DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2012 04:18:42
The second level of PDG's old-school dungeon delve in the purple mountain is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 4 pages SRD/advertisement, leaving 22 pages of content, including one page map, so let's check this out!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

Still here? All right!

Having jumped in the meat grinder/waste disposal shaft in the temple of the vermin lord and being received enthusiastically by a hungry, young otyugh, the PCs enter what once was a nice little Dwarven colony - unfortunately for the PCs, emphasis lies on the "was" - the colony was wiped by a twofold threat - an assault of yellow musk creepers and plant horrors like violet fungi and jinkins, a subtype of troublemaking gremlin.
Three sample hooks are given if you don't plan on running Purple Mountain as a dungeon delving campaign (or if you do and want further enticement to lure the PCs deeper...) and two sample booby traps to spring on PCs as well as a random encounter table is provided for - and you'll be using these, for the dungeon is presented as an organic sandbox, often providing guidelines for reactions of the respective faction to incursions like the setting of new traps and the like.

Due to the jinkin's propensity for traps, rogues are going to have a lot to do on this level, as will rangers and druids, who'll have an adversary in the leader of the plant monsters -a recently arrived troglodyte druid, who makes for one of the two bosses of the level, with the other one being the jinkin sorceror who leads the little pests. It should also be noted that a nice d12-table for jinkin-cursed water is given as well as a total of 8 additional traps, not including aforementioned modular traps. Full stats for a fungal leshy, slurks, jinkins, the NPCs, the poltergeist and the blind undead dwarven Blindbraun that guards the broken lift are provided as well as a nice b/w-map of the level.

Have I mentioned e.g. a superheated door that should prove to be rather interesting?

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches while reading this pdf. Layout adheres to a printer-friendly two-column full-color standard and provides some nice full-color artworks of the NPCs and some monsters. The b/w-cartography is nice, though I would have liked a player-friendly version of the map sans traps etc. to cut up and hand out to the players as they go. The pdf comes with one bookmark only, which leads me to assume that something went wrong there. The pdf is also hyperlinked to the Grand OGL Wiki, if you're using it on a laptop or tablet. Generally, I liked this exploration of the second level of the Purple Mountain - the locations are flavorful, the traps neat and mostly logical and the creatures make for a dynamic dungeon in the hands of a capable DM. However, Dms should be aware that without someone to find traps, there'll be pain galore here for the PCs. The creatures and Npcs are unconventional, the design per se solid, and thus I'll settle for a final verdict of 4 stars - a nice dungeon level that could be used as a stand-alone somewhat hampered by the fact that the two bosses are not too exciting and the fact that the bookmarks are messed up and that there's no player-friendly map.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Flaming Skulls
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 10:24:10
Visually a truly "cool" graphic with an immense amount of possible uses, the level of artwork is well worth the price point, making this a solid value for stock art options.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Flaming Skulls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/28/2012 13:36:25
Here's a bit of fun for anyone who enjoys running a good 'dungeon crawl' adventure! Whilst it's Level 2 of a massive multi-layer complex burrowed deep into the bowels of a mountain, it can be run as a stand-alone dungeon if that suits your needs better. There are notes of how to get your characters to go there, be they coming from Level 1 or arriving direct, and a lot to explore.... and, yes, this IS Purple Duck Games, there's an otyugh in there!

Mostly, though, it was a dwarf mine. As for what is there now... that would be telling! The GM, however, is well-supported with room descriptions and details of traps, devices, inhabitants, and ideas for what to do with them.

This delve will appeal to those who like puzzles, riddles, traps, and combat. It has plenty to keep such characters amused, and on their toes. A nice touch is several 'named' NPCs who have the potential to take on a life of their own down here (if not killed out of hand by the party), and there are new monsters as well as those from other Purple Duck products - don't worry, they are detailed here and referenced to the Grand OGL Wiki site that's Purple Duck's home, so you will have all that you need.

A merry romp for those times when you want to go dungeon-crawling...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Stirge Trouble
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 20:21:20
Yet another excellent piece from the Ducks, with a full color, line art and B&W rendering, this piece was exactly what I needed, and I was happy to see someone had finally released a Stirge into the world of Stock Art for the small publishers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Stirge Trouble
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Demoness II
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 20:18:10
Another excellent piece from Gary Dupois and the folks at Purple Duck Games. Always a good value considering the quality of the art for the price, small publishers would do well to follow Purple Duck Games release schedule for consistent high end usable artwork.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Demoness II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monstrous Races: The Third Party [PFRPG]
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/19/2012 08:37:29
How often have you thumbed through a monster book and wondered what it would be like to actually PLAY one of them, rather than beat them up and steal their stuff? Even if you're the GM, many of the monsters have potential to be far more than just cannon fodder in your campaign world, if only there was more about what made them tick, not just their combat statistics and capabilities.

Herein are some really odd creatures which can be brought to life if you wish to venture into some really strange concepts. Replete with ideas about attitudes, possible classes and so on within the Pathfinder RPG, we have notes on some of the weirder critters that frequent the pages of the various bestiaries. Whether you want to bring them to vibrant life as part of the varied society in your campaign world, or as a character trying to make his way in an alien world. read on.

In an aquatic setting, perhaps a grindylow appeals. Widely regarded as 'goblins of the sea' these tricksters harbour a vicious hatred for squid and, being amphibious, are able to participate in land adventures as well as those under water, scampering around on their tentacles. Or, possibly more conventional, you fancy being a half-ogre. Often outcasts, considered weaklings by ogres and hulking brutes by everyone else, they present the challenge of being more than the mere muscle-bound hulk everyone assumes you to be.

Ifrits, kval, mahrog... and more... follow in a dazzling succession, each with its potentials and challenges. How to portray such alien beings realisticly, how to make them come alive within the shared alternate reality of your game. Role-players may relish such a challenge, whilst those interested in exploring the new options that these races provide in combat and other abilities will also find plenty to intrigue them. Make your game really fantastic! Let one or two of these beings find their way into your world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races: The Third Party [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Heroic Moments 1: Crash Landing
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/17/2012 10:45:18
So, you have a bunch of superheroes sitting around, all dressed up and nowhere to go, no villains to bash, so what do you do?

You could do a lot worse that pick up this neat little gem. Designed as a single 'scene' or one-off event that you can drop into your campaign or use for a single evening's play, it provides a passing supervillain who literally drops in on the 'heroes.... or at least causes an alien spaceship to make an unscheduled crash landing right under their noses. The race is on to save the city from further damage and thwart the villain's dastardly plot into the bargain!

The villain - who you may well wish to incorporate into your campaign as a recurring adversary - is called Dr. Count Von Vertigo - and he's provided with full stats and background and a nice full colour (or should that be 4-colour?) illustration. There are two other opponents provided as well, both capable of further development if you want to keep them around, and there's also a new superpower and some 'strange radiation' to play with in classic comic book style.

The 'scene' itself comes complete with an evocative read-aloud text to set the scene, description of the layout, several events and notes on what the other folk around are doing, and a few complications to throw in as and when you feel fit.

Grab your dice and your cape and have a blast!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Moments 1: Crash Landing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fehr's Ethnology: Erkunae [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2012 05:54:43
This entry of Purple Duck Games' Fehr's Ethnology-series is 11 pages long, 1/2 a page front cover/editorial, ~2 pages SRD and ~2 pages advertisement, leaving ~6.5 pages of content for this new race, so check it out!

Erkunae start off with a rather interesting and well-written flavor-text (which unfortunately also contains the first editing glitch), before we are introduced to the new race: Erkunae get +2 Str, +2 Int and -2 Con, count as humans, gain bonuses on courtly skills one would expect of nobles, work better alone and can, once per week, summon a scaling ally via elder pacts. The Erkunae can chose from chaos, elemental or death-creatures. They also get a racial bonus on attacks with blades.

The write-up of the race that introduces us to the elitist and isolationalist culture of Erkunae is well-written and provides us also with age, height and weight tables and 6 well-balanced Erkunae-traits as well as 2 new regional traits. 8 alternate racial traits are part of the deal as well an enable you to e.g. give your Erkuna drug-addled dream-visions, a bonus to ride dragons and magical beasts, + 2 to Dex instead of Str (making for excellent rogues) and increased elemental affinity for sorcerors. In contrast to the first two ethnologies, I have nothing to complain about here.

The pdf also provides 4 racial feats: One for true neutral champions of balance, one to represent your royal bloodline (and thus grant social skill bonuses) and two rather interesting feats: PAct with Birds makes avian creatures not attack you (if you do, though, an atonement is in order) and Thrall holder is essentially a lesser leadership that nets you a commoner.

The pdf continues with respective class-discussions and 8 favored lass options, which include the rook and SGG's dragonrider - nice to see some synergy there!

Finally, we get a sample level 1 magus and his undead pact creature eyes as well as another additional trait.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are improved in V.2.0, but not yet perfect. Layout adheres to PDG's 2-column-standard and the piece of artwork is nice, though it doesn't fit the race's description - Erkunae are supposed to be somewhat albino-style, not green. The pdf also provides bookmarks, which is nice to see. I actually, surprisingly, quite liked the Erkunae - I don't have any major gripes to hold against the race. Their pact creatures are an interesting signature ability and lend themselves for some interesting roleplaying. Their culture and general attitude reminded me somewhat of Rite Publishing's Wyrd, which is nice indeed and in my home-game, I think I'd blend them together. That being said, this time I have no gripe regarding the balance or content and actually can recommend this installment! While the overall write-up is great, I feel that the Erkunae could have been more unique with e.g. a short terminology-section or materials/unique cultural productions: That being said, the low price ensures that my final verdict will be 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform - if the idea of the Erkunae intrigues you, check them out!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fehr's Ethnology: Erkunae [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Air Elemental
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2012 22:00:44
An excellent illustration of an air elemental from Michael Scotta and the folks at Purple Duck, yet another in their color series of stock art that is perfect for GM's and small publishers alike.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Air Elemental
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Demoness
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2012 21:58:26
An ideal piece for representing a female devil, demon, deamon, hellspawn, ugly succubus (lol), etc.etc. A solid addition to a collection of art for any small publisher or GM looking to enhance their game material.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Demoness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Memorable Townsfolk [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2012 06:18:30
This pdf is 32 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2.5 pages of SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving a total of 26.5 pages of content, so let's check this out!

We all know the feeling: The Pcs return to town, look around...and instead of well-rounded NPCs, a beleaguered GM has to improvise a badly-conceived standard NPC whose name he forgets until the next session. Purple Duck Games' latest offering seeks to remedy that by providing new NPCs, at least in the first half of the book.

The NPCs herein thus reign from a soothsayer/diviner that tries to cold-read people instead of using her true power to bored bards and alchemist barkeeps. Cr-wise, the NPCs range from Cr 1 to 8 and all come with full stats for you to use. A total of 12 NPCs are provided and all of them come with quite extensive additional information, somewhat similar to what Raging Swan tends to provide for NPCs, but going even beyond that: Each entry comes with services the character can provide for the PCs, a boon if they are on good terms, information on starting attitude and personal prejudice, a write-up of the overall impression, on the personality of the NPC, the background and a kind of adventure seed in the form of gossip about the respective individual. There are also multiple boxes detailing bits and pieces of Purple Duck's upcoming Porphyra-setting, which can be easily ignored, but make for interesting bits and pieces, if you care to read them. More impressively, each of the NPC-entries comes with a high-quality full-color artwork - something I definitely didn't expect at this low price-point. Great to have these mug-shots to show to your players!

But we all know it: You can create as many NPCs as you like, you'll still have to improvise sooner or later. To help with these instances, we get 2 pages of d%-tables for appearance, personality, origin elements and motives to randomly generate NPCs.

The second larger section of the book provides us with 4 sample settlements: From the almost lawless frontier-town of Rusty Waters, to the encampment of the halfling quickstep clan to the hidden elven town of Illuriel and the academic town of Rexton, these settlements provide a background against which the new NPCs can be used and come with full settlement statblocks, which are also explained in detail. This section also provides quick and dirty rules to call for the guards and 8 qualities for settlements. More importantly, each of the settlements gets a STUNNING full-color artwork that immediately evokes a sense of intrigue.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect - I noticed some minor punctuation glitches in e.g. the settlement write-ups. Layout adheres to PDG's printer-friendly 2-column standard and the full-color artworks by Gary Dupuis are awesome, especially for the price! The pdf also comes with bookmarks. This pdf's premise is to provide memorable NPCs and it delivers - while the individual NPCs use some of the stereotypes common in fantasy, they all add some kind of spin via the gossip-section or other components of the write-ups. The friendly barkeep? He's a dwarven alchemist who might be drugging beautiful females. The stern, xenophobic, prude priestess? She once worshipped a deity of revenge and seduction. You get the idea. The random NPC-generation-table is neat and the settlements are well-presented. However, in spite of the gorgeous artworks, this pdf felt like it lacked something: While the NPCs have some nice twists to the tropes, they still adhere rather closely to what you've probably seen before - some more far-out ideas and perhaps even unique qualities/services would have been awesome. The section on town statblocks is ok, but I would have loved to see some new settlement qualities or additional hooks - more information on the settlements would have been nice. Don't get me wrong - this is a good purchase at the low price and provides what it delivers, but overall, I still feel that the pdf falls short of what it could easily have become. Combine that with the minor glitches and I'll settle for a final verdict of 3.5 stars, which I'll gladly round up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Memorable Townsfolk [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monsters Unleashed V.5 [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2012 03:01:31
The fifth installment of PDG's Monsters Unleashed-series is 13 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page advertisement and 1 1/2 pages of SRD, leaving 9 1/2 pages of content, so let's check this one out!

The first creature herein is a magical cat-ally and master of illusions called Asnae (CR 6), which may actually make for a neat representation of a Cheshire cat-style creature in your game. The critter comes with a illusion-centric feat and 3 spells, one of which actually enables it to enchant a forest to become creepy.
The second beast of the bunch is the Gnarl (CR 7), a dread underdark predator and grappler with an iron grip and the option to dislocate his foe's limbs.

If you're familiar with the Fehr's Ethnology-series, you might also know about the Ith'n Ya'roo (CR 5), benign yeti-like creatures and masters of bonecrafting and it is here that the beasts get a write-up that is rather a monster instead of a potential PC-race. They also come with a new spell to prevent their bonecrafted tools from crumbling under combat's strain.

Mezadevs are interesting CR 11 fey that look somewhat akin to minotaurs - only that they have a bag which contains all kinds of allies - from ettinss to dire animals, these critters give the "bag of tricks" a whole new meaning - my favorite critter in this pdf, btw.!

The final monster introduced in this pdf is the Striga (CR 3), infernal agents of hell, these women have been scalped and blinded and no possess the ability to discern the truth and ferret out betrayers to the cause of hell. The artwork for the Striga is AWESOME and disturbing, btw. - perhaps the best I've seen in the whole series!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to a per-se printer-friendly 2-column standard and the artworks for the creatures are all full-color and of a higher quality than I'd expect at this price-point, though two pieces of artwork may already be familiar to you if you've read the two first installments of Fehr's Ethnology. The pdf also comes with extensive bookmarks, which is nice. While some of the creatures herein failed to utterly blow me away, I did actually enjoy 3 of them quite a bit and really liked the rest - this installment actually features no creature I'd consider truly boring or bad and while the re-used artwork is a very minor downer, I'd ask you to look at the price-point: I'm still baffled at the fact that every creature gets a piece of artwork, let alone of the quality of e.g. the Striga. Due to the low price, cool creatures and neat overall content, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars - very well done!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Unleashed V.5 [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Otyughnomicon: Flensing Otyugh
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2012 06:20:06
This pdf is 11 pages long, 1 page front cover, ~1.5 pages SRD and 1 page of advertisement, leaving approximately 7.5 pages of content for the latest special Otyugh, so let’s take a look!

As with all installments of the Otyughnomicon, we get two different stats for the otyugh in question – one for the Core-version of the Otyugh as an aberration, the second for the GOW-version as a magical beast. This installment adds the flensing template (CR +2) to the creature, which provides a solid addition of damage to the creature’s attacks, the ability to rage and to inflict bleeding weapons and track spillt blood. Both creatures clock in at CR 6.

The sample encounter of this Otyughnomicon presents us with the tower of a now perished wizard, whose creations include said new otyughs as well as a troll and a variant air elemental. The person who hired the Pcs to claim the tower, Linsa Fayblood, is also fully detailed and two new spells, the ominous „Buttress of Skulls“ and the „Strangling Web“ are as much a part of the deal as a new cape and 4 simple floor traps, which makes the overall encounter(s) a neat little blue-print for a short side-trek. And one with a twist, to boot!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good – while I noticed a few minor glitches, nothing truly impeded my ability to enjoy the pdf. The pdf adheres to PDG’s two-column standard and comes with artworks for all creatures – apart from the Otyugh, the artworks are full color, though nothing too special. The pdf features full bookmarks. For the low price, we get a new template, a nice adventure outline and solid stats – nothing much to complain about apart from the fact that the pdf provides nothing that truly made me yell „Eureka“. As such, I think I can settle for a solid 4 stars and a recommendation if you’re even remotely intrigued by the template.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Otyughnomicon: Flensing Otyugh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fehr's Ethnology: Hhundi [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2012 07:56:58
The second installment of Fehr's Ethnologies is 8 pages long, 1/2 page artwork/editorial, 1 page SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving about 5 1/2 pages of content for the Hhundi, so let's checck them out!

First, something to note: If you play with Germans or any speakers of German, you'll have to rename these. "Hundi" is roughly the equivalent to (cute) "doggy" and my players would have burst from laughter. Oh well, onwards to the new race!

Hhundi are crouched monstrous humanoids, get +2 to Dex and Wis, -2 to Cha, darkvision, light sensitivity, scent, natural claw attacks for 1d4, the ability to cast reduce person on themselves and a natural armor bonus of +1.

The Hhundi are a race of stalkers and hunter, not entirely benevolent, but neither bestail, just...welll...somewhat alien. They lay eggs, have some interesting social protocols. The ecology-section per se is well-written. The Hhundi get 4 race traits that don't feel overpowered and specific enough to make the race flavorful. & alternate racial traits are also part of the deal and range from less penalties when using stealth while moving fast, to negating scent (via a new spell aslo included in the pdf) and I liked most of them - one, though, is severely over-powered: Wary defender replaces scent and lets you roll each perception-check twice, taking the better result. That's stronger than most FEATS, let alone traits! Not gonna happen!

Speaking of feats: The 4 new ones herein are neat, one in particular, which enables the hhundi to temporarily become small, is neat indeed. The pdf also covers how the race views classes and features favored class alternatives for 8 different classes.

The sample Hhundi is actually...a gunslinger! Yes, you heard right! Hhundi love the black powder and a masterwork backpack as well as the crude Hhundi silencer are included with their stats - cool supplemental material and the seeming contradiction in the race and the fondness for technology makes them more interesting.

Conclusion:
editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to PDG's rather printer-friendly 2-column standard and comes with full bookmarks. The artwork of the Hhundi is nice. Apart from the stupid name, I did actually enjoy the race quite a bit - the Hhundi are not easily pinned down into a stereotype and offer a wide array of roleplaying possibilities without dissolving into featurelessness. Rules-wise, they are also rather solid and, with the notable exceptions mentioned above, neither too powerful, nor too weak. On the other hand, said rules are there and feel a bit off and quite frankly, I would have loved to see a bit more on the products they create, as goods say a lot about a culture. The race unfortunately lacks an age, height and weight table. The low price is a plus, but as written; I can't go higher than 3 stars on this one - check it out if the idea of some strange stalking race intrigues you!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fehr's Ethnology: Hhundi [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fehr's Ethnology: Ith'n Ya'roo [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2012 02:57:42
This pdf is 8 pages long, 1 page SRD and 1/2 a page artwork and editorial, leaving 6 1/2 pages of content for the Ith'n Ya'roo...so what exactly are these beings?

The Ith'n Ya'roo are an interesting new race that capitalizes on a the idea of regression - via mating with yetis, humans have transformed into these strange humanoids. If you now expect another evil culture to abhor, you'll be in for a surprise, though - the Ith'n Ya'roo are actually epitomes of the noble savage, being mostly LG and suitable as a PC-race. While their customs include cannibalism, there is no taboo in being eaten and in fact, the usage of one's bones in the crafting of a tribe is considered to be a great honor, especially for weapons - for the Ith'n Ya'roo are perhaps the best bonecrafters in the known world - thus rules for bone weapons and armor are part of the deal.

The horned, tall, shaggy-furred Ith'n Ya'roo get +2 Str and Wis, -4 Int, are monstrous humanoids, medium, gain darkvision, +2 natural armor, hooked horns for a 1d6-natural attack, resistance to cold 5, vulnerability to fire, a bonus on craft checks related to bone and the ability to cast a new spell from this pdf 2/day. While they are fearsome-looking and culturally limited, I think DMs should be careful when allowing such a PC - over all, their abilities seem to be very strong and should be balanced via social stigmata or the like.
ESPECIALLY when using one of the 4 racial traits, or 6 alternate racial traits, some of which are simply OP: Yaroo Bloodspear grants you the Splintering Weapon FEAT. Trait. Feat. There's supposed to be a difference in power, isn't there?. Worse, the Blue Hair alternate trait makes them IMMUNE AGAINST COLD. A trait. Immunity against one whole energy type. At first level. Not gonna happen in my game. Ever. Another trait, where I doubt the usability, is Growler: You sacrifice your starting languages for a 1d3 bite attack. that's worse than the horns. And it's not clear whether this is a primary or secondary natural attack. Either way, it doesn't do enough damage when compared to the attack the race already has. The ability to use a trait to cast icicle dagger and shield simultaneously is also to powerful for a trait. Or it would be if it specified what action this special casting takes - the information is missing.

The 4 racial feats, when compared to the traits, fall almost insultingly flat and range from an ice-based version of stonecunning to using Wis as governing attribute for two of your knowledge skills. Especially when directly compared to the traits, these feats feel like they are actually too weak. We also get 8 favored class alternatives, a discussion on how they relate to classes, but no information on an age, height and weight table, which is a bummer. Instead we get another trait, 2 spells (an icicle dagger and one to reinforce temporarily brittle bone equipment) and a sample NPC.

Said sample NPC, I gladly admit, is my favorite piece of the pdf - an Ith'n Ya'roo alchemist who uses acid-filled bladders instead of exploding flasks and who is a refreshingly non-optimized build. If I do use them in my campaign, I'll be sure to include this cool alchemist.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, though some rules need clarification. Layout adheres to PDG's printer-friendly 2-column standard and also features a truly beautiful full-color artwork I didn't expect to see at this price-point. The pdf comes fully bookmarked, which is another plus. I'm kinda torn on the Ith'n Ya'roo - on the one hand, I love how the fear of degenerating into something wild has been married to the stereotype of the noble savage and what I could glean from their culture interested me. However, their bonecrafting remains somewhat underutilized and, moreover, the race suffers from what I'd call a bit wonky balancing - as written, a DM should be willing to put some stones in the way of the Ith'n Ya'roo PC in order to counteract the increased power when compared to the core-races. And then there are the broken traits. And I mean BROKEN. I like powerful traits that matter, I really do. But they have to be restricted in order to remain what they are supposed to be. Good examples would be RiP's "101 Pirate & Privateer"-traits. In contrast, the Ith'n Ya'roo traits are almost ridiculously powerful, while their racial feats frankly suck. All in all, I'm missing the crucial age, height and weight-table (when do they crash through the ice?), perhaps some unique items and some fleshing out of the whole culture (what about starting wealth?). On the other hand, the pdf is very cheap. Going over it again and again, I can't bring myself to rate this higher than 2.5 stars, though - there are too many mechanical hick-ups that add up and tarnish the per se great idea of the race. Unfortunately, I feel like I have to round down for that one.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fehr's Ethnology: Ith'n Ya'roo [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 136 to 150 (of 244 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates