DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Sinner
by Jean-Michel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
A very good novel. I like it a lot, really makes me think of Watchmen spirit: dark, adult superpower entities.

For the bad things very few things: images in head of chapters are to big to be readable on a 5" or 6" e-ink reader. Publisher must cut these press images so as to let them readable.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sinner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sinner
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2013 13:06:23
I was absolutely blown away. Couldn't put it down. Amazing. A shockingly good deal at five bucks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2013 05:55:11
Mask of the Other is a well written and engaging story dealing with the aspects of the Cthulhu mythos in a modern setting. As with a lot of mythos fiction there is some examination of the price that is paid for power and if you have read and enjoyed any of the Delta Green fiction then this is probably going to be your kind of thing. I thought the characters and the organisations where presented in a convincing way and the supernatural elements were dealt with well, both in terms of reinterpreting the mythos and as stand alone descriptions of alien (in the broad sense) creatures. I'd recommend the book to pretty much anybody who likes modern horror.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reign
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 21:14:16
Great game, fun idea. Can't wait to steal components for other things. :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mask of the Other
by Kevin V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2012 00:03:28
To get this out of the way quickly, I really enjoyed this book. It's cleanly and energetically written, with a great premise and well-realised characters.

Honestly, the blurb covers a great deal of what I was going to discuss as part of explaining why you should read the book.

_Mask of the Other_ covers a number of different characters across several different timeframes, and they are all clearly rendered, interesting, and frequently flawed people. The dialogue was particularly impressive for me, doing a great deal to characterise everyone and how they relate without feeling forced. It's also frequently as funny as it is horrible and profane, and we've all known people like that.

Or at least, I have.

This book is an energetic modern exploration of the Lovecraft mythos, and there are points of easter-egg crossover with _A Wind At The Window_ from the Greg Stolze free fiction library (http://www.gregstolze.com/fiction_library/index.html), and with _i_Delta Green_/i_.

I enjoyed it, and I'd be interested in a sequel.

As another point of interest, this book has the most imaginative, alien and disturbing rendition of a shoggoth that I've seen anywhere, and that includes Lovecraft's work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reign
by Leonardo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 22:33:27
Looks: The book art, layout and design is very good! It has some nice different pictures. Really like the "bestiary" art.

Writing: Writing is superb, very clear and intuitive. Really well written.

Content: I have to say that I'm a fan of the One Roll Engine. I'm not going to talk much about the system, you can get a glimpse of the One Roll Engine on the free Nemesis RPG over the web or the Godlike Quick Play here on DriveThruRPG, but Reign makes it even better with some tweaks and additions like rules for Spells and the awesome rules for Companies (which you use to easily manage and control organizations, countries, guilds and the like). The Reign Setting is also pretty good, it's not your default Tolkien/D&D fantasy setting (which for me it's a plus), it has some nice new ideas to it which makes it a nice reading.

Totally worth it! Also, the designer released a lot of small supplements, tools, settings, additional stuff and some very cool things and compiled them into 3 really well done free PDFs over at his website.

Obs: Just as a note, there is another version of this book called Reign Enchiridion (which is also available for purchase here on DriveThruRPG). It's almost the same book, but without the chapters and information regarding the Reign Setting, which is good if you want to just use the system to create your own worlds, and it also includes the contents of the supplements I mentioned.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mask of the Other
by Stephen J. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/12/2012 23:34:34
I, literally, just finished reading "Mask of the Other" by Greg Stolze. I wanted to write this review while the ending was still ringing through my head.

Connecting three pieces of mythos, two I'm familiar with via the classic HPL literature (Shoggoth's and Deep Ones), the third being either something Greg invented or pulled from a source I'm not familiar with. While no knowledge of HPL is necessary, it certainly tickles a certain fancy to recognize the form and danger of what the protagonists are _really_ dealing with. But, this isn't your grand fathers mythos! The story is told in very immediate scenes, with brutal detail that adds to the horror of the event while not spoiling the mystery or the creeping sense that the human protagonists are way over their head and all of the weaponry, gear, and planning will serve them little better than any of the other 'victims.'

This isn't just about the mythos, though. The protagonists Greg created feel real. They are flawed, and extraordinary and have complex interrelationships. They feel real because they are so reminiscent of people we know or have met before. They feel real because they are securely anchored in a setting caste with the same history as our own, with the same geopolitical conflicts and stresses and dark alleys, as our own. The difference, is that their reality has been touched by a malignant darkness from out of time and space.

What I'm trying to describe is that this isn't a novel of the 1920's and a gentleman adventurer stumbling onto a horror out of the past and then fainting. This is a story about modern soldiers in a very real, very gritty battlefield that come across something that doesn't make sense and in their continuing efforts to make sense of it, and to deal with the aftermath of their encounter with it, have their lives altered along a trajectory as unpredictable as it is ultimately tragic. The battle scenes felt honest and chaotic. The political, bureaucratic, and corporate machinations felt completely plausible. All of this verisimilitude came together to form the perfect milieu for a tale of other worldly wonder and menace.

Finally, like the plot of "Clash of the Titans," this story was about using one maddening piece of the mythos to fight the others. To try and tame the chaos and terror that's been uncovered, by using a terrible, alien, weapon. And like all power and knowledge within the mythos, the weapon carries a terrible price along with it's gifts.

As much as I loved this book, it did tend to be a bit slow to start, with a lot of back-and-forth across different years and locations. But, very rapidly it becomes clear why this was necessary and how this lays the foundation for a story that unfolds over decades to come to a sudden confluence in the second half of the book. It's worth the effort to stick with it, even if the initial chapters seem unconnected to one another. The pattern emerges soon enough, and then you see the strands Greg is pulling together to form the backbone for the story proper.

In summary, I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves military action, international intrigue, and cosmic horror. The price (currently $5) is negligible and the product wonderful; it's well worth your time to read!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mask of the Other
by Byron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2012 12:12:51
If you love Delta Green, Unknown Armies or Lovecraft, just buy it. You won't be disappointed.

Be sure to pay attention to the dates at the beginning of each chapter. They're important.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
eCollapse
by Katrina R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2010 07:39:43
Dystopian superheroes is my absolute favorite take on the superhero genre. eCollapse was brilliant in that regards. The Smear system is also interesting and innovative.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
eCollapse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

"A Dirty World" Cover Poster
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2009 09:11:59
I have not purchased the game yet but this poster really grabs your attention.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
"A Dirty World" Cover Poster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates