DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Glimpse the Beyond
by Franklin G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2014 13:00:39
I want to make this clear, I am reviewing based almost solely on the rules contents of the book. I love trying out new RPG's, and I purchase a number of them just to give them a spin without intending to ever run a full multi-session campaign. This book was purchased on a whim because I had previously purchased both editions of Contagion, another game-line from Aegis, and liked it.

I was, overall, less pleased with Glimpse the Beyond. The crunch of the book was mostly well written, the rules are clear and concise, character creation isn't too unwieldy, and overall, the flow of a game session should work well with the rules. A few questions came up during our trial run, but overall, it works well.

The fluff of the book is a little sparse. I feel that the author is trying to give a basic setting that can be incorporated into style urban fantasy story. What we're given works well for that, and further books in the line, which I have not yet purchased, seem to give more concrete setting information to help make the setting your own. On that particular issue, I actually found myself reminiscing about AD&D 2nd edition core rule books, which had no defined setting, which many of my gaming friends loved because it let us make the game our own without restricting us to the author's worldview.

The artwork in the book is where I truly felt the endeavor crashed and burned. I am painfully aware of how hard getting quality art can be, but the 3d rendered images were, quite frankly, awful, and I'm not sure how any of them were supposed to fit into the setting. I also was slightly embarrassed because my gaming group has a female gaming with us, and virtually all, if not actually, of the art was of very scantily clad women in unrealistic outfits. The overall feeling with the book was very "teen-boy fan-service" in this department, which is a shame considering that the rules support a very intelligent and mature game setting.

I would say that over all, I'd break down the rating like this: Rules - 5, Setting - 4, Artwork - 1, with more weight given to rules.

I look forward to downloading the next installment in this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Glimpse the Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review! I look forward to seeing your thoughts on Dreams of the Old Ones, Forbidden Relics and the remainder of the Glimpse the Beyond line! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Found Footage
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/16/2014 09:06:55
Innovative material to drive an investigation, following on the basic premise of a young couple going on a camping trip and disappearing. The scene is set and a variety of possible outcomes provided, leaving you to pick whichever one suits your ongoing campaign the best.

Several suggestions are made as to how the party gets involved in the disappearance. Once they begin investigating there is plenty of material for them to find, background for those who have vanished and in the woods where they were camping. The real gem, though, is a collection of photos and video clips ostensibly from their phones which are provided for you to show to your players.

Various NPCs, including the disappeared couple and some that could appear depending on which outcome you choose are provided, with background notes and full character sheets.

Naturally, there's some work to do before you actually run this as an adventure: it's designed as an adventure seed not a full-blown scenario. However, a straitforward basic premise is well-presented with lots of hints and ideas to get you going, as well as the delightful additional media to use as props. Well worth a look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Found Footage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Megan, So glad to see that you enjoyed Found Footage! We are looking into more enhanced transmedia supplements which will contain additional artwork & handouts, video elements, audio elements and other resources to enhance gameplay. Thanks so much for your review! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Seventy and Sevenfold
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/08/2014 08:25:04
Exploring the underbelly of the city in the shape of a district called Westmore, against a backdrop of a sudden plague of house burglaries and rising gang activity, this scenario can serve as an introduction to Contagion 2e or further an existing campaign.

Westmore is the sort of neighbourhood that even police officers drive through in numbers and without stopping, but fortunately up until now the spate of burglaries, although unpleasant, has not resulted in any deaths. But now the demise of one elderly homeowner unleashes an unprecidented terror that neither gangs nor police can contain... perhaps this is something more suited to the specialist skills of the party?

Several hooks are provided to get the party involved. Maybe they knew the deceased, or have some involvement with the gang that controls Westmore, the South West Crew. Or they may just be in the area and get caught in the crossfire... it's up to you to decide what will work the best.

The adventure itself is left open-ended: it can develop in a number of ways from the initial premise. What's provided is the initial set-up, details of the area and notes on the major players in the area. Just mix in your characters and stand well back. If you enjoy this kind of loose structure to your games, and are able to take these details and run with it, you should be in for a good game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seventy and Sevenfold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for your excellent review! Glad you enjoyed Seventy and Sevenfold!
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:21:08
This is advertised as a Rules-Lite Engine and certainly lives up to that billing. That isn't necessarily a bad thing but it gives me a sense that it's more suited to an evening of "I'm bored, what shall we do" than running a long-term game, or perhaps to running a game at a con or similar where you don't want to explain complex rules and characters to a wide variety of players. That doesn't mean there aren't rules for character advancement - there are - but there's a feeling of such lightness that you think a serious campaign would stretch the rules and require far too many house rules to be genuinely playable as provided.

If you want to run a system with just about any supernatural element you're going to require the Magic-8's additional rules as well.

All of that said... the rules are cogent, coherent and you can pick them up in 5 minutes, from nothing to playing. All you need is some paper (or an iPad or similar) and 2d8. If that's what you need, this is probably the ideal system for you. It's so light, you can add it to any setting and it really ought to fit OK.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Lewis, Thanks so much for the excellent review and the mention of Magic8s! I\'m glad you found the system cogent & coherent! I\'d also recommend the Fantasy8s supplement to any who seek to incorporate supernatural elements as you mention in your review and the Cyber8s supplement for those who like a little sci-fi in their games! I\'d love to hear your thoughts on those as well and thank you again for taking the time to review! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Falling Stars
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2014 18:20:07
Really solid game system. I enjoy the whole "fantastical situations" in the modern day, and I'm intimately interested in gaming in general. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a new alternative to the Big Box RPG's (I'm looking at you, Dungeons & Dragons . . . )!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Falling Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Glad you enjoyed it! Thank you! Travis Legge, Aegis Studios
A Little Adventure
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/26/2014 12:19:35
This presents a useful NPC for any GM to have to hand: a sassy pixie information broker (and treasure hunter./thief) called Devlin Chaplain. In it, you get her full character sheet and background details (along with a charming portrait by Sade), and some delightful extras.

Well, she is a treasure hunter, after all. So here are four magical items that she has, or had at some time. Or might have sometime in the future. Each has not just its full details, stats and an illustration, there is also an adventure seed associated with each one. The items are a Mobile Hide-Site Rifle, a really neat bit of kit if you are a sniper; Nancy's Necklace of Not-so-smallness (which for most people makes them grow to giant size, if you start off pixie-sized you reach medium!); the Ring of Assassin's Advantage and the Vision Pipe. Most of the adventure seeds involve the theft of the item in question, either by Devlin or from her.

There's also a couple of size-related spells: Enlarge and Shrink.

Just a neat little collection that brings something quite fantastical into your campaign world.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed A Little Adventure!
Glimpse the Beyond
by Brent N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2014 10:47:02
Setting info was thin, rules seem alright. The 3d-rendered cheesecake photos didn't seem to fit the attempted tone & frankly made me embarrassed to be reading it.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Glimpse the Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Brent, Sorry to hear you didn\'t enjoy the art. Hopefully you\'ll find the images included within the supplements to be more to your liking and more in tune with the types of games you would like to run in this world. In terms of the sparse setting material, I kept things as concise as I felt I could manage in Glimpse the Beyond to offer an affordable, easy to learn and navigate core setting book. The setting material is expanded upon heavily in the free Glimpse the Beyond Guidebook as well as the robust (and expanding) catalog of supplements, which I intend provide at the lowest price I can manage. As gamer myself, I know that sometimes coming up with the money to try out a new game or to pick up an expansion can be challenging, so I tried to put together something fun, but reasonable that a new group could get into with little trouble. I hope you check out the Glimpse the Beyond supplements and let us know what you think! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the book. Travis Legge
Magic in the New Age
by Sky C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2014 14:46:19
Magic in the New Age from Aegis Studios is an OUTSTANDING module for any gamer that wants to add the mystic world to their campaign!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic in the New Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thank you so much Sky! Glad to hear you enjoyed it!
Contagion Second Edition
by anthony u. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2014 03:10:01
If I were to make a modern d20 rpg, this is pretty much what I would make.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
What better review could one ask for?!? THANK YOU!
Contagion Second Edition
by David V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2014 17:00:55
I was very happy with the 2nd edition of Contagion.

I am going to go over what makes this different. The game clocks in around 600 pages. It is a point buy system without levels.

The book starts with doing point buy based on campaign type street 200 to cosmic 500. Once the point total is decided you go on to buy Callings which are similar to classes. Callings range from martial soldier, slayer, hunter ect to more magical magus/soberer, arcanis/magic user, clergy/cleric ect. Each of the callings have point cost. There are 36 callings. The next is occupations that add benefits like extra skill ranks based on the occupations 30 occupations. These also have point cost. The next thing is race 22 races. Each of these have point cost also based on the power of the race. Some races such as Angels and demons may cost 60, but have allot of extra like immunities and access to some magic through supernatural abilities. There is allot of variety in callings, occupations, and races that can do a variety of things like Supernatural, World of Darkness, and Sleepy Hallow just name few.

Next you buy abilities, skills, and feats. The abilities are strength, agility, stamina, intelligence, awareness, and presence. Although some abilities are slightly different than traditional d20 they are familiar enough. Stamina is similar to con ect. The ability point buy is two per rank=ability score. There is a wide variety of skills to buy 3 per discipline group one point per individual skill. Skill check is d20 plus rank (8=8 ranks) plus ability modifier. This needs to equal or exceed target number. This is how combat works also. There are archery, firearms, hand to hand, thrown, and wrestling these are the combat skills. So roll d20 + appropriate skill rank + stat bonus. Feats tweak your skills such as having the archaic and simple weapon feat allow you to add your hand to hand combat ranks to melee checks.

In the combat section there are several things that are tweaks. defense is Agility + Awareness/2 . Armor adds to defense. The attack roll most equal or exceed defense. Hit points are Stamina+Srength. This does give you a bit more starting hit points, but since there is no level you have to raise either you strength or stamina to raise you hit points. There is no d10 level. This does make things more gritty. There is also bruised -1 to rolls when take hit point damage. Also there is shaken threshold that is based on stamina modifier. once the character drops to the shaken the character suffers an additional minus -2. There is also a massive damage threshold which is your stamina score. Take damage equal or greater than massive damage threshold make fort save DC 15 be reduced to -1 damage. The fort save is strength and stamina modifier. Reflex is the agility and awareness modifiers. The will save is the intelligence and presence modifiers. The death and dying is -1 to -9 one hit point around -10 dead.

There is contagion which is the sum of all of your stats which is energy that fuels magic when used by casters activates certain character abilities and allows things like an extra d10 to rolls and ignore conditions for around.

Magic has affinity which is linked to a stat based on calling magus is stamina and arcanist is intelligence. Magnitude is the strength of the spell. Affinity determines how many spells and the magnitude of the spell that can be cast. There is also psychics who use abilities similar to psionics this works same way as magic.

Overall this was a good game. 5 stars for content. 4 for editing there was some errata issues there is free PDF on the drivethru site. There is also a 80 page free content PDF.

I will also give some props to drivethru they delivered a nice hardback.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks so much for the detailed breakdown and review! I\'m glad to hear you enjoyed the book and hope to hear your thoughts on more of the supplements! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Big Trouble in Little Haiti
by Scott F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 16:00:11
A interesting blend of story seeds that will have beginning characters up and running the seedy streets of Little Haiti in no time at all. The seeds are vibrant and full of roleplaying opportunities.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Trouble in Little Haiti
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Glad to hear that you found it enjoyable! Thank you! Travis Legge, Aegis Studios
Big Trouble in Little Haiti
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/13/2014 06:18:46
This introductory adventure for Contagion 2e sends the characters deep into the steamy underbelly of Miami and into conflict with gangsters and practitioners of the dark arts. The area called Little Haiti has been rife with criminal activity, which has recently died down... but are things actually improving for the area's residents?

Several ideas are provided to get the characters involved in an investigation of Little Haiti. Once there, survival may become as important as discovery as several factions with diverse interests are likely to be unwelcoming however good-intentioned the party...

A few individuals and locations are described, but it is up to the GM to decide what is going on, who is where, and how they will react to the characters' involvement. Fine if you like to 'wing it' but most people will be more comfortable having spent some time planning. However a bonus is a nice collection of new feats, spells and spirits (especially those used in vodou).

Overall, a good setup but in need of development before it can be regarded as an 'adventure' - it's a plot seed and a good one. If your intention is to embed your party in a given locality and have them interact with the other factions there, this could be just what you need to give your campaign a start.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Megan, So glad you found Big Trouble in Little Haiti to be satisfactory! With all the Contagion 2e modules, we aim to provide a basic framework to allow GMs and players to explore the Contagion world easily, but through their individual lens. Our hope is that we can provide enough information to drive plots and foster story telling without spoon-feeding details to the GM. I know that is not everyone\'s cup of chowder, but I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it! Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Contagion Second Edition
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2014 13:40:41
We've played a few sessions of Contagion 2nd Ed now, and we're very much enjoying it. The setting is rich and fun, and character creation is hugely diverse and dynamic. The rules are built on a fairly standard D20 system, so they don't feel unfamiliar, but it's not just a repackaged version of another game and stand quite well on their own. Game play seems to be as balanced as the DM wants it to be, and there's a lot of opportunity to be both player friendly and Lovecraftian as the tone of the story requires. The book itself in frequently injected with bits of lore and short story which are enjoyable. They sometimes get a bit distracting while going through race and calling descriptions, but ultimately I feel like its more helpful to have more than less.

That all sounds pretty good, so why 4 stars instead of 5? My players and I all found the organization within the book to be confusing. It's not uncommon to be attempting to read the rules for something only to be directed to another chapter which may or may not answer your question before directing you back to the chapter you were on to start with. Character Creation especially was difficult to follow at first because the character creation chapter gives brief descriptions of races and callings and the cost to choose them, but you have to go to a different chapter to get the full mechanical information for them. We would sooner have seen the brief descriptions removed or placed in the races and callings chapters. In a physical book I don't think this would be too frustrating to flip back and forth from page to page, but in a PDF it's taking me some time to get the right bookmarks and annotations in place to allow me to follow what I need to follow to make everything work out. This is exacerbated by the table of contents which is designed for the print version of the book. The PDF version is off by about 12 - 15 pages because of the introductory material.

The bottom line is that we really enjoy this game and are very much looking forward to continuing our story. If you do not like games with a fair amount of crunch, you might want to steer clear on this one, and if you're not willing to put the time into jumping around between chapters while you try to puzzle everything out, skip it. If you are willing to put the effort in then you'll find Contagion 2nd Edition to be more than worth the effort.

tl;dr: The setting is excellent and the rules are good, but the book itself could use better organization. We like it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Contagion Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Sean, Thanks so much for the excellent review! I\'m sorry to hear about the organization issues. I know how frustrating it is when you\'re in the middle of a scene, you need to look up some information and you have difficulties finding it. It can really grind the game to a halt. We will look into a few ways to mitigate those organizational issues and update the file as soon as we can implement them! Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Highway to Hell 2: Return to Flora
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/06/2013 15:05:41
Bizarre happenings in the rural township of Flora in Northern Illinois attract the party, for whom such events are a beacon marking a Hellgate... this introductory adventure for Contagion 2e should get your players swept up into this alternate present in which portals to other dimensions pop up all over the place and it's up to brave folk like, well, them to deal with them.

The organisation is excellent, with an initial premise and loads of information on people, places and events to empower the game master to build his own story around them, interacting with the characters who can act as free agents exploring and investigating rather than being constrained by a linear plot line.

On the other hand, this isn't something you can pick up and play. You will need to decide what attracts the characters' attention in the first place, what is causing all these wierd events and how the matter can be dealt with... however, just reading through spawns a wealth of possibilities.

Character sheets for main NPCs are provided, but if you like the sound of this adventure but play a different ruleset that handles supernatural occurances, conversion ought not to be too hard.

There are no maps provided... but there IS a Flora, Il and the other places mentioned are there, even if the geography doesn't match the text precisely, so if you do like map-based adventures just hunt up some appropriate ones of the real places to use.

It's an elegant jumping-off point for some adventures that should prove entertaining.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Highway to Hell 2: Return to Flora
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Megan, Another well thought out and expressive review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Highway to Hell 2: Return to Flora! Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/17/2013 23:16:31
A simple, bare-bones rules-lite system using a pair of d8s. The full document runs 8 pages (I'm guessing to keep with the theme), but once you take away the cover, intro, OGL, and cheesecake artwork, there are maybe 2.5 pages of content here. Other than some bonus stats for gear and weapons, there is no genre or setting material provided.

The system is nothing spectacular or revolutionary, but for a lite system, it seems to work well enough. Is it worth a buck? Probably, if you're looking for something different, and have a preference for very rules-lite systems.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
William, Thanks very much for taking the time to review the Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Universal Game Engine. I would love to hear your thoughts on some of the expansions, such as Magic 8s or Cyber 8s sometime! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates