DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
2320AD
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2010 13:29:45
It's a solid product, I bought it to see what they'd do with the continuation of the game universe. Am not nuts they converted it to D20, and I do wish they had used more of the fan work out there to improve upon the product, but for the price, you do get a very informative sci-fi background for a game that deserves a chance from anyone who loves sci-fi.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2320AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller T20 Lite
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2009 19:11:20
This is great for all traveller fans and for anyone even thinking about it!!! try for free and see.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller T20 Lite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPIC Adventure #3 - Chimera
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2009 11:21:50
This is a bit of a mess. An incident about midway sums it up nicely: the players are on a railroad and it's not going anywhere good. After some quite lethal and ultimately pointless messing about with subs, trains and indestructible plot devices, a couple of NPCs commence chewing the scenery and negating the PCs' actions, until they jump to hyperspace with the Death Star plans, or something. I _think_ the author may have had a different, more interesting story in mind, but I can only go by what was published. Likewise, the Loyal Sector Guard and _Chimera_ are quite useful ideas in themselves and worthy to follow the much better _Into the Glimmer Drift_, though their subtlety is not brought out here.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EPIC Adventure #3 - Chimera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPIC Adventure #2 - Into the Glimmer Drift
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2009 21:15:18
Good-looking, slow-building investigation into rumors and hints of a lost ship across a border region of minor planets and local powers, ending in a particularly hairy situation amid a rebellion on a harsh backwater world. The hook is believably low-key while still likely to leave astute players, or those who built their characters for such connections, with little doubt they're getting into something political.

For a good-sized campaign, you'll probably want a few other sources for things to do as the characters wander around trading and asking questions, rather than just feeding them the plot scenes in order.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EPIC Adventure #2 - Into the Glimmer Drift
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller T20 Lite
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/10/2009 18:00:36
A good introduction both to Traveller and the D20 version of it. With no bells and whistles, this nevertheless gets the job done well. If you're a long-time Traveller fan like me, you'll appreciate the distillation of a solid generic science fiction system and setting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller T20 Lite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPIC Adventure #1 - Stoner Express
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2009 03:36:15
A useful intro in epic format. Though not a fan of the format, i thought this was an interesting way to start a new group off in the OTU.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EPIC Adventure #1 - Stoner Express
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2320AD
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2008 17:25:14
Good game. Bad science.

Others have already mentioned that this is a good near-future science-fiction setting, and it is. One of the very best near-future SF games in fact, despite the fact that its timeline is the result of an in-house wargame played by the original developers at GDW, rather than any sort of reasoned forecasting (the dev who played the French won the campaign, hence an Earth dominated by French interests in 2320).

As above, my great complaint with 2320 is that the publishers decided to stick with the long-abandoned stellar data (which dates back to circa 1966) used in the original Traveller 2300, instead of upgrading the science along with the game.

The stated reason for retaining the obsolete astronomical data is the desire to keep 2320 AD in line with the game lore from 2300 AD. This is a fair call to make; unfortunately for me, it makes the setting very difficult to use as a plausible "near future hard SF" setting.

I'm no astronomer, nor am I a science hardcore, but even I know, for example, that Alpha Centauri is a radiation-soaked hellhole of a star system, unlikely to be anybody's idea of a viable colonial hub. A space station waypoint, or "jumping off point", sure -- but even terraformers would be simply making work for themselves trying to engineer a liveable biosphere in this particular star system.

Again, I'm merely a very casual astronomy fan, not a science hardcore. The truth about the current state of Alpha Centauri is a Google away. I started websurfing for current details on the key star systems in 2320 AD to help flesh out what I might tell players, only to find that the 2320 versions of these places don't even jibe with what little we know of them today.

Author Colin Dunn has done some great work with 2320 AD, but I can't shake the feeling his talent would've been better used if he'd been allowed to use current stellar data, such as the Hipparcos data, or even the stuff the Hubble telescope is providing every month like clockwork.

The fun of a near-future, so-called "hard-SF" game setting is the sense of plausibity it brings to one's game adventures. Sure, even the term "hard SF" is such a complete oxymoron, it borders on an outright lie, but you take my point. True or false, it makes the game events feel more "real" for the players.

2320 AD is probably the best game setting out there of its kind, but if its "re-imagining" had included updated astronomical details, it would have had more to offer the current generation of gamers.

Excellent work which falls one step too short.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2320AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPIC Adventure #7 - Merc Heaven
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2008 18:16:22
Excellent adventure, very nice Traveller adventure.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPIC Adventure #7 - Merc Heaven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Traveller's Handbook [BUNDLE]
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2008 18:15:35
As said before, great stuff, excellent incarnation of the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Traveller's Handbook [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller20 - Book 3 - Worlds and Adventures
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2008 18:14:32
Great stuff, keep up the good work. Very great incarnation of Traveller.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller20 - Book 3 - Worlds and Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller20 - Book 2 - Equipment and Designs
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2008 18:11:35
Another great sourcebook for Traveller. I love it, great extra stuff....

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller20 - Book 2 - Equipment and Designs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller20 - Book 1 - Characters and Combat
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2008 21:22:11
This another great version of Traveller, one of the good ones out there...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller20 - Book 1 - Characters and Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2320AD
by Terence C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2008 03:36:12
An excellent update to 2300 AD by GDW, while I fnd the system to be OK, what really shines is the timeline setting. Great stuff...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2320AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPIC Adventure #5 - Scout Cruiser
by john d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2008 23:09:40
my PDF files that I ordered are not working and are corrupt and need fixed. then an E-mail sent to me indorming me of the fix at ; azhanti@myself.com

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
EPIC Adventure #5 - Scout Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2320AD
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2008 16:59:52
CAVEAT EMPTOR!
I bought this having been a longtime fan of 2300AD.
The product I got wasnt even a completed version, and even though the producer promised a finished one to those who bought this one, I have yet to see it.
Dont buy this until the finished final version is out.
E for Effort.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
2320AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 93 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates