DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2014 16:03:14
This is what a Dungeon World Campaign Front ought to be. It has just enough to get the game going and leaves lots of room for the players to fill in the details. I highly recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
by Craig D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2014 21:43:38
This is new territory. Few Dungeon World Campaign Fronts exist at the published stage, and it's a relief to see publishers such as Three Sages fill this void.

I've played with this product long enough to know that it is a perfect environment in to which a group can be dropped for a very entertaining Dungeon World campaign. In other words, I've lost several characters in it as a player and killed off several as a narrator. We were all delighted at the quality of their demise!

The key is that this product turns what works best as a one-off narrative game engine into an environment where players can experience old-school gaming tropes with new-school mechanics.

Only those who have tried a thing have earned the right to judge a thing. Earn that right with this product, right now!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2014 07:17:52
Not incredibly creative or worth 4 bucks. I would not utilize this when better cheaper products exist.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Baronica: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/03/2014 01:00:30
WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW: Released by Three Sages Games, Baronica is a campaign front for Dungeon World, which I reviewed recently. Baronica is based on the author's old fantasy campaign, with some details left out. In keeping with the Dungeon World mindset, Baronica is left pretty open for the GMs and players to fill in, maps included. It's a fairly typical fantasy setting, in which the High King has fallen and the people are trying to determine who can take the crown. In the meanwhile, goblins are getting violent, and a dark force is rising to consume everyone (because that's what dark forces DO). A number of important NPCs are provided, as well as questions relevant to the campaign for the players to answer, and Special Moves for certain parts of the setting (my favorite being the move that details what happens when the PCs encounter The Azure Unicorn). Of course, Dangers are present, and a few Fronts are provided to help you guide the escalation of the threat level (such as the Rise of the Dark Lord).

WHAT WORKS: If you read the advice on creating Campaign Fronts and Dangers in the Dungeon World book, and it didn't quite click, then this might well be worth reading. I liked that the maps are left open enough for you to add your own elements and features that appear in gameplay, and I particularly enjoyed the encounter with the Azure Unicorn.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: If you already have a sense of what you are doing with Dungeon World, world-building-wise, then there's not enough new and unique stuff here to make it worthwhile. The author admits that it's going to feel a little familiar to some people, so if you're already on that path, you are probably better served to keep going in that direction.

CONCLUSION: Recommended for people who are pretty sure they have the mechanics of Dungeon World down, but are not sure just how they are actually going to get the game going (the front suggests that the PCs begin in media res), but folks who have already started to work on their own Dungeon World setting aren't going to find a lot here to compel them to scrap their work and introduce Baronica in its stead.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A-1 The Perils of Ophelia
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2012 08:16:20
The plot for this adventure is a solid one, but what really struck me was how well organized this product was. It contains three different hook ideas to help the DM bring the characters into the story, a plot flowchart that includes plot points and encounters, and a list of dangling plot threads, which can be picked up in future adventures.

This product does suffer from a couple of typographical errors and two illustrations that are somewhat anachronistic (a picture of a modern-day female chemist next to a cook NPC stat block, for example). I'm also not much of a fan of the CGI-style art featured on the cover of this and many other RPG products, but I suspect I may be a minority there.

Minor flaws aside, this is a well-organized product. RPG adventure authors would do well to have a look and get some inspiration.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A-1 The Perils of Ophelia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Libri Necromatica
by Alex L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2011 17:18:17
I believe that the necromancer archetype has sadly fallen by the wayside in 4e, so i was naturally excited to find this PDF, however it has two or three things that need to be revised.


First there is the artwork, Most of it is pretty good (i especially enjoyed the image on the cover) but i'm not really sure that CGI art is appropriate for a role playing game supplement.

The second thing that kind of bothered me was the whole "Davey Jones" undead pirate thing. The concept just seems silly sitting next to the other stuff in the book, like it was tacked on in the editing process. I would seriously just cut the idea out of the book altogether.

Some of the wording in the implements section is a bit confusing, but if you just assume normal implement rules,hybrid implements rules and ignore the hybrid talent option everything should work out fine.

The class IS presented as a half class, or a multiclass option, but since I've always considered necromancer an offshoot of a wizard i dont really see this as a problem. If you want a full class necromancer just Hybrid the necromancer with a wizard and reflavor some of the wizard spells. (or ,even better, if you own heroes of shadow choose some wizard spells from that)

I think that this is a decent book that has a few faults, but has some great ideas. The class seems balanced, the powers look really neat, and (with one exception) the paragon classes sound really cool. Like i said you have to change some of the wording in the implement sections but all in all it seems to be a very playable and balanced class.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Libri Necromatica
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Libri Necromatica
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/01/2010 16:44:07
One of the first Necromancers for the 4th edition D&D game. The class is more of a half of a class in truth. There are powers here and are designed for the multi-class and hybrid class rules. Some powers are written to take advantage of one trait or another; Intelligence or Charsima for example.
Other powers are certainly Arcane in nature, so one could use this Necromancer as one uses the Illusionist in 4e. The powers look mostly balanced if sometimes a bit underpowered in cases.
There are some paragon paths that only seem loosely contected to the idea of necromancy (a pirate for example) and there are some necromatic monsters and magic. The art is CGI 3d images like the cover and not bad. The text is clear adn easy to read and well written.

Good: Finally nice to see a necromancer class and one that seems to be very playable.

Bad: It is only a half-class. While that really is not a big deal if you plan to do a lot of multi-classing and/or hybrid classes. Clerics, Warlocks and Wizards are good choices.

Final: Great ideas for an NPC, but in the end I wanted more.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Reva the Rat Queen
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2010 23:24:55
This free product supplies quite a large bite of campaign detail: a city map, rivalry between two hidden powers and a series of encounters with some new creatures to draw a player group into contact with what's going on, as well as the central character, who could prove very helpful not only as a patron but a source of unique magic. Mechanics look sound at a first glance. Altogether, well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reva the Rat Queen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates