DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gulbradda Skyrealm
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2011 20:33:48
Well I usually don't bother with doing a review below 4 stars unless I feel strongly about it. I gave this 3 stars but felt it just barely crossed the line into 3 stars territory. Take my critique with a grain of salt as admittedly I could be cheap or petty here. The quality of the four maps is actually good. The side view of the skyrealm is well done and very evocative and the top view is informative. But the only difference between the player and GM maps is the inclusion of numbers on the buildings to be used with the description key. Your players won't really be gleaning too much from noticing the numbers. Next the descriptions of the buildings I found to very vague and unhelpful. Many times you don't get an idea of how many floors a building has or how many rooms. Are there interesting details such as furniture or statuary? Architectural details? Your guess would be as good as mine. Some may like this freeform quality in their products but for me it just comes off unfinished. Without the inclusion of maps of the individual buildings you have just the descriptions. To me that really just leaves you with a really nice line drawing of a floating island. You could conceivably use the other building maps that Arsenale Shipworks sell but that would just be more money and they would not always fit with this product. $2.99 is not much in the grand scheme of things but is more than I feel this product is worth. $1.50 is what I would pay tops but .99 is closer to the mark. Include more floor plans, NPC or creature write ups, a more extensive history and I would pay $10 or $20. Heck, I would $5 for more differentiated GM and player's maps. So get it if you really like like putting in extra work but you would be just as well to note the idea and do your own skyrealm.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gulbradda Skyrealm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gulbradda Skyrealm
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/18/2011 12:15:13
Arsenale Shipworks does a wonderful job with black and white maps of fantasy structures. Gulbradda Skyrealm contains two views from different angles of a small, floating medieval city with structures on multiple levels. It contains 35 named locations with both player and GM maps (4 maps total). Each of the named locations contains at least of paragraph of text describing the structure and its us. The entire product is 10 pages long of maps and text and is well worth the asking price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Owl and the Hare Tavern
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2011 05:42:00
I didn't find this map as helpful as the earlier Tavern when looking for something to use in play, although it costs more. It seems a bit too prosperous and modern (or at least Enlightenment) for my preferred influences.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Owl and the Hare Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tavern
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2011 01:55:43
I've used this in a game and found it a very sensible small generic drinking establishment, printing cleanly as a battle grid - just a useful thing to have on hand for practical game use.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Spiceworks
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2011 18:35:51
Original location. Black and white - very printer friendly. Ideal for on-the-hoof encounter planning! Good value.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Spiceworks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Customs House
by Charles F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2011 18:45:11
Great product! Easy to use format without all the clutter of some over-the-top 3D presentation. For a buck-fifty its easy to plan an adventure and then get a quick set of locations to run and scenario. I look forward to seeing more from Arsenale for my next adventure!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Customs House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Spiceworks
by J L. G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2011 01:14:49
A fairly straight forward map of a small spice shop roughly 6 x 6 squares on a square grid that is well suited for games like D&D. Your purchase comes with 6 pdfs of the shop, two for each floor with a labeled and unlabled version. The maps them selves are quite clear and are very printer friendly. The maps makes use of clear illustrations rather than just stand in symbols.

I would reccomend this for anyone planning a game who has a DIY streak. Bonus points for the map being in black and white, which means I get to colour it.

www.shatteredsea.com

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Spiceworks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caravansary
by Connie A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2011 08:14:59
It would also be so much more convenient to download if the files were all put into one zipfile,

As for the drawing itself it is fine, providing an interesting encounter point, as well as inspiring your own ideas.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Caravansary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Verpa's Shrine
by unlucky d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2011 14:31:08
Detailed without being cluttered and looks great when printed. Thanks for including the labeled and unlabeled versions.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Verpa's Shrine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Customs House
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/13/2011 09:32:46
Sometimes we fail to see the elegance in something simple. We don't always see the possibilities in the functional and gravitate toward visually stunning. I have to admit when I first viewed the Arsenale Shipworks maps I almost passed them over for this reason.

These fantasy maps are black and white, one to a pdf, and lack eye catching graphics. As it turns out, this is by design. The maps won't eat your print cartridge, have a 1" grid suitable for 25mm miniatures, and print on 8.5x11" paper.

At last count, Arsenale Shipworks has 12 maps available for about $0.75 per printed page. Each purchase includes the map with and without descriptive text. Most maps are a single printed page but two of the maps reviewed required two pages to print.

For you Virtual Tabletop users, the graphics are easily imported into an image editor like GIMP and saved as jpgs or pngs. The resolutions is 100 ppi and the line up nicely inside Maptool. The added benefit to the black and white color scheme is a small memory footprint inside a VTT.

I had two issues with the maps. The map's description exists only on the retailer's product page and each map is duplicated (one with text and one without) in a separate file which leads to disk clutter. I recommend placing a description on a title page and putting both versions in one file, possibly with a text layer than can be turned off for printing.

Overall the maps are a nice offering and well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Customs House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fish Market
by Connie A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2011 06:34:22
I found this simple but very adequate map does exactly what it should ... lights up your imagination as well as providing an excellent encounter space. The coin you pay for it is well spent indeed!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fish Market
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates