DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stock Portraits: Female Half-Elf
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2012 03:15:04
A perfect image for portraying either elven or half-elven. Clean lines and good imagery, exactly what one wants from their stock art.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Portraits: Female Half-Elf
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AL3: Through the Cotillion of Hours [DCC]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2012 05:11:10
This pdf is 20 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 17 pages of content, so let's check this out!

This being a locale/adventure-sourcebook, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.

Still here? All right! This pdf can be considered a sidequest that can be inserted into your DCC-campaign as soon as the players have a significant quest on their hands - they are invited to the Cotilion of Somnos, the dreaming god and petition the god to fulfill their request.

Rather interestingly, the characters may encounter dream analogues of themselves, warped by dreamstuff and wearing masks - for example a cat-mask means that the respective character's otherwise identical analogue is of the opposite gender and strangely alluring to the character, while harlequin masks mean that the respective character's alignment is reversed. Now while that is unusual, more unusual is that splitting the party actually makes sense and that the module is supposed to be interspersed throughout multiple dreams, essentially constituting a dream-adventure in addition to regular explorations. Beyond this, time is also highly malleable, resulting is spells gaining instantaneous durations or having a spell last until the respective caster leaves the room, resulting in phenomena of fireballs hanging mid-air and similar appropriately weird modifications. Death in dreams may send you into a permanent coma and spellburn and patron favors extend from dreams to the real world.

The location of Somnos' Cotilion is iconic to say the least, allowing the characters to dance with their nightmares, navigate an endless hallway, engage in intimate liaisons, experience weird memories that may or may not belong to you. The players may also find a fountain of strange statues devoted to cats (including a potentially deadly alien cat) and finally navigate the great ballrooms, dance with goat-footed musicians and dance the waltz of years that erodes away their personality. In order to reach Somnos, though, they will have to answer (or vanquish) the deadly dream ghouls that feats on the years and best their own pallid reflections.

Information to invoke Somnos as a patron is included in the pdf as well, as are three versions of the maps as high-res jpegs for VTT-use - with and without DM-map keys. Neat!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked. Artworks are nothing to write home about, but reminiscent of old-school modules and rather neat when taking the low price into account. Wow! Daniel J. Bishop has not only created a hauntingly iconic sidetrek that oozes creativity, he has done so with flair and elegance, showing a working knowledge of the DCC-rules and providing a locale that is simple excellent and awesome. Even if you don't use the DCC-rules, you will still find oh so deliciously many awesome ideas herein that a purchase is not only a good idea, but actually wholeheartedly recommended by me, especially at the very low and fair price of admission. My final verdict will be 5 stars +endzeitgeist seal of approval.
Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AL3: Through the Cotillion of Hours [DCC]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fehr's Ethnology: Zendiqi [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2012 02:57:59
This installment of the Fehr's Ethnology-series is 11 pages long, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement and combined logo/editorial/etc 1/2 a page, leaving us with approximately 8.5 pages of content, so let's check these out!

The Zendiqi, as becomes readily apparent from the short, aptly-written fluffy introduction, are a sub-breed of humans influenced by their very distinct culture: The Zendiqi were actually the native population of the now-patchwork-world Porphyra before the NewGod-war that forever changed the setting. Culturally, they are atheists worshipping the elemental forces and fighting against the agents of the divine ad the incursions of the humanoids that have invaded and conquered and forever changed their lands.

Zendiqi get + 2 to an ability-score of their choice, + 1 to atk vs. gnomes and dwarves, +4 on con-checks and fort-saves to avoid fatigue, exhaustion and ill effects from environments, running, forced marches, starvation and thirst, +2 to AC and grapple checks vs. divine spellcasters, can detect the auras of divine spellcasters as per detect evil/good/law/chaos, +2 to saves vs. divine spells and apply -2 per character level to healing gained by positive or negative energy and gain resistance 5 against a chosen element. The race comes with full age, height and weight tables and 4 race traits for improved bone weapon handling, camel-riding, +1 to confirm crits and damage on crits and access to knowledge religion as a class skill and +1 to it. They also get 6 different alternate racial characteristics to make Zendiqi abandon their philosophy, a trait that helps sorcerors of specific bloodlines, +1 to disable device check and knowledge (engineering)-check, traits that allow the Zendiqi to focus their racial hatred towards elves or green-skins instead of the short folk as well as a characteristic that allows for more accepting Zendiqi that seek a path of acceptance.

There also are new feats for Zendiqi: One that allows the race to improve its resistance against elements, one that gets rid of bone-weapon drawbacks and improves intimidation, a feat for a devastating mounted charge, a dervish-feat that lets you add dex-mod to atk and damage when 1-hand-wielding scimitars, more resistance vs. the desert and the ability to heal yourself via godless meditation techniques. The feats also include a 3-feat mini-feat tree based on the sidewinder style feat, which increases the reach of your 5-foot-step to 10 feet and allow the practitioner to kick up dirt and sand to get +1 to AC and impose -1 to hit on opponents. The style also grants 1/2 class-level to bluff and improves your feinting capabilities and finally also dealing 1 point of dex-damage vs. feinted opponents.

After these rules, we are introduced to the race's take on the respective classes, favorec lass options for alchemists, barbarians, cavaliers, fighters, sorcerors and wizards as well as two new class options: The wildblooded Malahna Bloodline, that changed the elemental sorceror bloodline by replacing elemental resistance and allows the sorceror to emit rays that damage aura-bearing characters and heals non-aura-bearing casters. There also is a new cavalier-order herein, the order of the Sirocco, which represents the camel-riding elite chargers of the Zendiqi.

We also get a sample level 1 fighter.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to a 2-column standard that is generally printer-friendly and the 1-page artwork of the Zendiqi is awesome. The pdf is fully bookmarked with nested bookmarks. The fluff, the abilities, the well-balanced unique racial feats - while entwined with the background of Porphyra, are simply awesome and could easily be transported to other settings. let me spell it out: The unique culture of the Zendiqi hinted at in this book actually makes me SO want to include these interesting xenophobic beings with their ideologies and struggles into my game and that is something that only very rarely happens. Balancing between being easy to insert and unique, this is one of the very best installments of the series so far and gains my full recommendation at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fehr's Ethnology: Zendiqi [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AL3: Through the Cotillion of Hours [DCC]
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/13/2012 12:23:34
This is an adventure like no other, one that if done properly will live in your group's collective memory for years to come. So what is so unusual about it? For a start, it comes billed as being for any number of characters of any level.

The concept is quite simple. When the characters are asleep, their 'dream selves' awaken in the halls of a deity. There's a party going on, a cotillion or formal ball. But if they can find their way to the deity, Somnos the Dreaming God, they can ask a favour or boon. Simple, huh? And safe, seeing as they aren't really there...

As well as the characters, the dance is being attended by 'dream analogues' which are masked and costumed aspects of the characters themselves - perhaps the opposite gender, perhaps able to offer a word of wisdom or a prophecy about that character - and these bob in and out of existence in a random manner, dreamlike in its surreal nature.

Things - and spells - work differently too, although the characters have access to the items and knowledge that they have in the waking world. Life and death, as well: and although damage isn't real, being injured or killed in this dream world may have ramifications when (if?) the character awakens.

As well as rules for making all this wierdness happen, there is a floorplan and detailed notes of the dream world in which the Cotillion is being held. Study the descriptions carefully, they're designed to help you make this a truly odd and dreamlike experience for your players, never mind their characters! There are all manner of odd sights and strange events for them to negotiate... and the really neat thing? If you so choose, you can always use it again with the same characters later on in your campaign.

This is an original idea well-presented. Other adventures that I have read for various game systems have presented 'dream sequences' and indeed this works best as a dream dropped into an ongoing adventure or campaign, but this is a complete dream-based adventure in its own right, giving you a chance to take matters in a quite unexpected direction.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AL3: Through the Cotillion of Hours [DCC]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Skulk
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2012 23:54:37
A simple scene, useful as a player reference when a particular unusual creature is in play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Skulk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Lightning Lizard
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2012 01:59:46
This being the first piece of stock art I have purchased from this artist, I have to say Dizon's work is very impressive. As good as the Behir looked here in sample, it really comes into its own when you can see it at full size...and the grey scale image is a far superior to the colored in my opinion. An excellent image for this creature overall...now if only we could talk Michael into drawing a companion piece, perhaps unfolded to show the behir's size better? What? A guy can hope...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Lightning Lizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AL3: Through the Cotillion of Hours [DCC]
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2012 19:03:47
Through the Cotillion of Hours is a DCC RPG Adventure from Purple Ducks Games, and is the third in the Adventure Locations series.

Now, Through the Cotillion of Hours is not your normal adventure, either for the DCC RPG or pretty much any D&D type game (it should be noted that I think this would work well in ANY OSR game system, not just the DCC RPG). This is an adventure taking place in the realm of sleep, a dream world if you will. The players will have the opportunity to achieve something that they are questing for.

Since it is far from your usual adventure setting (and the adventure itself can kick off in the midst of another adventure) the usual rules don't necessarily follow. Time is the players' greatest foe, and it's passage is not always constant or consistant.

It is not a combat driven adventure (although players could certainly turn it into one). It's puzzle driven. Well, maybe not puzzle driven totally either. It requires thought. Not in the impossible "Lich Dungeon" manner either.

It's also a reusable adventure. If players fail in achieving their goal the first time, they may get summoned again at a later time. I like the whole concept, because it is not the normal adventure one would expect in any sense of the word.

The map is well done, and the inclusion of a unlabeled players map is always a boon for online groups. Purple Duck does a very good job with this as always.

Scott Ackerman does the art. Have I said enough great stuff about Scott's work (which also graces the header of this blog)? Much awesomeness. The piece I have above is one of Scott's works from the interior of the adventure. The cover is nice too, but this piece speaks more about the adventure than I can put into words.

If I were to make one suggestion, maybe the pieces could be put together again in the back of the adventure, for use a player aids or visuals. It's always shame when great art is seen only by one of the 5 or more people at the (virtual) gaming table. When I get a chance to run this, it will be with all the art saved and ready to be shown to the players when appropriate to set the mood and tone.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AL3: Through the Cotillion of Hours [DCC]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Half-Orc Witch
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2012 15:25:35
Another awesome image (or rather 3) from Purple Duck.

Here is how it typically works for me. I think of some thing I need an illustration of, think that there in no way I can find that, come here to DTRGP and search. And there it is.

I love this half-orc witch and the owl is really cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Half-Orc Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Half-Ogre Dragonslayer
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2012 13:08:49
It says Half-ogre, but it could be a half-giant, half-orc or just a human with odd ears.

In any case the art is great and you get color, grayscale and lineart and an easy to read and use license.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Half-Ogre Dragonslayer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Human Wizard
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2012 13:05:58
My son had a very simple request. He wanted a wizard with a beard, but no hat, throwing a huge fire ball.

Purple Duck Games comes through for me again. Full color, line art and grayscale images.
The only thing that would have made this better for me is if the robes and the fireball were blue.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Human Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legendary Races: Harpy (PFRPG)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/17/2012 06:51:59
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/09/17/tabletop-review-legenda-
ry-races-harpy/

Introduction: This thirty-four page PDF introduces a wonderful amount of information on one of the most horrid monsters ever to haunt the imaginations of role-players, the harpy. This supplement is for the Pathfinder campaign system, but can be easily modified to fit in any fantasy game setting with little or no difficulty. After carefully reading this supplement, my group of Pathfinder players agreed with my general assessment that this product as a whole breathes new life into the stereotypical harpy that most gamers are accustomed to from earlier editions of the game.

Contents: Within this supplement is contained a lot of information on harpies and their lot. Topics such as their creation via old legends, harpy physiology, habitat and society of the harpy, different types of harpies to include the civilized harpy, archetypes that harpies can assume, harpy feats, harpy adventurers, equipment that harpy use, spells, and so on. The amount of information is absolutely awesome. After reading and playtesting some of the content within, the harpy has gone through a phenomenal revision that will amaze the players who encounter them on their travels in whatever fantasy campaign system is utilized.

Some of the highlights that I personally found worthwhile, of great interest, and of possible use in a future game or so was the concept of civilized harpies. No longer are all harpies considered brutal man-killing machines of pure evil, but now, they can be members of the local populace in a city setting. The civilized harpies are not full fledged harpies, but a mere variant, so they do not get all the natural abilities that most enjoy from the monster book of choice, but gain them while gaining experience points and leveling. I found the overall design of the harpy class to be balanced in almost every aspect. Well done job on this new race.

The sections on the harpies physiology, habitat, and society will assist a DM greatly in ensuring that harpies are presented in such a way that makes sense based on the information given. Also, the information on how harpies use classes provide a whole array of new concepts as far as abilities for those classes. The thought of encountering a raged harpy barbarian , a bomb-throwing harpy alchemist, or a spell-slinging harpy sorcerer is just too good to describe. The concept of a hex-throwing harpy witch was just too classy. Two harpy archetypes were presented; the Black Pit Corrupter (antipaladin) and the Goetic Summoner (summoner) and those will challenge a party of adventurers with considerable danger.

The Harpidite is introduced in this supplement as a throwback and not as a crossbreed. These harpidites are more human in appearance, more beautiful in appearance, unable to fly due to smaller wings, and usually driven away by their harpy kin to be raised by humans or other races. The harpidite race and class is covered in great detail and surprisingly very balanced. Along with all the general traits, bonuses to stats, natural abilities and whatnot, a whole list of feats specifically for this harpidite race is provided, making them very diverse in their choices if they were to be adventurers.

Since I am on the subject of Harpy adventurers, there are some examples of those provided. Pazuzu, King of the Wind Demons who is widely worshiped by those of the harpy/harpidite race is mentioned, and all relevant information, such as stat blocks and domain (for clerics) are provided on this very evil entity.

Harpies, like any other intelligent tool-utilizing race, can use equipment just as well as their enemies. A section is provided on some of the equipment they can utilize, whether it be magical items, armor, or weapons.

A section covers a variety of harpies which will certainly prove dangerous to encounter, such as the Vortex Harpy, Reaper Harpy, Feaster Harpy, Famine Harpy and others… a comprehensive list of spells are also provided that have been specifically designed for harpies that both adventurers and wandering encounters can utilize to their advantage.

Positive Notes: This is one of the better third party supplements that I truly enjoyed reading on my off nights. My Pathfinder group found it to be very fulfilling in many areas, and it certainly brought light unto a very misinterpreted race, albeit a deadly one. The art contained was good. The document as a whole was brilliantly designed and it was easy to read. It was well formatted and the large number of stat blocks provided for all of the additional monsters and so on were superbly done. I found the inclusion of classes from the Pathfinder Advanced Player’s Guide to be exemplary. Overall, the information provided in this PDF was stunning. It will provide a ton of information for many a gaming session and, once again, allowed an infamous creature to reenter the game as a more powerful adversary for the players to encounter.

Negative Notes: The harpy has always been portrayed as an evil race and I found it slightly odd that the civilized harpy race can be any alignment. Despite the fact that the civilized harpy is discarded to be left for dead, slain by another horrible creature, or destroyed by fearful villagers, the civilized harpy’s alignment would be limited to any non-good due to its very nature. DM’s who allow this race to be played by the player’s will have to make that determination. More art would have been nice but the well done content within made up for that.

Overall Review: This is a superb product. It is impressive in every detail provided and the information contained will ensure a DM has many a surprise for his/her players. The concepts contained will keep the players on edge as they encounter the new and revised harpy as never seen before. This is certainly a must have in any DM’s repertoire of monster books/PDF’s.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Races: Harpy (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legendary I: Legendary Blades [PFRPG]
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2012 11:11:03
I love this resource. Even if you don't use all the blades as written they will get the creative juices flowing. I really can't wait to start awarding a coupe to my group this fall. I think they'll really dig the backgrounds (which can be easily adapted to any setting).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary I: Legendary Blades [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Kobold Bard
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2012 02:03:19
Come on, seriously? It's a kobold...it's a bard...what more can you possibly want? This little dude is freaking awesome!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Kobold Bard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Egyptian Gnoll
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2012 01:59:08
Quite possibly one of my favorite pieces of stock art I've come across to date. I don't even have a present usage for it and I picked it up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Egyptian Gnoll
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Trapped
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 17:10:20
It's always good to find yourself needing a piece of art, and finding that an artist out there has once again read your mind, and just released something that is perfect. Brian Brinlee and the rest of the crew at Purple Duck must be working overtime to keep up with my mental madness, as they always seem to have just what I need, when I need it. Thanks folks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Trapped
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 91 to 105 (of 241 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates