DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Visionary Comics Free Pack
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 04:02:26
Phantom Jack - Art's good, story has some problems.

Tales of the Starlight Drive-In - The premise is interesting, the art is good, but the stories are forgettable.

The Frog Princess - Okay manga art, light-hearted story, the female lead is quirky (with her love of frogs), the male lead is kind of dull, an okay read if you just want to pass the time.

Headlocked - The art's okay, the story would probably seem better if I was a wrestling fan, as I'm not it just didn't grab me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Visionary Comics Free Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Digital Visions #1
by Colin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2012 18:33:16
I don't think the quality level here is that high, but it's also not quite aimed at my tastes so you could add a star to my rating to account for that.

"Aposperus" slowly introduces its main character but doesn't give much story. The art has some interesting effects and is probably the best part of the whole book (though it has a few unfortunate moments with an awkward fumetti look).

The wordless "In the Demon's Path" gives us a rescue/fight scene with a "twist" ending; it didn't engage me in any way.

I basically agree with Matt B. about "31 Flavors".

I skipped the wrestling story because I'd already downloaded a preview for that separately -- haven't read it yet.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Digital Visions #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The C-Listers #1
by John G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/01/2012 09:37:08
This is a fun book. You can tell from the cover, which evokes Crisis on Infinite Earths #7 in a way that tells you this book does not take itself too seriously.

The story is adult, but not graphic. There is some mild language and suggestive situations, but it is certainly accessible to everyone.

While we really love action in comic books, long time characters remain because we like to see how their personal lives are affected by their powers and responsibilities. This book focuses on that personal life impact with a scenario showing how jealousy, infidelity, and poor communication can lead to disaster.

The book is whimsical, and the artwork is quite good. Panels are peppered with references to fine art (such as Birth of Venus) and well known superheroes (anyone remember seeing Batman grieved and surrounded by Joker heads? I do.). The bar scenes are also fun to hunt for tributes to people and things we know from elsewhere.

This is a fun break in your regular reading, and I'll be watching for future issues of C-Listers.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The C-Listers #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLANDS: The Devil's Six Gun
by Keith (. T. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2012 22:39:35
The Devil’s Six Gun tells the story of inventor Copernicus Blackburne. He's hired by reclusive inventor Samuel Tygean who wants a gun that will 'kill the devil, himself'. Tygean introduces the young inventor to Ghost Rock and soon the supernatural element has Blackburne's mind racing with ideas for new devices. Contained within its pages is probably the best display of the slow madness caused by Ghost Rock along with the horrible end suffered by most Mad Scientist.

Along the way Blackburne travels to Salt Lake City where we infer that Tygean wants a weapon to kill Darius Hellstromme, another major character in the Deadlands universe. To do that, he wants Blackburne to recreate his Protean Pistol using Ghost Rock derivatives. The problem is getting Blackburne to focus on weapons. Tygean discovers a method of getting Blackburne to focus but it involves robbing the scientiest of everything he loves.

The book suffers from too many words containing back story and setting information. There's a great deal of history without much in the way of dialog. I think the real issue is that the design team decided to tell the story rather than show it. The artwork is, at times, masterful producing full page illustrations of the Ghostrock-inspired discoveries of Copernicus Blackburne. That strength should have been used to more effectively show rather than tell.

If you want a glimpse at your Mad Scientist’s future, give The Devil’s Six Gun a read. The game artifact is the stats for the Gun itself. This special pistol does more and more damage with each new hit but drives the user slowly insane.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLANDS: The Devil's Six Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLANDS: Black Water
by Keith (. T. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2012 22:37:51
Synopsis - A wealthy gentleman named Mr. Harmon Rappaport is haunted by dreams of a woman who saved his life during the Civil War. He and his bodyguard, Ian Fairfax, travel from New York to the the Great California Maze in search of Rapport's savior.

Along the way they hire Lyle Crumbfine to guide them through the dangers of the Maze. Harmon stares at the sky a great deal seeing the image his obsession so Lyle and Ian carry most of the story. Other characters in the story exists for the sole purpose of showing the dangers of the Great Maze. While they're all colorful in their own way, I would suggest red shirts for each since that's the role they play.

The ending is a bit abrupt. It could have done with a few more panels of fight scenes between the antagonist and our heroes. The story could also have done with fewer panels devoted to the horrors of the Maze then used the space depicting the final fight scene.

Deadlands fans will enjoy the depiction of the Great Maze. If your posse heads in that direction, this would be a good comic to pass around. The work includes full stats for Maze guide Lyle Crumbfine to add to your game as an NPC. I enjoyed the story, characters, and art but wished the story was stretched into a multi-comic series since it covers a lot of ground very quickly.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLANDS: Black Water
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadlands: The Kid: Origins
by Keith (. T. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2012 22:36:36
The Kid is my second favorite comic in this series. The writing is clever with surprises that make you go ‘oh yeah’. I love it when a reveal that makes you go back and reread it from a new point of few. All the elements that make comics fun to read came together in The Kid.

The Kid revolves around Billy the Kid placed in the Deadlands setting. This highlights one of the things that attracts me to Deadlands, real historical figures reimagined in a new setting. In this case, Billy is a monster hunter with some special talents.

In the story, a pack of werewolves attack Billy's family as they travel West for a better life. An old Indian Shaman saves Billy and trains him in the art of defeating supernatural evil inside the Hunting Grounds. Billy returns on a mission to avenge his family. The Kid offers a great view of the Hunting Grounds and Indian shamanism woven into a clever tale.

Much like Death was Silent, this work strikes the right balance between telling the story with words and art. Clever writing and great art place this in the ‘must read’ category for Deadlands fans. I can’t wait for future tales with The Kid. I only hope he meets up with the Cooper Brothers someday.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Kid: Origins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLANDS: Death Was Silent
by Keith (. T. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2012 22:34:58
This was my favorite story of the series. This and ‘The Kid’ kept me guessing most of the way through. Since the primary character is mute, this story did much more with the look and feel of the Deadlands setting. I think one of the reasons I liked this story so much is because it utilized the art better than the other stories. While the other stories have great art, you noticed it more in this book.

The hero is a Texas Ranger named Hoyt Cooper who rides around claiming to be a bounty hunter. Credence is added to this claim due to the dead body draped over his horse. Savages cut Hoyt's tongue out so now he communicates with a magic black board hung around his neck. What he thinks, you see on the blackboard.

The intro of Hoyt riding into the town of Dandelion Flats in the rain is wonderful and sets the mood for the rest of the story. Evil infests the town and Hoyt is there to clean it out - one town, one Ranger. But Ranger Cooper has a little help.

One of the reasons I love this story is that it concentrates on the story and not the setting. I love Deadlands but I love well told stories more. It would make a fine Twilight Zone episode being short, to the point, and horrific all at the same time.

If you only read one book in this series, make it Death Was Silent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLANDS: Death Was Silent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Visionary Comics Previews Vol. 1
by Jevories M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2012 12:20:56
I enjoyed my item that I ordered from your company.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Visionary Comics Previews Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Starlight Drive-In #1
by Rose A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2012 13:33:45
LOVED it! Brought back memories of my childhood with popcorn, soda, and times when a movie THRILLED you, not grossed you out. ::chuckles::

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Starlight Drive-In #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Starlight Drive-In #1
by Rick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2012 22:28:32
This was a refreshing change from the drek that you usually get free. This book was well drawn and well written. It had a nice old-time feel and stayed true to itself.
I am looking forward to another issue.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frog Princess #1
by Donald F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2012 10:03:39
Great start for the story, The art work is very good and well defined. On the biggest plus side the story is interesting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frog Princess #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Digital Visions #2
by matt b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 17:00:45
Nowhere near as good as the first one, although the story "Ian Eden in Hell" is pretty darn good with really good art. I would read a whole comic like that one. The other stories are just flat with bad art.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Digital Visions #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Digital Visions #1
by matt b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2011 18:23:59
I liked this, except for the extremely predictable, hokey, and poorly drawn "31 Flavors" story. Interesting art in the stories and just a neat little idea. Back to the realm of comics having multiple and FULL stories in each issue. Well worth a download, especially for free. After this, I would try full issues of some of the concepts presented by these guys--and that is saying something.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Digital Visions #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates