DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Conspirators
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2011 01:41:39
While an interesting compilation of potential conspirators, it suffers somewhat from being intended primarily as a companion for the "100 Conspiracies" source book. This means that the conspirators listed tend to focus on the aspects of the organizations and individuals that lend themselves to those conspiracies, and limits the author's ability to explore their other ramifications. While the author attempts to make up for this issue with the "adventure seeds," he still is limited in what he can provide, by his own format, and the requirement to tie in with the other source book.

Still, it's an excellent look into some strange organizations that have existed down through the centuries, though admittedly he focuses on the more commonly explored ones as revealed on "The Discovery Channel."

Pros: Generally good thumbnail descriptions of various esoteric organization and individuals with plenty of names and concepts that you can use for further research. Really it's an excellent primer on the subject, without providing more than a quick scan of the 100 organizations and individuals.

Cons: The author tends to permit his personal biases to show through, generally debunking "liberal" conspiracies while lending some small credence to various "conservative" conspiracies (lefties are good guys, righties are baaad). Given that most of these organizations are either defunct or populated by the lunatic fringe on both sides of the aisle, this seems somewhat disingenuous. Like its companion volume, this one too is riddled with grammatical, punctuation and spelling errors that would have easily been avoided had the author or the publishing company taken a few minutes to actually read the product before publishing it.

I give it three stars based on the fact that it's primarily a back-up to a back-up, and as a comment on the poor editorial effort by the author/publisher.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Conspirators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
100 Conspiracies
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 18:52:49
While I agree with many of the comments in Michael Dolan's review, I would add a few more:

On the plus side, the author does and excellent job of providing a "reader's digest" summation of most of the truly weird conspiracy theories floating around out there (though there are a few he misses). His organizational skills make it easy to dig into the superficialities of the various conspiracies, though if you want to really pull out all the stops, you're still going to need a LOT of hours on the internet reading some weird s**t. Still, for $7.50, you get a jump start on your research and, together with Richard Hite's work you should be in conspiracy heaven.

On the negative side, Mr. Dolan failed to mention that some of the run-on sentences and truly horrid grammar in the conspiracy explanations can actually leave you MORE confused than when you started. In addition, there is the occasional misspelling which can also briefly confuse since such misspellings are typical of the "spell-check" mindset -- that is, they are spelled "correctly," but it's completely the wrong word. I was frankly disappointed by the level of proof-reading, though I'm finding that particular failure to be more and more common as companies seem to let the computer do their editorial review for them, and don't bother to actually read their material prior to publishing anymore.

I give this one three stars, simply because all it really is is an introduction to the topic (though an excellent one for the neophyte) and the various issues noted by myself and Mr. Dolan do make it both harder to use and less useful than it ought to be.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Conspiracies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/03/2011 11:44:42
Wizards need to study, study long and hard to acquire the knowledge necessary to bend mystic powers to their will... and in most game systems, it's a continual process, something that must be done every day to ensure that you have your powers at your fingertips when you need them. So it's nice to have a picture of a wizard with his nose in a book - as you can be sure that your wizard character is often found in that position!

It is a clear and crisp rendition in ink and wash, standing at a lecturn leafing through a heavy tome, with hand-illustrated pages. Behind him, a landscape view through the window isn't proving too much of a distraction. Middle-aged, I reckon, and probably human (unless elf ears in your world are more discreet than many illustrations suggest).

If you are buying this for more than an illustration for your character sheet, the licence is beautifully straightforward and concise, none of the convoluted legalese some folks like to use. Do as you please, but give the artist due credit, and don't sell it on as pure clipart.

I really like him, even if he won't do for my current wizard... my Calatin is, shall we put it kindly, of the cuddly persuasion. This guy's more in the heroic mould, perhaps even missing his dinner for a couple more hours with his books.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
100 Science Fiction Adventure Seeds
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2011 20:09:13
I like the book and I'm glad I bought it. However the sample pages were useless in my decision to buy the product. The first few pages (which were used for the sample) don't have any of the 'meat' of the book, instead offering (good) advice on how to use the book without actually allowing you to see what you're getting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Science Fiction Adventure Seeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Clipart Critters 197 - Demonic Pact
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 11:58:06
A very interesting piece, usable in both gaming situations and in an rpg product. One can only imagine what the poor man is being pressured to sign- or what he has already signed! Another great art product from Postmortem.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 197 - Demonic Pact
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Clipart Critters 151 - Travelling Mystic
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2011 23:47:49
Interesting image of a mystic (or mage, or cleric or even a noble) with a jewel on her brow.
I like that she looks older and is not "cheese cakey". This woman looks like she has power or at least something you need.

For the price it is good to have something specific in mind, but looking at this picture I can think of a few character concepts I could use her for.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 151 - Travelling Mystic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
TobyArt 1: War Priests
by Al S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2011 11:48:54
Very satisfied with this purchase. I like the style of the artwork and most of the figures could easily be used as a fighter or paladin. There is also an image that could be used as a mage. I can certainly see myself using some of these images in a future project.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TobyArt 1: War Priests
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Courtesans: Sex & Society
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/21/2011 00:03:41
What Works: I would say the game does a very good job at cartoonishly tackling the subject of Ladies of the Evening screwing (and screwing each other over) in historical England. Despite getting into some...interesting...territory, the writing never feels as crass and tasteless as it EASILY could have been. Far from it, in fact. As well, the sheer amount of options available for customization (of the ladies and their Admirers) is very impressive.

What Doesn't Work: A lot of the art and layout felt a step below what I've come to expect from Postmortem, and it didn't feel particularly evocative, either. The game's concept would seem to be a pretty hard sell, even moreso than Tough Justice is. Given some of the options provided, I'm at a loss that miscarriage rules were left out for simplicity's sake. Since the game never goes into straight parody, nor is it deadly serious, it is hard to say if the right tone was struck with some of the riskier source material. The afterword appears to have not been proofread.

Conclusion: This game is certainly not for kids, for starters, or for anyone feeling particularly prudish. While I think the game is well written, and I have come to expect nothing less from Postmortem in general and Mr. Warner in particular, it isn't something that particularly interests me. Tough Justice, another hard-sell type of game, captured my attention in a way that Courtesans does not, and I am sure it is due to the concept and not the execution. Still, I applaud the effort at putting something new and different out there, and I hope it finds its audience, even if that audience is not me.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/07/tommys-take-o-
n-courtesans-sex-society.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Courtesans: Sex & Society
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
6-Pack Adventures: Kiss of the Frog God (LotFP)
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/10/2011 21:48:05
WHAT WORKS: First off, the Frog Men (the underlings for the adventure) are downright terrifying, and do a good job by themselves of capturing the "weird fantasy" aspect over just any Basic D&D adventure. The catch for the boss fight is also a nice touch, forcing a bit of thought for the resolution, without feeling like it is cheating. The map is really well done, with some great production values. Two of the NPCs are set up as dueling personalities, and while we are clearly meant to sympathize with one, they are both at least partially responsible for the events that draw the PCs in, a nice bit of writing that makes the characters feel more real.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: Two of the pregens are closeted homosexual lovers, and the author's notes about playing the gay couple come across a bit defensive and condescending. Gamers in general have come a long way from the days when homosexuality was on the mental illness chart in Palladium games and while some folks may have issues with the "two gay men" aspect, in my experience a lot of folks are going to be equally uncomfortable with the solution of "just change one of them to a female and play the couple that way". I don't really think it's a matter of being insecure in one's sexuality, but a general aversion towards roleplaying romantic relationships among PCs in general, ESPECIALLY in D&D-type adventures. That said, it IS a good hook in that it ties into adventure's hook thematically. The "Pilgrims seeking atonement" plot hook works great for a demo or con game, but is *really* specific for a "drop into your own game" session, but that's a minor quibble as the town could be dropped onto any road along the way, and the PCs drawn into the affairs of the village. The proof-reading could have been a lot tighter, as I not only caught homonyms that made it past editing, but mis-use of apostrophes and even a typo in the editor's name in the credits.

CONCLUSION: I got more "weird fantasy" from this adventure than I did from reading Lamentations of the Flame Princess in its entirety, and I mean that as a compliment. This adventure provides compelling reason to re-read LotFP and see if there wasn't something I was just missing in there (I had high hopes going in, initially, but was underwhelmed). I applaud the author for tackling themes that aren't commonplace in fantasy adventures, as it didn't feel like political correctness for its own sake, nor did it feel like an attempt to be "shocking" and "in your face"...in the future I would just toss in a blanket warning up front (if the author feels like it is necessary at all). As usual for a Postmortem Studios project, it's certainly worth the money, even for a guy like me who doesn't play the system it is designed for (a Savage Worlds conversion would take very little time at all, I'm thinking). Good buy for an evening's worth of play and, if you're like me and re-use maps a lot, the map included is a very nice piece of work (a swampy grove, to be exact).

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/07/tommys-take-o-
n-kiss-of-frog-god.html

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
6-Pack Adventures: Kiss of the Frog God (LotFP)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Invaderz: Pocket Edition
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 17:23:40
very cool little game..
ideally suited for one offs at conventions or when a break is needed in a long running campaign. Plenty of laughs will be had by players and gm's.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Invaderz: Pocket Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Autopsy 3
by Tad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 12:19:26
Autopsy 3
Review by Tad Kelson

Autopsy 3 is the latest in the series from James 'Grim' Desborough through his Postmortem Studio

Details
$1.99
26 total pages
3.13 meg
Written by James 'Grim' Desborough
Art by Bradley K McDevitt
Available on RPGNow.com

Autopsy 3 is the last, as the author states, of the themed issues of his irregularly produced support magazine. From this point on he is changing the format as well as a more general feel to the articles, vice having a theme to them. So the topic for this issue is Violence as it relates to the RPG Hobby.

There are multiple short articles in this issue covering violence, death, injuries, a discussion on hit points versus wound thresholds, alternatives to violence in an RPG setting, discussions on torture and various forms of corporal and lethal punishment, an article on risks and rewards, as well as official errata and combat updates to his Blood! and Xpress game systems.

Additionally there are two articles from other authors, one on Violence in Roleplaying written by Michael Garcia and the other are some Musings on Violence by Ian Warner. These both cover excellent points and aspects of real life situations and suggest ways to apply them to a game or setting.

Overall this is quite a bargain at $1.99. There is some great art from Bradley K. McDevitt. A couple of these pieces are not NSFW in my opinion. Two of them are not for minors in this parent's opinion. Still the images work well with the topic and the look and layout on page 14 is poignant.

Grim does a great job writing and delivering a quality piece of work. I recommend picking it up for use in all RPG settings. It should have the most import, in my personal opinion, on Modern and Horror gaming. With clear and concise tips and written illustrations Autopsy 3 has excellent applicability to those genres. There are tons of historical suggestions for the Fantasy Genre based gamers that purchase this. Having read this 3rd issue I am looking forward to going back and picking up the first two issues of Autopsy and see what I have missed.

As an added benefit there is a coupon in the issue good for $3 off purchasing his Fate based Agents of S.W.I.N.G. game as well. .

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Autopsy 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Agents of SWING: Snake Eyes
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2011 07:23:02
Ah that old classic, the Bond/Napoleon Solo and countless others causing trouble at the casino, going up against an interesting villain. My only wish would be some sample Aspects for the casino, incase a fight or chase breaks out. It feels a little dry, otherwise. Small problem, though.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agents of SWING: Snake Eyes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
6-Pack Adventures: Sickness in Springdale [4e]
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2011 05:55:15
Very happy with this module. Great storyline and easy to read. Can be adapted to any game with just a couple of minor tweeks or played in 1 (or 2) evenings as a great one off.

The inclusion of premade characters, tokens and map makes this (and others of it's kin) welll worth getting.

Looking forward to seeing what Tracey has for us next :)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
6-Pack Adventures: Sickness in Springdale [4e]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Agents of S.W.I.N.G.
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/26/2011 00:46:28
WHAT WORKS: I think I actually "get" FATE now, in part because of the author's writing and examples, and in part because of my experience with ICONS, which really does work as an "introduction to FATE". The author does a great job, however, especially with providing examples and with laying out the functions of SWING...the part about Sections and what they do in and out of the field is just great work. I admit I'm not up on my Spy-Fi, so I know I missed some references in the SWINGers chapter, but the ones I did catch were pretty great. The art, when used, is pretty evocative of the tone and never overwhelms the book.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: I'm still not sold on FATE as being something me or my normal players would be huge fans of, but that's a personal preference and not a knock on the writing. Really, my biggest complaint is that I think it could have been organized better...especially when you have things like a two page list of Stunts...and later a list of stunts with a quick description...and then a whole chapter devoted to explaining each of the stunts...and then a handout with all those stunts on it. I like quick reference, but that felt excessive. Ultimately, it is a minor complaint as the book never feels "padded" and is certainly not overpriced, in my view. That said, I would have liked a sample treatment on Supernatural and Extranormal adversaries, since a whole section of the Agency is devoted to them.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/05/tommys-take-o-
n-agents-of-swing.html

CONCLUSION: I think it says a lot that FATE is considered "rules-lite", but the author got nearly 20 pages of handouts out of the system. Personally, I'm still not sold on FATE outside of the "beginner's version" found in ICONS, BUT this is a well written incarnation that remains focused on what it is trying to do (with the Spy-Fi genre). As mentioned above, I would have liked a few examples of using supernatural type opposition, since there is a whole Section of the Agency dedicated to it, especially for GMs who have little prior FATE experience to draw from.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agents of S.W.I.N.G.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Tough Justice
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/25/2011 04:50:33
WHAT WORKS: First off, the book is VERY light on art. It is almost all text, which sounds crazy for what is really a rather simple system...except for when you realize that a BIG chunk of the book is a walk-through of playing the game from character creation, on through to post-execution. There really should not be much issue with someone reading the book and going "but what do I DO with it?" I like how, in some areas, the author erred on the side of legal fiction over legal fact, but I thought he also did a tremendous job with conveying The Bloody Code.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The "rolling for pregnancy" felt strangely out of place, although it may still be justified, seeing as though it is a very valid defense for female prisoners to escape death...I think the Abortion rules might have been just a step too far, though. Also, an electronict book that is 260 pages and does not have bookmarks is disappointing.

CONCLUSION: Okay, I went into this with the expectations of Chav, WizKids and Bloodsucker in my head, even though I was explicitly told that it was more serious...and I wound up completely amazed. Yeah, the book could have been shorter, if you cut out the extensive examples, which I would not recommend. The audience is going to be more limited, given the courtroom drama aspect over more traditional RPG fare but - and pardon my french - Ian Warner managed to turn a passion for history and a particularly insane period of English history into a viable RPG without making a wholly pretentious ass out of himself. Much like their humor games, there is still a very playable game in here, and one that I'll be going so far as to add to my bookshelf and not just my PDF library. Given the quality of the writing (and my love for courtroom drama), I will overlook the "What Doesn't Work" I noted above, and say that this is certainly the most pleasant surprise that I have encountered this year, hands down.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/05/tommys-take-o-
n-tough-justice.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tough Justice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 106 to 120 (of 330 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates