DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Steel & Flame
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2014 15:56:01
A combination of Barbarians of Lemuria (which I love) and Fate (also...love), Steel & Flame is is quick and simple with very light mechanical crunch and only a few hints of world detail fluff.

I would say it is perfect for an evening's pick up game, or a quick side story in a world that the play group (or at least the GM) is already familiar with. I'm not sure if it has enough "heft" to support a longer campaign, but the rules are concise enough that they can easily be built on.

I would have loved to see one more page of content - either a quick bestiary or even a "one page dungeon" style adventure.

Nonetheless, for the price I am well satisfied with the value received.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Steel & Flame
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MurderHobos
by J. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2014 08:44:36
bloody love it! a delightfully basic mechanic allows for more inventive creations, setting wise and creature wise.

for what its designed for it is rules lite dungeoneering fun.

but with some meddling (a couple of extra stats and seperating experience and currency) I've now got the perfect rules system for running quick 'filler' games between my groups full on gaming sessions.

my only addition would be, that it could be good to add some tropey monsters to guide those less creative in what the average abilities of such creatures is as a guide to people coming up with their own?

so far ran one session with this, was a good balance of giggles and 'serious?' roleplay. Many thanks.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MurderHobos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MurderHobos
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2014 20:36:11
I dig it. Lots of great design ideas here.

Cool stuff...
1.) Your characters have special things they can do something somewhat akin to 4e but without any bloat whatsoever. This rocks.
2.) Simplified and streamlined die mechanics that remind me a bit of Dungeon World... very cool.

Not so cool stuff...
1.) Healing potions can blow up and make you sick, etc. Kinda funny but also might get in the way of a serious game. However, if you're going for a beer and pretzels kinda thing, watching your party throw up blue chunks and emit noxious gases could be pretty awesome.
2.) The bit about everything having gold, gold, gold! Well, this reminds me too much of being in Legend of Zelda or some other type video game. Not necessarily a bad thing, but in a more serious game it could stretch the suspension of disbelief too far into gonzo-land. And that being the experience system as well isn't quite my thing.

But yeah, in general two thumbs up for this one!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Steel & Flame
by Wolf B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2014 14:25:32
This is a very simple system, but at that it is very flexible that allows you to run any kind of character. A great game for an evening of Sword & Sorcery!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Steel & Flame
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Steel & Flame
by Andreas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2014 03:25:30
Bland layout, big illustrations wasting space which could have been used to flesh out the spartanic rules, and too much of the (for my taste) too vague and uninspiring bol. FATE Accelerated would be a far better choice (which is "pay what you want" too).

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ability Score
by Ron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2014 03:07:32
It is a very very simple system, it is a one page game system.

It does not however have any specific guidance for combat systems; just a very loose interpretation. An update utilizing a little more of the 1 page real estate with combat options would be GREAT. Experienced gamers can make it work, I think with a little more information, this would be the perfect introductory game system.

EpicRPGBlog.blogspot.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ability Score
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Delvers
by Wayne R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2013 12:57:38
I've given this 4 stars mainly because it omits a few key little details that I feel are important, if these little things were corrected or clarified I'd be upping my rating to 5 stars.

They are:

1. Leveling- The class abilities refer to level, however the game never actually states how to "level up".
2. The monsters (and free adventures) feature this sentence a lot "an attacked enemy must make a "insert stat here" roll or be immobilized/weakened etc" but never states if this is addition to regular 1 hit damage or replaces it. It also never clarifies if "attacked" means if "hit" or just the target of an attack.

I know i'm being nit picky, and it's a pocket book rpg, and it is an amazing one at that, however I think these small items could have been addressed in the "Dungeon Master" section, as there is no real need for a character sheet for a game of this size to take up a whole page.

Sincerely,

Wayne.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Delvers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Delvers
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2013 02:17:11
The simplicity here is just astounding! As a long-time gamer, I've seen attempts to simplify fantasy rpg's, and many have not done so well. But this...what can I say. It's simply genius!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Delvers
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2013 07:18:38
This is a quick and simple role-playing system crammed into a single page (plus an extra page with more spells) along the lines of Dungeons & Dragons but ever so much simpler. It could be used for introducing your non-gaming friends to the hobby without daunting them with a pile of rulebooks and bewildering explanations, or even as a game for children. Or something quick to play when you don't have time or space for other game systems.

And yet, it has the scope to develop into more... into the core of a 'proper' game. It's got all the freedom of very simple rules. If it isn't here, you'll have to work out how something is done and moderate success appropriately.

Some people may be daunted by this simplicity, others will revel in it. As a quick task-resolution system you could use it to run brawls, or to underly intense story-led role-play when you do not want rule mechanics to interfere with the flow but do need them occasionally.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Muzaffer B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/29/2013 00:49:42
This is not a "list" or an individual game. This is a playset for Fiasco. If you like Cowboy Bebop series and play Fiasco, then this is a 5 star product for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bounty Hunter Blues
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Denis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2013 13:43:41
What is the point? There is nothing in this download.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 10:13:11
Previous reviewer did not understand that this is just a free downloadable Fiasco playset. Requires Fiasco to use.

All in all, its all right. Could use a bit of an intro into what exactly the expectations are for this playset to 'simulate'.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bounty Hunter Blues
by Craig M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 08:44:19
It's simply a ten-page list. Not at all what I expected.
It point of fact, I could LITERALLY print the entire document in this review.
Disappointed to say the least.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Old School Renaissance Handbook
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/22/2013 21:00:18
I started "gaming" back around 1980. Stayed active until 1997 but remained as a collector and reader and wanna be gamer. It wasn't until 2007 or so that I actively returned to gaming. Even before I was "returned to active duty", I had found Castles & Crusades and my door to what would become the OSR had opened for me.

I am OSR through and through, and I'll be the first to admit that we have a huge variation of rulesets in our niche of the RPG hobby. When I saw that the Old School Renaissance Handbook had been released, I was psyched. Not because I thought I needed it, but figured it might remind me to take some second looks at rulesets I may have quickly passed over previously. Sometimes having a huge selection to choose from leads you to inadvertently limit your choices.

I'm happy to have been reminded about games like Dungeon Raiders and Dungeon Squad (this was not a reminder - somehow I had never previously heard of Dungeon Squad). It makes me want to take a second look at Microlite74. It does so with a nicely bookmarked PDF and a convenient listing of the games looked at, along with hand links to find them online (and their pricing). Very handy stuff.

Now "print friendly"! Huzzah!

It's a quick read, especially if you are like me and find stated out characters to be a bit boring after the first few.

Still, the information is good, especially if you want to show an non-OSR friend the different styles of rules available. It's like a "cheat book" of OSR cataloging info.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Renaissance Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monsters of the Shattered World, episode 1: The Sea Devils
by Dustin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2012 18:09:23
I've purchased all five episodes of this first season, and quite frankly, I'm impressed with how this story has developed so far. I'll be careful not to spoil the narrative as it has evolved to this point, but if there's one thing I would love to say, it's this: Only five episodes in, and author/lead voice actor "Dr. Worldcrafter" Brent P. Newhall has already shown me some fine character development with the way he has portrayed the story's protagonist Andreas, who's not only proven to be a very dynamic character within the mere 24.2 minutes I've become familiar with him, but also a pretty likeable one. The guy's no "Gary Stu," that's for sure, considering his scholarly (One might even say "sheltered.") upbringing, but even so, there has been a good moment or two where he has proven his worth when the chips were down for him and his adventuring companions, all of whom have relatively distinct personalities of their own as well, even when considering the fact that the listener only hears the words of Andreas as he chronicles his adventures to his patron via the letters that Brent narrates. Of course, Quinn Conklin's editing and sound effects only add to the podcast's overall atmosphere, as does the podcast's theme song, "To The Ends" by Kevin Macleod. All in all, then, this podcast is superb, and in spite of my tardy review for it (My apologies, BTW, Mr. Newhall), I'm DEFINITELY looking forward to subsequent seasons of it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of the Shattered World, episode 1: The Sea Devils
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates