DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Rob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 12:47:52
Here's what you get: a holdout, a light pistol, a heavy pistol, 3 machine pistols, 3 SMGs, 5 assault rifles, 6 shotguns, no fewer than 10 sporting rifles, an LMG, an assault cannon, and a flame thrower. Keep in mind, the reason it has so many sporting rifles is because the core book for SR5 doesn't actually have any (at least not billed as such). The damage codes on the sporting rifles are actually pretty impressive; they range from 6P to 13P, though the 13P weapon is only Accuracy 4. Nice in that they have both SR5 and SR20A stats.

Neither the Machine Pistols nor the SMGs were really that impressive when I did a side-by-side comparison to those available in SR5 core. The Assault Rifles were actually pretty interesting though, and I imagine the Shotguns and Sporting Rifles are actually worth looking at. The "Vintage" classification seems unnecessary with the "throwback" descriptor in SR5, and... I just can't place the look of an old west revolver in the hands of a runner in 2075. There's even one sporting rifle that is Cap and Ball ammunition, which takes 3 complex actions to load. Why include that?

The art is well done, but the design aesthetics of some of the weapons just look.... lame. or old. A couple of the rifles (admittedly made by the same manufacturer) look nearly identical. Again, the art itself is good, I just don't like what they're depicting. Pretty subjective, but.. I'm just not getting that same futuristic vibe of advanced weaponry when I look at a lot of these as I do from the SR5 book, or older edition splatbooks.

All in all still kinda iffy on it, but if you're a hardcore collector or your character is a gun enthusiast, this is still worth a look. Not sure I'd buy it off a shelf, I would definitely say buy it PDF if you want it. I realize it's not the main Firearms splatbook, but I'm still kinda underwhelmed. Not worthless, but fairly niche, and even then not the best.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: 10 Mercs
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/01/2014 11:52:36
10 Mercs looks at ten of the midrange mercenary companies in the Sixth World some famous, some infamous and some new but all interesting and most which can easily spawn plot hooks for characters. It is also very entertaining reading and even the opening fiction is a good read. If you use, or want to use, mercenaries in your Shadowrun campaign this will be a useful resource.

Shadowrun: 10 Mercs, is a good-sized (52-page) product detailing selected mercenaries groups in the Shadowrun setting along with a very brief discussion on the place of mercenaries in the Sixth World. Each mercenary group gets at least one named member fully described and statted out along with at least one standard member of that group with information (and stats) on equipment and vehicles as used by certain of the groups. While all of the information is still fairly current for 5th edition, the extensive statistics would be considerable work to convert, but if done only as needed should be manageable.

Some groups that have been mentioned before, such as the Free Marine Corps, get fully detailed and Picador (who is a frequent commentator ins other files) gets revealed. Some of the groups are obviously designed as opposition (Task Force Magus), others at potential allies (77th Independent Rangers, Bravo Company) but most could go either way depending on the situation and even the potential allies could end up opposed to the Shadowrunner goals. While there are no separate adventure seeds there is enough interesting information on each of the groups to be easily spun into scenarios.

While sizable units of mercenaries may not have a place in every Shadowrun campaign, if you are thinking of including such in yours, you will find this a useful resource and interesting read.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 10 Mercs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Cyberpirates!
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2013 11:18:15
It's a great book about the piracy in the 6th world. It can also be used for Shadowrun 3rd, 4th and 5th Edition. But the PDF is low but acceptable quality (scanned Book).

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Cyberpirates!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Sim Dreams & Nightmares
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/26/2013 22:00:57
Sim Dreams & Nightmares is a brief guide to the use and abuse of sim sense technology in the Shadowrun setting. Sim Sense and BTL (Better Than Life) chips, and the addiction caused by them, are a major part of the Shadowrun setting so, good to see them get some more detail. However, this product does not provide nearly enough mechanical information, rather just enough for an overview, which may be enough for most games but it creates more questions than it answers.

Shadowrun: Sim Dreams & Nightmares, is a short piece on sim sense and related technologies (Better Than Life -BTL- chips, moodchips, personasofts) and their place in the Sixth World of Shadowrun. While made for the 4th edition, the background information remains applicable to the setting and the limited additional rules should be easily convertible to 5th.

The discussions of sim sense and its uses (“opiate of the masses”) are interesting. But the really interesting chips are moodchips (choose your emotion) and personasofts (act like someone else with skills to match) and they are not given enough information to properly integrate them into a game as their mechanical effects and limits are not even discussed and they have so much potential as plot hooks and in game devices.

Additional mechanics for addiction as well as new sim and addiction related edges and flaws complete the product along with a complete list of addictive substances (including skillwires now) in Shadowrun along with prices for various sorts of sim programs.

The subject really deserves more space and clearer rules though it does do a good job of providing an insetting look at sim sense, it is lacking the mechanics to back them up properly.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Sim Dreams & Nightmares
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Coyotes
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/26/2013 06:16:25
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/12/26/tabletop-review-shadowr-
un-coyotes/

..and with this, I believe I’ve cleaned up my backlog of reviewables that came in while I was on vacation. Except for White Wolf’s Blood & Smoke: The Strix Chronicle of course. That’s a big one. Anyway, Coyotes is the latest supplement from Catalyst Game Labs. Unlike Gun H(E)aven 3, which was released the same day, I really liked Coyotes, even if the price tage may give you some initial hesitation as to whether you should pick this up or not. Eight bucks for thirty pages of content is a bit high to me, especially for a PDF, but at least there’s actual CONTENT to this piece (all of which is really well done) compared to say 50% blank space, a picture of a gun, line of mechanics and three to four sentences of Jackpoint snark. Best of all, the content in Coyotes is wonderful and you’ll easily get your money’s worth out of this release. Let’s show you why.

In the Sixth World, the term “coyotes” is slang for smugglers. This might throw you for a loop because of the emphasis the game has on Native American folklore and culture. In many NA tribes, the coyote is the symbol of the trickster god. So why use this term for smuggling? Well, it makes sense if you think about a smuggler being a trickster itself. After all, they have to use wits and many a clever scheme to get their cargo to their destination as well as past corporate and government snoops. In this sense the trickster version of coyote is somewhat applicable, at least more so than the animal itself that bears the name. I’m not sure if that is the same train of thought the writers of Shadowrun used to come up with it, but I’d love to see the process. A book showcasing the process for Sixth World slang would in and of itself would be a great read….but I’m going off topic. Let’s talk Coyotes.

Like a lot of supplements for Shadowrun, Coyotes is a multi-faceted piece. You have some short fiction (three pages) to start things off and then it goes into a Jackpoint discussion post. Unlike most supplements of this nature which have the metaplot piece first and the mechanics at the tail end of the book, the crunch and fluff are seamlessly integrated into this release. It’s a bit jarring for those used to the old way these types of pieces were done, especially when you go to flip towards the back for a piece of mechanics and find it’s not there anymore, but it’s well done and if this is the way these pieces are going to be done for Fifth Edition, we’ll all get used to it. Finally, the piece concludes with an adventure, which was a nice little surprise. This is rarely done in Shadowrun supplements, so I loved seeing this at the end of the piece. The adventure, which we’ll look at in depth later on in the review is written with the Shadowrun Missions format, which I loved seeing, as it’s my favorite adventure format, regardless of system/setting because it’s so inviting to GM’s of all skill levels. All in all, you’re getting an amazing amount of content jammed into these thirty pages and I’m really impressed by this release.

“Transporter” is the name of the piece of short fiction that starts this piece off. It’s about a coyote named Tim (Who also appears to be a Rigger BTW) and his unfortunate dealings with a less than professional team of runners. The story is a fine read and makes a great warning for what happens to PCs that think all NPCs are disposable idiots. The story ends a bit abruptly and I’d have liked to learn more about Tim (especially how he gets away with using a “real” name) and Pax, but that’s what sequels are for, right?

The core metaplot content is done in the usual Jackpoint style. The author here is one Timothy Movo, presumably the same Timothy from the previous short story. It’s a great look at the ins and outs of human trafficking (which is mostly what this piece is about, not cargo) and it’s one of the more faceted pieces I’ve seen CGL do on a particular Sixth World profession. You are given examples of what is needed to survive as a coyote, why it’s hard to get out of the job once immersed in it, and the big mistakes people make in the field, which leads to them dying. This section also tries to differentiate between a coyote and a routine smuggler, but it mostly came off as semantics for me.

This piece also covers the various type of situations where PCs might encounter a coyote. Are you in a game where all the PCs work for a specific corporation? There is a section on corporate coyotes. Want to make a Coyote a big NPC contact for your PCs? There is a lot on how to contact and eventually befriend a coyote. There’s a ton of information on border crossings ranging from “very easy” to very hard” along with the types of security, both mundane and magical that you are likely to encounter. These sections really blur the line between metaplot and mechanics, so you would do well to go over this area several times if you plan on making use of it. Of course, where there are descriptions of security measures, there is also commentary on how to get by them, so you’ll want to read that as well, especially if you play Shadowrun rather than run it.

The metaplot bit just kind of tapers off without warning or any real conclusion. It just suddenly goes into six sample NPC coyotes for use with your game and then into the adventure. Three are riggers, one is a guide, one is an adept and one is a technomancer. If you don’t like any of these, at least you’ll come away with an idea for how to design one of your own.

The included adventure is entitled, “Piping Hot” and it’s a one shot adventure designed to introduce new players to the game (or just Fifth Edition). The adventure is for Fifth Edition only, but with some slight modification, I have no doubts it could be played with previous editions of the game. The adventure takes a bit of explaining. The PCs are all unrelated to each other and are called by a Mr. Johnson individually. It seems he needs someone smuggled into Seattle but his usual coyote has up and disappeared. The good news is that the coyote left a set of instructions on how to do the run. The bad news is the runners, all totally new to the concept of human smuggling, are tapped for the job. It SOUNDS simple enough – drive a van into Salish-Shidhe, pick up the client and come on back to Seattle, but when is a run ever as easy as it sounds? The adventure gives characters and players alike a chance to taste the coyote lifestyle and see if it is something that they would be interested in pursuing further. If so, the GM and PC get a chance at exploring a very different aspect of the Sixth World. If not, hey, it was a one-time experience they wouldn’t otherwise get, right? Either way, the adventure is pretty interesting and a nice change of pace.

Overall, Coyotes is a nice purchase that gives you a taste of everything – a fleshed out concept, some short fiction, a full adventure, some Jackpoint material and a decent amount of mechanics (far more than we normally see in a supplement of this type). Basically it has something for everyone. I’m very pleased with Coyotes and can happily recommend it to Shadowrun fans across the board. Definitely pick it up if you haven’t already.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Coyotes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/26/2013 06:15:49
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/12/26/tabletop-review-shadowr-
un-gun-heaven-3/

Oh, Shadowrun. Leave it to you to release two supplements the very day I go on vacation for a week without any internet. So these reviews are later than I am comfortable with and then my readers would like, but at least they are getting reviewed, right?

Thankfully Gun H(e)aven 3 is an exceptionally easy product to review. It’s a thirty-eight page supplement in the same vein as the Para series, Mil Spec Tech and Used Car lot. Each page is devoted to a specific item. You get a piece of art to showcase said item (in this case, guns), some snarky JackPoint commentary and finally mechanics. It’s worth noting that the mechanics side of this piece gives stats for both Fourth/20AE AND Fifth Edition. Catalyst Game Labs has been doing this a lot lately and it’s nice to see them supporting the most recent version of the game as well as the previous version which some gamers have been slow to adapt for reasons ranging from limited disposable income to edition wars drama. This way fans of both versions can purchase this supplement and it also gives CGL more potential profit than if they only released this for a single system. WotC’s Dungeons & Dragons has been doing a similar thing with their Sundering line, but CGL has been giving mechanics while D&D has been going systemless. Point in the favor of CGL.

Unfortunately, Gun H(e)aven 3 is insanely priced. Eight dollars for roughly thirty guns? Without the art and copious amounts of white space, this supplement would be about ten pages tops. Hell, you can go to the last two pages of the collection and see the mechanics are repeated in a condensed fashion and each edition’s stats are less than a page. There’s so very little content, perhaps a paragraph PER PAGE, that it’s hard to justify the price tag on this, especially when similar releases like, say, Parazoology 2 has more pages, better art and a ton more content in terms of both mechanics and Jackpoint jargon. I realize there isn’t much that one can say about a gun without starting to get repetitive, but man, you are basically paying for a supplement that is more than 50% blank space per page. That’s just wrong to me.

Another big problem I had with Gun H(e)aven 3 was this following paragraph: “Not all of the standard modifications listed with the weapons in this book are detailed in Shadowrun, Fifth Edition. A book with more weapons and combat options called Run & Gun will be released shortly after this book, providing details on these modifications.” Why does this bother me so much? Because this means Gun H(e)aven 3 is incomplete and you need to purchase a SECOND SUPPLEMENT to actually get full usage out of this one! That’s insane. What’s worse is that said second piece isn’t out yet, meaning you have to wait to actually use this properly with Fifth Edition. So not only has there been some bad editorial decisions here, but Gun H(e)aven 3 comes across as a cheap cash grab that only the most devout (or stupid) Shadowrun fans will pick up. It’s kind of insulting and I feel bad for the author because I’m pretty sure this is editorial all the way.

Now aside from these two big quibbles, Gun H(e)aven 3 is a nicely done piece. The mechanics are solid, the Jackpoint banter is fun to flip through and you get thirty new weapons to add to your game, not that you probably needed them. I did find it a bit odd than some of these guns were complete junk that the Jackpoint crew ripped on. At first I was like, “Why devote an entire page to a weapon you’re basically saying players shouldn’t use?” but honestly, it would be weird and unrealistic if every firearm was a must have piece of awesomeness. By having crappy weapons in addition to high quality ones, the Sixth World becomes just a little more fleshed out in ways other games aren’t. If you’re really unhappy with all the gun options presented to you throughout both 4e and 5e or you are unable to stat out new items yourself, then yes, you may want to pick this up because now you have several dozen new options for your players and NPCs to equip themselves with. My personal favorites in this collection are the Krupp Arms Kreigfaust, the Winchester Model 201, and the Shiawase Arms Incinerator, the latter of which is probably going to be the favorite of many who pick this up because hey, flamethrower.

Overall, let’s give this supplement a thumbs in the middle. It’s deeply insulting to be told that you need to purchase another supplement in addition to the one you just purchased because the team behind it couldn’t be bothered to throw in a bit more mechanics, especially when so much of this release is blank space. It’s doubly so to do it at such an inflated price. There’s no way you should be paying more than five bucks for Gun H(e)aven 3 and even then, it’s really more of a curiosity piece than anything which will truly add something new to your game. I mean, if you want to spend eight bucks on a bunch of guns you could come up with yourself in a few hours and fit the stats into two or three pages of Microsoft Word, knock yourself out. I’d personally be pissed if I had spent money on this thing, though, considering how little you get for the price tag.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Ad Hoc Unit Cards
by Bobby W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2013 12:17:00
I haven't had a chance to play with these cards much or check the data on them with much scrutiny yet. It appears that there are a couple of duplicates in the cards but with different photos so far. The image quality on them is great and it looks like they took time to paint/photoshop all of the mech miniatures instead of the TRO images I've seen on the old record sheets. I like the change as it makes it easier to match up the card to the model.

These cards do not appear to have any protective coating on them so if you're going to use a dry erase marker I think it'd be best to get card protectors for them. They fit into the standard Magic: The Gathering card protectors I had lying around but it was a slightly tight fit, which is good to prevent them from falling out.

Over all I think this was a worthwhile purchase for me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Alpha Strike Ad Hoc Unit Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2013 17:52:28
Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Gun H(e)aven 3


Originally posted on www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!

Item-Gun H(e)aven 3

System-Shadowrun 20th Anniversary edition and 5e

Producer- Catalyst

Price- ~$7

TL;DR- An all around well done supplement for both systems. 93%

Basics-Oi, chummers! It’s time to log onto the shadownet and read about the latest batch of guns to hit the streets of the sixth world. Each of the over 30 guns in this book gets a full page treatment with a picture, stats for 4th and 5th edition, and some fluff from some of the more notable members of the Shadownet.



Mechanics or “Crunch”- I wouldn’t say this is a revolutionary book for mechanics, but its goal is to show off new guns. And, at that it succeeds quite well. The book shows off new guns like cap and ball guns and flamethrowers while giving stats for a lot of weapons. If you’re looking for a good collection of new guns for your game, this is a great addition for Shadowrun. 5/5



Theme/Story or “Fluff”-This part is well done also. Its pretty easy to lose the story of the world when you make a book primarily for numbers, but this book doesn’t do it. Each gun gets a picture which helps with your mental picture of the game. Also, I LOVE the fact that each gun gets a little debate by various players of the shadownet. It really makes me think like I was playing Shadowrun when I read this book. 5/5



Execution/Art- I liked the layout of this book. That was well done. I loved the art in this book. That was AMAZING! What I didn’t like was the price. The book is under 50 pages and it costs about ~7 bucks. I know art is expensive, but this was a bit too much for the book. 4/5



Summary- Honestly, this is a well done splat book for both SR4A and SR5. You might only need one copy per group since you only really need it when you buy your gun. I might complain about price, but I am glad I bought it. If you want to play the man with the gun and to know why your guy has that gun besides some metagame numbers, this is the book for you. 93%

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Coyotes
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/22/2013 15:56:09
Coyotes provides information about people smugglers in the Shadowrun setting. I admit, this is the first time I have seen the term ‘coyote’ used for people smugglers in a non-derogatory matter, the ‘coyotes’ I read about in the modern world are pretty universally unpleasant people, while here it is just used as a generic term and I think they would have been well served to have found another term to use. That aside, it is a useful resource if there is a lot of traveling in your campaign, not all borders are easy to move across after all.

Shadowrun: Coyotes, is a resource on people smugglers in the Sixth World, how and why they operate, advice on when to use them, pre-generated coyotes, examples checkpoints and a scenario make up this product.

It begins with three pages of fiction, showing a cross-border run from the point of view of the driver, and then moves into a little over six pages discussing how the transporters work and the dangers of their trade (and a pricing guide for GMs). Next there is about eight pages of border security (ranging from very easy to very hard) covering the sorts of guards and the magical, physical and matrix tools they will have at hand. Six operators are provided as examples, ranging from street guides to waterborne smugglers, for the GM.

Lastly, there is a short adventure “Piping Hot” that gives characters a chance to act as transporters themselves. It is a good early adventure for a team and, which a little stage-managed, looks like it could be quite fun to play.

Overall, a good addition to the resources for Shadowrun covering a niche that has often been overlooked.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Coyotes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2013 22:51:35
Looking to run an atompunk campaign using Savage Worlds rules, I picked this up on a whim, hoping to glean a few ideas for a homebrew. I'm so glad I did; the retro-future setting they've created is practically bursting at the seams with great ideas. What's more, the crisp writing -- light, pulpy, humorous but never ridiculous, with a cohesive feel, and obviously put together by people who really love sci fi from the 40's through the 60's -- makes for one of the most pleasing campaign setting reads I've ever encountered. Bubble helmets? Check. Psionically-endowed nefarious Moon Men? Check. Weird science and cool technobabble (I love "fractum embroilment field")? Check. All done with style. Like many good RPG settings, most of the ideas are stolen -- but never feel tacked on.

The setting is laid out in a series of short reports, scientific papers or histories, which jump around topic-wise. The approach was unsettling at first -- where was my giant setting map followed by detailed regional descriptions? Where were my sections on currency, everyday life, government, travel, and a planet-by-planet accounting of adventure locales? As I read on, though, the more I appreciated the way the articles encouraged me to imagine my own version of a living, breathing setting from the inside. Some folks may yearn for more of a "sourcebook" approach, but by relying on well-written "you are there" pieces over lists, I think they've sidestepped one of my common complaints about campaign settings: often, the writers are so intent on giving you details about everything that they don't leave room for your group's stories. Not so here, and it's great stuff.

In the end, I've ported about 90% of what I've read into my SW game, to the point where it really is just a Cosmic Patrol game with a ruleset of my own choosing.

I can't comment about the game system; frankly, I skipped over it for the fluff, and still feel like I got a great deal at $4.99. Other products in this line have lived up to the same high standards.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/16/2013 16:04:17
Gun H(e)aven 3 provides (surprise surprise) more guns for Shadowrun, statted out for both 4th and 5th editions which is useful and also -at times- perplexing. The weapons are primarily small arms, with one each assault cannon, light machine gun and flame-thrower, many of which are the sorts of weapon that would be found in households, not usually the sort of heat runners would pack but that they might be shot by or be forced to use in bad circumstances. All of this is useful in the right circumstances. But what perplexes me about the product is that while it is the same weapon from edition to edition, the availability, cost and legality (!) of many of the guns changes from edition to edition which are part of the same continuity, some explanation would be welcome.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Montreal 2074
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/16/2013 16:03:19
Montreal 2074 as the Republic of Quebec opens for business, Montreal sees a renaissance as corporate money pours in revitalizing the city and providing Shadowrunners with opportunities. This resource gives some background as to what has happened in Quebec as a whole since the matrix crash 2.0 and what specifically has been going down in Montreal. It gives a good overview of the city, sketches of the major players in the shadowy underworld and ends with nine contacts appropriate to Montreal (while written for the previous edition, the mechanic of the contacts are the only things that would need to be converted for a 5th edition game). While there are a variety of implied adventures in the text, some adventure seeds would have been a nice addition. Overall, a needed resource if you want to run the shadows up Quebec-way even though it could have provided some deeper information beyond the overview for plot hooks and really getting a feel for the shadows of Montreal.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Montreal 2074
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Maximilian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2013 17:19:45
First of all, the fact that Gun Heaven 3 can be used with Shadowrun 4.1 and 5 is a very nice touch.

The supplement introduces a lot of rather exotic and/or vintage guns with little real combat efficiency for player characters, although many of them have their uses in the hands of civilians, low-tech gangers and/or third-world fighters. Some of them also have a lot of style for posers, especially the variety of wild-west vintage style revolvers and lever action rifles. On the other hand, there also are a few quite exciting, high-powered guns like the monsoon and the rainforest rifle that could possibly rise the power level of your campaign an will be very attractive to players.

Fluff and crunch are quite good, all in all, the illustrations have very different styles but the quality is generally nice, much better than some of the crude pieces presented in gun heaven 2.

All in all, in my opinion, the PDF is not a real must-have, but quite worth the purchase and may add some nice aspects to your Shadowrun-Universe.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2013 23:40:25
Gun Heaven 3 expands the Shadowrun 5th Edition arsenal, and does so in an interesting manner. It pioneers new territory as far as official content we've seen in Shadowrun, and it's got a lot going for it with regards to expanding the capabilities of combatants in 5th Edition campaigns.

It's a well-done piece, with gorgeous guns throughout. There's even a good old Springfield Model 1855, should one want to go back to black powder weapons, and several other interesting guns. Sporting rifles are added back into 5th Edition, which is, in my opinion, a good thing.

A few weapons in this are archetype breakers, such as the Rain Forest carbine, a solid option for a runner with high Automatics who needs a more solid single shot weapon that hits more like a sniper rifle, and there are interesting historical weapons throughout. It also includes a good glimpse of a civilian weapons catalog, with a chunk of easy to get weapons that would be just as much in place in a homeowner's gun cabinet as in a security guard's hands. Other weapons such as the Monsoon include features and applications that we haven't seen before, even though they were supported in the previous rulesets (it uses six barrels that hold the ammunition, akin to the somewhat famous Metal Storm concept weapon).

For $8, you could go worse than Gun Heaven 3; it's got a lot of new art, the witty banter and fluff with each weapon is good, and it's got a lot of interesting guns. Of course, at the same time, it doesn't really introduce any new rules that are likely to see use in play (unless someone violates the rules of magic and time travels back to the Civil War).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadowrun: Coyotes
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2013 22:42:22
Coyotes is an interesting piece. It's perhaps more for GM's than for players, but it answers the question of border crossings in Shadowrun nicely, while also providing an adventure and some guidelines for how players can get passage between places.

My main gripe with Coyotes is that it doesn't cover "unofficial" border crossings, like those done through tunnels or using thunderbirds, in very much detail. Fortunately, it gives a good idea of what to expect at border crossings, providing a good framework for roleplaying the events and actually turning crossing the border into a component of an engaging session.

Typesetting and graphics wise, I enjoyed Coyotes. There's a little bit of art repetition from prior works (I recognized one piece from SR4's Runner's Companion), but that's not a deal-breaker given the general high quality of previous works. Each page has the same header art, but it's subdued enough not to be too grating and distracting.

My only caution to people who would buy Coyotes is the price; for a short fiction, bit of fluff, and a short adventure you might do better for $8, but it's still a good product all-in-all, and if you're looking for that crucial travel information there's no better place to look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Coyotes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 668 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates