could laminate them and use a dry-erase marker to keep wounds. I like this direction, and I’ll be most interested to see where it goes.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Spell Cards, Series 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: The Vladivostok Gauntlet
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/25/2013 21:51:21
‘The Vladivostock Gauntlet’ is a welcome addition to the Shadowrun novella line, and follows in the footsteps of classics such as ‘Wolf and Raven’. The writing style is clear and evocative, and is an excellent example of how broad the term ‘success’ is when undertaking (even unwillingly) a run into the shadows. Set in the eponymous city, it follows Yuri as he finds out the cost of ‘doing the right thing’.
The novella feels like a 1980’s action movie with all of the necessary tropes; but has a distinctly Sixth World feel to it. The characters see some development, and the uneven technological levels is handled very nicely. In summary, it was an enjoyable read.

The only two downsides to the product are minor. Firstly, in a book that features werewolves (of a sort) having two minor characters named Garou and Gangrel seems like the author wants to port in as much White Wolf as possible and this was jarring as I read a lot of old World of Darkness source books and fiction. Secondly, there is a game mechanics chapter to the book detailing stats and the like, but you have to visit the Catalyst website to download it (it is admittedly free). One questions why the two items would be disaggregated beyond an attempt to drive traffic to the company site. I would have preferred to see this gaming material make it into the product.

These two detractions aside, I did really enjoy the novella. If another tale of Yuri and Soren was released, I’d certainly invest the time to read it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Vladivostok Gauntlet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: 10 Mercs
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2013 13:20:12
What makes a good Shadowrun supplement? After having reconnected with the game after many years away, I've looked at a lot and talked to a lot of players. Here's what I concluded: a Shadowrun supplement is best when it relates to and challenges the core reward cycle of the game. That core reward cycle is: engage in exciting/dangerous/shady activity -> get paid -> shop -> engage in more exciting/dangerous/shady activity, and it's very well supported. It's the rare Shadowrun campaign that actually takes on large-scale military operations as anything more than just a condition, like the weather, that has to be taken into account to handle the job. And that's the challenge that "10 Mercs" has - not writing interesting fantasy-cyberpunk military units for hire, because that's pretty easy (and fun). But instead the challenge is to keep it relevant to Shadowrun and what player characters would be doing.

"10 Mercs" is at its best when it is giving us something actionable, something that player characters in a typical Shadowrun game would interact with or care about. That means a corporate/criminal objective, or some kind of personal stake that someone has in the activities of the mercenary companies.

This means that (for example) the 58th Battle Brigade, which is a former military unit that's now scavengers and enforcers for a crime syndicate, is a great addition because I can immediately envision multiple problems they could cause for shadowrunners, or issues they could create that would require shadowrunners to resolve. Even the 77th Independent Rangers, which are pretty generic shootymans, are actionable because of the personal conflicts and loyalties that are showed off in the sidebars and in-character inserts that are the most fun part of any Shadowrun supplement. The 180th Independent Air Regiment entry focuses, I think correctly, on their rescue and exfiltration operations since those will be the circumstances in which most PCs will encounter them.

On the other hand, it means the Free Marine Corps, which is fairly generic, is not well-turned. All the business about their origin as a breakaway unit of a bigger military outfit isn't really acitonable insofar as there's no real chance a team of shadowrunners is going to be making significant changes to their operations. New Assets is also a misfire, since the whole point of buying a supplement like this is to generate situations for shadowrunners to go into, not to create other shadowrunners. Task Force Magus is not well detailed enough to show me how mages organize themselves differently (if they do), so it's not even a great example.

All in all, "10 Mercs" has around half the entries that are solid and directly on point, another 2-3 that are interesting for aficionados of the world, but not very actionable in play, and another 2-3 which are just boring. Even among the least interesting entries, though, are inserts describing new tactics, equipment and connections that are all absolutely rock-solid tied into that reward cycle. If I'm gonna kidnap a guy off a boat, it makes sense that I'd want a superscience "body bag" I can zip him into and toss him into the ocean for later retrieval. Now that's Shadowrun!

"10 Mercs" is solid and small touches like this make it a pleasure to read and very useful for your Shadowrun game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 10 Mercs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
by warren b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2013 12:20:58
Still reading the adventure at the moment. Will be playing it in a week or two. Will post full review here at that time.

One note, I print my pdfs out on paper so I can make notes on it. As much as I love the look of the pdf, it is hell on my printer ink even at fast draft print mode. Perhaps a more ink conservative design.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Warren, The Chasin' the Wind PDF does include Acrobat layers. If you go into the layers tab, you can drop out the background layer and print that way, saving ink. Sorry we didn't make that more clear! -Matt at CGL
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
by Derek A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2013 23:17:37
I guess I'm a little more demanding than the other reviewers here, and if I'm being honest I didn't expect much for the price. So why just 1 star? Well the qualities are not in the standard format that matches the core game. They break out the qualities in terms of positive or negative, but even that isn't exactly right because all of them have a positive and negative portion associated with the quality. My chief complaint is that with just a little work and revision these could have been really good qualities, but in their current state I think they are rather broken. Twelve karma for a quality that allows called shots at a -2? Who would pass up on that economy? A negative quality that gives a bonus to negotiations? Even going in with low expectations, this product failed to deliver. The bright side is that with just a little effort the content in this book can be fixed, for those who don't mind some house rules.

The fluff is just OK for those that like that style of writing. I found the explanations on the different types of assassins to be rather shallow, instead of investigating the depths of these characters, this supplement just highlighted most of the cliches. There is a new sniper rifle, but it's nothing special.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2013 05:03:32
For the price it's a fair enough buy. It has some mistakes like most of the products that come out for SR, but it's an OK read, though I find that it is a bit light with regards to the "crunch" part (one rifle and a couple of qualities). I'd hoped for a bit more interesting info on possible Assassin tactics etc. to use for inspiration within the game, but so be it.
It's nothing stellar, but it's not bad either. I is worth $4.95? I believe it is.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
by marcus m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2013 15:56:13
A fantastic, comprehensive guide to doing anything shadowrun. I'd recommend this over DnD/pathfinder any day of the week. Great depth on every subject makes you more attached to your characters, the storyline, etc. Even activities like PC/NPC creation and Matrix runs are enjoyable, tons of opportunity for creativity. Definitely a 5/5.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Parageology
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/04/2013 05:07:03
http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2013/11/04/rezension-shadowrun--
parageology/
---

Die Erde ist erwacht, und das auf alle erdenk­li­chen Arten. Die gleich­zei­tige Erup­tion von Vul­ka­nen 2012 steht auf der Liste der Top-Ereignisse dies­be­züg­lich ganz oben. Zugleich ver­än­derte sich die Land­schaft in den fol­gen­den Jah­ren in Tìr Tairn­gire, Tìr na nÒg und in Ama­zo­nien. Das wis­sen­schaft­li­che Gebiet der Para­geo­lo­gie ent­stand. Zunächst war es vor allem das Stu­dium der Mana­li­nien, das im Fokus stand, dann jedoch ent­deckte man, dass die flüch­ti­gen Ele­mente von Erde, Feuer und Was­ser sich als phy­si­sche Vor­kom­men von den Meta-Ebenen mani­fes­tier­ten. Und schließ­lich ent­deckte man noch Erwachte Mine­ra­lien. Und um all das geht es in Para­geo­logy.

Mana­li­nien

Der Schwer­punkt des Buches liegt ganz klar bei den ver­schie­de­nen Mana­li­nien, und so machen deren Beschrei­bun­gen auch knapp die Hälfte des Buches aus. Ob man sie nun Mana­li­nien nennt, Geis­ter­wege, Traum­pfade oder noch anders: Sie alle bezeich­nen den Fluss kon­zen­trier­ter magi­scher Ener­gie irgendwo auf der Erwach­ten Welt.

Es wird beschrie­ben, wie man sich diese Linien optisch vor­stel­len kann, wel­chen Wir­kungs­ra­dius sie haben, vor allem jedoch wer­den sie in ver­schie­dene Unter­grup­pen unter­teilt: Dra­chen­li­nien (D), Ley­li­nien (L) und „Song Lines“ (S).

Dra­chen­li­nien haben einen Bezug zu geo­gra­phi­schen Ener­gien und sind ent­spre­chend an vul­ka­ni­schen Hot­spots oder ent­lang von Flüs­sen zu fin­den. Sie beein­flus­sen ihr Umfeld ebenso wie umge­kehrt. So gibt es ent­lang von Dra­chen­li­nien gesün­dere Pflan­zen als anderswo, auf der ande­ren Seite sind die Mana­li­nien dort beson­ders stark, wo eine kräf­tige und gesunde Natur anzu­tref­fen ist oder sich in einem Ter­rain Feuer und Was­ser yin– und yang-artig mit­ein­an­der verknüpfen.

Ley­li­nien hin­ge­gen sind mit der Zivi­li­sa­tion ver­knüpft und man fin­det sie dort, wo Orte eine starke reli­giöse und/oder emo­tio­nale Kraft besit­zen, die auch hier wie­der umge­kehrt von den Ley­li­nien beein­flusst wird. In der Nähe der Ley­li­nien sind die Men­schen bei­spiels­weise gesün­der, inspi­rier­ter oder füh­len sich schlicht ins­ge­samt energetisiert.

Song-Linien als letz­ter Typ der Mana­li­nien befin­den sich pri­mär auf dem aus­tra­li­schen Kon­ti­nent. Sie haben kei­ner­lei Ein­fluss auf Land und Leute. Statt­des­sen han­delt es sich um Rei­se­wege sowohl in der phy­si­schen als auch astra­len Welt. Sie for­men astrale Risse und haben Ver­bin­dun­gen zu astra­len Toren. In ihrer Nähe fin­det man aller­dings häu­fig chao­ti­sche Manastürme.

Nach den Erläu­te­run­gen und detail­lier­ten Beschrei­bun­gen der ein­zel­nen Typen von Mana­li­nien fol­gen Bei­spiele aus aller Welt in Text­form: Nord­ame­rika (z.B. Niagara-Fälle, Mis­sis­sippi, Yel­lows­tone Ther­mal Line), Süd­ame­rika (z.B. Ama­zo­nas), Asien (z.B. Gan­ges, Chi­ne­si­sche Mauer, Indus), Europa (z.B. Cairn Line von Tìr na nÒg, mal­te­si­sche Ley-Linien, Sto­ne­henge), Mitt­le­rer Osten (z.B. Nil, ägyp­ti­sche Pyra­mi­den), Afrika (z.B. Vic­to­ria Falls) und Aus­tra­lien (z.B. Syd­ney Path) mit­samt einer zusätz­li­chen Klas­si­fi­zie­rung je nach Stärke der Linien.

Abge­run­det wer­den die Beschrei­bun­gen mit far­bi­gen und ganz­sei­ti­gen Kon­ti­nen­tab­bil­dun­gen, auf denen die Lage wich­ti­ger Mana­li­nien farb­lich je nach Typ ange­ge­ben sind und sich jeweils ver­grö­ßerte Kar­ten­ab­schnitte fin­den las­sen, die sogar mit Koor­di­na­ten ver­se­hen wurden.

Hier schon fin­det man wie auch im wei­te­ren Ver­lauf des Buches immer wie­der blau hin­ter­legte Boxen, in denen wei­tere Infor­ma­tio­nen zu lesen sind. Fast alle von ihnen ver­wei­sen zudem dezent auf mög­li­che Plo­thooks, die man aller­dings auch im nor­ma­len Fließ­text zuhauf aus­ma­chen kann. Her­vor­ge­ho­ben wer­den in den Boxen jedoch als „Para­geo­lo­gi­cal Hot­spots“ bezeich­nete Infor­ma­tio­nen. Ein Bei­spiel dar­aus ist die Tat­sa­che, dass sich in Grie­chen­land kei­ner­lei Mana­li­nien fin­den las­sen. Warum ist das so? Eine Ant­wort dar­auf fin­det man nicht, es bie­tet sich aber an, seine Spiel­gruppe mög­li­cher­weise eine sol­che fin­den zu las­sen und/oder als SL eine Lösung anzubieten.

Wahre Ele­mente

Nach dem Kapi­tel über die Mana­li­nien fol­gen drei Sei­ten zu den Wah­ren Ele­men­ten Luft, Erde und Feuer, die 2064 erst­mals ent­deckt wur­den. Zwar fin­det sich zu jedem Ele­ment eine schi­cke Farb­ab­bil­dung, aber so wirk­lich infor­ma­tiv sind diese Sei­ten nicht. Man kann sie bei der Her­stel­lung magi­scher Gegen­stände ver­wen­den, ist da zu lesen, aber so wirk­lich etwas über diese Ele­mente erfah­ren? Nö.

Erwachte Mine­ra­lien

Die­ses Spiel setzt sich bei den Erwach­ten Mine­ra­lien sehr ähn­lich fort. Anders als die Ele­mente, die als beson­ders flüch­tig beschrie­ben wer­den, wer­den die Mine­ra­lien als vor allem uner­forscht ange­ge­ben. Als Hin­ter­grund dazu wird genannt, dass sie zwar magi­sche Wir­kung haben, mit einer Aus­nahme aller­dings wohl nicht selbst wirk­lich erwacht sind. Unter­sucht man sie, zer­fal­len sie schnell in ihre Bestand­teile, was die ent­spre­chende For­schung nicht gerade erleichtert.

Auch hier fin­den sich zu allen Mine­ra­lien wie­der recht große Farb­ab­bil­dun­gen, außer­dem wis­sen­schaft­lich anmu­tende blau hin­ter­legte Stich­wort­käs­ten mit Daten zu Zusam­men­set­zung, Farbe, Härte, Fund­ort und wei­te­ren Aspekten.

Hin­ter­grund– und Regelteil

Schließ­lich geht es mit einem klei­nen Hin­ter­grund­teil wei­ter, der zwei Arten der neuen geo­lo­gi­schen Para­wis­sen­schaf­ten the­ma­ti­siert, einen geson­der­ten Blick bei­spiels­weise auf die Wuxing Sky­to­wers wirft und einige geo­man­ti­sche Kon­strukte genauer betrach­tet, etwa ein arka­nes Prisma.

Ab Seite 30 folgt der Regel­teil, der hin­sicht­lich der Mana­li­nien kaum wei­tere Aus­künfte gibt. Hier aller­dings fin­det man zu Ele­men­ten und Mine­ra­lien einige brauch­bare Hin­weise für das Spiel selbst. Es gibt eine Liste mit Ver­füg­bar­keit und Prei­sen – die von 50.000 Nuyen bis hin zu 4 Mil­lio­nen Nuyen pro Ein­heit rei­chen. Außer­dem erfährt man hier, dass das Zufü­gen der Ele­mente unter ande­rem einen Bonus von Zwei auf das Rufen von Geis­tern des ent­spre­chen­den Ele­ments sowie ent­spre­chende ele­men­tare Beschwö­run­gen geben kann.

Es gibt noch zwei meta­ma­gi­sche Tech­ni­ken für geo­man­ti­sche Initia­ten, die vor­ge­stellt wer­den sowie fünf geo­man­ti­sche Rituale. Diese ermög­li­chen dem Geo­man­ten bei­spiels­weise, jeden im Umfeld einer bestimm­ten Linie (Kraft der Linie x 100m) als Ziel zu neh­men, eine ent­spre­chende Anzahl Meter weit ent­lang der Linie zu hören und zu sehen oder auch den Fluss einer Mana­li­nie zu unterbrechen.

Braucht man das?

Die­ses 32-seitige Büch­lein für Shado­wrun gehört aus mei­ner Sicht auf jeden Fall zu den sinn­vol­le­ren Ver­öf­fent­li­chun­gen der Reihe. Vor allem eig­nen sich die Inhalte für Grup­pen, die abseits von Seat­tle und auch abseits ande­rer Sprawls spie­len wol­len, jedoch sind genü­gend Anreize vor­han­den, die für wild­niss­cheue Run­den tau­gen und diese dann eben nach Grie­chen­land, Karls­ruhe oder anderswo hin gelei­ten. Das Buch bie­tet eine Fülle an Ideen, die man auf­grei­fen kann, um dar­aus Runs zu kre­ie­ren. Hier­bei muss es sich übri­gens nicht allein um eine Gruppe magi­scher Run­ner han­deln; es wer­den auch Rand­in­for­ma­tio­nen über Kon­zern­pro­bleme wei­ter­ge­ge­ben, Schürf­rechte, Abbau und der­lei mehr.

Wäh­rend die Infor­ma­tio­nen zu den Mana­li­nien jedoch aus­ge­spro­chen aus­führ­lich sind, gut les­bar und glei­cher­ma­ßen gut in eine Kam­pa­gne oder ein­zelne Runs ein­zu­bauen, schwä­chelt die Ver­öf­fent­li­chung stark bei den Ele­men­ten und Mine­ra­lien. Wo man sowas mal gefun­den hat und ein paar vage Infos dazu, das kann sich jeder genauso gut aus den Fin­gern sau­gen, ohne dafür ein Quel­len­buch über Para­geo­lo­gie zu benö­ti­gen. Gut, am Ende fin­den sich noch hand­fes­tere Infos wie Ver­füg­bar­keit, Preise und Anwen­dungs­nut­zen, aber für mich beißt sich das ein biss­chen mit dem vor­be­schrie­be­nen Fluff. Die­ser ver­weist zwar bei weni­gen Mine­ra­lien auf kon­kre­ten Nut­zen, in der Regel fin­det man dort jedoch sowas wie „Weiß man nicht, hat man noch nicht raus­ge­fun­den, geht schnell kaputt, aber sieht hübsch aus und kann man bei der Her­stel­lung magi­scher Arte­fakte ver­wen­den.“ Achso.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Das zuge­ge­be­ner­ma­ßen schick auf­be­rei­tete PDF-Heftchen kos­tet stolze 5,80 EUR, was ein­deu­tig zu teuer ist für das, was man dafür bekommt.

Erschei­nungs­bild

Parageology CoverGerade mal 32 Sei­ten umfasst die­ses Quel­len­buch und seine größte Stärke liegt in der Voll­far­big­keit, den recht gro­ßen und detail­lier­ten Abbil­dun­gen eines jeden Ele­ments und Mine­rals sowie in den ganz­sei­ti­gen Kon­ti­nen­tab­bil­dun­gen mit­samt Ver­grö­ße­run­gen und Koor­di­na­ten zu bestimm­ten Hot­spots in Bezug auf die Mana­li­nien. Der Text selbst ist gut les­bar, Sach­in­for­ma­tio­nen sind vom wie immer reich­lich vor­han­de­nen Shadow­talk gut abzu­gren­zen, und auch die wei­te­ren Infos len­ken nicht vom aktu­el­len Haupt­thema ab, da sie sepa­rat in blau hin­ter­legte Boxen gepackt wur­den. Schick ist die­ses Heft­chen also allemal.

Fazit

Para­geo­logy ist sicher­lich eine der bes­se­ren Ver­öf­fent­li­chun­gen aus der Reihe der Mini-PDF-Quellenbücher zu Shado­wrun. Gerade die Infor­ma­tio­nen zu den Mana­li­nien, die knapp die Hälfte des Buches umfas­sen, sind lesens­wert und bie­ten reich­lich Mate­rial, das sich in die ver­schie­dens­ten Runs und Kam­pa­gnen am Rande oder als Schwer­punkt­thema ein­bet­ten lässt.

Lei­der lässt sich Glei­ches nicht über die ande­ren bei­den The­men des Buches, Wahre Ele­mente und Erwachte Mine­ra­lien, sagen. Hier punk­tet das PDF ledig­lich durch hüb­sche Farb­zeich­nun­gen, jedoch nicht mit wirk­lich nutz­ba­ren Infor­ma­tio­nen. Die­ses Defi­zit rei­ßen die paar geo­man­ti­schen Rituale und astra­len Kon­strukte, die zum Ende hin noch beschrie­ben wer­den, lei­der auch nicht mehr raus.

Ins­ge­samt also eine sinn­vol­lere und vor allem nutz­ba­rere Quelle als viele andere der SR-Heftchen, für den Umfang und gebo­te­nen Inhalt aber zugleich deut­lich zu teuer.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Parageology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/31/2013 11:08:24
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer. It's not bad, but I'm reviewing it harshly. Most of this is because of two major reasons: Catalyst is a really, really, good company most of the time, and The Assassin's Primer just feels average and "meh". It's not that it's bad, but the practical uses are limited at the actual tabletop, and it's not their best work.

First, let's look at the focus of The Assassin's Primer. It boasts "A gun and a handful of new qualities", which is somewhat exciting as it is an early extension to Fifth Edition, but it's not really anything to get too excited over. The gun is the venerable SVD, statted out to be an extreme low-end sniper rifle for the everyman. It feels like it doesn't fill a niche, though, and it seems a little unrealistic were we to actually look at the gun statistics; the SVD may use a standard assault rifle round, but I sincerely doubt that it's going to be doing 10P where a sporting rifle is doing 11P; the sporting rifles are likely the case of inflation here. The qualities are interesting, though two of the five are essentially the same thing, but with religion or nationalism respectively driving an assassin's actions. The other qualities balance certain elements of a character to make them better in certain situations and worse in others.

Second, let's look at how useful it actually will be. While it provides an interesting in-setting glimpse, this isn't the sort of thing that I care to get a supplement for, especially since there's a lot of Shadowrun literature available and this doesn't really touch on any important changes in the timeline. In this sense, it's a little redundant, but a good introductory piece and probably something worth taking a look at. However, it explicitly states that one of the good approaches to an assassin may be to treat him like a mage or hacker and just give him separate tasks that pertain to the mission, something that taxes an already GM-intensive system further. Most of the advice that pertains to a hitman is just the general Shadowrunner rules of the road applied with twice as much rigor, which isn't too unexpected nor is it particularly enlightening.

Finally, the production value is actually what brought this down from a four-star rating to a three-star one in my mind. Shadowrun's always been one of those games with a really solid feel, so imagine my dismay when the first thing I see is Arial. I don't have anything against the font, but it's just not Shadowrun. To be fair, this is an easy fix, and could simply come from having been transferred to a machine that didn't have the proper font installed, and most people probably won't care about it, but it just put me off from the very get-go. The same page-topper is used on every page (which would probably bother people more in print than in digital, but it's the sort of thing I look for), so facing pages would have an identical and highly distinctive appearance, which really devalues the feel of the work and art.

So, in short; it's perhaps misdirected, doesn't offer anything new, and has some major issues, but for a newcomer to Shadowrun it might provide a valuable insight to the setting, and it does provide a couple new list entries, even if they're not meaningfully different from other things.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2013 11:35:16
Originally Posted at www.thratpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Ring Side Report- Review of Shadowrun-The Assassin's Primer

Module-The Assassin's Primer

Game System-Shadowrun

Producer-Catalyst Game Labs

Cost-~$5

Page Count-17

TL;DR- Good story with a few rules. A little pricey for the page count. 87%

Basics-The first player centered addition to the Shadowrun 5e RPG. This focuses on a webpost by an assassin who is about to die. He wants to help future assassins and give tips and tricks through this post. Along the way, various other Shadowrun characters pop in to give their two nuyen. At the end of the story, the book also gives stats for a new gun as well as few new qualities for your character.

Art- The book does have some art, but don't expect much. There are a few black and white pictures as well as a picture of the new gun with its stats and background story. It's all ok, but this is not an art heavy book. I liked what I saw, but there isn't much. 3/5


Story or “Fluff”- This is really a well done story. The whole story and they way you read it really put you in the world. I loved every minute of it. I felt like I was sitting drinking a soyacaff in a crappy rundown house reading this in AR. 2.5/2.5

Mechanics or “Crunch”- Don't go into this looking for crunch. The book does have some mechanics, but if you are a living game person like me, most of the new qualities are parts of codes of honor which you can't have in the living game. So, that is kind of a bummer. The story does give some good hints on how to play an assassin. All and all, it's an ok book for crunch, but I wanted more. 1.5/2.5

Execution- The way this ways laid out initially left me a little put off, but once I got into it I liked it. It's worth a read, as it does get you into the head space of Shadowrun and some of the major players in the universe. The rules part at the end was a bit short, but well executed. However, I was a little disappointed with the price. For a PDF that is mostly story, I felt the $5 price was a bit much as its pretty short and rules light. I would have liked this a bit more at the $3 price point. I'm quibbling over dollars, but this is Shadowrun! What good would a run be if we didn't negotiate the price? 4/5


Final Thoughts- All said and done, I'm pretty happy with this book. It's not up to the quality of the core book, but I'm glad I read this small part of the Shadowrun lore. I really enjoyed what I read. And think that for anyone out there who likes the Shadowrun world, it's worth it. Don't go into this thinking it's going to give you the metagame advantage you were hoping for as there are only two pages of real rules though! 87%

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
by Julien P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2013 18:10:14
I started playing and GM'ing Shadowrun with third edition. After a couple of years playing other games, the release of SR5 was a good opportunity to return to the Sixth World with a new group of players. Since several of them are new to Shadowrun, the new season of Missions seemed a great entry point to the game and the setting.

Chasin' the Wind takes place in one of my favourite SR cities: Chicago. The "Bug City" quarantine might have ended almost two decades ago, the former Containment Zone remains one of the most dangerous places on Earth. Good news, that's where this first Mission takes the players.

Chasin' the Wind is a pretty good introductory scenario. It offers a nice variety of situations: legwork, danger, combat and negotiation, as the players are offered several jobs from several Johnsons (including everyone's favourite T'Skrang-- sorry, I meant changeling :p)

The adventure is not too challenging, which is fitting for a first chapter, although my players and I quickly realized how brutal and unforgiving combat can be in SR5! In case of need, the booklet contains suggestions to increase or decrease the difficulty of the scenes, which was much appreciated.

Chasin' the Winds is not perfect. The texts contains a few typos and some contradictory information, and the plot, as simple as it is, contains a couple of "head-scratchers" which, hopefully, will be explained in future Missions.

All in all, this product proves to be a great season opener with plenty of twists and turns and story hooks for future Missions. It certainly deserves its five stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 46 to 60 (of 634 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Catalyst Game Labs
Catalyst Game Labs
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (525)
 Hottest Titles

Shadowrun: Run & Gun

01.Shadowrun: Run & Gun
02.Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook
03.BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Gunslingers
04.BattleTech: Era Digest: Dark Age
05.BattleTech: Field Report 2765: FWLM
06.Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
07.Shadowrun: Digital Tools Box
08.Shadowrun: The Assassin's Primer
09.Shadowrun: Coyotes
10.Shadowrun: Sprawl Wilds
11.Shadowrun: Splintered State
12.Shadowrun: Missions: Chasin' the Wind (5A-01)
13.BattleTech Historical: Wars of the Republic Era
14.Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
15.BattleTech: Field Report 2765: AFFS
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate