DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Armor Grid: Mega-Pack! [BUNDLE]
by Aaron P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 19:03:07
Best papercraft project I've done. Models are well thought out and easy to make. Also a very streamlined and creative rules system. The Armor Grid concept works really well and makes this game stand out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mega-Pack! [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Air Brigade - Battle Colors
by John B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2013 09:15:47
Beautiful minis! No updated rules for the VTOLs, though. I suppose those will be incorporated into the next core Mech Attack rulebook? Preliminary rules can be found on their website for the time being.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Air Brigade - Battle Colors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Air Brigade - Battle Colors
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2013 17:53:08
Well, it looks like Christmas came early this year!

I was excited to hear about this set, being a HUGE fan of the Armor Grid Game, but to actually have it on my drive makes me down-right giddy!

Armor Grid finds a way to create fantastic models with a simple, easy to build technique. What's more, they do it in 8 colors (including a blank so you can color it yourself to match other gaming schemes).

I am very excited about this product, and can't wait to start printing these out, and putting them on the battlefield.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Motor Pool - Battle Colors
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2013 10:21:50
This set was a long time coming. I am happy to announce that it was worth the wait!

These customizable vehicles are BRILLIANT! They are easy to put together and deliver an outstanding model. I am not a big 15mm gamer (Armor Grid games are the only ones I play at this scale), but I would love to see these released in a 30mm scale.

You get a lot of body styles to choose from and each come in a dozen color choices. There are various weapons to choose from as well, so you can REALLY make the models however you choose.

Great design. Fantastic concept. Endless (or nearly so) possibilities. If this set doesn't have the ground vehicle you need, then you don't need it!

Now, we will await your helicopters and other aircraft. :D

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Motor Pool - Battle Colors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2013 22:19:51
My group was feeling nostalgic for Battletech (BT) so I downloaded the Quick-Start rules, but promptly remembered why we quit playing. Should get college math credit for playing that game, and now that I think about it a 4 player game with only 1 mech each normally took hours. I would really like to field some larger forces but who has the time?

Determined to do some mech bashing somehow so I bought some clicky Mechwarrior (MW) minis. They have gotten pretty cheap, I am impressed with quality and love that they are pre-painted.

Read through the MW rules. Best part of BT was designing our own mechs and seeing how well they did, which is missing from MW. Clicky MW also does not have the same feel as BT combat. I want to blow my opponents arm off, rip open his armor, cripple his leg, not do 2 clicks of damage. MW looks OK but was not what we wanted so I kept looking. Saw some MW players talking about Mech Attack. Heck, for $5 why not give it a try?

Played our first game tonight. Two players, each had 1 heavy mech, 1 vehicle and 2 infantry, 36 points per side. Last man standing. Used an upside down cup, some CD cases and a deck of cards for terrain. Used plastic MW minis so won't comment on print and play minis. Entire game was just over an hour.

Each turn players roll initiative. I like it for a 2 player game. Love it for 3 or more.

We really enjoyed the Armor Grid system. It had the same feel as Battletech, "Oh no! You blew away my right side armor!" or "Ha ha! Shot your arm off!" with less fuss to get there. It also added an additional element of strategy as I had to choose which weapon to use, and in what order to use them. Do I use a missile and clear away layers of armor, or a laser and punch a deep hole?

Infantry was surprisingly dangerous, but not surprising, very fragile. Am curious to see how they get used in future games. Spend the points on them, or just add the points to the mechs and vehicles? They need some bunkers and foxholes maybe?

I liked the balance of skill and luck. To much luck in a game and I figure I might as well leave my phone there to play, it can generate random numbers as well as I do. No luck and it turns into chess, challenging but with few, "Wow, did you see that?!" moments. There were a number of, "Wow!" moments in our game (like my heavy mech getting finished off by an infantry squad) but I never felt I was not helping to shape the outcome by my decisions.

Looking for areas of improvement I would say the game feels like a work in progress. Rulebook could be a little more clear and go into more detail to cover more circumstances. While I do not want it to get bogged down with rules I would like to see additional options. I have an attack helicopter figure I want to do something with and in the middle of the first game we started talking about the possible ways to handle artillery.

At the moment all we have is a rules set. No pre-built units with cool names and custom artwork, (Cauldron-Born, Mad-Cat, etc) and no back story reasons behind the conflict. I am going to be checking out the BT scenario books for possible use by my group.

While it may just be a foundation at the movement, it is a sturdy one that they could build something great on top of. I look forward to many more hours of glorious battle with my tiny giant battle mechs. If you have not purchased you copy yet, what are you waiting for?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Terrain Pack
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2012 16:49:21
The terrain pack includes a variety of terrain to use with Armor Grid: Mech Attack or other 15mm strategy games. There are nice modular hills, forest areas and buildings that include a clever destroyed version within themselves. A really good value for all the goods included, with good texturing and detail.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Terrain Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Infanty Units, Mech Attack 15mm Miniatures
by TC g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2012 14:43:56
you simply cant go wrong with those cutouts. they can be valid in many game too.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infanty Units, Mech Attack 15mm Miniatures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mech Attack Accessory Pack
by TC g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2012 14:36:47
you can use those tokens for several game systems, like heavy gear and battletech

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mech Attack Accessory Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Infanty Units, Mech Attack 15mm Miniatures
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2012 02:48:42
I picked these up on a whim as they were free!

Pro:
Free - always good
Attractive - The art is nice, and they've been shaded
Variety - three different designs, in three alternative colours (plus uncoloured), with two different terrain bases
Upgradeable - If you play Mech Attack these stands can be upgraded with heavy/special weapons (but see cons)

Con:
Basic - as a sampler, you don't get the heavy/special weapons upgrades with this pack
Samey - the three different troops types are very similar, and even with the different cover terrain, its hard to tell them apart at a glance
Limited - The figures face all four directions, and come on a hex base, which means you will need to do some work if you want to use them for other games than Mech Attack.

Overall though, a great product. I'd recommend taking a look even if you don't think you'll use them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infanty Units, Mech Attack 15mm Miniatures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Mech Factory - Battle Colors
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2012 14:51:02
A nice expansion or replacement for the mechs in the original game set. Several way to put together components to make the mechs more diverse and interesting. Good selection of colors, but no uncolored pages for custom coloring effects.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Factory - Battle Colors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Mega-Pack! [BUNDLE]
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2011 16:29:30
A good value!
The armor grid game is fast and fun and was rather easy to learn.

The added value of the terrain and camo repaints are really very good. There is enough to the terrain pack to add a lot of dimension to your games and make them about more than just walk up and slug it out.

The free products are very good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mega-Pack! [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2011 16:20:49
I was holding off on writing a review till I actually played the game. Well, now I have, and it was a lot of fun.

Instead of doing anything particularly sensible, we just took large mechs and packed them with destruction. His had one of each large weapon, so Heavy Missile, Heavy Cannon, Twin Linked HMG and TwinLinked Heavy Laser. Mine had all but the missile, swapped out for another cannon (because that is what I could find in the bag of weapons.) As with most battles with my nine year old son, there was no tactics. We just walked up and shot it out. In the end I had four columns of armor gone and he had one gone. I just happened to roll a mech destroyed crit first.

The rules are simple and easy to understand. The layout is logical and quick to grok. The font is not my favorite, but that really is my only gripe about the book.

The miniatures are really neat, whether your looking at the troops, vehicles or mechs, and they go together pretty well. The only problems I had were due to my own arthritic hands. Getting into the game only took me so long because I set myself too large a task of getting all of two armies done.

This game is very much what you are looking for if you want a fun alternative to a much more rules heavy giant stompy robot game.


Mike Heywood =_ Chugosh on the various forums.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Attack!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hex Grid: Print Bases- Sandy Desert
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 16:14:27
This is a must-have for your Mechs (if you are playing in a lot of desert terrains, like I do).

There are many types of terrains available for download, and each has a LOT of options in base sizes and shapes.

A great collection for great miniatures for an AWESOME gaming system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Grid: Print Bases- Sandy Desert
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Mech Factory - Battle Colors
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 15:59:20
Just when you think you have built every type of Mech there is, the doors to the Mech Factory fly open revealing options and Mech components that have never been concieved until now.

If you are a Mech Attack fan, or any other similar game, you HAVE to get this set!

$5.00 for an unlimited set of figures and configurations... you can't beat THAT!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Mech Factory - Battle Colors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Armor Grid: Terrain Pack
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2011 15:39:38
Everything you need to build to battle your Mechs in... trees, buildings, hills, you name it. Whether you are fighting in a field, forest, or city... everything you need in one convienent package!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armor Grid: Terrain Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates