DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hael Core Rules
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/12/2014 21:46:36
WHAT WORKS: A few very original twists on the standard fantasy world. "The Bad Guys Won" has been done before, but rarely with the twist of "and then they became kinda good". I really liked the art, as it had an evocative style, kinda comic-booky, but not in a "kids" way.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The overpowering of the Edges and the construction of the races will limit the utility of this for anyone who might want to pluck from this for another Savage Worlds game. Some of the Call-En powers sure seem like they could be overpowered in comparison to the other Arcane Backgrounds. The editing and proofreading could have been a lot tighter as well, given outright contradictions at points in the book.

CONCLUSION: I like the setting quite a bit, as there's a lot of potential there. However, I think the book could seriously do with a revision bringing it more in line with the Savage Worlds rules in regards to Race creation and the strength of the Edges. I'm not a super big stickler for "game balance", but you are asking for trouble when you obviously set up one option as being mechanically superior to others, and folding the required Edges and Hindrances into racial packages would then allow more flexibility at character creation (and keep one from being an obviously better deal than the others). The Call-En feel a LOT like AD&D2e Psionics to me, which I was actually a huge fan of, and the addition of the aliens and the tech reminds me of Tale of the Comet, which I was also a huge fan of. As I said above, the setting has some great potential, with the powderkeg between the Daeorcs and Yaena, the hostility of the "uncivilized races" and the conflict between The Strangers and Nuclarine...I do suspect that bits like the overpowered Edges won't be a huge issue as they are contained to the setting, but I would still love to see it line up better with Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-o-
n-hael-core-rules.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hael Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
by Henry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 22:17:13
A good B- or C+ product. It’s got a lot of great stuff to steal for your sci-fi games, especially if you’re aiming for more Space Opera or Star Trek than Honor Harrington or Hammer’s Slammers. However while many of the bits are great (eminently theft-worthy even), as a stand-alone product/campaign it didn’t quite come together for me.

It’s got very high production quality, and the obvious errata-fodder is very minimal. I really liked many of the character creation tweaks, and plan to steal them shamelessly. It seemed to me that the alien entries were kinda abbreviated and there just because they felt like they HAD to put them there to still be Sci-Fi. The campaign material certainly doesn’t do anything to emphasize them. But they were plenty robust for anyone who wanted to create or import their own. The computer and ship rules are clever and an easy ways to approach things. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the cyberware and augmentation edges are also a great implementation method – vastly better than “whatever the character can afford” or I guess in this case “whatever they can acquire based on rank”. Several of the skills, edges and hindrances are right at home in most any sci-fi game. The Lantern setting also has plenty of stuff to steal or use outright for a bunch of different flavors of sci-fi. These are all very good things and well worth your time.

And while the acquisition system is novel, and very useful for keeping things fast, the whole post-scarcity economy is a bust as far as I can tell. Not just because I personally think it’s a crock for any “hard” sci-fi genre, but because the game itself treats it as a crock. All 3 books go on to repeatedly emphasize wealth, possessions, trade, sales, deals, and commissions as the things that make the world turn, not just at the character/peon level, but also at the “powers that be” level economy. The post-scarcity shtick looks like it got ladled on at a later date to explain the acquisition system but everything else had already been written. My suggestion is to keep the acquisition system for character generation and for major story items like ships, but just admit it’s hand-wavium for convenience sake and go back to using money for everything else. I’d also delete every single reference to Equilibrium. It smacks of the Guts rolls that used to be in base SW rules and were dumped for good reason. I’m not a fan of extra stats to book-keep whose sole purpose is to occasionally screw over the character on random die rolls. There’s no upside to using it, the situation that triggered the roll usually has plenty of consequences already, and I’m content to fall back on Spirit rolls for the times I need something like that situationally or as some kind of campaign based sanity management.

All in all, I’ve spent far more money for far less valuable gaming material. I’m not overawed, but I’m also perfectly satisfied with my purchase.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Ship Schematics 1
by Gonzalo D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2014 04:56:58
StoryWeaver people put a lot of passion and heart into their products, and High-Space is a great way to run Space Opera / "Hard" Sci-Fi Savage Worlds games.

I love The Lantern setting, the Anti-Pattern meta-plot and the huge possibilities that offers to GM imagination in order to expand the High-Space setting.

With High-Space Schematics 1 you get info about 7 ships (including deck plans) with short flavor text explaining the source and purpose of every ship.

If you are looking for ship battle maps this is not your product, but High Schematics 1 is perfect if you want to use these ships just as starting point for your own creations or if you want to use the deck plans in order to run narrative scenes or to create tactical complications inside a ship.

The ships are not heavy armed, that is good for starting groups and small factions but if you want to use them for strong organizations in your game, you will need to increase the Adquisition Points and upgrade the basic ships (U.R.C, PTILE or UGP Military ships should be better armed than basic ships because their bigger budgets).

Supporting an indie company like StoryWeaver is a true pleasure for me and of course, I'm waiting for new stuff...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Ship Schematics 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2014 00:45:07
Wonderful space opera. Great rules, great art, and I love the "ships as characters" in the second book. This is now my go-to space book for Savage Worlds... with a little Star Frontiers thrown in. As a matter of fact, the only thing missing from High Space are setting-specific, original alien races. Luckily, Savage Worlds makes it super easy to design any playable races you want.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Space Core Rules (v1.2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2014 19:17:49
I want to encourage those who put in the time to provide us with maps, so I really wanted to like this product.

However, it was simply poorly thought out and poorly executed. One often can't tell exactly what they're looking at. This is often due to small, avoidable errors. Like the door frames or furniture in rooms casting their shadows over nearby walls, forcing the mind to perceive them as being part of the floor instead of walls.

The ships designs would make more sense if there were a consistent design philosophy behind them. Rooms in spaceships are purpose built, not just the empty spaces inside the hull frame randomly filled with furnishings. In all this product suffered from "using the templates and tokens I have" rather than "finding the templates that work well".

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2014 02:17:40
Love it! Super great addition to my Sci Fi game!
Its very easy to use to customize different systems and it isn't system specific.
The only question I'd had was how to save a copy of the first one I'd completed- you just use the print to .pdf function and you're done. They even mention that in the video.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Figure Set 1: Starter Kit
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2013 01:45:51
As a mmatter of full disclosure, I received a free copy of this product from the publisher. These minis are fantastic. Inside you will find a good assortment of sci-fi minis that don't simply consist of generic Halo ripoffs. The figures are colorful and detailed and can be used with just about any setting.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Figure Set 1: Starter Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gamers vs Hellfire: Emergency Fund Raiser
by Shane B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2013 00:12:38
Great thought, and great timing. Was looking at Rapture just yesterday. Its good to be able to use my hobby to help support my fellow Australians that are suffering.

.. and to show support for StoryWeaver I will get my hands on the High Space stuff as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamers vs Hellfire: Emergency Fund Raiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Gamers vs Hellfire: Emergency Fund Raiser
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/22/2013 13:22:48
Thank you for providing the means to help our friends in Australia who are affected by these dreadful fires.

I'll write some proper reviews once I have read this vast heap of materials...

Note: I may be a featured reviewer, but I paid for this myself.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2013 10:46:50
Absolutely fantastic product. It's gorgeous, easy to use and gives you a book-quality planetary map with data for any campaign. This product works with any sci-fi RPG, really, so I recommend it to everyone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 14:32:24
I love the idea of this, and it seems like a great execution *EXCEPT* I happen to run Linux and I have not been able to find a single tool pdf tool that will let me use this product as described. So far, I've tried a dozen, with results ranging from showing every single layer, to showing just the first layer, to not showing any layers at all.

From what I can tell, if you live in the Microsoft world, this would be a great little item. I live in hope that Linux will catch up soon.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
by Vik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2013 14:21:56
This product is incredible! I run a space game and I always looking for resources. I have see a few good products from this company so I watch for them, and this is a great one. it has a beautifully illustrated page with a earthlike planet on a blue nebula background, plus a blank data-file area to track important info about the planet for the campaign. Simple enough.... EXCEPT you can change every aspect of the planet, there are dozen different planets, plus moons, about ten different nebula backgrounds, computer overlay images like beacons and scanner designs. enough to make every world in your game look different enough that your players will have instant visual identification and recollection when you pull out that sheet. The only downside that I see is it may be a little ink heavy on the printer, but for quality handouts like this, it's worth it.
Technolich Approved!
www.technolich.com

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/11/2013 11:41:20
This is really rather fun to play with: and worth considering whatever star-faring SF game you play.

What you get is a VERY customisable 'log sheet' for the planets you create and visit in your game. It is mostly eye-candy, but the sort of eye-candy that helps your game come to life, helps the shared belief in your alternate reality that you seek to create around your game table.

By cunning use of the 'layers' options within PDF technology, you get to customise the display of a main world and up to five moons. You can also tweak the background. Then there is space to type in planetary details, or you can print out the sheet and write on it instead.

It comes with a fairly straightforward instruction sheet. The one thing they've omitted is to remind you to save each planet you create as a separate PDF (just use 'save as' and give the file a new name) or you will end up overwriting one design with another! They also make casual mention of saving a PDF without the extra layers, to make one that opens quicker (especially on mobile devices) but don't say how you do that.

It's really fun and I must close my copy now or no more reviews will get written today!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/29/2013 08:45:48
If you enjoy beautifully-detailed technical plans and battlemaps of all manner of spacecraft to enhance your space gaming, this is a real treat!

To start with, there is a delightful 'scout ship' design called the Firelight. The detail is amazing, you can just about hear the hum of the drives and see the medical equipment at work... as well as the large-scale battlemap version spread over several pages, there's a one-page overview, a sheet with all the stats, and a rather nice 'scan' in green...

Then several other smaller (mostly singleship) vessels get the same treatment. Some are designed for combat, others could be one-man scout or courier vessels.

Just looking at them starts spawning adventures that take your ship beyond being a means from getting from A to B (or a mere fighting vehicle) to becoming an integral part of the plot, part of the stories you will tell in your science fiction alternate reality.

A real treat, and a fine addition to the diversity of craft plying the space lanes in your universe, whether you play High Space with the Savage Worlds ruleset or any other far future game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
High-Space: Euphoria
by Schuyler C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2013 09:16:19
What we have here is a nice little kick off point for a series of adventures. Basically, this starts right after the game masters says "Your characters are sitting in a bar on a space station, and can look around. What do you do?". Several storylines exist here, with plenty of opportunity for the players to explore and interact, as well as get into some trouble or save the day. I like it, having picked it up to assist me with a game in a different system. (I'll be honest, I don't have the core rules or familiarity with the system for which this is meant. But I will be looking into them.)

Strengths - Well laid out and containing several potential plot lines for a decent gaming session or two. Plenty of interlocking, and plenty of hints dropped in place for the players. And included are maps and diagrams of very nice quality, far above the usual black and white drawings on graph paper. The art work is well done.

Weaknesses - Little background on the setting. While some bits are well explained, I would have loved for more information on the Remnant, as well as something more on the history of the station. And, since I'm not familiar with the game rules, the ship diagrams were a tad confusing to me, and likely to others trying to look through this.

Opportunities - As noted - a bit more background. While characters presented are well fleshed out and have their plots and secrets, the overall station scenario is confusing. (Imagine trying to watch Babylon 5 or Deep Space 9, starting halfway into the series, without the history of the stations or the characters...) A good game master could take some time and expand upon not only the history, but other scenarios in this locale.

Threats - This is actually well laid out enough that it can be easily lifted from this game system, and set into another with relatively little effort. I myself was looking for something to use in resurrecting an old Star Frontiers game, and this could very easily work in that regard. Many other systems could seize on this.

Overall - A wonderful module that can serve as either the kick off point for a campaign, or a one shot adventure. The station, as described, could be expanded and serve as a home base for characters. I was delighted to find it, and I will be looking for more products of this caliber.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space: Euphoria
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates