DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Free Free Oriental Weapons Pack
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2012 17:22:48
I don't know an awful lot about martial arts, so I can't attest to any level of accuracy in this product (but my argument has always been - do we necessarily want historical accuracy in a fantasy game?). However, it is a very useful additioonal document for any game using the D&D 3.5 rules. It is seven pages long (one page of which is the OGL) and it covers in some detail a range of shuriken and war fans, with combat rules for the variant weapons, their uses outside of combat and a few feats linked to the weapons.
Overall, it's good advertising for Action Games as it shows (for free) the types of work they can produce. I'd love to see this expanded out into a fulsome sourcebook (maybe only 30-50 pages) with a broad array of Oriental Weapons, feats and storytelling hints.
I'd highly recommend downloading this if you have even a passing interest in adding this type of weaponry to your campaign.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Free Free Oriental Weapons Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Day Of Deeds
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/20/2011 22:14:21
WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW: Day of Deeds is an adventure module for Mutants & Masterminds 2nd Edition, released by Action Games. It is a very interesting concept, a whole lot of Bad Stuff happens all at once, and the PCs have to try to get to the bottom of it before the city falls completely into chaos. The set-up is right up my alley: For each of the 24 locations, you can randomly roll a victim, an antagonist and a Wildcard situation. The chaos isn't completely random, there is a connection to it all.

WHAT WORKS: Though stats for the antagonists are provided, anyone familiar with their favorite supers system can use Day of Deeds with something other than Mutants & Masterminds. Myself, I would probably feel comfortable enough using it with Marvel SAGA, Marvel FASERIP, BASH Ultimate Edition, Savage Worlds Supers or ICONS. Also, anyone that pays attention too my reviews knows that I love random roll charts.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The bookend segments are written pretty weakly. Basically, it's an excuse to get to random chaotic action. Really, even at the PDF price of $7.50, it's a tad overpriced for what amounts to a big random encounter generator.

CONCLUSION: I love the concept. However, neither the writing nor the production values fully justify the price tag. I can't comment on the stat blocks in the back as I'm not a Mutants & Masterminds guy, but I can say that if the concept appeals to you, most of the encounters are certainly easy enough to state up in your favorite supers system.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Day Of Deeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hardcore Rules Volume 1
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/29/2011 14:31:34
A collection of house rules for armor protection (versus different types of damage), armor durability, repairing armor, critical success and "radical" failures (both with result tables) for combat and skill checks, and called shots. The cover claims these can be used for any system, but they seem to be built around the d20 system.

The layout for this PDF is a little rough and there are more than a few spelling and grammar errors, but perhaps that is in keeping with the "hardcore" theme. If you are interested in paying for someone's hastily scribbled house rules, you might like this PDF.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hardcore Rules Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hardcore Rules Volume 1
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2011 09:02:00
Gaming groups are like primate species that evolve into functional intelligent being over time. As gaming groups evolve, so do the processes and rules they utilize outside of the system they are playing on. A lot of the time, these rules are as strange as having glue covered skin or being able to launch a protective spike out of your tongue.

When I read the first few pages of Action Games Hardcore Rules: Volume 1, I cringed a bit. With relief, my hesitation was for naught. Hardcore Rules is a creative, yet accessible, collection of rules that can be implemented into any d20 system. Though some are a little nichey, they never venture too far into the far realm of gaming group weirdness.

The 16-page PDF contains 5 (though the authors say 3) additional rules. Most of these have been tried and true, but the thorough descriptions make them seem a little fresher than previous incarnations. I also appreciate the brevity. Too often, independent DMs relish in the “brilliance” of their house rules and tend to speak over the audience instead of presenting to the audience.

Hardcore Rules begins by presenting possibly the most niche of the supplements, a redesign of the armor system that adds depth and realism to wearing armor. It is a different departure to simply “armor as Damage Reduction” and makes people squishy again without overcomplicating things. The next chapter is taken as one rule, but feels more like three. There is a critical hit chart which wades into the brutal field of a critical hit. Breaking limbs and tearing off fingers is certainly not something I have seen frequently on these types of charts. There is also a Critical Failure chart, which greatly punishes failures. The third rule in this chapter is a simple skill critical and failure result chart. Bravely, and wisely, the author did not try to detail every skill. Longtime DMs know that players and situations are too diverse to single out instances. The final part was a called shot list. Though creative in the penalties for making the called shot, the defense bonus to the opponent feels too low. A simple +5 for a head shot that renders the opponent unconscious can end many a battle very quickly. It feels like this part probably works with the previous armor part, in that certain armor would add or subtract from the defensive bonus.

For the Dungeon Master
I found the skill chart a fun addition to put into the game. Simple, yet effective. With some modification the called shot can get some nice use as well.

The Iron Word
Hardcore Rules: Volume I is smart enough to know that not every group wants to become the group that originated this material. The presentation is short and sweet, and the layout work is visually effective. The additional rules have enough differences from similar rules in other materials to make them worth the purchase.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2011 17:39:30
I liked the other free Downloads from Action Games so I tried this one. The first monster was the Goblin Tree that was vary unique. The art for it was vary interesting too. The second was the Goblin Worm that also looks like a great monster to put up against players. The next monster was an oriental one that has a lot of cool abilities making it not just a hack and slash monster. Last was the Spyder dragon, I really enjoyed the breath weapon and the art was vary nice too.
This download reminds me of what monsters use to be like in first and second edition D&D. Not just hack and slash but with purpose and tactics. Even the monster the goblin tree had a vary cool story intro to get you into the gaming mood. Thank you Action Games for the free monsters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Free Free Oriental Weapons Pack
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2011 17:11:13
Vary cool free product. There are so many types of Shurikens with new uses and damages. I also really enjoyed the few new martial arts and feats. I hope they come out with a whole book on new weapons for the oriental setting. Thank you for the free gaming material. I wish there was more weapons but this is a vary good free product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Free Free Oriental Weapons Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Free Magical Arms and Armor pack
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2011 17:02:28
Just picked up the Free magical arms and armor pack from
Action Games. Really enjoyed the Girdle of giant strength and the ring of famine. Thank you for the free stuff Action Games

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Free Magical Arms and Armor pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lpm
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/15/2010 08:21:12
This game is very short, weighing in at 15 pages in the pdf (5 of which are blank, at the end). There are typos and run-on sentences throughout the text that make it a little difficult to understand the rules. The basic rules are extremely simple and would work well for an extremely quick throwdown game. The advanced rules allow for a little more complexity and different weapon types held by the soldiers. Vehicle are represented very simply and are basically a bonus to the most experienced soldier among their crew. The game suffers in the fact that there is no point system, or no system at all to balance both sides of a game, other than to make each side exactly the same. The rules do talk about cover, but don't touch full cover. The idea is sound and it looks like it could be a cool game, but I think some of the ideas needed a little bit more development. This is a perfect game to tweak yourself, but I think if you played it straight out of the box, it'd be disappointing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lpm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates