DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Feats of Subtlety
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/13/2013 09:40:29
Not every battle is won with sword and spell... your tongue may come in useful too!

Especially if you have taken a glance through this product and picked out a feat or two that suits your style. Perhaps you use darkly honeyed words to convince others to do what you want... take the Coercer feat and gain a +4 (!) bonus to Charisma and Charisma-based skills to get those under charm or compulsion enchantments to do something that they'd normally refuse.

A few of the ten feats you have to choose from operate in combat, using feints and deceptive footwork to evade your enemy or to enhance your swordsmanship. The subtlety here is physical rather than verbal.

Others enhance your performance on the social scene which - especially if you play in intrigue-rich games - may be as much of a battlefield as any war zone (albeit a bit less muddy). Engage your Social Combat feat and prove your prowess as you disrupt other people's attempts at Bluff, Diplomacy or Intimidate by turning it back on itself.

If you already have the Slippery Mind feat, you can improve on it with Slip Enchantment, which lets you choose precisely when you break free of that enchantment that's been cast on you, rather than being released as soon as you succeed in your roll. Plenty of scope to be sneaky!

And if you want real subtlety (and are a spell caster) the Subtle Spellcaster feat lets you whisper the necessary words so that nobody notices that you are in the middle of spell-casting!

Loads here, enjoy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Subtlety
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

More Gremlins!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2013 03:18:31
An Endzeitgeist.com review

The first of the mini monster manuals by Abandoned Arts is 8 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 6 pages of new mischief-causing gremlins, so what do we get?



Well, the first critter would be the Gobbledeguk at CR 1/2 - which comes with a short, nasty song (nice!) and two rather interesting abilities: When killing a creature by biting, these gremlins shred anything with a hardness of 8 or lesser (fearsome imagery) and they may also a grinning state: Having mouths studded with far too long teeth, grinning results in severe damage to the Gobbledeguk, causing bleed damage, but also an adrenaline release for the masochistic gremlin, resulting in increased combat prowess... The creature also comes with notes to create the dreaded 15 HD brood mothers of the race...creepy. The one thing I have as an issue versus these gremlins - they are TOO suicidal - with wis 8 and no ranks in heal, grinning is a death sentence. Not that may be the intention, but still.



Nightkin Gremlins at CR 1 had me flash back to diablo 2's most hated world - potbellied, mask-wearing, blowgun using threats that, upon death, turn into tiny skeletons that keep attack - unless wearing masks, which are also introduced and which work for them as a gentle repose - for a time.



Shaggy Gremlins with tusks and unworldly stench, breath weapons and a morale bonus( and penalty) suppressing aura, the Osswyrd at CR 2 are made of win - as are the witchwyrd variants who additionally get access to a limited selection of spells from various witch patrons.



The hunchbacked Perstermin gremlins at CR 1 not only have shrooms growing on their back, much like an antibard, they can penalize foes with invisible nettles, thwarting their attempts to do anything really and cutting the proud down to size. Oh, and their beard can hold objects.



Wicklings at CR 1 look like a candle is growing out of their head and may disguise themselves as such. Their tongues can ignite flammable objects and extinguishing the wick of these small pyromaniacs causes them severe discomfort and power loss - nice Achilles heel!



The final page provides the statblock for aforementioned nightling skeletons as well as a list of monsters by monster roles and one that organizes them by CR.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard and is easy to read. Each of the monsters comes with its own beautiful piece of original b/w-artwork by Carlos Torreblanca- nice indeed to have at this low price point! While personally, I would have liked to see bookmarks, at this length their lack is something that can be ignored.



Gremlins are nasty critters, as anyone who ever faced a pugwampi can attest to - and these are no different. Nasty, psychotic and mischievous, these little buggers make for great low-level adversaries, drive home the alien nature of some fey and come with several unique signature abilities per critter to boot - all in all resulting in a thoroughly well-crafted supplement worthy of 5 stars + seal of approval - congrats to author Daron Woodson!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
More Gremlins!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

You Name It: Orcish Names & Tribe Names
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 09:47:39
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Abandoned Art's name-table-series is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content - so what do we get?



Essentially, we get 100 names for orc males, 100 names for orc females and 100 tribe names. Male names include for example Brungmar, Hhrask and similarly harsh-sounding, sonorous names, whereas females get names like Tarynyls, Kullika etc. - raw and still slightly feminine. Tribal names are established composites and in contrast to the goblin's installment feature no wonky high jinxes, but rather come off as intimidating with "Fear-Drinker", "Firescreamer" and "Flaybrothers" should be considered neat names indeed.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. The pdf has no bookmarks, but being one page, it needs none. The names per se are awesome and thematically fitting - BUT: As before in the series, I'm not a big fan of the layout - all three types of names are crammed into the same table, each type of name taking up two columns. Presentation-wise, that's making the pdf look more jumbled than it ought to - just making breaks between the background-shading between the name-tables would go a long way there. Hence, I'll give this a slight penalty in the presentation-department, resulting in a final verdict of 4.5 stars, still rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform, though.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Orcish Names & Tribe Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Races: Aasimar!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2013 01:57:28
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Amazing Races-series is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with two pages of content, so let’s take a look, shall we?



As always, we kick this installment off with new feats, this time around a total of 8!

-Dazzling Counterspell: Dazzle foes whose magic you counter for countered spell level rounds. Nice one to make counterspelling less of a wasted action.



-Disrupt Undead: Automatically (no suppression) treat any undead you touch or hit with an unarmed strike as subject to a disrupt undead effect with CL equal to your HD.



-Familiar Counselor: Upgrade Celestial familiar to Int 13. Bit of a wasted feat imho.



-False Hero: +8 to bluff to lie about your alignment/motives.



-Holy Wings: Wings are treated as good-aligned for overcoming DR.



-Sanguine Sacrament: When subject to a bleed effect, you treat each square within 5ft. of you as consecrated. You may cut yourself for a bleeding wound to also gain these benefits. I REALLY like this feat! Its imagery is iconic and damn cool!



-Sanguine Strike: When suffering from a bleed effect, you deal an additional 1d4 points of damage to undead and creatures with the evil subtype with your weapons.



-Sunspell (Metamagic): At +2 levels, dazzle creatures upon failed will-saves for spell level rounds. Already dazzled foes become blinded for one round. Ridiculously weak, since it only works in areas already in sunlight and its +2 levels make this a complete waste of a feat.



We also get two new traits, one that makes you count as humanoid with the human subtype and one that nets you access to an effect akin to the phylactery of faithfulness for 1 round.



Beyond that, there also are two new alternate racial traits, one replacing “skilled” with the option to impose a -4 penalty to Perception on foes the aasimar has successfully used diplomacy against, the other one replacing spell-like abilities with a good aura of a paladin of equal levels.



A new archetype is also provided – the Righteous Fury is a variant of the barbarian and modify their list of class skills and in spite of alignment restrictions, continue to advance as a paladin even if none-lawful. When raging at least two rounds, the archetype also regains 1 round of rage at the end of a rage and finally, the barbarian’s weapons count as good while raging and deal additional damage versus evil creatures. On the one hand, I love the idea behind this archetype, on the other hand, I honestly consider the execution slightly less interesting than it ought to be – a blend of paladin/barbarian could have been much more interesting than this rather conservative take on the idea.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn’t notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art’s two-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Author Daron Woodson has crafted this time around some rather cool feats – especially the Sanguine Sacrament-feat is simply glorious. The other components of the pdf are also neat, but don’t completely live up to said feat’s glorious potential and imagery. While I love the archetype’s idea, more paladin/barbarian-synergy ability-wise would have imho made this so much more compelling – still, a more than solid installment in the series and well-worth 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Aasimar!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Races: Kitsune!
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/14/2013 10:24:01
If you play a kitsune character, here are various feats and traits specifically tailored for you, as well as an archetype called the White Furred Oracle for kitsune who wish to tread the oracle's path and, er, have white fur. Apparently most white-furred kitsune do become oracles... they are quite rare, though, most kitsune have standard fox coloration in their natural form.

There are 2 feats, 2 character traits and a whole bunch of racial traits to choose from, so there are plenty of ways to hone your character to suit your own concept. Everything is well-balanced, neither advantaging or disadvantaging the kitsune who chooses from this book rather than from the standard feats and traits available to him.

The White Furred Oracle has been well thought through and is worth considering if you want to play a kitsune oracle... indeed, reading through makes me quite fancy playing one although it wasn't something I'd been considering before!

Nice little collection for the players of kitsune and GMs whose groups include one.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Kitsune!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Races: Drow!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 02:58:42
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Amazing Races, as always, is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 2 pages content, so let's take a look!



We kick this off with 4 new feats:

-Darklands Elite: A teamwork feat that rewards using aid another to improve atk and AC of allied drow by netting a bonus to atk and damage with AoOs equal to the number of allied drow within your reach. This feat suffers from multiple issues - what classifies "Within your reach"? Within the weapon's reach? Adjacent? I don't know. I also am not sold on whether this is appropriate for the back-stabbing, chaotic drow on a fluff-side.

-Demonic Consular: When your quasit communes on your behalf, you get a +2 profane bonus on int-based skill checks and initiative for 1 hour, but after that, you receive a -1 penalty to will-saves for a n hours. I like the fluff, but since it is reliant on a demonic familiar and comes with a drawback, I consider it slightly too weak to properly work in-game.



-Poisonous Spell: Metamagic at +2 levels, include a poison into a spell (that is consumed by casting) that allows for a save to reduce or negate. If the target fails, s/he is afflicted by the poison as well. For each additional target, have the DC of the poison reduced by 1. I don't think this feat works as intended: Since the saves of the targets are the spells instead of the poisons, save-DCs could actually get higher. Also: It's weird to me that one and the same poisonous fireball can have varying effects depending on the amount of creatures hit - many kobolds = weaker poison, one giant = stronger poison. Just doesn't feel right to me. Also: The metamagic feat can be used as a detect spell for invisible targets - don't know how many invisible foes are hiding over there? AoE-spell and count down the DC. That's not the good design I've come to expect from Abandoned Arts.



-Spider-Speaker: Influence arachnids and arachnid monsters with wild empathy. Again, problematic: Arachnid is NOT a subtype, so do demonic retrievers count? What about scorpions? A concise definition of what constitutes arachnids for the purpose of this feat is in order.



Next up are 4 character traits - one nets + spell level hit points to the conjuration (summoning) called creatures, +2 to checks to make charmed creatures do something they usually wouldn't do, +1 to atk versus drow and one trait that allows you to make a coup-de-grace that takes one minute to perform, but nest you a +1 to atk versus living creatures for one hour - per se cool, but what if the drow is hit while performing the coup-de-grace? Is it interrupted? Does the target take damage? If yes, how much? Great idea, but falls apart regarding the execution.



We also get 2 new alternate racial traits: Betrayer lets you exchange the spell-like abilities for the Betrayer and Quick Draw-feats, whereas Stealthy replaces faerie fire, dancing lights and keen senses for the Stealthy bonus feat as well as the option to reroll a single stealth-check per day.

The racial archetype this time around is the Malus for the Magus-class, who gets no medium or heavy armor spellcasting prowess, but also gets two exclusive arcanas, one that allows you to deal bleeding wounds that are treated as if the target was spell-resistant for the purpose of healing spells and the second netting you access to antipaladin cruelties, which is rather cool. Better, at higher levels, the malus may gain limited access to hexes and major hexes - overall a VERY cool archetype.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting per se are very good, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Oh boy - at first, I was stumped - the feats, imho, are universally BAD and not up to the level of quality I've come to expect from Abandoned Arts and even one of the character traits is problematic at best. The racial traits and the archetype, though, save this pdf for me - the feats would make me go 1 star on this, but the glorious archetype and neat alternate racial traits save this pdf from being a train-wreck - brilliant light and darkest shadows mingle, and thus my final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded (barely) up to 3, but if you're not interested in the archetype, I'd suggest steering clear.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Drow!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

You Name It: Goblin Names & Chieftain Names
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2013 05:26:27
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Abandoned Art's name-table-series is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content - so what do we get?



Essentially, we get 100 names for goblin males, 100 names for goblin females and 100 chieftain names. Male names include for example Digupp, Worble and similarly wonky-sounding names, whereas females get names à la Gretchok and chieftain names are established composites à la Wideears, Grasscrawler or Guntinker - nice.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. The pdf has no bookmarks, but being one page, it needs none. The names per se are awesome and thematically fitting - BUT: As before, I'm not a big fan of the layout - all three types of names are crammed into the same table, each type of name taking up two columns. Presentation-wise, that's making the pdf look more jumbled than it ought to - just making breaks between the background-shading between the name-tables would go a long way there. Hence, I'll give this a slight penalty in the presentation-department, resulting in a final verdict of 4.5 stars, still rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform, though.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Goblin Names & Chieftain Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CLASSifieds: The Saint
by Chris Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2013 16:33:05
I need to say that I was skeptical about Fat Goblin Games new pdf called CLASSifieds The Saint. I even made a comment on Fat Goblin Games Facebook page about it. I was hesitant to consider a class called the Saint for Pathfinder when Pathfinder already has divine classes like the Cleric, Inquisitor, and the Paladin. I was allowed to check out The Saint, and I must say I do enjoy this class. I am a fan of most 3rd party classes. I do find most of them original and I allow most in my home campaign. After reading The Saint, I would have no problem allowing this class in my campaign.

This class is 14 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 12 pages of content, so let’s check it out.

The Saint gets 3/4 Base Attack Bonus, Good Reflex & Will saves, d8 Hit Points per level, 4+Int modifier skill ranks per level, and is allowed any alignment but that alignment must match of his patron deity.

The Saint chooses one domain (or subdomain) from his patron deity's list and can use the domain spells as spell like abilities. The Saint can only do this a certain number of times a day and the level of spell costs a certain number of uses. The higher the spell the more uses it takes. Simple enough.

The big power of the Saint is its ability to use powers called Graces that use Favor Points. I found the Favor points is similar to the Grit system of Paizo's Gunslinger, and I like that. It limits the number of cool things a Saint can do, and he can regain Favor points by vanquishing enemies using your deity's favored weapons. Being a divine class, I thought this was okay until I read the next page when it describes other ways to gain favor. This part enriched the Saint class for me and I thought it was exciting because it didn't need to be killing an enemy to gain favor points, it could be something of a role playing experience. Very Cool idea.

It should be noted that Saints gain spells but not as much as a full caster. They can cast up to 6th level spells at level 20. The spell list is all explained and all spells are hyperlinked to www.d20pfsrd.com

I did enjoy the Saint after I was able to read it. Its original, and I do enjoy the class. I would say the only thing that I wished it had was a Herolab file. My players are very into using Herolab, and they do like classes they can just click on and make on their laptops. Its a small thing but its something that would make this class stellar.

I rate Fat Goblin Games CLASSifieds The Saint a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CLASSifieds: The Saint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CLASSifieds: The Saint
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/05/2013 10:27:46
The cleric chooses their deity and their trade, the saint often finds that state thrust upon him as his deity speaks to him directly... in game terms, the saint is a divine caster with limited combat abilities mostly confined to the deity's favoured weapon, with all his skills and abilities focused on spreading the word of that deity and doing His divine will.

Rather than solely casting as a cleric - although he does have a spell-list to cast from in regular manner - the saint gains domain spells as 'spell like abilities' which can be cast at will until a level-based limit is reached. He also has access to a series of 'Graces' which may be used by a mechanic based on Favours (which are wisdom-based); some Graces require the expenditure of Favours, others merely need for the saint still to have at least one Favour remaining. Favours are replenished during the saint's regular devotions and when certain actions are performed such as vanquishing enemies or converting people to worship the saint's deity.

It's an interesting take, a different way in which to be a devotee of a given deity, and could lead to some potent role-play, particularly with a GM prepared to put some effort into developing religions and providing appropriate 'divine guidance' to the saint's player.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Svirfneblin!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2013 03:38:11
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Amazing Races-series is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 2 pages for new options for the Svirfneblin, so let’s take a look, shall we?



To go on a short tangent: I consider the ARG’s Svirfneblin-race to be one of the most broken pieces of race-designing toxic waste to come out of the book. Now that that’s off my chest, let’s take a look at the new feats:

-Alchemical Wonderworker: Ignore caster level prereqs for Brew Potion and create a selection of wondrous item-types as if you had Craft Wondrous Item. You may also use Craft (Alchemy) instead of Spellcraft when creating potions or wondrous items.



-Expert Alchemy: + 5 to Craft (Alchemy) when creating potions or wondrous items.



-Stone-Faced: Sense Motive-check to get a hunch about your motives take a -10 penalty.

We also get 4 new traits for +1 to atk with alchemical weapons (but not bombs) and + 5ft range increment when throwing them, +5 to opposed charisma checks, +2 to Knowledge (Arcana) and Spellcraft while your spell resistance is lowered or finally +5 to Perception to see through magical disguises.



We also get 4 new alternate racial traits that allow you to get +4 to saves versus figments, patterns and divination spells, cast darkness 1/day and gain +4 to stealth to hide in an area darkened thusly, +1 point healing whenever subjected to magical healing, or prevent spells that fail to overcome a Svirfneblin’s SR to affect them for one round.



Finally, we get a Svirfneblin Druid archetype, the Fungal Shepherd – who gets modified class skills, can modify terrain to spontaneously sport fungal undergrowth, create faerie circles that enhance conjured creatures with the fey creature template, a subterranean version of trackless step and a limited wildshape that allows you to turn into fungoid versions of plant shapes.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn’t notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art’s 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



I hate the Svirfneblin-race as a playable race, but as a pdf, this is actually not bad, offering a multitude of nice options. Personally, I enjoyed especially the first feat and the fungus/alchemy theme of the content herein and while the respective crunch never truly is mindblowing or particularly brave, we do get a solid assortment of different pieces of crunch to modify your characters. As such, I’ll settle on a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 due to the low and fair price and lack of issues with this pdf.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Svirfneblin!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

d20pfsrd.com presents Open Gaming Monthly #1
by VP401533 K. H. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2013 05:13:34
Magazine content is very focused on OGL materials. It has really good articles, both informative and excellent add-ons to any campaign or world (e.g. Briarborn as new character class or NPC and Drake's Hollow as locale). It's fully colored, nice type-casting and formatting. I've yet to detect any bad editing. It also contains sufficient information on new materials and an adventure. What can I say? This is top-notch! A reason for me to continue buying (I actually went ahead to buy all current issues both PDF and print). This is definitely more nostalgia of the Dragon/Dungeon magazine (combined) than some other magazine hoping to emulate it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d20pfsrd.com presents Open Gaming Monthly #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

You Name It: Goblin Names & Chieftain Names
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2013 17:25:16
This was a nice item for the price. It is well laid out and set up. I normally don't review name generators, but this one is at least a but better then most as it is clear and concise.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
You Name It: Goblin Names & Chieftain Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Races: Sylphs!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2013 04:45:09
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Amazing Races-series, as always, is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 2 pages of content, so let’s take a look!



Much like the Oread before them, the Sylphs have been so far left most untapped and this pdf seeks to add some unique flavor to the race, so what do we get?



Well, we kick off with 4 new feats:

-Cloud Gulp: Negate mists/breath weapons, but be affected by them in spite of immunities. VERY cool one, since there to my knowledge does not exist a similar means of canceling these effects.



-Mighty Wings: Fly in medium or heavy armor with poor or clumsy maneuverability respectively. Lame.



-Thundering Rage: Deal sonic damage when using elemental rage and if you have Storm in the Blood as a racial trait, you can deal 1d6 electricity damage to yourself as a swift action. Per se cool, but VERY specific.



-Windblown Resilience: Gain energy resistance and thunderous resilience racial traits. Yawn.

The two character traits allow you to hold your breath Con x 4 rounds or get +1 to atk and damage after aiding an ally for AC or atk. Nothing special going on here.



We also get 3 different new alternate racial traits – for jump 1/day, Dr 2/- versus ranged and non-lethal attacks or counting as one size category larger for the purpose of intimidate when in stormy weather, two size categories when in stormy weather under your control.



There also is a new archetype for the Paladin-class, the Skyguard – an uncommon choice for sure. Themed around the concept of liberation and air – and as such, the basic ability of the archetype is cool in concept – instead of smite evil, the Skyguard may use winds to deal damage at a creature within 30 ft., dealing 1d4 slashing damage per class level the paladin possesses 1/day per paladin level- Per se a cool idea – but a crippled one – the increase in uses per day when compared to smite is bought with no significant bonus to hit as well as a problematic, very limited range that renders the ability essentially almost useless – especially at higher levels, since it does not allow for iterative attacks. Gaining minor AC-bonuses and DR also make for a very weak trade in for divine grace. Gaining elemental channel (air) and 1/day freedom of movement don’t change these weak payoffs, nor do the high level abilities, which remain weak and not particularly exciting.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn’t notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art’s 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



I applaud the approach taken with the Sylph – a race is imho very much defined by culture and unique tricks to pull off and this pdf seeks to introduce some – but ultimately falls short of its own concepts – where the first feat does something interesting, the latter ones as well as the racial traits and alternate racial traits fall slightly flat and remain, concept-wise, while not bad, also not particularly exciting.

And then there’s the archetype, which, even for my VERY conservative tastes, is simply weak. It is not often I complain about something being UNDERpowered, but this is one definite case of this being the case. The concept of the archetype is great, but its execution is woefully lackluster and especially compared with other archetypes we’ve seen from author Daron Woodson, rather uninspired. All in all, one of the weakest installments in the series I’ve seen so far and with the lack of truly intriguing material, my final verdict will hence clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded down to 2 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Sylphs!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call to Arms: Archer's Arsenal
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/22/2013 15:57:41
Call to Arms: Archer’s Arsenal by Fat Goblin’s Games is a collection of bows, crossbows, arrows and accessories both mundane and magical. I like that each item has a short description though some of the mundane items (foot bow and drum-fed repeating crossbow, for example) are verging on silly. Overall, the items are useful and interesting mechanically but some abilities (such as the crossbow of inevitability) could have been a new weapon quality, the mundane options for arrows (such as broad-headed) should have damage changes be based off the arrow’s size otherwise small sized archers can really take advantage of them. Overall, however, this product has many useful tools here for archers and crossbow users.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: Archer's Arsenal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Amazing Races: Dwarves!
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2013 07:10:29
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Amazing Races-series is 4 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 2 pages of content, so let's check this out!



The pdf kicks off with 6 new feats for Dwarves:

-Bonded Craftsman: Count as +2 class levels when adding magical abilities to your bonded object and +4 to Craft and Profession when adding abilities to your bonded object or creating/adding abilities to a bonded object of the same type.



-Dwarven Ringsmith: When only wearing rings you crafted yourself, you may wear up to 3 rings at once. Finally, if you have the Master Craftsman feat, you may count your chosen skill ranks as an effective caster level for creating rings. Awesome one!



-Dwarven Vitality: +2 to saves versus diseases.



-Golem Engineer: Repair all HP-damage to constructs in 8 hours. AWESOME!



-Improved Smith's Sight: + 4 to checks to identify magic properties of items.



-Smith's Sight: Identify magical properties via Craft skills instead of Spellcraft - Superb!



Dwarves also gain 4 new character traits: Bonuses to appraise and craft skills and appraise as a class skill, cold resistance 1, fire resistance 1 or +1 to Perform and bardic knowledge-checks.



We also get 2 new alternate racial traits - Dwarven pride being one of the coolest I've seen: You exchange greed and hatred for the ability to suppress the shaken condition while at least one ally can see them - the penalties still applying, except against further fear-effects. The second racial trait exchanges greed with +2 to Knowledge (local, history) to answer questions about or identify foes of dwarvenkind.



The pdf also provides a new archetype for dwarven rangers, the Goblinmasher, who may apply the bonus netted from the compulsory Humanoid (goblinoid) favored enemy to all goblin-related enemies like barghests, goblin dogs etc., detect goblinoids by scent and may grant his favored enemy bonus to allies instead of only his animal companion.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



This pdf features some of the best feats in the series so far and has quite a bunch of cool options that help make dwarves more iconic and the dwarven pride alternate racial trait is genius. Not all is superb, though, with the Dwarven Vitality feat feeling like filler and the racial archetype being not that exciting. All in all, still a nice installment for a very fair price - and hence I'll settle for a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Races: Dwarves!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 348 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates