DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 Publisher Info
Legendary Games
Legendary Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (75)









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mythic Monsters: Oozes
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/17/2014 09:32:43
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monsters-series is 28 pages long, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of introduction, 2 pages of advertisement and 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 17 pages of raw content, so what do we exactly get here?



Well, let's take a look at the oozes - which present a unique challenge at mythic levels: Being mindless for one, an optional rule to retain the usefulness/threat of grab (ex) and mythic splitting are covered before we dive into the statblocks - all of these initial options are more than viable and fit the theme.



At CR 8/MR 3, Mythic black puddings may modify their reach for more attacks (great idea - more amorphous being should have that one!) and, while resistant to fire, are covered in an oil-like slick that can easily be ignited - yeah, picture that black blob dissolving AND burning your allies, leaving slime-trails of flammable material behind... Speaking of deadly - what about the CR 16/MR 6 Mythic Carnivorous Blob and its ability to negate temporarily its cold vulnerability. The blob can also spit globs of its matter and soften/liquefy bones of adversaries. Ouch!



At CR 10/MR 4, the mythic version of the deathtrap ooze can duplicate ranged traps, complex traps and even subdivide itself into various connected traps - which an enterprising DM can craft into a truly fearsome encounter! Glorious - now say again that oozes can't make for complex set-ups. The CR 5/MR 2 mythic electric jelly gets a reflexive shock and can emit electric pulses. At CR 4/MR 1, mythic gelatinous cubes get the adherence special quality to have weapons stuck to them. Solid.



Mythic Gray oozes at CR 5/MR 2 leave trails of caustic slime behind and corrode non-mythic items exceedingly fast and even extend their camouflage to include blindsense etc. The CR 8/MR 3 Mythic Hungry Fog can cause its victims to become shaken by shapes half-glimpsed and even duplicate the effects of phantasmal killer thus. These fogs can also kill foes and benefit from the death of engulfed adversaries. Mythic ID Oozes (CR 7/MR 3) can emit poisonous psychotropic vapors alongside caustic trails, adaptive camouflage (again) and may power its confusion causing-abilities via mythic power.



The Mythic Magma Ooze's lavabody and burning aura are neat (CR 9/MR 3, btw.), but its ability to kind of-detonate itself, entangling nearby foes in burning lumps of stone and its lava bomb-emitting capabilities are what make this one for me. The CR 6/MR 2 Mythic Ochre Jelly heals when dealing damage and can emit poison-delivering tendrils and noxious fumes. Nice! The CR 5/MR 2 slithering tracker's mythic version increases its con via blood drain and yes, it finally actually gets good at TRACKING. Prey. fast. Thanks! That one always annoyed the heck out of me.



The CR 7/MR 3 white pudding's mythic brother can make itself a fountain of acidic, cold death and also can burrow through snow/ice and turn itself into a kind of living avalanche. Very cool!



As has become the tradition, we also get a new creature, this time the CR 12/MR 5 quicksilver ooze that may auto-accelerate itself, block attacks, melt metal, can choose which damage type to deal (among the base damages) and that's not all: The ooze can diffuse elemental attacks to adjacent squares and duplicate the enchantments of weapons that hit it. Oh yeah, movement rate 60 feet. SUFFER! Glorious!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are once again very good - I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column standard and the two pieces of original full color artwork are glorious. The pdf comes with the good type of hyperlinks, but unfortunately no bookmarks - a comfort detriment here.



On the nitpicky side, once again ecology-sections are missing from some of the statblocks - gelatinous cube, gray ooze, id ooze, ochre jelly and the new quicksilver ooze all lack this component of the statblock - which while not crucial, represents a detriment. Jason Nelson delivers a cool array of oozes with a surprisingly diverse set of cool signature abilities that not only make oozes more diverse, it makes them actually FUN to ooze. Yeah bad pun. Sorry, couldn't resist. The oozes are cool and honestly, I'll rather use them than their non-mythic brethren, especially since non-mythic oozes tend to be boring for the DM to run. This, these oozes aren't. That being said, I think a slight bit more content for some, a signature ability here and there, would have been enough to make this truly legendary. Speaking of which - know what seems to be a running theme? The mythic versions are cool - the unique creatures are stellar. Personally, I'd love to see much more NEW monsters by LG!

All in all, in spite of the lack of bookmarks/partially missing ecologies, a pdf that gets my wholehearted recommendation, especially and additionally for even non-mythic DMs who want to scavenge some abilities to make the standard oozes less bland. Thus, in spite of its minor flaws, I'll settle on a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 by a margin.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Oozes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Monsters: Molds, Slimes, and Fungi
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/16/2014 07:42:04
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monsters-series is 32 pages long, 1 page front cover, 2 pages editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of introduction, 2 pages of advertisement and 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 21 pages of raw content, so what do we exactly get here?



I like the gritty and dark. My campaigns tend to feature a lot of diseases, poisons and the like. Add to that the fact that I have some serious health issues with regards to fungus spores and a traumatic horror story I read as a child and I'll come right out and say it: Demons? Lovecraftiana? Pfff. If you want me to feel uncomfortable, put me some fungi before me. I just consider them CREEPY and thus, I love using them. They also make players squeal - after all, who wants to be rotted from the inside-out?



As a nice idea, this pdf kicks off by introducing the optional fungus-subtype before providing...yes, 8 mythic fungus hazards. Though regular brown mold was bad? Wait until you fall into a patch of the mythic variant! Seriously, I love hazards and these add nastier variants to a DM's arsenal - so kudos!



Now let's look at the creatures, shall we? At CR 6/MR 2, the mythic ascomoid has not only better control via spore jets (and thus about their charging), it also is a neat fungal overrun machine. Cool! At the same CR/MR, the mythic basidirond not only gets poison blood and the option to entrap foes in ropy tendrils, they may also emit a sympathy-inducing aroma that can even fascinate those witnessing it from close-by. Creepy! At CR 12/MR 5, the Mythic Fungus Queen is a threat to fear indeed - not only can she energy drain, create difficult terrain (connected with her entrap ability!) and fight through her sporepods, she can also create legions of slain spawn. *shudder*



On the less high level/boss-battle style adversaries, we'd get the CR 3/MR 1 Mythic Leshy Fungus with soundburst (that one should probably be italicized) puffballs and yes, we also get full information for the ritual to create these.



Well, though the fungus queen was bad? CR 26/MR 10. MYTHIC MU SPORE. 'Nuff said. Or not - 8 signature abilities versus two of the non-mythic version. One-page glorious full-color artwork. Shudder, tremble and fear, mortals. One glorious beast! At CR 5/MR 2, the mythic myceloid can go one step further and transform those infected by their purple pox into full-blown myceloids - oh, and they may actually taste your emotions, highjacking morale bonuses and ferret out you via emotions. CREEPY. CR 4/MR 1 Mythic Phantom Fungus may spew forth dazzling spores. At CR 5/MR 2, the mythic phycomid can rapid fire their pellets and have them pop up in splash-damage-style bursts.



CR 3/MR 1 mythic slime molds can disgorge green slime and make those hit unwitting carriers. Mythic vegepygmies and their champions (at CR1/MR 1 and CR 2/MR 1) get greensight, can create greenblood oil and chieftains get essentially defensive russet mold.



At CR 4/MR 1, mythic violet fungi get tentacles with barbs, okay, I guess. Finally, we get a lavish one-page illustration in full color of the Fairy Ring, a CR 8/ MR 3 new beast that is a plant swarm with various SLs that can act as a planar crossroads, disenchant magic items, act as a guarded rope trick-style pocket dimension, deals its swarm damage not only selectively, but also non-lethal and can even put you to sleep or pronounce ageing curses! Superb, iconic, awesome and a final capstone offering for the book!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are generally, rather good - while there aren't any significant glitches that detract from the entries per se, it should be noted that basidirond, leshy, phantom fungus and violet fungus miss the ecology-entries of their statblocks. Not a catastrophe, but also a minor glitch. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the two 1-page full color illustrations are glorious. The pdf comes bookmarked, but not to the respective entries and the bookmarks seem to be taken from the Demon-pdf, another minor gripe there. the pdf comes bookmarked with the good type of hyperlinks that is applied to rules/components where it makes sense.



Jason Nelson has crafted a thoroughly disturbing array of cool creatures (and hazards) here, with just about every critter filling very iconic roles and some monsters actually doing exceedingly cool things. That being said, this level of awesomeness is not continuous - the violet fungus, for example and the vegepygmies feel somewhat less inspired than the otherwise awesome creatures herein. Add to that the aforementioned glitches, and we arrive at a verdict where I can recommend this installment of mythic monsters at a heartfelt 4.5 stars, but will round down by a very small margin to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Molds, Slimes, and Fungi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Faerie Passions
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2014 03:49:41
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement is 18 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/SRD, 1 page ToC, 1 page how-to-use, 1 page advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 12 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



After a 1-page introduction to the matter at hand, we are introduced to something vital to understand the content herein - the mindset of the fey: We essentially get advice for DMs to portray fey and their interaction with mortals and PCs in particular: The alien nature of fey and their capacity to misinterpret mortals is reflected by optional supplemental rules that govern the interaction of fey and mortals and reflect the anxieties of such a clash of mindsets and cultures. Furthermore, the fey's sense of beauty and how it governs their actions is also described and supplemented - and yes, fey make start developing an obsession to "fix" your own sensibilities...which may be annoying with humans, but in the case of fey, it may become downright cruel and disturbing... Speaking of which - the arrogance and weird logic of fey offers quite an array of storytelling potential and examples via a rusalka and her taboos on drowning victims are3 covered - oh, and it should be noted that trying to influence fey via mundane and magical means can be rather problematic and fire back upon the mortals that attempt it. The aspects of faerie whimsy, potential sheer heartlessness and the time-honored tradition of humbling proud mortals - all of these are covered herein and come with short, easily inserted rules that add a layer of depth to the interaction with fey.



Now onwards to the birds & bees of fey - examples from true fairy-tale love to forced ravishments of woodcutters by dryads to the stable of lovers held by noble fey, we get some intriguing short summaries of central tropes to the fey's lore and their potentially child-stealing/exchanging ways also merit some further focus by the book and help prospective DMs with advice on properly adding interesting features to the changelings or to create more unique offspring with the ARG. The book also offers a fine array of awesome recommendations for further reading, both obvious and lesser known. having read the majority of these myself, I can attest to the inspiring nature of these recommendations. Now if you're like me, you'll consider the basic fey-bloodline too generic to reflect all possible ancestors and hence, herein, we get an array of alternate bloodlines for sorcerors that reflect the respective parents better -now all of these bloodlines make the respective character counts as fey for the purpose of spells and abilities as well as archetypes - i.e. these are considered variants of the fey bloodline.



First would be the Dryad, which of course gets plant and forest-related abilities and bark-like skin at later levels. Nymph-blooded sorcerors - this one is, of course, rather focused on charm and grace and allows you to temporarily add a significant bonus to AC temporarily and even gain an aura that dazzles those that look directly at you - thankfully suppressible, though. Nereid-blooded sorcerors may hit adversaries with cold water spouts, become invisible and get a nice array of water-related spells. Among the more uncommon bloodlines would be the Norn, who may provide detrimental or beneficial modifications to rolls and even enforce rerolls. Satyr-blooded sorceros gain a touch-attack that has targets laugh uncontrollably and may also substitute the playing of wind instruments for verbal and somatic components - cool idea.



We also get two new archetypes - the Feyfriend Druid who may be of chaotic alignment, has an array of fey-themed spells added to his/her spell-list, becomes immune to mind-influencing effects and may actually turn into giant form or take the form of fey at later levels. The opposite would be teh Fey Hunter Ranger, who gets iron will, can extend saves versus fey to nearby allies, allow them to reroll saves versus mind-influencing effects and even make attacks that can dispel the magic of fey creatures and see past the illusions of the fey.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting, as we've come to expect from legendary Games, is top-notch. Layout adheres to LG's 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes in two versions, with one being more printer-friendly. The pdf offers two gorgeous one-page illustrations and a smaller picture of also superb quality, all by Mike Lowe. The pdf comes fully bookmarked and hyperlinked for your convenience.



Russ Taylor and Todd Stewart should probably ring some bells name-wise and as such it is no surprise that the superb ecology-style beginning of the romance and interaction between fey and mortals is a joy to read and offers some neat ideas and insights. The bloodlines could easily have drifted into the boring-territory, but thanks to a varied and non-core-rules-using spell-selection as well as some unique abilities, manage to evade that fate. The archetypes are both iconic and fun, with especially the fey hunter being extremely useful to have on your side when challenging the fey. That being said, by now the standard for fey-related supplements is HIGH. Kobold Press' Midgard has delivered perhaps one of the best modules ever as well as copious information in that regard. Adventure-a-week.com's Snow-White-Saga, while not directly and exclusively dealing with fey does indeed breathe the spirit and finally, Rite Publishing's Convergent Paths: Fey Archetypes and In the Company of Fey offer a cool race/racial paragon class and one of the best barbarian archetypes ever crafted. Whereas the Midgard and AaW-supplements are more about the tone, especially Rite's offerings lend themselves well for direct comparison. Convergent Paths: Fey Archetypes especially would spring to mind - and while it has parts I consider not 100% compelling, it feels a bit more...daring. While I'm not a big fan of "The Laughing Man", said archetype feels more innovative, more daring, more alien than those herein.



In fact, I wondered for quite some time and then got it - this supplement is very conservative in its design-choices: It's well-crafted, flawless even in its respective content, but ironically it does not inspire this sense of weirdness, does not reflect the alienness in the crunch. I also consider the lack of alternate racial traits to modify base races according to parent-fey or alternate racial traits an oversight in this - either that or some actual examples of how to court varying fey (with skills or the like), a select set of taboos - either would have improved the book. Think of Catherynne M. Valente's Gaselli and the tale of the errant Taglio (Orphan's Tales Book 2, by the way) on how alien mindsets can completely transform relations between races and challenge our preconceptions. In the end, this pdf feels like a nice offering, but also woefully incomplete and perhaps a tad bit too conservative for the imagination-inciting matter it covers.



In the end, Faerie Passions is not a bad book by any stretch and actually has great content herein, but it also didn't manage to either blow me away or incite its eponymous passion in me to include components of it in my game, apart from the fluff. In the end, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Faerie Passions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 5: Feats of Monstrous Magic
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2014 04:47:56
An Endzeitgeist.com review

As always with the Mythic Minis line, this pdf is 3 pages long - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD and 1 page content, so let's take a look at these new feats!



-Ascendant Spell-like Ability: 3/day use a mythic version of your spell-like ability chosen upon taking the feat. Also expend 2 uses of mythic power for +1 use of the feat. Finally, spend 3 uses of mythic power to use the mythic version of another spell-like ability. Solid restrictions reign that one in. Two thumbs up.



-Craft Construct: +MR/tier to skill checks pertaining the construction of constructs. Also construct mythic tier times 1K gold per day, making you much faster. Also includes concise rules to add the mythic simple template to the crafted construct for higher costs. Finally, this feat allows you to create sentient, intelligent constructs. Which would be awesome, but the pdf has a glitch here - these constructs get, according to the text, no less than 11d3 to charisma - which I *assume* probably should be 1d3.



-Empower Spell-like Ability: If the spell-like ability chosen to be empowered can be used more than 3/day, you may use this feat an additional time per day per 2 mythic ranks or tiers after 1st. Also spend 2 uses of mythic power to regain a daily use of the feat. For 2 daily uses of the feat, empower a different spell-like ability, which may not exceed 1/2 level-2. Solid one, but not as cool as the ascendant feat.



-Improved Spell Resistance: +1/2 mythic tier to SR versus mythic spells and SLs; Add full tier to SR vs. non-mythic spells and SLs. Okay.



-Maximize Spell-like Ability: If the spell-like ability chosen to be empowered can be used more than 3/day, you may use this feat an additional time per day per 3 mythic ranks or tiers after 1st. Also spend 2 uses of mythic power to regain a daily use of the feat. For 2 daily uses of the feat, maximize a different spell-like ability, which may not exceed 1/2 level-3. Solid one, but not as cool as the ascendant feat.



-Quicken Spell-like Ability: If the spell-like ability chosen to be maximized can be used more than 3/day, you may use this feat an additional time per day per 4 mythic ranks or tiers after 1st. Also spend 2 uses of mythic power to regain a daily use of the feat. For 2 daily uses of the feat, quicken a different spell-like ability, which may not exceed 1/2 level-4. Solid one, but not as cool as the ascendant feat.



Maximized, Quicken and Empowered Spell-like ability feats can ONLY be used to enhance SLs that can be used at least 2/day.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, but not perfect. Layout adheres to a 2-column full-color standard and the pdf doesn't have bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson delivers a selection of solid mythic feats herein that can work well to enhance your options for beasts by adding mythic versions of many metamagic tricks - which is nice to have. The options to empower, maximize and quicken are cool, if a bit linear in their solid craft. The construct creation and ascendant spell-like ability-feats are downright awesome in my book and well worth the low price of admission. Still, they are the 2 feats that really breathe awesome and show that the rest of the content is good, but simply not that inspired. Good, yes, but not that awesome. In the end, that makes me settle on a final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 5: Feats of Monstrous Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 3: Feats of Flight
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/13/2014 18:21:54
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 3 pages long - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD/editorial, leaving us with 1 page of content detailing mythic feats of flight, so let's take a look, shall we?



-Devastating Flyby (mythic): + mythic tier bonus damage on flyby attacks, also make drag, reposition or trip as a swift action with such an attack sans AoO with a bonus equal to your tier. When scoring a critical threat, expend one use of mythic power to automatically confirm the crit. Awesome - this makes flyby finally work in the iconic ways you'd expect!



-Flyby Attack (mythic): When making a flyby attack, you don't provoke AoOs with your movement from the target. Expend one use of mythic power to move twice your fly speed during a round of a flyby attack. Nice!



-Hover (mythic): As a non-AoO-threatening standard action, use dirty trick on all corporeal foes within 60 feet when hovering, potentially blinding/dazzling/staggering foes temporarily. The duration can be extended by spending mythic power. AWESOME!



-Improved Flight (mythic): +20 feet fly speed, +1 movement category. Okay.



-Silent Soarer (mythic): Get no penalty to stealth when flying at normal speed, also get minor bonuses when hitting foes flat-footed. Alternatively, use mythic power to add your mythic tier to stealth for 1 hour. Neat!



-Stratospheric Soarer (mythic): Immunity to altitude sickness and environmental damage from cold. Also better attacks from above and use 2 uses of mythic power to sleep while flying. Cool!



-Wingover (mythic): Make 360° turns sans requiring a fly-check or movement. Get a bonus to acrobatics to move through threatened squares and spend 1 use of mythic power to combine wingover to make turns while charging. Yes!



-Wingstorm (mythic): As a full-round action, create gust of wind as an Ex-ability, with increased areas if you are larger. Spend mythic power to duplicate the mythic equivalent of the spell.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none.



Tom Phillips and Jason Nelson have hit the nail on the head here - the vast array of feats herein is killer, allowing you to duplicate all those cool tricks you know from literature - also, a dragon with these feats is simply awesomeness incarnate and so much closer to what dragons *SHOULD* be able to do - and beyond solid rules, these feats also breather the coolness and style mythic feats should come with - hence my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 3: Feats of Flight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 4: Marshal Path Abilities
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/13/2014 18:17:16
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 1 page of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



We kick these new abilities for the marshal path off with 3 new 1st tier abilities:



-Expert Aid: Use aid another via reach weapons; Add mythic tier to aid another attack-rolls and 1/2 mythic tier to the aid another bonus. Okay, I guess, but not too exciting.



-Teamwork Feat Mastery: Train one hour and spend one mythic power for +1 bonus teamwork feat; at 4th level, you can get 1/2 mythic tier of these wildcard teamwork feats. At 6th level, you can spend 2 uses of mythic power to cut training down to 1 minute. Usually, I'd complain about wildcard feats, but seeing that Teamwork feats aren't that numerous or powerful, I can live with this one.



-Unbroken Will: React with +2 to atk and saves after being affected by intimidate or a mind-influencing effect. If the effect would penalize atk or saves, suspend these penalties for one round. Additionally, non-mythic characters that prompt this ability via intimidate/mind-influence are flat-footed in this one round against you, whereas mythic adversaries get a sense motive-check against your bluff. I assume that the bluff-check is a free action here. At 4th level, you can use mythic power to confer this ability to an ally -does the marshal use the ability as it's conferred or not? At 8th level, all allies within 30 foot may benefit from this for two uses of mythic power - the question remains: Is the ability retained by the marshal? I'm honestly not sure. Also: I don't understand why the target is flat-footed against you for more than one attack.



We also get 3 3rd tier abilities:



-Conflicting Orders: When someone within 30 feet uses aid another, handle animal or a teamwork feat, you may negate this bonus as an immediate action. What about two characters acting at the same time using their teamwork feats? Does negating the benefit of one also cancel out the other? This works automatically for non-mythic creatures and those of a mythic tier below yours. You may also spend one use of mythic power to make a level-check versus caster level check (Why not against a fixed value? PFRPG usually uses a check versus fixed value mechanic, not competing d20-rolls...) to undermine the magical orders of charms/dominations etc. You may counter the orders of multiple creatures (mythic tier creatures) by expending 2 uses of mythic power. This second use of the ability should probably be a mind-influencing effect, which it as written, is not.



-Friendly Flanking: You always count as flanking when adjacent to an enemy with an ally, you don't have to be on the opposite side of the enemy. Spend 1 use of mythic power to share this with 1/2 mythic tier allies for 1 minute. Rather powerful...I'm not 100% comfortable with this one - add squads of rogues = PAIN.

-Shatter Resistance: Spend mythic power as part of an attack to temporarily lower spell resistance by your mythic tier. Okay, I guess, but not that interesting.



We also get a 6th-level ability:

-Resurging Speech: Use Resurging Words as a full-round action. If you speak for 1 minute, you can remove the fatigued condition and may heal hit points instead of granting temporary hit points. When spending 10 minutes, you may instead remove the exhausted condition and heal damage as well as grant mythic tier+ cha-mod temporary hit points. This one is actually rather cool, making a per se weak 1st tier choice work better at higher levels.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games beautiful 2-column standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason nelson delivers the second expansion of path-abilities - and while these are better than the ones the champion got, I am not 100% sold on quite a few of them and overall, there are wordings that could use some slight specification. that being said, this is by no means bad - hence my final verdict will clock in at a solid 3 stars. Solid, but not required.

Endzeitgeist out

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 4: Marshal Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 8: Trickster Path Abilities
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 00:10:45
So, to start out with, I want to say I've bought several of LG's PDF's. In general I've been very satisfied, or even impressed.

Not so here.

So, each PDF is $1 ok, that's not so bad, right? Well, each PDF is also 1 page. Wait, what? 1 page? yep. Now yes, there's a cover, and some legal stuff, but you get exactly ONE PAGE for one dollar. So, lets say your favorite book is 400 pages, are you going to spend $400 to read it? Not me... Sadly I bought these (I got Guardian, Trickster, and Champion) around the same time, so I (foolishly) didn't read one before the other (again, I've had pretty good luck with LG stuff up to this point).

Now, you say, yes, but if it's REALLY good stuff, that you just HAVE to have in you're campaign, surely that's not so bad.... right?

Nope.

First up, (and this is what truly enrages me) they're REPRINTING from one to the next, they're not even original. ALL 3 have a path power called Analytical Eye as a first tier power, and they are identical (gee.. maybe put it in the Universal Path...) then 2 of the three have the follow-up power "That Trick won't work on me Anymore", while the third (Champion) has "Two can Play at that Game". To be fair the Champion version is different, though not by much (almost an inversion), still, at least they bothered to type something instead of cut-n-pasting it. Further, both Guardian and Champion have the powers "Mythic Rider" and "Trick Rider" again cut-n-paste. Since I'm not planning on blowing anymore cash on this series, I can't prove it, but I'd almost be willing to be a dollar that Marshall is going to have pretty much all of these as well...

Now, I know... It's only a dollar. But, for a dollar, for one one-sided page... really?

The only other irksome thing is that the Champion book doesn't even have a 6th tier power... too bad there wasn't enough room... If only there was something they could have left out.... but oh well.

As for the quality of the powers themselves. Meh. Most of them read like better-than-average feats as opposed to anything truly MYTHIC. They're not bad, and there are one or two that I'd consider taking, or even recommending to another player... but they're not must-haves, they're more like high-quality fillers for a tier when nothing else tickles your fancy.

And if you're wondering, the answer is yes. I'm cut-n-pasting this review for all three books. Hey, if they can do it and charge me a dollar for it, why can't I review them that way... and I'm not even charging for it!

The "Big Picture"...
Would I buy it again? NO
Would I recommend it? Nope.

[Please note this review is for Mythic Minis 8, Trickster Path Abilities]

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 8: Trickster Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 6: Guardian Path Abilities
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2014 00:09:18
So, to start out with, I want to say I've bought several of LG's PDF's. In general I've been very satisfied, or even impressed.

Not so here.

So, each PDF is $1 ok, that's not so bad, right? Well, each PDF is also 1 page. Wait, what? 1 page? yep. Now yes, there's a cover, and some legal stuff, but you get exactly ONE PAGE for one dollar. So, lets say your favorite book is 400 pages, are you going to spend $400 to read it? Not me... Sadly I bought these (I got Guardian, Trickster, and Champion) around the same time, so I (foolishly) didn't read one before the other (again, I've had pretty good luck with LG stuff up to this point).

Now, you say, yes, but if it's REALLY good stuff, that you just HAVE to have in you're campaign, surely that's not so bad.... right?

Nope.

First up, (and this is what truly enrages me) they're REPRINTING from one to the next, they're not even original. ALL 3 have a path power called Analytical Eye as a first tier power, and they are identical (gee.. maybe put it in the Universal Path...) then 2 of the three have the follow-up power "That Trick won't work on me Anymore", while the third (Champion) has "Two can Play at that Game". To be fair the Champion version is different, though not by much (almost an inversion), still, at least they bothered to type something instead of cut-n-pasting it. Further, both Guardian and Champion have the powers "Mythic Rider" and "Trick Rider" again cut-n-paste. Since I'm not planning on blowing anymore cash on this series, I can't prove it, but I'd almost be willing to be a dollar that Marshall is going to have pretty much all of these as well...

Now, I know... It's only a dollar. But, for a dollar, for one one-sided page... really?

The only other irksome thing is that the Champion book doesn't even have a 6th tier power... too bad there wasn't enough room... If only there was something they could have left out.... but oh well.

As for the quality of the powers themselves. Meh. Most of them read like better-than-average feats as opposed to anything truly MYTHIC. They're not bad, and there are one or two that I'd consider taking, or even recommending to another player... but they're not must-haves, they're more like high-quality fillers for a tier when nothing else tickles your fancy.

And if you're wondering, the answer is yes. I'm cut-n-pasting this review for all three books. Hey, if they can do it and charge me a dollar for it, why can't I review them that way... and I'm not even charging for it!

The "Big Picture"...
Would I buy it again? NO
Would I recommend it? Nope.

[Please note this review is for Mythic Minis 6, Guardian Path Abilities]

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 6: Guardian Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Magic: Core Spells
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2014 18:49:13
the Good stuff...

Great resource.
~Awesome layout - haven't noticed any major typographical issues.
~Fairly in-depth treatment of spells that can get "sticky" based on various situations...
~Very good artwork (I'm not much of a critic, but I did enjoy what I saw)

The Other stuff...

~I bought, and am using "Mythic Mastery - Missing Mythic Magic Volume I" in tandem... it has a variant viewpoint that I find useful, also in my game, I allow a fair measure of variance since I don't believe all Mythic characters are the same "kind" of mythic... thus they might develop divergent enhancements to various spells.

The bad stuff...

~I really think 14.99 would have been a fair price, I literally wouldn't have bought it if it were $20.01... [Conversely, if you do the math, the Mythic Mastery line wants me to pay somewhere between 60 and 70 dollars (1.59 x 400+ spells)... so, won't be getting any more of those either....]
~The 2x mythic surge for 80%+ of all the augments... makes it all feel VERY watered down... I mean the basic function is a surge, which GROSSLY alters the probabilities of combat... or I can spend TWO surges to get an extra +2 enhancement out of the various Ability buff spells (Eagle's Splendor, et al.), yeah not really all that MYTHIC... Basically I don't find certain spells to be very MYTHIC.... but rather a bit "bumped"....
~This is an annoyance only - they cross-hyper-super-duper-linked everything... EXCEPT the actual spells.... There's a bookmark for every level of every spell list - and yes you get there that way... but not the ACTUAL spells themselves, nope, the whole point of the book, and you have to either manually navigate, or you have to look up the spell on one of the various lists....

The "Big Picture"...
~Would I buy it again? Yep.
~Would I recommend it? With reservations. (Basically, do you have $20 just burning a hole in your pocket? Are you planning on having a bunch of mythic casters in your game? then this is for you...)

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magic: Core Spells
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 2: Champion Path Abilities
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/11/2014 02:40:28
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 1 page of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



We kick these new abilities for the champion path off with 3 new 1st tier abilities:



-Analytical Eye: When a creature has attacked you, spend one use of mythic power as an immediate action to learn about int-mod combat feats your foes may have. That's...exceedingly boring and feels rather un- mythic, not starting with the metagamey aspects of the mechanics.



-Combat Feat Mastery: Spend one use of mythic power, practice for one hours, get access to one combat feat for 24 hours. At 4th tier, instead get 1/2 mythic tier combat feats. At 6th tier, spend two uses for a training duration of only 1 minute per feat. This ability is insane, even for mythic power-levels - this essentially is not only a wildcard feat - it's potentially a wildcard feat-CHAIN. Not gonna happen in my game, even when going Mythic.



-Smashmouth: 1 use of mythic power to accompany your bludgeoning damage allows you to penalize bite-attacks and verbal spellcasting. Very specific - why not make this work for all types of natural attacks, potentially with arms correlating to miss-chances for somatic components? This ability has potential, but should have more benefits/options.



We also get 5 3rd tier abilities:



-Mythic Marine: Ignore just about all penalties associated with fighting underwater. Okay, I guess.



-Mythic Rider: Use mythic power to prevent being dismounted or having your mount fall prone. Alternatively, grant your mount hard to kill, recuperation and mythic saves for 24 hours. Solid for mounted characters.



-Reaping the Chaff: Make one full BAB-attack as a full-round action. If you hit and against foes with HD less than your mythic tier, you may follow up the attack with a movement to the next adversary and repeat the process until you miss or attack a foe with HD > your mythic tier. This movement does not provoke AoOs from foes with less HD than your mythic tier and you may move up to twice your movement rate. I had a similar ability in my home game once - it puts the game to a grinding halt. Attack upon attack, damage upon damage. It's just boring for the other players. Not a fan of this ability. It looks nice on paper, but in game...



-Trick rider: Gain one bonus feat from a mount-related short list for every 2 mythic tiers you have. Boring, but not without merit.



-Two Can Play at that Game: When learning of combat feats via analytical eye, you can spend one use of mythic power to be able to choose 1/2 mythic tier feats thus determined and gain access to them for 24 hours. Essentially a more limited additional way of getting feats - less OP that Combat Feat Mastery, but the requirement of a waste of a mythic path ability with analyzing eye mean I wouldn't choose that one either.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games beautiful 2-column standard and the pdf comes sans bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



The duplicated cover artwork eats about 1/3 of the space available for the content, which is something you should be aware of. Jason Nelson is a great designer...but I don't know what has happened here. I'm seriously stumped. Combat Feat Mastery is very powerful even by Mythic Adventures standards - to the point where many will yell "broken". Mythic Rider and Mariner are solid abilities, but all the others herein either are very specific, fall short of their potential or are downright lame. I would only take most of these under very specific circumstances and generally, was thoroughly disappointed by them. While not per se bad, many of the options herein feel bland - the mythic path equivalents of taking a skill-bonus increasing feat. With a bit more space and versatility, the Smashmouth ability could have been made awesome and more useful by expanding its focus. Honestly...I thought long and hard...and my final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded down to 2. Why? Because I can only see my table ever using at best 1/4 of the content herein - the rest is simply off on one end or the other of the balance scale or simply not that interesting. Even Legendary Games seems to get it wrong once in a while.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 2: Champion Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Monsters: Mythos
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/06/2014 04:37:20
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Montsers-series is all about the Mythos and 34 pages long,1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC (with CR/MR), 3 pages of introduction/how-to use, 2 pages of advertisement and 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of insanity-inducing threats, so let's take a look, shall we?



This pdf kicks off with a nice legendary games-synergy that explains the [mythos]-descriptor for magic and also, as a subtype, before providing new mythic path abilities: Archmaes and Hierophants may learn elder signs: These signs are not only described (which allows players to actually make them!), these 4 signs allow for the addition of the mythic tier as bonus to identifcation of mythos-magic, improve conjuration/summoning, blocking extraplanar travel and improve objects or enhance your banishing/dispelling prowess. Oh, and before you ask - yes, we actually get a concise list of creatures from Paizo's bestiaries that would be "mythos"-compatible. The second ability, available to archmages and tricksters as a 1st tier ability, would be alien alchemy, which makes all alchemical items (including bombs) more potent versus creatures of the mythos.



Beyond these, we also are introduced to 4 new alchemical compounds: From the cha-enhancing incense of Xakauba to the mythos-specialized dustof appearing that is the powder of Abu Ghauzi or the Space Mead that allows for survival sans air or the vision-inducing Unguent of Khefnis - these alchemical compunds are awesome, come with prices and Craft-DCs and all have options to use mythic power to enhance their potency even further: Sheer coolness and two thumbs up for these; Now can we have a whole book of them please?



But this is a monster book, so let's take a look at the monsters and their mythic abilities, shall we? The weakest adversary herein would be the Celebric Fungus at CR 4/MR 1 - proximity to these threats blurs the vision of unfortunates to the point where otherworldly phantoms hamper their ability to strike their targets. Non-mythic creatures having to save twice versus their enchantments also makes for a rather nasty effect, as does their nauseating scream or daze-inducing touch.



Mythic Denizens of Leng get perhaps one of the coolest, weirdest abilities I've ever seen for a creature - whenever they would take bleed damage, said damage is negated, as their blood flies through the air in an extra-corporeal form of blood-circulation that defies the laws of gravity - among others. This, however, also results in their toxic blood being sprayed at attackers. Beyond the mythic enhancements to their abilities, a damn cool idea. Mythic faceless stalkers learn, by the way, to change between their own and a humanoid's face is a maddening cascade of rubbery flesh that may result in the disassociation spellblight as well as cha-damage... Gibbering mouthers of the mythic variety may make the duration of the insanity their babbling causes last longer and add the gibberish of their confused victims to their own potent powers, while Mythic gugs may entangle foes in their own intestines... EW!!! (Also, this may cause severe damage to all physical stats...)



Mythic Hounds of Tindalos may bilocate, i.e. exist twice at the same time by importing themselves from the future, netting them one of the most powerful, cool abilities I've seen in quite some time! Worse, they can manipulate the fate of their victims, forcing them to roll checks multiple times, taking the worse result. Have I mentioned the ability to duplicate detrimental effects they cause? These things are no truly frightening! Mythic Leng Spiders, with their nigh-indestructible nets and the ability to draw targets into other planes are cool, but don't manage to reach this level of abject awesomeness.



Mythic Moon Beasts learn to send helpless victims into a coma that has them transform into denizens of Leng and mythic Neh-thalggu learn to share telepathic visions of their terrible home-world, damaging their sanity and on the defensive side, they may use mythic power to shift through space and planes. Mythic Shantak can channel the void between the stars, dealing a bit of damage and heaping detrimental conditions upon hapless PCs or deliver devastating flyby attacks. Finally the CR 24/MR 9 mythic shoggoths can spawn non-mythic shoggoths or implant embryonic shoggoths in targets and they may also counter each and every attack with an AoO - suffice to say that gravity does not hold sway over these terrors. The final creature, the Mythic Byakhee, gets the ability to molt with nightmare-inducing results and create noxious acid pits to boot.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games neat full-color two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience, as well as with hyperlinks - at least partially. Due to some sort of strange glitch, the Denizens of Leng, Gibbering Mouther, Hound of Tindalos, Leng Spider, Moon Beast and Greater Byakhee all lack the hyperlinks, while the other statblocks feature them. Weird. The two artworks herein are okay, though slightly less awesome than usual for Legendary Games - they did not drive home the sense of fear I expected.



I'm a sucker for mythos-threats, as just about all of you by now will probably know, and these mythic creatures are actually CLOSER to what mythos creatures should be able to do than the base creatures, which, at least for me, more often than not fall short of the weirdness they should be able to accomplish. The authors Tom Phillips, Jonathan Keith, Jim Groves and Jason Nelson have delivered a bestiary, which I will use to represent mythos-threats in non-mythic games - these beings should evoke terror and that they do, thanks to the vast array of unique, new, cool abilities! The amount of iconic signature abilities, the cool supplemental material - that's the icing on the cake and more than enough to offset the rare case when one particular version does not 100% live up to the level of awesomeness of the others. The inconsistent hyperlinking would be my only other gripe, but at least for me, that's not enough to rate down a supplement that vastly enhances the alien terror and thus enriches our games - not necessarily exclusively on a mythic level. My final verdict will hence clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Mythos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Road to War: The Equinox Crown
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/24/2014 04:19:26
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module is 26 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page introduction (in which a rare Legendary Games typo can be found - a missing "Y" in "you" that has been eaten by the layout), 1 page back cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 20 pages of adventure, so let's take a look!



This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.



All right, still here? Level-wise and concept-wise, this module is somewhat different from usual plug-in adventures in that is rather modular: Essentially, this module level-wise is intended to span levels 6 to 7 and are intended to make the path to Drezen more varied, providing XP and more things to do for the PCs. While they may have an army of crusaders, each encounter herein actually covers whether/how the presence of their army interacts with the encounter.



The 7 encounters herein are woven together via a subplot centering on the eponymous Equinox Crown and features a short summary of time traveled since the PCs have left as well as the number of miles they have since then covered - nice to keep track of distance etc. So what can the PCs do? Well, the trail of the Equinox Crown begins when the PCs have to essentially convince a small village to evacuate. In the night after that,. a traitor contacts the demonic forces, which results in the PCs having to fend off a couple of Hala demons and...getting the Equinox Crown. As l00t. Yeah. Somewhat anticlimactic.



When the PCs then encounter deserters, things get weird fast - during interrogation, the deserters vomit forth swarms of locusts unwittingly implanted in them and dealing with the swarms via area effects may severely damage the PC's army. On the plus-side, this event may see the PC in question automatically bonding with the crown. That being said, this also features a massive moral dilemma I'm not sure the module handles well - what to do with the deserters? Execution may seem harsh, but letting them off the hook should have a catastrophic impact on troop-morale unless sold right - and this whole dilemma is completely glanced over and ignored - why not modify their army's prowess to reflect their decisions? A lost chance there.



We also get a bit of mass combat (and intrigue) when one of the Condemned (pardoned criminals) pleads the PCs to save his men and finding out about a noble who has essentially sacrificed the unpopular company -defeating an army of shir-demons can integrate the remnants of the Condemned into the PC's fold. Pity that said noble is already dead, though - here there would have been quite some potential for a hard choice and benefits/penalties depending on your PC's inclinations - again, lost potential.



Next up would be a fight for the PCs to handle alone (after losing scouts), against a Frost Drake (Who has a miraculously large font-size in the offense-section of his statblock) in a battle with different heights (awesome) - after that, we have the PCs explore the home of an ettin guerilla fighter and his bear companion Ripclaw.



The final encounter takes place within "The Demon's Heresy" and has the PCs convince an earth-elemental guardian to cease attacks and then take out a mythic locust demon, including a mini-ritual, which is nice, but could have used some more detail. The pdf also contains a full-blown bestiary entry for the earthen guardians, the Durdalis and a very detailed entry on the equinox crown as well as suggested means of increasing power.



Finally, we get no less than three awesome, grid-studded full color player-friendly versions of the maps of the encounters herein, adding to the module's value by providing top-notch cartography.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, though slightly below Legendary Games' otherwise almost flawless track record. Layout adheres to a 2-column full-color standard with a flame-like orange top border for a distinct look. The artworks (2 full-page beauties that could be cover-images and 2 no less beautiful smaller pieces) are simply gorgeous and on Paizo-level. The full-color cartography also is up to a very high quality standard and the presence of player-friendly maps that can be used time and again is a huge plus for the value of this module.



So, Jim Groves and Neil Spicer deliver us the Road to War here to make the journey more interesting - Legendary Games has already shown that Jim Groves can do journey-adventures well with Road to Destiny and thus I was looking forward quite a bit to this one. Unfortunately, I have to admit to being rather disappointed - it's not the fact that this is not a module, but instead more of a chain of loosely linked encounters, mind you - the encounters per se are well-crafted, utilize terrain, come with LG's trademark superior production values. That's not the problem.

Unlike all other LG-plug-in modules I've reviewed so far, this one feels a bit redundant in it choice of adversaries. While I'm a fan of themed modules/APs where your primary opposition has a theme, certain tricks the PCs may adapt to etc., the foes herein feel a bit like random encounters, also thanks to the overarcing storyline around the Equinox Crown being simply, I'm loathe to say it, boring. The item per se is nice and has some distinct, cool abilities, but story-wise, there simply is nothing going on here - whether regarding the legendary item's background or the link between encounters, this whole module lacks a compelling frame narrative. And consequence. The PCs don't have to make any hard choices herein, even though several of the encounters practically hand the DM the necessary respective dilemma on a silver platter. Choice is what makes linear journeys matter - why not choose between arrogant nobles and redeemed criminals? Why not modify the army's stats according to the decisions made? Certainly not due to a lack of capability, seeing how excellent Legendary Games' "Ultimate Battle" turned out to be.



At least for me, this linearity, the lack of consequence and the rather flimsy story of the crown and the adversaries herein drag this module down from the position its otherwise superb production values would guarantee. This becomes especially evident when seen in direct comparison with the SUPERB plug-in modules LG has crafted for Jade Regent, all of which mop the floor with this one, offering a deeper story and more varied experience for the AP and even when played as standalone offerings. Even as a collection of encounters, as which I'll judge these, the lack of choice means that PCs will not consider this a respite from a railroady journey, but rather a prolonging. Is this a bad supplement? No! But also falls spectacularly flat of what it easily could have been. My final verdict will clock in at 3 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Road to War: The Equinox Crown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 6: Guardian Path Abilities
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/21/2014 10:35:18
Mythic characters are defined, at least in part, by their path abilities; and so here are a collection of them for characters following the Guardian path.

They make interesting reading, combining good observational skills with some ferocious combat abilities - just the thing for the aspiring protector. Several, as appropriate for this style of play, will enable you to pull off spectacular if not cinematic exploits.

At the first tier, there is the choice of Analytical Eye (spot opponent's weak spots), Flanking Foil (dodging even when flanked), Pike Chopper (fun one, lets you attempt to sever a pole arm you are being attacked with), and Terrible Courage (fear effects? Nah, don't work on you...).

In second tier, you have access to Mythic Rider (you stay onboard your mount when lesser mortals would fall off), Parting Shot (they may think they've downed you but you can still strike back), Shielded Perimeter (protect your allies as you move around them), the wonderfully-named That Trick Doesn't Work on Me Anymore (having previously used Analytic Eye on someone, he cannot use a feat you know he has against you) and Trick Rider (again enhancement of your riding or animal handling skills).

Finally at sixth tier there is Healing Sink (maximises healing effects applied to you) and To The Last Breath, which lets you remain clear-headed and active even at death's door.

Play with these, and build an awesome Guardian.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 6: Guardian Path Abilities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mythic Minis 1: Monster Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/14/2014 03:56:41
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let's take a look, shall we?



So here we get mythic feats for monsters, so what do they do?



-Ability Focus (Mythic): Increased the bonus to the DC granted by ability focus by +2, use mythic power to force targets to roll their save twice, taking the worse result.



-Awesome Blow (Mythic): Essentially awesome blow's improved mythic version, including potential stunning (which can be extended via mythic power)



-Improved Natural Armor (Mythic): Increases natural armor further (depending on how often the non-mythic feat has been taken) and reduces bleed damage, even attribute bleed. Okay, but feels a bit underwhelming for a feat-slot, particularly for a mythic feat.



-Improved Natural Attack (Mythic): Increase damage for natural attacks enhanced by the non-mythic version of the feat and use a swift action to ignore up to 15 points of DR for mythic rank rounds.



-Multiattack (Mythic): Secondary natural attacks become primary natural attacks. When hitting a creature once with each natural attack in 1 round, spend 2 uses of mythic power for mythic rank times 1d4 damage. I assume this stacks with bonus damage from rend, if available.



-Multiweapon Fighting (Mythic): Gets rid of the -2 TWF-penalty for the primary hand and allows you to make a free non-AoO disarm or sunder attempt at +8 to CMD when hitting with both weapons in the same round for one mythic power.



-Snatch (Mythic): Use 1 use of mythic power as a swift action when making a grapple-check. Upon success of the maneuver, the target is automatically pinned and the penalty to AC is increased by mythic rank of the grappler.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Authors Tom Phillips and Jason Nelson have created some Mythic versions of the most common monster feats, of monster feats that see A LOT of use. The variants are generally well-crafted, have solid mechanics and generally are well-worth the taking. That being said, they also are universally predictable and do what you'd expect them to. We get a solid nice little supplement, very useful and well-crafted, but no instance of truly astounding rules - hence my final verdict will clock in at a hearty recommendation for Mythic DMs at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 by a margin.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 1: Monster Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Righteous Heroes: Pregenerated Characters
by Yannick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2014 12:14:39
An awesome book in general, I didn't quite expect to see detailed characters like this and fun ones on top of it. They could even inspire you for characters or npcs to insert in your campaigns.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Righteous Heroes: Pregenerated Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Legendary Games
Legendary Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (75)
 Hottest Titles

Mythic Monsters: Devils

01.Mythic Monsters: Devils
02.Mythic Minis 16: Universal Path Abilities II
03.Gothic Campaign Compendium
04.Mythic Minis 14: Archmage Path Abilities
05.Mythic Minis 18: Hierophant Path Abilities II
06.Mythic Minis 17: Feats of Seafaring
07.Faerie Mysteries
08.Ultimate Rulership
09.Mythic Minis 15: Feats of Treachery
10.Mythic Minis 12: Hierophant Path Abilities
11.Unrighteous Villains
12.Mythic Minis 10: Universal Path Abilities
13.Mythic Monsters: Undead
14.Mythic Monsters: Sea Monsters
15.Mythic Monsters: Mythos
 
See All
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate