DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Monsters: Inner Planes
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/20/2014 03:08:15
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 3 pages of introduction/how to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of content, so let's take a look!



Now sometimes, a mythic monster installment features some cool, unique supplemental idea - this one provides a code of symbols (similar to what e.g. gypsies used back n the day, though much more obvious) for planar gates to help the wary planeshopper decide on whether to jump through the portal. Quite an array of solid, full-color glyphs with obvious meanings are provided here, covering e.g. the inner planes and negative/astral/ethereal planes, but also providing some symbols for portals that are one-way, lead to djinn, sahuagin etc. Nice.



Now fans of cheesy horror classics may get a chuckle out of the nomenclature of the wishmaster ability for mythic djinn - those beings are the keepers of their races and essentially the wishing police - these beings may even undo the wishes of other djinn. Yeah! Now let's take a look at the respective mythic creatures and what sets them apart!



At CR 10/MR 4, the Noble Djinni Vizier comes with a mastery of gravity and its manipulation, cannot be easily contained and gets some neat SPs. AT CR 12/Mr 5, the mythic Malik (i.e. noble efreeti) may cause non-mythic fire resistance ignoring conflagrations, shroud themselves in clouds of embers and are never blinded by smoke etc. - nasty for line of sight/effect tricks. Spell-like abilities powered by mythic power and the iconic arrogance also get neat signature abilities here.



At CR 5/MR 2, mythic Janni actually are rather neat - they can change the elemental properties of magic items and spells they use via swift actions and summon forth powerful elemental support. The CR 14/MR 5 Noble Marid Shahzada may desiccate targets via water's fury and craft deadly prisons of ice. Their liquefying touch, insanely accurate senses under water as well as their utter superiority in the realms of underwater creatures ensure that these guys are awesome terrors to behold.



The CR 16/MR 6 Noble Shaitan Pasha can force creatures to land, calling to swimmers and flyers - but what about those with a burrow speed? Apart from that oversight, the collective of cool legalistic wordsmithing, superior metalworking etc., a grand beast of a foe. Have I mentioned the ability to push targets into stone, melding them with the surroundings? Now that is creepy imagery.



Mythic Ghuls at CR 6/MR 2 gets a cursed, special, selective cloud of obscuring mists as well as superiority over hyenas and hyena-like creatures and temporarily grant these subordinate pack creatures teamwork feats. At CR 9/ MR 3, the iconic invisible stalker gets the exceedingly cool ability to activate an electrical shield that damages targets depending on the amount of metal they wear and also use this field to see targets. Its nigh unstoppable tracking also helps make this one a full-blown success.

The CR 6/MR 2 Mercanes come with a second extraplanar decoy chest and constant mind shielding, making them appropriate hagglers. Now mythic salamanders, at CR 8/MR 3 get imho one of the most iconic abilities - regeneration that can only be suppressed by mythic cold effects or weapons forged by their own mythic brethren - so simple, so elegant, so awesome. Of course, that are not all of their tricks, but it's the coolest in my book and rife with storytelling potential.



At CR 6/MR 2, the Mythic Tojanida get toxic ink, which is a rather cool idea, especially considering the option to power to enhance the damage with mythic power. The dreaded mythic Xill at CR 8/MR 3 can abduct non-helpless targets, may implant eggs on targets grappled and may switch teamwork feats in a limited manner, adding a strange component to the creature appropriate for the dreaded creatures. Compared to that, making earth waves and bludgeoning earth-eruptions for mythic Xorns (at CR 8/ MR 3) feel a tad bit more conservative.



Now my personal highlights in the mythic monster series tend to be Legendary Games' unique, new creatures and this time around, we get the CR 10/MR 4 Liminal Hound, a superb hunting dog of silverish hexagonally-scaled skin that not only is a glorious tracker, but which may also highjack grappled creatures trying to teleport away, interrupt those trying to get away, function perfectly in even zero gravity. As a nice bonus, we get a new armor made from their skin as well as a full-blown 1-page artwork of the most glorious quality. While not the best of Legendary Games' unique creations, I do like this critter's tight planeshopper-hunter-focus.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, I did not notice truly annoying glitches, though e.g. the Tojanida, Ghul, Malik and Genie-statblocks lack their respective ecology entries. Layout adheres to legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with two great full-color artworks and some cool symbols. The pdf has no bookmarks - a comfort detriment.



Jonathan Keith delivers a fine array of elemental-themed adversaries, with a tight focus on all those non-elemental denizens of the often neglected Inner Planes. Indeed, the overall takes on the respective mythic creatures, often drawn from folklore and pop culture, can be considered iconic and the new mythic toys to play with are neat. On the other hand, even though the adversaries herein often have a rather unique additional tool (or even a whole array of them), not all blew me away. Add to that the minor glitches and we arrive at a good installment of the series, if not a perfect one - well worth a final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Inner Planes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Righteous Heroes: Pregenerated Characters
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/09/2014 05:35:43
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This collection of pregens intended for the "Wrath of the Righteous"-AP clocks in at 31 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page introduction to the matter at hand, 1 page advertisement, 1 page SRD and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 25 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The characters herein are made via 20-point-buy and feature advice for scaling them down for 15-point buy, if you prefer a more challenging game. Additionally, each character comes with advancement suggestions and roleplaying advice to get into the respective character from the get-go. Now presentation-wise, something becomes immediately available - even beyond previous pregen-supplements by Legendary Games, the characters herein are presented in a gorgeous way - on one page, the full-character artwork of the respective pregen, including a cool in-character quote, are provided. On the page following that, we get massive background information, physical description and the respective personality, meaning you'll usually have 3 pages per character - the artworks being btw. mostly in the league of Paizo themselves - yes, that beautiful.



All right, got that? Now, the previews I saw did make the book looked slightly like everyone would be a full-armored knight, the diversity of this book actually goes farther - tale Briathos Tassiel, first character and a purifier oracle of celestial blood may be groomed to be a hero by the Inheritor's servants, but the incorruptible aasimar also makes for an interesting character in both his young age (at only 74 years) and his desire to reconnect with his celestial heritage. Caric Solnebren, the oathbound human paladin is a dual-talented man from a rich background - and his brother, the Aroden worshiping Loric Solnebren, a disillusioned sanctified rogue, makes for a great sibling rivalry fanned further by the opposition between his doctrines of Aroden and the Inheritor's code.



And indeed, synergies like this are not a rarity - in the roleplaying tips and background information, a vast array of ideas is provided to make the dynamics of the group work from the get-go and provide further story hooks down the road - take Tessara Arthinest, the elven synthesist summoner with her fused celestial spirit of valor. Beyond being shielded from traumatic experiences by her eidolon (one can never be sure to whom one is talking to when addressing her!) without her knowledge (which makes for good roleplaying regarding the nature of free will), her eidolon also originates from the same celestial source that fathered Briathos Tassiel. It's small secrets like that and their suggestions that make these characters be more than pregens - they can be considered a party from the very get-go!



Emerina Vestelle, the tiefling infiltrator inquisitor of Desna makes for an unconventional hero - born among evil cults, she was rescued and properly raised and now is a sensual and flirtatious lady, an uncommon contender to bringing an end to the worldwound's evil. Illemandir Ziruul, the menhir savant druid is a half-elf whose very birth was the result of the horrors bringing together two people that otherwise wouldn't have met, making him a living proof that even the bleakest of happenstances can result in positive outcomes. His connection with the land, explained as owing his life to the mastery of ley lines also makes for a superb motivation to stem the tide of corruptions.



Jilani Safiro, the wild-blooded empyreal sorceror is a long way from her desert-land home - and due to her ethnicity, some racial tensions, whether justified or imagined, may be seen as a further means of providing ample roleplaiyng opportunity and ground her and the party in the lore of Golarion. Now if you're more in the mood for a battle-cleric, what about Norgrym Hammerfell, the dwarven cleric of Torag? Once abducted by evil cultists, the ordeal has made him very conscious of security and safety as well as proper strategy - that and the strange ritual they subjected him to make once again for roleplaying opportunities aplenty!



The final page contains paper stand cut-outs of the glorious character artworks.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are excellent, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout is drop-dead-gorgeous and in 2-column full-color - the book ranks among the most beautiful I've seen, even among Legendary Games oeuvre. Weirdly, the pdf comes sans bookmarks, which makes navigation less comfortable than it ought to be. The artworks by Lance Red, Tanyaporn Sangsnit and Colby Stevenson deserve accolades - these characters jump to life straight from the page.



Neil Spicer knows how to write compelling CHARACTERS. Not just some pregens, CHARACTERS - people that are compelling enough to use as NPCs even if you're not looking for pregens, characters that do not follow each stereotype. Indeed, the pregens herein, in whatever constellation used, brim with roleplaying potential, feature so many cool angles, so many story-seeds, that even if used in a context that is not the Wrath of the Righteous AP, that any DM worth his/her salt can craft a whole campaign around them alone. Yes. That awesome. Their connections make them a party from the get-go, with all dynamics that entails and in the end, the characters also are superb reading. It should also be noted that the advice on character advancement also provides mythic path-selection advice. Apart from the missing bookmarks, I have exactly zilch to complain about here - these are, even by Legendary Games high standards, probably the best Pregens released so far and deserve no less than 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Righteous Heroes: Pregenerated Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 19: Feats of Sneaking
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/06/2014 11:04:51
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about feats associated with sneaking after the first, awesome installment, so let's check this out!



We open this mythic mini relatively conservative, with a mythic blinding sneak attack that can be powered by mythic power to keep the blindness (upgraded to the end of your next turn per default) last up to mythic tier rounds. Solid. Now "Dampen Presence" is interesting, allowing you to avoid lfesense, tremorsense (but not blindsight/sense as written...) and also allows you to use mythic power to treat stealth as a natural 20 - but only before the roll. The latter feels a bit too generic - not sure if that is supposed to work only for the senses mentioned by the feat - I *assume* so, but as written, this can be done in any context. If you have the mythic version of "go unnoticed", you can be treated as invisible by those who fail to see you, whereas "shadow strike's" mythic pendant allows you to inflict precision damage as if your target had no total concealment.

Now "Sneaking Precision" is very interesting - first it does not require an expenditure of a swift action to add critical effects from feats to your attacks. Secondly, it allows you to add these effects to regular hits via mythic power - a godsend for high-crit builds in that vein and rather strong, but an imho warranted power-upgrade for the respective builds in Mythic Adventures. "Stealth Synergy" (one of my group's favorite teamwork feats, also gets a mythic version - though treating adjacent creatures as an aid another may be nice, it underwhelmed me hard in the context of Mythic Adventures.



The mythic version of "Strangler" upgrades damage dice to d8 AND allows you to forego extra damage to render the target unconscious on a failed save - nice one.



Finally, there is the 3-feat spanning "Moonlight Stalker" tree, which increases damage output (and crit multiplier up to potentially x6!), increases your feinting chances (with the option to use mythic power to get a natural 20...) and further increased miss-chance, with the addition of foes missing you counting as flat-footed.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Alistair Rigg is in charge of this Mythic Mini, and he does a fine job - while not all of the feats wowed me and most fall into the formula of faster, better, etc., they generally can't be considered bad and here and there have small components that deviate in a positive manner from simple numerical progressions/mythic power enhancements. As such, this pdf can be considered a good purchase and receives a solid final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 19: Feats of Sneaking
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 18: Hierophant Path Abilities II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2014 04:57:59
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about more hierophant path abilities, after the great first installment for the path so let's check this out!



So what do these do? First, there are 2 1st tier abilities, the first of which allows you to use mythic power to change your energy resistance temporarily, but on the fly. That one works. The "Treesinger" ability nets you plant-themed bonus spells known, heal and bolster (and even enthrall) plants, undo effects on organic material made from plants/plants. Mythic power can be used to make the abilities etc. easier to use. Complex and very in line with the concept of the plant-whisperer.



We also get 2 new 3rd tier abilities, with the first adding a bunch of spells to your spell-list (and, much like any of the spell-granting mythic abilities here, providing further bonuses) and the second being the improved version of the former plan-based ability, with options to enlarge/reduce creatures and literally, create vast swaths of plants instantly and create feather token-like trees on the fly. And yes, this ability has VAST potential for creative players...If I had a dime for every smart use of growing plants and feather tokens my players sprung on me...Oh yeah, have I mentioned the increase in power due to tier-increase or the repair of objects? Damn useful.



There is also a new 6th tier ability, the Saintly Shroud, cloaks you in saintly or profane power, making even contact to you painful for foes opposing your beliefs. Add DR for mythic power and we get a cool ability here as well.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson's second take on Hierophant Path abilities offers even more interesting abilities to choose from, with all interested in druidic/ranger-style abilities getting more than their share due, while those of a more traditional, clerical bent falling a bit short. Like some other Mythic Minis, this one has a bit of spare space that could have been filled with more content, though the blank space is less pronounced than in other installments. Whether this one does it for you depends very much on whether you enjoy the druidic-themed, complex and versatile, very mythic-feeling abilities - the other, with the exception of the shroud, fall a bit flat and feel a tad too mundane, common for my tastes. That being said, I will rate what's here and the great pieces outweigh the somewhat bland ones, resulting in a pdf that can be considered good, though not superb - resulting in a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down by a slight margin to 4.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 18: Hierophant Path Abilities II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Monsters: Undead
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2014 06:16:25
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monster series clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 2 pages introduction to the product line, 1 page advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 22 pages of content, so let's take a look!





We kick in with a short introduction by Jason Nelson before delving into expanded versions of mythic spells related to undead - whether its mythic animate dead, lesser, a new augment for the mythic ghostbane dirge or size changing via sculpt corpse's mythic version - the 10 additions are nice and provide even adventure hooks and ideas here and there!



That's not what you're here for, though, right? So let's take a look at the undead: The mythic Baykok (CR 11 /MR 4) is the 7th version of the Baykok for a d20-based game I've seen, so it better live up to its dreadful reputation...and it does. Hail of arrows versus all targets within 110 feet? Yeah. Add paralyzing howl and arrows to the mix and we get a truly deadly, nasty foe and one of my favorite iterations of the creature so far. Have I mentioned that these guys can spend mythic power to make slaying arrows? Yeah...frightening indeed!



The Mythic Demilich at CR 17/ MR 7 may not be on par with what these guys once were (and ought to be!9, but at least it's closer than the neutered default PFRPG demilich: Adding the good ole' crumble to dust-effect to wail of the banshee, for example. The Cr 13/MR 5 mythic devourer gets a negative level-inducing AoE-breath weapon that even staggers on made saves (OUCH!) and can permanently destroy souls and fuel crackling waves of negative energy with said essence. Nasty! Now the one I've been most excited about in here would be the CR 9/ MR 4 mythic dullahan - whether via placed, penalty-inducing markers or a paralysis-inducing gaze, these guys are deadly and cool - alas, Rite Publishing's Headless Horseman-template imho delivers the slightly superior version here, with the nigh unkillable aspect and rp-based ways to exploit the creature as well as supremely deadly melee making for the more deadly adversary. The provided artwork (which also includes the next creature, the CR 10/ MR 4 Mythic Mohrg) is awesome, though. Mythic Mohrgs may use mythic power to confirm crits and unleash massive,, extremely deadly circles of death - and even the non-mythic version of this spell is nasty, as 3 dead PCs in my current campaign can attest. Especially cool since it thematically enhances the mass murder-aspect of the mohrg's origin lore.



CR 2/MR 1 mythic ghouls and their CR CR 3/MR 1 ghast-brethren get the option to spend mythic power for faster coup-de-graces and also receive a paralytic aura. I wish the ghast had a unique ability, but oh well. The CR 2/MR 1 pickled punk may now turn to stone and temporarily turn hard as stone - also getting the option to flat-out negate attacks via mythic power, rendering this being a very interesting adversary at low levels. CR 9/MR 3 mythic spectres get a cool, iconic ability - dealing damage by moving through living targets. Their aura of desecration is nice as well, if nothing to write home about. The mythic wight at CR 4/MR 2 btw. also gets this aura, but no other unique signature tricks.

More interesting would be the Mythic Totenmaske (in case you wondered - that's German for Death Mask) at CR 9/ MR 3 may use mythic power to instill a permanent staggered condition due to ennui on targets drained of charisma. Much cooler - the creature can actually make use of the senses of those subject to its flesh-shaping and dominate its victims. Neat and so full of story-telling potential...



The CR 11/MR 4 Witchfire may cause its cursed flames to actually BURN the targets (amen...that one was overdue from the base-creature...) and foes attacking the creature in melee constantly risk catching the cursed spiritual fire...nice! Have I mentioned the ability that lets the witchfire use mythic power to automatically hit and inflict max damage (ref save halves)? Yeah, OUCH! The Wraith at CR 6/MR 2 surprisingly gets some very cool abilities - a shroud of darkness that negates the vulnerability to sunlight while also dealing cold damage and the ability to inflict con-bleed damage on hit targets.



Now the Mythic Monster-series usually has its climax at the end with the new creature and this time, we get the CR 12/MR 5 Jigsaw Man - no, these guys do not catch people and put them through strange tests, they are called thus because they've been quartered for being serial killers - with their fractured anatomy, they can use mythic power to completely negate attacks, disassemble into a swarm form as well as a particularly lethal, rusty blade - that turns into an instrument of swift death in the hands of the jigsaw man. (In case you need a neat idea how to effectively scavenge this guy's rules- slap a ninja-level or two on of these, a add some telekinetic-focused psion-levels/psi-like abilities and you have a great representation of Metal Gear: Revengeance's Monsoon...)



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games nice 2-column full-color standard. The 2 pieces of original full color artwork (one being the new creature) by Ivan Dixon and Steve Wood are awesome. The pdf unfortunately comes sans any bookmarks, making navigation less comfortable than it ought to be.



Jason Nelson and Tom Philips deliver an installment of Mythic Monsters that has some true stars - the new mohrg, the baykok, totenmaske and wraith are all damn cool, and, as almost always, the original, new creature is superb. That being said, the ghasts for example, and to a lesser extent, dullahan and demilich just didn't feel that much improved to me - perhaps because I've seen too many versions, I don't know. These got me all stoked up and while there's nothing wrong with them, they are pretty conservative takes on what you'd expect from mythic versions of them. Don't get me wrong, that does not make them bad, but it also makes them not as awesome as their further enhanced brethren herein. Generally, this book feel like it's situated on the upper edge between good and awesome, but the lack of bookmarks as a serious comfort detriment makes me round down - my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 17: Feats of Seafaring
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/30/2014 13:08:48
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about sea-themed feats, so let's check this out!



The mythic version of "Corsair" extends its benefits to any aquatic environment and doubles the bonuses while on board of a ship and also allows you to treat foes as flanked via mythic power. Solid. The "Hoist the Colors" mythic feat allows you to intimidate foes via your flag and, with mythic power, even whole crews/vessels and similar military units - and yes, more power, more severe fear-effect. Awesome, mythic - nothing to complain about!



Naval Commander comes as a regular and mythic-augmented version - it allows you to aid another ALL target allies on your ship. Which is damn cool even before expending mythic power to make the bonus LAST. Two thumbs up, especially since bonus to atk is still limited to once per ally/turn!



Savy Seafarer also offers two versions - the regular one offering bonuses to ship/repair/survival-themed actions, increasing the bonus with familiar vessels. The mythic version further increases these bonuses...and allows you to TRACK VESSELS OVER WATER. Yeah. THAT is what I want in mythic - epic options, more roleplaying potential, stunning derring-do, doing things that transcend the powers of regular PCs. Two thumbs up!



Finally, mythic Sea Legs kilsl most penalties to acrobatics and climb and also lets you move sans delay through water-themed terrain, but does not protect you from it. Solid.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



See, this mythic mini is what I'm talking about -feats that are bland and subpar in their regular, non-mythic version get better and worthwhile. The new feats are glorious and actually vastly increase roleplaying potential while breathing the spirit of mythic gaming, offering both rules and simply new hinges on which to base storylines and scenes. This one's just awesome and well worth 5 stars + seal of approval - if your mythic campaign goes anywhere near pirates and similar themes GET THIS!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 17: Feats of Seafaring
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 16: Universal Path Abilities II
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/29/2014 04:11:06
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about more universal path abilities after the first, awesome installment, so let's check this out!



We begin with 4 different 1st tier abilities, with two of these netting bonus feats from Mythic Magic: Core Spells. Yeah - while I get why they're here, let's call them out for what they are - filler. So what about "Dramatic Reveal". This one is all about roleplaying potential - whether a birthmark or another characteristic - something marks you for greatness and revealing it helps immensely in social skills. While mechanically none too awesome, the potential and concept BREATHES mythic for me, so yeah - as far as I'm concerned: Cool! The final 1st tier ability, "Planar Scholar" makes you a savant of planar knowledge, allowing you detect portals and decipher information about them. This ability is damn cool and carries a LOT of roleplaying potential while feeling distinct and suitable for mythic characters. Two thumbs up!



We also get 3 different 3rd tier abilities and oh boy...neat: Take one that nets you contingency (or its mythic equivalent, depending on your tier!) as a mythic power fueled ability. Yeah! What about being eternally young, including age-disguising/changing and yes, the immortal ability is also granted at higher tiers. Neat! Gaining endure elements and know direction on other planes and further expanding your planar knowledge, this one is a neat follow-up that delivers narrative potential galore: Two thumbs up as well!



The one 6th tier ability allows you to grant one mythic monster ability to your eidolon, companion etc. Solid and versatile, yes, but nothing that utterly wows me.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson's second universal path-centric pdf offers quite a few cool abilities that range from awesome to filler. While the majority of path abilities herein belong on the winner side, the second column of the pdf is 1/4 empty, offering ample space for additional content and the two feat-granting abilities feel like filler to me. Generally, the overall path abilities can be considered cool, yes, but still, the last spark didn't jump over to me. Make no mistake - this is a cool, nice pdf, but falls short of true greatness due to both the relative brevity and aforementioned points. Overall, a quintessential "good" pdf and thus well worth 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 16: Universal Path Abilities II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Monsters: Abyssal
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2014 07:30:55
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monster series clocks in at a massive 40 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 2 pages introduction to the product line, 1 page advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 32 pages of content, so let's take a look!



After a short introduction to the matter at hand, we are introduced to an extremely cool introductory text that serves as a frame narrative - essentially a lecture on a newly discovered species of qlippoth, before we are introduced to options available for those who want to conjure forth these antediluvian threats of evil - including a new way with the so-called qlippoth talismans (in case the sacrifice of pregnant women is not an option for your vile villain...) - no less of 10 such talismans are provided and they essentially make calling these dread beings via summon-spells possible. Neat!



After this cool supplemental material, we kick off with the respective creatures - Baregara get a mythic version of CR 15/MR 6 that has truly devastating grapples (including a maw that consumes targets, automatically dealing damage on grapples, which they can maintain one-armed, and also providing AoE-demoralizing. Essentially, all basic abilities have been upgraded to be more lethal - nice.



Second would be the CR 13/MR 5 mythic bebilith, and these foes are even better at dismantling foes armor (including natural armor) and their rotting bite is truly devastating. At CR 23/MR 1o, shaggy demodands are terrifying forces indeed - blocking any channeling in the vicinity (unless the target succeeds a very difficult save), these are mythic monsters at their best, taking a relatively bland base creature and slapping a vast array of signature abilities on the creature - towards a more concise monster concept, that one being the anathema to divine casters. Two thumbs up and kudos for improving the base creature like this.



The Mythic Slimy Demodand at CR 20/MR 8 can add stun as insult to injury (when foes bleed and take acid damage...) and even highjack channeling and temporarily sever divine casters from their powers - better yet, said duration can be further expanded with the aptly-named "Where is your god now?" - glorious and once again a HUGE improvement over the relatively bland base creature. AT CR 16/MR 6, the Tarry Demodand is slightly less awesome, but continues the theme of anti-divine outsiders, but their sense of faith and entangling tar-like secretions make them powerful hunters - including an anti-divine smite.



Need something at lower levels? CR 4/MR 1 mythic howlers have quills that drive those embedded with their quills insane and furthermore, heal via drained sanity. Evil! TA CR 18/MR 7, the Kauen-Taka can ROT THE EYES OF THSOE THAT SEE THEM. That's damn creepy even before their carrionstorms get mythic templates added... As a minor complaint - the mini-statblock for flesh-mansion-less Kakuen-Taka could have used a better formatting/some highlighting. But then again - mere presence induces hallucinations? Animating flesh piles and withering plants? This one is disturbing indeed! And while the base creature was awesome, unleashing eyeless hounds and killing foes at short range via ethereal hails of soul splinters round out an epic creature indeed.



Speaking of which - AT CR 15/MR 6, the Chernobue Qlippoth may be a cool upgrade, but in direct comparison to the former critter, it falls a bit flat. Then again, cythnigots-spawning poison is cool - that might be the Qlippoth-fanboy speaking... Speaking of which - these clock in at CR 3/ MR 1 and their spore-infested wounds can entangle, even entrap targets! Cool and rather lethal low-level mythic threat that works well in that context. The Nyogoth (At CR 13/ MR 5) can attach itself to targets via its intestinal limb bite attacks and upgrades the acid spray with poison - neat!



AT CR 9/MR 3, the mythic shoggti no longer just clouds the minds of foes - it can now utterly dominate them and even stun those subjected to its wis-draining powers. OUCH! Have I mentioned that breaking targets free of the control may see them attack you in a murderous rampage? Yeah - nasty, indeed! The CR 19/MR 7 mythic Xacarba learn to mix their poisons (Yes!) and even spray them over an area - neat improvements of the base creature!



Finally, at CR 16/ MR 6 we get the Mythic Ylyrgoi - huge, hydra-like, multi-stingered monsters studded with countless shrieking maws and eyes. This creature is brand-new and oh boy - an aura that reduces gestation periods of infections, parasites and diseases, improved demon killing, stingers that regenerate, insane reach, egg-implants - utterly disturbing and oh so awesome - its signature abilities taking up more than 1 full page - that does not count the statblock! Add to that the extremely awesome artwork and we have a truly glorious beast here!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I did not notice any glaring glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games nice 2-column full-color standard and the two pieces of original artwork by Ivan Dixon are awesome indeed, with the new creature's artwork taking up a whole page so you can show it to your players. Now, layout-wise, like Mythic Monsters before, this one has some blank space at the end of one monster's entry, which is nice if you just want to print out one, but also means that printing this out is slightly more wasteful on the paper than it could be. It's a matter of preference whether you prefer this or a more "cluttered" approach, so that won't feature in my final verdict. Now what does feature in it would be the glaring lack of bookmarks, which renders navigation more difficult than it ought to be.



Jason Nelson, Tom Phillips and Alistair Rigg provide a glorious collection of uncommon abyssal foes - and deliver in spades. You know, mythic can be often taken as a bland "faster, harder, wider"-contest and yes, some creatures can be seen as a relatively straight progression. The vast majority of abyssal threats in here, though, is not content with such a treatment, instead developing the base creature, often into something truly distinct that works so much better than the base beast - with signature abilities emphasizing niches and foci of the monsters herein, there is not one critter in here that has not been massively improved, with the abilities of demodands and their thus much tighter focus making them my favorites in here and, perhaps for the first time in ages, actually DISTINCT. The new qlippoth is one glorious beast as well, and were it not for the lack of bookmarks, this would be immediately 5 stars + seal of approval. Their lack means I'll refrain from putting my seal on this, but still consider this one superb purchase that any DM who thinks the players should FEAR the denizens of the abyss should get - even if only to scavenge signature abilities...of which there are soooo many...

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Abyssal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 15: Feats of Treachery
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/23/2014 05:20:35
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about feats of treachery, so let's check this out!



All right, we begin this collection with "Betrayers" mythic version, which makes the attacks against foes you befriended is further increased - very much a standard improved version with slight mythic bonuses. Okay, but bland. Deceptive Exchange's mythic version is more interesting, allowing for disarm/steal to accompany the feint and even replacing items in foe's hands. "Disengaging Feint" as a mythic feat can be used as a swift action or as a standard action sans AoO, regardless how much you move through the threatened creature's spaces. "Disengaging Flourish" works analogue to the previous feat and "Disengaging Shot's" mythic feat allows you to add a dirty trick sans AoO with your shot - neat!



"False Opening" increases AC and makes foes falling for the AoO flat-footed. Okay, I guess. "Flick of the Wrist" is neat, allowing for sleight of hand to make drawing light weapons as free actions possible, potentially flat-footing foes. And yes, this one has a mythic tier-based per combat cap - interesting, if potentially problematic logic-wise. Why does the DC not increase for witnessing the trick/falling for it?



"Two weapon feint's" mythic version allows you to use mythic power to reroll feints and sacrifice multiple primary hand attacks for multiple feints. The improved version of the feat allows you to sacrifice the highest BAB attacks to render the foe dex-bonus-less for longer durations, potentially even until your next turn - Okay, I guess, but VERY specific. In a lot of cases, I consider the trade-off not worth it here, though I like the idea behind the feat.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson provides a solid array of different treachery-based feats that allow for some nasty tricks...while some of the feats herein did underwhelm me. In the overall concept, none of the feats herein truly blew my mind and while they're not bad, I also wouldn't consider them must-purchase material. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 due to In dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 15: Feats of Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 14: Archmage Path Abilities
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/23/2014 05:17:19
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about abilities for the archmage path so let's check this out!



We kick this one off with 4 1st tier abilities - two of which will immensely help alchemists, with one helping with extracts and using mythic abilities (essentially fixing a GLARING hole in the base rules...) and a further one allows you to create better bombs. Spell Dilation is also rather cool, allowing your PC to make more or less minor metamagic-style forming modifications of spells. Those are cool. Detect Animals or Plants as an at-will SL, powered with mythic power, which is used to change the species-specific nature of the ability, though, feels very anticlimactic.



We also get 4 different 3rd tier abilities, one netting you a fear-aura when casting spells/using SLs, another increasing bomb-damage-dice and a third taking the cake, with the option to create even more impressive oozes (hint: There are two Mythic Monster pdfs to make use of!) - if you're an alchemist. The final one makes your magical walls better.



The 6th tier ability is a godsend for arcanists, as it allows you to expend mythic power to escape grapple etc. via teleportation and for more mythic power, even potentially bypass teleportation-blocking effects - with concise rules, mind you. Neat!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jonathan H. Keith and Jason Nelson deliver here - the path abilities make sense in the context of the path and the poor, neglected alchemist finally has some valid reasons to take this path. This is a blessing and a curse, though, seeing that the majority of the content herein is for the alchemist. Personally, I'm a big proponent of the class, so that's more than fine with me, but it might not be what you bargained for. Even if you did, though, you should be aware that the oozechemist ability is a reprint from Mythic Monsters: Oozes, Too and as such not new. Which brings me to a slightly unpleasant topic - I really liked this pdf and the options herein - what's there, is argueably great, especially for alchemists. The one page has about 1/4 - 1/5 empty space at the bottom, though - space that could have been filled with more content. Add to that the cool (but reprinted) oozechemist, and this pdf, even for its length, falls short on the content-side. What's there is damn cool, if very alchemist-centric, required even and would warrant a rating in the highest echelons of my system, but the relative brevity + reprint (which btw. eats as much space as all other 3rd tier abilities COMBINED) mean I can't go as high as I would have wanted. My final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to for the purpose of this platform. Alchemist aficionados may add +1 star here.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 14: Archmage Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 13: Feats of Protection
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2014 04:16:11
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about feats of protection, so let's check this out!



Okay, unsurprisingly, this pdf offers mythic versions of the "bodyguard" and "In Harm's Way"-feats, with the former not requiring you to threaten foes to help your allies and even use mythic power to reach them, whereas "In Harm's Way"'s mythic version allows you to use AoOs to intercept attacks, taking the effects upon yourself - this means no AC-tanking per my reading, though the feat could use some tighter wording as to whether the intercepted attack has to hit your AC as opposed to the one of your ally. While this remains a slight blemish, I did enjoy what these two feats do - i.e. offer a mythic version of the base feats that indeed feel distinct in what they do, not just like some generic mythified feat.



The further increased AoE of "combat patrol" doesn't look like that much on paper, but in-game is rather significant - especially the further reach-increases with higher tiers. Personally, I'm not too big a fan of the first increase by +5 feet at 5th tier, but that may stem from being very conservative with reach and the like - too many deadly builds possible that way. "Coordinated" and "covering defense"'s mythic versions as feats make for great defensive feats, with the former especially breathing the spirit of military units and scenes like the rain of arrows in 300, so yeah, neat.



"Defensive Weapon Training's" mythic version allows you to further increase your prowess versus the respective weapon group ad maneuvers initiated against you with it, even allowing you to share half the bonus granted by the feat with allies. Favored Defense on the other hand allows you to extend the bonus granted to adjacent allies - there's an insane component here, though. The bonus granted by favored defense is a dodge bonus and the ability to, upon taking the feat twice, extend the bonus over a significant range would allow a unit of rangers to stack it through the roof. Not something that happens too often, admittedly, but still - could have been slightly more elegant here.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson has taken a difficult topic with defensive feats, mainly because the game per se isn't that great in this regard. That being said, the mythic versions of these feats make sense, often vastly surpassing their base feats in tactical capabilities. While generally, teh feats are vastly superior to the base ones, they do stumble here and there slightly, even when taking the increased power-potential of mythic gameplay into account. Still, a nice, fun array of feats for a low price and hence well worth 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 13: Feats of Protection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 12: Hierophant Path Abilities
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/18/2014 00:48:50
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about hierophant path abilities, so let's check this out!



We kick off the pdf with 3 1st tier abilities, first of which would be the ability to cultivate potion-like plants. Unlike regular potions, depending on your mythic tier, you can expand these to include metamagic effects and increase their potency, but also tying them to yourself, seeing a rapid decay in potency upon being taken away from you. As living things, however, you can actually cultivate them and grow more of them! Quite cool, that one - not too strong, but very much in line with the trope of the wise, legendary herbalist that cultivates magic plants. "Spontaneous Deathbringer" nets you necromancy-themed spells to cast spontaneously and use mythic power to augment them - okay for necromancy-themed casters/evil priests/oracles. "Spontaneous Lifegiver" does the same for healing-spells.



The 3rd tier ability herein would be "Budding Branch" - and, as the big brother to the magical herbs., it allows you to grow wands as the branches of a tree or even, at tier 6, staves - once again with some unique rules to support the mechanic - beyond herbalist-checks, the plants require rather random investments of parts of the creation costs per day and serious amounts of plant growth-spells as balancing.



Now the 6th tier ability once again is something that SCREAMS mythic to me - you become a "High Clerist" - this translates to better leadership (or even mythic leadership as a bonus feat), decreased construction costs of religious buildings you erect (tie in with Ultimate Campaign - awesome!) and expend mythic power to call down a friggin' crusade on your foes - depending on the mythic power expended, you gain even more followers, who may even, in synergy with Ultimate Battle, can recruit more armies. However, the mythic power thus expended does not regenerate while the crusade is in effect. Beautiful, glorious, epic - and one campaign too late for me...my last one centered about two massive religions duking it out. Still, reading this one made me grin from ear to ear - solid mechanics and epic indeed!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson delivers. From the cool, shamanistic mythic plants to the solidly crafted, if somewhat artless healing/necromancy abilities to the epic crusade - all of the abilities herein feel worthy of being mythic - either by being high in concept, plain useful or simply glorious. This is what path abilities should feel like - beyond feats, beyond paltry standards and well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 12: Hierophant Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 11: Feats of Grappling
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/18/2014 00:44:43
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about feats of grappling, so let's check this out!



We kick off with the mythic teamwork-feat equivalent of "Brutal Grappler", allowing you to be even more deadly when grappling in teams, allowing you and your allies to benefit from mythic tiers and allowing you to substitute combat maneuvers for bonus damage of crits. Solid.



"Carry Off" allows you to better move targets hit by the snatch or grab special attacks - nice for respective critters. "Final Embrace" and its two follow-up feats makes constricting mythic foes deadlier and also allows you, with the improved versions, add the frightened condition to said foes and further amp up the damage output. All solid, like "Brutal Grappler".



"Inescapable Grasp" is something that should have been houserules - a way to negate the annoying auto-success of freedom of movement and thus practically non-optional for grappling creatures beyond a certain CR. "Pinning knockdown" also autotrips foes you've pinned - which is nice, but opens a sort of bag of worms - I *assume* stability and similar abilities no longer protect from this one, though to me, getting them as a bonus to CMD versus being tripped feels *right*. So yeah, not a fan and some very minor potentially rules-fidgeting here. The improved version vastly increases nonlethal grappling damage and also makes it possible to temporarily negate immunity to non-lethal damage/DR. Kind of nice, but not sure whether it's worth the feat-slot.



"Rapid Grappler" can be used 1/round and allows you to grapple as a free action when using greater grapple. Mythic power allows you to roll twice and use the better result. I'd usually complain about action economy here, but a) it's grappling and b) the feat-tax of this one is already rather high, so yeah - nothing to truly complain about.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson and Tom Phillips deliver a solidly crafted array of grappling feats, arguably for one of the most loathed mechanics of the game - and the feats per se are mechanically solid and well-crafted, yes. But they also felt universally somewhat artless to me - they are solid, don't get me wrong, and they do improve e.g. serpentine grappling, giant flyer-snatching etc. But they don't do something truly mindblowing - they do fix some gaps in the rules, though, and overall, I wasn't disappointed by the pdf per se. I wasn't wowed either though - hence, this is the quintessential 4-star file - good, but sans the spark of additional brilliance.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 11: Feats of Grappling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 10: Universal Path Abilities
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/16/2014 03:59:45
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about universal path abilities, so let's check this out!



First, we're on to 4 1st tier abilities, with "bound by honor" allowing you to take monk's vows and thus use mythjic tier to increase ki-pool (or mythic power), saves and also improve quarry, challenge and similar abilities to represent your convictions guiding you. Nice.



"Ever Ready" makes you more efficient in surprise rounds and against readied actions, which is actually rather fitting for a mythic ability and manages to convey the mythic flair rather well, in stark contrast to many a passive mythic ability. "Genre Savy" is imho the better (not in power - in execution) "Analytical Eye" - by making knowledge checks to identify creatures, you can use mythic power to temporarily ignore DR and resistances - and all sans requiring those pesky metagame aspects. Neat!! "Versatile Skill Mastery" nets you advanced skill mastery as per the advanced rogue talent, but also improves with your tiers, allowing for quicker switching of the skills. Now that one, while bland on paper, is very strong and feels rather mythic to me. Neat!



The one 3rd tier ability allows for free extravagant living and bonuses to gossip-related skills/information. Okay, but nothing to write home about.



6th tier also gets one ability - "spectacular death". Okay, so far, the abilities herein lacked issues, but also didn't utterly wow me. This one, though, is glorious: It codifies action types and assigns costs of mythic power to each. Upon dying, you can expend mythic power (with cumulative costs for repeated action types) to go down in a vast, action-limit/economy-breaking blaze of glory. And yes, the wording is concise enough to support this - including anti-teleportation caveats and an inability to prevent your own death. This ability is beautiful, glorious and exemplifies what high-level mythic games should be about - the superhuman, truly iconic bursts of grandeur. This ability alone is worth the price of admission for me.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length. It should be noted that the one page of content has some blank space on it that could have been used for 1-2- further mythic abilities.



Just when I was resigned to keep hating the path-ability Mythic Minis, this one comes along - sans lame metagaming, sans problematic mechanics and with a stunningly awesome "Blaze of Glory"-style ability. Jason Nelson delivers this time around with a truly neat mythic mini. My only gripes here would be the blank space and the somewhat uninspired 3rd tier ability, making this still by far the best path-ability-pdf of the Mythic Mini series so far. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 by a small margin.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 10: Universal Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 9: Feats of Terror
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/16/2014 03:54:56
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This Mythic Mini clocks in at 3 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This time, we're all about feats that inspire true dread, so let's take a look!



-Dragonfear: Says it all - better, mythic rank-powered frightful presence for dragons. Make those knights run! Pity there's no "Let non-mythic-guys-die-by-dragonfright"-caveat as seen in some books...



-Gory Finish (Mythic): Better, mythic version of the feat, allows you use it easier and use mythic power to spontaneously use it in conjunction with weapons that you have weapon focus in. Makes more sense as an option than the base feat. Neat!



-Intimidating Bane (Mythic): Another mythic version of a base feat, making the rather bland base feat actually work and be less of a waste - better intimidating effects and free weapo focus with bane weapons when using the base feat. Neat!



-Menacing Blow: Available in normal and mythic, this allows you to intimidate with critcal hits as a swift action (or in the mythic version, with tier bonus as a free action). Nice, though the mythic version can result in A LOT of annoying rolls with high threat-range builds.



-Nightmare Fuel (Mythic): See, that's what I expected - impose penalties on those hit by your demoralize-attempts, frightful presence and similar panic/madness-inducing effects and add nightmare to the fray. The special caveat for qlippoths is just the icing on the cake - two thumbs up!



-Sow Terror (Mythic): Better Sow Terror, can produce the condition cowering, can be extended via mythic power.



-Terrifying Critical: A non-mythic feat with an mythic option, this forces foes hit by a crit to save versus 10+BAB or become shaken for 1d4 rounds, 1 on a made save. The rounds actually stack in both versions, with the mythic version also increasing fear-severity and mythic power as an optional fuel to increase the save DC. I'm not a huge fan of stacking condition-durations, but in this case, I do think it works, with the BAB +11 requirement ensuring it remains balanced. Neat and kudos!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson and Tom Phillips deliver a nice array of fear-themed feats for the mythic rules that do quite a bit right - either by making otherwise weak options better or by creating cool new ones. That being said, the pdf's focus is a bit weird, with essentially (great) monster feats mixed with ones more in line for players. There's not much wrong here (apart from the potentially annoying mythic version of menacing blow - but mechanically, that one is still sound...) and a couple of the feats actually rock hard. On the other hand, while there's nothing wrong per se here, the pdf didn't blow me away. I'm also a bit surprised to find no options to use mythic power to temporarily eliminate immunity to fear, but that may just be me. This remains a solid, nice addition to the product line, if not a perfect one. My final verdict clocks in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 9: Feats of Terror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 77 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates