DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
by Wolf o. M. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2012 21:48:05
I already bought Pendragon 5.0 from this site and did not notice (or perhaps it wasn't available at the time) this new 5.1 version. I love the game so far however I must express my disappointment that this 5.1 version has no Table of Contents in the PDF. The 5.0 version has and it makes it very easy to flick through during game. I'm not too keen on going through and creating all the ToC links myself. Was this an oversight or will you release an updated PDF with a full set of links?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Great Pendragon Campaign
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2012 12:30:30
Perhaps the most ambitious and amazing adventure I have ever read. A must buy for anyone who is interested in GMing Pendragon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2012 23:02:14
King Arthur Pendragon has always held a special place in my gaming heart, despite the fact that I've not played it often. When I have, however, I am easily caught up in the sweeping grandeur that this game supports so well. It has a number of innovative elements that have stood the test of time, and are still concepts I have yet to see replicated elsewhere.

My review, however, is going to focus not on the game (which is fantastic, and every gamer should have a copy on their shelf; 'nuff said), but rather on the Print On Demand delivery of the product. This was one of the very early titles in the POD stable. When my copy arrived, I could not have been happier. The softcover has a fine, glossy finish and the quality of the printing is excellent. The binding is tight and has lasted the twelve months since purchase despite being carted about in my backpack and being read several times over. I honestly couldn't tell the difference between this and any other softcover RPG book on my shelf. A professional and quality job all round.

To me this is a perfect marriage of an excellent classic game, now in a print format that is equally as good. From this experience, I'll be gladly plugging holes in my collection with other DrivethruRPG Print On Demand titles

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: Edition 5.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Knights & Ladies
by Dominic A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2011 16:34:11
I was fortunate enough to pick up a fresh print copy of Knights and Ladies at Gencon this year, at the drive-thru booth.

I was immediately impressed by the quality of the softcover perfect-binding. The book lies flat quite easily, and the cover illustration is clean and pleasing. Overall, the book is well organized and easy to follow for its main purpose - character generation.

These rules allow you to develop almost any kind of character that occurred in the literature - including Zazamanc (Saracen), Danish, Spanish, Italian, even Hun and half-Faerie!

There are some new rule mechanics - a composite skill for some races - for example, Cymric characters get a single Spear Expertise skill which is applied to spear, Lance and Great Spear. One of my favourites is "Elan", which French characters can use to modify traits such as Lustful, Proud and Valourous.

This supplement makes thought out and subtle additions and extensions to the Pendragon system, which in my view, is the best RPG ever for representing its genre. For anyone playing Pendragon, especially the Great Pendragon Campaign, I heartily recommend this book.

Some may feel that the illustrations are sparse, and there is little fluff, but for me the balance is perfect. The illustrations are simple, artful and represent the period faithfully. The text is clear and concise, and manages to say everything necessary without being overblown or repetitive.

In short, I give this supplement 5 out of 5. Thanks, Greg.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Knights & Ladies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of Knights & Ladies
by George Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 07:57:04
Released in June 2011, the copyright date in this PDF of 2007 testifies how long I've waited for a "real" release for this book, one of four self-published supplements for Pendragon 5th Edition. The Advanced Character Generation book, replacing the system in the core rules which only covers characters generated in one county at the start of the campaign, The Book of Knights & Ladies (BoK&L) allows you to generate characters from any point of the campaign and from anywhere in Britain, as well as a healthy section on Continental characters.

The book itself is quite dry at point - tables abound, especially in the British knights section with many different awyts to randomly determine county, type of lord, father's class etc. There's plenty of background stuff buried in that (like the sidebar explaining how your lord could be an Admiral in a landlocked county) or the list of major events experienced characters may have participated in: as with all Pendragon books, the love of the writer for the subject matter shines through and you'll pick up lots of little tidbits but at heart it's a functional book for generating characters, for table use before all else.

Overall, it's a book I like a lot and has once again rekindled my love for Pendragon. timeframe issues on using some of the rules here, especially continental knights - you'll be a good year into the Great Pendragon Campaign before you could seriously play a Spanish or Italian night - but especially after reading Le Morte Darthur I'm glad that I can now generate characters in the style of the Saracen Sir Palomides or the French Sir Lancelot. I really like how different cultures are differentiated, not just by different starting skill levels but also by the unique skill each culture has. (So everyone else has a seperate skill for Singing and Playing (Instruments), whereas the Irish have a skilled called Music that does both - and advancing that one skill is easier than trying to keep two at the same level).

My complaints are comparatively petty. Some changes are made here to names and cultures that live in certain parts of the game world which might need a bit of work if you're already started the campaign - a previously Cymric region becomes Pict, for example, and a couple of name changes for foreign realms. The PDF was released totally unerrataed, and while the errata is free that aforementioned 2007 copyright date does make me wonder why the incorrect page reference at one point couldn't have been fixed. But this is all relatively trivial stuff.

Book of Knights & Ladies is one of the most expensive PDFs I've ever bought, at £12, but I picked it up pretty much the moment I saw it was available because I've so looked forward to it. The other self-published supplements may be interesting but I think this is the one that most felt "needed" and would strongly reccomend it for anyone wanting to run Pendragon. Other sources can provide you with more fluff - including supplements for previous editions of Pendragon - but this book gets a big thumbs up from me.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
by Dennis K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2010 09:56:13
Excellent rewrite. Well thought out. The RPG on the market.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2010 16:14:11
King Arthur Pendragon is a roleplaying game set in Arthurian Britain. The game's vision of Arthurian Britain influenced by literature from Dark Ages legend through to modern interpretations, but the literature of the high Middle Ages is most influential. The game system is built for this version of Arthurian Britain, with the players all playing knights. Perhaps because of this focus, the game system is as close to perfect for the setting and narrative style of the game as I have ever found in any roleplaying game.

The core of the game has been almost unchanged through its various editions - if you purchase Pendragon 1st Edition you'll see how little the core mechanics have changed throughout the editions. The key difference between 5th edition and 4th edition is that 5th edition is more strongly focussed on the players playing knights, and that 5th edition is strongly coupled with "The Great Pendragon Campaign", which the Gamesmaster can use to guide the player knights through the entire Arthurian legend, from Arthur's conception through to the Battle of Camlann. The feel of 5th edition is therefore a lot more true to the literature and game designer's original intention than 4th edition. If, however, your group wants to play magicians, then 4th edition may be a better purchase as it includes magic rules. Both books will be equally compatible with the various supplements - you'll just have to work harder with 4th edition to play "The Great Pendragon Campaign".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon Gamemaster Characters
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2009 11:21:21
A good selection of essential characters for the campaign, but I could have used more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon Gamemaster Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2009 04:32:41
This is one of the most outstanding roleplaying games I've ever played.

The details on the setting are plentiful, giving you a good feeling for 5th-6th century England. There are several maps on both county and country based scale with many places of interest.

The rules are extremely streamlined, and give strong control to the GM. The initial character creation process is involved (thirty minutes for first time PC.) In addition the game's dynastic gameplay where PC deaths are replaced with new members of their bloodline is very novel and having a small personal army creates adventures of scale in this military rich world.

Unlike many systems (but in the spirit of White Wolf) all the rules you need to play the game including monsters, NPCs and sample adventures are found in this core rulebook.

This is an excellent system, creating a whole new spin on Fantasy while revisiting knights in shining armor.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
by Indy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2008 18:02:37
An excellent game that elegantly captures the tone and feel of the Arthurian myths.

The 5th edition is designer Greg Stafford's masterpiece: the tone of the text is consistent throughout, and Stafford's deep grasp and love of the Arthurian cycle is evident in the many asides and flavour boxes scattered through the text. The game system also manages to model the complex notions of chivalry though a very 'indie' mechanic of Passions, which makes roleplaying in Pendragon a lot of fun because you're never sure if your character is always going to act in exactly the way you'd like him/her to.

The PDF quality is good, and is fully bookmarked. Highly recommended, especially at the current price of under $20. A bargain that will give you many hours of fun play. (Also be sure to get the Great Pendragon Campaign to go along with this text.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
by Indy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2008 17:23:57
A fantastically detailed and rich sourcebook for the Pendragon RPG: possibly the only sourcebook you'll ever need.

The campaign is served up year by year, with detailed rundowns of what happened during that year, what people were gossiping about, changes to technology, adventure hooks, and so forth. Even if you are not a player of Pendragon - gasp! - the GPC is a pretty good reference text to what happened in the Arthur myths. Full stats for the major NPCs are also downloadable from the publishers website.

Th production values are quite good too, with a consistent look and feel and - most importantly - tone throughout the text. The PDF is of excellent quality, with a full set of bookmarks.

Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Pendragon Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
by SAVOURET G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2008 15:49:31
La mise en page est curieuse, avec un décalage du texte, mais je pense que c'est pour permettre de faire des trous pour les pages. :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Pendragon: 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood and Lust
by Ian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2008 16:40:31
This is a 3rd edition supplement to Pendragon which at first glance appears to be the weakest and least valuable of the supplements but it's actually quite good.
It begins with a chapter on gamemastering tips by the Gregmeister himself, which still stand the test of time and an equally useful chapter on travel and encounters
The rest of the book comprises of several lengthy adventures like the Adventure of the Heart Blade and some very short ones which can be popped into any campaign.
The Adventure of The Heart Blade is unusual in that it's dominant theme and motivation is love. How often do you get that in D&D or any other dungeon crawler RPG's?
It shows how well designed Pendragon is as a gaming system, how it stands out from the crowd and how it can accomplish something like this.
The chapter on the Duke of Angleland contains geography for the Anglia region and information on the locations there which make good hooks for adventures.
The book ends with the usual character sheets and some introductory handouts for the adventures.
The scans have some marks in the darker note sections of the pages and in some areas of those parts the text is harder to read or is squashed together. Everything can be read though and it's a good scan otherwise.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Lust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Perilous Forest
by Ian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2008 07:38:10
Interesting but not very useful 3rd ed Pendragon supplement but may possibly be of some use for 5th ed players.
It contains numerous locations and scenarios in western Cumbria,along the King's Highway and Hadrian's Wall.
The things which stand out in it are a collection of short adventures along the King's Road and the adventures of the Perilous Forest and the Waste Lands.
Mildly useful but the quality of the scenarios make this one well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Perilous Forest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Mountains
by Ian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2008 07:13:56
Reasonably good 3rd ed supplement for Pendragon set in Cambria (Wales) that may be of interest to 5th ed owners.
Not much info on Cambrian culture or society here really but the book (as usual for a lot of Pendragon supplements) has a lot of great locations for adventure hooks as well as the city of Carlion-on-Usk.
Where this supplement really shines though is in the adventures of the Dolorous Wyrm and the Paulag Cat. There's also a really good, lengthy campaign players can participate in Arthur's war against the Cambrian tribes.
Not an essential buy but good value for money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Mountains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates