DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2011 00:39:32
This is THE book to get, if you want info on exactly how having advanced sensor and computer technology will have an affect on the cultures, persons, and PCs that will have access to them.

Also, it has a extremely well-done "Uplift" section. Uplifts being the "Sentients created from animal stock" seen in EP and many other sci-fi games. Although written specifically for EP's setting, the political and corporate groups could be used in other settings, with little change.

Finally, there is a Habitat section, detailing everything from construction, how to infiltrate, and even how to "sleeve" an entire Habitat as one's body ("Morph" in EP slang).

Even if you aren't playing/buying EP specifically, this is a good book for general sci-fi info on the 'how does (x) work'
for just about any 'sufficiently advanced' setting.

Buy this, now!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Panopticon
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2011 16:29:55
Panopticon covers three subjects.

Uplifts, Habitats and Surveillance/Sousveillance each subject justifies the cost of the book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2011 15:07:33
I'm going to do this book a SERIOUS injustice with a relatively short review. Considering the price tag of $15 (at least when this was written), it's a steal. The book is huge. It's detailed. It's well written.

The basis of the game is that people are basically just minds now or souls or whatever you want to think of them as. They are called Egos in the game. You can then inhabit Morphs that are bodies made in a tremendous number of shapes, sizes, and capabilities. So the game obviously deals with some very dense subject matter and has an encyclopedic overview of the terms, what the world is like, and how people get along in the universe. Most of the game centers around political conspiracies, horror elements, and investigation and exploration.

In one game, you may inhabit a sexy assassin body and the next a non-humanoid mech. You can be a space fighter if you want. To some degree then, character creation is what your mental capabilities amount to. Things like strength are determined more by what Morph you are in. That is cool because you can just switch out (if you have the cash) to whatever you need to get your job done.

There are a lot of mechanics, so I would recommend just taking it slow and trying to use the base rules to teach yourself and your group the game. The PDF is judiciously bookmarked with hotlinks embedded in the text that will take you to references directly. That is a HUGE help when navigating the book. No "check pg. 209" to slow you down there.

The game and game world are complex, so be ready to read through a couple of times. The production value is amazing though, so it's fun to work through. But be warned, this is about a rules heavy as you can get without it being a joke. It's not a bad thing, it's just not for everyone.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Jeramy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2011 01:54:04
Absolutely a great work. This book is well written and contains excellent art work to set the tone and mood of the game. The book is well organized and easy to follow allowing for easy searching during games and the system is really solid. I can't wait to see more products for Eclipse Phase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: El Destino Verde (Part 1)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2011 23:53:47
Eclipse Phase itself is a culmination of dozens of science and science fiction ideas, pureed in a blender and served to you as one elegant yet dystopic universe. Stories like Jack's serve to illuminate a small part of that universe and he does well at it. He doesn't approach science fiction as a scientist or an engineer but as if its just there.

As such Jack's writing in this case can be a little technical if you aren't familiar with the materials already presented in EP or other works. Still, its not absolutely central to understanding the story if you miss a term or two.

Some minor complaints:
The material is obviously taken straight from the book it is going to be used in (which is fine because he is one of the writers and obviously has permission). Still it would be nice if it was ?typeset? as own story at some point. Also the very start of the story just feels off. The best line is the second. Lastly there were a few typos (buidling?).

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: El Destino Verde (Part 1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Sebastian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2011 10:50:53
This book really brings you some new playing experiences. You need a good round with a little education, because it really dive into matter where you have to think. "Cyberpunk" or better Tranhumanism on a grown up, depp but still fun to play way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
by Fabio F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2011 10:16:42
As for any Eclipse Phase product, I enjoyed reading through the material itself. It is a fun and interesting addition to an already fascinating setting, however I must complain on the fact that the GM session is too poor. It doesn't give much more fluff or detail than the normal description of the planets, while I would have wished that there was an official "truth" for at least some of those places.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2011 21:59:04
Aside from the fact that Eclipse Phase is one of the most intelligent, best written, and most creative games published to date, their highly researched vision of the future is nothing short of astounding.

These quick start rules can get any players and gms on their feet and ready to kick some exhuman or exurgent butt.

For all those that had the first quick start rules, these are a more streamlined version. For those that never did, well, these are essential!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by Denis D. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2011 15:50:49
I have seen many Quickstart kits, but very, very few are as complete and handy as this one!
Bear in mind that I have, so far, only read the old version and just downloaded the new one.
The rules are simple, and explained in a very clear way.
A must have, to hand over to the players, after editing out the adventure, of course.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Quick-Start Rules
by Bradley E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2011 15:37:31
I love this game! I own the full set of rules, but I am going to pass these quick-start rules to my friends. I am trying to get them to buy Eclipse Phase as well!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing
by russ b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2011 20:59:16
Reading this product reminded me of reading a hard SF novel from a writer like Alastair Reynolds or Greg Bear. it was that good. it also maintains the wonderfully intense air of mystery, wonder and paranoia that saturpates the entire Eclipse Phase universe. Get this pdf, it's worth the 10$ easily.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/28/2010 19:46:34
Ah, Eclipse Phase stuff. Small disclaimer here: I love Eclipse Phase.

I find Eclipse Phase to be increasingly versatile every time I read another supplement for it. I love the universe background. Great art, great writing, if you're a science-fiction fan you can't go wrong with Eclipse Phase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
by Alexie R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2010 21:00:55
"Gatecrashing" is an add-on to ground breaking Eclipse Phase and it lives up the usual high standard for the rest of the line. It expands the already rich setting beyond solar system and into bizarre alien worlds accessible through the mysterious Pandora Gates.

The main section has in-depth description of two score gate destinations chosen according to their relevance to Firewall for their X-risk potential. Most lead to planets that were visited by ET post-singularity civilisations that have long since gone extinct. Unlike the majority of sci-fi, in Eclipse Phase the alien planets are truly alien with only a handful earth-like planets habitable to unmodified human life. Every destination has a mystery to solve and a few story seeds for the GM.

The rest of the book deals with gatecrashing operations and possible ways for the PC's to get involved as well as a smattering of new equipment and morphs. There is a guide for creating believable custom planets that will come in handy for any GM that wishes to expand the EP universe.

In my humble opinion "Gatecrashing" is the best product so far in already high quality EP line and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in sci-fi. Solid A from me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing Hack Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2010 23:00:38
Excellent 'places to go, things to do' book. Plus, it does have additional morphs and modifications for one's characters, and even shows most of the new morphs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Gatecrashing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eclipse Phase
by Marcus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2010 20:57:07
I can't speak highly enough about this product. As a gamer with years of experience I can say this is the full package. Nice game balance, great writing style and tons of originality. As a cognitive scientist, I can tell these folks have done their homework. They broach a number of difficult and intriguing scientific and philosophic issues with a grace and style that makes them approachable without being simple. Add to that the fact that they stand behind their product with an open source license and I was compelled to happily offer them my hard earned cash. Buy it. Read it. Play it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 98 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates