DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
StoryWeaver
StoryWeaver
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (37)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
High Space Core Rules Beta
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2012 10:08:34
Today I was very happy to find a product on Drive Thru Rpg / RPG Now that took several of my gripes about starships in RPGs and fixed them to work with Savage Worlds. I am so happy because I have been looking for something like this for many, many years. I have a love of spaceships, spaceship combat, and space soldiers. I love military sci fi novels, and FINALLY I can play them with the right tone and system (in this case, I find that Savage Worlds does it best).

I am usually not so much of a fan of a product that I tell everyone about it, but I am freaking happy! As I said, I have wanted to have this at my gaming table for many, many years. I just had to get it. I am VERY glad that I did as the character book is just what I was going to wite myself (or try to, as this is really good). The space combat and starship system are also really good. Instead of feeling like someone slapped them onto the game with duct tape, Story Weaver fit it to the Savage Worlds system rather well. I was just thinking about coming up with something earlier today and the product came out just in time. It was what I was going to do, and much much more and better.

High Space Character Manual

Initial skill points are 12, but you pick a background edge and what is called a Cultural Edge. The Background edge is a profession, like Bounty Hunter, Criminal, or Explorer. The Cultural Edge basically spends the three “lost” skill points for you. This helps give a baseline cultural background, which helps people to account for that when making a character. In some cases it is three different d4 skills. In others it is a d4 skill and a 1 trait bonus. It is a good idea and could be used for any campaign setting. Personally I would make what it is calling a Background Edge a Profession Edge instead, and just require a Profession Edge, as I can see a character use those out of the Savage Worlds book, especially in other setting. I can see why they are called background edges, as they for a character’s background, but that is somewhat confusing as Savage Worlds already uses Background edges, but they are not used in quite the same way. No, again it looks like they should be Professional edges.

There is discussion of the various skills to be used in the setting. Examples are given for specific versions of Boating and Piloting, for example. We also get new skills as Philosophy, Programming, and Psychiatry.

There are new Hindrances such as Retrovirus. There are new edges, with a couple for Hacking being noteworthy. There are rules on robots and cybernetics, and gland drugs. There are rules on what is called Equilibrium. Apparently cryo-sleep can make you go crazy. Who would have thought?

There are a bunch of cool high tech weapons, armor, equipment, and vehicles. Just looking at the book this far is making me want to play the Colonial Marines from ALIENS or maybe a Spartan from HALO.


High Space Fleet Manual

Starship construction is based on the Wild Card characters that will crew it. A Novice is worth 1 point and a Legendary character is worth 5. This total is called Acquisition points. The number of Acquisition Points will then determine how many free Edges and Trait Points that are available to design the vessel.

Then you spend the Trait points on 5 attributes. Maneuver, Computer, FTL, Displacement, and Quality. The Displacement is the mass of the vessel. D4 is a starfighter, d12 is a supercarrier.

Then you pick Design Edge, which is basically a “race” for a starship. I am not sure why it has that name, I would call it Starship Class, myself. A Design Edge gives a basic modification, such as a Warship giving a bonus to Quality but a reduction in Pace (Pace is derived from FTL). It also gives Payloads and Hard Points based on the Displacement rating. A warship has more hard points than payloads, a cargo vessel has only payloads. The payloads are used for equaipment and cargo space while hard points are used for weapons. Ships can have hindrances and edges. Many of the edges also have a cost in payloads or hard points.

Starship combat has maneuvers such as Slingshot which lets you use a nearby planet or asteroid to fling your vessel by at a quicker rate and Align for Impact that gets you an AP bonus for versus damage for a collision. Gunner maneuvers include Improved Firing Solution and Defensive Firing.

Further Musings

The ship can have an AI. This can be a Wild Card in itself. I would have it be a NPC or a PC’s side kick, If it is a primary PC, I would have it have some sort of edge to have an android body (where as the Android is the actual PC) or have an a side kick for the ship, either an engineer that really loves the AI or something, maybe just some other character for the player to use when off the ship. It can get really boring when you are stuck in port while the party goes on without you.

What about a character that wants to have a personal starfighter that is stationed on the ship that the party flies around? I could see a character using the Ace edge for this. That in itself is not a problem, but how does one determine Acquisition points? Do you split it between your personal vessel and the carrier? Going with the Fast, Furious, Fun, I would just make an edge called “Personal Vessel” that allows a character to use his or her own points for both a personal vessel as well as to the main vessel. A character could in that way add double if that character has no desire to have a personal vessel, such as the character that remained on the carrier would do while the rest of the party suited up and took off into their own starfighters.

The books could also do with some examples. Several example ships would be really nice. Those could be used as pre-made ships and also showcase the results of the design system. There could also be a few examples of crews and their vessels.

An excel spreadsheet to track the starship would be great. Knowing me, I will make a goof usrr friendly one easily enough. A Hero Lab user source file would also be great. If not already made, I guess that I will do it as well because I want it as it is. I would post both to my website for sharing

It is good that it is still a Beta at this point and perhaps some of my musings and comments could help to make the final product better overall.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Space Core Rules Beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rapture: The End of Days. Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
by Carl P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2012 02:26:25
At the risk of giving away my opinion in the very first line of a review: 'Rapture' is a game that deserves far more attention than it gets. I first played Rapture shortly after it was released and the very idea was enough to get me interested. Theological horror in space with a decidedly Ridley Scott's 'Alien' feel? Yes please.

'Rapture' is, at the time of writing, only available in PDF form and that's what I'm working with for this review. The 'Rapture' core package includes the rulebook, designed to be read on an iPad or similar tablet and also an editable PDF version of the character sheet, a poster with a map of the Rapture galaxy and details on humanity's population across the stars, some example schematics of space ships and a flyer directing us to the Story Weaver Facebook page. The Human Occupied Space poster is a great addition. That's a very useful tool for introducing the game to players and for coming up with story hooks. The example spaceships is cool, too and I just know that there are players out there who like to have everything mapped for them. I'm not one of them but that's beside the point. The character sheet is exactly what it should be and don't get me wrong, I love an editable PDF for character sheets. But I do wonder if it's necessary in a game where characters are expected to die often. For pre-made characters in a convention style game, it's awesome. But for regular games or campaigns, I can't recommend making all your characters this way. And then there's the flyer – it's a flyer. What can I say?

Okay! Now onto the meat. How is the actual 'Rapture' book? Well, it's concise and heavy and clear. The first part of the book explains the rules. The explanation is broken up to changes, beginning with the basics of character sheets and the core mechanic, then adding the additional systems such as fear, damage and madness in following chapters. While it should be an obvious choice to do it this way, it seems this is the first place a lot of RPG books miss the mark. To be fair, Rapture has the advantage of being a very simple and rules light system. But I'd hate to make it sound like the writer hasn't done an excellent job of laying out the book. Everything is also very concise and clear. It doesn't spend a lot of time clarifying and re clarifying rules endlessly. This is a book that makes itself so clear the first time, that it doesn't need to keep explaining itself.

The rest of the book, and probably the majority of the 'Rapture' core book is the setting. 'Rapture' is set in our world, in our galaxy, several hundred years in the future. Everything from technology to society and religion has changed and that's a lot of time to catch up on before you start playing. Fortunately the theme of 'clear and concise' continues right through the setting information. With all this history of the setting to explain, 'Rapture' makes a point of giving you all the details you'll need and then moving on to what's next. It's tight and without room for question. And that's a point I'd like to linger on for a moment. 'Rapture' does not leave room for question in any aspect of its setting, history or cosmology. Nothing is obscure, nothing is open to interpretation. The setting for 'Rapture' is the setting for 'Rapture'. I can't tell you if this is good or bad, it just is and it's something that stands out for the game.

'Rapture's setting details include include descriptions and mechanics of monsters, equipment, space ships and population counts for star systems colonised by humanity. There's also a lot of details about the history, about the political and philosophical factions that have grown in this world's history. All of this culminates in what's happening within these factions in the present of the 'Rapture' universe. After the setting and the monsters and some GM advice has all been dished out, the book finishes with some short story ideas. They're quick and usable, but I always find these kinds of features in an RPG book are more useful for giving you an idea of the kinds of games you can run, as opposed to being actual adventures you can run. 'Rapture' keeps to the status-quo. Their story seeds do the job without being mind blowing – but saying something is successful if not astounding is hardly a criticism.

So all this means that in just 133 pages, the 'Rapture' core book is a rulebook for players, a rule book for GMs and a setting book. That's a lot to cover in a small space and that makes the 'Rapture' book quite a meaty piece of RPG literature. Between you and me, I call this a win. 'Rapture' is honest and treats the reader like they're an intelligent and experienced gamer. This book knows what it wants to do and how it wants to accomplish those goals and, from where I'm sitting, it succeeds on all counts. The writing is tight and clear, the art is excellent and if you can excuse the occasional typo, the 'Rapture' core book could be the beginning of a great RPG experience.

The 'Rapture' book confesses that this is not the place to begin playing RPGs, but perhaps it is. 'Rapture' is a great example of how varied, how creative and how thoughtful an RPG can be. 'Rapture' isn't for kids and it's not a light hearted adventure game but if you're looking for something new, something entirely – almost obsessively – focused on creating thrilling narratives, then you'll be struggling to find something better.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapture: The End of Days.   Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hael Soundscapes - Untamed Sounds
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/21/2012 16:32:51
I’m not familiar with the HAEL setting—except for what I learned in the bonus “Welcome to HAEL” track included with this collection—but I’m always interested in new gaming soundscape products.

“Cavern of the Soul” is a subdued, mysterious track, excellent background for scenes of exploration where you want to create a sense of isolation, mystery, and a lurking danger. The track doesn’t loop very well, however; the abrupt beginning is jarring following the decrescendo at the end. “A Chant for the Dry Bones” evokes a tribal ceremony of some kind through the use of percussion and long ambient vocals, and the track loops pretty well. The moans that punctuate “Danger in the Forest” are less effective; they overpower the music and are so inarticulate that they almost become comical. That’s a shame, because “Danger in the Forest” has some really good musical lines, even though it doesn’t loop well at all.

“Journey of the Warlord,” a percussion-only track as far as I can tell, offers a good bed for scoring a battle against primitive or savage humanoids (like gnolls). The first 20 seconds or so have a clearly introductory character, so this track doesn’t loop very well. Also, in the ID3 tags, “warlord” was misspelled as “warlard” (is a “warlard” the chief battlefield chef?). “A Military Engagement” starts out percussion-only as well, but adds other instruments beginning around 45 seconds into the seven and a half minutes of this track. The other instruments fall out near the end, such that “A Military Engagement” loops perfectly. I don’t really get the idea of a large battle from the music, though; the relatively slow tempo and ponderous beat make it more like “preparing for” or “marching toward” a military engagement.

The longest piece in the collection is “Kirene Dreams,” weighing in at over ten minutes in duration. I don’t know who the kirene are, or why their dreams require ten minutes of vaguely Asian-sounding music with an odd “growly” undertone. Still, it’s a flavorful, exotic track that loops pretty well.

The ID3 tags have the album, track, and composer’s names in all the right places—something that publishers of RPG background music sometimes overlook. However, the tracks aren’t numbered. Album cover artwork would have been nice, too, and would help the collection stand out better. The poor looping on several tracks hampers the overall collection, but you can probably put all of these tracks (well, except the “Introduction to HAEL”) to good use in any fantasy world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hael Soundscapes - Untamed Sounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hael: Night of the Long Fangs
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 12:26:12
For more discussion about Savage Worlds and other RPG's please visit my blog at http://solaceofsavagery.wordpress.com

I reviewed the Hael Core Book a few weeks back in a previous post. Storyweaver released a couple of adventures around the same time the core book came out and just today uploaded their soundtrack to the Hael universe to RPGNow. It’s awesome that this setting just came out and there is already so much great support material.

Adventures

Night of the Long Fangs and Burning Bridges (16 and 17 pages respectively) are both presented with Storyweaver’s “Game in a Can” label on their covers. They are both unique sandbox style location based adventures that share a common design structure. The framework is actually very reminiscent of modern console and computer RPG’s (in a good way!). You are given a location that is well mapped out and each page in the books presents a different area of interest in that location. Along with flavor text you get information on NPC’s, stat blocks, story hooks and rumors. Each NPC has their own seemingly independent plot hooks that tie into one grand overarching tale. With this structure it’s just a matter of letting the players explore the area and interact with the populace. I like the way these books are presented very much and they do an amazing job of offering interesting stories without railroading you into clunky plot dependencies that break progress if missed. You can’t beat the value either since Night of the Long Fangs is a very reasonable $3.95 and Burning Bridges is free!

As I said above, it’s fantastic that there’s already excellent support material for Hael. I wasn’t familiar with the old D20 incarnation of the setting so I don’t know if these books are new material or revised and re-released stuff but really it’s irrelevant. I hope to see more of the “Game in a Can” releases soon and I’m really liking the music too. It seems like Storyweaver has great priorities as far as support for their products is concerned.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hael: Night of the Long Fangs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hael: Burning Bridges
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 12:25:49
For more discussion about Savage Worlds and other RPG's please visit my blog at http://solaceofsavagery.wordpress.com

I reviewed the Hael Core Book a few weeks back in a previous post. Storyweaver released a couple of adventures around the same time the core book came out and just today uploaded their soundtrack to the Hael universe to RPGNow. It’s awesome that this setting just came out and there is already so much great support material.

Adventures

Night of the Long Fangs and Burning Bridges (16 and 17 pages respectively) are both presented with Storyweaver’s “Game in a Can” label on their covers. They are both unique sandbox style location based adventures that share a common design structure. The framework is actually very reminiscent of modern console and computer RPG’s (in a good way!). You are given a location that is well mapped out and each page in the books presents a different area of interest in that location. Along with flavor text you get information on NPC’s, stat blocks, story hooks and rumors. Each NPC has their own seemingly independent plot hooks that tie into one grand overarching tale. With this structure it’s just a matter of letting the players explore the area and interact with the populace. I like the way these books are presented very much and they do an amazing job of offering interesting stories without railroading you into clunky plot dependencies that break progress if missed. You can’t beat the value either since Night of the Long Fangs is a very reasonable $3.95 and Burning Bridges is free!

As I said above, it’s fantastic that there’s already excellent support material for Hael. I wasn’t familiar with the old D20 incarnation of the setting so I don’t know if these books are new material or revised and re-released stuff but really it’s irrelevant. I hope to see more of the “Game in a Can” releases soon and I’m really liking the music too. It seems like Storyweaver has great priorities as far as support for their products is concerned.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hael: Burning Bridges
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hael Soundscapes - Untamed Sounds
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 12:22:12
For full review of Hael products and discussion about Savage Worlds and other RPG's, please visit my blog at http://solaceofsavagery.wordpress.com/

Hael Soundscapes – Untamed Sounds

Untamed Sounds is a collection of music for use during games. There are six tracks of music (plus a 7th bonus introduction track) that are designed to provide background ambiance for a variety of game situations. The songs are titled according to how they are connected to the Hael setting and they provide music for battles and other common game events. The production values are very high and stylistically the music would be appropriate for most any fantasy setting. (While writing this I kept wanting to write “Album”…. getting old….)

It’s fantastic that there’s already excellent support material for Hael. It seems like Storyweaver has great priorities as far as support for their products is concerned.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hael Soundscapes - Untamed Sounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the wonderful review Michael. We really appreciate all the support of our fans! We plan to release some additional tracks for Rapture in the near future as well, plus (if all goes well) some sci-fi tracks for the upcoming High-Space game!
Hael Core Rules
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2012 00:35:33
For more discussion about Savage Worlds and other RPG's, please visit my blog at www.solaceofsavagery.wordpress.com

Hael is a fantasy setting for Savage Worlds. The core book, published by Storyweaver, is just over 150 pages and is comprised of about 20 chapters of setting information for both player’s and gm’s. The book also has quick play sections that include information from the Savage Worlds core book which makes this release a pretty much all inclusive setting book.

The basic premise of Hael is that the orc’s and gnoll’s joined forces a little over 800 years before the current time. They grew tired of the treaty/oath breaking humans and decided to launch a military campaign to establish dominance and order. Eventually they conquered the humans and halflings and divvied the continent up with the orc’s taking the northern half and the gnoll’s occupying the southern half. The other races fled into the wilds as slavery became prevalent and basically maintained a barbaric lifestyle. As time passed the orc’s (now calling themselves the Daeorcs), and the gnoll’s (now the Yaena) continued to evolve into civilized peoples. Eventually slavery is outlawed and the barbaric races of human’s, halfling’s and Kirene – four armed humanoids – slowly start to get assimilated into the civilized Daeorc and Yaena societies. This brings us to the current year in Hael. Peace has been held for some time but the introduction of two warring alien races has created new tensions. The Daeorc’s have aligned with the mysterious Stranger’s, and the Yaena have entered into an agreement with the technologically advanced Nuclarine. The motivations of each alien species is clouded at this point and this tense confusing climate provides the backdrop for adventures in Hael.

I like this book a lot. The setting is a skewed fantasy world with a dash of science fiction thrown in and parts of it are reminiscent of books like Blackmoor and Carcosa, which is a good thing in my mind. Unlike most other fantasy settings, the Daeorc’s are the baseline as opposed to the human’s. This is enough of a variation to give Hael a fresh feel and make choices and options during character creation different than other games.

In addition to the cool setting, presentation is another bright spot. The book is complete and yet isn’t an unwieldy size. While there is a lot of setting information, it is efficiently presented making the world of Hael very accessible. Furthermore, unlike some releases that seem to think that quality is directly proportionate to the number of new edges you have, this book takes an economical approach that reinforces the setting while maintaining the core Savage Worlds ideology.

This is a great book. I wasn’t really in the market for a new fantasy setting but this is one of those books that inspires creativity and just makes you want to play in it’s sandbox. I was actually turned off by the “humans are the minority” element at first but after reading the book I’m fully on board. I highly recommend giving this a read. I will be discussing the two excellent recently released adventures for Hael in an upcoming post. Stay tuned!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hael Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Destiny's Children: Near Death Experience #1 for Rapture: The End of Days
by Guy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2011 04:56:36
This is a great horror game with an original premise for campaign setting (post Rapture futuristic space travel). What impressed me most were the included aids for the game; an extras tracking sheet, dozens of extras (fleshed out enough to be playable) and best of all, an actual recording of the SOS call in the story complete with fuzzy overtones which obscure the few needed bits to make sense of it all. Definitely worth the investment, this game was made for iPad and the use of technology at the gaming table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Destiny's Children: Near Death Experience #1 for Rapture: The End of Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2011 05:35:52
I can forgive a lot for the imagination that goes into the gruesome denouement of this tale. I personally don't much like the particular technology that underpins the story and seems to justify any sort of magical occurrence in recent SF. Its background seems a little too contrived. But if the players will never know about it and the GM can justify it as a necessary leap of logic to make the science-horror work, maybe it's nothing to worry about.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Jim C. Sorry it’s taken a while for me to reply to you; I wanted to have something to show – that is an update to the product based on reviews – before replying. Firstly, can I say; thank you, thank you, and thank you. The first thank you is for the feedback; any feedback in gratefully accepted. We can’t make things better if we don’t have other peoples’ takes on things. Secondly, thank you for not blurting out the secret core of the adventure. Others would probably have not been so considerate. And third, thank you for speaking your mind and giving me something to work with. While 5 star ‘it’s just awesome’ reviews are good for the ego, they are not that good for improving the product. I like reviews that tell me something that I can do to make things better. Your dislike of the underlying technology of the adventure is not surprising given the way Hollywood has abused it in the past. I do agree that they use it as a cure-all in their storylines - I hope you can see that I only use it as a basis for far more complex and scary shenanigans. The recent remake of a classic 50’s sci-fi springs to mind, however, there it was alien produced. As there are no aliens in vanilla Rapture, everything that happens is due to humankind up until the Rapture itself. Thus, in the secret history, it is mankind’s doing. I can’t do much about your feeling that the secret history section is contrived – it’s been accepted as cannon now by the Universe’s author, and is already referenced to in multiple new works that are in production. But having said that, I lead on to one of the new additions to the product that I hope you, Jim, will access and read, as it was specifically written to address your (and anyone else’s) issues with the ‘underlying technology.’ It’s the Technology Sate of Play document, and it outlines where that tech is in real life, up to the present day, as well as where we see it progressing and fitting into the timeline of Rapture: The End of Days. Dislike or no, this tech is fundamental to advances we’ve made in many facets of production and manufacturing in real life, and it is only going to increase. Given that this adventure occurs over 600 years in the future, I think that it’s quite possible that advancements to that point, even with the 200 years of ‘The Great Gap’ in there, is plenty of time for it to mature into what is presented. Well that’s our opinion, anyway. The other addition I made to the product, based on your comments, was to tie the secret history into the adventure officially. Now there is an audio clue and transcript that can be used by the GM (at the appropriate juncture) to tie it in. I hope that the players will want to read the full secret history after the game’s conclusion, so they can fully understand the effort we put in to not only making the Rapture Universe a rich playing field for your games, but an internally constant one as well. Thanks again for your comments, and I hope this update improves your consideration of our products. We aim for Gaming Excellence, and if you speak, we listen. Best Regards, Ray Duell StoryWeaver Games
Rapture: Essentials. Printable Player's Guide
by Dustin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2011 09:45:50
I picked this up as a part of the Rapture Halloween bundle, and I'm very impressed with it. I read the Player's Guide before starting at the core rules because it's far less of an undertaking, and I must say that it has whet my appetite for the core book.

After reading through this I feel like I could pick up and play the game without issue. All the sections are laid out in a logical order and flow pretty easily into each other. I also liked that it includes a page reference to the core book for almost everything so that one can easily get more in depth with a topic if needed.

The book is a little light on art, but what there is does a pretty good job of evoking the sci-fi/horror genre. As a part of the bundle I'm very happy with my purchase, but I think the book is definitely worth the regular $5.20 price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapture: Essentials.  Printable Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-fi Soundscapes Set 3 - Demanding Demands!
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2011 09:34:40
Whilst tailored for use with StoryWeaver's adventure 'Transit to Perdition' I am sure devious minds behind the GM's screen will come up with ways to make use of these sound files whatever they happen to be running...

First up (and a good way to startle my daughter when she's used to me playing prog rock in my corner!) is a remarkably matter-of-face radio transmission from a space pirate. The sheer calm and businesslike approach is quite chilling... even if he does have a strong American accent.

Next, an excellent bit of tension-building sounds, a mix of perterbing chords and the sort of background noises you don't notice most of the time, but do when there's Someone Out There (and coming to get you!). Guaranteed to set player's teeth on edge and wind them up as you prepare to unleash... well, whatever you have planned for them. They'll be imagining all sorts of horrors well before they find out what's in store. And there's a good 5 minutes of it....

The third piece is an interesting instrumental, again just that little bit... not right. Perhaps the person the characters are talking to are not quite what they seem. Or there's something wrong. Or...

All evocative, with the middle track - 'The Tension is Killing Me' - quite outstanding. All good atmosphere builders. What's that? In space there's no atmosphere. Well, yeah, but your characters will be in pressure. At least, at the BEGINNING of the episode.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-fi Soundscapes Set 3 - Demanding Demands!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Dear Megan, Thanks so much for this review! I am glad you liked the music.I spent quite a lot of time on the "Killing Me" track. As for the American accent of the Pirate, I have to say "Thanks mate!" That is, in fact, my voice, and I am an Australian with a typical Ozy accent. So I am really chuffed that my mad gaming-voice-skills came through. Now if I could only do a Russian accent. Love and hugs (and zombies!) Joe
Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
by Patrick T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2011 21:05:23
Return to Perdition is a one-off adventure for 'Rapture: End of Days'. At 50 pages, plus a HUGE variety of quality supporting downloads including maps and audio clips, you will get more than you bargained for!
The adventure runs like the outline for a movie - not a script - but the background, plot, synopsis, actors, motivations, and a true sci-fi horror finale. It provides plenty of opportunity for GM customisation and for players to take it in multiple directions.
After playing the advanture through the one thing that struck me was 'hey, the horror did not go out the window once the big-bad-guy was releaved.' I hope everyone appreciates just how difficult a feat this is! It reminded me of the early Cthulhu material in lots of good ways, but with a really cool twisted setting that was just plain spooky from the opening.
The 'Tips for Terror' and play examples I think are essential for any setting that is vastly different from what you already know - and beleive me 'Rapture' is - and these do a good job of explaining the best style for running the adventure.
The actual writing style is informal, with lots of dark-humor in the sidebars which may/may-not be your preference? At the very least it makes for easy reading.
In truth there are a few layout errors but I only noticed them when I went looking for them, and overall it is a quality product.
The 'GMs secret background information' was interesting, but I got the feeling that I either had to be so familiar with it that it rolled of my tounge, or I should avoid mentioning it and stick to the core adventure. Some guidance on that would have been useful.
The character section deserved a few more details or more guidance, however, the 'summary tables' of characters are something that I think a lot of other games can pick up on, as they will make running the game a lot simpler for a GM.
All-in-all this is a very busy 'sandbox' and I'm sure a lot of the ideas and even characters (who survive ; ) would find a place in other Rapture settings. I would have liked to have seen a 'flowchart' summary of the options available in the game, to cut down in the cross-referencing the GM will have to do, but the options are certainly plenty and there for the taking.
Enjoy!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Hi Patrick T, Thank you for your clear, concise and well balanced review. We worked hard to make it a fun, creepy, scary experience, and keep the horror going after the big reveal. I’m glad you liked it. ‘Tips for Terror’ has been expanded in the recent update, now talking about ways to expediently keep track of characters, paperwork, and playing audio and sound effects to great effect. We’ve also done a bug hunt, tweaked and tickled everything, and added 2 pages worth of new material, to bring the core file up to exactly 50 pages (inc. cover). Now with all that material, you were quite right; it was rather had to find what you needed quickly, so I’ve gone in and created a GM’s cheat sheet. It has a flow chart for the adventure (as per your suggestion), as well as all the dice related rules that were scattered throughout the adventure, now all on the one page, and on the back is a ‘master threats table,’ with all the dice and necessary description detail for all the NPC’s you’ll want to keep track of during the game. I recommend printing it out on a double-sided page, and then scribbling all over it during play. Likewise, with the Crew Tracking Sheet either on a PC/tablet or printed out, you can keep track of all the characters easily and quickly, saving time, confusion and making your game of Transit to Perdition run as smooth as glass. All in all, thanks to yours’ and others’ comments, with this update - including minor changes gleaned from running the module multiple times at Cons - Transit to Perdition is now the Sci-Fi horror GM’s sweet, sweet, tasty treat! Do download the update and enjoy! Best Regards, Ray Duell StoryWeaver Games
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-Fi Soundscapes Set 1 - Void Souls
by Alex G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2011 19:41:09
This item came in the form of a zip file, holding the sound files along with a PDF describing each file. Basically, you play these instrumental MP3 tracks during a game for atmosphere. That's it.

I quite enjoyed the different moods each of these tracks conveyed. I actually ran them through my personal MP3 player before the game. They made the long wait for a bus quite an experience.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-Fi Soundscapes Set 1 - Void Souls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-Fi Soundscapes Set 1 - Void Souls
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 17:28:42
This music is certainly evocative of the emotions that it is meant to convey. Having said that, though, the number of tracks you get makes the music a bit limited in scope. You'd either need to use it exactly for certain situations, or imaginatively come up with some method of using it elsewhere.

I bought it when it was free, and I'm relatively happy with it as mood music, though I've not had a gaming situation yet where I've actively been able to use it. Hopefully in time, though, I'll be able to.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Rapture: The End of Days, Sci-Fi Soundscapes Set 1 - Void Souls
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2011 21:44:35
I initially gave this product a poor review because each track, which was supposed to loop, had a jarring "audible watermark" appended to the end. I blasted Storyweaver for what I thought was poor design on their part.

As it turns out, they were not aware that this was happening, and immediately set about correcting it. In addition, they sent me a personal apology once they had fixed the problem and asked me if I would re-review it, along a copy of their Rapture RPG.

I have to say, a personal apology goes a long way with me. It speaks of a desire to put out the best product possible, regardless of the demands of ego. I like that.

Because they went the extra mile to make sure I was a satisfied customer, I'm giving them 4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
StoryWeaver
StoryWeaver
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (37)
 Hottest Titles

High Space Core Rules (v1.0)

01.High Space Core Rules (v1.0)
02.High-Space Battlemaps: Firelight Scout Ship
03.Rapture: The End of Days. Theological Sci-Fi Horror Core Rules
04.High Space Starship Figure Flats
05.High-Space: Euphoria
06.High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
07.Rapture: Essentials. Printable Player's Guide
08.Gamers vs Hellfire: Emergency Fund Raiser
09.High-Space: Core System Maps
10.Blind Threat
11.Hael Core Rules
12.Destiny's Children: Near Death Experience #1 for Rapture: The End of Days
13.Transit to Perdition: Near Death Experience #2 for Rapture: The End of Days
14.High-Space Figure Set 2: Alpha Mercs
15.High-Space Figure Set 1: Starter Kit
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate