DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Savage Worlds GM Screen Inserts
by Francisco J. B. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2014 15:06:45
No weapon or edge/hidrances tables, quit only a bunch of illustrations.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds GM Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ETU: East Texas University
by Joseph G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 15:23:34
ETU is amazing game with so much random stuff to build your story & campus on.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: East Texas University
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Clayton M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 12:22:40
Great suplement! It expands wonderfully on the base rules and allows for fast, easy super hero games. I used it to a Green Lantern session for my friends and it went over very well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
ETU: East Texas University
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2014 19:28:33
Well howdy, this is another hit (with a raise) for Pinnacle Entertainment. I've been interested in this setting for about seven years, and have enjoyed everything I've read for it. Now I will have a home for some of the ideas that is excellent setting inspires. The document is well laid out, and the art works well with the mood of the material. The generators included, Organization names, Adventure, and Demonic traits, look like they will inspire countless stories set in and around Pinebox, the hometown for ETU (Go Ravens!!!). I have friends, and family that are, or have lived in eastern Texas, and now I can throw all the fun of a rampaging Big Foot, or Drunk Sorority girl at them...which sometimes could be one and the same...

The book includes the basic character creation information, and updates some of the Savage Worlds edges and hindrances, while adding a few that are tailored to the books setting. It's really an easy read, and incorporates some of the ideas from other Savage World books that seem to dovetail with the setting quite well. I am a huge Savage Worlds fan, but even if you wanted to use another system (but, really, why would you?) it would be simple enough to convert and the setting will hold up.

All and all, I think it's really good, I would have liked it to be longer, but I'm sure there will be lots more offerings that will flesh out the setting in the future.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ETU: East Texas University
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Deadlands Reloaded: The Last Sons
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/21/2014 04:48:08
Aufgepasst, Männer! Wir reiten ins Indianerland. Mit Last Sons habt ihr die Möglichkeit, den unheimlichen Westen aus Sicht der Indianer zu erleben. Entdeckt den großen Geistertanz, den Kult um Raven und werdet Teil eines Abenteuers, das den Westen für immer verändern wird. Bei den Rothäuten geht es rund, also passt auf euch auf, bevor es heißt: „Du kannst gehen – aber deine Kopfhaut bleibt hier!“

Inhalt

Das ist mal ein dickes Buch! Über 300 Seiten vollgepackt mit spannenden Informationen, Geschichten und Abenteuern für den unheimlichen Westen. Obwohl es sich in erster Linie um einen Kampagnenband handelt, existiert ein kleiner Spielerteil. In diesem wird im Stil einer Wild-West-Zeitung das aktuelle Geschehen nach dem Ende der The Flood–Kampagne beleuchtet und der Schauplatz der Last Sons–Kampagne vorgestellt.

Während sich zukünftige Mitglieder der Texas Ranger oder der Agency über neue Ausrüstung und Regeln zur Materialakquise (oder: „Wie komme ich an cooles Spielzeug?“) freuen dürfen, geht es für potentielle Rothäute richtig zur Sache: Welche Stämme gibt es im unheimlichen Westen und wo sind sie angesiedelt? Welche Sprachen werden gesprochen? Und vor allem: Wie funktioniert so ein Stammesgebilde überhaupt? Neben der Beantwortung dieser Fragen bietet dieser Kampagnenband noch eine Handvoll neuer Talente und Handicaps.

Einigen arkanen Hintergründen wird außerdem eine neue Kraft spendiert: Contact Spirit World –grob übersetzt „Mit der Geisterwelt Kontakt aufnehmen“. Diese besondere Kraft beginnt mit einer recht einfachen Beschwörung, wird aber gemeinsam mit dem Charakter mit jedem Charakterrang etwas mächtiger. Schließlich kann man sogar ein Tor in die Ewigen Jagdgründe öffnen. Obwohl diese Kraft vom Flair am ehesten zu indianischen Schamanen passt, haben zum Beispiel auch verrückte Wissenschaftler und Voodoo-Priester die Möglichkeit, diese Kraft zu erlernen.

Der bis hierher beschriebene Teil des Bandes ist übrigens bereits seit einiger Zeit als Freebie erhältlich und kann gratis von der Webseite von Pinnacle Entertainment heruntergeladen werden.

Dem Spielleiter, auch Marshal genannt, sind die verbliebenen Kapitel gewidmet. Der Einstieg ist eine Zusammenfassung der Geschehnisse um die namengebenden Last Sons und ihrem mysteriösen Anführer Raven. Anschließend werden die neuen Settingregeln vorgestellt, die zum einen die Atmosphäre des Settings verändern sollen, sich zum anderen aber auch mit neuen Elementen, wie zum Beispiel Telegraphen, den Ewigen Jagdgründen oder dem großen Geistertanz widmen. Auch Wetterregeln werden an dieser Stelle neu eingeführt. Anschließend folgt der Überblick für den Marshal, welche interessanten Orte und Städte sich im Kampagnengebiet befinden. Neben zahlreicher, kleinerer Städte und Plätze wird auch ein besonderes Augenmerk auf Deadwood, Dodge und Denver gelegt. Abschließend bietet dieses Kapitel noch einen Abenteuergenerator, der auf die Kampagnenregion ausgelegt ist.

Die Kampagne selbst erstreckt sich beinahe über ein Drittel des gesamten Buches und ist in insgesamt neun Teile unterteilt. Ein zusätzlicher, optionaler Epilog bringt die Kampagne damit auf zehn zusammenhängende Geschichten. Die meisten Plot Points sind nur lose miteinander verknüpft und es ist auch die ausdrückliche Empfehlung, zwischen diesen noch einige Savage Tales und eigene Abenteuer einzustreuen, da der Schwierigkeitsgrad der Kampagne gerade zum Ende hin drastisch ansteigt. Leider wird in keinem Plot Point ein empfohlener Charakterrang erwähnt, daher hat der Marshal auch keine Vergleichsgröße, zu welchem Zeitpunkt sein Aufgebot bereit für den nächsten Teil der Kampagne ist. Besonders ärgerlich, da die Kampagne einem Timing folgt, zu dem bestimmte Zeitpunkte bestimmte Ereignisse auslösen. Trödeln die Spieler, verpassen Sie möglicherweise wichtige Meilensteine und vermasseln damit die gesamte Kampagne. Die Versuchung für den Spielleiter, hier regelnd und mittels Railroading einzugreifen, ist daher entsprechend groß.

Ich möchte nicht zu viel über die Kampagne verraten, kann aber an dieser Stelle sagen, dass Veteranen der Classic–Reihe einige Plätze und Persönlichkeiten durchaus wiedererkennen werden. Da sich diese im Laufe der Jahre verändert haben, stehen aber gerade für Kenner der Reihe einige spannende Momente ins Haus. Die Kampagne treibt den Meta-Plot insbesondere auf indianischer Seite voran. Eine Gruppe aus Indianer hassenden Charakteren wird mit dieser Kampagne wahrscheinlich nicht viel Freude haben. Spieler, die sich darauf einlassen, erwartet aber eine sehr ausführliche und vor allem für neue Marshals geeignete Kampagne. Diese deckt vom klassischen Dungeon-Crawl über detektivische Einlagen zu epischen Schlachten so ziemlich alles ab, was eine erfolgreiche Kampagne ausmacht. Lediglich der Epilog verliert deutlich an Qualität und ist eher ein wirres Ende als ein würdiger Abschluss.

Zusätzlich zur Kampagne wartet der Settingband mit über 30 weiteren Savage Tales auf. Diese haben insgesamt eine gute Qualität, sind aber in Savage Tale–Manier mehr als Inspiration gedacht. Deadlands–typisch muss der Marshal hier also wieder selbst den beschriebenen Geschichten Leben einhauchen. Ein Kapitel über mögliche Begegnungen rundet den Band ab.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Als Print-Produkt ist der Preis von annähernd 40 EUR sicherlich gerechtfertigt. Für eine PDF ist der angesetzte Preis von 36 EUR definitiv zu hoch.

Seit der Reduzierung um 50% erhaltet ihr aber ein großartiges Produkt zum angemessenen Preis. Hochwertige Kampagnenbände haben es natürlich schwer, hohe Preise zu erzielen, erhält man doch mittlerweile akzeptable eigene Settings zum gleichen Preis.

Erscheinungsbild

Deadlands Last Sons CoverWie bei den meisten Deadlands Reloaded–Produkten sind die verwendeten Illustrationen eine Mischung aus alten Classic–Grafiken und neuen Reloaded–Bildern, die in sich auch nicht einheitlich sind.

Daher ist auch dieser Band mit einer Mischung aus knallbunten Actionszenen, stimmungsvollen Westernmotiven in gedeckten Farben und düster ausgestalteten Horrorbildern versehen. Einige der Bilder sind schlicht atemberaubend, andere kann man bestenfalls als „qualitativen Ausrutscher“ bezeichnen.

Insgesamt bewegt sich der Band aber auf erfreulich hohem Niveau. Auch textuell hält der Band, was die Optik verspricht, wobei sich dieses Mal einige Schreibfehler bzw. fehlende Worte am Lektorat vorbeigeschummelt haben. Die gewählten Kontraste gewährleisten eine gute Lesbarkeit, nur Überschriften von Unterkapiteln sind in einem merkwürdigen Font vor einem Holzhintergrund gedruckt. Die Lesbarkeit leidet hier unnötig und wirklich hübsch sieht es leider auch nicht aus.

Zur Unterstützung der Kampagne gibt es zahlreiche Umgebungskarten von Städten oder Orten, an denen es wahrscheinlich zu Konflikten kommen wird. Insbesondere der Dungeon Crawl-Teil ist vollständig mit Kartenmaterial illustriert. Als Spielhilfe sind die Illustrationen sehr wertvoll und in guter Qualität vorhanden.

Zusammenfassend hat Pinnacle hier wieder einen soliden Band abgeliefert, der sich nur wenige Schwächen erlaubt.


Fazit

Wow, ist das ein Wälzer! Im Zeitalter von PDF-Dateien spielt die Seitenanzahl dankenswerterweise keine große Rolle mehr, denn Speicherplatz ist billig und hundert Seiten hin oder her trüben den Lesegenuss auch nicht mehr durch ein höheres Gewicht. Ich finde diesen Kampagnenband außerordentlich gelungen. Zum Thema passende und das Setting sinnvoll erweiternde Regeln (die noch dazu kostenfrei zur Verfügung stehen!), eine großartige Kampagne, die spannend, nicht zu geradlinig und vor allem ohne Spielerzutun immer weiter eskaliert und drei Dutzend neue Savage Tales – eine großartige Mischung. Der feste Zeitraum der Kampagne, sowie die fehlende Angabe des Charakterrangs trüben die Euphorie ein wenig.

Der bunte Illustrationsmix stört manchmal den guten Eindruck und über die schlecht lesbaren Unterüberschriften habe ich mich richtig geärgert. Insgesamt hält aber auch dieser Band ein qualitatives Niveau, das andere Rollenspielprodukte erst einmal erreichen müssen.

Preislich bewegt sich der Kampagnenband im oberen Niveau. Ob man wirklich so viel Geld dafür ausgeben sollte, bleibt natürlich jedem selbst überlassen. Empfehlenswert ist dieser Band auf jeden Fall für neue Marshals, da die Kampagne wirklich gut ausformuliert ist.

Erfahrene Marshals und Spieler freuen sich über eine spannende Kampagne, in der viele bekannte Persönlichkeiten und Orte wieder aufgegriffen werden. Man sollte sich vorher überlegen, ob man eine Kampagne mit deutlich indianischem Einschlag spielen möchte. Fehlt das Interesse daran, ist man mit dem Gratis-Teil zum Thema „Ausrüstung für Geheimagenten“ besser beraten.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: The Last Sons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Evernight Figure Flats
by Carlos L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 09:43:45
First, the bad: Orc Chieftain and Ogre are missing (I'm finishing Act I, so maybe there's more).
The good: Super easy to print and "assemble", I can't imagine other way to play Evernight without it.
Obs: it's the same art of the book, which is not so great - especially the heroes, monsters are ok. But, well, it's the book's art. That's how the book's publisher wanted.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Evernight Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:41:22
AMAZING WORK. A+ -- I don't even play Savage Worlds yet. I bought it last year and, on the strength of what I read, I also got the Fantasy Companion, and a bunch of Beasts and Barbarians stuff because I'm a Robert Howard, Clark Ashton Smith type of guy.

So, as I say, knowing that I cannot vouch for the system or 50 Fathoms *in action*, I will say that this is one of the best conceived and composed world/ adventure modules I've ever read. The world concept is bold, and the adventure has a definite point to it -- clear objectives are written into the world, and a large number of adventures big and small would allow you to explore this world for years, or just go hell-bent for the big brass ring -- saving the world, of course.

Saving the world. Big deal, right. Always we gotta save the world. But *this time*, it's different. Not only are there big bads, but what they have done to threaten the world is so big, so concrete, so evident in the everyday, and so prosaic in its way, that it's an irrestistible objective:

Three crazy sisters, in love with arcane power and executed by drowning for the heinous crimes that followed from their twisted desire, have cursed their world to drown. Now, a mysterious sending of a ghostly maiden is luring people of Earth, sailors and other wanderers, to her world to save it, and also of course to pirate, or trade, or whatever, their way across the face of the ocean and the archipelagoes that are all that remain of the great empires of a few decades before.

In its overall campaign concept, and in the detailed adventures that support, or color, or having nothing to do with that campaign at all, this is a winner, written by those who know a good idea and how to express it, and also know how to assemble a book with intelligence and get the right illustrators to come along.

If you play or like SW, or pirates, or just examples of good adventure writing, buy it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
50 Fathoms Explorer's Edition
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2014 21:35:49
First off 50 Fathoms is a fantastic setting! Great concept and beautiful artwork. Pinnacle did it again hitting this one out of the park.

The flavor of this setting make for the definitive fantasy feel with the added bonus of pirates. I originally bought this book to read through the plot-point campaign because I had heard that it set the bar for all plot-point campaigns. IT DOES! It is a compelling read and a rich story. I wouldn't look anywhere else to see THE sample for how to build a fantasy world in Savage Worlds. This is it! If you are considering a fantasy-type setting to play in for Savage Worlds, or to build your own fantasy setting then start here. The setting rules give Savage Worlds the flavor and feel of fantasy while showing you exactly how to tweak the generic system into a genre clutching game.

Personally, I read PDFs to get a feel for a setting and rarely buy in print unless I want to run that setting. I will be purchasing 50 Fathoms in print, however, because of the art, the writing, and the story. It holds the bar for a setting in Savage Worlds to me...very nearly replacing Deadlands with flavor and style.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by john h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2014 12:47:06
Great companion. Perfect for most sci-fi games. I'm using it for a star wars games and the race builder came in especially handy, to to mention the fantastic gear section.

Only complaint is there isn't a summed up section for the gear, but it's a small complaint. The companion offers everything you'd need for making robots, cyborgs, aliens, and giant mech. A++ on this companion

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2014 00:44:06
at least 30% of this book is just reprints of the supers book. very few new abilites or rules. The setting is nice, but the reprinting of stuff from the supers book is NOT ok.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Evil Explorer's Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Texter
by Jason E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:32:38
This concept is interesting and for the most part works at the beginning. The way the story is told through the texting seems fairly natural and not forced and the story unfolds in an intriguing way. However, the mystery of what is happening is fairly transparent early on even if the reason is covered up for a little while. But that too becomes fairly obvious so that when the full scope of the event that triggers what is happening in this story is revealed it isn't that amazing. Plus, the wrap up seems completely unrealistic considering how much effort and thought went into to whole event happening in this story that a simple foolish mistake as a single text undoes everything. This may not make sense but I'm trying not to give spoilers. In the end, for a buck it is worth reading to see how this concept is handled.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Texter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Texter
by Ria H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2014 23:08:27
This is a really quick read, but it's just the right length, I think. I like the format; the texts seem natural, right down to cursing the autocorrect and that one person who insists on abbreviating everything. I really liked the way that as the texts progressed, you got a sense of what was going on underneath it all. In a way, I thought the implications were actually better than the reveal at the end, and the ending did seem a little sudden to me. It did all fit together really well, so I might just be nitpicking.

All in all, excellent story, quick read, and I highly recommend.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 13:21:45
Admittedly, anything Savage Worlds doesn't have to try too hard to make me happy.

This companion is a little light in the edges / hindrances / powers segment, but great in the pregen-npc's, mechanics, world creation, and creative-encouragement departments.

If you are doing something Sci-Fi with your campaign, having this companion allows you to make it more believable, more alive, and generally more thought-out than it may have been otherwise.

Great work, thanks, team!

SKS

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 08:58:34
excellent rulebook for those wanting some comic book style action for Savage Worlds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
by Mike W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2014 12:13:47
Tremendously useful and crammed with information from building races to starships to Star system generation. Given the player friendliness of the Savage Worlds system this was a long overdue supplement that is adaptable to any campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Science Fiction Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 567 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates