DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Strike Legion Tactical Rules Compendium
by Damon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2014 22:15:10
I love the game, but I am not fond of the new format of the book. It would have been far better to retain the basic rules in one section and then include the other advanced options such as archaic forces, air, naval, organic, and advanced tech in their own self contained section or chapters. This would make the rulebook less intimidating for new players and would have provided easier reference to specific modules players which to use without overwhelming the reader. They author did highlight sections that should be read first, but this is a messy approach vs having the advanced rules in their own section of the book.

Overall I like the streamlining of the game, but I think this is a terrible product for new players. Some of my friends gave up on it just trying to read the movement section. I really hope future products will be written so that the basic core rule mechanic is presented in the first chapters and other rules are provided in separate chapters, similar to how the original book was written. As a veteran of the game, I can still use the product, but it leaves much to be desired regarding organization of content.

Summary, Great Game, nice enhancements to the system, but very difficult for a player new to the rule system.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion Tactical Rules Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your honest opinion! As to your concerns about the book, I\'d like to submit a couple of things: 1. In addition to updating and clarifying the rules, one of the goals of this volume was to place all rules related to a single concept in one section for easy reference. Having rules for different types of movement or weapons descriptions spread across 3 or 4 different sections of a single book is little better than having to search through 3 or 4 books for that information from an organizational standpoint. Even with the new rules format subheadings in the rules reference specific unit types or classes; if they are elements you don\'t normally include in your games, there\'s no reason why you shouldn\'t skip over them and treat the rulebook as a reference volume. 2. If your friends attempted to read the entire movement section I can only surmise they did not heed the advice for new players offered in the book\'s introduction, which states: \"Some sections of the book have been marked with a red minus sign next to the section heading or a portion thereof. On one’s first reading of the rules, every one of these sections should be completely ignored, as should all rules in or between sections 10.0 through 20.0\". All of the movement rules from 4.213 to the end of the section have been thus marked, meaning that your friends would need to read roughly 2 pages of the movement rules before playing their first game. I would suggest that they (along with _any_ new Strike Legion player) download the free Plain Brown Wrapper demo version of the game to get a grasp on the basics of vehicle movement and combat if they have difficulty navigating the Rules Compendium. While the format and content of the Plain Brown Wrapper have not been revised, the rules implemented there remain valid in this updated version of the game.
Strike Legion Tactical Rules Compendium
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2014 22:33:12
No games with it yet but it looks like a very nice update (version 1.5 as they call it) to the Strike Legion series. Everything is here except the campaign system (coming later). At 181 pages (including 30 pages of pre-done data cards) it is a very thorough set of rules. We've played mostly in 15mm with no problem and any sci-fi gamer will want to give SL a look. Don't be put off by the size, the basics of the game are simple and you can layer on more as you go.

It was great to see SL get this treatment.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Weltkrieg 'Case Blau' Demo Rulebook
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2013 03:54:52
Info is fine, needs expansion though, and some bits not too well explained

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weltkrieg 'Case Blau' Demo Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Strike Legion: Platoon Leader
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2012 14:01:20
Well presented set of rules, which play well. Did have some reservations about ground scale but have ignored that. I laso think movement limittions due treeain could be handeled in a better way. Compabt system is well thought out though.

Worth a close look

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion: Platoon Leader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
by Stuart T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2012 11:49:35
Very good example of what the PO system can do.
Includes additional rules, scenarios and army lists.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Strike Legion: Planetary Operations
by Stuart T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2012 11:47:03
Well presented set of rules at a reasonable price.
Could be used to represent just about anything you wanted to, and probably more of a template to create something than a pre-packaged system (although some sample army lists are in the book)

Full rules for unit creation are included and the author is very active on the Yahoo group setup to support the rules.
The WWIII supplement is good (if badly named) and shows the versatility of the system.

The rules could use more examples but other than that grab a copy and tweak to whichever period / crazy idea takes your fancy.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion: Planetary Operations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2011 12:30:00
This game is a great new offering in the modern genre.

The company/Division level allows for some truly strategic play. One great thing about this series is you can scale from skirmish to strategic with the same figs, especially if you use 6mm.

This scale also makes great use of 6mm armor and the game doesn't require separately based infantry for IFV's. More money for tanks!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Strike Legion: Planetary Operations
by Anthony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2011 13:06:29
Personnally I was very impressed with this pdf. The organization and presentation I felt were quite well done, and after my first read through most everything made pretty good sense.

I am joined Legionnaire's yahoo group for ideas on how to represent Titans from Epic, but otherwise I feel I could easily represent just about any period I wanted - in fact after seeing what was done for modern is TWTNW I am going to try my hand at using this for WW2.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion: Planetary Operations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
by Anthony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2011 13:01:24
This module is what actually prompted me to purchase Planetary Ops. I have been looking for a set of rules for truly large battles in the modern setting.

In my opinion the module is well laid out and appears pretty clear. There was an extensive selection of units and generic TO&E charts which can be applied. I felt it was quite worth the asking amount of $6.99 for all the completed unit cards and more unique scearios.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The War That Never Was: a Planetary Operations Module
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2011 11:31:22
I enjoyed going over the book. The new rules, especially the engineering add-ons covered parts that the previous suppliments hadn't covered.

I also have a fondness of going over TO&E's which this book provides in abundance. This information is not only useful from a historical perspective, it can also help one who wants to create his own TO&E.

Overall I would say that this is a very good value for the money.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Strike Legion Main Rulebook
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2011 00:13:40
Strike Legion is an excellent set of Sci-fi tactical combat rules. The scale is one stand equals a team and individual vehicles. It is designed for 6mm minis but easily scaled to 15mm. The game is reasonably streamlined but includes a huge array of options so players can choose the level of detail they desire as well as match the rules to their preferred Sci-fi genre. Everything from infantry to air support and artillery is covered. if you add in the other supplements there is no area of Sci-fi combat the rules do not cover. Physical presentation is very good as well.

If you have any interest in Sci-fi tactical combat Stirke Legion is a must buy. It also complements the excellent new Gruntz rules as well by offering a somewhat larger scope and more comprehensive coverage.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strike Legion Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates