DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hanukkah Havoc
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2007 05:16:42
A more-than-slightly comical romp through old Jerusalem to stop an extremist from unleashing a bizarre device. Worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hanukkah Havoc
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by William V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2007 13:27:46
Kewl!
Far and away, the best use of the d20 Modern system to date! Very complicated, so if you're not already familiar with the d20 system, be prepared to spend weeks or months studying this chunky, 500-some page pdf. (In the interest of complete disclosure, I myself have yet to finish it!) However, it is more than enough to launch into the action-packed world of espionage, danger, thrills and daring-do! Very nicely designed and illustrated, but don't expect to print this out or your printer will never forgive you! LOL If I could I'd give this 10 out of 5 stars. :D

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2007 11:33:03
The first Bag Full of Guns supplement, it does focus on rifles, but also includes a shotgun and grenade launcher. The weapon quality Modular is introduced, and reflects how many of the weapons can switch between upgrades (each switch is a separate stat line for the weapon - a very cool idea!). The upgrade "Airburst System" is introduced for grenades, as well as the ammo type, providing a more lethal alternative for those wanting to use grenade launchers more often.

Brief descriptions are provided for each weapon, adding more color and history to the weapon choices.

Overall, the weapons are well designed and will be of good use for players looking for assault rifle/shotgun/grenade options, as well as for GMs that want to introduce a few new toys.

The content is not completely indispensable, but at the price it is an excellent buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2007 11:25:12
This Bag Full of Guns supplement contains a wider variety of weapon types, including pistols/revolver, SMG, rifles, and a ballistic knife. In addition, the Soviet flavor adds some regional utility for certain missions, NPCs, and PCs.

The new "Submersible" quality is introduced, and several of the weapons are designed for special applications (many are silenced).

For the price, this is an excellent purchase for someone who wants to introduce Soviet weaponry or is looking for special application weapons or for a player that is looking to flesh out a Soviet or Eastern European character. For anyone else it is still a very good purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Practice Makes Perfect
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2007 11:48:56
Spycraft 2.0 – Practice Makes Perfect
This review is after I have looked over the book and read it to see what I liked and didn’t like…
All ratings are based out of 5 points…

1. Art:
a. Cover Art – This is a good evocative drawing, but I feel that it lacks some of the realism that prior art has shown. It is cartoonish and just lacks that something that grabs my eye. - 3.5 points

2. Layout:
a. The book looks clean and the layout is easy to follow, there are some issues where things are in strange places… Like an explanation before the new mechanic that looks like it is a part of the new mechanic instead. – 4 points
b. Tables – Now these are an improvement over the old tables and are cleaner and easier to print as well. The tables layout Cost/Bonus in an easy to read format. – 5 points

3. New Mechanic:
a. The new option to trade Weapon Proficiencies for Tricks is an interesting take and allows a combatant to do more than just have the golf-bag of weapons option. – 4 points
b. The new options themselves are interesting, but there are some that are mechanically the same for a slightly different thing. (Example is actions that use a different stat in place of strength to modify your attack check.) They could have been rolled into one and been a choose the one that fits option. - 3.5 points

4. New Feats:
a. These are also similar to the new mechanic in that they are good but there are multiple ones that allow the same effect for a different subset of weapons (One of Blunt and One for Edged that offer the exact same benefit but use a different subset of weapons.) – 3.5 points

All in all I feel that this is a great option for players or GC’s to use to modify a PC/NPC to make them a specific type of fighter without using Feats alone.
Total – 23.5/6 = 3.916 (Rounded to 4 points)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Practice Makes Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Origin of the Species: Light of Olympus
by Loren D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2007 18:19:05
Spycraft really *is* the HALO of the D20 system--the killer app that makes it truly great. Its "toolkit" approach to the system gives it a wide range, allowing it to encompass any genre, and while it began its life as a modern/espionage product, the Spycraft engine fits fantasy just fine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Origin of the Species: Light of Olympus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
by Nickolas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2007 23:21:51
I really like the customizable classes in this book. I have actually been able to have more useful characters that played the way I wanted to using this addition. Tabling is better in this than other spycraft sources (probably because it has less content to fight with being a small pdf). Still hard to read when printed because of poor color choices on tables.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Nickolas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2007 23:18:54
Forgot to add in my other review.

I like this system, it's fun to play and grabs your attention. The book, however, is poorly laid out and organized with bad color choices and equally bad content relationship problems. Meaning the tables and content don't mesh well together.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Nickolas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2007 23:15:14
Works great on the computer, if you happen to have a comp with you while you play and don't look at this as stepping away from true pen and paper gaming. Don't try and print it, you can't read it on low quality because the tabling (as in all spycraft books) is done with poor usability and color considerations. high quality printing would cost a fortune so not really worth it either.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Victor R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2007 00:00:00
Great game! I used to play Top Secret and James Bond many moons ago and I recently bought the d20 Modern system in an attempt to relive those days of hunting down spies, killing terrorists, etc. Unfortunately I was highly disappointed.

Spycraft was recommended to me instead. So I paid my $24.95, downloaded the pdf and printed it out at work (497 full color pages!!!). Within minutes I was creating my first characters the next day I started playing my first session. Clear rules, great system. Like someone else said, this is what d20 Modern SHOULD have been.

IF you like the slightly-over-the-top spy worlds the movies, such as James Bond, True Lies, etc, this is the game for you!


LIKED: I really like the focus on modern day, real (if slightly exagerated) operations. Ever wanted to be a spy, Navy SEAL, cat burglar, etc? Now you can be one!

DISLIKED: I didn't quite like the "cinimatic" nature of the game. I wish it was more Top Secretish in that respect.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
by Zack C. Date Added: 05/29/2007 16:18:55
Great Book for anyone who wants to take Spycraft Back to the Basics!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Delete Review
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spellbound: The Channeler (Revised)
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2007 00:00:00
Spellbound the Channeler

Spycraft is a modern game of espionage and well spies. It usually assumes a very near modern world that everyone is familiar with. But now they are starting to branch out of that and enter a more fantastic realm. This Spycraft PDF introduces magic and the first magic welding class. I trust it will not be for everyone and since it is a sourcebook that only is useful for magic it will be easy to ignore. But for those people wanting something a little more magical in their game they should be very pleased with this.

Spellbound Volume one: the Channeler is the first in this new series of PDFs for Spycraft. Crafty Games once again releases a book with a lay out and tone almost exactly like the Spycraft core book. It is written by Scott Gearin. The book is well book marked and comes in a full color on screen as a well as a black and white easy to print out versions.

The writer has chosen to just reorganize the classic D&D spell list and spells. They did a great job in doing this. They have eight very tightly organized schools of magic and each new class will be able to cast from one of those schools. The channeler gets access to the channeling school spells. The casting of a spell is done through the roll of the die. A caster always will risk failure but only one die will ever be needed to be rolled. The casters will be able to try to cast as many zero level spells as they want and they do not have to prepare spells in advance. Save DCs are based on the caster not the spell level and each feat one takes that involves casting spells can improve that. Spells are based off of many attributes though there is no minimum needed to cast spells. Know spells is based off of a profession skill so even if the character multi classes as long as they improve that skill they can learn more spells. As one can see there are many changes but they are good one that are well thought out and make a lot of sense. They really can make playing a spell caster a lot easier.

The class is a typical twenty level Spycraft class. It has a good many abilities and many of them are variable. It will be easy to make Channelers that do not seem to be the same or even look mechanically alike. There are some new feats in here but the majority of the book is dedicated to the spells. Overall they did a nice job of trimming down the spells lists of the d20 game and adding in new spells to fill out the many gaps. Many of the spells have nice improvements like Mage Hand goes up to Mage Hand V a powerful ninth level spells. Over all this is one of the better versions of completely re doing the spell lists I have seen. I think that even some fantasy D&D players might like using this instead of the current system.

The first Volume of Spellbound is an exciting and creative take on the standard arcane class. It easily makes it into something that can fit into the Spycraft world and makes it seem very different then just placing a wizard in there. The Channleler has its own feel and spells that really make it something special.



LIKED: Great alteration to the spells lists and defining how magic works

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spellbound: The Channeler (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2007 03:24:21
Awesome. Does lots of cool things with the system. Skill caps make low level characters differ on skills a lot without barring untrained use completely. Someone without ranks in a skill can never get more than 15 on a check while a first level master can get a result of up to 30. A talented amateur can no longer outshine the supposed master. Skills have been expanded to include all the good modern stuff. They've also been defined quite well so every situation is covered pretty well. Everything from skydiving (standard, HI/LO and base jumping) to bribery.

The classes are awesome and great for making a team worthy of any action movie. Almost any combo of classes will make a viable team.

The feats are just awesome. There are fighting feats for everything. Whip style feat is even good. And the shotgun style feat is called 'This . . . is my Boomstick'

The chase system from the previous edition has been expanded to cover brainwashing, interrogation, hacking, infiltration and manhunts. It abstracts and covers each of the situations quite well.

The rest of it's great too, great gear system, more gear, fluid initiative, origins, it's all awesome. Buy this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/20/2007 00:00:00
Spycraft This is my Rifle

Spycraft and other modern games that use modern weapons are only as good as the latest information they have published. There are plenty of new guns and new designs hitting the market in the past decade and it can be tough for a RPG to keep up. That is where the Bag Full of Guns series comes in for Spycraft. This is the first PDF in that series and based on what I see here I look forward to seeing more. The small PDF support of Spycraft is nice to see and something I just can not speak enough of.

Bag Full of Guns: This is my Rifle is a PDF for Spycraft by Crafty Games. It is written by Alex Flag and it is very nice to see a consistent voice in the books. The PDF is rather short and comes in two versions. It does not seem like a lot of companies are doing that any more and I am pleased to see Crafty Games doing it. They have the full color version that looks like the main Spycraft book and then they have a simple black and white version that is a lot easier to print out especially for people with personal inkjet printers. The PDF is not that big being only seven pages long but it is book marked.

This Spycraft books deals with a few of the newest rifles and weapons of the United States Military. There is some good information on these weapons and not being a gun expert I am just going to assume it is all accurate. It works well for the game at any rate. One of the weapons is a nice Carbine. There is a shot gun system and a grenade launcher. Each is of course fully stated up in the Spycraft fashion. There is also some weapon qualities presented in the book. I like that not all of them are positives like the Limited Upgrades Quality. There is an upgrade in the book of the Airburst Fire Control System. I imagine a few players will be having a lot of fun with that one.

The weapons in here can also be used by other game systems with a good conversion. There is no conversion advice in here but moving to other games like d20 Modern will be easy while something more like World of Darkness will be a bit tougher. The weapon descriptions though are useful for any game set in modern times

This is a good addition to the Spycraft game. The short PDFs might be the way to go but I hope to see some more with a little more length at some point. It would also be interesting to see some of these that are tied with the cutting edge of weapons like on Discovery Channel?s Future Tech TV show. But I am sure that I am like a lot of Spycraft fans and just really happy to see the game getting some good quality support.


LIKED: Nice up to date information

DISLIKED: a little on the small side

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2007 00:00:00
Spycraft is the game of modern spies and espionage. It takes the best of the d20 system and adds on rules for easy ways to equip characters with all the latest gadgets and has a great system of feats that give cool abilities. I have always preferred it to d20 modern so when I first got some of the PDFs I was excited to see what was being done with the game. I will admit for not being all that excited for seeing d20 modern classes done in the Spycraft style.

Back to Basics is a PDF by Crafty Games who now hold the Spycraft license. The twenty page PDF is written by Alex Flagg. The PDF comes in two versions. The main version is in full color and has nice art and looks very similar to the Spycraft book. The second one is a basic black and white PDF that has no art but will be really easy to print and use that way. What I like about the second one is the classes each take up one page so that a DM can just print out what a player needs and have it all there for them to easily reference. The main PDF is book marked though a book mark to each knack would have been helpful.

The basic classes of d20 Modern are all presented here. There is one that matches each attribute. For Spycraft they have been lengthened to twenty levels and they get an ability each level to match up with the Spycraft classes. Each class gets Knacks which are very much like d20 Modern?s Talent Trees. There are plenty of knacks presented in the book some of them for only one class and some of them that can be taken by multiple classes. The classes do a good job of being less of an arch type then the classes of Spycraft so someone can be the type of character they want to be without getting locked into what the class defines them as.

The book does a good job with the classes but one area I think it does not do that well in is with mixing the classes. It does have a little sidebar that talks about using the classes side by side and how the normal Spycraft classes will be a little stronger then the d20 Modern versions. But I also wanted to see suggests or ways to mix the character classes together through multi classing and any problems that might present. Also the same with prestige classes of Spycraft. I think this was a pretty big over sight as it is something players will want to do and DMs might be a little confused by the lack of anything on it.

For players and DMs of Spycraft this PDF will be a good addition for those that want a little more flexibility in the classes and less definition in what they are. It will also be beneficial for d20 Modern players that want to try Spycraft but really like the d20 modern classes.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 140 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates