DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
AL1: Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror [DCC]
by Marvin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2012 13:45:57
The DCC RPG is a fun game, and this is a particularly fun module. My group really enjoyed battling the creepy monsters and had a great time overall.

It's a short module and can be played in 1-2 sessions. The layout is well done and the text is clear and easy to read, which is important for me as my eyesight starts to fade.

Definitely a good purchase, especially at this price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AL1: Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror [DCC]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AL1: Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror [DCC]
by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/12/2012 03:25:52
Spoilers ahead

I read Bone Hoard after reading Goodman Game's People of the Pit and Free RPG Day 2012 adventures, and just can't say that I was as thrilled by this adventure. It's not a bad one. It's your typical "mage dies and adventurers investigate his long-lost dungeon". But, aside from a terrifically terrible "it'll suck out the bones from your body and taunt your friends with what's left" monster, there's not *that* much you haven't seen in, say, your typical D&D adventure. I think had the author had designed the scenario more heavily around the theme of "bone and flesh", it would have more impact. But, as it stands, I'm waiting for Goodman Game's next release.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fehr's Ethnology: Xesa [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2012 16:31:30
This installment of the Fehr's Ethnology-series is 12 pages long with about 3 pages being used for editorial, SRD and advertisement, leaving thus about 9 pages of content, so let's check this out!

As has become the tradition of the series, this installment kicks off with IC-prose before getting into the racial traits: Xesa get 4 to Int, -2 to Wis and Str, are plant-like humanoids (can be affected as plants and humanoids, bur are immune to paralysis, polymorph and poison), are medium-sized, slow, get low-light vision, get 50% damage from cold effects, don't generate any scent, can duplicate eagle's splendor and sanctuary 1/day via pheromones and use continually speak with plants.

Spawned from men that got addicted to the pheromones of a carnivorous magic plant, the Xesa have evolved into a strange hybrid people: They have a dividing line at which they break asunder to become new entities and then there are the undivided - a ruling-class sans the means to reproduce. In spite of this peculiarity, age, height and weight tables and explaining notes make it rather simple to grasp the way the race works.

The rqace also comes with 4 well-balanced race traits and 6 alternate racial traits that enable you to become a cultist of sun or kmoon (including spell-like abilities), focus more on arcane glyphs rather than plants or even belong to the ruling caste of undivided. The pdf also provides 4 racial feats, enabling Xesa to draw HP from sunlight (but sickening you for a short time), use plants to enhance your bardic performance and two feats that help one survive (skill-bonuses) and gain bonuses to knowledge.

A discussion of all classes (CORE, APG, UM, UC PDG's Rook) and the Xesa's take on them (mini-hooks) are provided before we get the supplemental material for Xesa Druids in a reprint of theplant bond ability of the Treesinger as well 4 plant "animal"-companions: Carnivorous flowers, crawling vines, puffballs (Floating fungi, baby!) and sapling treants.

The pdf also provides favored class alternatives for alchemist, druid, fighter, magus, ranger, witch and wizard. Also included in the deal is Po-Ta, a Xesa witch and 3 new spells: One to make animals mad, one that makes gear more vulnerable and a spell that may let one seem undead with regards to detect spells - cool to finally see a low-level counter-measure for the annoying detect undead spell.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to PDG's 2-column standard and the one piece of artwork, a full page showing off a Xesa is mind-boggling in its disturbing beauty and something I definitely wouldn't have expected to see at that low of a price-point. The pdf comes with full nested bookmarks. When I saw the Xesa attribute modifiers and immunities I groaned. Seriously. I thought: Oh now, a race geared towards power-gaming in a specific direction, certainly much more powerful that other races. Well, turns out that the Xesa are actually neatly balanced - slow speed, vulnerability to either cold or fire and the ability to be hit by both plant and humanoid spells offset the bonuses they receive in a precarious balance. Add to that the fact that the none of the supplemental material felt unbalancing to me and we get a race that is geared towards the thinking classes and comes with a very strong feeling of alien creepiness. Due to the balancing being solid and me enjoying the race and its uncommon premise and execution, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars.
Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fehr's Ethnology: Xesa [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
AL1: Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror [DCC]
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/05/2012 09:15:29
I've been dying to talk about AL-1, Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror (by Daniel Bishop) for nearly two weeks now. How can that be when it was just released this morning? Purple Duck Games was nice enough to send me a preview copy of Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror to peek at and it was damn good. I just wasn't able to talk about it. Grrrr!

First things first - it's a 2nd level adventure, and at the moment the only second level adventure released for the DCC RPG. Which means I probably won't have a chance to run it until September or later, but that is fine.

The map is laid out like a classic fantasy RPG dungeon map, and it looks great. I should mention at this point that there is a copy of the Referee's map at the end of the adventure, but this time without the rom numbers. The unnumbered map is also included as a hi-res stand alone JPG. Yep, Purple Duck Games understands what is useful to enhance a game session being run online via one of the various VTTs or even Google+ Hangouts. It's little things like this that mean a lot.

Did I mention that the PDF is bookmarked? Unlike larger PDFs, this wasn't needed, but again is a nice touch and certainly useful for navigation.

I am going to make one small suggestion for the future - maybe a second copy of the GM's map can be added in the next release (this suggestion applies to pretty much all adventure publishers). It would make reading the PDF that much easier if I could have a copy of the map and a copy of the PDF side by side on my monitor as I read through the adventure. If you think about it, this is why the early TSR adventures were printed on the inside of the removable adventure cover - so the map and the text could be read side by side. Just a thought.

Back to the adventure. There are a handful of magic items. Nearly all are single use, and maybe not even that many uses. Still, a party that perseveres to the end should be amply rewarded. Well, maybe not amply, but rewarded on some level ;)

As for the adversaries, they range from strength in numbers to damn dangerous on their own, which is one of the reasons I like the DCC RPG so much - everything can be a threat.

I'd love to delve deeper into the adventure itself - it is a wizard's workshop and you can guess that much of the fun is related to that fact, but I'd hate to give away a spoiler. I suspect it will be a decent challenge to a 2nd level DCC RPG party and I look forward to running it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AL1: Bone Hoard of the Dancing Horror [DCC]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Fehr's Ethnology: Dragonblood [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2012 02:18:58
This installment of Perry Fehr's Ethnology-series is 10 pages long, with a total of about 3 pages of editorial/SRD/advertisement, leaving 7 pages of content, so let's check out the Dragonblooded, so what are they?

Dragonblooded are noble beings descendant from the dragons and they get 2 to Con and Cha, but -2 to Wis, 1 to bluff and diplomacy, 2 to caster-level checks to overcome SR and 2 to spellcraft when casting magic weapons, 2 to sunder and strength-checks to break objects, 1 natural armor and 1/2 level to saves against poisons. The pdf also includes information on how to tell regular humans, elves, half-elves etc. from dragonblooded and an extensive ecology-section, including age, height and weight tables.

The race also includes 4 race traits as well as 7 alternate racial traits to create small dragonblooded from halfling and gnome stock, orc-blooded dragonblooded and even ones that have access to some minor spell-like abilities due to their stock - none of the options felt unbalanced to me. The pdf also contains 6 new racial feats that enable dragonblooded characters to defend allies, get elemental resistances, a bonus to saves against charm, paralysis and compulsion and one that is interesting: Magic Sense lets the dragonblooded detect magic at will and use perception instead of Knowledge (arcana) and spellcraft to discern magic item properties and auras. Another feat makes you immune against magical sleep and cut down the rest you need to 4 hours per night. My favorite feat, though, would be Wallbreaker: By sundering against the DC of the wall, a dragonblooded can move half his movement and leave handholds smashed into the wall. Can you see it in your mind's eye? Awesome!

The Dragonblooded's approach to all classes is covered and we get favored class options for barbarians, bards, cavaliers, fighters, oracles, rooks, sorcerors and summoners.

The pdf closes with a sample player-character, Rhyatha Scything Blade, a dragonblooded samurai. That statblock lacks the "1" in the class-levels, which also constitutes the only editing glitch I found.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I only noticed one glitch. Layout adheres to a printer-friendly 2-column standard and the one piece of full-color artwork is evocative and awesome. The pdf comes with full bookmarks. Apart from the Enukae, this is by far my favorite installment of the series so far - iconic, cool, balanced the Dragonblooded not only takes an iconic concept in fantasy, it also delivers an excellent take on the concept and provides solid, balanced rules. The Wallbreaker-feat is iconic in the extreme and due to the low price, and the lack of crucial glitches/thing to complain about, I'm going to settle for a final verdict of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fehr's Ethnology: Dragonblood [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Purple Duck Stock 3 - Blessed Book
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2012 13:30:24
These stock art options are perfect for spot art. High quality, high resolution, and there's no guess work as to what's included like some of the bundled stock art packages. And for $2, you can't go wrong.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Purple Duck Stock 3 - Blessed Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Purple Duck Stock 24 - Dagger and Scabbard
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2012 13:28:59
Purple Duck's stock art is good quality at very affordable prices. You get exactly what you're expecting and being able to pick a la carte makes it even better.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Purple Duck Stock 24 - Dagger and Scabbard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Gods of Porphyra [PFRPG]
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2012 14:38:32
This pdf is 45 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages of SRD and 1 page advertisement, leaving 40 pages of content - quite a bunch for this new pantheon, so let's check out these gods!

Porphyra, until recently, as the aptly written introduction tells us, was a world without gods - and then elves and orcs united and saw their world almost torn asunder by the arrival of gods and the integration of the respective divinity's domains. That's about the general gist on the fluff-side. Beyond that, this pdf is also the open faith project, making all these deities actually open content and thus potentially available to other 3pps - but should one rejoice and hope people take up on the offer this pdf provides? It should be noted, that each of the gods herein has 4 domains and 4 subdomains - Speaking of them: The pdf provides the new art and time domains, with the movement, sound, future and past subdomains before providing a nice two-page spread-sheet of the deities that includes all domains, favorite animals etc. - all the essential information you'd need on about two pages.

After that, we delve into the individual write-ups of the gods, which follow a similar style as in "Gods & Magic" - i.e., we start with a selection of epithets, worshipers, domains and sub-domains, favored animals and weapons and get information on the legend of the god, the church that worships him/her/it, information on the god's respective unique spell preparation ritual, a unique full-color artwork of the god's symbol and also two new religion-traits per deity.

But what about the deities? Well, they actually are rather interesting - take for example the "Voice of Corruption" Eshalqua, dark patron of business, crime and arts - yes, you read right. What at first may seem eclectic actually makes sense when reading the god's entry. Fenris Kul, as the name promises, is a god linked to the end times - born of a deific purge, the deity now seeks to craft a burning throne from the remnants of the world and its gods. In contrast to these dark ones, e.g. Ithreia stands in her 3 forms (old, young, mature) as the goddess of the sea, storms and prophecies while Forgefather Linium, the god of clockworks, blacksmiths and labor (btw. associated with spiders!) serves as a surprising twist on the type of deity. And then there is Mâl - god of the apocalypse, destroyer, chained god, destroyer of worlds and creature that seeks to transform everything into the likeness of his dread domain.

Nemyth Vaar, god of betrayal, revenge and murder also has a place in society, it seems - able to draw truth from the gibbering madness of the insane, these "holy" worshippers are predisposed to staffing asylums - or ending up as inmates. Nemyth Vaar also gets an extra page of origin fluff! Not all gods are evil, mind you: There is also a goddess of soldiers and darkness, waiting and creating opportunities for mortals to take, a god of the sun and knowledge and the oracles of the dreaming goddess Neria that seeks to serve as a benevolent guide of fate. The absolute opposite would be Rajuk Amon-Gore - a child that lived through the NewGod wars of Porphyra, the deity ascended by immorally stabbing and consuming a nascent godling fated to heal the world, signifying and propagating thus the ultimate immoral end of existence, not with a scream, but with a whimper - to paraphrase T.S.Elliot.
More suitable and enticing for players, perhaps, would then be the worship of Tulis, goddess of martyrs and defiance or of the grand lion Thoma Thule, the King of Kings and newly risen god of absolute rule and order. Ul'Ul, mad maiden and mistress of dance once was a regular goddess of rain and dance that was driven insane by captivity through one Eshalquan mage, representing a dangerous, if not malevolent form of unpredictability.

It should be noted that this review has only scratched the surface of the gods contained herein and that the pdf also contains additional content in the form of new creatures: We get the new M^lite-template that makes creatures appropriately disturbing, resin-spined and gigeresque and two sample Mâlites, one of which, the Custodian, can be seen as a walking Mâlite factory, spreading the taint of the dread divinity. Both creatures get awesome, beautiful full-color, one page artworks - Nice! 13 new spells complete the offering of this pdf, mostly dealing with the new domains and its concerns.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to PDG's printer-friendly 2-column standard and comes with a nice plethora of full color artwork I wouldn't have expected from this pdf, much less at this price-point. The pdf comes with extensive bookmarks.
I'll say it right away from the bat: didn't expect to like this pdf.

Porphyra, yet another fantasy world it seemed. I expected generic gods that had to stick to confining, general profiles. I was wrong.
Instead, I was positively surprised by the cool ideas (NewGod war, patchwork nature of the world etc.) I could glean of PDG's setting and the fact that the deities herein are not boring: Each and every god and goddess herein features at least one, most of the time multiple twists on the basic concepts of a god - you'll find no run-of-the-mill fire/blacksmith-god, no foe of the undead/sun god and instead get a nice array of deities with intriguing, exciting concepts, cool imagery etc. - in the end, I wanted to know more about the world, more about the deities, more about their holy books and clergy - and that is a great sign. The team of authors has managed to walk the line and create a pantheon that is both easy to use by other 3pps or DMs, while still making the individual write-ups feel unique. Seeing my lack of complaints and the top-notch level of quality this pdf provides for its low price, I'll settle for a final verdict of 5 stars, only omitting my seal of approval because I would have loved a sample holy tome for each deity.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Gods of Porphyra [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Gods of Porphyra [PFRPG]
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/17/2012 12:23:29
The raison d’etre of the Open Game License is to allow others to reuse that which a publisher declares Open Game Content; 99% of the time, this allows for various game mechanics to be shared. But what about sharing various non-mechanical aspects of game design? In that area, most publishers are highly conservative, apparently afraid that someone will take their characters and settings and make a twisted mockery of them. Every so often, however, you’ll find an RPG book that allows for something like its settings, characters, or even deities to be Open.

The Gods of Porphyra (aka The Open Faiths Project) is one of those books.

A forty-five page book featuring twenty-seven new deities and some associated new game crunch, Gods of Porphyra’s technical presentation makes a good showing of itself. Full nested bookmarks are present for every section and subsection and copy and paste is enabled. In regards to artwork, the book appears more spartan than it actually is, lacking in page borders. However, each god has an image on the center of the page of their holy symbol, and the two new monsters in the book each have a full-page, full-color image. This strikes a very nice balance between being overloaded with graphic design and being utterly utilitarian; other PDF publishers could learn from the presentation here.

The book opens with a brief note from the publisher and some information about the Porphyra setting. Interestingly, though perhaps not surprisingly, the Open Game nature of the setting takes the in-game stance of having the OGC materials come from other realities and dimensions. Hence how the gods here are all non-native deities that arrived to what was previously a godless world. Two new clerical domains, Art and Time, are presented, each having two new subdomains as well.

The book helpfully opens its main section on the new gods with a two-page chart, listing all of the deities and their pertinent information for at-a-glance reference. Each deity is given a single-page write-up, beginning with their “statistical” information in terms of their alignment, domains, favored weapon, etc. I do commend Purple Duck Games for remembering to give us subdomains here, though they did forget to include inquisitions (though to be fair, that’s an easy oversight to make). The majority of the one-page information presents us with the “Legend” section, which tells us of how that deity came to be, and the “Church” section, discussing how that god’s followers conduct themselves in terms of organization and activities.

Interestingly, each also has a paragraph dedicated to “Spell Preparation Ritual” which is the rite by which divine spellcasters of that god regain their spells each day. I enjoyed this section, since it’s little bits of flavor text like this that help to differentiate between clerics of various deities. There’s a mechanical flipside to this in that each deity also has two new religion traits presented, each specific to what it means to be a followers of that particular god.

I had somewhat mixed feelings about the presentation of the various deities. On the one hand, there were some story elements I disagreed with, as some of the legends about where these deities came from seemed off for how deities are usually portrayed in a game world. However, perhaps ironically, that actually makes the in-game mythological nature of these legends more “realistic” in terms of presentation – after all, to the residents of the campaign setting, there probably are no “rules” for how gods function.

Two new monsters are presented, being the creatures of a specific deity. The first is a template with an associated sample creature, while the second is a new monster unto itself. About a dozen spells, all of which are granted from the aforementioned new domains and subdomains, are the book’s final presentation. Some of these may seem familiar if you’re a wider reader of Pathfinder-compatible products, as they all seem to come from other third-party materials, though most likely the majority of them will seem new to you.

Overall, I quite liked what The Gods of Porphyra presents. Knowing the book’s Open nature gives it a feeling of utility, that the publisher is not only making these allowable for re-use, but is actively encouraging us to do so. That’s a feeling that I think should be more prevalent among OGL publishers, especially where setting-based elements of campaign worlds are concerned. Beyond that, the crunch is without any flaws that I saw, and the flavor text is good, though focusing on the Patchwork World of Porphyra more than I suspect most other publishers will want to carry over. Still, it’s good to see some deities presented under the OGL. With any luck, we’ll be seeing them again soon.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2012 04:18:42
The second level of PDG's old-school dungeon delve in the purple mountain is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 4 pages SRD/advertisement, leaving 22 pages of content, including one page map, so let's check this out!

This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

Still here? All right!

Having jumped in the meat grinder/waste disposal shaft in the temple of the vermin lord and being received enthusiastically by a hungry, young otyugh, the PCs enter what once was a nice little Dwarven colony - unfortunately for the PCs, emphasis lies on the "was" - the colony was wiped by a twofold threat - an assault of yellow musk creepers and plant horrors like violet fungi and jinkins, a subtype of troublemaking gremlin.
Three sample hooks are given if you don't plan on running Purple Mountain as a dungeon delving campaign (or if you do and want further enticement to lure the PCs deeper...) and two sample booby traps to spring on PCs as well as a random encounter table is provided for - and you'll be using these, for the dungeon is presented as an organic sandbox, often providing guidelines for reactions of the respective faction to incursions like the setting of new traps and the like.

Due to the jinkin's propensity for traps, rogues are going to have a lot to do on this level, as will rangers and druids, who'll have an adversary in the leader of the plant monsters -a recently arrived troglodyte druid, who makes for one of the two bosses of the level, with the other one being the jinkin sorceror who leads the little pests. It should also be noted that a nice d12-table for jinkin-cursed water is given as well as a total of 8 additional traps, not including aforementioned modular traps. Full stats for a fungal leshy, slurks, jinkins, the NPCs, the poltergeist and the blind undead dwarven Blindbraun that guards the broken lift are provided as well as a nice b/w-map of the level.

Have I mentioned e.g. a superheated door that should prove to be rather interesting?

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches while reading this pdf. Layout adheres to a printer-friendly two-column full-color standard and provides some nice full-color artworks of the NPCs and some monsters. The b/w-cartography is nice, though I would have liked a player-friendly version of the map sans traps etc. to cut up and hand out to the players as they go. The pdf comes with one bookmark only, which leads me to assume that something went wrong there. The pdf is also hyperlinked to the Grand OGL Wiki, if you're using it on a laptop or tablet. Generally, I liked this exploration of the second level of the Purple Mountain - the locations are flavorful, the traps neat and mostly logical and the creatures make for a dynamic dungeon in the hands of a capable DM. However, Dms should be aware that without someone to find traps, there'll be pain galore here for the PCs. The creatures and Npcs are unconventional, the design per se solid, and thus I'll settle for a final verdict of 4 stars - a nice dungeon level that could be used as a stand-alone somewhat hampered by the fact that the two bosses are not too exciting and the fact that the bookmarks are messed up and that there's no player-friendly map.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Flaming Skulls
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2012 10:24:10
Visually a truly "cool" graphic with an immense amount of possible uses, the level of artwork is well worth the price point, making this a solid value for stock art options.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Flaming Skulls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/28/2012 13:36:25
Here's a bit of fun for anyone who enjoys running a good 'dungeon crawl' adventure! Whilst it's Level 2 of a massive multi-layer complex burrowed deep into the bowels of a mountain, it can be run as a stand-alone dungeon if that suits your needs better. There are notes of how to get your characters to go there, be they coming from Level 1 or arriving direct, and a lot to explore.... and, yes, this IS Purple Duck Games, there's an otyugh in there!

Mostly, though, it was a dwarf mine. As for what is there now... that would be telling! The GM, however, is well-supported with room descriptions and details of traps, devices, inhabitants, and ideas for what to do with them.

This delve will appeal to those who like puzzles, riddles, traps, and combat. It has plenty to keep such characters amused, and on their toes. A nice touch is several 'named' NPCs who have the potential to take on a life of their own down here (if not killed out of hand by the party), and there are new monsters as well as those from other Purple Duck products - don't worry, they are detailed here and referenced to the Grand OGL Wiki site that's Purple Duck's home, so you will have all that you need.

A merry romp for those times when you want to go dungeon-crawling...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Purple Mountain II: Ruins of the Dwarven Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Stirge Trouble
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 20:21:20
Yet another excellent piece from the Ducks, with a full color, line art and B&W rendering, this piece was exactly what I needed, and I was happy to see someone had finally released a Stirge into the world of Stock Art for the small publishers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Stirge Trouble
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Demoness II
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2012 20:18:10
Another excellent piece from Gary Dupois and the folks at Purple Duck Games. Always a good value considering the quality of the art for the price, small publishers would do well to follow Purple Duck Games release schedule for consistent high end usable artwork.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Demoness II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Monstrous Races: The Third Party [PFRPG]
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/19/2012 08:37:29
How often have you thumbed through a monster book and wondered what it would be like to actually PLAY one of them, rather than beat them up and steal their stuff? Even if you're the GM, many of the monsters have potential to be far more than just cannon fodder in your campaign world, if only there was more about what made them tick, not just their combat statistics and capabilities.

Herein are some really odd creatures which can be brought to life if you wish to venture into some really strange concepts. Replete with ideas about attitudes, possible classes and so on within the Pathfinder RPG, we have notes on some of the weirder critters that frequent the pages of the various bestiaries. Whether you want to bring them to vibrant life as part of the varied society in your campaign world, or as a character trying to make his way in an alien world. read on.

In an aquatic setting, perhaps a grindylow appeals. Widely regarded as 'goblins of the sea' these tricksters harbour a vicious hatred for squid and, being amphibious, are able to participate in land adventures as well as those under water, scampering around on their tentacles. Or, possibly more conventional, you fancy being a half-ogre. Often outcasts, considered weaklings by ogres and hulking brutes by everyone else, they present the challenge of being more than the mere muscle-bound hulk everyone assumes you to be.

Ifrits, kval, mahrog... and more... follow in a dazzling succession, each with its potentials and challenges. How to portray such alien beings realisticly, how to make them come alive within the shared alternate reality of your game. Role-players may relish such a challenge, whilst those interested in exploring the new options that these races provide in combat and other abilities will also find plenty to intrigue them. Make your game really fantastic! Let one or two of these beings find their way into your world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monstrous Races: The Third Party [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 121 to 135 (of 238 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates