DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by Chris Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2014 18:06:39
Well according to the product description this is supposed to be a cross Genre set of rules, any genre, any ships, any weapons, and it is going to expand to cover other playable genre's, well dont believe it, while it's initial offering is solid even good, the author has decided not to support his initial product by expanding the playable and most sought after genre's with more offerings, letting a bunch of his customers down in the process. The Man vs Machine Expansion is good, but the Stars Reach expansion is just lacking. Also dont ever criticize the author he wont listen to any constructive criticism, dissent or anyone else's opinions.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colonial Battlefleet: Cyborg Onslaught [BUNDLE]
by Chris Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2013 13:02:35
I like the rules, well done in that they cover nearly anything that can happen in cinematic space combat. Plenty of weapons, and defensive systems, fighters should be more lethal in my opinion but a bit of tweaking has shown me that is easily possible and seamlessly implemented. The system flows well and is simple to use and yet complicated enough to represent the details and nuances of good starship combat. Now for the parts I am not lollipops about, The MvM ships dont equate well to their supposed BSG models/counterparts. I dont like the fact that 6 hardpoints and size class 5 is the design limit, so those went away, the hardpoints just require more sizes of polyhedral dice (d8 for 8 hardpoints, d10 for 10 hardpoints), and I made the max size class 10. I also added a 360 degree fire arc for weapons and some bigger heavier weapons. I like the way fighters work but think that squadrons of 6 planes is too few per squadron, I made them flights instead of individual planes and increased the damage they can do per flight this seems to work for my vision. I have some issues with no stacking of fighters and missiles so that needs a look. Flak suppression fire mode needs to be added as well. Okay so I am particular, but not without precedent, I have played all the other Starship combat games and this one is actually better all around, it is adaptable, quick, easy to learn and use, is multi-genre and allows crossover very easily. Now they just need to get out some more fleet/genre books and supplements especially Star-Wars and Star Trek and rules for HUGE ships and space stations. I highly recomend this rules set (especially for BSG) and the price and content are excellant. Well Done Mr Pratt and crew... thanks very much and keep up the good work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Cyborg Onslaught [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Naval Thunder: Clash of Dreadnoughts
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2013 21:07:31
This is a pretty standard set of naval rules. Less fiddly than some - which is good - but like virtually all other naval rules, it is simply a set of formulae for blowing things up. The player will never be presented with a challenging decision. He will simply maneuver his ship to maximize shooting, and then start rolling dice. At that point a lot of high rolls is 'better' than a lot of low rolls. This is the limitation of every naval set, not just Naval Thunder. The basic limitations are that the player always knows far too much about the enemy than he should. And for that matter, far too much about his own fleet!

To be fair, most naval gamers will be satisfied with this set. There is nothing illogical, and an adequate amount of 'chrome', but then there's nothing specially fun either. Just like all sets, you present your broadsides and start rolling the dice.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Clash of Dreadnoughts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Naval Thunder: Battleship Row
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2013 12:32:57
Well written..great rules to play by. This is a very good value for anyone interested in the naval wargaming hobby.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Battleship Row
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Naval Thunder: Dreadnought Battlefleets
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2012 22:23:57
Another fine supplement to the best gaming system I've found. One that balances a measure of realism with high playability. We've been waiting on this supplement for some time to allow for numerous "what if" playing opportunities and it seems quite extensive and complete. As always the Excel file for quickly generating your playsheets is invaluable. Can't wait to match the naval powers in the Mediterranean!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Dreadnought Battlefleets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Naval Thunder: Battleship Row
by William N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2012 12:49:40
It's my pleasure to give Naval Thunder:Battleship Row and Bitter Rivals TWO THUMBS UP!

Like Clash of the Dreadnaughts and Rise of the Battleship, the game is easy to understand, plays fast and gives a historically satisfactory result.

Harry Pratt has done what so few game designers have been able to accomplish. He has created a game that is both 'fun' and representative of the period it purports to cover. 'Rivet-heads' may quibble that ranges and penetration factors have been lumped into broad categories and there are not multiple turning radii for the various types of ships, but I don't think those things really matter in a game that is played on a table top, with miniatures and governed by the gods of dice.

Having a functional points system is also great because it facilitates pick up games and possible tournament play at some point in the future.

I have recommended Naval Thunder: Battleship Row to several friends who have burned out on the beer & pretzels WAR AT SEA but still have the ships and are looking for a set of rules without a lot of record-keeping and paperwork.

TWO THUMBS UP, FIVE STARS, it sets the GOLD STANDARD for all games.

Did I mention I like the game? Oh, good, well I do.

W.A. Skip Nicholson
AKA: Admiral Skipashita
AAKA: Admiral Skipashinki

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Battleship Row
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by Steve H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2012 15:17:39
This rulebook is well written. It's clear, concise, and easy to learn. Gameplay is fun and fast. The starship construction rules are great- detailed yet simple to learn and use. This is my new favorite starship rules set, I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an easy to learn, fun to play set of starship combat rules.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Naval Thunder: World War II [BUNDLE]
by Ransom w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2012 11:54:18
I played this game at a convention in Rockford Illinois. I t much better hought it was great much better than the navel wargames i have been playing for thrity years. I downloaded your games and battleship row worked and printed fine but the data card and rest wont work please help me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: World War II [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoyed the game! The official data cards are in the rulebook. What you were having trouble with was the bonus fan-created data card printing tool which we've made available for free. The printing tool is a MS Excel file, and we've discussed over email that you need to verify that you have to have a working copy of Excel of a recent enough version to run it.
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by Joren M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2011 15:29:24
Really enjoying this game. I've recently looked into multiple rule systems like Full Thrust, Firestorm Armada and Starmada, and this one is definitely my favorite. The ship construction is extremely fun and easy with the ship construction spreadsheet, and the gameplay is fast and tactical.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2010 17:16:12
Outstanding Space Combat system for an incredibly reasonable price.

Very versatile, very streamlined, very fun.

The ship designer makes creating your custom fleet easy and straight-forward.

Can be used for any canon imaginable. The fairly modular system makes tweaking rules or designs very effective while minimizing impact on the rest of the game.

A great buy for anyone considering Space combat systems.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Clash of Dreadnoughts
by Miles R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2010 11:10:50
I like these rules - there's a nice balance between detail and playability, which allows large fleet battles to be played in a fun and fast manner. Booking keeping is very minimal and the excel tool for printing out ship cards is a very nice addition.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Clash of Dreadnoughts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by Curtis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2010 10:20:01
Our group discovered these rules a few weeks ago and have played about a dozen games between us so far. Overall, we really like the rules. It has an amazing ship construction design (wiht an Excel worksheet that you can use to help design the ships), a vairety of weapons and defenses as well a unique Technology Level feature that allows you to create ships/fleets with whatever feel you want.

This product is WELL worth the $15.

For a full review, check out my post on SCN: http://www.star-ranger.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6360

Jester

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2010 16:46:49
Good set of rules, alows lots of options and shields, armor, different levels of tech. Type of game that could be used for different settings. includes easy to use excel program to design your own fleets.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Colonial Battlefleet: Core Rules
by Larry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2010 23:13:02
Colonial Battlefleet uses some of the same basic rules from Naval Thunder, but improves on them and adds twists to make them prefect for space gaming. The rules are simply to learn yet complex to play as you have to make decisions about when to move, shoot, launch fighters and missiles. The game has tech levels which allow you to customize the game to any background or period and a build program that has tough decisions as to speed, weapons and extra equipment. All of this, and you don’t have to write orders!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Clash of Dreadnoughts
by Bill B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2010 18:18:13
I love these rules! They are fast and fun to play. Learning and teaching them is a snap. They have the flavor of the period down pat.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naval Thunder: Clash of Dreadnoughts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates