DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Grain Into Gold
by William A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2014 23:00:07
Grain Into Gold is a very solid attempt to introduce a level of economic realism to fantasy games. The writing oft times has a tongue and cheek tone to help break the monotony of discussing economics and does a decent job of helping engage the reader.

The authors certainly rely upon guesswork, but it is logical guesswork. Still, this can easily leave the reader doubting the validity of the math when looking at the example price chart at the back, especially given how radically different the values are from most games. Even considering the margin of error introduced by the guesswork, when stopping to think about the numbers, they made far more sense to me than those in most gaming books.

Perhaps the biggest failing is that Grain Into Gold focuses almost exclusively upon a western market, giving little to no consideration for crops and goods outside of the western mindset (e.g. no rice).

Perhaps the most misleading value is actually gold. Though the authors admit that their gold estimate is inaccurate, they stick with it, keeping a 1g to 10s ration that is popular in most games rather than a realistic ratio. This skews some end values as a result, most notable that of gold.

Perhaps the area with the most room for improvement is the price charts. Where some items, such as clothing, are covered in extreme detail, others, such as weapons and armor, are not. Given that most gamers more readily want to know what a sword will cost than a heavy wool sweater, this seems to be a bit of an oversight.

If you set these flaws aside and focus on how the prices are derived, then you can adapt the methodology to estimate the value of goods in both a medieval setting and beyond with reasonable accuracy. This is the greatest take away from the book. Lessons are provided for everything from walnuts to chain armor, discussing everything from harvesting to manufacturing to transport and taxes. It all starts with how much surplus food a farmer can produce. If you pin your economy to that and follow the logical steps from it, then you are golden.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grain Into Gold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
City of Rhum
by Asaph L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2014 19:21:05
Everything a GM wants in a city/base, all info, no waste, for a tenth the price of similar shiny, splashy but much less flexible such sourcebooks that I see available. Buy it, you just cannot be disappointed, unless you aren't the type of GM or have players that don't care about details and specifics of a great, fully fleshed out home base. Even then, there is so much to take away from this supplement. Another five-star product from Board Enterprises.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Rhum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend Quest GOLD
by Asaph L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2014 16:55:22
This system is a realistic, congruous mechanism that allows for a greater emphasis on detailed roleplaying. Best used by veterans of the gaming genre (best appreciated by them), the system and supplements create a family of sourcebooks that do not waste an inch of space. By far the best bang for buck I've encountered in my 20+ years of roleplaying. I do not even miss having splashy full page color images and borders/fonts. If you truly "get" Legend Quest, you will realize that these are not helpful or valuable in terms of adding to the game mechanism, they are at worst limiting and cost prohibitive.
I have been slowly switching from a bastardized d20/2e mechanism to LQ over the past year. Out with the BS, in with the fun. I have spent more time with Board Enterprises products than any other publisher. BE and Raging Swan give me more than enough of what my game needs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend Quest GOLD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Urban Developments
by Asaph L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 09:58:47
Like all of Board Enterprises' products, Urban Developments is well worth the money, with more history, useful information and explanations of fantasy life than one could extract from even the largest and most well-thought-out campaign settings. Think of these products as the steward who manages a campaign behind-the-scenes; it's the details that make it all work well, and if a GM doesn't invest in the details, things can quickly get too out-of-control and the players can feel that they don't really know the world that their character's inhabit. Grab the bundle of these products and spend a couple of days reading and then let it soak into the way you approach your world and how you make sense of it. Recommended for GM's, authors, designers; whoever wants to get closer to seeing their worlds as a place where not only do campaigns and adventures take place, but where the characters and stories are grounded in the same sort of pseudo-reality that make our favorite novels so compelling.
I remember when David Eddings released "The Rivan Codex" which was a books "about" the world in which his set of 12 books in the Belgariad and Mallorean (and the two bios) had taken place. I loved it, because I loved reading about the little mundane thinhgs as much as the adventures, they made this world that I loved so real. Urban Developments (and BE products in general) runs along the same lines, offering up a closer look at the everyday. BECOME THE EXPERT OF YOUR OWN WORLD.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Developments
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Grain Into Gold
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2013 11:23:50
An extremely thorough breakdown of a fantasy economy. Some may call it dry, but I like to to think of it as scholarly and well done with enough humor to keep the reader's interest. Those involved in fantasy world building would do well to pick up a copy and apply its principles to your projects.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grain Into Gold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Coins of Fletnern
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2012 01:16:47
A rather lengthy overview of the coinage used in a particular game world. At first glance it might seem useless if your game isn't set in that world, but it doesn't take long to find some great information you could port into just about any game system. Instead of just using a standardized system of coinage, breathe a little life into your game's monetary dealings with new coins for each realm.

This guide sets up the predominate coinage as a base and compares other countries (or city-states) coinage to that base. Coins can easily be compared to US coinage for a real-world comparison as well. The author takes some space to explain alternative exchange systems and even why barter might be preferred in some areas.

Some designer notes and instructions for making alterations to suite your own needs are included, but I think most GMs could easily borrow elements from this supplement. After reading this booklet I plan on incorporating some new coinage into my game world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coins of Fletnern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
The Royalty
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/30/2012 12:42:22
The Royalty is another useful niche product from the people who brought us Grain Into Gold. It does what it purports to do: it comes with a boatload of NPCs. It's sadly not as much of a look at processes as Grain into Gold is – it's a collection. If you need a menagerie of connected NPC aristocrats of various sorts, many of which are relatively generic if not for the intricate family lines, then this would be a useful product. I find that the NPCs could've used some more expansion, and more of a variance – there's an awful lot of whining miscreants and cheeky gossips.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Royalty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend Quest GOLD
by Timothy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2012 07:07:01
Great game. Concise system. The use of percentages makes it intuitive and approachable. Well done.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend Quest GOLD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Coins of Fletnern
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2011 22:02:14
A good read and has provided an number of ideas for my own world's economy and coinage. I would have liked to have seen some comparisons to other world coinage and older coinage but apart from this it was a good expose.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coins of Fletnern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
City of Rhum Modules [BUNDLE]
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2011 12:50:37
I found this series to be weak and formless, the whole thing was so amatuerish I felt cheated. The City wouldn't work in any world unless really modified, and it seems incomplete even for the area the book is based in.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
City of Rhum Modules [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Grain Into Gold
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/27/2010 10:46:11
Grain Into Gold is a very simple PDF with scarcely any artwork that sets about the daunting task of trying to teach you how to work your fantasy town's economy and the myriad of factors that will change it. Grain Into Gold is system-neutral, but accounts for many things that are likely to be common to standard fantasy rpgs. Grain Into Gold presents the subject matter in a very accessible way, and through humorous examples (that farmer thinks very little of John the Miller) and explanations in plain English, Grain Into Gold follows the fantasy economy from the Bread that sustains the peasant, to the cattle, and ultimately to the wizard's magic trinkets and the adventurers who covet them.

I found that the book did a very good job in keeping economics from being dry and unapproachable by using characteristics of settings we've all played in and concepts we're all familiar with. If you don't feel like constructing your own economy from the ground up, there is a base price list in the back. But this book is so much more than economics to me. It gave me a small picture of the struggles and triumphs of medieval life, a lot of ideas for campaigns (how's about a campaign around fighting dragons for their thingies to give to your wealthy wizard patron?).

While I ultimately can only recommend this book to real tinkerer GMs who like to play around with every aspect of fantasy worlds, I am certain even if not you'll find a spark of creativity from this book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grain Into Gold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Legend Quest GOLD
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2009 09:31:34
A good, sensible system; quite gritty with a lot of armour damage, fatigue, bleeding wounds and the like. Characters are fairly mundane - with skills like Brewing and Bookkeeping and the like - though there's a fair selection of other fantasy races to choose from (albeit that they differ mainly by attribute scores). Game mechanics are good with a universal mechanic that lets you cross match different skills and abilities depending on circumstances, and lots of tightly integrated mechanics - e.g. counter spelling an enemy works like aiding a ritual spellcasting in reverse, and sleep spells cause fatigue damage; spellcasting system is quite interesting and allows diverse spellcaster types, more than might be expected in such a short rulebook.
The combat system is pretty solid with a variety of options (disarming, fending, giving ground, two weapon fighting, etc) and looks fairly realistic; monsters are also interesting, with a good balance between a European mythic feel and creativity.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend Quest GOLD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Grain Into Gold
by chris b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2009 21:11:10
A well written supplement that takes what should be a dry subject and turns it into a fun and interesting read. Clearly written, this volume is packed with useful information about the economics of a game world, that I never would have though of. I contains excellent examples, and a good dose of humor to help get the points across.
I highly recommend this to GM's of any fantasy system, looking to add a realistic economy, or just trying to figure out what your household, manor,castle or merchant can produce, sell and buy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grain Into Gold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Grain Into Gold
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2009 10:24:53
A very good concept, which, regretably, didn't quite get where it was going.

The authors point out that they didn't want this to be a dry, true economics textbook...unfortunately, when they started piling assumption on assumption, after the first chapter I felt myself longing for something with more true data & less guesswork.

It IS a considerable work, and has MUCH good information. I'm sure it lends itself to a far more believable set of economic relationships than one could get from picking apart the equipment list of any game.

In the end, I just had trouble trusting the numbers they came up with. But, if you're willing to replace your game's price lists, I'm sure it will be more than up to the task of keeping the players from trashing your economy...or at least justifying the trashing the players do to it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Coins of Fletnern
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2008 11:13:21
Well, I can see why it's being given away free. Haven't these people ever heard of "spell and grammar check"?

That aside, I have my doubts as to the usefulness of this product for a campaign designer. What takes over 18 pages of fluff could have been accomplished with the two-page table at the end of the document. Also, given the subject, a few specific illustrations of the representative coins would have been nice.

All in all, it was worth exactly what I paid for it.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Coins of Fletnern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates