DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ground set #10 - Desert roads, ruins
by Thomas L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2012 17:51:17
I was looking for desert terrain for a stop motion animation project I'm set-building.

I'm using paper craft structures and using model train landscaping will cause a clash on scenery...until...

Wait for it...

This! You can scale it up or down and it will retain high image quality...it looks real...and above all else...it's cheap!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ground set #10 - Desert roads, ruins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - Crystal Cave
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2012 12:11:53
Decades ago graph paper and imagination were all you needed to get a game together. But as technology got better and immersion moved to the forefront of tabletop RPGs, battlemaps have become a near necessity at a good DM’s table. With cheap projectors and color printers, there’s no reason Dungeon Masters should be rolling out archaic graphic paper. Especially when Lord Zsezse Works is cranking out phenomenally colorful and detailed masterpieces for your PCs to battle in.

The level of detail and cartography in every map puts your players in the world. Their battlemaps are realistic, using rich and multilayered colors in every square. Also, Within every product, the designers go the extra mile of including several versions of the map. They have an online version, perfect for online games or projection based battlemaps, and a version that’s a little more print friendly. Both of these maps are provided with grid and without grids.

Battlemap: Crystal Cave is my favorite dungeon produced by the artists. It is one of the few maps that has depth, in that their are layers on top of layer. I expect cave maps to be fairly boring and mundane, but not here. There is so many rich features (chains attached to layers of the cave, snakes wrapping around the various caverns) that DMs can become inspired for new encounters just by thinking of the possibilities of each area. The great thing about this one is, that is also comes in isometric format. This comes out fairly amazing on a projector or computer screen.

For the Dungeon Master
II ran this map last month, purposely creating a spot in the adventure just so I can use it. My players couldn't even believe that I added this as an add-on to the adventure. The various layers of the adventure provided them a vast array of decisions they could use to explore the cavern.

The Iron Word
Battlemap: Crystal Cave is fantastical. It is a cave that can only exist in a magical world and perfect for the final dungeon of a magical adversary of the PCs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Crystal Cave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - Pirate & Ghost Ship
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2012 12:02:19
Decades ago graph paper and imagination were all you needed to get a game together. But as technology got better and immersion moved to the forefront of tabletop RPGs, battlemaps have become a near necessity at a good DM’s table. With cheap projectors and color printers, there’s no reason Dungeon Masters should be rolling out archaic graphic paper. Especially when Lord Zsezse Works is cranking out phenomenally colorful and detailed masterpieces for your PCs to battle in.

The level of detail and cartography in every map puts your players in the world. Their battlemaps are realistic, using rich and multilayered colors in every square. Also, Within every product, the designers go the extra mile of including several versions of the map. They have an online version, perfect for online games or projection based battlemaps, and a version that’s a little more print friendly. Both of these maps are provided with grid and without grids.
Battlemap: Pirate & Ghost Ship is a double dose of mapping fun. It includes two versions of a debilitated, one of a ghost ship and one of a pirate ship. Each ship is made up of 3 decks, each deck well detailed from the cannons to the beds. The dreary conditions on both maps push an atmosphere of despair perfect for a sea campaign. IN addition to the two different maps, they also include the maps with and without water.

For the Dungeon Master
I use these maps for sea adventures. Multiple decks are a great touch and just are not found in a lot of ship maps for some reason. The level of detail goes a long way into allowing you to create realistic boarding encounters.

The Iron Word
Battlemap: Pirate & Ghost Ship is a large scale series of ship battlemaps perfect for sea combat. With the ability to print, project or beam it to your players laptops or tablets, there is no reason to not have Lord Zsezse Works artwork in on your hard drive and ready to go for the right occasion.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - Pirate & Ghost Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - The Sussurus Tomb
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/22/2012 22:47:05
In this addition to “Zsezse’s World” of 1” scale RPG battlemaps, you get a small catacomb (dungeon) interior and the above-ground entrance to it. The maps are nicely conceived and beautifully illustrated, as is normally the case with LZW products. I don’t think this product has a lot of replay value; you’re likely to use it once per campaign at most. Still, it’s a good buy!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - The Sussurus Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - The Sussurus Tomb
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2012 14:17:55
Once again I am blown away by the quality of Lord ZseZse Works.

Their Battlemaps are thee best on the market!!

I use a projector to project the Battlemaps onto my computer game table pictured here:

http://browse.deviantart.com/?q=game table&order=9&offset=24#/d3l82e7


I highly reccomend these maps!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Desert ruin
by Randy F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2012 18:06:19
This model was easy to build and made a great abandoned tower for my D&D game. I left the top unglued and store it upside down in the tower. BTW, I also made cutfiles for this model that you can pick up over at http://cardboard-warriors.proboards.com.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Desert ruin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - In the Bowels of the Mountain
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2012 12:05:22
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/04/11/tabletop-review-battlem-
ap-bowels-of-the-mountain/

This map set from Lord Zsezse Works is a layered map of a mountain in more ways than one. The PDFs have a grid layer that can be turned on and off and the map itself is broken into three parts: a base layer, an optional underground lake, and the mountaintop. The base map is 2′ square and the mountain top covers probably 75% of the map below it.

The download also includes 200 DPI .JPG files of these layers with and without maps that is good for use with virtual table-top programs. I’m always appreciative when a publisher takes the extra step in making their work available in multiple formats.

The only issues I had with this download was that I thought there was a little confusion with the instructions for assembling the map parts. Usually when I put something like this together I would glue the map tiles down to foam core and then laminate them. I couldn’t understand how the cave lake would fit seamlessly into this three-tiered map set. The answer is simple enough….it doesn’t. Because of this confusion on my part I decided to print the tiles up at home, cut them out, and do a dry fit before deciding if I was going to go ahead and finish them up.


There is nothing wrong with the map set with the exception that it appears to be made of of three levels and the instructions don’t do much to point out that the lake doesn’t really form another layer, it can just be laid over the cave base to turn the large cavern into a lake instead. My confusion was me trying to reconcile this disparity which I couldn’t see outright. If you like to mount your maps on foam core like I do, I would only mount the base cavern layer and the upper mountaintop layer. The lake I would just glue together on a thin piece of cardstock or use the lamination to merge the halves.

I wish that there was just a little bit more to the map. While the map does a great job of showing the inside of the mountain, it is a bit lacking when it comes to the cave/mine entrance. To get the entrance you really need to spend another $5 to get the Lumberman’s House battlemap.

Overall, a good map and something I do plan on using in my campaign.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - In the Bowels of the Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - The Sussurus Tomb
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2012 18:27:56
In Zseze's World The Sussurus Tomb Battlemap the quality of the computer art is arrestingly beautiful. Make sure you print onto something glossy which does these tiles justice! The sections in the PDFs have wide margins which is always a good thing if you don't want to fiddle too much with print settings. Extra poster size jpgs will be ideal for use in computer programs, tablets, and for your own modifications.
Slick professional, eye-bleedingly good!
-Billiam B.
bit.ly/rpgblog

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - The Sussurus Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T-Builder - Undead haunt
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 01:00:41
The T-Builder line uses PDF layers and form controls to let you lay various bits on top of a basic background. It’s a little bit like using Dundjinni, only much more constrained. The Undead Haunt pack lets you place various kinds of flooring, furnishings, blood splatters, and so on over a basic ground texture that looks like gray dirt with a light covering of gray grass. You can also fill in the whole area with a decorated tile floor, but you’ll have to click 36 or 72 times to make it happen; there really ought to be an option to lay down all of these things at once. The system is not difficult to use once you get the hang of it, but it’s slow and cumbersome even for a skilled user. The results are serviceable, but not nearly as nice as those produced by an artist creating a specific tile. Still, the ability to customize is welcome, and it’s kind of fun to play with. The instructions try to help users master the T-Builder system, but the English composition/translation is occasionally very poor. You can’t save your work; this is not the publisher’s fault (and the publisher warns about this in the instructions, even highlighting the statement in red), but it does highlight the inherent limitations of publishing such a tool as a PDF. (Yes, this review is basically the same as for all the other T-Builder packs, because they’re pretty much all the same except for the artwork.)

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Undead haunt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T-Builder - Mansion
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 00:22:05
The T-Builder line uses PDF layers and form controls to let you lay various bits on top of a basic background. It’s a little bit like using Dundjinni, only much more constrained. The Mansion pack lets you place various kinds of furniture on one of three floor styles (two wood, one stone). There is no shortcut—or at least I could not find one—for filling the entire area with your chosen floor, so it takes 108 clicks (3 per square x 36 squares) to fill in the entire tile with a light brown floor. The system is not difficult to use once you get the hang of it, but it’s slow and cumbersome even for a skilled user. The results are serviceable, but not nearly as nice as those produced by an artist creating a specific tile. Still, the ability to customize is welcome, and it’s kind of fun to play with. The instructions try to help users master the T-Builder system, but the English composition/translation is occasionally very poor. You can’t save your work; this is not the publisher’s fault (and the publisher warns about this in the instructions, even highlighting the statement in red), but it does highlight the inherent limitations of publishing such a tool as a PDF.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T-Builder - Fireworld
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2012 18:46:20
The T-Builder line uses PDF layers and form controls to let you lay various bits on top of a basic background. The Fireworld pack lets you place molten lava, rocks, adventuring gear, and other features on a ground layer resembling cooled lava. The system is not difficult to use once you get the hang of it, but it’s slow and cumbersome even for a skilled user. The results are serviceable, but not nearly as nice as those produced by an artist creating a specific tile. Still, the ability to customize is welcome, and it’s kind of fun to play with. The instructions try to help users master the T-Builder system, but the English composition/translation is occasionally very poor. You can’t save your work; this is not the publisher’s fault (and the publisher warns about this in the instructions, even highlighting the statement in red), but it does highlight the inherent limitations of publishing such a tool as a PDF. As a bonus, the publisher has included standees of a few elemental figures, but why is the crystalline/water elemental wearing boxing gloves?

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Fireworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T-Builder - Desert
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2012 18:37:01
The T-Builder line uses PDF layers and form controls to let you lay various bits on top of a basic background. The desert pack lets you place three different types of walls, two different types of pits, and several varieties of doors, pillars, plants, chests, and such on a sandy base layer. The system is not difficult to use once you get the hang of it, but it’s slow and cumbersome even for a skilled user. The results are serviceable, but not nearly as nice as those produced by an artist creating a specific tile. Still, the ability to customize is welcome. The instructions try to help users master the T-Builder system, but the English composition/translation is occasionally very poor (“If you want to rebuild a lower layer, turns off they what there are higher” and the like). You can’t save your work; this is not the publisher’s fault (and the publisher warns about this in the instructions, even highlighting the statement in red), but it does highlight the inherent limitations of publishing such a tool as a PDF.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T-Builder - Desert
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ruined House #1
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/03/2012 07:02:47
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/04/03/tabletop-review-paper-m-
odel-ruined-house-1/

Some GMs prefer a minimalist approach to running a game, just PC sheets and dice. Others prefer simple maps and miniatures, while others like to use a whole array of props and game aids to augment their game. This PDF release from Lord Zsezse Works aims to appeal to the latter group of GMs who want to be able to produce a variety of ruined houses for their gaming table.

This download consists of two PDFs and a small .TXT file. Right away I was impressed by this download for the simple fact that the text file was little note thanking me for the purchase and a couple of email addresses for any suggestions to their product. One PDF was the instructions for the paper model, and the larger PDF, the bulk of the download, was the model. The ruined house has a slew of printing options. There were different bases, roofs, windows, and doors to give the GM a large multitude of different ruined houses.

I went with the basic, “default” options, and I assembled the model according to the instructions. It cost me $5 to get the parts professionally printed and I was appreciative that the producer packed the houses’ parts as close together as possible to reduce the number of pages. This made it a bit more difficult to cut the parts out of the cardstock, but it was a minor inconvenience that was quickly forgotten.

Assembling the model wasn’t terribly difficult, taking a couple of hours, but there were a few “fiddly” parts. As I started to put it together, my initial thoughts regarding the condensed printing changed. I didn’t like that the fold lines were so prominently printed on the model, while at the same time a couple of outlines, most notably on the roof for the chimney stack and on the wall for another chimney portion, were absent. Six of the model’s parts were glued on to other pieces of the model. I think that the model could have been designed such that either double sided printing could have been an option or entire pages could be glued together prior to cutting out the pieces. Some of the “fiddly” issues with this model included trying to get parts to line up just right. Even when lined up, there was a fair amount of white cardboard showing through. This could have been reduced by suggesting some edging with a marker or by filling in the edges of the uncolored glue areas.

My finished model was simply “ok”. I’m not a highly experienced at assembling paper models by any stretch of the imagination, but I do have several other models under my belt. Some of the issues with this model are just some complexity issues due to the fact the house is ruined, and some are just by design. The rafters glued onto the second story have to be precisely placed because they pressure-fit the halves together.

Overall the model has a lot of potential, especially when considering all of the printing options. This is one of those models where the second time you put one together you can make a few tweaks to the instructions to compensate for problems…. or lack of experience.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ruined House #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Battlemap - In the Bowels of the Mountain
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2012 08:12:50
This is pdf includes 4 mountain and cave-themed, full color, maps. And the greatest thing ever- the beautiful maps come in both grid and no-grid versions! (Thanks!)

The 4 full-sized color maps included are JPEGS and can be printed out full-sized, if thats your thing. Two of the full-sized maps are massive 24"x24" cave interiors; another is an 11"x12" cave lake detail; and lastly a 24"x24" mountain detail.

Also included are 3 pdf's, which divide the above maps into 8.5"x11" sectors, for at-home printing. Once again, it must be stressed that these full-color map sections can be printed with or without the grid (YAY!).

A very nice product, reflecting the quality that Lord Zsezse Works puts into their pdf's. Highly recommended!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - In the Bowels of the Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ground Set #4
by Paul G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2012 16:31:03
Excellent value for a good straightforward set with some nice bright artwork

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ground Set #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 158 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates