DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Far Away Land Adventures: Whoa! Here Come the Dead
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2014 12:12:37
See my review of Isle of the Rat Wizard for conversion to various D&Ds

I'll be honest when I say I preferred the Isle of the Rat Wizard, but this little adventure should be thought of more as a great drop-in piece with the potential to be a Secret of Saltmarsh meets Secret of Bone Hill mashup. Seemingly fall-off-a-log-simple adventure with throw away plot, this little nugget could really be used well as the mate with IotRW, as they suggest in the beginning of W!HCtD. I even thought of running this one first and then placing the mcguffin for defeating the baddie in this adventure on the Isle of the Rat Wizard. The magic items in each are strangely, alluringly similar, suggesting a possible greater unseen whole.

Buy this and give it its due expansion and integration in your setting. Buy IotRW, too, and combine them.

Please pay these folks something, they are well worth your time.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land Adventures: Whoa! Here Come the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG Adventures: Isle of the Rat Wizard
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2014 12:03:07
Man, these are fun!
I really enjoyed Isle of the Rat Wizard.

The system takes a moment to parse for older D&D editions. The AC is ascending, and starts at 0. The magic appears to indicate the spell levels, meaning one must work backwards to determine the caster level in one's preferred edition. Everything seems to do 1d6 damage, like 0e D&D before Greyhawk introduced polyhedral damage and hit dice.

The laid-back, almost Adventure Time cartoony quality of the adventure is just to convey the concepts as far as I am concerned, and can be played in a more serious tone (as I prefer), with little effort. There are great ideas here for expanding the locale and increasing the coolness of certain sections, as well as increasing the difficulty.

Don't let the goofy art turn you away, nor the seemingly simple premise; this is great spot-adventure product that could be expanded to a multi-session adventure locale with little effort.

Pay these folks something for their effort.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG Adventures: Isle of the Rat Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land Adventures: Whoa! Here Come the Dead
by Luke W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2014 20:41:49
These mini adventures are great. You get a map and a few pieces of art of the same quality as the main books. The adventure itself consists of a location and story ideas and stats, which lends itself to sandbox style play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land Adventures: Whoa! Here Come the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Tales of Awesome
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2014 17:11:57
WOW!! What can I say about the FAL setting laid out in the pages of this book. Expansive yet open to the hand of the GM. The background history, pantheon, and geography all come together. This setting SCREAMS to be played and I for one will answer the call.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Tales of Awesome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Companion Rules
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2014 17:06:06
Book 3 in the FAL line continues the evolution of a great game. Have been gaming for over 30 years and this is the one that has brought back the excitement and joy I felt on first entering the realm of the RPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Companion Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Creatures Vol. I
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2014 17:02:01
A must have addition to the core FAL rules. Have to kick myself for missing the Kickstarter for this system. Cannot wait to pick up the remaining books in this set. Hope the designer continues his great work and brings us even more FAL!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Creatures Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2014 16:58:26
Great new approach to fantasy gaming. Zany, weird, and wildly entertaining to read and play. Love the simple, but flexible, system. Illustrations are inspired. Get this game!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far Away Land RPG: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

d6 Design Contest 2009
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2011 01:54:40
d6 Design is an eclectic collection of diverse games. Some you will like -- some you won't. It will be the rare soul that likes all the games, because of the variety of the lot. You should be aware of this fact when buying this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
d6 Design Contest 2009
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I totally agree. The whole idea behind the 6d design project was to get some eclectic games to see the light of day. It's not everyday that you get an rpg that uses chocolate candies.
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates