DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rite Map Pack: Ocean Cave
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2014 01:49:06
Whether you need an oceanside cave for a pirate hideout, a mysterious cult, a sahuagin beachhead, or some other purpose, this map pack can help you out—as long as you don't need an extensive cave complex directly connected to the cave. There's plenty of ocean here for your skiff to be beset by aquatic ghouls or some such while others fight on land. There are a fairly limited range of situations in which this pack would be useful, but when you need it, it will look great on the table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rite Map Pack: Ocean Cave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lucien's Guide: The Black Files (Diceless)
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2014 17:16:17
Released last Thursday this is the latest supplement to hit the LoGaS line. Written by Rob Donoghue this source book offers up some of Lucien's (a major NPC of the Grand Stair) secretive and darker files that point to dangers or threats on the Stair that are little known. The cover of this book grabbed me as soon as I saw it and I was delighted to finally get my hands on this gem.

The book is broken up into a selection of files and they are largely themed to items and worlds that may have been affected by Typhonians at one time or another. The preface to the book talks about how many people attribute a lot to the effects of the Typhonian's and also talks about a possible Typhonian "event" that may have occurred. This makes for a really interesting introduction and gives some great insight into possible genesis events of the Grand Stair, even perhaps the purpose of the Stair.

There is a new mechanic introduced in this booklet that I have gotten excited about too. The mechanic is attached to domains and expands them to include "realms". Now a realm means that you can expand the scope of your domain to perhaps include other realities (like perhaps an astral realm, a fey realm etc) all overlaid to the current world. It would also suit the idea of different planes as set out in most fantasy RPG's. Also there is the option here to include interstellar communities and realms. This is worth the price of the book alone!

The book is very piecemeal by design. It contains compartmentalized information and it is very clear where sections start and end. It is a good format and one that I hope they return to, perhaps giving out more of the "Black Files" in the same format. As a format it also gives the GM the idea on how to and what to write in this way for their own adventures. I can already see my NPC Fambol the Kind trying to get his hands on as many of these as possible.

The art work is incredible and really adds some great visual prompts to the files being discussed. My absolute favourite is the picture of Tyran the Demon God. Check it out as he looks like a horrifying school girl with pigtails. I love it. It is possibly not the effect sought after but it made me giggle like a schoolgirl with pigtails and so it is my favourite picture followed by the image of Sophia.

So, after writing all of that I can see that I have had nothing bad to say at all about the book. Well then, it is obvious that my summary is about to say GO GET THIS BOOK. Lucien's Guide: The Black Files is another top quality addition to the Lords of Gossamer and Shadow dice-less role playing game and I give it 5 out of 5 horrifying school girl's with pigtails! What are you doing still reading. Go get the book!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lucien's Guide: The Black Files (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2014 00:00:03
Well, one got by me! I was advised by one of my players that the Lords of Gossamer and Shadow had a bundle available through Drive Thru RPG that gives you all of the Lords of Gossamer and Shadow books to date that have been released (it is great value by the way). I went and had a look and I spotted a book I did not have by Matt Banach. Rectifying that mistake I grabbed it and have just finished reading it.

The Tetsujin Shogunate Worlds book is an alternate Earth world where two alien races crashed into Earth, the Oni and the Kappa. They are warring races and that war has exploded across Earth. The Oni have taken much of humanity into slavery by using pheromones to enslave them whilst the Kappa have allied with the humans and are teaching them to make giant samurai robots to fight the Oni and take back the planet.

Yes, that is right. GIANT FREAKING ROBOTS FIGHTING ALIENS PEOPLE. Not sure I should review it any further. That sentence says it all. But I must continue. They are not just giant robots but giant robot samurai...

I just want to play it right now.

The world has a political edge to it all also and ninjas and an Eastern setting and (wipes drool from corner of the mouth) so much goodness all in one little 8 page book. The setting is great, and while I have been getting involved in eastern settings of late with the honor caste and effects I have found this twist on it exciting.

What I did want is more detail in the book. But the way that these are set up is really to give you just enough information to get the game rolling. They leave the blanks for you the GM to fill in. That is all good but I am not really a hundred percent confident with eastern traditions yet and a lot of political detail needs to be fleshed out in that regard so I would have liked to see maybe a list of houses or political factions that I could start to build on. I only know that the structure is built around the shogun, daimyo and the alliance with the Kappa from really one small part of the book and to do that justice I feel would require a lot of work on my part (I am a bit of a perfectionist though).

That said though this book is excellent. One of my favorite world books so far. It may just be the fact that I loved Pacific Rim that is urging me on here but I think it is a little deeper. In fact if I were to run this world in game I think I would focus a lot more on the ninja culture than I would on the giant robots that battle the Oni. Having stealth missions into the encampments of the Oni would make for a tense and drama filled game.

At a $1.49 for the Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate is definitely worth shelling out for. Matt Banach has done a great job of bringing a world based on an alternate history of our own to life and it is not going to break the bank. I give this book a healthy four giant samurai robots out of five!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Tetsujin Shogunate (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Empyrea (Diceless)
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2014 23:56:48
These world source books are a great little addition to the Lords of Gossamer and Shadow because they are short, descriptive and interesting. They make me want to read them and Matt Banach keeps me wanting more from every one of his little gems.

Empyrea is a Grecian styled world with a self styled all-powerful ruler. This ruler has seemingly been experimenting with the subjects of his domain by introducing nanotechnology genetic serums to make them become super-human. The serums are also likely to be reducing the ability for the normal people of the domain to be able to manipulate magical forces. Of course that does not stretch to the tyrants own children.

Of course I make it sound very sinister and it is not necessarily the state of things. The domain has many beautiful, powerful individuals and is surprisingly high tech though much of this technology is well hidden from view. The world is bright and beautiful and many impressive excesses can be experienced here.

The ruler of this world is not a Lord of Gossamer yet. He has only recently become aware of the existence of the Grand Stair and his first encounter with a Lord did not end well. So much so that the door into the world is kept secret and it can be quite a hostile place for people that are unknown. There is a great deal of technical and mystical surveillance on the populace and unknowns tend to be quickly identified and then they are closely watched.

I love this book for its connections to the idea of Olympus and some nice mythological additions that are built in both with sorcery and technology. The rules are basically invisible in this book with the standard domain table being included as the final portion of the book.

The material is very easy to read and the book will likely be devoured in under ten minutes. The details hide a lot of hooks for adventures and provides a good detail of the atmosphere of the world to include in the games that you run with a connection to this world. It is an interesting place to visit and a world that I had not really considered previously for my own game but who knows, it may well be a place my players will be visiting in the future. Get this book for your game, it is well worth it. 4 out of 5 bunches of cyber harpies!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Empyrea (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Brokeworld (Diceless)
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2014 23:54:55
Another world submitted to the Lords of Gossamer and Shadow collection known as Brokeworld. This addition comes from Matt Banach and had me very interested in it soon after reading the first few details of the source book.

This world is a dumping ground where many other Gossamer worlds rubbish is deposited. I like this idea a lot because it is the basis for my own game that I am developing known as Detritus (you can find posts about it on this blog). I was excited to see that this idea was included here for Lords of Gossamer and shadow so read on with my interest piqued.

There are some interesting details to be found here but I was very disappointed to find the book end after only a few short pages. A world that has such possibility with the possibilities of numerous interesting locales and theories as to why things end up there, but there is little to find here in that regard. The book finishes with the mandatory domain details but in my opinion this realm could have been so much more.

There are some nice touches like how the original inhabitants of the realm are becoming more and more disfigured as well as the Gremlins. They are a really nice addition to the world as well as the possibilities listed for the rest of the Grand Stair.

So, in summary you will get a short source book that has a lot of potential though much of the potential is lost with too few details. Of course, as a GM this gives you the opportunity to fill it with everything you want but I just can't help but want more from this book. Overall I give it three huge mounds of rubble out of five.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Brokeworld (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Convergent Paths: Clerics of the Cloth (PFRPG)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/28/2014 03:17:13
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of RiP's Convergent Paths-series is 14 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 11 pages of content, so let's take a look!



We kick off the pdf with a simple archetype - unarmored clerics. These guys don't get the proficiencies with armors or shields, but when not heavily encumbered and unarmed, they get wis-mod to AC and CMD, also applying the bonus when flat-footed and against touch attacks. When under fear-related conditions or confused, these bonuses are negated and they don't stack with other wis-to-AC-abilities. Generally nice, if a bit weak - especially at medium to high levels, an additional benefit could help.



The Devout Exemplar archetype loses armor and shield proficiencies and only gets one domain. Instead, they get the ability to blink to the deity's plane for 3+Wis-mod rounds per day, phasing rapidly between the deity's plane and the prime material. In the after math, the exemplar is fatigued for 2 rounds per round spent phasing. While phasing, the exemplar has a 50% miss chance and even this chance to be missed by targeted spells. They also have a 20% chance to miss themselves, which extends to their own spells. While phasing back and forth, they take only half damage from AoE-effects, falling etc. and they may even interact with potential creatures on that plane. Blind Fight doesn't help against phasing, but dimensionally locking the exemplar does. At high levels, the exemplar may stay on the deity's plane. Starting at first level, they also choose one of 3 training regimens - strength, speed or stamina. This supersedes the usual praying for spells and additionally an ability at 2nd level and every 4 levels thereafter. Beyond the general benefit of the regiment (like using class level for CMB regarding one maneuver chosen per day), these include lessened penalties for age, wis-mod to CMB 1/day/creature, vastly increased thrown weapon range (but lost str-bonus beyond increment 5), better climbing or more carrying capacity, to name a few.

Exemplars devoted to speed can tumble via acrobatics at full speed at half the penalty, get better reflexes or no penalties when in tight conditions etc, while stamina training helps with armor check penalties, can lessen fatigue incurred by their blinking (or rage!) and also gets a recovery trance that lets them reroll fort-saves at +2, potentially even negating the initial failed save. The latter is a tad bit too strong for my tastes since it retcons the initial effects and has no limitation apart from one roll per condition per 24 hours. Each regiment also provides a +2 capstone-bonus to the attribute of their regime at 20th level as long as they maintain training. Finally, they get a +1 dodge bonus to AC while wearing no armor/shield, scaling up to +5.



Next up would be the Missionary Priest, who also get wis-mod to AC/CMD (with same caveats) and a studied creature type (somewhat favored enemy style), but with more focused on social/knowledge skills. These races also determine when the missionary's special abilities kick in - these are linear and offer no selection, allowing for additional AC-bonuses, 5-foot-steps, use aid another vs. AC 20 to negate AoOs and finally, faster coup-de-gracing. I like the idea here, but the execution feels a bit too linear and could have used a bit more variety.



The next archetype would be the Sacerdos (plural Sacerdotes). These also get the AC/CMD-bonus in lieu of armor/shield proficiency and at 2nd level and every 4 levels thereafter, these guys and gals learn a sacred rite, which can perform as a full-round action that incurs an AoO - unlike regular channeling. Each rite allows the Sacerdos to replace a set amount of channel dice with another effect, which lasts for one round unless otherwise mentioned. Only one rite may be used to modify one channel attempt (unless you take the new Augment Rite-feat), though the rite can replace all channel dice, thus cancelling the standard (or variant) channeling effect the act would usually result in. The channel effects can improve/hinder critical hit-confirmation, render foes blind/dazzled, grant energy resistance and a whole slew of other cool, tactical options. All in all, one damn cool archetype, though I wished it had much, much more rites available - for more versatile builds. This one's definitely a candidate for a full-blown pdf of its own - perhaps with divine channeler-synergy?.



The new feats allow the respective archetypes to e.g. wilder in other training regimes, get more rites, target creatures excluded with selective channeling with other effects, partial access to (sub-) domains etc. - some coolness in here, especially if you wanted more synergy with variant channeling - all the metamagic fun etc. is in here - at times balanced by e.g. staggering you or in the case of maximizing the effect, limiting the channel to you. One feat hit a pet-peeve of mine - as a swift action, it buffs your weapon and makes it aligned, which is very strong - especially since the feat has NO LIMITS. Some generous, but existing limits or the alignment effect coming it at higher levels would be very much prudent in my book.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good - I noticed next to no glitches and those I found were typos and didn't impede my ability to understand the content. Layout adheres to RiP's old two-column full-color standard. Artwork, as far as I could tell, is thematically-fitting stock art and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Thomas LeBlanc is a talented designer - when I read this, I expected yet another slew of uninspired cleric/monk rip-offs, but instead, he delivers! The Divine Exemplar's blinking, the Sacerdotes and their rites - I love those two to death (they could imho carry their own books each - and would deserve more fodder!) and the channel-themed feats are also nice additions to the game. I was quite disappointed by the missionary, and I do consider some minor pieces of crunch to be somewhat problematic - these remain the absolute minority, though. In the end, this pdf misses the 5 stars only by a margin, resulting in a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 due to the low, fair price and the nice fluff that kicks off each feat, each archetype. Now when do the exemplar and sacerdotes get more tools?

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convergent Paths: Clerics of the Cloth (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rite Map Pack: Ocean Cave
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2014 10:38:20
Home for some pirates, the temple of a sea-god's cult... or a deserted cavern discovered by shipwrecked sailors or curious explorers - how you use this map is up to you.

It is an inlet surrounded by cliffs, with a small shingle beach and some crafted steps and platforms. Perhaps you can delve into caves, or there may be a path to the clifftop, but neither are evident here.

There is a single sheet that shows the full layout, then a PDF of segments you can print out and stick together to create a battle map with one-inch squares. There are also two JPEGs - one with grid and one without - which can be used with a virtual table top or even tinkered with in a graphics program if you are so inclined.

It is a nicely-drawn and interesting little place, the sort of thing that makes you start turning over ideas for adventures to run there or ways you could use that location in your game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rite Map Pack: Ocean Cave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2014 15:16:22
This is another great source book showcasing the battle between the universal forces of perfection and entropy.
Like the world book Tetsujin Shogunate but on a much larger and different scale. While I liked the Kaiju and Giant robot inspired Tetsujin Shogunate world better it is only a matter of personal taste. If you prefer more cosmic sci fi you will like this sourcebook a lot.

The best way to put it is a few diamonds of high technology afloat on a sea of chaos. It has a little bit of aliens detailing some in more detail. The spin on a race called Jinn is interesting you really have to read about them to see.

Some of the things you will find in Stratospheria:

Air Pirates !
Avian like aliens that are superior pilots.
The mysterious Jinn who are a high tech spin on genies.
A supermax prison (For you Riddick fans)
Mention of the Deep Gods mysterious unknown creatures and beings living within the maelstrom.
Giant floating jellyfish designed to help make the world more habitable.
The battle of Eidolon vs Umbra on a more cosmic scale.

and the tantalizing possibility of something hidden at the heart of the gas giant.

Even as a source book on ideas to mine for other sci fi games this has some good ideas.

Well worth a purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

20 Variant Foes: Worgs and Winter Wolves (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2014 20:25:14
If you are a fan of worgs or winter wolves, like I am, this is what you need. RITE publishing love their monster variants and here we have 20 variants for a dm to enjoy reading over, before they are inflicted upon the players.

The worgs and winter wolves are quite strong with varied special abilities and templates. I quite liked Judge Kerist the celestial worg inquisitor, and his combat tactics. The CR 14 silver wolf was quite impressive, and while the damage isn’t great, the buffs, fortification and protections are.

This book also has a number of extra features hidden in the back of it. We have templates, such as for the dread vampire, dread wight and apex predator. There are half-balors, phalanxes, and the ravenous creature (which weirds me out as it looks so creepy). There are magic items, archetypes for classes and some very powerful feats, intended for monsters, to make them really challenge the party. Some of these feats though, are deliberately overpowered, so a dm should be cautious and perhaps up the CR of monsters or villains that have them.

This book isn’t just about worgs or winter wolves. There is a lot more to it and I am very pleased with it, and look forward to sicking them on to the players. 5/5. Now to try and work out how to get a lot of this into my games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
20 Variant Foes: Worgs and Winter Wolves (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Not So Random Encounters: Forest Kingdom (PFRPG)
by Trev W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2014 20:01:59
This book is a welcome discovery. I was surprised by not only the amount of monsters and variants inside, but the breadth of CRs covered. The first one is CR 23, and they go through and down to CR 1/2.

The monsters and enemies are the guts of this book, and their stats are either complete, or they are variants of existing monsters with added special abilities and more description. What I most approved of was the “scaling the encounter” sections, which explain what to do to drop or increase the CR.

Having gone through the book, I will be using some of these in my game tonight. I especially liked the Green Guardian Alraune, the Greater Verdurous Ooze (that sleep effect could be fatal), the Dweomercat (to deal with spellcasters), the swamp eels and green hag encounter and Yooli the fearsome owlbear scaled up in CR.

Now for my rating, I am giving it 5/5. I really didn’t like the cover art, but that is not enough to detract from the high quality monsters and enemies inside—which is why we are really here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Random Encounters: Forest Kingdom (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2014 08:36:33
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement for DICELESS LoGaS is 8 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, leaving us with 6 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



Based on Psyche, the ability to bestow blessings & curses costs 35 points - 15 points for the ability and a pool of 20 points to make said blessings & curses. Once these are used up, the rest of the required point costs are converted to bad stuff or detracted from good stuff. So...what's the difference between stuff and these conditions? The pdf does explain that rather nice, and the process of delivering blessings & curses is also covered in detail. The more severe the curse, the more points it costs.



The same holds true for gradient influence and persistence of these effects. How hard a curse/blessing can be dismissed also determines the final point cost, as does the effect's duration - from this, one can craft exceedingly easily new and varied effects, guided by a concise, easy to grasp system, with your imagination being the only limit.



We also get a 10-point, 21-point and 55-point sample curse, including a cost break-down.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to RiP's beautiful two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with gorgeous full-color artworks. The pdf comes with rather minimalistic bookmarks, which is all it needs, though.



Jason Durall delivers a simple, elegant, easy to grasp concept for making blessing and curses in LoGaS and overall, the supplement features a great system - one with one crucial flaw in my book: Why is there no cost for creating either exclusively blessings or exclusively curses? Fiction is full of characters that can enunciate dreadful curses, but couldn't bless a wart away... So yeah, that does constitute a rather significant oversight in my book, one that, at this length, weighs quite heavily. Add to that the rather generic sample curses, and we are left with a good little expansion, but one that lacks the little spark of brilliance to catapult it to the highest echelons. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Addendum: Blessings & Curses (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
by Mark K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2014 19:53:16
The newest Gossamer World to hit the stores is the mini source book on Stratospheria. Its full title being Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria. It has been written by Matt Banach and looks at the introduction of a world that is populated by airborne cities that circulate around a super large planet with crushing gravity completely inhospitable by regular beings.

Let me start with the quality of the writing in this booklet. It is fantastic! I read the booklet and it read more like a novel than a source book. The stories and possibilities that arise through the text are evocative and descriptive. I just loved the idea of a floating city world but this does so much more and packs the entire booklet from the first page with ideas that would make this a fun setting to run the game in.

The idea of the planet below is largely glossed over for many pages but then there is a small paragraph in the booklet that reveals a possibility of what is on the planet that made me appreciate this little booklet tenfold! Am I going to reveal it? Hell no! Buy it and find it out for yourself.

The beauty of these booklets that are coming out for the Gossamer worlds is they are cheap $1.49 (USD) and made for the game Lords of Gossamer and Shadow but can be used for any suitable system. I can see myself using this booklet for Traveller in the very near future! Sure, there are probably a few bits and pieces that are Lords of Gossamer and Shadow specific but the overall feel of the worlds can be transferred while ignoring those components. For example, there is only one page in this booklet that has anything listed that is mechanically related to the game (great thing about a diceless system). Alternatively it may open up the urge to investigate the game of Lords of Gossamer and Shadow as well and if that happens, pursue the feeling. You will not be disappointed.

The artwork inside this booklet is phenomenal. In reality I am a very shallow human being that is easily pleased by a pretty picture and Rite Publishing's Steve Russell taunted me in the lead up to this products release with some of the most lush pictures of this world. The layout is great and fits with the theme of all of the books so far and makes for easy reading. Great work as always by the people that work on both of these portions.

In short, I can not find a reason to dislike this book. I try to be thorough and I believe I have here and come up with nothing but love for this setting. Once you have finished this paragraph GO BUY IT. Just go buy it! It really is that good. Five out of Five drops to the planetary surface! Are you still reading? Go buy it! And remember Don't keep rolling (with Lords of Gossamer and Shadow at least)!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Stratospheria (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Empyrea (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/06/2014 02:49:49
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Infinite worlds lie on the Grand Stairs - here, we get Empyrea in the second installment of the Gossamer Worlds-series in a 9-page pdf, of which 1 page is the front cover, 1 page the editorial, leaving 7 pages - so what is this place all about?



If you're a comic-book-nerd, think New Genesis. If that doesn't ring any bells - think an idealistic, enlightened greco-roman-style planet of essentially superhumans - guided by a benevolent allfather who is only slowly coming to grips with the existence of the Grand Stair, the people of Empyrea essentially live in bliss and, via positive eugenics, can be indeed considered superb beings. If you're like me, this makes you shudder somewhat, though the ruler seems indeed to be a mostly benevolent influence. Overall, though, the otherwise very elysian society remains ignorant of the Grand Stairs...at least for now.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's purple-bordered two-column full-color standard and the thematically-fitting stock-art by Thomas Cole is great. The pdf comes with bookmarks, in spite of its brevity.



Matt Banach's in-character prose once again is glorious and Empyrea comes alive from the pages of this supplement - the writing is awesome and the world per se compelling and full of potential. That being said, the world as such feels slightly less unique than Brokeworld, has no per se unique characteristic regarding its influence on magic/characters. It makes for a great, compelling backdrop, but it feels a tad bit less original than Brokeworld. It makes for a great place to visit, but verdict-wise, this installment of gossamer worlds clocks in at 4 stars for me - a good supplement, but not 100% as unique as its predecessor.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Empyrea (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gossamer Worlds: Brokeworld (Diceless)
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2014 03:03:11
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Infinite worlds lie on the Grand Stairs - here, we get Brokeworld in a 6-page pdf, of which 1 page is the front cover, 1 page the editorial, leaving 4 pages - so what is Brokeworld all about?



In in-character prose, this little supplement introduces us to the Brokeworld, a cosmic dumping ground for other gossamer worlds - plagued by size/shapechanging gremlins that propagate via fecal matter, roamed by the Unmade, broken practitioners of Eidolon, this world not only is notoriously hard to leave, its domain table also makes sure that poor saps stranded there have their good stuff slowly drained and means of taking control etc. all are present - a truly destitute, apocalyptic vista indeed!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Rite Publishing's purple-bordered two-column standard for LoGaS and the pdf even comes with bookmarks, in spite of its short length.



Written by Matt Banach, who has proven his mettle for the weird before in RiP's superb Faces of the Tarnished Souk-series (which remains my go-to benchmark for NPC-supplements), Brokeworld is a captivating read of a supplemented by a superb top-notch artwork by Trung Ta Ha. Mechanically interesting, with ample narrative potential, it makes for a great place to integrate into a LoGaS-campaign and should also act as a neat inspiration for planar adventures of other settings. Final verdict? 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gossamer Worlds: Brokeworld (Diceless)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rite Map Pack: City by the Sea
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/23/2014 12:14:30
If you love designing cities for your campaign world but are handicapped by the inability to draw city plans this is something to pounce upon.

It's quite a big sprawling city - at least by the cod-mediaeval standards appropriate for a fantasy game - set on a coastal plain. It's a little unusual in that there is no natural harbour nor is it at a river mouth, but if those are in short supply in the area the nice flat land it sits upon is probably what attracted those who founded the city to build here.

It is all set up to make customisation easy too. The PDF includes an unmarked single sheet version and a series of pages that you'll have to stick together to make a poster-size map. With good use of 'form fillable' technology, there is also a labelled map where you can enter in your own city name and the names of selected numbered locations ready to show the important places to your players once their characters start to find their way around (or purchase a map).

The ZIP file that also comes with your download contains large JPEG files which can be worked on in your favourite graphics package, used in a virtual table top or even printed if you have access to poster printing facilities.

All you need to do is decide who dwells there and what adventures will take place when the party visits town!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rite Map Pack: City by the Sea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 870 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates