DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Amazing Races: Drow!
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/08/2013 18:35:47
The drow have been archetypal ever since they were introduced back in First Edition, and it’s easy to see why. They took the mystique of that most captivating race, elves, and removed all restraints and inhibitions. Whereas we still think of elves as being Tolkien-esque beings of peace and harmony, drow put that stature towards selfish and violent ends. It’s hard not to be captivated by seeing what such a lack of restraint can do.

That’s a theme that’s served surprisingly well in Abandoned Arts’ Amazing Races: Drow.

The PDF here is a very short one, being four pages long with two pages of content, which is split between new feats, traits, alternate racial abilities, and a new archetype.

The four new feats are something of a mixed bag. I liked the teamwork feat, which grants you a bonus on attacks of opportunity for using aid another actions (since aid another actions desperately need more incentive), and the feat to allow characters with wild empathy to influence spiders was a nice touch also. However, the metamagic feat that let you add a dose of poison to a spell seemed a bit too highly-priced, increasing the spell level by two; I’d recommend changing that to one, since it specifically says the poison DC is reduced for every additional creature affected. Likewise, the Demonic Consular feat had a penalty in addition to its comparatively modest bonuses, which made it seem to be lacking, overall.

The drow traits were much the same. I did like the trait that granted a bonus specifically to convince a charmed creature to do something it didn’t want to, but even for traits that seemed specific. The trait that let you add hit points to demons that you summoned was better, though not nearly as much so as the one that granted you a bonus to attack other drow, simply because of how much of a traitor you are. But by far is the Wicked Pleasures trait, which lets you drag out a coup-de-grace against a creature, and in doing so earn bonuses to attack for a time (presumably for how much you enjoyed it).

The two alternate racial traits are better in presenting a very drow-specific theme. One bumps up your use of Stealth (a bonus and a re-roll), while the other grants two feats that are highly suited for treachery (though the Betrayer feat is incorrectly labeled as being in the APG; it’s actually in Ultimate Combat).

The malus is, as the name suggests, a wicked magus. It adds two new magus arcana abilities, one for inflicting bleeding wounds that resist magical healing, and another to use antipaladin cruelties. It trades its bonus feats for new spells that are anti-good in nature, which seems equitable, but it also gives away medium and heavy armor proficiency for once-per-day use of normal and major hexes. This is where I felt that the archetype fell down, since the use of armor (and being able to cast spells in it) is a pretty big benefit. A once-per-day ability is not worth the trade-off; I’d recommend allowing these to be used at will to make it more equitable.

Overall, the drow options here are quite flavorful for what they offer, though there are a few areas where things don’t quite hit the level they’re aiming for. Still, the ideas are clearly in the right place, even if the execution is imperfect. Nonetheless, those looking to make their drow a little more wicked should find some good options here.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Drow!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amazing Races: Fetchlings!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2013 12:09:08
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Amazing Races-series is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 2 pages of content, so let's take a look!



Fetchlings get 5 new feats:

-Deep Darkness: Increase miss chances granted by miss chances by your caster level. Nice one!

-Piercing Shadows: When using Gloom Strike, ignore up to 5 points DR. Nice!

-Swift as Shadows: When only traveling 30 ft. or less via shadow walker, you can do so as a move action. Now this one is glorious - simple and yet interesting in the tactical options it provides.

-Shadowed Vigor: Increases cold resistance to 10 and a constant endure elements spell-like ability - unfortunately not specifying which caster level said ability uses. I assume the ability uses default spell-like ability standards, but it could be possible that instead, if applicable, the character's potentially modified caster level takes precedence. While a very minor ambiguity, it remains an ambiguity.

-Shadowed Vitality: As Shadowed Vigor, with the same minor ambiguity, only for electricity. Also a pity that no stacking benefit for having both feats is provided in either.



We also get 2 new traits, one to net you Diplomacy and Knowledge (local) as class skills and at +1, whereas the second does not net you the native subtype.



Fetchlings may now also choose from 3 different racial traits:

-Anchoring Shadows: At 9th level, get dimensional anchor - cool!

-Scion of Darkness: Gain the Persuasive feat.

-Shadowfingers: +2 to CMB to blind or dazzle foes - nice one!



The race also gets a new wizard archetype (though the archetype fails to specify that the archetype is for the wizard), the Shadowmancer, who needs to have access to the Illusion arcane school. This arcane archetype gets stealth as a class skill, gains his shadow as a variant arcane bonded object that may shroud the shadowmancer and obfuscate him from foes. A cooler ability, though, is one that allows you to create mundane objects from shadowstuff that perish in bright light. The high-level abilities fall slightly behind the awesomeness of his low-level powers, with especially the couple of bonus HP to the shadow companion the shadowmancer gets at 15th level being not particularly impressive.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are slightly less tight than I've come to expect from Abandoned Arts the minor ambiguities in two of the feats and the lack of mentioning the wizard are very minor issues, but still there. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's two-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



I was actually surprised by this installment of Amazing Races, as it offers some interesting and cool options to the fetchling-race as well as providing some rather iconic options beyond what I would have expected. Unfortunately, the minor ambiguities and rather lame high-level abilities of the archetype slightly detract from the overall appeal of an otherwise great little pdf, making me settle for a final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Fetchlings!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds)
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2013 11:20:45
Love these interior backgrounds , can't wait to use them - More in this line of products please and you have at least one guranteed purchase from me

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Shadows over Vathak World Map
by Matthew M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2013 15:36:42
This is a small PDF document offered free of charge. To begin, I love maps and place names because that isn't my strong suit. I will certainly make use of this map document to spur my own creativity in future adventures and stories. I highly recommend this offering, and it is provided free of charge. A true bonus.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows over Vathak World Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
You Name It: Halfling Names & Surnames
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 05:51:56
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Each installment of Abandoned Art’s „You name it“-series so far is 3 pages long, with one page devoted to front cover, 1 page to SRD and 1 page of content, which provides a massive name-generator list.



Generally, the series is system-agnostic and provides just what it promises, i.e. names – 100 male ones, 100 female ones and 100 titles/clan/family etc. names, depending on the race covered, so let’s go through the first 4 pdfs, shall we?

Halfling names in contrast to gnomish nomanclature, face a difficult obstacle – they need to sound down-to-earth, yet slightly uncommon or alien to our ears without being too far off to make them uncomfortable. The solution used in here is to use slightly uncommon names like “Hyrum”, “Wellsby” or “Harmon”- which I per se like. What I didn’t like as much was that there are quite a few names that feel more like monikers – “Latch” and “Bootsie” come to mind. The female list is imho better here, as the male list actually uses several rather common names like “Lee”, “Lenny”, “Hugo” etc. – some slightly more alien names would have been nice here. The surnames, as is by now tradition in the series, once again are made of composite words and mostly hit the nail on the head with entries like “Tweedsleeves”, “Willobold” etc. – only two particular entries in this table imho fall flat: “Hereagain” and “Worrywart” – seriously, these two are just lazy.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting in each installment are top-notch, I didn’t notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a no-frills standard with 6 columns featuring the names in one massive table. Layout-wise, I consider this slightly sub-optimal – separating the one table into three distinct tables, one for male names, one for female names and one for the family/clan/surnames would have enhanced readability and made the page look less jumbled. The pdfs of this series have no bookmarks, but need none at this length.



So…how to rate this? Well, on its own each of the installments delivers names and solidly so, for a fair price. The thing is…Raging Swan Press has a little pdf called “So what’s the Demihuman called, anyway?” that delivers 50 male/female family name entries for elves, dwarves, halflings, gnomes and haf-orcs – for 2 bucks, which, if you do the math, is simply the better deal, so the low-price factor won’t feature in my calculation of the verdict. Combined with the table-issue mentioned before, that’s a detrimental factor that costs these pdfs some ground. That being said, here is my verdict:

Halflings suffer in the male list and due to the 2 somewhat lazy entries in an otherwise nice table. Overall solid, but the female list shows that author Daron Woodson could have done better – hence my final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Halfling Names & Surnames
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
You Name It: Gnomish Names & Nicknames
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 05:45:45
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Each installment of Abandoned Art’s „You name it“-series so far is 3 pages long, with one page devoted to front cover, 1 page to SRD and 1 page of content, which provides a massive name-generator list.



Generally, the series is system-agnostic and provides just what it promises, i.e. names – 100 male ones, 100 female ones and 100 titles/clan/family etc. names, depending on the race covered, so let’s go through the first 4 pdfs, shall we?

Gnomes are a bit wonky and so should their names be – at least in my opinion. The usage of Xs and other rare consonants works well to enforce this, with “Quogretor”, “Trumpnap”, “Gillycairn” and similar ones looking (and sounding) sufficiently weird to drive home that this is not a human. Not all are hits, though, as “Qualmward” or “Waypest” stand as examples to testify. The nicknames are partially hilarious, though: Yes, we get an entry for “Razzmatazz” and one for “Poppyfluff” or “Catawampus” – I really liked that particular list!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting in each installment are top-notch, I didn’t notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a no-frills standard with 6 columns featuring the names in one massive table. Layout-wise, I consider this slightly sub-optimal – separating the one table into three distinct tables, one for male names, one for female names and one for the family/clan/surnames would have enhanced readability and made the page look less jumbled. The pdfs of this series have no bookmarks, but need none at this length.



So…how to rate this? Well, on its own each of the installments delivers names and solidly so, for a fair price. The thing is…Raging Swan Press has a little pdf called “So what’s the Demihuman called, anyway?” that delivers 50 male/female family name entries for elves, dwarves, halflings, gnomes and haf-orcs – for 2 bucks, which, if you do the math, is simply the better deal, so the low-price factor won’t feature in my calculation of the verdict. Combined with the table-issue mentioned before, that’s a detrimental factor that costs these pdfs some ground. That being said, here is my verdict:

Gnomes get perhaps the coolest nomenclature and while some entries are subpar, they are few and far between – 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Gnomish Names & Nicknames
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
You Name It: Elven Names & Family Names
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 05:41:47
An Endzeitgeist.com review


Each installment of Abandoned Art’s „You name it“-series so far is 3 pages long, with one page devoted to front cover, 1 page to SRD and 1 page of content, which provides a massive name-generator list.



Generally, the series is system-agnostic and provides just what it promises, i.e. names – 100 male ones, 100 female ones and 100 titles/clan/family etc. names, depending on the race covered, so let’s go through the first 4 pdfs, shall we?

Elven names need a tongue-twisty characteristic, something to underline their ephemeral nature and musical languages and the pdf delivers with slightly celtic-sounding names like “S’aelmyth”, “Tat’hanien”, “Gwennelyn” or “Venalthielle”. Not all names feel like they belng to the same culture, though, as almost Greco-roman-sounding names like “Apathaneon” or “Nephensian” get thrown into the mix. I would have preferred more coherence here. The family names this time around once again consist of two nouns for names like “Ravenclaw”, “Nymphsight” etc. – over all, these are superior to the dwarven clan names as they lack truly problematic entries – though “Thaneseeker” would probably have suited the dwarves better…

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting in each installment are top-notch, I didn’t notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a no-frills standard with 6 columns featuring the names in one massive table. Layout-wise, I consider this slightly sub-optimal – separating the one table into three distinct tables, one for male names, one for female names and one for the family/clan/surnames would have enhanced readability and made the page look less jumbled. The pdfs of this series have no bookmarks, but need none at this length.



So…how to rate this? Well, on its own each of the installments delivers names and solidly so, for a fair price. The thing is…Raging Swan Press has a little pdf called “So what’s the Demihuman called, anyway?” that delivers 50 male/female family name entries for elves, dwarves, halflings, gnomes and haf-orcs – for 2 bucks, which, if you do the math, is simply the better deal, so the low-price factor won’t feature in my calculation of the verdict. Combined with the table-issue mentioned before, that’s a detrimental factor that costs these pdfs some ground. That being said, here is my verdict for it:


Elves get perhaps the coolest names, but suffer from a linguistically ununified nomenclature that feels at times slightly jarring. Hence, my final verdict will be 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Elven Names & Family Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
You Name It: Dwarven Names & Clan Names
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 05:37:00
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Each installment of Abandoned Art’s „You name it“-series so far is 3 pages long, with one page devoted to front cover, 1 page to SRD and 1 page of content, which provides a massive name-generator list.



Generally, the series is system-agnostic and provides just what it promises, i.e. names – 100 male ones, 100 female ones and 100 titles/clan/family etc. names, depending on the race covered, so let’s go through the first 4 pdfs, shall we?

The male names adhere here to mostly harsh consonants and darker vowels, interspersed with lighter vowels to take a bit of the edge off and , like the female ones, adhere mostly to a Germanic nomenclature with names like “Daldir and “Frogund”, but also the eponymous Albrecht and Klaus, which to this day are common names in Germany. The clan names follow the established composite word tradition and include entries like “Firebelly”, “Blackhammer” etc. Unfortunately, there are some entries in this table that are less than superb – “Skullcrusher” to me sounds more like an orc-tribe and “Stonemeier” sounds ridiculous to me. Worst offender would be “Traugott”, though – literally, that would mean “Daregod” or “trusts in god” (if an “In” was eliminated), but the connotation for “trauen” is also “to wed”, evoking unpleasant pictures of bearded dwarves in bridal gowns. These are the exception, though and generally, we get solid lists.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting in each installment are top-notch, I didn’t notice any glitches. Layout adheres to a no-frills standard with 6 columns featuring the names in one massive table. Layout-wise, I consider this slightly sub-optimal – separating the one table into three distinct tables, one for male names, one for female names and one for the family/clan/surnames would have enhanced readability and made the page look less jumbled. The pdfs of this series have no bookmarks, but need none at this length.



So…how to rate this? Well, on its own each of the installments delivers names and solidly so, for a fair price. The thing is…Raging Swan Press has a little pdf called “So what’s the Demihuman called, anyway?” that delivers 50 male/female family name entries for elves, dwarves, halflings, gnomes and haf-orcs – for 2 bucks, which, if you do the math, is simply the better deal, so the low-price factor won’t feature in my calculation of the verdict. Combined with the table-issue mentioned before, that’s a detrimental factor that costs these pdfs some ground. That being said, here are my verdicts:



Dwarves suffers from the wonkiest names and overall, while not bad, could have used some finetuning. Hence, 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Dwarven Names & Clan Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Order of Black Earth: a player faction for Shadows over Vathak
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2013 12:10:52
An Endzeitgeist.com review

The first player faction-offering for the Vathak-setting is 13 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 10 pages of content, so let's take a look!



Player faction? Well, yes, for this is more than an organization - devoted to the Book of Black Earth, an ancient tome of cataclysmic prophecies unearthed from ruins led to genesis of a secret organization - on available for PCs, though personally, I'D rather suggest this ephemeral cabal more as antagonists. But more on that later:

Drawing in a cool professional way on how factions in Golarion are presented, we get the basic faction rules regarding prestige explained to us before we delve into the order's history and rather disturbing indoctrination rituals. A long and concise list of benefits depending on TPA and CPA (total and current prestige awards) are there and offer some intriguing options - amongst other to exchange character traits for the two new faction-specific traits provided in the pdf - both of which come with a nice fluff and mechanics I can't and won't complain about. Suggested classes and 4 new feats are also part of what the order has to offer - including one that allows the user to 3/day cast the message spell as a spell-like ability, but only t contact other order members - a powerful tool for shadowy conspiracies indeed. The feats are solid in presentation and while spells are not in italics, the fluff and ideas make up for this minor shortcoming by oozing flair.



2 new spells also complement this faction, one that deals damage and infects with a more powerful type of Borer Worm (a CR 1 acid-oozing parasite-worm introduced in these pages as well) and a spell that conjures up an area of writhing, shadowy, con-draining tentacles. Aforementioned Borer Worms are also provided equipment style stats and we get one damn cool poison: By extracting tainted earth from the dread pit of decay (a mobile, gory, maw-like appendage that shows itself annualy and is tied to the Old One of the cult), the order may create a potent toxin by mixing the soiled earth with blood. This location is not the only special one sacred to the order - there are also the Worm Ways, hidden and weird tunnels that serve as twisted smuggle-ways. A special celebration, a holiday if you will, the so-called Worm-Solstice is provided as well in a compelling, twisted write-up.



Among the creatures, apart from the Borer Worm, we also get the Crawling putrescence and a sample CR 8 mastermind of the cult.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good - apart from some minor aesthetic glitches like aforementioned italics-bungle I didn't notice any glitch that would have impeded my enjoyment of this pdf. The layout adheres to Vathak's beautiful 2-column standard and the artworks are nice indeed, especially for such an inexpensive publication. On the downside, we don't get any bookmarks, which is a minor bummer.

Wow! Kudos to the Fat Goblins! This pdf for the Vathak setting is not only a great cult for the setting, but for any setting really - DMs seeking to flesh out the Age of Worms or those using Morithal (from Clockwork Gnome Publishing's excellent pdf) should definitely get this as a means to further flesh out the cults. The prestige benefits and iconic locales and rites add further flair to a presentation of a thoroughly twisted cabal that should strike a chord with all DMs that like their fantasy dark and twisted. An enjoyable read for a fair price indeed and well worth 5 stars - me omitting my seal of approval only because of the minor glitches and lack of bookmarks.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Order of Black Earth: a player faction for Shadows over Vathak
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
You Name It: Elven Names & Family Names
by Sean P. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2013 15:44:34
SEAN'S PICK OF THE DAY: Once again shining the spotlight on one of those really neat lists that just make things easier for GMs and players alike!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Elven Names & Family Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amazing Races: Vishkanyas!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2013 03:12:25
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 2 pages of content, so let's take a look at what new tools the Vishkanya get!

We kick this pdf off via 4 new racial feats:
-Blowgun Spittle: Add your natural poison to blowgun darts as part of shooting it. Great way of making the otherwise rather weak weapon shine more.
-Caustic Poison: When a foe takes ability damage from your poison, s/he also takes 1 point of acid damage. Too weak for the investment of a feat, imho and more in line with a trait/alternate racial trait.
-Serpernt's Slink: Count as one size smaller for purpose of determining stealth-bonuses. Somewhat of a lost opportunity there: The feat would be even cooler if the Vishkanya could actually hide in spaces only accommodating smaller species, but that might be just my idea and won't fracture into the final verdict.
-Venom Sense: Detect Poison 1/hour as a spell-like ability at HD caster level.

The 4 new traits make you more resilient versus fascination, 1/day net you Spell Focus (enchantment) or (illusion) (but only for spells with material and somatic components, respectively - which is a great design-choice to limit traits and keep them still relevant) and make it easier for you to antagonize others.

The two alternate racial traits allow you to be scintillating and thus more beautiful (bonus to social skills), but also makes disguising yourself harder, whereas the second allows for a very cool faster escape from bonds - this one really drives the race's flair home. Neat!

This installment's archetype is the Venomous Disciple for the Monk, who combines monkish discipline with sleeping venom and Adder Strike as potential bonus feats and may opt to create poison that can affect creatures immune to poison - but balances this with the DC requiring to surpass the target creature's SR - an uncommon and cool mechanic. At higher levels, these monks may purge poisons and absorb poisons from others and at high levels make their toxins lethal on a secondary save. Two thumbs up for this neat archetype - the so far best take on the serpentine monk I've seen so far!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Arts' no-frills two-column standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

This installment of the Amazing Races-series is one of the better ones - from a compelling archetype, cool feats, an interesting trait-mechanic, this is definitely a pdf I'd also recommend to DMs who want to add some additional oomph to reptile/serpentine foes beyond the obvious target audience of Vishkanya-players. While not all individual pieces are awesome, I'll still gladly settle on a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Vishkanyas!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amazing Races: Oread!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2013 03:54:57
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 2 pages of content, so let's take a look at what new tools the Oread get!



The pdf kicks off with 3 new feats:

-Blood like Mud: Halve bleed damage you receive to a minimum of 1.

-Grip of Granite: As an immediate action, gain natural armor bonus to atk to one unarmed attack for 1 round.

-Volcanic Temper: When dealing acid or fire damage via elemental rage, you can choose the lesser elemental rage to deal acid or fire damage con-mod times per day in addition to the elemental rage power, but it needs to be a different energy than the one of the elemental rage power. I like specific feats like that that expand some of the more specific class options, though the wording of that one could be slightly tighter..



Oreads may also choose from 3 new traits:

-Sentinel of Stone: +1 to initiative and perception and when initiative is tied, you act first.

-Stoenbreaker: Ignore 1 point of hardness.

-Strength of Earth: +2 Hp.



Racial trait-wise, Oreads may get +2 to checks overcoming caster level checks as well as substitute earth for inexpensive material components or gain stone cunning.



The racial archetype provided for the Oread surprised me - we get the Alchemical Geologist, an alchemist archetype who may grow crystalline bombs that always deal half piercing damage and may plate themselves in crystalline armor, camouflage fleshgems and lichen and improve their crystalline plating with their mutagens. A nice, uncommon alchemist archetype.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Arts' no-frills two-column standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



While neither feats, traits or alternate racial traits really blew me away, I did quite enjoy the racial archetype, leaving us with a solid, nice little offering at a fair price. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Oread!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amazing Races: Wayangs!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2013 07:07:30
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with two pages of content, so let's take a look!

The pdf kicks off with 4 new feats for Wayang:
-Dissolution's Chosen: Resistance 5 to negative energy, use the dissolution's child racial trait 10 rounds per day.

-Dissolution's Aspirant: +10 ft base rate and full benefits of the light and dark racial trait while using dissolution's child.

-Dissolution's Ascendant: Constantly gain the benefits of the light and dark racial trait - suppressable as an immediate action. There's a glitch here, the text calls teh racial ability "light and shadow" instead of "light and dark".

-Shadowy Sprint: +10 ft movement when starting a movement in an area of dim light.

Wayangs may now also chose from one of three new traits, Dissolution's Disciple allows you to flicker for 2x character level days after being slain, always reincarnating into a wayang when raised via reincarnation while you flicker. You may also ignore size-penalties to intimidate or get +2 when checking versus cha-based skills.

There also are tow new alternate racial traits, one allowing you to blend with shadows better for a 30% miss chance and the other allowing you to see 5 ft. even in magical darkness.

The race's archetype is for the monk class, the so-called marionette: Evoking a creepy and rather evocative style, marionettes are a creepy kind of monks that uses a style reminiscent of the eponymous dolls - getting e.g. a 5-foot step at the end of movements of at least 20 ft., slow falling even without adjacent walls, limited access to whirlwind attacks and a high level ability that dominates a creature's body as if dancing to the marionette's strings. I really, really love this iconic archetype!

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice an undue amount of glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.
This pdf is what the series should be about in my opinion - feats and traits that develop racial abilities and add to the uniqueness of the uncommon base-race - and the monk-archetype is simply awesome - weird, uncommon and oozing flair. While the glitch I encountered could have been avoided, I thoroughly enjoyed this pdf's blending of crunch seeping style and interesting racial options - and even sans the Wayang, the monk archetype alone makes this pdf worth the low asking price. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4.5 stars due to the glitch, but still rounded up to 5 and studded with the seal of approval due to the archetypes' awesomeness- anyone looking for a monk-archetype that is DIFFERENT, go check this out!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Wayangs!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Amazing Races: Changelings!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2013 09:01:35
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill by now - 4 pages pdf, 1page front cover, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of content for new racial information, this time dealing with changelings, so let's take a look!

First, we get 6 new feats:
-Green Gift: Mimic sounds of animals and natural creatures via bluff.
-Hidden Gifts: +10 to disguise as human, no penalties to pose as human, quick disguise of clawed nails.
-Iron-skinned: When SR is lowered, you gain DR 1/bludgeoning.
-Monstrous Visage: Demoralize any number of foes within 30 ft. as a standard action.
-Prodigal Daughter: Count as a hag for purpose of joining a coven. Does not require you to be female, in spite of the feat's name.
-Sow Discord: As long as tress like combat does not divert your target's attention, the target gains now save versus your sow thought spell. Also provides +2 to overcome SR with the spell. Not a fan of this feat - it feels like a plot-device more than a viable feat and getting rid of saves for spells is not a good idea unless the means to do so are very specific - like a certain hex's kiss of death. Not in combat is not specific enough for my tastes.

We also get 4 new character traits:
-Hag's Blessing: Immunity to the nightmare spell.
-Inhuman Sire: Choose one humanoid subtype - you count as that humanoid for purposes of prerequisites regarding races.
-Resentful Daughter: +2 to conjuration (healing) spells to overcome SR.
-White Lies: Gain Bluff as a class skills and +2 to lie to friendly/helpful creatures.

Changelings may now also choose from 2 new alternate racial traits:
-Nightshadow: +4 to intimidate when in areas of dim light in exchange for the hulking trait.
-Seasight: See perfectly through frothing, murky or opaque water. Problematic, since e.g. Gillmen need feats to get powers that are somewhat like it - with low-light vision, granted, but still. Not a fan of this.

The pdf also provides the Sibyl-archetype for the oracle. The Sibyl gets Perform (oratory), replace some of the spells from their mystery bonus spells with others and gain Voice of the Sibyl at first level and drive helpless opponents mad with revelations. A solid archetype, I guess, but none that blew me away.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's no-frills 2-column standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

This pdf is a solid addition to the Amazing Races-line, but not a too impressive one - I can see minor issues with a feat, consider an alternate racial trait to be problematic and the archetype didn't elicit that much excitement from me either. There's nothing massively wrong with this pdf, but neither is there any content herein I'd consider truly innovative or particularly gripping. Hence, a solid buy for fans of changelings - I'll settle for a final verdict of a solid 3 stars - an ok purchase, but definitely not required.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Changelings!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
d20pfsrd.com presents Open Gaming Monthly #2
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2013 08:59:58
This one is a bit tricky for me, honestly. I loved the first issue and eagerly awaited this ones arrival. Sadly the content isn't very useful or interesting to me. The quality is great; however, and I truly encourage anyone interested in the issues themes to pick it up. You won't be sad you did. I'm just not into the robots and sci-fi stuff in my fantasy, but if that is your thing I say go for it!

Again, great content and high quality for the issues theme. I will be continuing to pick this up every month for the foreseeable future to support all the effort it takes to put out a good magazine.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d20pfsrd.com presents Open Gaming Monthly #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 332 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates