DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2014 13:05:02
As I've mentioned already, this booklet is hurt by a lack of illustrations and with some surprising gaps in coverage. However, it is a good supplement for players who already own a guide to weapons in the D20 system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bag Full of Guns: This is my Gun
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2014 13:01:01
I agree with everything JD S said -- not enough illustrations hurt the product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This is my Gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2014 12:56:56
A good supplement if you already have a D20 compatible guide to modern firearms. My main complaint is that some obvious weapons are missing (the AN-94 comes to mind). The booklet is also a bit sparse on illustrations, which help to make weapons I've never seen myself more concrete. Still, this is a good product and well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mistborn Adventure Game Digital Edition
by Mic I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2014 22:37:56
Well the game looks great, it has an amazing system, and follows along the lines of the mistborn series. Unfortunately the file is to big to be used on an iPad mini. If your using a computer by all means buy this book, but of your using a iPad mini don't. In the future if it's possible I would love a smaller version of the game. Thanks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mistborn Adventure Game Digital Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Spycraft: The Silver Line [BUNDLE]
by Adam L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2013 22:08:13
The books are older and out of print but the PDFs are awesome with most of the basic tricks you would come to expect from a PDF.

The bundle has everything you need to play and more!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Spycraft: The Silver Line [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Little Wizards
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/12/2013 00:18:29
Little Wizards is the latest RPG from Crafty Games, the same people who brought us Spycraft, Fantasy Craft and the Mistborn Adventure Game. Little Wizards is an RPG designed for kids, and is based on Contes Ensorceles from 7eme Cercle.

Intended as an introductory game to the wonderful world of RPGs for kids aged 6 to 10 or so, Little Wizards takes place in Coinworld, an flat, circular world with two very different faces named Heads and Tails.

Each world has it’s own set of islands that serve as the center of civilization. Heads is a world with an enchanting charm and a friendly environment, while Tails is darker and gloomier, though not much more dangerous.

The trick to these two sides is that it takes magic to travel from one to the other, and thus the reason why Sorcerers and Mages are the central figures to the setting.

The game takes pains to differentiate the two. Sorcery is inherent to a person and is passed on from parent to child. Mages on the other hand are those who develop magic through book learning.

Adventures in Little Wizards are keyed towards kid friendly romps through the setting, and the game doesn’t disappoint. Each of the worlds are detailed in ways to inspire various adventures without being too scary or disturbing for kids.

Character creation is a breeze with the essential choice of being either a Mage or a Sorcerer. This is followed with a whole bunch of fun lists to choose what the Wizard in question looks like, and acts like, and what they’d like to do. The three mechanical traits are Body, Heart and Brain which are ranked according to a scale of Good, Better and Best. Powers are chosen next, with Wizards picking two powers from a list of 3, and getting a Broom Riding Power for free. Powers are ranked similarly to traits, except that they are Good in two powers, while being Better in one of their choice.

The basic mechanics are also very easy to grasp, with a simple 2d6 die roll plus the traits against a target number. It’s possible to get a Disaster if you roll two ones, and a Brilliant Success on rolling two sixes. To help the Narrator on setting difficulties for powers, they also list a bunch of sample difficulties per power set.

The book continues with a lot of useful advice for a Narrator running the game for kids. I’ll admit that the advice is useful even for running for adults and it’s a welcome addition to a game that’s focused on running for a much younger demographic.

The book also includes three Tales, adventures that are ready to run straight from the book, with accompanying material that detail a couple of locations in better detail.



Overall, Little Wizards is a pretty book with colorful illustrations, a unique setting, solid core mechanic, and written in a manner to teach people to run games for the younger age group.

It’s very rarely that I get to see a game that has such a strong focus on usability as Little Wizards. The game guides Narrators in every step in making sure that the end result and adventures for kids are rewarding and fun.

I’ve long held the opinion that Crafty Games are some of the best people at being able to convey the mood of the source material through their work. They were the one group that was able to make Mistborn come alive at the gaming table, and seeing them apply the same clarity to Little Wizards makes it a must-buy for any gamer looking to run for kids.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Wizards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Little Wizards
by Devon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2013 21:33:22
Little Wizards is a great game. It really is. The PDF is a very easy read and the pages just pop with ideas as I read them. The game is designed to be played with children and is very accessible. I've played this with my 5 year old son many times and we've had a blast every single time. While it takes work to get him to play (not the game's fault) he loves every moment, engaging his imagination, fighting goblins, getting familiars out of trees and scaring zombies into shark infested waters.

The world is divided into two sides of a coin, light and dark. The book has little detail provided on each side of the world and small write-ups of a couple of the archipelagoes create explosions of inspiration for me. I can't stop thinking of adventure ideas as I go through the book.

I've run this game for my game group consisting of adults and we had a blast, as well. The Tails side of Coinworld has all that dark magical goodness that lets you get as dark as you want. The rules are loose and free, yet provide just the right amount of structure. This game is wonderful as a one-shot and for campaign play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Wizards Preview
by Ray W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2013 18:59:29
This preview is great, I had heard an interview on Sharkbone podcast about this game and since I have two girls in the age range I thought it would be good to check it out. the preivew gave me just enough detail to know I wanted more and that it will suit my girls. I have now bought the full RPG and am making my way through it now.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Little Wizards Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Little Wizards Preview
by Clay K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2013 12:47:20
I thought it was a great idea. A little old for my kids presently, but when they hit about 7-8, I think it will work fine!
Good variety with a simplistic twist!
Thanks

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Sam R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2013 17:50:43
A fresh and inspiring take on the d20 system with many practical new mechanics (as well as a few which could be dispensed with). The introduction of drama dice as both a reward system and a multifunctional means of boosting rolls is especially appealing. I was also pleased to find the openness of the system allows for much customisation to suit particular sub-genres and settings. My only criticism is that I feel some of the low-level class features are a bit gratuitous although I have not experienced all of them in play yet and so they might be more balanced then first seem.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call to Arms: Crusader
by Montgomery A B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2013 13:11:54
Great take on a more martial version of the Priest in Fantasy Craft. The many Subplots granted by the class features, and the Reputation rewards for completing them, are great feature, and the other class features make this a stand up class to stand up for your god, and be a viable alternative to the Soldier and the Monk as front-line base-class combatants. A good read, and an excellent addition to an already great game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: Crusader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Craft Second Printing
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 09:23:28
Fantasy Craft, Second Printing (Crafty Games)
402 page PDF

The good:
I really enjoyed the point-buy system for creating NPC/Monster challenges for the party to face. I've never seen anything like it before.

The bad:
Unfortunately, the bad outweighs the good. Organizationally, this book is a hot mess. I read the character creation chapter twice, and I am still not sure I understand it. (I have been gaming for 30 years) Most of the book just seems needlessly complex to me.

After reading the dozen-plus glowing reviews on this website, I was expecting this to be the best book in the history of gaming. (I guess disappointment was inevitable)

The bottom line:
If you are looking for a ready-made campaign, this isn't your game. It's more of a toolbox that lets you create the fantasy of your choosing. Be prepared to do a LOT of work preparing and planning the campaign before play begins.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Craft Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call to Arms: Crusader
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2013 04:56:49
When you go forth to preach, the saying says, do not forget your cudgel. Sometimes words (or spells) alone are not enough to further your deity's ends upon this earth, and that is when you call upon the Crusader, an holy warrior dedicated to the service of his god and expressing his faith through force of arms against the enemies that dare oppose him.

The Crusader's primary abilities revolve around combat, with his prowess being enhanced with powers granted through his faith by his deity. As well as slaying his god's enemies, he may quest for artefacts sacred to his faith or those which threaten it, and provide martial support to other devotees such as Priests or Inquisitors. Indeed, a whole campaign might revolve around a god-fearing party sent on missions to further their chosen faith, with the Crusader providing the muscle.

In battle, the Crusader can increase his effects through Battle Chants in which he calls down divine aid upon himself and his comrades, as well as having the ability to smite targets of a particular type abhorred by his deity. It's an excellent class for players who enjoy combat but don't want to be mindless in their violence. Many races do well at this class, provided they match unswerving faith with physical strength and intelligence. A powerful influence is the Crusader's 'Call to Arms' in which a divine mission is selected, a point at which GM and player can collaborate in shaping the Crusader's role and the entire campaign; with futher opportunities to add more subplots as the game develops.

This class takes a basic 'Holy Warrior' concept and turns it into something truly game-changing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: Crusader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call to Arms: Inquisitor
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2013 04:28:22
Suitable for a campaign where at least one deity demands worship and has an organised and influential organisation to meet that deity's needs, the Inquisitor character class is based around the role of an agent charged with keeping devotees on the straight and narrow, and stamping out heresies and dissent wherever they raise their head.

An Inquisitor needs to be wise as well as forceful, and it is a suitable role for lovers of intrigue. Whilst they can use violence to further their ends they are not generally front-rank combatants when it comes to a brawl although they can be potent in a supportive role, particularly when they can be theatening and intimidating against those of an alignment (or faith) different to their own. Many say Humans make the best Inquisitors but both Elves and Orcs have proven successful in their own way too. Whilst religious fervour and an unbending nature are common, some Inquisitors hone their investigative skills to become effective dectectives rooting out malcontent and dissent even when it is well-hidden. It is a role full of possibilities both for the player and for the GM seeking to embed this strand within the overall plotline or even weaving adventures around this approach to religious purity.

A series of style feats based around persecution provides an added advantage when dealing with those of a different alignment and gives scope for non-combat activities. Overall this is a role suitable for both players and NPCs alike, one full of story potential (and one that's causing me to reach for the plotbook even as I finish writing the review!).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: Inquisitor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call to Arms: Avatar
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/30/2013 04:03:43
Fantasy gods like to meddle in the affairs of mortals, but prefer not to get their own hands dirty or put themselves at risk... and the Avatar class is a perfect vehicle for their machinations!

This beautifully-crafted class allows the character to promote the interests of his deity whilst remaining eminently playable as an autonomous character. It is well-suited to the dedicated role-player interested in developing a rounded character with a specific devotion to something 'higher' than himself. Class-specific abilities are honed to represent the chosen deity's influence and patronage with a range of options available to suit both deity and the concept that is required: anything from a brash youngster marked out for a bright future to a wise counsellor drawing on more than his own knowledge, a grim and ruthless performer of his god's dirty work or a quiet labourer toiling to further the interests of a more gentle deity.

The role is intended to be a supportive one, someone who provides quiet direction to the rest of the party, perhaps even subtle manipulation to achieve the deity's ends. The Avatar can be a potent spell-caster and battlefield support with a range of abilities that empower both the Avatar himself and his companions to survive - including several ones which allow rerolls at critical moments! You can just image the deity looking down and saying "Hmm, can't have that happen now!"

This class could be a potent force in a campaign where the Gods play a pivotal role, and will work best when player and GM are prepared to collaborate to create a real sense of divine intervention during the course of the action. Neat!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: Avatar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 143 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates