DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Town Geomorphs
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2013 06:23:26
Now that the print option is working I really like this product. You get 12 six sided tiles which can be placed together to form large cities or city blocks. The company has said that they will be releasing more tiles at a later date.
The only thing I'm not liking is that the edges are whited out, but then again the tiles are designed for a different purpose than what I'm using them for, which is city building maps.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Town Geomorphs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hold Em Scene Generator: Medieval Edition
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2013 15:50:38
I've been using this for the last few months in order to generate random events to insert into my campaign, and it works wonderfully! I'm hoping the author continues to publish these for different genres. Great job!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hold Em Scene Generator: Medieval Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Ghost City Raiders
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2013 23:40:47
Ok - because I'm interested in RPGs, I bought the core rules, a scenario, and a character just to see what this actually is. Essentially it's a simple RPG (with standard-style attributes) that uses cards both instead of dice and to abstractly represent different locations. You compare a drawn card to an attribute when you want to move between locations (or defeat a barrier between two locations), search, attack, etc. That's all the core rules provide.

What gives it "color" are the individual scenarios and characters that you can buy (all centered around a post-apocalyptic world). The idea is that it's portable and quick to play.

The real guts lie in the character booklets - these have nice presentation and all the rules for that character's skills and abilities.

I think that's a great idea in general. However, there are a few things I don't like.

You get pocketmod formatted and standard formatted versions of the rules. However, both have grey backgrounds that are just going to use more ink and don't add anything to the presentation. I have no need for a pocket mod version - but the regular version would work on a smartphone.

I don't want to have to bring along a deck of cards - and as the image of a game in progress shows, standard cards certainly take away from the aesthetics.

Also I would market it differently. Instead of selling everything separately, sell packs consisting of the core rules, a scenario and two matched characters for $3. Sell a deluxe version of the scenario with printable tiles and characters for another $2.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost City Raiders
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tooth and Claw
by Joe S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2012 01:09:26
It’s not every day a SMALL rule systems comes along that absolutely NAILS a genre. I think Tooth and Claw is such a game. While the rules are just 8 pages, this is not a beer and pretzels game… it has some real depth. It’s about social interaction. It’s about heroics and secrets. And the rules reflect this very well indeed.
So, what on earth is this game all about? Put simply, it’s about what pets, in this case, ferrets, get up to when humans are not looking. I think ferrets are a great animal for this sort of game, because they are natural little fighters… and cute as well. I once went ferreting for rabbits on my farm, and I can assure you, these little critters are hunters, explorers, adventurers and killers in equal measure. So, yeah, perfect for an RPG about brave pets.
What most impressed me about this game was the “business sheet” concept, where social interactions are developed at the start of the game. Shades of Fiasco, but quicker and simpler (much like ferrets).
This game is no Bunnies and Burrows (which I love), which harkens back to games such as Tunnels and Trolls. It has a slick, modern ‘narrative’ game feel.
Now the drawbacks: the production value is not top-shelf, but is certainly far from the worst I have encountered. You can see the love shining through in the design, and the rules are all where you expect them to me, so I can forgive a few quirks here and there.
I can certainly see myself running this game with my young niece and nephew, or at the Children’s hospital as part of Ward Wizards. It’s a great game for socializing, and for having players generate quirky and creative solutions to any situations the GM can dream up… I’m thinking ferrets save the house from Alien invaders!
At $1, you can’t go wrong. It’s a great little game to keep around. And the money goes to a good cause too!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tooth and Claw
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tooth and Claw
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2012 06:42:14
My grandfather's ferret was a beast of little merit.... quite unlike this game which has captured the delight of these beasties beautifully within a few short pages.

If you already know and love ferrets, you'll delight in this - and if you have never met one, come on and find out what they are like!

So - what do ferrets get up to when everyone else is asleep?

With simple yet effective game mechanics, this is a game that could be played with young children or as a quick evening's fun.

The ferret pictures are rather sweet, too. Enjoy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
FUBAR (Director's Cut)
by Adam C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2012 02:18:38
I enjoyed playing this with my group very much; it was easily one of the most action-packed gaming nights we've ever had, and we will definitely be coming back for more. The game is very much about keeping an intense action pace by effectively penalizing distraction and down-time and prompting constant improv-style decision making. As long as you keep it in mind that the players are to be the protagonists of the next 'die-hard' movie, and that keeping things going is the name of the game, it will be a lot of fun. Our last session we played for 4 hours, but we all agreed that hadn't felt like more than 30 minutes.

The only complaint which I might make is that the 'Secrets' game mechanic is not explained clearly in the book, but carefully reading the examples cleared this up eventually, and it wound up proving to be a quite effective mechanic for keeping the ball rolling.

Also, some of the best design I've ever seen in a book like this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FUBAR (Director's Cut)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Hold Em Scene Generator: Medieval Edition
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/02/2012 08:48:46
An ingenious method of using a standard deck of cards to play a variant of Texas Hold 'Em that helps to develop a story. Each suit represents different types of influences (Hearts are emotional, Clubs are physical, Diamonds are mystical, and Spades are intellectual), and each phase of the game represents different story elements (location, situation, intention, escalation, and resolution). A series of tables provides meanings for each individual card in each phase.

The game can not only develop a current story, it can be used to develop backstory as well, which could be a great way to spice up character generation.

This is a very clever tool for random story inspiration.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hold Em Scene Generator: Medieval Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Dungeon Cards Sneak Preview
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2011 23:34:24
A very interesting idea, but not entirely accessable to the tired minded GM (oracle?) trying to grok the idea for the first time. Does not work just like your average tiles, as there is built into the idea a good amount of player input. I reckon this is not the nial version of the product (says preview right there, doesn't it) and given that I could see where this could be a lot of fun.

I'm intrigued to see where this is going. For two bucks, it is a fun product, but takes a goodish bit of work to make up to form.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Cards Sneak Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
FUBAR (Director's Cut)
by Yukiko A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2011 03:09:07
I enjoyed playing the first version of this game with a few of my friends, and after reading through the revisions made in this version, I'm looking forward to playing with the updated version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FUBAR (Director's Cut)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Eighth Sea (First Edition)
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2011 21:50:48
An odd and awkward amalgam of priate game and time travel game, TES is hampered by its two disparate concepts, its bad computer generated art, and its crunchy card-based mechanics. Also, the inclusion of multiple Narrators is likely to stall a game and lead to uneven GMing. Still, it is original in its way and a very interesting read, if only for the sheer audacity of what it attempts.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Eighth Sea (First Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Games for Goblins
by Yukiko A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2010 18:38:32
I'm sure I could use this for a game somehow.

It's got some really good images that give an impression of a strange culture, and it doesn't have specific words that make you use it in a particular way.

Now I've just got to find a good game to use it in.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Games for Goblins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Games for Goblins
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2010 12:26:28
Only one thing to say here -- Whiskey Tango Foxtrot!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Games for Goblins
by Philipp H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2010 10:27:54
for what?
28 pages with unreadable texts (probalby fantastic) and some sketches (though quite good).
I don't get this.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
FUBAR (Release Prime)
by Leonardo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2010 18:19:29
FUBAR is an excelent game! Easy to learn and play, it has a great rules system an is a lot of fun to play.

It's the perfect choice for rainy days (or nights) when your GM, DM, etc. doesn't show up. As a matter of fact it started like that in my gaming group, but now we have a FUBAR campaign going on - And everybody loves it! -

Leonardo Paiva

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FUBAR (Release Prime)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. I'm actually working on a dozen page supplement to turn a one shot game into a campaign. With a few optional rules about how to improve characters over the course of multiple stories and ways to introduce new members to the rogues gallery as stories progress. I'll shoot you across a copy once I've finished, and I'll credit you all as playtesters... Interested?
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates