DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2014 19:35:47
really? why are you even reading this it's OakumArts ? do you really need a review.... ok I downloaded it ... I love it it's great the art is incredible the characters are fun the coloring is fantastic... bla bla bla why are you still reading this ?? download it and love it!




really your still here reading this? maybe you don't know how to do this ... ok it's easy
step one click on the add to cart button it's right over there..... then just follow through like your going to purchase it only the amount owed says 0.00 and wait for the download to finish then you find where your computer downloaded it and you unzip the folder and..... are you seriously still reading this???

never mind just go and add all the rest of his models to your cart and be done with it ! sure it will cost most of your last paycheck but we both know it's going to happen anyway you might's well just accept it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Axes and Anvils Set One: Dwarf Adventurers
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2014 19:28:16
I often go on about how well done Dave Oakum does his minis but this set is completely different.... ok no not really it's the same High quality and attention to incredible detail that you would expect from OakumArts. The characters are easy to print easy to use and easy on the eyes! I love this set and all the color change options are a real plus!
if your going to need some dwarves for your backyard drunken brawl look no further than this!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Axes and Anvils Set One: Dwarf Adventurers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Beasts & Barbarians: Hero Construction Set
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2014 19:22:02
Not many people are willing or crazy enough to attempt what Dave has Spectacularly pulled off with this set! in just one pdf their is enough variations to build an entire army if you want! it's a huge pack of minis for a very small price. if you need a lot of minis but are short on cash this is the set you need. I love messing around with the different characters and seeing what kind of weird combo I can come up with but no matter how I try they all look great! once again Dave raises the standards of what can be done and done well for making paper minis Bravo sir well done!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians: Hero Construction Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Bonus Set One: Fae is Fowl
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2014 19:17:04
Okumarts is continuously putting out models that raise the standard of quality for all the rest! and his latest work is no different! I am constantly amazed at the level of detail and attention that Dave gives to all his work and consequently to all of us this free set is only a small sample of what awaits among the treasures of OakumArts!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Bonus Set One: Fae is Fowl
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Spot Of Bother Set Two: Top Secret Headquarters
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2014 10:56:48
I would give it a 5, but this set is for dioramas, and Not gaming. I was very disappointed with the planning for the structures - the retro controls are bad ass, but the planning of the builds is very fiddly. This is an attempt to be clever, and not practical. I would love to talk w/ anyone who genuinely enjoys any game w/ this ill conceived design.

The models are great except for one guy who's face is messed up on the back side - again w/ the being clever stuff.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spot Of Bother Set Two: Top Secret Headquarters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mini Playset - Assorted Supers
by Luca V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2014 06:59:28
Love it, love it, love it! Now for the technical part... :)
The "Mini Playset" is a grea idea, ten figures at a cheap price - allowing you to deploy a RPG party or a skirmisher army for a song.
The figures are very good, as we've been used to expect from OkumArts, and print great.
Only complaint (not really a complaint): I'd like to have a line-art version of the minis, so I can add my colours... But whatever! It is good!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini Playset - Assorted Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Serene Fist Set Two: Ninja vs Samurai
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:57:35
I love Okum arts cardstock minis.

Samurai.
Ninjas.

What more need I say?
:-)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Serene Fist Set Two: Ninja vs Samurai
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Four: Ogres
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:56:43
I can't say enough good things about Okum Arts cardstock minis. I love the art, the prices are reasonable, and the layers really add value since it's like multiplying the number of figures you get. many sets have bonus figures hidden the layers too, which is really. cool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Four: Ogres
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mini Playset - Assorted Supers
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2014 12:46:06
Nice mini set. Dave's art is great, as expected.
10 figures, 3 layers of color options.
I should also note, that he wisely didn't depict powers powers, so the figures are more universal in application.
I look forward to future mini sets, especially if they are Superhero related.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mini Playset - Assorted Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Advanced Classes: Ducks
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2014 06:22:43
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2014/04/11/tabletop-review-darkfas-
t-classic-fantasy-advanced-classes-ducks-labyrinth-lord/

When you’re a reviewer, sometime a piece so weird comes up that you have to review it. In this case it is Ducks, a supplement for Labyrinth Lord by Okumarts Games. Labyrinth Lord isn’t a system that is known for its sense of humour, but the cover and description of Ducks was so hilariously odd that I had to see if the piece was a nice piece of levity for the system or if it actually was taking itself seriously. Well, thankfully this is meant to be a comic piece. However, once it is on your table you or your players can treat it as seriously as you want. After all, is a race of duck people really that different from Dragonborn, Lizardmen or Wolfweres? I’d say no. Anything is possibly in YOUR fantasy world.

For $2.50, you get two nine page PDFs – one for PCs and one for Macs. Each format also gets two ads for other Okumarts products. Now $2.50 might seem a bit pricey for a mere nine pages of content, especially when one of those pages is actually just the OGL. The highlight of the piece is the comical duck-person art by David Okum. It’s no Carl Barks or Don Rosa in quality, but the art kept making me thinking of a Disney/D&D mash-up, which is wonderfully bizarre.

The duck race appears to be an ancient curse brought upon by a cranky wizard, but it’s never said why or to whom. The duck race as a whole seems to take its cues from Donald Duck as they are cranky and awkward. Being ducks they have a harder time on land than on water (although not if they are wearing full plate armor obviously) and they get penalties to hiding their tracks and disguising themselves for obvious reasons. It is interesting to see that Ducks are also grumpy and unlucky as a race, making me wonder if the author did indeed pattern this after the Carl Barks version of Donald Duck. It really seems like it, as the credits thank Disney’s greatest creator ever. However, what do you do with a Gladstone Gander type duck, a Gyro Gearloose or even an Uncle Scrooge? Why not a playable Ranger class considering the importance of the Junior Woodchucks? There are multiple lost opportunities with the piece, although perhaps due to the size of the PDF rather than the imagination of the creator.

After a history and overview of the Duck race, readers are treated to both NPC stats for common ducks and also player progression stats/charts for playable Ducks, as well as four class options: Fighter, Magic-User, thief and Cleric. Ducks get a lot of restrictions especially in the fact they can only have d6s for Hit Dice and their terrible saving throws vs magic, but they also get a wide range of bonuses including the ability to 100% read magic, even if they are a non-magic-using class. The challenge and comic potential of playing a Duck character will be intriguing to some.

After looking over all the options, a Duck Cleric and Magic-User seem to be the best options due to their bonuses and hindrances involving magic. A Duck Thief is going to have challenges due to its appearance, waddling speed drawback and lack of disguise options. A Duck Fighter will be held back by the armor and weapon restrictions the race faces. Now this doesn’t mean you shouldn’t play a Duck Warrior if that is what you really want – just a heads up about the potential challenges these characters would face. Duck Clerics and Magic-Users are pretty much the same as any other races that has access to those classes, so they’d be the best to try using this class with in my opinion.

Overall, Ducks is a very interesting product. The piece is definitely presenting with its tongue in its cheek and the artwork is fabulous, but the piece is also written in such a way that the race can be taken quite seriously if you and your players choose too. It’s a cute idea that I am really glad I picked up. My two complaints are actually parallel to each other in that the piece is a bit pricey for what you get and that there is a lot of missed potential because of the brevity in the PDF. Still, that means we might see further supplements down the road, right?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Advanced Classes: Ducks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
This excellent review brought up some great points and given me much to think about for future class books. I have added a set of eight paper minis to give more bang for the buck and link it with my other products. Thanks for the honest and insightful review Alexander! Make sure you download the file again for the minis.
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
by Thomas C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2014 20:14:02
I agree with Phillip M. The only thing that would make this better would be more female types. Maybe Darkfast could do an all-female version. Love the artwork.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Zero: Basic Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! That\'s a really great idea to do an all-female set. That is definitely an oversight on my part and many paper mini sets. I made male and female versions of the Dwarf set and the Dungeon Explorers set, but more would never hurt.
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2014 06:30:37
What more can be said? It is an OKUM ARTS set of figures!! It has been far too long since he has released a set of figures, and I have to admit, the wait has been worth it!

Beautifully drawn figures with vivid, brilliant colors that really grab you. No matter what game you are playing, these horrible beasts can find their way into the deepest, darkest caverns of your dungeons, and give your heroes something to battle.

What I enjoy the most is there are common (4 figure pose) creatures, and uncommon (two figure pose) creatures. You can print as many pages as you want, and have swarms of maggoty creatures, or a dungeon filled with Owlbears.

What a great addition to my fantasy papercraft collection!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by umberto p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 06:48:57
Customary great set from David Okum. Good art, smart use of layers and useful creatures. PS David, I want a jelly cube, sooner or later!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by Luca V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 02:02:17
First and foremost, let me come out of the closet: owlbears are my "fetish monster" in RPGs, along with Rust Eaters.
I greatly appreciate Okumart style (he stays just one step outside manga, which is exactly in my comfort zone. So, when Okumart makes a set with TWO (count'em: two!) owlbears, I *have* to jump in.
The undead sheet has 5 layers, which means you can have an enormous variety of zombies and ghouls.
This sheet alone, when used with the (free) set zero, is enough to populate any low to medium level dungeon and keep us all happy while waiting for the next set!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Darkfast Classic Fantasy Set Six: Crypt Crawl
by Anne T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2014 01:43:03
I hate zombies.

And it's more than just because there's been an oversaturation of them in recent genre media, it's personal.

But even though a full third of the paper minis in this set are the creeping, cannibalistic, bloody undead, OkumArts figures are always so fantastic that it was an insta-buy for me. Even if this set had been all and only zombies, Okum's vivid artwork with wonderful line and colour, dynamic poses, evocative characters, and humourous easter eggs, illustrated in an old-school dungeon-crawling style are really the best paper miniatures you can get, anywhere. Don't believe just me - he's already been twice nominated for Ennies for his minis, and it's only the Pathfinder behemoth that's kept him off the podium, I'm sure.

This particular set includes 7 files, a product cover, an ad for his forum and other work, two sheets of instructions, and three sheets of figures. The first is a layered pdf with alternate colourways, which includes 3 zombie villagers, 4 old-school orcs (p'orks), and 5 grey gravelings. The second includes 8 giant rats, 6 giant maggots, 4 giant flies, (and a partridge in a pear tree - nope, sorry, wrong song). The bonus (non-crypt themed) sheet includes 4 giant ferrets, 2 giant weasels, and 2 _terrific_ owlbears. I'll be posting photos of the figures over the next week at my blog (dungeon-mama.blogspot.com).

I have each and every one of OkumArts Darkfast and other fantasy sets, and I'm looking for an excuse, a game, any way to justify picking up his Pulp Sci-Fi and Western figures too. The figures are easy to print, cut, glue, and have on the table in short order, and look better than 95% of home-painted 3D miniatures.

What are you still doing reading this review? Buy 'em, you won't regret 'em!*


*Unless, of course, they actually come to life, and go after your brain. They are lively-looking enough to do that. You can be mad at me then, but I'll be already been dead and eaten. ;)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 127 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates