DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fat Cat Far Trader
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2014 18:02:05
While I grumbled about the original $12 price tag for this book at $6 It is a good value. I especially like the 2 page spread color cut away diagram. My only remaining complaint is that I thought it would be better if the NPCs included were and example of a crew for this ship that you might run into as allies or rivals.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Cat Far Trader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fat Cat Far Trader
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2014 04:06:34
Hmm, I like this ship! A few minor concerns include lack of a separate common room for the crew, especially with such cramped quarters. A bit hard to spend the trip belowdecks without some place to chill. Of course, with a smaller crew parts of the crew state room can easily be transformed to a dining/sitting area, and a table could easily fit in the forward cargo hold, so it's a minor issue.

The placement of the two airlocks seem a bit awkward. Looks tricky to dock with another ship or a station.

On the other hand the upper and lower exits look terrific! Especially nice touch with the deployable staircase on the underside! Much grander entry to the ship than a steep ladder or cargo ramp!

The use of stairs for movement between decks is interresting, especially for a passenger ship. Sure, they steal a lot of space, but the alternative is to force your high passage customers to climb ladders... I like it!

Large cargo hold, with huge doors for bulky stuff, good. The upper hatch is a nice detail, especially when submerged in water.

The Fat Cat is equipped with landing wheels - An interesting choice, gives the ship character.

I like the stair that leads to the top of the ship. Good for leaving the ship while floating, and especially good to create a feeling of extra luxury (the top of the ship is flat, so there's a large private outdoor area when planetside) - In fact this ship could work pretty good as a luxury yacht.

The images and deck plans are very well made. The 3d renderings are very nicely done, the extra level of detail on the plans as well as the cutaway side view wonderful! Really helps to visualize and feel the ship.

Overall, lots of little detail that adds up and creates a likable, sensible ship. I was a bit hesitant to spend so much money on the book at first, but I'm glad I did!

EDIT: Since I wrote this review, the price of the product has been adjusted. Given the new, lower, cost, I don't see any reason not to buy this book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ares Dragon 1" Scale Deck plans
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2013 12:33:21
This is useless because the PDF will not allow you to select the poster printing option. This is the first PDF I have bought from DTRPG that I've encountered this problem. I wasted $6.00 on something that can't be printed.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ares Dragon 1" Scale Deck plans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ares Dragon class Mercenary Cruiser
by Kim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2013 22:13:48
I previously purchased the venture class cruiser which, while I found some small issues with that plan, it was extremely well done.
This ship plan is better than most out there, but not as clean as the last offering. The details are outstanding, however I find a discrepancy between the # of beds on board. It says 12 staterooms and 32 beds in the barracks. The staterooms are issued to the ships general crew and CO's, but the barracks are supposed to house 4 squads of 8 marines, with each squad having an additional squad leader and that adds up to 36 marines. The plan layout shows 5 bunk areas per barracks with 4 standard areas that assume double occupancy and 1 of the 5 has a private fresher, this 1 being for the squad leader. Not a big deal, just a point, and I assume I'll just take another 6T (or should it be 9 or 16T)away from cargo or something to make up for it. Also in their previous work they listed the fuel amount in the standard fashion, ie. 1xJump2 and 4wks operations, but this design just lists the overall fuel capacity. It's not a huge issue. I can do the math, but when I pay $10 for a ship design I don't think I should have to. Overall this design is still quite good compared to most, but the devil is in the details and this needs a little more polishing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ares Dragon class Mercenary Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
tIG TPT-133 "Fat Cat" Logistics Transport
by P-O B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2012 14:47:28
The Fat Cat (tIG TPT-133 "Fat Cat" Logistics Transport) is an interesting ship from DB Game Design. It's a 300 ton trader with an unorthodox design. 300 tons might be a nice compromise between the 200 ton far trader, that might seem too small and the 400 ton Subsidized Merchant that may be too big. This feels like it would be a perfect adventure ship. The design is done for Mongoose Traveller rules, but can easily be used with any Traveller rules. The design is for an unspecified ATU (that I think we will soon hear some more about), but can easily be used in the OTU.

The deckplans in the book are in black and white. The level of detail in them are better than what we are used to see in a CT product. The side views are really cool. I like that they have included images of humans to show the size. The descriptions of the deckplans are very good.

The CGI images are good but I think the texture on the ship is a bit boring. (I want to see serial numbers, name of the ship, company logo, warning markings, etc.) The darker images are the ones I like the best. The mirror effect on the landed ship is quite cool, since that is not what we are used to see. Showing humans in with the landed craft is also a good idea.

In the last part of the book there is an example crew and 3 Patrons (adventure hooks). I like this, since I like adventure. Now it is easy to use the ship, either as an encounter or as a PCs ship to run some quick scenarios.

I like this product. It could serve as a template for what a product for a Traveller Starship should include. (I only missed a good index.)

From the Zhodani Base: http://wp.me/p2o79h-9g

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
tIG TPT-133 "Fat Cat" Logistics Transport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Starfarer's Kit
by Andre F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2011 11:43:46
This is Andre Faucher on behalf of Gamer's Haven. While there are many companies who produce products like this, simple sheets for recording characters/ships/whatever, many times they inflate the price. However, The Starfarer's Kit is a good, simple, cheap product that can be easily used and not break the wallet.

First, one of the many pros about this product is the price, a product within this price range can easily be afforded for convenience. In an age where a GM or player can find these sort of products by merely browsing the web for a while, it is unrealistic to make the price unrealistic. Second, another great thing about this product is that it is very printer friendly. Without odd colors or giant decorations, your printer will not cry out in pain when you print any of these pages. Finally, this is useful to both player and GM, as these can be used for a wide variety of purposes.

However, the product has a single area that can be improved. The chief complaint is the "radar blip" area, although it is a novel concept that is not usually discussed, the blips are merely red and green dots. Not exactly the most difficult thing to produce, it would have been nice to have something a little more sophisticated. It's the future!

The question comes down to, is this product worth its price? The answer is YES in a massive way. The product gives you over 50 pages of handouts, record sheets, weapon trackers, and zounds more. My personal favorite is the wanted poster towards the back, as my players always are on the wrong side of the law. This is an excellent product that is well worth the money, if only to save you from the headache of tracking down all the various different handouts that this provides.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Starfarer's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Venture Class Frontier Courier
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2009 19:08:52
A good design which would be a worthwhile addition to any campaign. Clear, well detailed plans and a well thought out back-story.

Unfortunately, the product is slightly let down by a few small errors between what is stated in the text and what is either shown on the plans or given in the detailed design - hence a four star review instead of the five this design deserves.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venture Class Frontier Courier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ares Dragon class Mercenary Cruiser
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2009 10:57:37
A very beautiful design. Well thought out and excellant detail. However this product came out before the newest version of High Guard and has an error that clashes with those rules. The listed armor rating for the chip is 16 points of crystaliron armor. According to the new High Guard rules crystaliron armor has a max rating of 13, and then only if manufactured in a TL 13 facility. Otherwise it has a max rating based on the TL it is manufactured at.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ares Dragon class Mercenary Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
And those issues have been rectified. I lowered the armor and replaced that tonnage with structural reinforcement. You will also note that the COBRA Combat lander now has high guard small craft stats. I also added a small bit of content.
Venture Class Frontier Courier
by Daryl D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2009 15:43:47
V. Good! Some typos, but they corrected them rapidly (before I spotted 'em all!) Love that it is of a reasonably smooth surfaced design, and is adaptable to Non-Traveller games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Venture Class Frontier Courier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ares Dragon class Mercenary Cruiser
by Rudolf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2009 07:57:33
A very nice versatile ship, I especially like the excellent deck plans, the new vehicles and the detailed description of the mercenary unit.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ares Dragon class Mercenary Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Venture Class Frontier Courier
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2008 04:22:05
DB Game Design have produced a concise, clearly laid out and useful ship book. The deckplans are easy to read and the (now typo free!) text is straightforward to read and works well with the deckplans. The ship itself is a nice adventurer class/type ship, ideal for small groups of Traveller players to use for jumping from system to system. The actual shape of the ship is distinctive and original (without being bland or outlandish) and fits in well amongst the other classic Traveller ship designs. The addition of 1" deckplans (for those that want/need them) is an excellent idea, especially for those who use minis in their games. An excellent, well designed book!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Venture Class Frontier Courier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Venture Class Frontier Courier
by Sean O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2008 07:13:24
Very, very well done and well-thought out. I did find a couple of minor typos, but the deckplans, background info and detailed descriptions of the Venture-class ship make it a perfect vehicle (pun intended) for my Traveller game. I'm looking forward to the next offering from DB Game Design. Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates