DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eclipse Phase: Interference
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 00:58:05
I'm a very solid fan of Eclipse Phase and have enjoyed all the storytelling in these books immensely. This is the first time I've purchased one of the stories separately - I'll pick up the Transhuman book shortly. Still, at .99 I couldn't resist a good story before I hit the sack.

This is the kind of storytelling that takes Eclipse Phase from simply innovative sci-fi to sci-fi HORROR. Here we find the psychological twist and paradigm-shattering ideas that stem from things like consciousness-transfer as software and the immortality of 'sleevable' minds and bodies.

In fact, 'Interference' is exactly what Eclipse Phase is all about. If you're curious about what a character can do in the world of this game, and what potentially can happen, this story is a fine first read.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Interference
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 18:51:31
This book is possibly the most useful one to come out in the line since the initial rulebook. It contains new options for character creation, new backgrounds (including options for AGI and Uplifts that differ from the standard), new factions, new morphs, and most importantly tables containing the book and page number for every morph, every background, every option that has appeared in any of the earlier books. I would have paid $10 simply for that last one but I also got so much more. If you play Eclipse Phase I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2013 15:28:37
Eclipse Phase is one of my favorite games, but I'm not beyond admitting that it has its faults, some of them pretty serious. For one thing, although there was a great range of morphs and the game really felt like it vibrantly embraced the question of not only transhumanism but the practicality of a diverse and exotic range of morphs, it didn't really feel like the rules did. Transhuman, which could best be described as their player's guide, does a great job of fixing a lot of those issues, and introduces a lot of new content.

The first thing I should emphasize is that unlike Rimward, Panopticon, Sunward, or Gatecrasher, Transhuman does not introduce new setting elements; it tends to expound on prior content, by providing deeper psychological and sociological background for certain things, such as the general perception of uplifts or the differences between different types of AGI. It generally adds a lot more depth to the setting, further refining a lot of the psychological things that can go on and clarifying the legal structures of the solar system in the years after the Fall.


Mind you, that's not to say that there's not new content in Eclipse Phase. There are tons of new things, from new morphs to rules diversifications, it's a very meaty book, containing everything from practical adjustments to combat to reflect the fact that a space whale functions very differently than a microbot in battle; Eclipse Phase's core system is such that it's not really possible to achieve a perfect granularity without explicitly relegating certain things to a different scale, but Transhuman does a pretty good job of modeling the differences between a novacrab and a neotenic, and while there will still be some things that fall outside the realms of plausible mechanics there is a lot more stuff here that really adds to the experience.

Looking at the book a little more objectively, it's about 240 pages of well-written content, and unlike Eclipse Phase's usual style a surprisingly large chunk of that is directly number driven, from the life path and package buy character creation systems and the new combat rules, as well as enhanced rules for swarms and other exotic morphs (including Flexbots), not to mention a variety of other non-combat rules for helping keep the game on track. Additional sleights for the asyncs also take up a portion of the book, though asyncs are covered mostly on the fluff side. One important note, though, is that the life paths are not meant to be balanced; as the note beforehand says, some characters will be lucky, some unlucky, so it's perfectly possible to roll a character who dies multiple times before the game even begins while another gets lucky and starts with everything going perfectly, something that GM's may wish to look out for if they maintain strict player balance in their campaigns.

I really did enjoy the book; the typesetting is Eclipse Phase's usual, which still remains fresh after well over a thousand pages, with plenty of color and vibrancy without causing any difficulty with legibility. The art is for the most part good though a couple of the faces caused an uncanny valley response; the majority of the art is of really good quality and really engages the setting well (though with a mite too much action for Firewall agents who want to get out alive).

If you play Eclipse Phase, Transhuman will make a great addition; it doesn't solve all the problems with the system, but it transforms the mechanics into something much greater than they were before while including plenty of new options to customize your game, and generally is a direct improvement, even if it does mean a little more complexity.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
by Ciarán O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 13:49:47
If you already like Eclipse Phase, you'll like this. The short fiction is well-written and fascinating, the artwork is stunning and the new lore and rules they bring to the table in this book will almost certainly contain something that interests you, whether it be the new character generation options of just new equipment and loot.

Add to that Transhuman Studios are attentive and courteous enough to update their PDFs when errors are spotted, so you never have to go searching through errata to see if that's what the rules really said. Well worth a look.

And if you don't know what Eclipse Phase is, you should check out the core rules. It's a fascinating sci-fi horror RPG that makes outerspace genuinely terrifying again. Sublime stuff.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Transhuman
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2013 11:20:05
Another stunning book by Posthuman!

If you happen to be one of the many who had misgivings over how involved the PC generation of Eclipse Phase was in the Corebook, Transhuman provides not ONE but TWO fixes!

One involves putting together 'packages' of skills and benefits, while the other is a Lifepath Generation system, which can easily provide hours of fun!

Also, the book includes a wealth of new Positive and Negative Traits for character creation, new Morphs, and even a Morph Creation System!

It also has large sections on how AGIs, and Uplifts, have radically different outlooks and 'upbringings' in the EP world.

This book is a MUST-HAVE for any EP gamer!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
by Bruce S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 12:05:08
Good example characters, wide variety. Loving an open source game system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Sample Characters (iPad)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2013 11:55:23
One of the best sci-fi rpgs out there in the last decade. And that's saying a lot when you factor in GURPS: Transhuman Space. But, the team at Posthuman Studios loves their work and they really graps the transhuman/posthuman elements of modern sci-fi. This setting has elements of Mythos horror, but handles it differently. Less strange magical aliens, and more strange technologies that we just don't understand yet. As far as settings go, it's not as hard as Transhuman Space was, but that leadway fixes one of the few problems that THS had. Lack of focus.

The key issue, the drive for PCs in Eclipse Phase is survival. Either on a personal level in the post TITANS era of dispora from earth, or on a species level when humanity kissed a singularity event and came away bloody but still living. Technology is your salvation and damnation. The real key, is how your characters deal with it.

Body swapping, AI life, aliens that are REALLY alien, and just enough WOW factor to make the game exciting. There is PSI powers, but they are handled interestingly...a dangerous legacy left behind by the alien AIs the TITANS became.

Mechanically it uses a d100 system that flows smoothly, but takes a little getting use too. It's serviceable. And that's GREAT! The 3rd Printing of the corebook (which the pdf is a copy of) has little mechanical tweeks and fixes that fix most of the weird early errata bugs.

The core gameplay has the PCs as members of Firewall, a 'save humanity at any cost' type group...and it works. But you will have the freedom to just explore the setting and culture.

Worth the price. Hands down. Fine book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase
by Luca N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 07:30:12
The setting is amazing, intriguing and well written. The rules are easy, based on a 1d100, and they permitt to go from a fast (and extremely deadly) firefight to an hacking mission using the same concepts and mechanism.
The character creation is based on few, important choises and Points to spend. it permitts to generate very interesting profiles and to play any kind of PG you like.
Trauma and Stress enable to play horror stories and to see your players going crazy.
The books are well made, well written and with amazing images.
It's a mature game and I really love it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2013 09:50:16
Within 24 hours of reading this I had purchased the full rule book, and I am so glad I did

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Nenad R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/05/2012 05:30:16
This product has an excellent overview of the outer soalr system in the Eclipse Phase World. It gives a lot of interesting locations, factions and ideas that can easily incorporated in any Eclipse Phase games, even in the inner system, as it explains the impact that the Outer System has on the inner.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:23:58
Absolutely of the same caliber and quality as the original core book: the production values and the depth of creativity are the same. The book fits perfectly into the atmosphere established by the core book and expands very naturally from a solar system inhabited by a refugee human race, highly modified by technology and its experiences, to the very highly risky exploration of the universe beyond using a science fiction concept ('stargates') that, while one might say is a tad threadbare, sees fresh new life in the hands of masters.

'Gatecrashing' allows the GM to create explosive new stories for her or his players, and the artwork available for use is of the best quality. Posthuman Studios' open license and 'hack packs' truly make the product available to the player to make her or his own.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase
by john f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2012 00:15:33
Simply put, an epic science-fiction roleplaying game written with a deep sense of human mind and culture and a sense of what technology does FOR and TO the human race. This is such a fresh and original take on the concept of 'post-apocalypse' that it truly deserves to be set apart from games that fit that description. Indeed, 'Eclipse Phase' is merely leaning on the 'post-apocalyptic sci-fi horror' handle because there's no descriptor for something this innovative, at least for now. Let me try:

'Post-human Survival/Technological Paradigm (sci-fi)'.

Do I really propse such a genre moniker? Well, no, it's rather unweildy. What I attempt to do is make my reader understand that just like the Jimi Hendrix Experience's first album, 'this one makes you wider'. Learning the world of this game introduces you to so many issues, existing and potential, in such a graceful and accessible way, that I believe the authors have succeeded in making the RPG (and here I mean the hobby) a true venue for social discourse and the contemplation of social and technological theories.

I'm sure the writers themselves could explain this better; they all have PhD's or will shortly. This core book could sit next to discussions of technology and society by people like Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov and even works, for example, of Noam Chomsky. There is even a tongue-in-cheek reference to Zinn's 'A People's History of the United States', which pleases me to no end.

Have no fear, for while the world created in this book is fully developed, and a highly evolved animal, the gaming mechanics have been kept reasonably simple. The GM and her or his players will be free to explore Transhuman Society post-apocalypse without getting weighted down with too many charts and die rolls. (The game runs on d100 percentiles.)

I'm also impressed that the authors open-sourced the game and encourage players to modify their work to taste.

'Eclipse Phase' is one of the most masterful, powerful classics in gaming, and even succeeds in being a literary touchstone. In the right hands, it will generate contemplation and conversation that will expand minds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: NPC File 1: Prime
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 08:39:15
So I'm a lazy GM when it comes to writing up NPCs, and thus this is a great toolbox for me. The NPCs are written up neatly, with some good details about their jobs and roles in the world of Eclipse Phase. A personal favorite is the fork variant of the anarchist saboteur.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: NPC File 1: Prime
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Patrick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2012 15:53:45
"Rimward" fits the entire Eclipse Phase line perfectly, as complement to "Sunward", detailing all factions and places that "Sunward" did not (with one notable exception, the Argonauts). Description of all kinds of autonomists and brinkers is very good, along with articles on Ultimates. There are minor issues that could be addressed better (like better description of economy, maybe along with some solutions in game mechanics), yet the book itself exceeded my expectations, and I consider it necessary for anyone GMing or playing a story in Sol System.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Eclipse Phase: Rimward
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/27/2012 17:24:53
Yeah, I'm a major fan of Eclipse Phase, so this shouldn't come as a shock to anyone, but Rimward is absolutely amazing. It lives up to my expectations, delivering Posthuman Studios' high quality and insightful transhuman setting in a simple package.

Rimward is 90% setting, and about 10% numbers, but when you actually look at it it's well worth it-everything is written in such a way as to detail the universe of Eclipse Phase and be a great asset to players and game masters, even if it's not a list of numbers on a page. It's actually a joy to read, with a boatload of new content.

All-in-all, I'd say Rimward is the perfect supplement to Sunward, and makes Eclipse Phase that much better as a game-my normal caution about Eclipse Phase not being for the kiddies still applies, but other than that it's a top-notch product I recommend to anyone who likes Eclipse Phase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 93 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates