DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Patrick V. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2014 22:33:44
Good thing that this is for free, because it's not worth any amount of money, however small. Its only virtue is a little bit of nostaglia for old school gamers. With this--and the makers' other similar products--all you get are, literally, handwritten notes in ink and scanned from a notebook--including sentences with lines running through crossing out errors. The amateur maps are as crude as the kind old school gamers like myself used to draw--kids' maps.

I understand that's the point and style of these modules. But I've been playing since 1981 and so I remember those days. Had we kids then had access to today's tech, you'd probably never would've seen old school notes and maps for I doubt that little of them would've existed--if any at all. The reason? I'd say most Dungeon Masters prefer neat and organized over sloppy and crudely rendered.

I never want to go back to the days of scribbled notes and maps. Give me choices of type fonts; let me have maps colored and glossy; grant me beautifully-rendered table top terrain,upon which tread the metal and plastic feet of monsters and heroes.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Referring to the marketing copy on the product page, it should have been clear that all the HAMS products are reproduced and posted out of a sense of nostalgia for the young gamers we all were at the time of AD&D\'s heyday in the late 70\'s and early 80\'s period (but perhaps I should emphasize that point more strongly in the product description?). In particular, they are reflecting on how we as young teenagers fancied ourselves \'game designers\'. These HAMS (High-Adventure from Middle-School) games are unedited, undeveloped, and reproduced when possible, exactly as we created them \"back in the day.\" They are not meant to be taken as serious adventure writing. What they are meant to be is just reminiscent of our youthful gaming days. And I feel they achieve just exactly that. Here is hoping that someday you might take a second look at Usherwood Publishing\'s more \'serious\' adventuring options like the Bone-Hilt Sword Campaign, Arachnophobia!, The Rebel Faction, etc. Kramer
The Rebel Faction
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 20:45:21
Looks to be a re-write of D123. Or at least the hex maps and certain features of the wandering monster tables reminded me of that series. The module is a huge campaign of over 50 pages and looks like it will need a group of gamers that can meet regularly for several sessions to finish. It has some of the best adventure maps in full color I have ever seen, particularly the outdoor ones. It has 2 detractors though that need fixing in a future update. The boxed text (monster stats) is way too small and what little art there is - is mostly wasted on images of pregenerated characters.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Rebel Faction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Pyramid of Gorsh
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 20:09:13
Killer dungeon with too much treasure. Entertaining read and original presentation, but I would only recommend DMing this if you want to punish your friends for making you DM again :P

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pyramid of Gorsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 19:59:38
well its free, but I have to admit if it had cost me $1 or more, I would have 1- starred this module in a heartbeat. It definitely lives up to the hype. The treasure and rewards are too much and most DM's will be able to kill the party without much effort. Exactly the sort of thing I remember in my youth lol. Good for a quick read, but I'll pass on this one.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Introduction to InDesign
by Steven V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 14:10:42
Just got in to using Adobe In Design and wanted a basic book. Did want to spend a ton on a book in case it wasn't what I'd need. This is a great book for beginners. Very clearly written and helpful.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Introduction to InDesign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Usherwood Adventures Expansion for OSRIC (PDF)
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:21:51
A fine edition to the OSRIC rules, not only does it give players that are fans of the Bard class a retro version to play with, but it also gives classic players a nice alternative to the overpowering Monk class that is in the original 1st edition Players Hand Book, and of course it has a lot of other Goodie's to play with in your game.

I recommended this book to any retro gamer wanting to add more to there game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Usherwood Adventures Expansion for OSRIC (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:11:41
Best... 1st Edition Clone...... EVER!!!!

Ever sense I bought an old 1st edition Starter set years ago I have been looking for 1st edition books for a LONG time, and that I have found THIS! I can finally start that retro game that I have always wanted to play/run!

I recommend this to all classic gamers everywhere for that Old School feeling that we all look for!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 18:41:45
Nice little expansion adds to the fun of the original.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Into the Halls of Mystery
by Patrice C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2013 03:41:12
I just love the idea you've had to reproduce what our 13-years old silly adventures have been. It's still a little too slick & neat for me but there's a lot of merit here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Halls of Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Foray into the Wilderness
by Todd D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 13:36:21
I was underwhelmed by this product offering. The presentation is fine, but the content is lacking in both detail and cohesiveness. The encounters are thrown together with no real thought, and they seem woefully out of balance. Using this resource for a random night of fun with characters that are not part of a regular campaign might be interesting, but even that fun would be dampened by the fact that you have to look up all the stats for the monsters elsewhere, creating a great a mount of extra work.

On the plus side, the publishers never claim this product is anything but what it is: an adventure that was created when the author was in junior high school. It does provide a feeling of nostalgia, but I can't say that would make me want to purchase a similar product if it weren't free.

2 of 5 stars. (Would have been 1 star based solely on content, but the fact they were so upfront about it gives the extra star.)

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Foray into the Wilderness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Foray into the Wilderness
by Gabriel O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 13:05:04
Foray into the Wilderness is a free product, and there's a good reason why. It is a horrible product not worth the money.

The artwork is mediocre (and that's being generous). The font used simulates handwriting and makes it illegible. The document tries to simulate being written in a notebook. Instead of being quaint, it makes it doubly difficult to read.

The content itself seems to have been written by a 5th grade munchkin player . From what I can see, we have a few notes on what could possibly be the start of a properly written adventure.

Essentially, there a badly drawn map with 7 encounters. The encounters themselves provide just the barest of information on the type of monster and treasure. There are no proper descriptions or background information.

After that, there's a GM Adventure log, with an empty Notes page, an empty Module Title page, and empty Summary Matrix, Weapons Matrix, Combat Matrix, and Spells Inventory pages.

It almost looks like the author took old notes from when he was 13 years old, scanned them and tried to pass them off as a proper module. If that is the case, either keep it to yourself or complete and polish the module properly.

The module ends with advertisement for additional products from Usherwood Publishing. Here's a tip. If you include a sample of your products, make sure the sample is at least of some type of quality, not the junk you provided.

I, for one, will not purchase any products from Usherwood Publishing.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Gabriel, It saddens me that perhaps you missed the point of the HAMS line of adventures. Referring to the marketing copy on the product page, it should have been clear that all the HAMS products are reproduced and posted out of a sense of nostalgia for the young gamers we all were at the time of AD&D's heyday in the late 70's and early 80's period (but perhaps I should emphasize that point more strongly in the product description?). In particular, they are reflecting on how we as young teenagers fancied ourselves 'game designers'. These HAMS (High-Adventure from Middle-School) games are unedited, undeveloped, and reproduced when possible, exactly as we created them "back in the day." They are not meant to be taken as serious adventure writing. What they are meant to be is just reminiscent of our youthful gaming days. And I feel they achieve just exactly that. Here is hoping that someday you might take a second look at Usherwood Publishing's more 'serious' adventuring options like the Bone-Hilt Sword Campaign, Arachnophobia!, The Rebel Faction, etc. As always, good gaming! Kramer
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2013 23:24:42
Cute idea, but virtually unreadable. Trying to simulate a kid writing in a loose leaf notebook, they went overboard with notebook graphics and a cursive font, making it very difficult for these middle aged eyes to read. Also sluggish, very sluggish even on my PC, much less my tablet.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Keep on the Borderlands: The Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
looks like they\'ve uploaded a new file since you wrote this. the module pages scroll just fine for me on my tablet, except for the color map - its still slow.
A5 Player Character Reference Sheets
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 21:49:36
Your watermarking destroys the interactive form fields.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
A5 Player Character Reference Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Watermarking has been turned off. I was unaware this would affect the form fields. This problem should be fixed now.
I agree. This issue has been fixed.
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2013 22:52:53
It's a pity I can't give it a 4.9. It looks awesome... but... it is a pretty big PDF. Is there anyway to reduce the size?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Pocket SRD (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gems of Fire
by Keith H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2012 16:06:12
This feels like old school in the best way. It has a sketch book style. Break out the graph paper and gather a few friends and have fun :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gems of Fire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates