DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pegasus Magazine V (Dec-Jan 1982)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2013 15:58:14
Classic D&D materials. Good scan, timeless material to draw upon for gaming ideas. I love JG products, even though they are rough compared to modern day, or even 80's vintage AD&D products. Still valuable for the enterprising DM. The entire collection of Pegasus Magazines can be had, and for the price, they're a good deal, in my opinion. Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pegasus Magazine V (Dec-Jan 1982)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Treasure Maps I (1979)
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2013 12:59:33
I gave this 5/5 stars. Don't let the cover fool you, this is a very profesionally made product inside, and hard to believe it was produced so many decades ago. It is very easy to read and very playable.

It is a series of mini-dungeons (even though some of them are pretty large) and each one has the hook of a treasure map that leads players to the adventure. They can easily be thrown into any campaign, in fact they don't even state what character levels are recommended for them. Almost any characters can manage them, but low-level parties would have to make very careful decisions. I have run them all with my players over the years, and they loved them. These adventures have a sort of "authentic" feel to them that is hard to describe.

But remember that this was written for 1st edition D&D. If you play one of the more modern versions you will have to convert it, but that shouldn't be very difficult.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Treasure Maps I (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Temple Book I (1981)
by Luke J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2013 12:15:23
I needed some ideas for mapping out a temple in my 1E AD&D game, and this was perfect for my purposes. The tables of temple contents, curses, protections, inhabitants, wealth, etc. are all really excellent for inspiration, too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple Book I (1981)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Village Book II (1979)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2012 09:59:19
More of the same of what is found in Village Book I... This is a fantastic system-free product: just maps of villages, and some small towns, a few of which even have castles! These can be used for any fantasy game system, allowing the GM to get on with the important stuff, like fleshing out the adventure, without having to draw a map of the village, or town!

The scan is very good quality. Each page features a large hex, with smaller hexes inlaid, and the villages/towns drawn out in very good detail. The community sizes, and shapes, vary considerably. This is one of the many JG gems. Don't wait to download this jewel, if you think you might want it... Several years back, WotC had scans of nearly all of the 1st & 2nd Ed. AD&D modules, and boxed sets, available for purchase, and download -- I waited too long to pick up the ones I wanted, and now they are gone. Don't let these Judges Guild jewels slip away. Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Book II (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Village Book I (1978)
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2012 09:58:26
This is a fantastic system-free product: just maps of villages, and some small towns, a few of which even have castles! These can be used for any fantasy game system, allowing the GM to get on with the important stuff, like fleshing out the adventure, without having to draw a map of the village, or town!

The scan is very good quality. Each page features a large hex, with smaller hexes inlaid, and the villages/towns drawn out in very good detail. The community sizes, and shapes, vary considerably. This is one of the many JG gems. Don't wait to download this jewel, if you think you might want it... Several years back, WotC had scans of nearly all of the 1st & 2nd Ed. AD&D modules, and boxed sets, available for purchase, and download -- I waited too long to pick up the ones I wanted, and now they are gone. Don't let these Judges Guild jewels slip away. Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Village Book I (1978)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Island Book I
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2012 09:55:45
This is a fantastic, genre-free, system-free product: just maps of islands which can be used for any game system, allowing the GM to get on with the important stuff, like fleshing out the adventure, without having to draw a map of the island!

The scan is very good quality. Each page features a large hex, with smaller hexes inlaid, and the island(s) drawn out in very good detail. The island sizes, and shapes, vary considerably. This is one of the many JG gems. Don't wait to download this jewel, if you think you might want it... Several years back, WotC had scans of nearly all of the 1st & 2nd Ed. AD&D modules, and boxed sets, available for purchase, and download -- I waited too long to pick up the ones I wanted, and now they are gone. Don't let these Judges Guild jewels slip away. Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Island Book I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Book of Treasure Maps I (1979)
by Jon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2012 15:09:01
Good for those looking for that extra spark to keep your adventurers happy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Treasure Maps I (1979)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wilderlands: Imperial Town of Tell Qa
by Singh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 18:44:57
This is a good product. Since you have to print it yourself, I don't know that it's worth $9, but it's a good product.

First, it's not a town. It's a city. Towns are a certain size, in general, we'll call them smaller than city. This is a city-sized product. A small city, but a city to be sure. It's not just a size issue, it's also a density issue. The buildings in this city are in a town-configuration, apartments and multi-dwelling buildings prevail in regimented streets. This is a city. I'm only hammering on this because I was looking for a town but until I bought it and saw the map, I had no idea it was actually a small city.

On the bad side, this product uses the D&D city organization method in it's descriptions, not the original Judges Guild city organization method. It works, but it's not nearly as easy and intuitive to use as the original Judges Guild city organization worked.

Next, the maps. These are electronic products, they could have included full-sized city maps in both the GM and Player formats. Instead, they offer a city map that's in multiple pieces. If you print it out, you have half a city on one page, half on another. This also works. But it's inconvenient and visually unappealing. And taping pieces of paper together because a single city map can't be printed is just annoying because it wasn't necessary.

On the plus side....

It's a small city! You're getting much more than you thought when you buy the product. It's well thought out, there's lots of excellent descriptions throughout, and the map does show both location name and it's location in the description list (e.g. "Magistrate #59"). That helps a great deal, especially for the GM who can tell the Players what they see on the building signs as they walk past, without having to look up the description in the book by only seeing an uninformative building number. That helps the GM to give a lot more life to an urban environment without sacrificing speed as the Characters move from location A to location B.

Recommended. It could be better, but it's still pretty good.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands: Imperial Town of Tell Qa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Witches Court Marshes (1982)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/07/2012 15:20:42
An adventure and an new class. When I first got this years ago, but long after I had moved away from AD&D 2nd ed, I was not that impressed. Now looking back at it, it has a certain charm and it does better than my memory of it. The Witch class is a sub-class of Magic-User, but the experience for each level is much lower that I have seen for other witches. There are plenty of new spells and in true old-school fashion some classes and monsters are completely immune to the witch's power/spells.
In addition to all of this there is a marsh that is the home to many evil witches. I might need to update this one for my own uses. Given how JG used to write the adventures it can be converted to a lot of systems with ease.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witches Court Marshes (1982)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2012 13:51:05
I was looking forward to a nice overview of the continent of the Wilderlands.
What you get is a map with names of places that a 14 year old would come up with.
I'd rather have a copy without the names.
It's nowhere near the quality of the original wilderland maps.

It is nice as a starting reference map, but without detailed hi-res sections to go along with it, I don't see it getting a lot of game use.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
by kelly v. c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 18:36:52
the text and map are hard to read, some of the poorest quality scans of any old books i have ever seen.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
City State of the Invincible Overlord - Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Lost Man's Trail (2010)
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/22/2012 06:42:35
An old-school adventure from one of the founding fathers of the hobby, Bob Bledsaw. This module was his last written work, and was compiled after his passing in 2008.

A series of disappearances along an ill-rumored trail draws the adventurers to investigate. This has all of the elements of a classic old-school RPG module – fantastic line art, a rumor table, and a pressing mystery to solve. A set of hex maps at the end of the module allow you to place the adventure in the precise spot of the Winterlands where the author intended it. Includes the Judges Guild Universal Format, an aid to help convert the material to any RPG rule system of your preference.

This is not only a great module in the classic style, it's a tribute to a great author and pioneer of our hobby. RIP Mr. Bledsaw.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Man's Trail (2010)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wilderlands of High Fantasy (new)
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2012 18:50:29
I love the premise of fantasy roleplaying with a history of offworld interference and a sentient planet (or near on). Virtually anything goes and you can add or subtract technology/society levels depending on the type of game. There is enough detail that it can be used as is, or pick and mix for your own campaign.

I would have liked some colour or a key to the maps but that is my only gripe.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy (new)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2012 18:39:00
I liked this map as a good overview of the continent. I would have liked to see expanded maps showing finer details. This is a high price for a one page coloured map.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Player's Guide to the Wilderlands
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2012 18:33:15
This product seems to have improved since the previous reviews. I had no problems with the quality of the scanning. It is still missing any identification by a contents page or index.

For those using the game as it is, then this book would be handy for the clarification of the new classes and races. I'm just using the world maps so it wasn't so useful for me.

I marked it down due to its relevance for me. Still a good resource for the Wilderlands game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Guide to the Wilderlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 142 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates