DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Bikers' Bar
by Benjamin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2014 20:29:00
My download did not contain depicted product, instead containing a blank white page with the following written on it:
Wkuhh#I r xuwhhq#Jdphv
Zffb522fZdWXagdfW`YS_ We*T^aYebaf*Ua_
ELNHUV* #EDU
EDU
P hdvxuhv=
Edu=
47{; #p wv1#+781

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Bikers' Bar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hey Benjamin, so sorry to hear! I guess you either got an incomplete download or tried to use a non-compatible viewer. Please contact us directly and we will mail you the file. 314>
Autopsy
by Heath W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2012 09:12:19
What a great product. Very comprehensive and I've even used it in a Noir fantasy setting. It shines in modern though. Incredibly comprehensive, you can use as much or as little as you like to give clues to your players. I was amazed by how much material there was (and human physiology is my RL profession). The format is gritty and typewriter style so feels 80s but appropriate for current gritty horror.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Autopsy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Awakened
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/17/2012 11:48:24
A loss-of-memory scenario, presented without any system rules, and using descriptive terms to make it easy to adapt to whatever RPG system you prefer.

The PCs awake the morning after fulfilling a promise to a stranger, but can't recall the events of the previous night, or how they ended up where they are. The story influenced by personal mystery films such as Memento and Identity, and would be an excellent evening's RPG session with the right sort of players.

The entire doc has a very professional look to it, and the handouts are excellent (though not of much use to anyone without a color printer). The appendix includes tips for running the scenario in the 1920s/30s, and making it fit in the Call of Cthulhu mythos.

It's a very well-produced package, and I will definitely look into other releases by this publisher, based on the quality of this one.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Awakened
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Awakened
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/14/2010 20:29:48
This is an interesting little adventure if you are looking for a straightforward investigation game. It's written to be system neutral and has hints for translating it to multiple RPGs. Overall, it's a fun premise, but doesn't quite have the supernatural implications that I imagined. I expected much more of a twist at the end. However, if you go into it looking for a real world mystery where your players are seeking the truth behind their incomprehensible actions the night before, you'll be happy. I'm considering using the cold open as the start of a one shot where it does go crazy supernatural though. The clues and locations will still be applicable. It's just a matter of modifying the ending and filling in the gaps.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Country House
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2010 13:02:08
This is another weird one from 314 Games. It purports to depict a "typical" country house from the period 1850 to the present. However it looks like no country house I've ever seen or heard of. It has bedrooms for 18, but their arrangement is odd, with some sleeping in the cellar and a very few on the first floor (with more floor space to each bedroom than some HOUSES have) and the rest up on the second floor. Note that they chose to use European floor numbering, so the ground floor is the one on the ground. The cellar, if one ignores the bedrooms (which can sleep eight) is laid out like an RPG'ers' dream with a large conference table in a room surrounded by chairs and another large table in large open area. The ground floor is mostly functional, though again, overly spacious, including, oddly enough, what appears to be a ballroom, and the first floor is similarly odd, including an enormous bathroom that contains two stand-alone tubs and a couple of sinks (no idea how the plumbing connects on this thing!) in what appears to be about half an acre of space (you could literally put 20 tubs in the space and rent the floor out as a bath-house) and what appears to be another ballroom! Guess this family loved to dance -- and with 18 people had plenty of partners! Maybe that explains the "bath" room; all that dancing will sure work up a sweat. This one is a good deal more useful than some of the other floor plans 314 has produced, and manages to avoid some of the glaring anachronisms in other products as well, but at well over 13,000 square feet, it seems more like some rich eccentric's country MANSION than it does a house, and frankly, even the huge mansions of yesteryear were more divided up into usable spaces than this thing is. Not a great effort, though, at 67 cents I don't feel like I got ripped off.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Country House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Motel
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2010 12:45:13
314 brings us a fairly simple motel layout -- a classic cheap dive sort at that. Its billed as suitable for any time period from 1918 to the 1960's or '70's, however given the TVs and the modern looking washing machines and dryers in the laundry room, I'd say their intent was more 1950's to '70's. Obviously you can disregard them, but the lack of use of the layering capabilities for Adobe means you can't really delete them, and no blank layouts are provided. Another problem is the truly weird choice of perspective for the first page, and while rotating the view in Adobe fixes that one, it screws up all the other perspective shots in the booklet. At four pages, and given the problems with the layout, even at 67 cents this one was kind of a waste of money.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Motel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Boarding House at Arkham Street
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/11/2010 01:10:20
SPOILERS - This beautiful 32-page adventure focuses less on traditional investigation than roleplaying the theatrical mood of a mythos story. Even if your players aren't up for that sort of scenario, the adventure can be easily adapted into a boarding house "home base" where your players eat and sleep while conducting another adventure. For this reason itself, I highly recommend it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Boarding House at Arkham Street
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Plans from the XXth century
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2010 19:42:56
This is a good solid product as a gamer's/GM's aide. The floor plans are a little strange to my south-western eyes, but I suppose they might make sense in the context of a major city where space is at a premium like New York or Chicago.

Floor plans are provided in a top-down "bird's eye" view as well as an orthogonal projection (sort of 3D-ish) to provide some perspective on heights of objects and so on. Scales are not provided, but are internally consistent, so you can easily determine what's human sized and so on. There is some scaling info (total size of the building or whatever), so again, it's not impossible to figure out.

Most of the floor plans have at least one, and several have multiple, plot hooks provided with them -- an excellent addition to this particular floor plan set. Additionally, there are blank square grid and hexagonal grid sheets included in the back of the .pdf.

The reproduction by DriveThru met their usual impeccable standards. I rate this one a "4," if for no other reason than because it is merely a play-aid and not a fleshed-out product per se. Still, if you need some stock locations in a hurry, this one works pretty well.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Plans from the XXth century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Plans from the XXth century
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2010 00:20:25
This evocative product puts a new twist on the usual map set product. The floorplans shown here are rendered in 3D perspective, in a direct top-down view and a quasi-elevation view. Dimensions are indicated, but there are no grids superimposed on the maps. The maps are useful as illustrations, not as battlemaps. Many pages include story ideas or adventure hooks appropriate to the locations depicted. The typography could have been more better, but the illustrations, design, and layout are very attractive. They're not always realistic, though; in many, if not most cases, the walls seem a bit too thin to accommodate studs, insulation, wiring, piping, and so on. As long as you don't expect gridded/tactical maps, miniatures-scale maps, or architectural perfection, you can use these maps to add a level of visualization to your modern-era RPG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Boarding House at Arkham Street
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2010 00:57:48
I generally don't run pre-made scenarios, but after reading this (and considering running a Call of Cthulhu game) I'm planning on running this adventure. It's creepy and allows the players to have the latitude to truly explore the adventure with little railroading.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Boarding House at Arkham Street
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Plans from the XXth century
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2010 18:25:26
A good-looking format that should give a very clear idea of the layout of each place if printed at a decent size. Includes one or more interesting and useful adventure hooks / random events for most entries.

A couple of the images are blurred. Usage of space in some designs might raise doubts from knowledgeable players.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Plans from the XXth century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Boarding House at Arkham Street
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2010 22:33:35
This is a creepy little scenario, written for (though it certainly doesn't require) a casual sort of pace over several sessions, with a copy of one of this publisher's maps as another reviewer mentioned. Although officially systemless, the suggested rules are most compatible with BRP (classic CoC). I don't know if I would go with the Alien reference, myself, but as the text makes clear, it's easily interchanged with something different.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Boarding House at Arkham Street
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Boarding House at Arkham Street
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2010 17:25:36
I picked this one up to use with Call of Cthulhu. Basically it appears to take a floor plan devised by the same company as a generic game aid, and then build a generic "horror" scenario around it.

The scenario is a one-shot and is well devised, with interesting characters and even pregenerated Player characters to help out if you just want to run a quickie adventure. It's set in the mid-20's in New England (probably Boston -- though you could put it anywhere you like). The characters are provided via general description and easy enough to flesh out with the exact skills you wish to use from your particular game rules (remember, this is a GENERIC scenario). The mystery is intriguing, the NPCs are provided with plenty of detail to aid in GM roleplaying, and there are several red herrings you can use to distract or annoy your players or even as the seeds of additional adventure. The "bad guy" provides the players with a real dilemma and could easily escape and turn up again sometime. In fact, this whole scenario could serve as a "red herring" itself and be set within some other adventure your characters are having, leading in turn to yet other adventures. In short, I think it is extremely well done and very flexible in its possible uses. The scenario itself is somewhat linear and the timeline drives the action -- which is pretty common it seems, though a clever GM can tinker with it and give it a more flexible format fairly easily if he wants to take the time and effort.

The production quality is generally excellent, though some additional player handouts would have been nice. The document is marred by mis-spellings, improper adjective use ("his" when they really mean "hers") and incorrect grammar, especially in the latter half of the document, so I'd rate the actual production quality as low in that regard. However the pdf is the usual high quality we expect from DriveThru and is very crisp and legible. I'm rating this one a "five," despite it's flaws in terms of production/editorial attention to detail, but the price (currently FREE) makes it well worth taking the time to download! If it becomes a charged item, then I'd rate it a four overall due to the production/editorial issues.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates