DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stock Art: Thar-Naccandor, an exotic reptile
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2012 04:20:21
One of the really cool things about buying a Cloister piece of stock art is that he doesn't package these as the typical stock art. You not only get several options for hi res images for print, but a lower res for the web, and PDF's walking you through the creation of the finished piece of art, and his system free design ideas for how he saw the creature being used.

A very very cool package for the insanely low price this is going for. An artist to keep an eye on folks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Thar-Naccandor, an exotic reptile
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Dronhedon - Aquatic Mammal
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2012 04:17:28
Nicholas Cloister continues to show just how cool stock art can be with the latest additions to his stock line. More than worth the price of purchase, this is a line of stock art to keep an eye on for gamers and small publishers alike.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Dronhedon - Aquatic Mammal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by Krasimir K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2012 05:35:46
RPG Creatures is such an amazing book that as a DM, you'll be faced with a tough choice: how many monsters can I incorporate, without turning the adventure into a giant monster hunt.

Every creature is unique, not only in appearance (some are quite striking visually) but also when it comes to unique abilities. The statistics for each creature give you a good idea of strengths and weaknesses, so you can make a decision to include the creature relatively quickly.

Recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Dronhedon - Aquatic Mammal
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/27/2012 09:20:30
Ok I love buying art I can use in in other projects and this one grabbed my eye right away.
I love the odd deep-sea feel to this creature. It could be an ocean monster, some winged astral worm or as the description says a large water mammal.

What do you get?
You get 5 image files; 1 jpg for the web and 4 hires jpg, tiff, png and psd files.
You also get a really interesting "how it was made" pdf so you can see the evolution of this creature and some notes from the artist. This really sets this piece apart from the rest in my mind. I don't think every bit of stock art here needs it, but certainly the more interesting looking ones like this benefit from it.
There is another PDF from the artist on how you can use this in a game.
There are game-generic stats included with bar charts and iconography (snails, humans, dragons, angel/demon) to explain where it is. It looks like it is as smart as a snail, strong as a gorilla, no magic and other helpful bits. This also sets this apart in my mind.

Now I know there are these suggestions, but I had something very, very specific in mind when I saw this piece. To me that is also a good thing. If I see a bit of art and go "I know EXACTLY where to use that!" then I am usually sold.

I will be checking out more from this publisher.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Dronhedon - Aquatic Mammal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Stock Art: Michilaft - Tree Man
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2012 03:13:10
If this image is any hint at what Nicholas Cloister has intended for the future of stock art I recommend clicking on the follow button, now. This image goes so far past what one expects to get for the meager price of $2 that it's flat out astounding. Several resolution variations, a pdf walk-through of the artist's process of painting this image...just flat out amazing.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Michilaft - Tree Man
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by Gerry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2012 11:26:07
This product features some incredible art, and the majority of creatures are very unique. Designed to be ported into any game, the basic descriptions break down each creature's powers, as well as a scale for their physical/mental attributes. This is probably one of the most professional looking products I've ever bought here, and is a steal for it's price. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for new, interesting & unique creatures for use in their games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by Idle R. H. P. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2012 06:16:32
RGP Creatures - Bestiary 1 is a collection of 50 fantastic, full-page color illustrations of truly fantastic creatures. The artwork is simply top-notch and I would expect to pay well over $10 for the images alone. But each entry is also accompanied by about a page's worth of text that includes a description of appearance and habits, powers and abilities, and and system neutral game information.

The game information is obviously written with the D20 system in mind, as each creature has the six "classic" attributes and assumes an average human ranges between 3 to 18 in them. But the author was kind enough to include a baseline in other areas, such as protection and damage, that make it pretty easy to convert the number to just about any system.

If I had one comment about the creatures in this book, it would be that they are slightly too fantastic for my tastes. Most of them have some magic powers or supernatural ability, and they would probably work best in a high-magic fantasy campaign. Some of them could work in a space opera type game too as they have a bit of an extraterrestrial or alien feel to them.

Simply put, the creatures in this book are special and would be best used as the center-piece of a fantasy adventure.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by Audun L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2011 08:56:57
This product impressed me. I'm not one for systemless products usually, but the preview showed good art, good descriptions and a systemless "system" to scale each beast in accordance to a given standard. This system favours a limited range of rpgs which follow the 3-18 stat range, but I don't see that as a big problem.

The variations of the beasts in this collection is good, everything from crazy undead stuff to intelligent (perhaps even) playable creatures, which is always good. I for one is looking forward to the next instalment in what I hope is a series of beardy beast collections.

Of course there can be some challenges in how to tweak and fit each creature into a given system, that does not conform to the standard this "systemless system" is based on, but testing, good intentions and time should be enough.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/19/2011 20:53:03
Generic used to mean something resembling "lowest common denominator". That's certainly not true RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1. Yeah, the title of the product is fairly lame, but the contents are second to none. I love good artwork, and this PDF is somewhere between great and amazing in art quality. This is a PDF full of framable fantasy art pieces - there is a market for these as prints. Or just do this as a print on demand and I'll cut out my own prints ;)

The stats for the creatures that are illustrated are generic and will need a little conversion to stat it out for your system of choice. That shouldn't be too hard, as many of "us old schoolers" are used to converting current RPG products for our sensibilities.

Bestiary 1 isn't bookmarked - it's full of hyperlinks instead, which works wonders. Like the pog sized portrait the Nordjarimm? Click it and go right to the page. Greg Christopher himself would be proud ;)

I'm really stuck at what to say. This should really speak for itself. The artwork is extremely strong, the writing is good and the generic stats are very useful to tweaking the monsters to your own needs.

If nothing else, check out the free preview on the RPGNow page. It will show you better then I can what it's all about.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/05/2011 08:38:59
This is a truly great work containing 50 new creatures, full page portraits, and system-neutral creature statistics and descriptions. The table of contents is great with small, circular tokens of the creatures next to the entry. Since the names of the creatures are as fantastical as their image, this is helpful in finding the beastie later.

Each creature entry is very detailed and well written with game statistics including category, characteristics, protection, attacks, and powers. The descriptions are detailed coming close to a full page in length for most entries. The generic stats are akin to most of the d20 systems with which you're familiar but include the normal human range for easy conversion to any RPG.

There are two pdfs available for download: one on standard letter sized page and another that's smaller in landscape format that will cut the paper required to print in half. The images are draggable into your favorite image manipulation tool so you can make handouts or tokens for a Virtual Table Top like MapTool. The work is 135 pages in length making this a great value for your game table.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
RPG Creatures - Bestiary 1 (Extended Edition)
by Kitty H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2011 01:13:21
The artwork in this product is visually breathtaking and fires the imagination. Its game neutral statistics are perfect for experienced GMs. Can't wait until Bestiary 2 is released.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates