DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
JG Traveller- Ghostring
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2011 01:31:30
The heroes have to buy a widget to fix the ship from a world of odd-looking aliens in the close equivalent of Earth's 1930s or '40s, powered by ghost rock. Mostly curiosity value, I'd suggest, with some mildly amusing line art.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
JG Traveller- Ghostring
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
PP2 Merchants and Merchandise (Traveller Licensed Supplement)
by Steve &. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2011 12:44:03
This is one of the early companion pieces to original Traveller, M & M is copyright 1981 and written with little consideration to the standard Third Imperium canon that was admittedly still in under development at the time, "... the Merchant Service. With traditions descended from the ancient Merchant Marine of Terra".
This book was intended to bring the Merchant career up to par with the "detailed" or "advanced" Army and Navy characters produced by Book 4 Mercenary and Book 5 High Guard, (in)famous for giving Characters 50% or more Skills than the original rules - Book 6 Scouts was still two years away, and Merchants and Merchandise was out a year in advance of the similar minded "Special supplement" for Merchants issued by GDW (and the full blown Book 7 Merchant Prince came out in 1985) so Donald Rapp certainly deserves quite a bit of credit.
M & M introduced several new Skills, including separate Jump Drive Engineering and Low Berth Maintenance, plus expanding on a couple of Skills recently introduced by Mercenary and High Guard. It used a variation of the pre-career College option, and detailed a Merchant Service Academy to prepare young men and women for the Galaxy (think young Lieutenant Grimes). Characters are tracked year by year, serving in a Division, possibly Cross-training or taking a Specialty School, etc.
One unique feature was that successive Specific Assignments, entitling a Character to a Skill gained, could span one, two or four years - which really made a kind of sense when compared to High Guard and Mercenary.

The Merchandise section includes a note that ties the products therein to their upcoming Vanguard Reaches, and Beyond sectors, "spinward" of GDW's two year old Spinward Marches, a seminal work in solidifying the canonical Third Imperium. The Eternity Circuit Module was a bizarre gimmick that seems to presage Nanite technology. There are four robots that are comparable to the robots in Adventure 2 - Research Station Gamma. There are two starships described, first the 150-ton Wind class noted as a modification of the 100-ton Serpent class Scout (as seen in Scouts & Assassins), the Winds are yachts or research/hospital ships with Jump 3 capability and accommodating up to 18 people (color-coded deck plan included). The other ship is a winged Far Trader featuring a Jump Governor [an outdated concept] and the "organic" computer that's the next Merchandise entry. There's also an explicit foray into ultra-tech with Matter Transporters ("to become a Transporter Specialist, an individual needs Navigation-1, Computer-1 and six weeks of training for familiarization. At the end of six weeks practice, throw 8 + for skill: DM'S for Intelligence 8+ (+1) , Dexterity 9+ (+ 2), and for each successive six week training session ..." )

As Adventure 4 - Leviathan - was (and is) one of my all time favorite Traveller settings Merchants & Merchandise was a great boost. It produced pretty interesting Merchant crew to blend with Scouts and Marines to fill our Merchant Cruiser as it probed the frontier.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PP2 Merchants and Merchandise (Traveller Licensed Supplement)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
TNE-0000 Understanding Traveller: The New Era
by allen c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 12:55:31
I know I already love the Game, which is probably why i whish there could have been something more in the material presented. as a teaser item, it needs to tease better. The game itself is so much more than the what this booklet represents.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0000 Understanding Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Core System [BUNDLE]
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2011 13:18:30
The MT Core System Bundle is one of the best deals I've had in a long time. The electronic copies of the books is great. Now all I have to do is save up for the next bundle deal.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Core System [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Players' Manual
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2011 13:15:00
The electronic version I downloaded of the MT Players' Manual making searching a lot easier than my soft cover copy. I look forward to purchasing more material from DriveThruRPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT  MegaTraveller Players' Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Imperial Encyclopedia
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2011 13:11:51
The electronic MT Imperial Encyclopedia is a great purchase and updated the soft cover copy I have the book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT  MegaTraveller Imperial Encyclopedia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Referee's Companion
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2011 13:08:39
The electronic MT Referee's Companion is a good choice to add to anyone's MT collection. DriveThruRPG is still doing an excellent job of providing the hard to get materials.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT  MegaTraveller Referee's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
JG Traveller- Corsairs of the Turku Waste
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2011 02:04:06
This is a pretty useful-looking description of a pirate home base, covering everything from the sector politics that allows them to operate, the raider herself, support vessels, crews, opponents on the side of law, to a number of brief scenarios that pit players against the corsairs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
JG Traveller- Corsairs of the Turku Waste
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Mission: La Glaciere
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2011 22:51:55
Pete Rogan, you've done an excellent job here! My only complaint is that it wasn't longer, I wanted the story to keep going. It's been many years since I played, but I always thought the 2300 universe was a sci-fi gem, and the world of Aurore is one of the most richly conceived planets in all of science fiction, whatever the medium. You built on that strong base with a well-written, gripping story. This novel has a stark beauty like Weber's In Fury Born or the reimagined Battlestar Galactica. The science and technology is good classic hard sci-fi, interesting without being intrusive. The cultural interplay is well crafted. The military banter is great fun, and the combat is a rush to read! On top of all that, you even work in a credible, narrative-appropriate philosophical discussion on the Kafer's affinity for Sartre! Please, write another.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mission: La Glaciere
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
2300 AD Man's Battle for the Stars
by Steven M W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 12:21:06
I'm a long term fan of the Traveller franchise, having purchased the LBBs during their original print run way back in the dark ages. I remember when 2300 first came out and how excited I was by the box's claim of it being "a hard science role playing game." But I was, at the time, less than thrilled by the game system and never actually ran a campaign. I recently had a surge of nostalgia for the golden age of role playing, however, and decided to pick this up again. And I'm quite pleased to have done so. The system is actually elegant and was well ahead of its time. I really appreciate the background detail and the general feel of the setting.

The only thing that keeps me from giving the game a full five stars is the lack of a ship design system. I realize that the rules for ship combat and design are in a supplement, but I still feel that some basics should have been covered in the core release.

Otherwise an excellent product that I highly recommend!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2300  AD Man's Battle for the Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
TNE-0302 Traveller: THE New Era DELUXE Package
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2011 15:03:30
I purchased this product to back-up the hard copies, which are getting kind of dog earred from use. The product is well worth the price and I recommend them for anyone that needs to replace their originals or someone wanting to play in the TNE universe.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0302 Traveller: THE New Era DELUXE Package
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Guide to FASA Classic Traveller
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2011 14:57:24
The Guide to FASA Classic Traveller is another source for finding the material for Traveller produced or unpublished by other organizations other than GDW. The guide shows 22 items, 19 of which were produced by FASA. Good to have when trying to figure out what a collection is missing.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to FASA Classic Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Guide to GameLords Classic Traveller
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2011 14:48:35
The Guide to GameLords Classic Traveller provides information on the 10 supplements produced. This is a good product to have when you are looking for material to add to CT.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to GameLords Classic Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
MT MegaTraveller Robots
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2011 14:35:00
MT: Robots supplement is a 36 page, 37 counting the front and back covers, that adds robot construction to the MegaTraveller universe. For the gearheads this supplement is worthwhile purchasing in my opinion. Good job to Rob Prior and crew for putting out a new product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MT MegaTraveller Robots
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
T2000 v2 Bangkok Cesspool of the Orient
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 20:55:57
For it time the infro about Tailand is accurate. It doesnot goes alots into Islamist religion and culture as western people show little insterted in Islamist belief and culture, today it would be cover alot more in detail as Islam is growingt in the west.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v2 Bangkok Cesspool of the Orient
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Click here to issue a publisher reply
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates