DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
by Chris A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 18:42:29
Very nice to have this Extra Content support from this Game publisher. It is all very relevant to the Outbreak Undead rules and games I will run. Really, it is much like optional rules expansions I have seen from other Game Systems (but I did not have to buy another Edition of the rules to get it, which I appreciate very much.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Deep Space - Space Academy
by Eric N. Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00
Marketing of this product is very deceiving. The title refers to a 5-page addendum to the main product Outbreak: Deep Space. Looking at the price, this appears to be a "sourcebook" for the game, similar to the career books for Traveller. Unfortunately it is not what it seems.

For the price being charged you will receive the aforementioned 5-page "add-on" and a copy of the main book for the setting. For those of us that already have the main book, this is a rip-off. DO NOT PURCHASE IF YOU ALREADY OWN "OUTBREAK: DEEP SPACE" MAIN BOOK.

The author and DTRPG need to repackage this product by removing the main book and selling ONLY the add-ons. There are 4 other "Academy" add-ons to the setting which I will not be buying due to the fact that I don't need 6 copies of the main book.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Deep Space - Space Academy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead - GM's Companion
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/06/2012 01:09:27
The GM's Companion serves as a handy addition to Outbreak: Undead that really does add a new degree of complexity to the risk and reward of missions in the zombie apocalypse. While it's not exactly going to turn your game upside down with a ton of new and unexpected things, it provides a good guide of what you can expect to be doing in the zombie apocalypse and things that can be put into play that won't beat the players' characters to a pulp in seconds.

Basically, the GM's Companion serves as a guide to what you want to do to keep a game smooth and on track, and allows you to use random generation to figure out stuff to put in if you lose track of where things should be going. It's not giant, but it's got enough stuff in there to be worth noting as a valuable aid.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead - GM's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2012 22:11:48
If you're just looking to kill zombies, this may not be the book for you.

However, if you're looking for a general framework to fit your personal zombie apocalypse in, put your cash on the able now. Rules for stronghold building, firearms, looting, minor gear customization, an adaptable mission structure, and the ability to create "yourself" as a character are just some of the highlights.

The rules system is broad and different. It's made to play with 2 d10s and a d6, with a lot of room for imagination. The first thing to remember is that these are a framework. The rules can be vague or confusing in some spots, but the simplicity in mechanics they were shooting for more than make up for it. Add in monthly updates via Free Content Friday, and you've got a lot of potential.

The game adapts itself very well to the players, rather than demanding the other way around. The system tries to prevent rampant metagaming and will grow on you. Gamemaster friendly, as you can play and refree at the same time, and it doesn't demand large amounts of prep work. A great buy if you're looking for something different and aren't afraid to tweak the system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2012 15:57:40
This material adds an interesting threat for survivors to face, and one that is likely unexpected.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2012 15:33:39
I love the concept of Free Content Friday. But is there a way to include something in the product title so that buyers know whether they have already purchased/downloaded this item?
I suggest putting the date of release into the title. [Ex: Free Content Friday - 04/13/2012]. Otherwise, visitors to this site are left thinking that there is only one product release from who knows how long ago?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Wild Kingdom
by Kyle W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/17/2012 11:04:31
Outbreak: Undead is in my opinion the best zombie game available, and Outbreak: Wild Kingdom is a suitably high-quality supplement for it.

Quite frankly, if you're going to do any real wilderness focus in your game, this is a great add-on. While not every campaign goes into the wilderness, there are even more city-applicable features like statistics for dogs, birds, and vermin swarms that would still be in play in a urban environment.

The Fair King Zoo scenario is both very interesting but also a little gory for my squeamish taste (it is a zombie game, after all). I'm not as easily scared as I used to be, so it didn't bother me terribly much, but it's not the sort of thing I'd run with just anyone (just like any zombie campaign). This should not be interpreted as a bad thing, however, given the setting and goal.

I cannot come up with anything bad about this book; some people may not care for the style, but I find the style to be incredibly cool (maybe on account of my nerdiness), and there's nothing I can gripe about.

My one warning to people would be that this is a zombie game, so not everyone will appreciate the art and content (it is rather gory), and it's not for children or the excessively squeamish.

For those wanting a quick summary:
Content: 4/5 (It has a lot, but it's very specific; if you are going into the wilderness specifically it'd be 5/5)
Art/Typesetting: 5/5 (It made my graphic design nerd happy inside)
Writing: 4/5 (Some typos detract from otherwise excellent writing, some places could be re-written)
Awesome Factor: 5/5 (ZOMBIES! Wilderness survival! Animals!)
Interest: 5/5 (Well thought out and deeper than just stating facts)
Maturity: 16+ (Clean language and sexual content, but violent and potentially disturbing)
Value: 4/5 (It's not the longest supplement around for $13, but it makes up for it with quality)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Wild Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2011 18:49:57
Outbreak: Undead is a very fine game with a good flow. This product is a great addition, and will also do well as added on material for other Modern RPG's.

Love Outbreak, and look forward to more adds, free content, and companion material.

Rob Kirkman would be proud! :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead
by Gokce M. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2011 05:10:52
Outbreak:Undead(O:U) is purely wonderful. As a game system, it isn't just for short games, also you can play a whole zombie outbreak, sure if you can survive. You never get so powerful that you don't fear zombies, but you get powerful enough to survive and have small breaks to breathe.

Solutions for most ambiguous positions like car driving, fuel consumption and stronghold resources, are well designed ad-hoc solutions. They simulate encounters very realistic, and are fast-play, learn-easy formulations.

Zombies, on the other hand, uses different rules than players. Many types of zombies are possible and they cover all-types of zombies. Templates for most common types of zombies are designed and presented in rulebook. Familiar Face and Janitor are good reminders that zombies are not about only bodies, but they are remainders of what they were before.

Character creation is easy and most common type survivors has templates designed. If you wanna play yourself that is not so hard. There is just one problem with character creation, it takes time. But character sheet is not big at all, just front page of an A4 type sheet.

GMing this game is mostly being a ruler. But that doesn't mean there is no fun. Fun of this game for GM is designing areas, planning zombie encounters and watch players shrive to survive. It is really fun, take this word to heart.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/30/2011 03:31:31
Outbreak: Undead is a zombie horror survival rpg - a big one, clocking in at over 430 pages. And it is chock full of rules, lots and lots of beautiful rules for killing zombies, surviving zombie attacks, and fortifying your base to stop those damn zombies from getting in! That being said, the rules aren't overly difficult to get your head around, and everything runs off a straightforward percentage system, with margins of success for every ten points you pass or fail a roll by. I would say the game is thorough, more than it is complex, and I like that. How thorough? The equipment chapter is almost 100 pages and covers everything from chainsaws (obviously) to guns, to body armour and drugs. The 20 pages before that are just about vehicles - how to drive them, how to run them into stuff, and how to get away from a zombie horde in them. The GM chapter is close to 100 pages too, and covers all the ground you would expect it to - how to create and run encounters, and advice on turning the player characters into zombies!
This is a realistic kind of game, where combat is bloody and the horror visceral. Making it even more realistic is the recommendation for the players to play themselves, in locations they are familiar with. There is plenty of advice to help you out with this, and I really like the idea. The basic premise of the game is to put the characters in a specific situation after a zombie outbreak, and give them a specific objective, such as last a particular amount of time, escape to somewhere safer, or kill all the zombies. This "mission" structure, combined with the possibility of player yourself in your hometown means you could play out all those conversations you've had with friends (you know you've had them), about what you would do in a zombie outbreak. Cool.
But the rules aren't even the best part. For me, the LOOK of the book is where it is at. It is kind of like a survivor's scrapbook, filled with bad sketches, crummy polaroid photos, hand scrawled messages and sticky-notes. It is a really eclectic mix of documents, fonts and art, all presented as if stuck into a notebook it I think it captures the theme of the game beautifully. I am not normally a fan of such wildly different art styles in one book, and some of the art is pretty average, but here it all works together to present as an artefact from the world it is creating.
The book is not without its faults, though I will admit they are pretty small ones. The table of contents is not hyperlinked, and neither are the chapter numbers that are on the edge of every page. I wish they were. Furthermore the bookmarks are only for the start of each chapter, which means there is a fair bit of virtual page flipping in those 100-page chapters. I also had difficulty reading large portions of the text that were presented as handwriting. Now, it was clear and neat, and very effective in terms of creating an "artefact", but it was not as easy as reading more typical "typed" text.
Overall, I am really impressed by Outbreak: Undead.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead
by Tim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2011 19:29:24
My sons and I played "Outbreak: Undead" at GenCon2010 and had a great time. I am glad they came out with a pdf version of the rule book.

PROS:
- An interesting rules system that is more a simulation then an RPG.
- Character creation and being able to play yourself using by SPEW assessment online in nice.
- The mission oriented format is new to me and easy to use as the GM.
- The pdf version has an index, although it would be nice if you could click on a page number in the index and be taken to that page.

CONS:
- A searchable pdf would have been nice.
- The format of the rulebook being a journal can be a little annoying at times.
- There are some pages that just have pictures and quotes without useful game information but they do break up the text.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead
by Ian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2011 15:49:39
Write a review for Outbreak: Undead? Sure, give me 4 hours. Seriously though, this book is huge, and packed with crunch cover to cover. Don't let that scare you off though, because this book contains all of the player information you need, AND the DM information, and all of the crunch is useful. I'll highlight just a few of the standout features;
If you're looking for a serial style game that feels like a zombie horror movie, this is the game for you. The mechanics are unique (which in of itself is very impressive for the now very full RPG market, especially for first time publishers), and really help the flow of the story move directly from one scene to the next. And the key to understanding this game is that it is built around scenes, much like a movie.
Outbreak: Undead is great for oldschool players who love to track every little condition, and every little item (it includes superglue in the equipment section!). It will satisfy those players who love horror games, and want their PCs to eventually feel the cold embrace of death. And perhaps best of all, the game isn't tied down to any single zombie trope- each of the major zombie types is covered, with examples, and plenty of rules are given to modify those.
And DMs, this game is a breeze to run on the fly. Zombies have (understandably) a set of rules that govern their actions (which of course varies based on the trope you choose), which means your job can be boiled down to just rolling dice at the appropriate time. Indeed, a good group could even play the game without a DM.
I hope this, combined with other reviews, will give you a reasonable idea of the game. It truly is more game than one tiny review can contain.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2011 20:58:36
Ok, it's free content, and it's for one of the better tabletop games out there.

If you have Outbreak: Undead, get this. There's no reason not to. And it's awesome. Don't believe me? Download it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead - Free Content Friday!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2011 12:57:35
Outbreak: Undead is one of the best RPG experiences that I have EVER had. I review zombie games on www.BoardGameGeek.com and this game has been dominating my play list pretty much since I got it. When I review games on BGG, I look at their originality, rules, components/quality/layout, theme, coolness. This game almost scores full marks.

What I Like:
The game is an original take on the zombie RPG, because it is really not just an RPG, but closer to a zombocalypse simulator.

The rules are hard-core, no excuses, this-is-how-post - apocalypse-life-is-so-deal-with-it feeling. This is not a game for wimps, especially if you use the online character generator to create yourself as a character. Your character will probably die.

The free online content available for this game is INCREDIBLE. Get the game, join the forums and look for the Free Content Friday stuff. You will have to join and participate in the forums to get it, but WOW!

I love the character generation system. I will admit that there is a learning curve to the process, but remember all things of true value require work on your part.

The different Outbreak levels and the way that they change the encounters and the scenario/campaign as you move from one to the next really add a level of realism.

The rules for equipment (and its degeneration), the rules for formations and the rules for panic are all excellent.

ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING about the zombies, the different types, the ways they can pass infection, everything is very well presented such that you could customize the game to nearly anything. This is proven by the April 1st 2011 Free Content available here on RPGNow.

The chapter on combat, including open wounds, wound types, grappling with the undead, etc. is all very clear and realistic.

Again, ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING in the game masters section is really cool: Encounters, stronghold rules, missions, viral tables, everything.

What I DON'T Like:

Some of the character generation rules are arbitrary and don't make much sense -- for example: according to the rules characters over 200 lbs can't have the skill Agility. My stepson is 6' 5" tall. He practices parkour in real life. He is unhealthy and anorexic-looking at 200 lbs. His normal athletic weight is 220 lbs. Believe me when I say He DEFINES Agile. Additionally, by these rules, 2x Super Bowl champion Tight End Todd Christensen is also not agile in his prime at 6'3" and 230 lbs., he is just one among others that I could name.

Between 10 years of past autocross and car tuning experience and my wife working for an engineering firm that reports on auto accidents, I know a LOT about vehicles. The chapter on vehicles is NOT realistic, but in fairness, reality and vehicles would make for a truly complex set of rules that would NOT lend themselves to being 1 chapter in an RPG where functioning vehicles are scarce anyway.

TABLES - TABLES - TABLES Where are they? This is a system nearly as complicated as 1st Edition AD&D and there are only a handful of tables in the book. Wow, could it really use some more!

The layout of the book is something some people will like and others will not. I like the idea of it being like a survivor's notebook. That part is cool. What I do NOT like is the small print in the "handwriting" font -- I get it thematically, but I could sacrifice that realism to be able to more easily read the text. I'm glad I don't need glasses, 'cause this book must be HELL for people who do.

Overall this game rates 4 stars out of 5. What it really comes down to is this:

Is it PERFECT? NO. Nothing is.

Is it better than anything else I have seen for this genre? YES.

That comes from someone who has played and reviewed almost 100 different zombie games and has over 25 years of RPG experience. It is a deal at 2X the price. Buy it now.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Outbreak: Undead - Quick Start Guide
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2011 08:35:09
This item is what convinced me that Outbreak: Undead was absolutely THE zombie RPG for me. When you download and read through this, you can't help but be impressed by the detail and realism levels that game designers considered when they wrote the rules.

If you demand realism in your RPG's, then from the basics of how the system works to time keeping to the phases of combat to special attacks, this small taste of Outbreak: Undead will leave you craving more. . .

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbreak: Undead - Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates