DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Wanderer's Romance
by Rob T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2012 14:48:26
A simple yet elegant system that can easily be implemented for near any situation. The book was obviously written by someone with a good grasp of the themes, and it's a system that's very easy to pick up and play. Well worth the free pricetag.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wanderer's Romance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wanderer's Romance
by Alex T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 21:17:57
Easy, simple, elegent.

What more could you want?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Badass
by adam a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 11:25:50
fun game needs a few tweeks.
a simple scenario to introduce a gm. to the concepts of running on fumes and BP recovery.
also for an inexperanced GM there is not enough padding on the setting for scenario section.
the lack of a defined charactor sheet might also put a novice GM off running this game.
but in all fairness the game is a laugh and if you can think in the setting the GM can do anything they want.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Badass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wanderer's Romance
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2011 17:38:09
Another home run from Stargazer Games! Keep it up guys!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wanderer's Romance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
A Wanderer's Romance
by Andy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2011 14:35:03
There's very few times when I attribute the word "gorgeous" to a game. This is one of them, and I could tell it from the first look I had at the rulebook. My first impressions were very good, and the book continued to maintain my expectations, even as it went onward. The book makes and keeps a very distinct feel: it treads a nice line between the philosophical and the tangible, between freeform and concrete, between structured and abstract. It feels like something completely in line with a film such as Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

The book begins with a very up-front statement about the core mechanic: roll 2d6 and compare it to a target number. It even gives the target numbers you use for regular, difficult, and very difficult tasks. I love this straightforwardness. It then jumps into the main character attributes (the classic elements of Air, Earth, Fire, and Water, which the designer chose because of their familiarity in many, many cultures) and the core mechanics. There are no skills. In order to do anything, you add two of your Elements to the 2d6 roll, something which reminds me of Legend of 5 Rings.

The next aspect which strongly impressed me was the combat philosophy. AWR outlines an intriguing warrior's code which is essential for use of the combat styles contained within. It's a philosophy that shapes armed conflict on all stages, including rationalizations of one-on-one duels to resolve wars, and honorable assassination. The combat styles flow right into that, carrying their own flavors, and with very cool abilities, such as the style which lets players gain an effective permanent bonus to all fights taking place in the darkness or in moonlight.

The interplay of the four elements is everywhere in this book, and it serves as an incredibly good theming device. The author ties each one in with a solid characterization, and also steers away from flashy Avatar-like displays of elemental ability. In fact, the magic section is specifically made -not- to lend itself to flashy elemental powers. Instead, far more subtle and mystical effects are achievable by elemental magic...although they're no less impressive. Mastery of Fire Magic, for instance, allows you to make a test to resurrect yourself.

There's also Designer Notes scattered throughout the book, which provide a keen insight into how the system works. This is a touch which belongs in more rulebooks. It makes them more personable, and allows for another perspective on how to run the game.

If this game were more fleshed-out, I would probably consider paying $10 or even $20, and in its current form it's worth at least $5 to $10 to me. The fact that it's free is a remarkable steal. Highly recommended, especially for anyone who wants to emulate the philosophies of wuxia.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Badass
by Andy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2011 14:45:11
"Kick logic to the curb and DO THE IMPOSSIBLE!!" ~ Kamina from Tengu Toppu Gurren Lagan

"Badass" is what it sets out to be: lite on the details, heavy on the badassery. Like promised, it kicks logic in the teeth and leaps onward in pursuit of higher things. It doesn't have particularly ornate or intellectual goals. It knows that its sole aim is awesomeness, and it does a good job of pursuing that.

The rules complexity of this game (which, by the way, is free, which is also awesome) is interesting. It doesn't have aspirations of being a toolkit like Wushu Open; instead, unlike many rules-lite systems, it has a very, very specifically geared focus. I like that, a lot. You won't necessarily be able to run different types of games with this system, but that's okay. You don't need to.

Character creation is very simple. You give your character a Defining Moment (the moment that made them become AWESOME) and a type (Kickass, Smartass, or Wiseass....or, fighters, thinkers, and smooth talkers). Then, you add "Flavas", which are more or less somewhere between classes and feats. They further define your character. Then you get Badass Points, which you spend to activate Flavas or to add to your roll (or, as the combat section notes, to increase your Initiative in the middle of a fight). That's it.

The core mechanic is equally simple: roll 2 six-sided dice...AND MAKE A FIST WHEN YOU ROLL IT. (Otherwise, you lose a Badass Point and the roll doesn't count.) Try and beat a target number. There's another important thing to note, though. Whenever you do something that is A: logical or B: fearful, especially if you want to save your own skin, that causes you to lose Badass Points. Because logic and fear are not (usually) badass. You also regain Badass Points through badass actions...or other things, such as having a flashback scene during downtime.

Character advancement is also simple. The only way that you gain XP (or, rather, Awesomeness, because "XP" is not a badass enough term) is by spending Badass Points. The more Badass Points you spend, the more Awesomeness you get, and you spend Awesomeness to get new Flavas or develop new Contacts.

That's it. Where this game truly shines is in the specific rules, particularly the Flavas. Take, for example, this Flava...

"Teacher - To teach an Average Joe to be a Badass is Badass in itself. Some Badasses actually spend time teaching in colleges, teaching courses like Archaeology when they’re not busy whipping cultists and punching Nazis in the face. Benefit: Once per game session, you may perform any form of deliberate or careful planning without losing a Badass Point."

Oh, and there's also a Flava that lets you arm wrestle the GM to change something in the game.

That's Badass. And did I mention it's FREE?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Badass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Arcane Heroes
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/26/2011 18:39:57
Arcane Heroes is possibly one of my favorite examples of an ultralight game. It doesn't have a whole lot of frills, but it has substance where it matters (though I would recommend expanding it and adding examples, just for the sake of 100% clarity [does the bonus apply to dice rolled, or the wounds inflicted during combat?]).

It's also an exceptional example of how to do typesetting- simple text boxes in an interesting but not overpowering background with interesting fonts to add flavor and a clean font for reading. Also, the lines of text in each column match the other, so there's no obsessive urge to make them meet each other.

If you're looking for one of the best free games in a long time, look no further than Arcane Heroes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Badass
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2011 23:58:37
WHAT WORKS: It reminds me a little of WUSHU, but better, in the sense that there is more of a "game" to it, and I oddly like my games to have "game" to them. A good amount of text in the 28 pages, so this doesn't feel at all just thrown together. I could definitely see supplements detailing Flavas, Mooks and so on for Fantasy and Scary type games.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The term "Flava" really bugs me, but that's just a personal thing. On one hand, it's a tad too "meta" at parts for me to take seriously, but then, it also explicitly says it's not a serious game. Providing advancement rules for what seems to be a pick-up game seems odd, but I also realize that advancement rules would have been the first thing brought up if they hadn't been included.

CONCLUSION: BADASS certainly isn't the first attempt at modeling crazy, action movie stuff, and it won't be the last, although the "Average Joe" stuff is certainly unique, as far as I can recall. I don't like it quite as much as I do WRM or RAG, as I like at least a bit more detail in my games than this, but a couple of swell supplements like WRM had (and this is released under a Creative Commons license) and I could easily change my tune. This is one of tjose games I'd like to try, but I'm worried about, because I think the bits used to trigger more Badass Points could get old, fast, although the fact that they are all limited to once per fight or once per session certainly helps. Good effort, but from reading it feels both like it could be a bit tighter and a bit beefier...then, I think, it would really shine.

http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/06/tommys-ta-
ke-on-badass.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Badass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Resolute, Adventurer & Genius
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/14/2011 00:20:34
WHAT WORKS: The organization is way better here, and I like the wider range of Talents, which also do a nice job of covering up for the lack of magic. Some fine proof that the WRM formula can be tweaked quite a bit, and the WYRM system used for a number of things. The layout is also very handsome, especially for a free product (not that WRM suffered any).

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The penciled-looking black and white art is a step down compared to the rest of the layout. As with WRM, I would have liked to have seen a larger Threats section, but it's a free book, so what are you gonna do? Thus far, RAG hasn't had the level of support WRM has. I'm not completely sold on Resolute, Adventurer and Genius being QUITE as iconic as Warrior, Rogue and Mage, which may be part of the problem.

CONCLUSION: If the concept behind the Wyrm system sounded good, but fantasy isn't your cup of tea, maybe the Pulp version will be more up your alley. I mean, it's a pretty risk-free purchase, and I guarantee you have spent money on way worse. For my "money", the main reason I like WRM better is because I HAVE pulp options I, personally, enjoy...while I'm still searching for that fantasy game that really does it for me. That said, it's hard not to show love for the Stargazer Games crew, putting out very impressive products for free like this. Hm...Wyrm Supers, anyone?

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/06/tommys-take-o-
n-resolute-adventurer.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Resolute, Adventurer & Genius
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/12/2011 13:45:14
WHAT WORKS: Well, you can't beat free. Especially when you look at the production values (which aren't on par with major commercial products, but still look very nice and have a very evocative feel to them). For a 41 page, rules lite RPG, there's a good amount of depth, especially with some of the little bits and tweaks in the Magic section. Five free supplements have already been released, expanding on the game in various ways.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: I'm not a fan of some of the organizational issues, like Skills and Talents being in the back of the book. Dual Wielding is apparently just a prereq talent, or was very poorly explained, although without actually playing the game, it may be that two attacks is a big enough game breaker that it requires essentially giving up an advance to get. A few more examples, especially of monsters, would have been great...but come on, it's a free product.

CONCLUSION: Easily on par with, or beyond, many of the lower-tier RPGs, and blowing right past about every free RPG I can immediately think of (aside from, say, older titles that have now been released for free). Warrior, Rogue & Mage is rules lite, yeah, but has a solid foundation and the thought and effort that went into it is very apparent. while the game includes a low-magic, and no-magic, tweak...I would like to see someone tweak it a bit more (higher magic, dark fantasy, etc.).

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/06/tommys-take-o-
n-warrior-rogue-mage.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Badass
by Domriso M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2011 19:47:02
A great game for short, action-packed bursts. And so freaking easy to learn! I already ran a game of it, and I got it half an hour ago.

Simply put, this is a must for any gamer. Even if only to play in between other systems, it is a breath of fresh air in an otherwise drab and depressing world.

Sudden new idea: Badass - Corporate Takeover. I'm running that one, soon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Badass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Badass
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2011 14:42:00
Oh man, this game looks like a blast!

Super simple mechanics (opposed dice rolls with what amounts to a sort of dynamic dice pool called "Badass Points") combined with a really badass attitude should make this game a high-octane standard. In a group with the right attitude, this game would make a great break from the more serious RPGs where things like skills or careful planning pay off. (In fact, careful planning can cost you Badass points if you don't have a Flava that allows careful planning.)

Throw some one-liners and describe your attack (slo-mo attack sequences!) to boost your BP, and mow down mooks like there's no tomorrow. "Is that all ya got?"

Artwork is minimal but appropriate, and there's even an example setting and a bibliography for inspiration.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2011 17:09:32
Amazingly brilliant in its simplicity, this has to be the potential as one's go-to fantasy game. Michael Wolf has done in 41 pages what many larger books and professional gaming companies could not--create a simple but effectively endlessly customizable RPG. The Creative Commons license is simply icing on the cake.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:46:03
A simple but effective fantasy RPG. I have used it for more narrative-oriented games but from its framework, I believe it could work great for old-school dungeon exploration too. The core concept of using classes as attributes is great and has been adapted to other settings. Really worth reading and playing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Resolute, Adventurer & Genius
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2011 17:23:25
Vary neat little free booklet. Art is vary nice and so are the rules. Wish there was more information on the world but all in all a good free buy. I look forward to testing it out next game day. Thank you Stargazer Games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Resolute, Adventurer & Genius
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Gift Certificates