DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Magic: Advanced Spells I
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/20/2014 05:43:48
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive book clocks in at 64 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page RSD, 2 pages of ToC, 2 pages of introduction, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 55 (!!!) pages of content, so let's take a look!



At this point, I assume you are familiar with the basic premise of the mythic magic-series - essentially, we receive all those delicious spells that are not included in the original Mythic Adventures hardcover in their mythic versions, with each book covering quite a bit of ground - this one taking perhaps THE defining Pathfinder book, the APG. No other book has for me coined a distinct, unique identity for Pathfinder more than the APG - it turned Pathfinder from 3.75 into a proper, truly distinct system.



The pdf kicks off with an alphabetical spell-list - one that is 4 (!!!) pages long. Yeah, that ought to provide some inkling of what to expect here! Well, let's take a look at the very first spell herein, absorbing touch: The mythic version allows you to absorb magic items and via the first augment, even use them while they are absorbed if their powers are continuous and independent of the physical interatcion - i.e. not rope of climbing-abuse; Wands etc. use up twice the charges, making for a cool caveat. On a very nitpicky side, the wording could benefit from having "wand" generalized to encompass staves and other charge-using items.. On the "awesomecake"-side, the second augment allows you to absorb willing or helpless creatures - extractions, rescue missions and kidnappings have just become much more awesome - when a spell allows for new storytelling mechanics, you know you've stumbled across something cool!



Of course, not all different mytic versions receive such a wordy, complex upgrade - there simply is no need. Accelerating all poisons instead of one? Yeah, works! Now alchemical allocation allows you to spit a potion or elixir back into its container without consuming it, but at the cost of 1/2 durations of subsequent sipping from the potion. Like it! Are you commanding a fleet? Alter Winds can be now augmented to affect a radius of one mile...just sayin'...



Add maximized and empowered effects to your extracts also makes for a nice, crunchy upgrade. One of my player's favorites, ant haul, now has mythic tier added to the effective str-score for carrying capacity. Less traightforward, the additional options for metamagic feats provided by arcane concordance deserves special mention - neat! Ball lightning, per se a non-too-interesting spell, via this book, suddenly becomes unique, adding electromagnetic properties for mythic power at 5th level to the array for unique, cool benefits. Speaking of which - Blood Biography is investigation module gold - what is your home, asking for immunities/resistances and information on kin can be gleaned - and that's not where the improved version ends. G-L-O-R-I-O-U-S. If you require inspiration on how to craft a whole module around this spell, drop me a line...



But not all spells tie in with story-telling or simply increase numerical values - there is another class of spells herein that ties in with proper class abilities - take Coward's Lament: Not only does it tie the reset of penalties incurred by the base spell to a will-save, it also increases an inquisitor's judgments in potency by the penalty AND upgrades your bane attacks to greater bane. This level of ability/spell-synergy makes for rather cool combo-potential and further helps set apart exclusive spells for certain classes, increasing the uniqueness-factor of the options available for them. Formerly subpar options like the divine transfer of the paladin have their mythic version increase the potency and thus render the spell as such much more viable, even before the further augmentation - which allows you to breath of life deceased targets - pretty cool and thematically fitting!



Speaking of further distinctions - each element that can be chosen via elemental touch comes with its own distinct additional effects, lending more tactical depth to element selection as well as distinction for different specialists that prefer one element over another. Fester's mechanic, which decreases non-SR healing by 50% + 5% per mythic tier may seem a bit clunky mechanics-wise, but the pretty awesome result makes up for the slightly math intense formula. (I am assuming you can't calculate 55% of your cleric's channel in your head - while I'm pretty good at math like that, I've seen games slowed by formulas like this, so yeah - a slightly less complicated one that increased 2 to 75% and 100% respectively would probably have been more user-friendly...)



On the cool side - what about using mythic power to scry those subject to your follow aura spell? Yes, I can see the vast potential for espionage and similar action here... Flanking with foe to friend'd characters also makes for quite a cool combo that adds a bit of tactical depth to the whole scenario. Action economy also receives some interesting tactical modifications - take frozen note, which allows its maintenance while 5-foot-stepping. Another cool design decision would pertain creature qualities interacting with spells - take e.g. geyser - those creatures with the burn quality hit by it may have their abilities suppressed. Another cool component would be spell-terrain-synergy - adding heavy undergrowth or dense rubble to hide campsite would be just what the doctor ordered! What about selectively greased lily pads that send your foes into the pond, while you and your allies escape?



Purging Finale also is interesting - by ending a bardic performance, a negative condition can be removed - awesome concept and if you like it, might I suggest the maestro class' outros? Eidolon rejuvenation-spells have also been expanded, with options to decrease hit point healing and instead heal negative conditions/ability damage/drain. Rest Eternal also has yet another unique option available - as long as you have the spell prepared, you can utilize mythic power to spontaneously cast it on yourself, preventing you from joining the undead legions, potentially even ignoring the material components! Mythic Slipstream lets you ignore caltrops and similar impediments and can be discharged for a massive tier-dependent movement rate bonus and even mobility-like bonuses.



Applying simple mythic templates to snake staves, while transmute potion to poison allows you to manufacture specific poisons and yes, spit them. Adding immediate action-based retribution-blasts to winds of vengeance? Yes, please!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting is very good, better than in Ultimate Spells I - while I noticed a couple of minor bolding glitches, nothing particularly serious came up. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the pdf's artworks are nice, though fans of legendary games may recognize them from previous supplements. The pdf comes excessively bookmarked, though with weirdly a list of a couple of spells before the proper bookmarks in alphabetical order begin - something seems to have gone slightly awry there, though this does not impend functionality. It should be noted that this pdf is excessively hyperlinked to d20pfsrd.com - each and every spell has a link to help you run this - kudos for going the extra mile, also with e.g. terrain peculiarities hyperlinked etc.!



Jason Nelson, Jeff Lee and Morgan Boehringer have crafted a vast array of mythic spell-upgrades for perhaps the most crucial base book among the PFRPG hardcovers released so far - and this book delivers. While there are slightly more numerical-increase mythic adaptations herein than in the last mythic magic-book, that is also due to the significantly higher page-count. Let's cut to the chase - this is absolutely non-optional. If you run a mythic campaign that is not core-rulebook + MA only (and why would you?), there's simply no way past this pdf. Not only are *many* spells downright inspired in their synergy and uncommon improvements, they belong to what amounts to the very basic minimum rulekit one expects - or at least I do, from a campaign. Instead of just delivering a default job, the designers have went above and beyond the first two Mythic Magic-installments to make this book and its spells stand out, feel distinct and most importantly, diversified them. Instead of simply going into the depth, many options herein go into the breadth, enriching the game rather than simply adding numerical escalation.



This is a required book for any mythic campaign; and yes, it has slightly more glitches than I like to see, but no game-breakers - and that, alongside its sheer creativity and breadth, are what makes this stand out. It's not perfect, but for such a straightforward topic as "make mythic spells of all of these", the designers have managed to retain a freshness and playfulness that suffuses these pages and makes the read inspiring - it may not be perfect, but I quite frankly don't care in the face of creativity like this. Final verdict: 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magic: Advanced Spells I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Magic: Ultimate Spells I
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/17/2014 05:20:25
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Magic-series clocks in at 32 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page linked ToC (allowing you to jump immediately to the spell you're looking for!), 2 pages introduction, 2 pages of advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 23 pages of pure content, so let's take a look!



So here we go - Mythic Magic, once again, thanks to Legendary Games' exceedingly successful kickstarter. But what does that mean? Well, as we all know, Paizo makes per se great rules-systems...but the support for them, due to a need to also cater to the core-audience, not always is enough for the discerning gamer - take Mythic Adventures. In it, mythic versions of spells were provided...but not for all spells. Legendary Games, back in the day, embarked on the monumental task of filling that gap, providing mythic versions of all the missing core spells and generating thus essentially an all but required book, core by any standard but name, for any mythic campaign.



Fast forward to this book - and here we receive the take on ALL the missing spells from paizo's Ultimate Combat. And if you recall that book's general innovation regarding spellcasting, you'll remember communal spells, which allow you to split durations between multiple targets. Now the mythic versions of those spells allow you to freely distribute the duration of communal spells - 1 round here, 3 there - no problem. The concise and easy to grasp rules-explanation at the beginning thus allows for a significantly increased flexibility and avoids the very first significant pitfall, while also providing generally valid guidelines to "mythify" your own homebrew communal spells with a nice table of minimum durations per target as determined by spell duration - really neat to not be required to deduce this from the presentation of individual spells - kudos! The feat required for this, including the option to share duration after the spell has been cast makes for damn cool roleplaying - after all, we all can remember one scene or another from literature, movies or games, where the magical/psionic defense of xyz gets stretched thinner and thinner by the amount of people protected.



After an alphabetical list of spells (with hyperlinks for those spells already covered in Mythic Adventures - NICE!) we hence delve into the spells - and immediately notice something: Flexibility. Absorb Toxicity, for example, is improved at 6th and 9th tier, receiving different options to power the spell with mythic power at the respective levels. Now if you expect a lame linear manner of crafting these spells, you'll be surprised - the means with which they have been upgraded are surprisingly diverse.



Let's stick with "A" for now - Adjuring Step receives an increased duration and makes you less prone to AoOs as long as you limit your movement to 5 ft. or less per action, while also providing at 4th tier augment that protects adjacent allies from AoO-provoking for 2 mythic power uses. Abundant Ammunition, on the other hand, extends its effects to a whole area and does not require the expenditure of mythic power to do so. Other spells are significantly modified - adoration receives a sanctuary-like effect built in and also has its bonus increased by mythic tier.
Generally, quite a few spells dramatically change the way they work and can be applied - mythic power that renders air bubbles helpful to other characters, for example - or what about adding a minor buff to a bestowed weapon proficiency? What about a 50% fortification and increased AC-bonus for bullet shields? Or perhaps you want a version of Brow Gasher that does not end when discharged? If Burst of Speed struck you as one-dimensional, +30 ft and the option to augment it to temporarily spring attack and/or even more speed should do the trick. Compel Hostility also deserves an explicit shout-out - adding a 5-ft step to the immediate action is rather cool - after all, its AoE is extended by that range... Speaking of target modification - why not dampen whole ammunition pouches?

Also pretty cool - the option to dismiss Debilitating Portent and have it immediately deal wis-damage. Beyond increased damage capacity of fiery shuriken, a debuff added for adjacent attacking creatures could well save your hide. Now not all of them are perfect - Find Quarry receives an increased AoE, but also allows you to ignore 10 ft. of difficult terrain sans slowing per round. Yes, this is in no way overpowered, but it does practically demand to be gamed into "this is my difficult terrain-ignore enhancer."



It should be noted, though, that hiccups like this generally remain the exception to the rule - and e.g. Hostile Juxtaposition's 5th tier augment for a second switch is tactical gold. What about having your Frost Fall expand each round to further adjacent 5-ft-squares for a kind of cold wildfire? I also am in love with Judgment Light, which features not only a free judgment (not counting against your limit) if cast for the first time, but which also has wildly diverging effects depending on the judgment chosen - damn modular, versatile and awesome! It should also be noted that the spells themselves and their relative power-level have obviously been considered thoroughly while designing these mythic versions, meaning that e.g. the rather powerful litany-spells do not receive a massive flexibility/power-update, just a moderate one as appropriate for mythic characters. I particularly liked the option to dictate one of the non-acting-normal-effects of Litany of Madness - can you see the madman directing the tune of the gibbering fools?



Now there is a reason why not all spells from Ultimate Combat are easily available in my game, with locate weakness being a particular pet-peeve of mine - when crunch replaces legwork and roleplaying, i tend to get annoyed, so it's perhaps due to this gripe that I can't warm to revealing all weaknesses of creatures within 30 ft. AND + tier to confirmation rolls, but that may very well be just me.



Another star would be the mythic Mutagenic Touch, which allows you to retain the effects of a shared mutagen, via mythic power - think "communal mutagen." Now if you can't see the disturbing storytelling potential, allow me to assist you - the augment allows you to add charm person or reckless infatuation to the effect - "Come, my blessed children of the fluid form, and embrace the bliss of my touch..." *shudder* AWESOME! I also consider the fact that Obsidian Flow does not immediately cool something in favor of the spells herein and violating a mythic peacebond is a) hard and b) helps those who'd clobber the offender to his/her senses. I also enjoy the effect that allows you to share the reloading expertise of reloading hands for a less abstract, more physical feel of the pooled reloading effects - as well as rewarding smart tactics à la "Shoot and move to me, my hands will reload for you..:" Both tactically AND fluff-wise more versatile, resinous skin not allows you to produce globs of tanglefoot-like slime or even exude it reflexively. More on the tactically interesting side would be the symbol of striking's increased range and reach and the option to further exchange duration for even more reach for much tighter and versatile battlefield control. Alas, the text does confuse it at one point with a symbol of death, though not in a way that would hamper the understanding of the context. Now with mythic rules providing quite a few tricks to receive percentile negating effects like fortification unerring weapon's option to diminish this immunity makes sense and +1/2 mythic tier to atk, damage, CMB and CMD make your wilderness soldiers more formidable even before extending the command actions for them to also include move actions.

Using mythic power to enchant wreaths of blades and even have them potentially gain special weapon qualities should ensure that you have the right tools for the job.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, but not as tight as I've come to expect from legendary Games - I noticed quite a few cut copy paste errors - like the aforementioned glitch with the symbol, communal ant haul referring to air walk and similar minor nuisances. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two-column full-color standard full of great artworks, though fans of LG will know most from other publications. A layout nitpick - there are some minor bolding glitches here and there and the bracketed tier-denominator for augments for chain of perdition has slipped down a couple of lines. Regarding these, I also noticed a minor layout glitch - they start the letters of "3rd" etc. off as superscript and halfway through the book change that to non-superscript - again, not a serious glitch, but since some people are bound to be annoyed by it... The pdf comes fully bookmarked with an uncommon twist on bookmarks - they are upside down - i.e. the highest bookmarks refer to the last letters in the alphabet. While slightly confusing at first, I actually came to enjoy this, whether it's a glitch or intentional. Why? Because you open the pdf on page 1 and have an easy jump towards the end for a navigation that went fast and well. Slightly annoying, though, would be that e.g. the bookmark to Qualm is not in the right place in the alphabet. The pdf's excessive hyperlinks on the other hand constitute a massive comfort-bonus, especially since they seem to have been properly handcrafted, with no "will"-futures referring to will-saves and similar issues that tend to haunt automatically generated hyperlinks - kudos for going the extra mile.

Jason Nelson and Jonathan H. Keith have accomplished a task herein that I do *NOT* envy them - making this many mythic upgrades of spells is simply a task that requires true passion AND a more than solid work-ethic. Why? Because settling for simple "add + tier bonus"-solutions are pretty rare in this book, instead taking the peculiarities of the respective spells into account for unique, versatile and rewarding modifications that more often than not increase the options of the basic spell in interesting, compelling manners. The general level of aptitude herein is significant and the creativity beyond what I would have expected to find - which is particularly interesting when taking into account how Ultimate Combat's base spells tend to be eyed with some slight skepticism. This pdf should level the playing field more when using them with mythic rules. Now I am not going to judge the base spells per se (since this book is not responsible for them), but rather what has been done with the base spells and that is damn impressive. While a couple of small hiccups and tricks to cheese a tiny minority of the spells are here, that does remain the exception. In conjunction with the slightly more glitchy editing, though, I can't go higher than 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4, though, as much as I'd like to. That being said - if your mythic campaign uses Ultimate Combat's spells, this is a non-optional book and the varied, cool and unique options definitely can be considered well-crafted, with especially the general communal spellcasting framework being absolutely awesome.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magic: Ultimate Spells I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Horns of the Hunted
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2014 16:57:46
This is a really good adventure and if anyone is getting ready to run the Kingmaker AP this short module is the perfect fit. It ties in several of the loose ends of the AP and even has some foreshadowing to events that are soon to come. I only wish that I had picked this up earlier as my crew is about to start book six.

Whatever AP I run next, one of the first stops on my prep list is to go and check out what kind of support material they've put out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Horns of the Hunted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ultimate War
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/29/2014 04:09:24
An Endzeitgeist.com review

The third expansion of the kingdom building/mass combat rules presented in Ultimate Campaign, expanded by the very man who wrote the original rules, clocks in at 45 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages on how-to-use/what to expect, 1 page advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 36 pages of content, so let's take a look!



This supplement kick off by eliminating two of my most serious gripes with the base mass combat rules from Ultimate Campaign. Number one: Ultimate Campaign does not distinguish between ranged and melee capacity, instead subsuming both under the termino umbrellone of OM, Offense Modifier. This resulted potentially in ridiculous scenarios of elven archer beating orc berserkers in melee. Ultimate War gets rid of OM in favor of separate Melee Value and Ranged Values, abbreviated MV and RV. YES!!! Secondly, the hit points as an abstract measurement to determine an army's deceased is replaced with casualties - which can be tracked individually/separately for sub-units etc., allowing much more detailed and finer tactical nuances. Best of all - both allow for easy downscaling back into Ultimate Campaign's base system, if you prefer the simpler take.



Leadership Bonus of a commander is equal to +1 for every full 5 ranks in Profession (Soldier) and high BABs (+6, +11, +16), Wis or Cha modifiers, certain feats etc. can further increase this bonus. The rather rudimentary selection of command boons is also expanded by this supplement - and the boons are great - Battlefield illumination (or making light-conditions worse!), autosupplying itself, con/desecrate battlefields, divine healing or barrages, smoke screens or particular proficiency when deployed against aerial armies - glorious! Have I mentioned the awesome effects of war chants or the option to execute precise, less damaging assaults via surgical strikes? Brilliant!



Speaking of which - combined arms. Where the general army as a base unit type would be the catch-all default, the rules provided herein allow for a finer distinction. Via these rules, armies are made up of units, which in turn can be made up of several divisions. This is analogue to the distinctions between fleet->squadron->ships. The number of soldiers in a unit is the same as the one in the default rules' army. Creating a unit follows, according to these rules, simple steps - you pay and gather them, you assign a commander (with PCs being particularly potent!) - which influences the amount of divisions in a unit a commander can handle - 3+ cha-mod, max 5 divisions can be contained and losing a division penalizes the unit. Each division can take casualties equal to its ACR before being defeated - this concludes that each unit has hit points equal to ACR times 5. Divisions reduced to 0 hp can be healed normally, but additional damage annihilates them. MV and RV are ACR+leadership bonus of the commander, provided the unit is properly equipped. If not all divisions are equipped to execute one type of attack, the overall value suffers - cool!



Morale score is the kingdom's loyalty divided by 20, min 1, max 10 and determines all the psychological components. A default value and advice for using morale sans kingdom building (Kudos!!) can also be found here. Determining overland movement, scouting capacity, camouflage, name and home-base - in 12 easy steps, just about every DM should be able to create an army - on my first try, it took me less than 5 minutes to properly apply these rules and generate a unit - WITH double-checking that I got everything right.

Each army may contain a number of units equal to the general's cha-mod+3, further increased by leadership, certain boons, etc. Battle Phases are influenced by the new distinctions between ranged and melee values - hence, a concise run-down of the phases is provided, thankfully including proper inclusion of not only the new casualties mechanic. It should also be noted that recruiting armies works perfectly in synergy with Ultimate Rulership as well as the base system. Applying simplified combats between aerial and naval ships etc. would also be discussed here. Now I've already mentioned aerial combat and indeed, aerial reconnaissance, altitude levels, visibility, concise effects of different wind strengths - the peculiarities of aerial combat are well addressed in sufficient details - from balloons to flying carpets and floating fortresses, this chapter adds the third dimension to mass combat - war rockets, solar sailors - every companion of the firmaments-using campaign should consider this the way to add mass combat to their arrays - glorious! (Be honest - you always wanted to fight dragons while aboard a war rocket!) And yes, this does provide full DVs, cover, dmg, stall, crash etc. values - and if that doesn't mean anything to you by now, then only because you don't have the pdf before you - the system is ridiculously easy to grasp and concise in its presentation.



Easy to grasp stats for vessels with drift speeds or those being able to climb altitudes, hovering etc. - all here and supplemented further by 12 unique tactics - from soaring sweeps to dogfighting and strafing runs, aerial combat has scarcely been this awesome and tactical! Now, of course this opens a whole new field - i.e. the combat of earthbound units versus airborne assailants - and from options like digging in to using grapnel shots, a whole new dimension, literally, is added to mass combat. Now if that isn't yet enough for you, let's take a look at yet another expansion - the one to the sea. "But wait, EZG," you say "I already have 3 systems for naval combats to choose from and didn't you say that Frog God Games' "Fire as She Bears" was absolutely awesome? Yes, I did, and I still consider the system the best naval combat system available for any d20-iteration. However, we're not talking about skirmishes between a couple of vessels, we're talking about the clash of whole fleets! And for that, well, let's just say that the rules herein apply the same thoroughness to naval warfare as to that in the skies - depth zones (which allow for submarines and magical threats), wind effects and naval units...ask and ye shall find herein. By the way: All you require, once again provided in detail including required buildings to procure them (forgot to mention that regarding aerial units - yes, when used with kingdom-building, required buildings etc. are provided!) alongside massive tables of sample vessels in one handy tome. Want to know the level of detail these rules support - the difficulty of fighting back once your vessel's been sunk may impose a massive penalty, but it doesn't mean that your unit can't take down a hostile ship.

Which also becomes relevant since the system utilizes one unified frame of rules. Why is that important? Let's say a unit of sahuagin on board of a balloon has attacked your galley; You manage to put down the balloon and it crashes into the sea - you can continue playing all levels of combats like that with one single system. Want to play the fantasy-equivalent of the D-Day? Go ahead, these rules have you covered! Now while there is bound to be some overlap with the aerial tactics, I should not fail to mention that naval combat also receives quite an array of unique, naval tactics that add even more options to the fray.



Now sooner or later, assault on fortifications is bound to happen - and if you ever tried to use ultimate combat and campaign in one and the same campaign, you may have noticed some discrepancy there - instead of assuming abstract siege engines to be a part of a given unit, we receive a special, Knowledge (engineering)-and int-based LB to determine how commanders of units of artillery work - which makes MUCH more sense and allows for generals to specifically target these weapons...

Speaking of strategies - the array of ranged and close-quarters siege weaponry and the vast array of associated strategies, from bombardment (e.g. via smoke, plagued corpses, etc...) to infiltration and scatter volleys makes for a superb selection of choices - even before the 7 new magical siege weapons - like apocalypse zombie siege shots, adamantine rams or ooze-siege shots - glorious!



The pdf also comes with a neat index of the tables for quick reference and it should be noted that perfect rules-synergy with Ultimate Campaign, Ultimate Rulership and Ultimate Battle is maintained.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard with awesome full-color artworks. The pdf is relatively printer-friendly and comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The pdf also contains the good type of hyperlink, making the rules presented even easier to grasp.



Jason Nelson took a *long* time making this final piece of the triumvirate of expansions and refinements to Paizo's kingdom building/mass-combat system (which he also wrote, just fyi). It is not a big surprise then, that the resulting books, unfettered from the limitations of page-count and relative simplicity, have been an utter BLAST to read and use. Offering options to get rid of some overly generic simplifications of the base system, the first two books were beyond superb and managed to add so incredibly much to the base systems I never, ever want to play kingdom building and mass combat without their options again.



Now the thing is - Ultimate War was pending and its task was to close the final gaps and cover the true clash of armies, remembering all the small modifications AND refining the base system. I'll make this short:



If you even remotely plan to run mass combat BUY THIS NOW. The additional options, even if you use neither aerial, nor naval or siege combat, are GOLD: The fact that they work perfectly together makes for truly dynamic mass combat. the vast expansion of boons and tactics translate to mass combat that is infinitely more exciting, strategic and ultimately fun. Now it's perhaps due to approximately 15K points of warhammer miniatures in my attic, but I expect some tactical options from a given system and Ultimate War's expansion fits the bill perfectly - indeed, the variance and peculiarities of aerial combat and naval combat allow for a finer gradation in these areas.



The most impressive component of these rules, beyond their modularity and synergy, though, would be the fact that this one system supports not only all those particular special cases, it allows for transparency and overlap between them - ships that can turn aerial? Why not! Cadres of wyrms rising from the waves to take to the skies, then land and wreck havoc among the elven archers?? Go for it, with this book, you can properly portray that - and the dogfight between the draconic assault and the giant eagle riding knights in the air! The assault of the gnomish submersible-riding saboteurs on the siege-weapon bearing frigate. This book is glorious, a must-buy for everyone who considered the base rules of Ultimate Campaign too simple, too rudimentary - with this, you could conceivably play a thoroughly compelling, interesting, strategic CAMPAIGN of warfare - and honestly, I'd probably have a nerdgasm if Legendary Games released a full mass combat-AP using these rules. For now, I have to plot, devise strategies and generate *a lot* of adventure material; I just have resolved to up the emphasis on war in my current campaign!



This book is brilliant, a worthy successor to its stellar companion books, and well worth a final rating of 5 stars + seal of approval + nomination as a candidate for my top ten of 2014. An absolute must-buy-level tome and one that also receive the endzeitgeist essential-tag as one of the must-have tomes for a campaign!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Magical Beasts
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/19/2014 13:30:38
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 28 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction/how-to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 17 pages of content, so let's take a look!



So this time around, we're taking a look at magical beasts - monsters in the truest form and some of the most iconic creatures of our beloved roleplaying game - but before we go into the meat of these beasts, we first receive mythic feats - a lot of them! 10 to be precise, and while some have been released before in Mythic Minis, their inclusion herein helps render the respective creatures more memorable. The Rending Fury tree and Pack Attack, as some of my favorite monster feats for bestial builds receive mythic versions herein.



From the first page of these beasts, you'll notice something - layout has been streamlined - when possible, two creatures now fit on one page, making the pdf more printer-friendly and less blank-space-prone than previous installments of the series - kudos for that! The first page thus is shared by the mythic Basilisk at CR 7/MR 3 and the mythic Behir - the latter lacking the CR-entry in the header. Mythic basilisks receive a damn cool caveat for their petrification - the poisonous blood of the creature can revert it! Behir breath reducing you to 0 Hp now utterly evaporates the unfortunate victim and their constriction is particularly nasty - especially since it can essentially AoE-constrict - glorious. It should also be noted that many creatures herein, including the Behir, receive alternate versions with e.g. the giant template applied or without them, in cases where the template has already been applied in the main statblock.



The CR 9/MR 3 mythic Bulette also receives these two versions - as savage feeding machines, not even mind-influencing effects can calm these beasts and their crushing leaps and magic resistant plates make for a cool protection. CR 8/MR 3 Girallons also receive this dual treatment and are just superb at rending foes apart, being even capable of rending off the heads of creatures - nasty!



Also at CR 8/MR 3, but sans the second version, the Dragonne may induce fatigue with roars and exhale breaths of sleep-inducing gas. Speaking of bad breath - the CR 15/MR 6 mythic Catoblepas has a slay living gaze, a horrible stench AND poison breath.



On the lower ends of the CR-spectrum, we receive Jacklweres at Cr 3/MR 1 receive a sleep aura and more alternate forms - okay, but not on par with the CR 1/MR 1 mythic...stirge. Diseased, able to bloat themselves with negative HP and swarming, these are a great example for low level threats. CR 5/MR 2 Perytons may rip the hearts out of living foes for mythic power and buff itself by flying over the shadow of targets - iconic, cool - two thumbs up!



The CR 6/MR 2 Leucrotta receives a mass suggestion-inducing whisper and they also receive a CR 5/MR 2 Crocotta-servant and the option to easily destroy objects.



The CR 21/MR 9 Thrasfyr enhances the cool tricks they can accomplish with their chains and get in a telepathic bond with a chosen, willing master. Per se, a nice beast, but some slightly more far-out abilities would have been appropriate and nice here. The Ypotryll at CR 18/MR 7 is all about deadly charges that rock the ground, ignores object hardness etc.



This issue's new creature would be the CR 5/MR 2 warpwolf - the nasty relatives of blink dogs, these creatures exist in a constant transplanar-flux that allows them to entangle foes with their innards, use teamwork feats solo and attack from different directions - and yes, that's only the tip of the iceberg. Once in a while, one stumbles over a design that is simply inspired and this is one of them - even among all those canine foes, the warpwolf stands out and puts to shame his hellhound, yeth hound etc. brethren - it's glorious in so many ways, in spite of its relatively low CR - brilliant!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are better than in the giants book, though I noticed minor glitches here and there - nothing too serious, though. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and is much more compact than usual - less blank space - more printer-friendly: Kudos! The pdf has no bookmarks, though, which constitutes a comfort-detriment.



Jason Nelson, Tom Philips and Alistair Rigg had an interesting task here - amp up these beasts without making them too flexible - that would contradict their bestial nature. Hence, while they do not sport as many unique abilities, those that are here have to count - and oh boy do they count: From the Peryton's proper heartrend to the behir's AoE-constriction (which finally makes this guy distinct) up to the superb and gloriously illustrated warpwolf, these beasts rock hard. The warpwolf in particular is just awesome, the type of critter that makes you light up, even after having read 2 bestiaries before that.



That being said, I still maintain that this time around, oddly, the high-CR-beasts feel a bit blander than usual for Mythic Monsters - when compared to their brethren in the book, their tricks feel more like linear progressions and don't add that much to the critters. This is me complaining at a very high level, though and in conjunction with the missing bookmarks the only reason I'm omitting my seal of approval. My final verdict will be 5 stars - now excuse me, I have to replace a lot of canine, lame foes with warpwolves...

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Magical Beasts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Giants
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2014 09:03:02
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction/how-to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 19 pages of content, so let's take a look!





Okay, so this one has a problem - giants frankly suck in Pathfinder - their rock throwing is bad, they can be brought down by sleep and there are no rules for properly falling on PCs, squashing them - thankfully, this installment of Mythic Monsters addresses just these issues - hurling rocks at squares, squashing foes by falling on them, resiliency to spells and effects specifically targeting humanoids, ignoring difficult terrain - I hope Paizo takes a cue from these for the upcoming Giantslayer AP! I know I'll add these to all giants I throw at my players!



We also receive 4 new feats for awesome blows at range via boulders, power attack via boulders and even rolling them towards the players - nice!



Okay, this parts out of the way, let's take a look at those giants, shall we? At the lowest echelons of the power-scale, we receive Moss Trolls and Freshwater Merrow, with the former receiving an increasing, extremely lethal regeneration and the latter receiving a hooked harpoon, including ranged grappling/draging of foes. The CDR 7/MR 3 Saltwater Merrow also receives these, btw. - and great tossing of foes overboard and destroying ships. While I do enjoy the moss troll and saltwater merrow, its freshwater brethren feels a bit bland in direct comparison.



At CR 6/MR 2, the Brute Wight may demoralize with his attacks and throw tombstones and similar rocks, causing energy drain - nice imagery! The CR 7/MR 3 Rock Troll may avoid the sunlight petrification temporarily via mythic power and also has his lesser moss brethren's superb reflexive regeneration - still, I wished these guys had gotten even more beyond their fortification and increased defenses.



The Stone Giant Elder at CR 11/MR 4 can enter a rage-like, reach-increasing form and throw boulders that smash through any resistance in the path of the stone giant's throw to the maximum range. Neat!



Now quite a few of these giants, like their mythic draconic brethren, also have the "giant" simple template applied - the Frost Giant (CR 12/ MR 4), Cloud Giants (CR 14/MR 5) and Storm Giants (CR 17/MR 6) all receive this treatment. It should be noted, that a non templated version of the stats is provided for the Frost Giant, but not for his brethren, which is a pity. Frost giants get truly lethal shockwaves and an aura of numbing cold, whereas cloud giants make use of a mythic feat from Mythic Minis: Feats for Monsters (reprinted here) and may coalesce and shape clouds into solid terrain and beyond the theme of erecting literal castles in the sky, the fee-fie-foe-fum smelling of smaller creatures is also represented here. Storm Giant Elder, meanwhile, learn to ride the lightning, may grant storm-themed enhancements to weaponry and meld electricity with thunder. Now I have that Tiamat-song ringing in my head again...



The CR 15/MR 6 Athach may use mythic power to instantly tear pinned foes asunder (YEAH!) and exact stunning and even melee countering tricks with their claws - glorious build, cool tricks, two thumbs up!



The CR 22/MR 9 Rune Giant receives improved giant control, permanently blind those witnessing their runes, blast foes with showers of deadly sparks from their runes and parry/parry-sunder melee attacks. I'm generally no fan of competing atk-rolls, so not sold there. Weirdly, a version with the Giant-template is provided here, but adheres to a different layout format than the other instances of the thing showing up.



The CR 18/MR 7 Jotund Troll receives once again the cool reflexive regeneration and a confusion-inducing roar, but otherwise could have used a unique trick to reflect its heritage. This one disappointed me somewhat.



The new creature of this book would be Angurboda, at CR 13/MR 5 could be summed up as a nasty giant witch with lamashtan influences - a gigantic mother of monsters, complete with cauldron, evil eye, etc. - she can gestate swiftly and generate a vast array of creatures - a more deadly opponent than her CR would suggest and one of the most awesome unique creatures in the series - and that's saying something! The proper and extensive information on habitat, ecology etc. are the icing on this creature's awesome cake - two thumbs up!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, though I noticed some formatting inconsistencies in layout. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the two pieces of original art are neat indeed. The pdf lacks bookmarks, which is a comfort detriment.



Jason Nelson, Tom Philips and Alistair Rigg have crafted some nasty giants...and they leave me torn like no Mythic Monsters-pdf before. I do love the inclusion of non-templated versions, I'm not a fan of this practice not being uniform. I love the super-regeneration for trolls, but think they overall got the short end of the stick regarding cool abilities. The giants themselves are nice, but the two best draws herein would be the new creature and the material in the beginning that makes giants work as they ought to. These two pieces of content alone are almost worth the book - they're this awesome. That being said, my impression was that these giants have a bit more blank space on some pages than they ought to and quite honestly, I feel that some of them could have used some additional tricks.



All Mythic Monster pdfs are at least good, most are very good/excellent. This one alternatively moves among the best and among the "worst" of the series (which translates to only being good/okay), rendering a finding a final verdict a tricky business. In the end, this one felt, in spite of its brilliant highlights, somewhat less glorious than some other installments of the series and with the slightly less polished formatting and generally uninspired trolls. I will hence settle for a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform - though any aficionado of giants should get this for the alternate rules and the new creature alone - they're worth the asking price by themselves!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Giants
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Dragons
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/07/2014 07:24:10
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction/how-to use, 1 page advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of content, so let's take a look!



As has become the tradition with Mythic Monster-supplements, this one also offers us some supplemental pieces of content, this time in the guise of 10 draconic mythic feats - these allow the dragons in question to suppress energy vulnerabilities - and I really like these - with e.g. empowering effects, added negative conditions or added dispel effect, they felt like a neat nod towards the metabreath feats provided in 3.X's Draconomicon. Beyond these, feats to prevent escape from the claws of dragons and truly lethal bite attacks are possible as well - great feats to make these dragons deadly indeed - though it should be mentioned that Con 19 and breath weapon are the main requirements here, so other monsters can potentially benefit from these as well. Personally, I think the feats should be kept out of the hands of players with breath weapons, even in a mythic game.



But enough about that, let's check out these dragons, shall we? At the lowest end of the spectrum, at CR 2/MR 1, we are introduced to the mythic pseudodragon are able to tap into the collective unconsciousness of dragonkind to unearth secrets and treat dragons as favored enemy. A prime example that even MR 1 mythic creatures can be damn cool!



Fans of drakes will have a field day here - At CR 7/MR 3(Flame Drake), CR 6/MR 2 (forest drake), both coming with vastly increased speed and auras of soot/forest mastery, they are solid, but fall behind their CR 10/MR 4 Frost Drake brethren, who gets a unique modification of their breath weapon to have it linger AND duplicate a miniature blizzard - cool! The CR 8/MR 3 Sea Drake also receives a cool modification that clouds targets of their breath with St. Elmo's fire and they also receive additional electricity charges with their tail attacks.



At CR 8/MR 3, the mythic dracolisk receives a cool ability that allows them to truly effectively destroy petrified foes. The smallest of the true dragons provided would be the Giant mythic juvenile blue dragon at CR 13/MR 5 -and how awesome is this guy - breath into the floor to animate the ground into an array of swarms of construct snakes? Heck YES! Bending breath weapons in degrees up to 90°? Yeah! What about tremorsense plus superb stealth on sand? Worthy of a dragon indeed, even before the literally thundering charge!



The Green Dragons are represented in the adult category at CR 16/MR 6 and receive poisonous spittle, mind fog-inducing gas and essentially are the masters of negative conditions stacking via breath weapons - as they should be: Fear the breath weapons, puny adventurers! Of course, there are also true apex predator dragons, worthy of campaign endgames - Ancient Blacks clock in at CR 21/MR 8 and exude a debilitating stench, can add entangle effects to the breath, receive reflexive spines that damage those trying to hit them and they even may use mythic power to inflict diseases on foes bitten. Interesting - summoned forth creatures can be made into a kind of living shield for the dragon...nasty!



At CR 23/MR 9, the Great Wyrm white dragon also adds nasty conditions to their breath, receive a freezing, deadly variant of acid fog and their walls of ice are truly massive - and that, before imprisonment ice tombs. Have I mentioned that their scales are so cold, they may shatter weapons or that their tramples may literally cause avalanches when erupting via burrow speed? What about an alternate, beam-like breath weapon that may ignore immunities via mythic power and offers no save - ouch!



Finally, as is the tradition - the king, ladies and gentlemen, at CR 27/MR 10 - the Great Wyrm Red can eliminate fire resistance/immunities, ignores ability damage/negative levels etc. up to an extent due to draconic fortitude, force mortals to do his bidding with nary a glance and has, due to jewels and gold in the coat, a mythic fortification effect going - oh, and his gaze can be a true seeing/faerie fire-combo and the breath may melt rock, creating lava. Yeah! Glorious, deadly, awesome!



The CR 26/MR 10 Tor Linnorm also belongs into this emperor-level class of foes - reflexive fast healing, remaining active until -390 hit points (!!!), animating magma as deadly elementals and searing scales etc. make for a cool, surprisingly different build for such a fire-.based draconic brute - kudos here!



As always, we also receive a unique, new creature with the Fell Drake at CR 12/MR 5 - these drakes evolved in the realms of necromancer kings long gone, adapting to working with undead and ghosts and would make for superb mounts for the Nazghûl or similar undead - those that rouse the ire of the creatures can easily be driven from the saddle, though and synergy between e.g. frightful moans of mount and rider make for a cool idea.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard for the series and the module's 2 pieces of original artwork are nice. The pdf has no bookmarks, but at least a hyperlinked ToC, which is still a comfort detriment compared to proper bookmarks.



Jason Nelson's dragons have probably the hardest legacy to hit a creature type can have - I'm a vocal friend of the notion that dragons ought to be truly frightening, deadly and make the PCs shake their boots. Dragons should never be disposable...or bland. Thankfully, the true, massive dragons are just...glorious! They are beauties, with superb, unique abilities, massive, huge statblocks and just style and panache galore. While the drakes are also nice, they fall behind the full-blown dragon's in style and coolness - and know what? For once, I'm very much okay with that. Why? Because, in my opinion, it's intentional. It is obvious that Legendary Games mastermind Jason Nelson can make those glorious abilities - he literally plastered the true dragons with them. The thing is - drakes are supposed to be the smaller, less awe-inspiring brethren of the true dragons and while the new abilities reflect that, they still are iconic and cool - and as such, I consider the distinction well wrought. The new creature will see much use in different tables, though personally, I have to admit the fluff etc. feels more like a template than a creature to me.



Oh well, the scaly lord is eyeing me right now and I already have these colored flames dancing on me, so I better wrap this up before he incinerates me... These dragons are awesome. their builds are deadly and massive and while I would have loved one book on dragons, one on drakes, one on linnorms, one cannot always have everything, can one? Since I found at least one, often more components in each creature I really, really loved, I'll settle on a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval, in spite of the missing bookmarks.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Fairy Tale Creatures
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/03/2014 06:03:33
An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction on how to use, 1 page advertisement, 1 page blank inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 20 pages of content, so let's check this out!

As has become the tradition with Mythic Monster-pdfs, we begin with supplemental information - which this time comes in the guise of mythic versions of fairy-tale associated spells - the call woodland beings variants and the faerie form spells and even the rather iconic fey crossroads spell receive a vast plethora of additional options, not only in the context of the mythic variants provided herein - two thumbs up!

Now the meat, of course, would be the fairy tale creatures provided herein -first f which would be the Mythic Banshee at CR 16/MR 6, who not only receives enhanced sonic tricks, despair-causing anguish and the like - she also gets an ability most iconic - conjuring forth a massive, spectral carriage to assault foes with! The creature is a superb example of the best in mythic monster design - taking all those iconic options and unique signature effects from mythology and making the creature truly distinct. Oh, and the mythic wail of the banshee is thankfully just as lethal as it ought to be!

At CR 12/MR 5, the mythic Boogeyman is a terror to behold as well - quite literally, for non-mythic creatures better gear up - immunity to fear may just disperse...Oh, and have I mentioned the great potential for rejuvenation? If you require more inspiration, combine this with the fluff of 3.5's "Dark tales"-Ravenloft-sourcebook for adventure ideas galore.

In direct comparison, the CR 3/MR 1 mythic faerie dragon feels a bit less iconic - yes, suggestion may be nice, as would be the euphoria-inducing bite, but compared to the former two, it still feels a bit less inspired than it could have been. What about more illusions and similar prankster gambits? Especially since his brethren, the CR 3/ MR 1 Leprechaun with his memory lapse, hideous laughter etc. causing babblings and daze-causing shillelagh proves that the Legendary Games-team can make awesome low CR/MR-creatures with unique mythic signature abilities. Mythic Pixies would be another example here -at CR 5 / MR 2, these fellows can generate flying dust (à la Tinkerbell), illusory decoys and also receive better arrows - cool!

The CR 7/ MR 3 Mythic Green hag is once again back to form - enhancing the fearful cannibalistic notions of the base creature become grand stalkers that also can consume the dead or helpless - a terrifying prospect indeed, even before taking increased coven magic prowess into account - awesome and much closer to what the creature ought to be able to do. At the same CR/ MR, Mythic Redcaps, bitter and blasphemous and full of hatred for thieves, these guys are deranged slayers that neatly tie bleed with the theme of their caps - and if you require inspiration for these fellows beyond the cool abilities they receive, let me recommend "Van Richten's Guide to the Shadow Fey" - another true gem of the 3.5 era that ranks among my favorite fey-related tomes ever. The Will-o'-wisp, at once again CR 7/ MR 3 receives the power to shoot electrical arcs (THANK YOU - Will-o-wisps sans these feel incomplete to me...) and their increased lure options also feel nice, but still - these guys feel like they could have used another ability - while I love that they can eat e.g. rages and effects the like, actually using these to fuel some other abilities would have been the icing on the cake.

Now, sometimes you just want an endgame killer - so what about a CR 28/ MR 10 Jabberwock receive even more deadly options (like tail sweeps), lethal average damage outputs further increased by the option to SKIN GRAPPLED PEOPLE ALIVE and healing resistant wounds - urgh. Ouch. Beautiful, deadly, all I want from such a beast, including an updated fear of vorpal weapons.

The CR 18/ MR 7 Mythic Jubjub Bird may spring attack with full attacks thanks to mythic power and is lethal in its own right - these harbingers of slaughter are NOT to be crossed lightly. Oh, and their shriek actually can kill foes via sonic damage and much like its jabberwock brethren, it features planar acclimatization.

Mythic Unicorns at CR 4/MR 1 receive an aura of purity and receive an increased healing option via their horn, learning to use mythic power to apply mercies. Per se, there is nothing wrong with these fellows, but I still would have loved this to go slightly further - perhaps it's due to Middle Ages Bestiarium correlations assigning the unicorn with the figure of Christ, but I always felt the poor creatures could have used more abilities to represent their unique natures. Perhaps it's also due to the romantic in me still getting a bit teary-eyed at "The Last Unicorn" - I don't know. What I do know is that I prefer this unicorn over the non-mythic one and wished it had gone even further.



EDIT: It seems like my file was, once again, not properly updated on OBS. The revised version that since then has found its way into my claws also sports a true beauty of a statblock - the frumious bandersnatch at CR 23/MR 9. If you thought bandersnatches were bad news - wiat till you have these guys at half hp and they BURST INTO FRIGGIN' FLAMES! The beast's entry spans a massive 2 pages and provides a big bad brutal beast that will send characters (and potentially their players) whimpering!

And now, the creature we've all been waiting for - this installment's unique, new creature, the Boojum Snark at CR 10/ MR 4.- these creatures are part walrus, from the hip downwards look like tentacles of giant squids, live in hermit crab-like shells and can be charmed easier by SOAP. Oh, and their gaze can send you towards the realms of the fey. See, THIS GETS fey; The creature is evocative, weird and the full-page artwork reflects that just as well as the stats.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard for the Mythic Monster-series and the 2 full page full color original pieces of artwork by Mike Lowe fit awesomely with the aesthetics of other fey-themed Legendary Games-supplements. The pdf has a bookmarked ToC, but not the usual bookmarked navigation help almost all pdfs come with these days, which constitutes quite a comfort detriment in my book. That being said, Mr. Legendary Games Jason Nelson will be fixing these as soon as LG's busy schedule permits and since I do not doubt his integrity in the least, I will let that one rest.

Jason Nelson, Alistair Rigg, Tom Phillips and Benjamin Bruck have delivered quite a fine array of fairy tale creatures straight from the myths - and with quite a less pronounced focus on fey than I would have imagined, I might add. And these creatures feature some of my favorite beings in the genre - which is both a blessing and a curse in this installment. Having researched a lot of these critters, I am hard to surprise regarding the respective tricks they sport and have conversely an exceedingly high expectation - also due to the years upon years of Ravenloft-DMing and gobbling up just about all fey-related books I could get my hands on. That being said - it's HARD to impress me in that regard anymore and I expected this to fall short. It did not. And that should be considered quite an achievement. Some of the beings herein did actually come over with the superb array of options I expected and wanted to see and the weirdness of the new critter falls square into this area - unique, cool, two thumbs up.

On the other hand, while the vast majority of creatures herein adhere to this superb level, here and there one or two creatures fall a bit behind their brethren - they are "only" good, not superb. Combined with the lack of bookmarks, this makes me settle on a final verdict of 5 stars....

EDIT: ...And with bookmarks coming up AND one glorious beast of a bonus crature, this is now well worth a final verdict of 5 stars PLUS seal of approval!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Fairy Tale Creatures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faerie Mysteries
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/07/2014 08:37:27
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 29 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside the front cover, 2 pages of introduction/editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 22 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



One problem fey-based modules have when faced with my standards regarding fey is that the creatures ought to be familiar, yet weird, strange, yet familiar - and that a sense of otherworldly timelessness ought to pervade an encounter with fey - something rather difficult (at least from what I've seen...) to accomplish. The introduction and the respective concerns shows a concern for that otherworldly intrusion into reality we consider weird, of what makes fey strange and dangerous -and the rules follow up:



A new type of hazard is introduced to represent this weirdness, so-called fey impulses, which are categorized into 3 types, from rumors, to ripples and ruptures, each adheres to a different severity, with rumors being similar to figments and glamers and the more powerful fey impulses also influencing the mind of those subjected to them. Akin to traps or haunts, fey impulses may be quenched before they manifest, only they do require a different resource - enchantments and illusions, as the types of magic mostly associated with fey, are instead used to represent the forces to quell the fey impulse and, much like a haunt, it may re-manifest unless it is defeated for good.



Now such a system of course needs comprehensive guidelines for the DM to implement and this delivers in spades in that regard, without expecting the DM to do all the work - from CR 1/2 to CR 10, quite an array of options is provided - from a bridge automatically extolling its tithe to a dread hangman's tree emitting waves of all-encompassing despair to a maze in a maze (be sure to read Shirley Jackson's modern classic "The Sundial" for a great idea on how to narrate this one's effect...), the respective impulses are awesome, but by no means everything contained within these pages.



A total of 22 events with codified rules are contained herein - think of these as either bullet-point encounters or even adventures -from nods to "The Great God Pan" to essentially a Rybalka's narrative in a box to a mansion inhabited by a possible bride to the fey to a fey's version of Neddful Things - the ideas contained in these pages are massive and extensive and all but the most burnt-out DMs ought to be inspired by one or more of these - and my skirting around the peculiars of these (and the impulses) is intentional: I do not want to spoil these.



Faeire Creatures ought to be unpredictable, and thus we also are introduced to some variants - take the blackthorn dryad, who is essentially a dryad/kyton mix (including cool, unique signature abilities), the beautiful Green Hag variant Harionna who may fight with dread hooks embedded in her hair (!!!) or the Stormkarl Nixie, bound to a waterfall and emitting those that hear his laments - and yes, fellow aficionados of Scandinavian myths might be grinning right now.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' elegant 2-column full-color standard for Kingmaker plug-ins, though it should be noted that this supplement, more than others, can enrich just about every campaign. The copious amounts of awesome full color artworks are nice. The pdf comes fully bookmarked and hyperlinked, here and there even to inspiring reading material.



I did not expect to like this. After the somewhat mediocre Faerie Passions, I postponed reviewing this to kingdom come and when one patron made a generous donation on my site and asked me to review a couple of Mythic Minis and Mythic Monsters, I made these my priority for LG-files. Well, here I am now and Todd Stewart, Jason Nelson and Alistair Rigg have actually done it - this is one exceedingly glorious, awesome supplement, a hazard toolbox par excellence that is intelligent, cool and iconic - a supplement that can enrich ANY module featuring fey. Breathing the proper sense of weirdness, fey impulses are a simple idea that is easy to grasp and brilliant at the same time, with both toolkit and samples given being just awesome. The variant creatures make for nice icings on this awesome cake and while personally, I would have loved to see even more impulses, I won't hold this against the pdf. Any DM running e.g. "Courts of the Shadow Fey" or similar glorious fey-themed modules should consider this a must-have purchase - 5 stars + seal of approval, given without even a the slightest hesitation.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faerie Mysteries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 25: Feats of Nature
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2014 04:27:06
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini provides 10 new mythic feats, roghly grouped around the theme of nature, so what do we get?



-Eldritch Claws: Bypass mythic tier DR with natural weapons; Expend mythic power to attune your natural weapons to a type of DR and ignore it for a short duration. Nice one!



-Feral Combat Training: Apply improved unarmed strike-based feats et al to natural attacks. if the character is a monk, also have flurry enhanced. Two thumbs up!



-Greater Wild Empathy: Use Wild Empathy with bonus in lieu of Diplomacy and Intimidate when interacting with appropriate creatures; Can be enhanced by mythic power. Kind of...boring.



-Improved Share Spells: Target bonded creature with shared spells at range with touch spells and increase range of the sharing. Also share spell-trigger/spell-completion effects via mythic power.



-Moonlight Summons: Creatures summoned gain DR/silver and may confuse targets on critical hits. Higher DR for mythic power - cool!



-Mystic Stride: Autofail for plants to grapple you/entangle you. Use mythic power to teleport through plants. Not a fan of autosucceeds. Why not deliver a massive bonus instead? Mythic Tier or Mythic Tier x 2 to CMD?



-Quick Wild Shape: Faster wildshape, via mythic power even as an immediate action.



-Shaping Focus: + mythic tier effective druid level for shaping purposes, increase that further by spending mythic power.



-Vermin Heart: Vermin have a starting attitude of friendly, be unarmed (or even take highjack via mythic power) controlled or summoned vermin via wild empathy. Neat.



-Wild Speech: Use mythic power to eschew somatic or material components when casting in wildshaped form and also increase DC for language-dependant spells on creatures of the same form; Also gain speak with animals of your shaped form at will. Okay, if a bit unfocused - the mythic power effect looks more like a poor man's natural spell - and as a casting shifter, that one is still probably a must have...



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice significant glitches, only e.g. "Speec" instead of "Speech" once. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson and Tork Shaw deliver a nice array of mythic feats in here - Feral Combat Training (mythic) is a godsend indeed for many a build, and overall, the content is solid. that being said, the rest of the feats didn't exactly blow me away and while the utilize some nice mechanics and ideas, they do feel slightly less polished here and there. Auto-succeeds? Really? This is by no means a bad installment, but I didn't blow my socks of and is slightly rougher round the edges than other mythic minis. My final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3 - a solid pdf, but one whose feats mostly failed to feel mythic to me.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 25: Feats of Nature
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Devils
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/24/2014 08:41:26
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages of content, 1 page front cover, 1 page inside of the front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages on how to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 23 pages of content, so let's take a look!



In the tradition of Legendary Games' Mythic Monster series, we kick off with an uncommon piece of introduction - multiple pages of glorious, actually awesome to read in-character prose in vernacular - rather awesome and sets well the mood for the dreadfully efficient and lethal Devils to follow! The section also provides a cool template-expansion for Bestiary 4's Devilbound creature template, including types of devil the basic template failed to cover - glorious.



Now I know, you're here for the creatures, so let's take a look at the CR 4/MR 1 Accuser Devil may replay information witnessed and influence targets with dread visions of the torments of hell - interesting variation of the base creature that opens some new storytelling potential in spite of its low MR - neat.



At CR 13/MR 5, Mythic Hamata (or barbed devils - both monikers are provided for each creature herein), these guys can use mythic power to add caltrop-like barbs to their casts, fling barbas and their defenses and reflexive damage make these creatures appropriately lethal. At CR 6/MR 2, the Bearded Devil can easily be made into a truly frightening foe - not that these glaive-wielding guys with their lunging sweeps and battle frenzies weren't deadly - but add a nasty polearm build on top and you get something truly frightening.



CR 12/MR 5 Contract Devils may utterly negate attacks with mythic power, gaining essentially an immediate action lesser time stop! Even before the improved contract abilities, this one is EVIL. The Erinyes, one of my favorite devils, clocks in at CR 10/MR 4 and not only is an even better hunter than her mundane brethren, she also receives deadly animated ropes to hassle and catch her quarry while she pelts them with her deadly arrows.



The CR 17/MR 7 Handmaiden Devil may contain foes in her writhing tentacled, lower body and truly prevent the escape of adversaries with superb grappling powers. CR 15/MR 6 Heresy Devils may belch forth deadly, unholy and acidic, clinging bile and assault foes va flying, infernal glyphs. As a nice supplemental information, we also receive the new Robe of Lead item. Mythic Imps a CR 3/MR 1 are okay, and the necessary Mythic Improved Familiar options are provided, including a proper codification for trying to soul bind the master upon death. Still, I would have enjoyed a unique, new offensive trick.



The CR 20/MR 5 Cornugon deals deadly types of bleed damage with all attacks and a look at the potential damage output of these guys is nasty indeed -these engines of destruction will plow through lesser foes like a knife through butter. Now we all know that there will be this one star here - the CR 25/MR 10 Pit Fiend. OMG, cremating foes slain, blasting resistances and immunities to smithereens, making lemures into other devils, consuming souls to heal and regain mythic power - these titans of infernal might are damn impressive brutes that will provide ample challenge even for the most mighty of mythic heroes.



At CR 9/MR 3, the Vengeance Devils (aka Salikotal) are the true assassins of hell - with Death Attack, additional effects for those slain via Murder Curses, the ability to mark targets for death and even an ugly death throe, these guys are imho very strong for their CR - and that's a good thing in my book. The CR 9/MR 3 Levaloch Warmonger Devils can call forth areas of razor-sharp, entangling chains, masters of their nets and glorious tacticians in the well-oiled war-machine of hell.



The new creature herein, the serpentine fallen angels called Lisslefer, or Temptation Devils, clock in at CR 7/MR 3 and are about seduction - bartering mortals of their souls for wishes, changing shape, infusing wis-damage dealing poison into targets (which also impedes spellcasting) and the array of spell-like abilities (focused on illusions and enchantments) and the option to swallow corpses to heal (and get rid of evidence) make fpr a well-crafted adversary with a cool artwork to boot. If this creature had one problem, it would be that the last mythic Monster-original beast set the bar exceedingly high.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the book comes with two neat full color artworks of top quality. While the pdf is studded with the good type of hyperlinks, annoyingly, no bookmarks are provided.



Jason Nelson, Alistair Rigg, Tom Philips and Jonathan H. Keith have crafted an array of damn cool devils - that require a second glance to get why the builds are good. Much like the Devils herein, the builds are more subtle than those of Demons - less in your face, with many small pieces interacting. Unlike in some Mythic Monster-books, we are not squashed by an awesome array of new and unique signature abilities (though each creature still at least gets one!) - instead, the abilities, new magic capabilities and feats combine into making some downright brutal adversaries. The devils herein intended for combat - you can see hell's efficiency in them. The seducers - they're subtle and codify all those bargaining abilities usually left for the DM to handwave, which is neat as well.



I won't lie - at first, I was somewhat underwhelmed at a high level - I expected more flashy abilities here and there. Then I started analyzing these builds and realized how deadly they actually are. So take a deep breath and read the fine print of these statblocks - they are actually very awesome. Still, while there is nothing per se wrong with this installment, I would have enjoyed something a tad more flashy here and there, especially in the new creature, which, while still far above average, didn't blow me as far away as the best of the original beasts.



Hence, my final verdict will "only" clock in at 4.5 stars, still rounded up to for the purpose of this platform, for the builds in the end are too deadly, too lethal not to like. So show your PCs how deadly the forces of hell truly are! They'll be begging for incursions into the Worldwound and fighting Demons instead...


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Devils
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 23: Feats of the Holy Warrior
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/23/2014 07:06:35
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about tricks for divine champions provides 11 new mythic feats, so what do we get?



-Adept Champion: Activate as a free action instead of as a swift action, enhances CMB against targets of your smite. Okay.



-Dragonbane Aura: As a move action, grant allies within your aura 5 times mythic tier energy resistance for 1 round, but halved versus non-draconic (ex) and (su) abilities. Double resistance and increase duration to 1 minute by expending mythic power.



-Enforcer: Treat all attacks versus non-mythic foes as crits for the purpose of demoralize, confirmed crits increase the duration by mythic tier rounds and upgrade the effect to frightened, while following with damage dealt rounds as shaken. Not a fan here - this makes quite an array of high-CR non-mythic foes very susceptible to fear, with intimidate being pushable higher than the DC. It's a problem of intimidate further enhanced by mythic rules. Might work for you, doesn't for me.



-Greater Channel Smite: Activate as a free action, retain unused dice until they are expended. Usable only 1/round, but dice are stackable, though thankfully, carry-over dice are limited to a maximum of twice your mythic tier. Nice!



-Greater Shield Specialization:+ mythic tier to AC versus critical confirmations and use mythic power to negate criticals beyond the limit. Powerful, but cool since it makes shields more valid.



-Pure Faith: +1/2 mythic tier to save versus poisons, expend mythic power to neutralize poison on yourself.



-Quick Channel: Channel as an immediate action by expending 3 channel uses. Nasty, but damn cool. You may also expend mythic power in lieu of the ADDITIONAL uses of channel energy; I *assume* here it's just one use of mythic power, not one per additional channel energy/day cost, but I'm not sure. While expending more than one use of mythic power would be highly uncommon, I could still envision it. So here a very nitpicky minor glitch.



-Shield Specialization: Gain a fortification-style ability equal to 5% x mythic tier. Solid and stacks. Like it!



-Swift Aid: Aid another for +3 as a swift action; Also: Freely distribute the +3 bonus and enhance the aid with mythic power for added oomph. I *really* like this one.



-Trick Riding: No more penalties in medium armor when riding, auto-succeed at checks of DC 20 or below and grant mount temporary hp via mythic power. Nice!



-Word of Healing: +10 ft times mythic tier range for lay on hands, no more halving AND may harm undead as well as heal the living. Okay, this one is a tad bit too strong in my book - it greatly enhances lay on hands, which isn't something to take lightly in the first place and does a lot sans requiring mythic power.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Authors Tork Shaw and Jason Nelson deliver a neat array of mythic takes on feats that will not only benefit paladins and clerics - quite a few of these feats will have general applications as well. That being said, the feats themselves range from awesome to okay and while there is no true glitch to be found, the balance (and yes, even in mythic games, this exists) in some of these seems to me a bit off. In the end, I will thus settle on a final verdict of 4 stars - some gold, some slightly less awesome feats - a good installment.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 23: Feats of the Holy Warrior
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 21: Feats of Dirty Fighting
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/19/2014 08:28:46
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look!



This Mythic Mini about dirty fighting provides 7 new mythic feats, so what do we get?



-Adder Strike: Penalize saves versus Adder Strike-delivered poisons, use mythic power to make the poison last for multiple rounds.



-Broken Wing Gambit: You need only hit touch AC, but only deal damage when hitting regular AC. Use one mythic power to allow one ally per 2 mythic tiers to allow allies to make AoOs by expending your immediate action as if they had Broken Wing Gambit.



-Drag Down: Deal unarmed damage in addition when tripping foes. Also, keep foes prone while prone yourself. Neat!



-Felling Smash: Felling Smash as a free action, or sans Power Attack penalty as a swift action. If you already may mitigate said penalty in favor of better tripping. This one's wording is slightly ambiguous and could have potentially been phrased slightly more concise.



-Pinpoint Poisoner: Add unarmed damage to blowgun dart damage(+poison) and resolve close range shuriken-style throwing of darts as touch attacks; Can be enhanced via mythic power. AWESOME.



-Punishing Kick: Increase DC by 1/2 tier, target may end up in unsafe squares and you may bull rush multiple foes. Mythic power can be used as a resource for daily punishing kicks. Neat!



-Vicious Stomp: Use mythic power as swift action to make unarmed attacks against prone targets. Also makes standing up harder from being stomped.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games 2-column full-color standard and the cover-art is neat. The pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.





Alistair Rigg's mythic takes of dirty fighting rock - they are deadly, cool and do not follow formulaic mythic structures, instead coming with cool, unique effects that, more often than not, are inspired. Thus, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 21: Feats of Dirty Fighting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unrighteous Villains
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/18/2014 05:27:31
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 32 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page how-to-use, 1 page ToC (including CR/MR), 1 page SRD, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of raw content, so let's take a look, shall we?



Now while this book is intended to provide additional adversaries to the Wrath of the Righteous AP, it should be noted that more so than many other Adventure-path-plug-ins, this book and the villains herein do in no way need this connection and can easily be introduced into non-AP contexts - especially due to not making that heavy use of the Mythic Adventures-rules, meaning that even non-mythic campaigns get their due with this pdf.



So what kind of adversaries do we get herein? Well, the first would be the Unique Quasit-bound demon sorceror Terracg p nmvczy. No. Not a Typo. I didn't fall asleep at the keyboard. In a cool twist, this creature's name is also written in a strange , glyph-like font that makes identifying its proper name hard. Now the catch is - this creature is the fragment of a greater demon and is usually encountered as something saved from demons - becoming a kind of foul-mouthed sidekick for its mortal masters, one with a keen intellect...and one that is nigh impossible to get rid of. BRILLIANT. The additional hooks provided further cement this creature as something I will gift my PCs with...



Koyo-Shojaxus is a more straightforward adversary - at CR 13, the babau martial artist 7 makes for a deadly adversary and a vile variant of the wandering martial artist-trope. Neat! The CR 13 succubus gunslinger (mysterious stranger) Lilevyrrin gives new meaning to the moniker of femme fatale by pairing both deadly prowess and her succubus heritage's "needful things"-style manipulation-capabilities into a glorious package of mayhem. And that's before her Glabrezu lover/mortal enemy enters the fray...



Malcaedix, the shadow demon rogue, takes one of the most powerful creatures for its CR and amps it up to CR 10, adds a new feat for better possession and makes for a strange creature - unlike many demons, she is subtle. She actually cares for her hosts and does her best to eliminate threats to her host...which may include any and all people said person cared about or even those that mildly offended the creature. As a kind of dark guardian angel, she also doesn't deal well with rejection, meaning you'll better be able to fend her off if you question all the good things that happen to you... Awesome and the potential for actual deep, psychological conflict and moral questions as well as roleplaying is vast here.



Ser Meridrand Palisard, the disgustingly fat human antipaladin/low templar with an implanted demonic graft for a stomach makes for a truly vile and disgusting cannibalistic foe, who further adds to this imagery with his equipment -a disgusting, bloated individual, a fallen champion and deadly to boot at CR 15, this erstwhile paragon is a great adversary for a "Through a mirror, darkly"-type situation, when the PCs realize how fragile the sanctity of their alignment truly is and how easily they, too, can fall into the clutches of the Abyss and its servants.



Mons' Verix, the CR 16 Glabrezu-summoner also has a very cool twist - his eidolon looks like an angel. With this tool of deceit, the creature may fool even the most stalwart of heroes and lead them on the first steps of the downward spiral of temptation if played properly - a cool idea indeed and with all the magic capabilities of the creature, one supplemented by the proper magical oomph! As a minor complaint, the final page of his entry is half empty - more story could have easily fitted in there.



Now so far, we've had next to no possession - so what about a demon-possessed inquisitor/assassin build with the erstwhile witch hunter Count Ulus VonKaval? It should be noted that the count is the one character herein who does not get an awesome, original piece of full color artwork, but that does not detract from this example how pride vo make even the mightiest fall.



Finally, at CR 15/MR 6, Dasnikynlin, the mythic coluxus demon with the awesome artwork, its mesmerizing drone, charisma damage AND bleed-damage causing bite, death attack and vicious mythic spell-like abilities makes for a powerful final entry, though one that could have used a unique story-expansion herein. EDIT: I've been made aware that this is the demon that is supposed to be the possessor of Ulus VonKaval and yeah, that works. However, I still would have loved a full-blown ecology-level detailed write-up like the ones in the Mythis Monster-series. Oh well!



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches herein. Layout adheres to Legendary Games fiery, slightly orange-tinted standard for Wrath of the Righteous-plug-ins and the pdf comes with bookmarks for your convenience. The artworks deserve special mentioning here, for almost all adversaries receive their own, glorious full-color pieces, sometimes even on a full-page spread.



Alistair Rigg, Todd Stewart, Clinton J. Boomer and Nicholas Logue - notice something - yeah, these guys have in common that they know how to WRITE. I don't mean "write a supplement", but really WRITE. Evoke moods, atmospheres and multi-layered characters. It's easy to delve into the "wants to destroy everything due to being EVUUUL"-trope with demons and the adversaries herein almost universally manage to avoid this, instead being round, nasty individuals that make sense in a twisted way, providing roleplaying opportunities aplenty, not just within the context of Wrath of the Righteous.



In fact, the writing is so good that you really, really want to use these villains - almost immediately. This miniature rogue's gallery definitely provides some of the most depraved adversaries I've seen in a while - and that is meant as a compliment. But that wouldn't be enough if their statblocks were bland or boring. They aren't. While not all statblocks reach the level of complexity I tend to enjoy in NPC-builds, a couple of them do and that, coupled with the awesome writing, is enough for me. Add to that the slight touches - like aforementioned glyphs, like demonic trysts gone wrong, the evocative adventure hooks - and we have a grand collection of villains, well worth 5 stars + seal of approval - legendary indeed!


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unrighteous Villains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Splintered Godhood
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2014 08:18:53
I'm looking forward to playing this game, but it's not at the front of the queue.

I tried to research Splintered Godhood (SG hereafter) before purchase but found nothing at all. A call for playtesters as little as a month ago showed that this game was brand new, so I took a punt and for the price I paid I don't regret it.

It's a short rulebook at 31 pages all told. The artwork is of a professional standard and helps to impart the intended style and tone, but nothing to shout about. The contents are well-written and explanations are mostly clear.

The game itself is appetite-whetting to say the least. SG is designed to be truly limitless in scope – indeed, exploring the limitless is very much the main theme – and there are lots of examples to get excited about. What gamer wouldn't lick their lips at the promise of such power as "Killing an entire country with your bare hands" and "Convincing a hostile crowd to commit seppuku in your name"?

The theme of the game is presented very vaguely, as though it's been done a million times before which is frustrating because it does feel new and ambitious. The players begin as normal people in separate alternate realities (ranging from Germany won WWII to zombie apocalypse on the moon, with ancient Romans, governed by Victorian mime artists) and grow steadily to the level of world-eating gods. Exactly how they grow and what they are if not human is completely absent from the book, including any hints or suggestions. This is very much a game for the story-tellers who find both standard RPG mechanics and the universal laws of physics unacceptably restrictive.

Even with a few world-building and gameplay examples there is a distinct lack of framework and advice in this book. A fundamentalist dedication to limitlessness comes at the cost of any grounding on which to base your game. If your group is composed entirely of expert story-tellers who know how to build something out of nothing on the fly and how to inject structure in the process then great, but I foresee a lot of stalling and directionless meandering otherwise. The process for each player in starting the game is to vaguely describe their character, create the universe in which they live, flesh out their character and go – there is no advice or instruction beyond that and I would expect this to frustrate many a player.

There is an element of game to SG – a trans-dimensional nemesis that would see the players fail and rule in their wake is the ultimate challenge, but sadly it seems a lot of value will be lost from this in games beyond the first as the players can't go back to not expecting it. However, the players may also find themselves at odds with each other and compete for survival and supremacy as the bonfire of the universes begins. It is clear from the book that if the start and middle of the game have gone well, the end will be a thrilling cataclysm of beyond-epic proportions. In SG you don't get eaten by daemons; you enslave all the daemons from beyond the stars and feed them Lovecraftian gods.

SG attempts to defy the need for any boundaries at all and makes it seem possible, but unlikely. It is not so much a game for roleplayers wanting fewer mechanics, more a game for free-form storytellers wanting more mechanics. This should absolutely not be anybody's first narrative-based RPG, but if your group has proved itself in several others and wants to plumb the depths of epic like never before then SG could be just the thing.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Splintered Godhood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 96 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates