DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG Demo
by David G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2013 12:27:32
Very nice quick start into the basic rules of the game. There is enough for players to get going with matches of their own against their own creations. It actually made me order the full game, which by the way I am loving so far. So if you are unsure about this game why not download this demo for yourself and see what you are missing? You won't regret it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG Demo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2013 01:16:36
I have enjoyed pro wrestling and everything surrounding it for about twenty years now so when I see a rpg that deals with it my curiosity is peaked. I am happy to say that I was happy with my purchase. I don't think the game is overly complex as others have said and I think it gives a pretty good vehicle for simulating the various aspects of the business.

The match system actually feels like a real rpg combat system which other wrestling rpgs seem to lack. It runs pretty smoothly and covers aspects such as heat, how over a wrestler is, types of angles and other things outside of the actual blow by blow of a match. The blow by blow takes a bit of time to get used to, but once the flow is down it's easy to master. The stats the wrestlers have work really well in simulating the ability of a given competitor. It does this better than any other wrestling game I've seen. The system also does a good job of providing an advancement system for wrestlers. It gives them something to shoot for other than winning matches. Merchandising is covered, along with contracts and other details that a real wrestler would be concerned with.

I think the best part of the game other than the wrestling simulation itself is the option to build a promotion. Nearly every factor a fan or even someone in the business could think of is accounted for here. Funding, personnel, ratings, ppv buys and of course signing wrestlers are all included in building a promotion and they are combined in a way that is easy to understand and use without being overly simplified.

The one thing I would say that actually bothered me was the bad grammar used throughout the book. If you are going to sell something like this to the public take the time to spell check and edit your work.

The last thing I have an issue with is the fact that the community seems to have died off a bit. The Angels and Vixens supplement appears to be the latest offering from Daydreamer and I have not been able to find a big community online for this game just yet. It's been out a few years now and the buzz could be off this title. At least the forums at the website have some posts from 2012 on them. Regardless, this game gives a great simulation of the wrestling business and is worthy of being picked up again by another wave of wrestling rpg fans.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2011 08:56:54
I will give the author props for completeness and a clean layout. On the negative side; the system seemed overly complex.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rise Of a Legend Issue #2
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2010 14:09:09
It's nice to see a developer take an idea and run with it like this issue has done. Here, we have the continuation of the story from issue #1 with many different threads for the entire month.

Here, those choices manifest themselves in interesting ways. There are many possible ways to work through the month and honestly if you play through it multiple times, things will obviously change.

One issue with this ROL and the others in the series is the duplication of matches and some threads seem to not have been given a lot of energy to. I find this especially in some of the face storylines where things just seem a bit tepid from a writers perspective. I don't find an issue with the heel threads however for the most part.

I think writing something like this and continuing a story through multiple books is a great thing and DDI deserves a lot of credit for doing it. Buy this book if you picked up ROL #1 and if you haven't picked up ROL #1, why haven't you yet???

Get to it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rise Of a Legend Issue #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rise Of a Legend:NEW Issue #1
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2010 14:04:32
Somebody in the console gaming market needs to take a look at ROL: NEW and get some pointers. Although this is basically one month in the life of a wrestler, it is definitely worth the 3 bucks for it.

It basically is a choose your own adventure book for wrestling. You create your own wrestler using the guidelines in the core book and start running the game. Depending on your alignment you are taken through a circuit. You are also given choices at certain story points which allow you to branch off the main idea. You want to turn heel after being a face? You've got your chance. Trying to walk the face side and regain respect? You can do that too.

The only issues with this item is that sometimes you can see that the designer might have run out of ideas for a particular thread. Also, note that since this is a continuous story for several issues, your actions here will manifest later in other books which I highly recommend picking it up.

There are a couple of editing issues (typos) and confusion about where to go next, but the book does what it sets out to do and is a good addition to the Squared Circle Library.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rise Of a Legend:NEW Issue #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2010 13:58:34
So, here we have a game that seems honestly to be lacking out there in the RPG Universe. That's right, we're looking at a professional wrestling game with some tweaks to the genre and background.

First off, hats off to the people at Day Dreamer for doing this game. It brings back fond memories of the days when I was watching the wars going on between then WCW and the WWF (now WWE).

This book does not require any of the sourcebooks out there but it helps. The character generation system is pretty simple and straightforward which I like. It covers the basics of wrestling and all of the little things to go along with it (valets, angles, etc.)

The rules for my taste at least might be a bit too in-depth but the system runs smoothly. It might seem a lot to start with (take a look at the move list if you think I'm joking) but once you get the hang of the basic system, it does things pretty darn well.

A couple of issues is the overall organization of the book. There are just some editing issues that could have been handled a bit better. But I do also thank the publishers for actually bookmarking the book which is a huge plus. The other issue I have is some things need to be cleared up as far as rulings etc. I hope that they release some sort of quick sheet to just put a sentence or two for each rule so that the GM doesn't have to flip through the book.

The book also comes with its own promotion and a nice mix of wrestlers. Although it would have been nice to have seen a character generation demo while going through each step of the process, the NPC listings in the book give you an idea of what you can expect.

I would suggest anybody interested in the pro wrestling genre or wanting to take a look at the game should give it a try. It's a fun time to be had and worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2010 22:44:15
Pros: A very ambitious project with some ingenious product support in the form of era/genre books, and a monthly "adventure path".

Cons: I found it to be a tad too complex for my tastes. I see what the author was aiming for with the character "classes", I just didn't care for the execution. I also didn't like the set movelist, much preferring the signatures moves and "Build A Move" system from the WWE RPG. Still, very much worth checking out if you have any interest in a pro wrestling RPG at all.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Squared Circle:Wrestling RPG
by Thomas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2009 12:08:35
This is a very interesting and fun game. As far as wrestling games goes, it is the best available. It offers up two ways to play. You can play as a wrestler(s) or you can be the General Manager of a promotion. You can even play solo. This is one of the best features.

The character creation is simple and the mechanics work well.

Now in my opinion, the book could have been organized a little better. But the product makes up for it in wealth of information. And if you have questions, the creator will answer them directly on the forums.

Currently available is online play by post gaming!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates