DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hanukkah Havoc
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2008 21:04:23
Without a doubt, this was the most unfortunate purchase I've evr made (to date). The plot line is reed thin and would insult a six year old's intelligence (ask my children!), the characters are right out of some smarmy c-level (or worse) wnnabe James Bond flick, and the setting bears no relationship to reality.

The only good thing about this game is the price, though it troubles me that I used paper and toner for the loser.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Hanukkah Havoc
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Spycraft: 1960s Decade Book
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2008 07:20:13
The best espionage book ever created to make the 1960s Cold War spy genre come alive. Even if you play D20 Modern and not Spycraft this book is incredibly useful. Don't miss on picking it up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Spycraft: 1960s Decade Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Origin of the Species: Classic Fantasy
by Amy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2008 23:57:22
As the first hints of what we will be seeing in the upcoming release of FantasyCraft, I'm really excited and pleased to be able to have this product as my own!

I love the SpyCraft system as a whole, and adding fantasy flair just makes it all the better to me!

And as a novice to the SpyCraft rules, I found that I actually understood this book far more than I expected to, piquing my excitement for the genre even more!

YAY!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Origin of the Species: Classic Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Origin of the Species: Classic Fantasy
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2008 11:08:30
Well although I am very happy with most of what they have done here. There are errors in the full version that seem not to be present in the Print version. The dwarf entries for instance.
I do love the new feats and specialties, I think they really add to the races much more then any other D20 Product.
Overall the product is done well, but:
I ask my self what takes the elf 100 years to learn that an Orc gets in 15. It has bothered me for a long time. No one seems to get it.
Next the heights seem a little low to me. The dwarf will not likely break 4 feet tall. What is up with that. You can't be stout if no one can see you. Geesh. Now they are in reality as wide as they are tall.
The legendary Dwarf, Why exactly does he use an edged weapon underground? They would blunt with every miss. Not very smart.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Twas the Night Before Deathmas
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2007 05:48:26
A very small glimpse of "World on Fire", a rendition of "A Stealth Christmas" and a pretty good chase scene. This one leans towards the action side of action-comedy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Twas the Night Before Deathmas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hanukkah Havoc
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2007 05:16:42
A more-than-slightly comical romp through old Jerusalem to stop an extremist from unleashing a bizarre device. Worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hanukkah Havoc
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by William V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2007 13:27:46
Kewl!
Far and away, the best use of the d20 Modern system to date! Very complicated, so if you're not already familiar with the d20 system, be prepared to spend weeks or months studying this chunky, 500-some page pdf. (In the interest of complete disclosure, I myself have yet to finish it!) However, it is more than enough to launch into the action-packed world of espionage, danger, thrills and daring-do! Very nicely designed and illustrated, but don't expect to print this out or your printer will never forgive you! LOL If I could I'd give this 10 out of 5 stars. :D

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2007 11:33:03
The first Bag Full of Guns supplement, it does focus on rifles, but also includes a shotgun and grenade launcher. The weapon quality Modular is introduced, and reflects how many of the weapons can switch between upgrades (each switch is a separate stat line for the weapon - a very cool idea!). The upgrade "Airburst System" is introduced for grenades, as well as the ammo type, providing a more lethal alternative for those wanting to use grenade launchers more often.

Brief descriptions are provided for each weapon, adding more color and history to the weapon choices.

Overall, the weapons are well designed and will be of good use for players looking for assault rifle/shotgun/grenade options, as well as for GMs that want to introduce a few new toys.

The content is not completely indispensable, but at the price it is an excellent buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
by Teos A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2007 11:25:12
This Bag Full of Guns supplement contains a wider variety of weapon types, including pistols/revolver, SMG, rifles, and a ballistic knife. In addition, the Soviet flavor adds some regional utility for certain missions, NPCs, and PCs.

The new "Submersible" quality is introduced, and several of the weapons are designed for special applications (many are silenced).

For the price, this is an excellent purchase for someone who wants to introduce Soviet weaponry or is looking for special application weapons or for a player that is looking to flesh out a Soviet or Eastern European character. For anyone else it is still a very good purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Practice Makes Perfect
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2007 11:48:56
Spycraft 2.0 – Practice Makes Perfect
This review is after I have looked over the book and read it to see what I liked and didn’t like…
All ratings are based out of 5 points…

1. Art:
a. Cover Art – This is a good evocative drawing, but I feel that it lacks some of the realism that prior art has shown. It is cartoonish and just lacks that something that grabs my eye. - 3.5 points

2. Layout:
a. The book looks clean and the layout is easy to follow, there are some issues where things are in strange places… Like an explanation before the new mechanic that looks like it is a part of the new mechanic instead. – 4 points
b. Tables – Now these are an improvement over the old tables and are cleaner and easier to print as well. The tables layout Cost/Bonus in an easy to read format. – 5 points

3. New Mechanic:
a. The new option to trade Weapon Proficiencies for Tricks is an interesting take and allows a combatant to do more than just have the golf-bag of weapons option. – 4 points
b. The new options themselves are interesting, but there are some that are mechanically the same for a slightly different thing. (Example is actions that use a different stat in place of strength to modify your attack check.) They could have been rolled into one and been a choose the one that fits option. - 3.5 points

4. New Feats:
a. These are also similar to the new mechanic in that they are good but there are multiple ones that allow the same effect for a different subset of weapons (One of Blunt and One for Edged that offer the exact same benefit but use a different subset of weapons.) – 3.5 points

All in all I feel that this is a great option for players or GC’s to use to modify a PC/NPC to make them a specific type of fighter without using Feats alone.
Total – 23.5/6 = 3.916 (Rounded to 4 points)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Practice Makes Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Origin of the Species: Light of Olympus
by Loren D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2007 18:19:05
Spycraft really *is* the HALO of the D20 system--the killer app that makes it truly great. Its "toolkit" approach to the system gives it a wide range, allowing it to encompass any genre, and while it began its life as a modern/espionage product, the Spycraft engine fits fantasy just fine.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Origin of the Species: Light of Olympus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
by Nickolas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2007 23:21:51
I really like the customizable classes in this book. I have actually been able to have more useful characters that played the way I wanted to using this addition. Tabling is better in this than other spycraft sources (probably because it has less content to fight with being a small pdf). Still hard to read when printed because of poor color choices on tables.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Back to Basics: Modern SRD Classes for Spycraft 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Nickolas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2007 23:18:54
Forgot to add in my other review.

I like this system, it's fun to play and grabs your attention. The book, however, is poorly laid out and organized with bad color choices and equally bad content relationship problems. Meaning the tables and content don't mesh well together.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Nickolas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2007 23:15:14
Works great on the computer, if you happen to have a comp with you while you play and don't look at this as stepping away from true pen and paper gaming. Don't try and print it, you can't read it on low quality because the tabling (as in all spycraft books) is done with poor usability and color considerations. high quality printing would cost a fortune so not really worth it either.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Spycraft 2.0 Rulebook - Second Printing
by Victor R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2007 00:00:00
Great game! I used to play Top Secret and James Bond many moons ago and I recently bought the d20 Modern system in an attempt to relive those days of hunting down spies, killing terrorists, etc. Unfortunately I was highly disappointed.

Spycraft was recommended to me instead. So I paid my $24.95, downloaded the pdf and printed it out at work (497 full color pages!!!). Within minutes I was creating my first characters the next day I started playing my first session. Clear rules, great system. Like someone else said, this is what d20 Modern SHOULD have been.

IF you like the slightly-over-the-top spy worlds the movies, such as James Bond, True Lies, etc, this is the game for you!


LIKED: I really like the focus on modern day, real (if slightly exagerated) operations. Ever wanted to be a spy, Navy SEAL, cat burglar, etc? Now you can be one!

DISLIKED: I didn't quite like the "cinimatic" nature of the game. I wish it was more Top Secretish in that respect.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates